Skip to main content

An employer that fails to comply with provisions of the Minnesota Child Labor Act is subject to fines. An employer that is convicted of repeatedly violating the Minnesota Child Labor Act, or any other related regulation, will be guilty of a gross misdemeanor. The fines below apply for each employee.

Fine Child labor violation
$500 For employment of a minor under the age of 14
$500 For employment of a minor under the age of 16 during school hours while school is in session
$500 For employment of a minor under the age of 16 before 7 a.m.
$500 For employment of a minor under the age of 16 after 9 p.m.
$1,000 For employment of a high school student under the age of 18 in violation of Minnesota Statutes 181A.04, subd. 6
$500 For employment of a minor under the age of 16 more than eight hours a day
$500 For employment of a minor under the age of 16 more than 40 hours a week
$1,000 For employment of a minor under the age of 18 in an occupation hazardous or detrimental to minor's well-being as defined by rule
$1,000 For employment of a minor under the age of 16 in an occupation hazardous or detrimental to minor's well-being as defined by rule
$5,000 For employment of a minor under the age of 18 injured in hazardous employment
$250 For minor employed without proof of age