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2026 Minnesota State Building Code adoption update

Most Technical Advisory Groups (TAGs) have concluded their work, provided final reports to the
Construction Codes Advisory Council and the council has made recommendations to the commissioner of
the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry for approval to proceed with rulemaking.

Advisory groups that have some work to complete include the Residential Energy Code TAG and the
Commercial Energy Code TAG.

It is anticipated that the 2026 Minnesota State Building Code will become effective in the third quarter
of 2026, however, some code sections may be delayed due to extended TAG meetings or other statutory
requirements.

Follow along with the work of the advisory groups at

dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/technical-advisory-groups-tags.

New round of Building Official Training Grants to open soon

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry will again offer
one-year Building Official Training Municipal Grants.

Applications will be accepted from qualifying municipalities for

10 grants of $75,000. A request for proposals is expected to
publish in late September opening the 30-day application period.
Notification will be sent via email to building officials and building
official organizations and published in the State Register when the
request for proposals is available.

Each grant is intended to provide partial funding and guidance, l'
through training requirements, to qualified municipalities to

establish or continue to provide a training program in their
municipality to train one full-time employee of the jurisdiction’s building code department on the path to becoming a
Minnesota-certified building official.

Priority will be given to municipalities outside of the state’s metropolitan areas, but it is anticipated there will also be
grants available for municipalities within the metropolitan area.

Questions?
Contact us at bot.dli@state.mn.us.
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Contractor registration renewals are

CCLD Review is a quarterly
d ue by Dec. 31 9 2025 publication of the Minnesota
Unlicensed contractors who perform construction work in Minnesota may Department of Labor and
be required to register with DLI. This construction contractor registration Industry.
is separate from a professional license and is primarily used to help Receive email notification
DLI enforce laws related to worker misclassification in the construction when an issue is available by
industry. subscribing online.

Registrations must be renewed every two years and the current renewal . .
deadline is Dec. 31, 2025. If you work with or hire subcontractors, now is a Contact information
good time to ensure they are properly registered.

Not sure if you or someone you work with needs to be registered? Learn gﬁ;ﬁ:%‘;{ggz%'&fo

more about registration requirements and recent updates to Minnesota’s Toll-free: 1-800-657-3944
Construction Employee Misclassification Law.

Visit the Contact Us page.

Questions? . .. .
. . . Licensing information
Contact Elizabeth Harms at dli.register@state.mn.us or 651-284-5074. Business/contractor licenses
and bonds and personal
licenses and certificates
Phone: 651-284-5034
DLI.License@state.mn.us

. . iMS support
Schedule of board and council meetings Phone: 651-284-5026
iMS.support.dli@state.mn.us

Below is a schedule of meetings for boards and council supported

by CCLD. Electrical information
Phone: 651-284-5026
DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us

Visit dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils to view
meeting minutes, agendas, rulemaking documents and schedules . . . .

. " . Boiler, high-pressure piping,
for these meetings and additional boards and councils. boats-for-hire inspection

Phone: 651-284-5544
DLI.Code@state.mn.us

Board of Electricity Board of High
e Oct. 14, 2025 Pressure Piping O | A T T

e T8BD Phone: 651-284-5063
Construction Codes iMS.bld.plb.dli@state.mn.us
Advisory Council Plumbing Board
e TBD e Oct.21,2025 Building information

Phone: 651-284-5857
iMS.bld.plb.dli@state.mn.us

Interested in serving on a board or council? . .

. . License enforcement details
Minnesotans are encouraged to apply for positions on state Phone: 651-284-5069
councils, boards, task forces and commissions through the DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us
Secretary of State’s Open Commissions and Appointments process.

Contractor registration
Visit dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils for more Phone: 651-284-5074
information about how to apply. DELYegisten(@state. mas
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Council appoints working groups to review manufactured home
requirements and the International Fire Code

At its July 2025 meeting, the Construction Codes Advisory Council
appointed members to two Technical Advisory Groups (TAGs). The
Manufactured Homes TAG is reviewing the Notice of Compliance
requirements found in Minnesota Statutes, section 327.32, subd.
1a, for the leasing of manufactured homes and used manufactured
home sales to provide input on potential legislation.

Minnesota State Fire Code

A Fire Code TAG is reviewing the 2024 edition of the International
Fire Code (IFC) for adoption with amendments as the new Minnesota
State Fire Code. The TAG will review IFC requirements that are

not reviewed for compatibility with the International Building Code, such as retroactive requirements for existing
buildings, energy systems and food trucks.

View more information about TAGs and meetings at
dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/technical-advisory-groups-tags.

Agencies partner to streamline

DLI requesting rules to improve plumbing inspections of wells
DLI and the Drinking Water Protection

delegatlon avallablllt)” transparency Division from the Minnesota Department

DLI staff will request that the Construction Codes of Health (MDH) will finalize a delegation

Advisory Council convene a Technical Advisory Group agreement so that licensed well

(TAG) in November to develop rules for the agency to contractors will have plumbing piping

delegate plan review and inspections for public buildings associated with their well installations

and state licensed facilities. reviewed and inspected by MDH without
needing to also obtain plan review

The intent of the rules is to make the delegations process approval and plumbing permits from DLI.

more transparent and delegations themselves more

readily accessible to municipalities. Work covered by the delegation agreement
includes the water supply piping from well

Staff would like to do so by creating levels of qualification head to the first valve past the pressure

for individuals rather than the all-or-nothing system tank and within three feet of the building

currently implied in statute. The goal is to qualify more entry location. The delegation agreement is

individuals for different types state project work allowing effective Jan. 1, 2026.

more municipalities to participate in the administration
of code compliance for public buildings and state
licensed facilities.

Looking for a phone number or

The TAG will also discuss the integration of current email address?

delegations and currently qualified persons into the new
rules. Visit

for contact information.
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Bloomington contractor fined $14,500 for unlicensed work

A Bloomington contractor was found to have engaged in unlicensed residential building
construction work. The contractor was ordered to cease and desist from the unlicensed

activities and fined $14,500.

A licensed West St. Paul residential building contractor was found to have allowed an

unlicensed person to use its license number for the purpose of fraudulently obtaining Enforcement
building permits. DLI revoked the contractor’s license and ordered it to cease and desist from

acting or holding itself out as a residential building contractor in Minnesota.

actions

A Menahga contractor was found to have performed plumbing work without the required contractor license.
The contractor was ordered to cease and desist from the unlicensed activities and fined $5,000, of which

$4,000 was stayed contingent on full future compliance.

An Elk River contractor was found to have engaged in residential building construction, electrical and
plumbing work without having the required licenses. The contractor was ordered to cease and desist from the
unlicensed activities and fined $5,000, of which $4,000 was stayed contingent on full future compliance.

A Columbia Heights contractor was found to have engaged in residential remodeling, electrical and plumbing
work without being licensed. The contractor was ordered to cease and desist from the unlicensed activities
and fined $7,000, of which $5,500 was stayed contingent on full future compliance.

More information

View summaries of enforcement actions at dli.mn.gov/workers/homeowners/file-complaint-and-view-

enforcement-actions. Contact us at 651-284-5069 or dli.contractor@state.mn.us.

New requirements for zero
estimated exposure and wrap-up

policies effective Jan. 1, 2026

The Minnesota Legislature recently adopted new
requirements related to zero estimated exposure
and wrap-up policies for workers’ compensation
coverage for any employer providing building
construction or improvement services. The changes
include new requirements that will go into effect Jan
1, 2026, related to use of these policies.

The following information includes key points that
any employer performing building construction or
improvement services should know about these new
laws. For more information, refer to the law at 2025
Minnesota Session Laws, Chapter 27 — H.F. 3228.

‘Policy’ continues on Page 5

Elections are coming soon ... are you

registered to vote in Minnesota?

You can check to see if you are registered to

vote in Minnesota at mnvotes.sos.mn.gov/
voterstatuscheck/index. You can register to vote

at sos.state.mn.us/elections-voting/register-to-
vote.
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‘Policy’ continued from Page 4

What is a zero estimated exposure policy?
A zero estimated exposure policy, also known as an “if-any policy,” is a workers’ compensation policy obtained to
cover the employer’s liability to pay workers’ compensation after reporting the employer’s total estimated exposure
is zero.

If | am an employer applying for a zero estimated payroll exposure policy, do | need to do anything?
If you are applying for a zero estimated exposure policy, you will be asked to attest that you have no employees or
estimated payroll and that you will notify your carrier if you start having payroll expenses or hire employees.

If you purchase a zero estimated exposure policy, you are also required to disclose the existence of that policy in
writing to anyone to which you directly contract with to provide or perform building construction or improvement
services and also provide a copy of that policy.

These changes will go into effect starting on or after Jan. 1, 2026.

I have a zero estimated payroll exposure policy. What am | required to do?

Beginning on or after Jan. 1, 2026, if you purchase a zero estimated exposure policy, you are required to notify in
writing anyone to which you directly contract with to provide or perform building construction or improvement
services that you have a zero estimated payroll exposure policy. You must also provide a copy of that policy to any
entity you are directly contracting with to perform construction services.

How can | verify if my employer or if the person/entity I’ve contracted with has a zero estimated exposure policy?
Once the new law goes into effect, results from the workers’ compensation insurance lookup tool will show if an
employer has a workers’ compensation policy with zero estimated payroll.

| contracted with someone who will be providing or performing building construction or improvement services and
received notice in writing that they have a zero estimated exposure policy. What must | do?
In addition to written disclosure of the use of a zero estimated exposure policy, you should have received a copy of
the policy itself. You are required to maintain that notice and copy of the policy for three years from the date they
were received.

There is a notice on a jobsite that workers’ compensation insurance is through a wrap-up policy. What does that
mean?
Certain large construction projects may be eligible for a project sponsor or general contractor to obtain a series of
workers’ compensation policies to cover workers’ compensation liability for the employees of multiple contractors
and subcontractors working on the project. If you are injured on that jobsite, your workers’ compensation may come
from the wrap-up policy instead of a policy your employer has independent of the project. A wrap-up policy may
also be known as a contractor-controlled or owner-controlled insurance program.

Starting Jan. 1, 2026, a project sponsor or general contractor may apply for approval of an owner- or contractor-
controlled insurance program if the project meets certain criteria with regard to aggregate value, scope, and
amount of workers’ compensation premium provided that the participating sponsor, contractors and subcontractors
meet additional criteria and the rates for the insurance in the program met approval by the commissioner of the
Minnesota Department of Commerce. The specific criteria are found in Minnesota Statutes, section 79.102.

If a project is subject to a wrap-up policy, is any notice required?
The project sponsor or general contractor is required to provide all contractors and subcontractors with a copy of
the policy that covers their employees and must also post notice at all job sites in English and Spanish that includes
how to submit a claim for compensation.
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