

Designated contact employee training

The following represents required training for workers' compensation designated contacts. After you have read the training sheet, you must verify you completed this training via the <u>designated contact portal</u>.

Responsibilities

The Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) reminds clearinghouses, hospitals, insurers, self-insurers and third-party administrators that Minnesota Statutes § 176.135, subdivision 9 requires each organization to have a designated employee to answer questions related to the submission or payment of medical bills.

The designated employee is responsible for: completing training about the submission or payment of medical bills; and responding within 30 days to written DLI inquiries related to the submission or payment of medical bills. An organization should make sure its designated contact employee understands the training materials and can respond to DLI inquiries. If your organization uses a bill review company or vendor, it is your responsibility to make sure the bill review company or vendor is correctly applying the law when processing medical bills on your behalf.

Failure to designate an employee under the statute, complete required training or respond to an inquiry from DLI may subject your organization to penalties under Minn. Stat. § 176.135, subd. 9 (d).

More reminders of the requirements for designated contacts are available on the <u>"Work comp: Designated contacts" webpage</u>.

Electronic medical records

A legislative change, effective Aug. 1, 2023, updated Minnesota workers' compensation law requirements for reimbursement for copies of electronic medical records.

Minnesota Statutes § 176.135, subd. 7, was amended to include specific payment rates for electronic medical records. The law applies to any request for copies of medical records that are required to be maintained in an electronic format by state or federal law.

If an authorized requestor submits a written request for advance notice of the cost of the copies requested, the health care provider must notify the requestor of the estimated cost before sending the copies. If the requestor approves the cost and copies of the records are provided, the payment is the applicable fee stated below. If the requestor does not pay for the records, the health care provider may charge a fee, which must not exceed \$10.

For copies of electronic medical records, a health care provider may not charge more than a total of:

- \$10.00 if there are no records available;
- \$30.00 for copies of records of up to 25 pages;
- \$50.00 for copies of records of up to 100 pages;
- \$50.00 plus an additional 20 cents per page for pages 101 and above; or
- \$500 for any request.

The health care provider must provide copies of medical records in electronic format and the allowed charges for the electronic medical records include any fee for retrieval, download or other delivery. A health care provider also cannot require prepayment for the costs of the medical records unless there is an outstanding past due notice for the requestor from a previous records request from the provider.

More information

If you have further questions regarding medical records, contact DLI's medical policy staff at 651-284-5052 or medical.policy.dli@state.mn.us.