

Minnesota Frontline Worker Pay

About

To thank those Minnesotans who worked on the frontlines during the COVID-19 peacetime emergency, Gov. Tim Walz signed a law April 29, 2022, enabling those workers to apply for Frontline Worker Pay. Details of the program, including the application process and timeline, are online at <u>frontlinepay.mn.gov</u>. Visit the website to sign up to receive emailed updates about Frontline Worker Pay.



Who is eligible

There are initially two parts to who is eligible to apply: the work requirements and the job sector.

Work requirements

To be eligible for Frontline Worker Pay, the applicant:

- must have been employed at least 120 hours in Minnesota in one or more frontline sectors between March 15, 2020, and June 30, 2021;
- for the hours worked during this time period the applicant -
 - was not able to telework due to the nature of the individual's work and
 - worked in close proximity to people outside of the individual's household;
- must meet the income requirements for at least one of the 2020 or 2021 tax years
 - workers with direct COVID-19 patient care responsibilities must have had an adjusted gross income* less than \$350,000 for married taxpayers filing jointly, or less than \$175,000 for other filers and
 - for workers in occupations without direct COVID-19 patient care responsibilities, the adjusted gross income* limit is \$185,000 for married taxpayers filing jointly, or \$85,000 for other filers; and
- must not have received an unemployment insurance benefit payment for more than 20 weeks on a cumulative basis for weeks between March 15, 2020, and June 26, 2021.

*More about adjusted gross income: <u>irs.gov/e-file-providers/definition-of-adjusted-gross-</u> <u>income</u>.



May 2022

Job sectors

- 1. building services, including maintenance, janitorial and security;
- 2. child care;
- 3. courts and corrections;
- 4. emergency responders;
- 5. food service, including production, processing, preparation, sale and delivery;
- 6. ground and air transportation services;
- 7. health care;
- 8. long-term care and home care;
- 9. manufacturing;
- 10.public health, social service and regulatory service;
- 11.public transit;
- 12.retail, including sales, fulfillment, distribution and delivery;
- 13. schools, including charter schools, state schools and higher education;
- 14.temporary shelters and hotels; and
- 15.vocational rehabilitation.

Where to apply

After the application is ready, eligible workers will have 45 days to apply for Frontline Worker Pay at <u>frontlinepay.mn.gov</u>. Visit the webpage for helpful resources, such as answers to frequently asked questions, informational handouts in multiple languages, brief how-to videos and more.

Application assistance

After the application is ready, a call center and help desk will also be available to assist applicants in multiple languages.

Payments

After processing and verification of the applications, as well as a 15-day period for denied applicants to contest those decisions, the final list of eligible applicants will be determined. Each eligible applicant will be provided with an equal payment. All applications will move through the process at the same time and payments will be forwarded for processing together.

Notice: This flyer is a brief summary of Minnesota law. It is intended as a guide and is not to be considered a substitute for Minnesota Statutes regarding Frontline Worker Pay.



May 2022