Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Construction Codes and Licensing Division Electrical Inspections Unit 443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, MN 55155 Phone: 651-284-5026



## General Instructions for Calculating Electrical Inspection Fees (One- and Two-family Dwellings, New and Existing)

Refer to the statutory fee schedule available at <u>https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326B.37</u> for the complete fee schedule. The statutory language supersedes any summarized inspection fee information on Permit Applications, Fee Inspection Worksheets or any instructional materials.

- Service/Power Source: Enter the number of services or power sources based on the ampere rating of the service disconnect or main circuit breaker, or the total rating of all service disconnects or main circuit breakers where more than one is installed. If the rating is up to 400 amperes, the fee is \$35. If the rating is 401 to 800 amperes, the fee is \$60. If the rating is more than 800 amperes, the fee is \$100. Reminder: Strict National Electrical Code rules limit the number of services or power supplies to buildings or other structures. See the NEC for more information.
- 2. Feeders and Circuits 0 200 Amperes: Enter correct quantity of feeders and circuits. The inspection fee is \$6 per feeder or circuit.
- 3. Feeders and Circuits Over 200 Amperes: Enter correct quantity of feeders and circuits. The inspection fee is \$15 per feeder or circuit.
- 4. One- and Two-Family Dwellings (New): The flat rate fee of \$100 applies to each separate dwelling unit for new dwellings with a combination of up to 30 feeders and circuits. A fee of \$6 is applicable for each additional feeder or circuit over 30.
- 5. One- and Two-Family Dwellings (Existing): The flat rate fee of \$100 applies to each separate dwelling unit where 15 or more feeders or circuits are installed or extended in connection with any addition, alteration, or repair to existing dwellings. Where less than 15 feeders or circuits are installed or extended in connection with any addition, alteration, or repair to existing dwelling units, the inspection fee is \$6 for each feeder or circuit.
- 6. **Reconnected Feeders and Circuits (Existing):** Enter correct quantity of feeders and circuits. The inspection fee is \$2 per feeder or circuit. This fee is applicable for replacement of existing panelboards.
- 7. **Separate Bonding Inspections:** Enter the correct quantity of separate bonding inspections. The inspection fee is \$35 per separate bonding inspection.
- **8.** Inspection of concrete-encased grounding electrodes: Enter the correct quantity of concrete-encased electrode inspections. The inspection fee is \$35 per separate inspection.
- 9. **Technology System Devices:** Enter the number of technology system devices or apparatuses. The inspection fee is 75 cents per system device or apparatus.
- 10. The minimum fee for each separate inspection is \$35. The fees below represent our best estimate of the minimum fees required based on the information you provide, and the most common fees charged. These calculated fees may not accurately represent all the required inspection fees. Any fee discrepancies will be reviewed by the inspector and you will be billed for the difference. Fees are determined by Minnesota Statute 326B.37.

- 11. **Surcharge Fee:** A surcharge fee of \$1 is imposed on every permit effective 7/1/2015 as per M.S. 326B.148.
- 12. Grand Total: Double-check all calculations and computations for accuracy. Incomplete or inaccurate forms will be returned to the submitter.
- 13. **Submit:** Print or copy the number of forms needed (e.g. department, installer, electrical utility), and submit the completed form and fee payment to the Department of Labor and Industry at the address located on the upper left-hand corner of the form. The electrical utility will require a copy of the completed form for connection of the electrical service. **Please retain a copy for your records!**