Child labor FAQs
My child wants to get a job. How old must he or she be to work?
How late can my 15-year-old child work?
Children ages 14 and 15 cannot work before 7 a.m., after 9 p.m., more than 40 hours a week or more than eight hours a day. After they reach age 16, they cannot work after 11 p.m. on nights before school or before 5 a.m. on school days. Federal law is more restrictive for children under the age of 16. (See Minnesota Statutes 181A.04.)
Can I hire the 14-year-old neighbor to mow my lawn?
Yes, chores commonly done around the home are considered home chores and are exempt from child labor laws. However, firms or companies that are hiring individuals to do similar jobs for their company may not hire a 14-year-old to mow the lawn. Minors younger than 16 cannot use power-driven lawn equipment, such as lawn mowers, weed whips or hedge trimmers. (See Minnesota Statutes 181A.07, subd. 4, for home chores exception; see Minnesota Rules 5200.0910 and 5200.0920 for all prohibited occupations.)
Are employers generally subject to both state and federal child labor laws?
Yes, employers are generally subject to state laws and provisions in the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Certain Minnesota child labor laws are more protective than federal law and vice versa. Employers covered by both Minnesota child labor laws and the federal FLSA must follow the most protective provisions that apply to their employees. Visit www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/child-labor for more information about federal child labor law.
For more information
Contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org, 651-284-5075 or 800-342-5354.
Visit our teen worker information pages.