Skip to main content

COVID-19 resources here.  |  Schedule a license exam.  |  DLI offices are closed to walk-in customers.

How do I get my final paycheck?

I was laid-off, fired or my job ended 

  • You must make a written demand to your employer for all wages. See our sample letter.

  • The employer must pay all final wages within 24 hours of receiving the written demand.

  • If you handled money or property for your employer, your employer may take 10 calendar-days to audit its records before issuing your final paycheck.

I quit my job

  • The employer must pay all final wages on your next regular payday that is at least five days after you quit.

  • The employer must pay within 20 days of your final day of work.

  • If you handled money or property for your employer, your employer may take 10 calendar-days to audit its records before issuing your final paycheck.

See Minnesota Statutes 181.13 and 181.14.

What if I don't get my final wages?

After you have made a demand to your employer and still have not been given your final wages, call the Labor Standards unit at 651-284-5070 to file a wage claim.

Can my employer deduct money from my wages?

Your employer may deduct money from your wages if:

  • you are covered by a union collective bargaining agreement that allows for deductions;

  • you are a commissioned salesperson with rules regarding deductions for performance issues;

  • before you made a purchase or took out a loan from your employer you voluntarily agreed in writing to have the cost of that loan or purchase taken out of your wages; or

  • there is a court order requiring that deductions be taken.

Your employer cannot deduct from your wages for broken equipment, lost money or other employer losses unless:

  • after the loss occurs, you give the employer your voluntary written authorization to deduct from your wages; or

  • you have been found liable for the loss by a court.

See Minnesota Statutes 181.79.

Can uniforms, equipment, consumables and travel expenses be deducted?

Your employer may deduct up to $50 total from your wages for:

  • purchased or rented uniforms required for your job; and

  • purchased or rented equipment used to do your job.

The $50 deducted from your wage must be paid back to you when you leave employment.

Deductions for consumables or travel expenses:

  • consumable supplies used to do your job; and

  • travel expenses incurred for work.

These deductions cannot bring your wages below the state minimum wage and must be paid back to you when you leave employment.

See Minnesota Statutes 177.24.

For more information

Contact us at dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us, 651-284-5070 or 800-342-5354.