Youth employment at Minnesota

resorts

The minimum age to work is 14 years old.

The minimum wage for youth under 18 years of age
is $8.21 an hour in 2021. (Annual rates may change
beginning January each year.)

Children of a resort owner are permitted to work for
the resort without restriction if the parent is the sole
owner of the resort.

Youth at least 18 years of age are permitted to work
without restriction.

Youth 14 and 15 years of age cannot work:

e before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m.;

e more than 40 hours a week;

e more than eight hours per 24-hour period;

e during school hours on school days;

e |ater than 7 p.m. on school days;

e more than three hours a day on school days; or
e more than 18 hours a week during a school week.

Youth 16 and 17 years of age cannot work after 11

p.m. on evenings before school days or before 5 a.m.
on school days. These youth may work as early as 4:30
a.m. on school days or as late as 11:30 p.m. on evenings
before school with written parent/guardian permission.
Written permission must be kept on file by the employer.

Prohibited work for youth 14 and 15 years of age:

e driving motorized vehicles, such as golf carts or all-
terrain vehicles;

e operating snow blowers, lawn mowers (walk behind
and riding), weed whips, trimmers, or other lawn
and garden equipment;

TIPS TO REMEMBER WHEN HIRING YOUTH AT RESORTS

e cleaning or maintaining
any power-driven
machinery; and

e using laundry
equipment.

Prohibited work activities

for youth under 18:

¢ handling hazardous material;

e working in or about a construction site;
e driving motor vehicles, except —

0 16and 17 year olds with a class D license may
drive up to 24,000-pound single-unit vehicles and
may carry passengers and

0 16and 17 year olds with a class B license may
drive more than 24,000-pound single-unit
vehicles, but may not carry passengers;

e operating or assisting in the operation of power-driven
machinery, including forklifts;
e working on commercial boats —

O minors may provide guide or other

nonoperational services on the boat;
e working as a lifeguard —

O an exception exists for minors with a Red
Cross lifesaving certificate who work under
uninterrupted adult supervision.

9. Youth under 18 cannot work in rooms where alcohol is

served or consumed. Except:
youth aged 16 or 17 may perform busing, dishwashing
or hosting duties in restaurants where the presence of
alcohol is incidental to food service and preparation and
youth aged 16 and 17 may provide musical
entertainment in restaurants where alcohol is
incidental to food service and preparation.
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Labor Standards ensures workers are paid correctly and workplace rights and responsibilities are enforced for all workers. Its goal
is to educate employers and employees about their rights and responsibilities under Minnesota employment laws.

m LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Labor Standards ¢ 443 Lafayette Road N. e St. Paul, MN 55155
651-284-5075 ¢ 1-800-342-5354 ¢ 651-284-5099 (Spanish) ¢ www.dli.mn.gov e dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us

Notice: This flyer is a brief summary of Minnesota law. It is intended as a guide and is not to be considered a substitute for Minnesota Statutes regarding wage and hour laws.
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