MNOSHA Compliance: Penalty credits and reductions
Minnesota OSHA’s goal is to have employer address and correct any worksite safety or health hazards, not to just issue penalties.
A penalty for a violation may be credited by as much as 95 percent, depending on the:
employer’s good faith (up to 30 percent credit for demonstrated efforts to provide a safe workplace),
size of business (up to 55 percent) and
previous violation history (up to 10 percent).
If an employer contests a penalty, Minnesota OSHA Compliance may reduce a penalty based on an employer’s:
new information that supports the reduction or removal of penalty,
commitment to spend money on training or safety equipment, or
agreement to fix the hazard or submits a progress report that all the hazards have been corrected or needed safety or health equipment has been purchased.
OSHA provides employers a significant penalty reduction if an employer is able to reduce its workers' compensation claims rates as part of its 75/25 program.