Minimum-wage rates adjusted for inflation as of Jan. 1, 2024
Minnesota's minimum-wage rates will be adjusted for inflation on Jan. 1, 2024, to $10.85 an hour for large employers and $8.85 an hour for other state minimum wages.
"Increasing minimum-wage rates gives the lowest-wage workers in Minnesota more earning power as they work hard to support themselves and their families," said Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Commissioner Nicole Blissenbach.
The current large-employer minimum wage, $10.59, will increase by twenty-six cents to $10.85. Other state minimum wages, including the small-employer, youth and training wages, as well as the summer work travel exchange visitor program wage, which are all currently $8.63, will increase by twenty-two cents to $8.85. These increases are both 2.5%.
As of Jan. 1, 2024:
Large employers – with annual gross revenues of at least $500,000 – must pay at least $10.85 an hour.
Small employers – with annual gross revenues less than $500,000 – must pay at least $8.85 an hour.
The training wage rate, $8.85 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive days of employment.
The youth wage rate, $8.85 an hour, may be paid to employees younger than 18 years of age.
These state minimum-wage rates will not apply to work performed in the cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul, which have higher minimum-wage rates.
Minimum wage posters will be available this fall
Minnesota law requires employers to display five state-mandated posters in a location where employees can easily see them. The new minimum-wage poster will be available for download this fall.
Employee notice updates may be required
As part of Minnesota's employee notice requirement, employers are required to provide each employee with a written notice of any change before the change takes effect, including a change to the employee's rate of pay. Learn more about the employee wage notice requirement.