MNOSHA WSC: Labor-Management Safety Committee Program
All employers with more than 25 employees are required to establish a joint labor-management safety and health committee for their workplace (see Minnesota Statutes 182.676).
Employers with 25 or fewer employees, that have a pure premium rate as reported by the Workers' Compensation Rating Association (WCRA) in the top 25 percent of premium rates for all classes, or that have experienced a "days away, restricted or transferred" (DART) rate within the top 10 percent of all rates for employers in the same industry, must also establish a joint labor-management safety and health committee.
Effective July 1, 2023, every public or private employer of 25 or fewer employees is required to establish and administer a safety committee if it is subject to the requirement of Minn. Stat. 182.653, subdivision 8 (AWAIR). See 2023 Minnesota legislative changes (lines 106.14 to 106.24). See also, Minnesota Rules 5208.1500, Standard industrial classification list for AWAIR.
WSC can help
Upon employer request, Minnesota OSHA Workplace Safety Consultation (WSC) can provide assistance to help employers develop an effective safety committee and to help maintain the effectiveness of an existing safety committee. Available services include interpretation of OSHA standards, training in self-inspection techniques, help in preparing and/or presenting specific training and education programs, accident investigation, and safety and health management. Through this assistance, management and labor employees can work together to reduce the frequency and severity of workplace injuries and illnesses.
Federal OSHA: Safety and Health Management Systems e-Tool
Oregon OSHA: Safety committees and safety meetings publications
Workplace Safety Consultation oversees a number of programs designed to help employers maintain safe and healthful workplaces. Contact WSC to request more information at email@example.com, 651-284-5060 or 800-657-3776.