Skip to main content

COVID-19 resources here. | DLI offices are closed to walk-in customers.

The main phone number for the Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD) is 651-284-5012. However, if you have a specific questions, please view the phone numbers and email addresses below.



Contact information by topic


Licensing and continuing education

Contractor and business licenses:  dli.license@state.mn.us, 651-284-5034

  • Electrical and elevator contractors

  • High-pressure-piping contractors

  • Manufactured home manufacturers, dealers, installers

  • Mechanical contractor bonds

  • Plumbing contractors

  • Residential builders and remodelers

  • Residential roofers

  • Technology system contractors

  • Water conditioning contractors

Individual/personal licenses, registrations and certifications:  dli.license@state.mn.us, 651-284-5031

  • Boiler licenses

  • Building official certification:  651-284-5068

  • Contracting and journeyworker HPP pipefitter

  • Master and journeyworker electrical licenses

  • Master and journeyworker elevator constructor licenses

  • Master and journeyworker plumber licenses

  • Power limited technician license

  • Unlicensed individual registration


License enforcement, complaints and investigations


Inspections:

Boiler inspections


Electrical inspections

Name Contact Duties

Todd Green, assistant director

651-284-5124
Todd.A.Green@state.mn.us

assistant director

John I. Williamson, operations supervisor

651-284-5823
John.Williamson@state.mn.us

office operations

Dean Hunter, chief electrical inspector

651-284-5314
Dean.Hunter@state.mn.us

field operations

Robin Geiger, principal program administrator

651-284-5804
Robin.Geiger@state.mn.us

Administrative oversight and collaboration with several areas including electrical permits, licensing, financials, auditing, inspections and inspection service contracts.

Steve Dudley, senior electrical representative

507-381-6867
Steven.Dudley@state.mn.us

Lead administration and support for electrical code and licensing issues, electrical exam development, electrical applicant approvals, reciprocal licensing and education development.

Marty Kumm, senior electrical representative

952-440-7455
Marty.Kumm@state.mn.us

Lead administration and support for electrical code and licensing issues,
database administration, alternative energy systems and education development.

John McNamara, electrical representative

651-338-1766
John.McNamara@state.mn.us

Primary field representative for Minneapolis. Administration, oversight and support of contract electrical inspectors. Administration of laws, rules and codes related to licensing and inspections.


Elevator inspections

Todd Green, assistant director

651-284-5124
Todd.A.Green@state.mn.us

assistant director

Bill Reinke, supervisor

651-284-5873
Bill.Reinke@state.mn.us

 

Jim Weaver, supervisor

651-600-9400
James.Weaver@state.mn.us

 

Ashley Commodore, office assistant

651-284-5897
Ashley.Commodore@state.mn.us

Questions about annual operating permits and annual inspections


High pressure piping inspections

Todd Green, manager

651-284-5124
Todd.A.Green@state.mn.us

 

Duane Burbank, inspector

320-515-0084
Duane.Burbank@state.mn.us

Northern and east central

Mike Little, inspector

651-303-5470
Michael.Little@state.mn.us

Southeast and south metro

T.J. Peterson, inspector

612-434-0117
Ted.Peterson@state.mn.us

West and south west


Plumbing inspections

Scott McKown, assistant director

651-284-5893
Scott.McKown@state.mn.us

assistant director

Brad Jensen, supervisor

218-290-1591
Brad.Jensen@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections

Thomas Eisert, plumbing standards representative

507-429-2980
Thomas.Eisert@state.mn.us
plumbing inspections

Matthew Flier, plumbing standards representative

651-587-0108
Matthew.Flier@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections

Charles Olson, plumbing standards representative

651-308-0786
Charles.Olson@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections

Jim Peterson, plumbing standards representative

651-247-5509
Jim.Peterson@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections

John Roehl, plumbing standards representative

320-247-9523
John.Roehl@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections

Kara Topper, plumbing standards representative

651-279-3418
Kara.Topper@state.mn.us

plumbing inspections


Plan review:

Plumbing plan review

  • General information:  651-284-5063

Vacant

 

plumbing plan review supervisor

Greg Metz, Plan Review Unit manager

651-284-5884
Greg.Metz@state.mn.us

manager

Judy Tacheny, office administrative specialist

651-284-5886
Judy.Tacheny@state.mn.us

plan logging

Candice Parker, administrative assistant

651-284-5821
Candice.Parker@state.mn.us

plan logging

Zach Barnaal, plan review engineer

651-284-5888
Zachary.Barnaal@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Brad C. Erickson, plan review engineer

651-284-5880
Bradley.Erickson@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Colleen Erickson, plan review engineer

651-284-5881
Colleen.Erickson@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Corey Frain, PE, plan review engineer

651-284-5882
Corey.Frain@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Sam Padelford, plan review engineer

651-284-5182
Samuel.Padelford@state.mn.us
plumbing plan reviewer

Scott Sawyer, PE, plan review engineer

651-284-5803
Scott.Sawyer@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Marise Widmer, plan review engineer

651-284-5887
Marise.Widmer@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer

Brad Williams, PE, plan review engineer

651-284-5836
Bradley.Williams@state.mn.us

plumbing plan reviewer


Building plan review


Educational training, rules and code development

  • General information:  651-284-5867

Eileen McNiff, manager

651-284-5859
Eileen.McNiff@state.mn.us

manager

Rich Lockrem, construction code representative

651-284-5868
Rich.Lockrem@state.mn.us

state code development
residential code info

Terence Olson, construction code representative

651-284-5627
Terence.Olson@state.mn.us

grants

Chad Payment, construction code representative

651-284-5841
Chad.Payment@state.mn.us

educational training
continuing education

Steve Shold, construction code representative

651-284-5312
Steve.Shold@state.mn.us

representative of the
building official limited program

Amanda Spuckler, management analyst

651-284-5361
Amanda.Spuckler@state.mn.us

administrative rule development


Manufactured structures

  • General information:  651-284-5092

Scott McKown, assistant director 651-284-5893
Scott.McKown@state.mn.us
assistant director
Scott Wheeler, supervisor

651-284-5876
Scott.Wheeler@state.mn.us

manufactured structures supervisor

Herman Hauglid, building code representative

651-284-5870
Herman.Hauglid@state.mn.us

modular plan review/inspections

Larry D. Johnson, building code representative

651-284-5894
Larry.D.Johnson@state.mn.us

modular plan review/inspections

Jason Kelzer, building code representative

651-284-5806
Jason.Kelzer@state.mn.us

modular plan review/inspections

Ermias MeKonnen, building code representative

651-284-5833
Ermias.MeKonnen@state.mn.us
modular plan review/inspections

Matt Schowalter, office and administrative specialist intermediate

651-284-5366
Matt.Schowalter@state.mn.us

support and anchoring seals


Building Inspection Services

Scott McKown, assistant director plan review and regional services

651-284-5893
Scott.McKown@state.mn.us

assistant director

Tom Gray, building inspection services supervisor

651-284-5281
Thomas.Gray@state.mn.us

supervisor

Bryan Kerby, construction code representative

651-395-0343
Bryan.Kerby@state.mn.us

Region 1 - northwest regional building official

Jerry Jasmer, construction code representative

651-587-7070
Jerry.Jasmer@state.mn.us

Region 2 - northeast regional building official

Cliff Skogstad, construction code representative

320-815-2314
Clifford.Skogstad@state.mn.us

Region 3 - central-west regional building official

Mark Hensen, construction code representative

507-831-2930
Mark.Hensen@state.mn.us

Region 4 - southwest regional building official

Chris Meier, construction code representative

651-336-8411
Chris.Meier@state.mn.us

Region 5 - southeast regional building official

Kyle Christensen, construction code representative

651-279-1420
Kyle.Christensen@state.mn.us

Region 6 - central east regional building official


Code Services

Scott McKown, assistant director plan review and regional services

651-284-5893
Scott.McKown@state.mn.us

assistant director

Scott Wheeler, code services supervisor

651-284-5876
Scott.Wheeler@state.mn.us

supervisor

Jake Depuydt, construction code representative

651-284-5963
Jake.Depuydt@state.mn.us

code services

Tim Manz, construction code representative

651-284-5590
Timothy.Manz@state.mn.us

code services

Don Sivigny, construction code representative

651-284-5874
Don.Sivigny@state.mn.us

code services

Paul Swett, construction code representative

651-284-5953
Paul.H.Swett@state.mn.us

code services


Executive staff