Earned sick and safe time (ESST) outreach grant
Grant funding of approximately $300,000 available.
Feb. 9: The application period opens
Feb. 21 at 1 p.m.: Webinar about the request for proposals (RFP) and application process (register for the webinar)
Feb. 29 at 10 a.m.: Webinar about the RFP and application process (register for the webinar)
March 1 at 4 p.m.: Last day to submit questions
March 11 by 11:59 p.m.: Grant applications are due
May 2024: Grant recipients announced
July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2025: Grant period of performance
This grant funding is to increase worker knowledge and understanding of Minnesota's ESST law through outreach, education and technical assistance.
Minnesota workers have a variety of workplace protections to ensure they are treated fairly and compensated appropriately for their work in Minnesota. As a result of the 2023 legislative session and the law that went into effect Jan. 1, 2024, Minnesota workers have even greater protections in the workplace. However, certain barriers, including those related to education, income, immigration status, geographic isolation and language access, can impact workers' awareness of their rights and access to services that can help. This grant aims to empower workers, especially those who encounter barriers, by teaching them about their workplace rights and the options available to them when their rights are violated.
This grant program seeks to reach Minnesota workers, especially those who experience barriers that reduce access to legal rights information and remedies available, to educate them about the ESST law through methods that are community-centered, culturally-relevant and accessible.
Eligible organizations include:
Nonprofit community organizations and may include but are not limited to:
worker advocacy organizations
legal services organizations
domestic violence or sexual assault assistance organizations
faith-based and other community-based organizations throughout Minnesota.
The total available funding for the upcoming grant cycle is anticipated to total approximately $300,000. Applicants may apply for up to $100,000.
RFP and application materials
Contact Betsy Adamson at 651-284-5196 or firstname.lastname@example.org with questions or for technical assistance.
Minnesota's ESST law
Effective Jan. 1, 2024, Minnesota’s ESST law requires employers to provide paid leave to employees who work in the state. Sick and safe time can be used for various reasons, including when an employee is sick, to care for a sick family member or to seek assistance if an employee or their family member has experienced domestic abuse, stalking, or sexual assault. An employee earns one hour of sick and safe time for every 30 hours worked and can earn a maximum of 48 hours each year unless the employer agrees to a higher amount.