Earned sick and safe time

WHAT IS EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME?

Earned sick and safe time is paid leave employers must provide to employees in Minnesota that can be used for certain reasons, including when an employee is sick, to care for a sick family member or to seek assistance if an employee or their family member has experienced domestic abuse.

WHO IS ELIGIBLE?

An employee is eligible for sick and safe time if they:

- are anticipated to work at least 80 hours in a year for an employer in Minnesota; and
- are not an independent contractor.

Part-time, seasonal and temporary employees are eligible for sick and safe time. Sick and safe time requirements will not apply to building and construction industry employees who are represented by a building and construction trades labor organization if a valid waiver of these requirements is provided in a collective bargaining agreement.

HOW MUCH LEAVE CAN EMPLOYEES EARN?

An employee earns one hour of sick and safe time for every 30 hours worked and can earn a maximum of 48 hours each year unless the employer agrees to a higher amount.

AT WHAT RATE MUST THE LEAVE BE PAID?

Sick and safe time must be paid at the same base rate an employee earns when they are working.

WHAT CAN THE LEAVE BE USED FOR?

Employees can use their sick and safe time for reasons such as:

- the employee's mental or physical illness, treatment or preventive care;
- a family member's mental or physical illness, treatment or preventive care;
- absence due to domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking of the employee or a family member;
- closure of the employee's workplace due to weather or public emergency or closure of a family member's school or care facility due to weather or public emergency; and
- when determined by a health authority or health care professional that the employee or family member is at risk of infecting others with a communicable disease.
- making funeral arrangements, attending a funeral service or memorial or addressing financial or legal matters that arise after the death of a family member.

WHICH FAMILY MEMBERS ARE INCLUDED?

Employees may use sick and safe time for their following family members:

- their child, including foster child, adult child, legal ward, child for whom the employee is legal guardian or child to whom the employee stands or stood in loco parentis (in place of a parent);
- 2. their spouse or registered domestic partner;
- 3. their sibling, stepsibling or foster sibling;
- their biological, adoptive or foster parent, stepparent or a person who stood in loco parentis (in place of a parent) when the employee was a minor child;
- 5. their grandchild, foster grandchild or stepgrandchild;
- 6. their grandparent or step-grandparent;
- 7. a child of a sibling of the employee;
- 8. a sibling of the parents of the employee;
- 9. a child-in-law or sibling-in-law;
- 10. any of the family members listed in 1 through9 above of an employee's spouse or registered domestic partner;
- 11. any other individual related by blood or whose close association with the employee is the equivalent of a family relationship; and
- 12. up to one individual annually designated by the employee.





Earned sick and safe time

WHO DOESN'T QUALIFY FOR EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME?

Sick and safe time does not apply to the following employees:

- Federal employees.
- Independent contractors.
- Volunteer and paid-on-call firefighters.
- Volunteer ambulance attendants and ambulance service personnel.
- Elected officials or a persons appointed to fill a vacancy to elected office.
- An individual employed by a farmer, family farm, or family farm corporation to do physical labor or manage the farm, if they are hired to work for 28 days or less each year.
- Building and construction industry employees who are represented by a building and construction trades labor organization if a valid waiver of these requirements is provided in a collective bargaining agreement.
- Certain family caregivers who have waived their rights to sick and safe time.

WHAT ADDITIONAL SICK AND SAFE TIME RESPONSIBILITIES DO EMPLOYERS HAVE?

In addition to providing their employees with one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked, up to at least 48 hours each year, employers are required to:

- at the end of each pay period, provide to every employee the total number of earned sick and safe time hours available for use, as well as the total number of earned sick and safe time hours used during the pay period;
- provide employees with a notice by Jan. 1, 2024 or at the start of employment, whichever is later in English and in an employee's primary language if that is not English, informing them about earned sick and safe time; and
- include a sick and safe time notice in the employee handbook, if the employer has an employee handbook.

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry has prepared a uniform employee notice that employers can use and has made it available in English and many additional languages spoken in Minnesota.



or injury



Safe time To address domestic abuse, sexual assault or stalking



Labor Standards • 443 Lafayette Road N. • St. Paul, MN 55155 651-284-5075 • 800-342-5354 • dli.mn.gov • esst.dli@state.mn.us

Notice: This is a brief summary of Minnesota law. It is intended as a guide and is not to be considered a substitute for Minnesota Statutes regarding earned sick and safe leave.