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m, DEPARTMENT OF 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) 
divisions, units 
• Apprenticeship Minnesota 

• Construction Codes and Licensing Division 

• Labor Standards 

• Minnesota OSHA (MNOSHA) Compliance 

• MNOSHA Workplace Safety Consultation 

• Workers’ Compensation Division 
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m, DEPARTMENT OF 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Labor standards enforced by DLI 

• Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act 

• Women’s Economic Security Act 

• Child Labor Standards Act 

• Minnesota Prevailing Wage Act 

• Wage Theft Prevention Act 

• Other laws related to employment, 

wages, conditions and hours 



 
 

  

 

Labor Standards, wage and hour agencies 

Minnesota Department of Labor and 
Industry, Labor Standards 
dli.mn.gov or 651-284-5075 

U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and 
Hour Division 
dol.gov/whd or 612-370-3341 

Minnesota Attorney General's Office 
ag.state.mn.us or 651-296-3353 

St. Paul, Labor Standards Enforcement 
and Education Division 
stpaul.gov/departments/human-rights-
equal-economic-opportunity or 651-
266-8900 

Minneapolis, Labor Standards 
Enforcement Division 
ci.minneapolis.mn.us/civilrights/LaborSt 
andardsEnforcement/ or 612-673-3012 

Duluth, City Clerk's Office 
duluthmn.gov/city-clerk/ or 218-730-
5500 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/
http://www.dol.gov/whd
http://www.ag.state.mn.us/
http://www.stpaul.gov/departments/human-rights-equal-economic-opportunity
http://www.ci.minneapolis.mn.us/civilrights/LaborStandardsEnforcement/
https://duluthmn.gov/city-clerk/


 

 
 

 

 

 

Minnesota Child Labor Standards Act 

The purpose of sections 181A.01 to 
181A.12 is to aid in the economic, social 
and educational development of young 
people through employment. Work is an 
integral factor in providing a sense of 
purpose, direction, and self-esteem 
necessary to the overall physical and mental 
health of an individual. Young people, 
especially those who have completed high 
school or occupational training, should not 
be denied employment opportunities. 

Work, however, must be coordinated with 
schooling and safety considerations in order 
to serve the best interest of the young. 



  

 

Knowledge check:  Hours restrictions for minors 

Can a 15-year-old work until 10 p.m. 
on a Saturday in July? 

a) Yes 

b) No 

c) Maybe 

Answer this question at 
forms.office.com/g/c7cxieFASW or 
scan the QR code. 

https://forms.office.com/g/c7cxieFASW


      

   

 
  

  
 
 

      

   
 

     

   
 
 

 
   

  
 

   
   

 

 
 

 
 

 

  
 

The “three paths” of Minnesota youth labor standards 

Question Minor <14 Years of Age Minor <16 Years of Age Minor <18 Years of Age 

Can the minor work? Generally not able to work 
except by exemption or by 
permit. 

Generally able to work at 14 
years of age. 

Generally able to work at 14 
years of age. 

Are there occupations that the Subject to all hazardous Subject to all hazardous Subject to hazardous 
minor may not engage in? occupations restrictions -- occupations restrictions -- occupations restrictions for 

unless an exemption is met. unless an exemption is met. minors under the age of 18 
unless exemption is met. 

What hours can the minor Between 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. only, 
work? maximum of eight hours in 24-

hour period and 40 hours in a 
week. 

Between 7 a.m.  to 9 p.m. only, 
maximum of eight hours in 24-
hour period and 40 hours in a 
week. Employment during 
school hours requires 
employment certificate. 

High school students cannot 
work after 11 p.m. on evening 
before school day or before 5 
a.m. on school day, except can 
work until 11:30 p.m. and at 
4:30 a.m. with written parental 
permission. 

Can the minor work during If working during school hours, If working during school hours, No limitation on working 
school hours? must obtain employment must obtain employment during school hours. 

certificate -- unless an certificate -- unless an 
exemption is met. exemption is met. 



  
 

  
  

    

  
 

   

Special concern: The presence of liquor 

Generally, minors under the age of 18 cannot work in rooms or areas where liquor is consumed 
or served, or in tasks prohibited by law that involve the sale, service, dispensation, or handling of 
liquor. 

Minors who have reached the age of 16 can be employed: 

• as a busser, dishwasher and host in rooms or areas of a restaurant, hotel, motel or resort where the 
presence of intoxicating liquor or 3.2% malt liquor is incidental to food service or preparation; 

• as a busser, dishwasher, host or server in rooms or areas where the presence of 3.2% malt liquor is 
incidental to food service or preparation; 

• to provide musical entertainment in those rooms/areas where the presence of intoxicating liquor and 
3.2% malt liquor is incidental to food service or preparation; and 

• in occupations not prohibited by law in rooms or areas where no liquor is consumed or served. 



 

 

Knowledge check:  Prohibited work for minors 

Which of the following work activities can 
a 17-year-old perform? 

a) Drive a forklift if they have their driver’s 
license. 

b) Restock the frozen foods in a grocery 
store cooler. 

c) Deliver a bottle of wine to a table in a 
restaurant. 

d) Perform as a trapeze artist. 

Answer this question at 
forms.office.com/g/r3LLj31U9j or scan 
the QR code. 

https://forms.office.com/g/r3LLj31U9j


  

 
 

 

   

  
 

Hazardous employment activities 

Examples (subject to limitation in the 
rule or exemption) 

• Under 18 (Minnesota Rules 5200.0910): 

• In or about construction or building 
projects, logging or lumbering operations, 
paper mills, sawmills; to operate or assist 
in the operation of power-driven 
machinery; to drive certain motor 
vehicles; or to work in rooms or areas 
where certain alcohol is served or 
consumed, or in any tasks involving the 
serving, dispensing, or handling of alcohol 
that are consumed on premises. 

• Under 16 (Minn. R. 5200.0920): 

• To lift, carry, or personally care for patients in 
hospitals or nursing homes; to operate or 
assist in the operation of machinery including 
farm type tractors and other self-propelled 
vehicles, snow blowers and other power-
driven lawn and garden equipment; in walk-
in meat freezers or meat coolers; or in any 
occupation in agriculture that the U.S. 
secretary of labor finds to be hazardous for 
minors under the age of 16. 



 
 

 

 

Knowledge check:  Child labor exception permit 

A child labor exception permit should be 
submitted when … 

a) An employer would like to hire a 14-year-
old. 

b) A worker has a special one-day work 
assignment during the school day. 

c) An employer is short staffed and needs a 
16-year-old to work past 11 pm on school 
nights. 

d) A 17-year-old who lives in Minnesota wants 
to work in North Dakota. 

Answer this question at 
forms.office.com/g/d4AzuNDtrk or scan the 
QR code. 

https://forms.office.com/g/d4AzuNDtrk


 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

Statue and rule-based exemptions 

• Approved training programs through DLI, 
Minnesota Department of Education, 
Minnesota Department of Employment and 
Economic Development and other agencies. 

• Minors working for corporations owned by 
one or both parents, where the daily 
corporate business is supervised by the 
parent(s). 

• Performer, newspaper carriers, youth athletic 
referees, home chores and babysitting. 

• Tasks outside the area of hazard. 

• High school graduates who are 17 years of 
age. 



  

Child labor exemption permits 

• DLI receives applications for child labor 
exemption permits 

• Must be filed by the minor’s parent, 
guardian, school official, or youth 
employment specialist. 

• Assessed on a case-by-case basis, 
granted if the permit would be in 
the best interest of the minor. 

• Permits can be sought and may be 
granted for any of the child labor 
laws and rules. 

• Turnaround time varies by season. 

• Permits are available as fillable PDFs 
at 
dli.mn.gov/business/employment-
practices/child-labor-exemptions 

https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/child-labor-exemptions


 

 

 

Knowledge check:  Minimum wage 

What is the current minimum wage in 
Minnesota? 

a) $7.25 per hour 

b) $15.19 per hour 

c) $13.50 per hour 

d) $10.59 per hour 

Answer this question at 
forms.office.com/g/X3UbwATY31 or 
scan the QR code. 

https://forms.office.com/g/X3UbwATY31


  

  

 

  

  

 
  

mil DEPARTMENT OF 
L.A.BOR AND I MDUSTRY 

State law:  Minimum wage 

Employer/employee type Minimum wage rate 

Large employer – Any enterprise with annual gross 
revenues of $500,000 or more 

$10.59 (2023) 

Small employer – Any enterprise with annual gross 
revenues of less than $500,000 

$8.63 (2023) 

Training wage – May be paid to employees aged 18 and 
19 in the first 90 days of employment 

Youth wage – May be paid to employees aged 17 or 
younger 

J-1 Visa – May be paid to employees of hotels, motels, 
lodging establishments and resorts working under the 
authority of a summer work, travel exchange (J) visa 

$8.63 (2023) 

*minimum wage adjusts Jan. 1 of each year. 



!DEPARTMENT OF' 
LABO,R ANID I NDUST'RY 

Employee notice 

1. Employ,ee; Addr,ess; 

Piho:ne numbe1r; Eima il address;; 

Date employment be,J!an: 

2. L al name of e mp oy,er; Main office/principal place of business addr,es.s;; 

Piho:ne numbe1r; Eima il address; 

0 iperatii ng name of employer (if different); 

Mail ing address (if differ,entl,; 

3:. Employment stab1JS (exiempt o:r non-exempt): 

D Employee is ,exe,mpt from; O minim 1J m wage D overtime D ,other p:rovis" o:ns of M innesota Statutes l!. 77 

Legal basis fo:r ex.emption ; 

D Employee is liOli-exem;pt (entitled to ovel"liime., ininim1Jm wage, otlher protectio:ns l!lllidler M i lin . Stat. 177) 

4. Rate o:r r,ates of pay 

Paid by; HlourD Shirtt D nav D Weeik.O SalarvD Plleoe lD Comm ission D Otih er metlhod D 

Employee notice 
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Case example one 

• Cashiers and cooks at fast food 
chicken restaurant. Located in 
northwest Minnesota. 

• When complaint was filed: 

• Minors aged 16 and 17 working past 11 p.m. 
on school nights, sometimes until 1 a.m. 

• Had cut back some on later scheduling after a 
parent intervened. 

• After intervention: 

• Scheduling within legally allowable times. 

• Fined $21,000. 

17 



  

 

 

Case example two 

• Two employees under the age of 16 
working in a grocery store. 

• When complaint was filed: 

• No employment certificate or exemption. 

• Working during the school day. 

• After intervention: 

• Only scheduled outside of school hours. 

• $1,000 fine. 
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Labor Standards services and process m, DEPARTMENT OF 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

• Investigations 

• Wage claim 

• Inform and educate 

• Investigation 

• Education and outreach 

• Technical assistance 

• Training 

• Videos 

• Website and materials 



 

 

 

 

  

m, DEPARTMENT OF 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Thank you 

• Sign up for our Wage and Hour Bulletin: dli.mn.gov/business/employment-
practices/minnesota-wage-and-hour-bulletin 

• Contact Labor Standards at 651-284-5075 or dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us. 

• Visit our child labor laws page: dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/child-labor-laws. 

• Find information about age restrictions, exemption permits, FAQs, hours of work and 
more. 

• View informational videos in four languages:  dli.mn.gov/labor-standards-videos. 
20 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/minnesota-wage-and-hour-bulletin
mailto:dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us
https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/employment-practices/child-labor-laws
http://dli.mn.gov/labor-standards-videos


CHILD LABOR REQUIREMENTS 
IN NON-AGRICULTURAL OCCUPATIONS 

FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT 

Corey Walton 
USDOL-WHD 

Community Outreach & Resource Planning  

!WHD WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 



!WHD WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

COVERAGE 

Two types of coverage: 

• Enterprise coverage: If an enterprise is 
covered, all employees of the enterprise 
are entitled to FLSA protections 

• Individual coverage: Even if the 
enterprise is not covered, individual 
employees may be covered and entitled 
to FLSA protections 



 

 

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

ENTERPRISE COVERAGE 

• Enterprises with: 
• At least two (2) employees engaged in commerce 

• At least $500,000 a year in business 

• Hospitals, businesses providing medical or nursing 
care for residents, schools, preschools and 
government agencies with at least two (2) employees 
are covered on an enterprise basis regardless of their 
annual dollar volume of business 



 
 

 

 
 

  
 

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

INDIVIDUAL COVERAGE 

• Workers who are engaged in: 
• Interstate commerce 
• Production of goods for commerce 
• Closely related process or occupation directly essential (CRADE) 

to such production, or 
• Domestic service 

• Engaging in “interstate commerce” includes: 
• Making telephone calls to other states 
• Typing letters to send to other states 
• Processing credit card transactions 
• Traveling to other states 



 
  

  

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

CHILD LABOR COVERAGE 

• Minors employed by a covered enterprise or who 
themselves engage in the production of goods for 
interstate commerce 

• Minors employed at establishments where goods 
are produced for interstate commerce 

• Approximately 90% of all employees in the United 
States are covered by the FLSA 



  

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

THE BOTTOM LINE 

Approximately 90% of all employees in the 
United States are covered by the FLSA 



 

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

FEDERAL YOUTH EMPLOYMENT PROVISIONS DO NOT: 

• Require minors to obtain work permits; 

• Limit hours or restrict time worked for 
minors 16 years of age or older; 

• Require breaks or meal periods for 
minors 



 

 

 

 

!WHD WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

KNOWLEDGE CHECK:  FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT 

About half of all employees in the 
U.S. are covered by the federal 
Fair Labor Standards Act. 

a) True 

b) False 

Answer this question at 
forms.office.com/g/YMkSkvBwHk 
or scan the QR code. 

https://forms.office.com/g/YMkSkvBwHk


    
    

   
   

  

  
   

  
 

      

!WHD WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

CHILD LABOR 

Under 14 - Children under 14 years of age may not be employed in non-agricultural 
occupations covered by the FLSA. Permissible employment for such children is limited to work 
that is exempt from the FLSA (such as delivering newspapers to the consumer and acting). 
Children may also perform work not covered by the FLSA such as completing minor chores 
around private homes or casual baby-sitting. 

14 - Young persons 14 and 15 years of age may be employed outside school hours in a variety 
of non-manufacturing and non-hazardous jobs for limited periods of time and under specified 
conditions. 

16 - Basic minimum age for employment. Sixteen- and 17-year-olds may be employed for 
unlimited hours in any occupation other than those declared hazardous by the Secretary of 
Labor. 

18 - Once a youth reaches 18 years of age, he or she is no longer subject to the Federal youth 
employment provisions. 



 

 
 

 

!WHD WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

KNOWLEDGE CHECK:  MINIMUM AGE FOR EMPLOYMENT 

Generally speaking, under federal law, 
the minimum age for employment in 
non-agricultural occupations is 12 
years-old. 

a) True 

b) False 

Answer this question at 
forms.office.com/g/dALvvPjnW4 or 
scan the QR code. 

https://forms.office.com/g/dALvvPjnW4


  

 
 
    
    

  

!WHD WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

HOURS THAT 14 AND 15 YEAR-OLDS MAY WORK 

Federal regulations limit the hours and the times of day that 
14 and 15 year-olds may work to: 

• Outside school hours; 
• No more than 3 hours on a school day , including Fridays; 
• No more than 8 hours on a nonschool day; 
• No more than 18 hours during a week when school is in session; 
• No more than 40 hours during a week when school is not in 

session; 
• Between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m.—except between June 1 and Labor 

day when the evening hour is extended to 9 p.m. 



 

 

!WHD WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

KNOWLEDGE CHECK:  HOURS RESTRICTIONS FOR 
MINORS (FEDERAL) 

15 year-old, but not 14 year-old 
employees can work unlimited hours 
under the child labor provisions of the 
Fair Labor Standards Act. 

a) True 

b) False 

Answer this question at 
forms.office.com/g/pk6WurX38x or 
scan the QR code. 

https://forms.office.com/g/pk6WurX38x


     
 

   
 

    

    

   
  

 

 

  

  

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

   

  
 

     
 

   

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

JOBS 14 AND 15 YEAR-OLDS MAY/MAY NOT DO 

Retail & Service Jobs that 14 and 15 year-olds 
may do: 

• Errands and deliveries by foot, bike, 
bus or train 

• Certain clean-up work and yard work 

• Pumping gas and hand cleaning cars 

• Kitchen work, preparing and serving 
food (but very limited cooking) 

• Office and clerical work 

Prohibited Work For 14 and 15 year-olds: 

• Manufacturing and mining 

• Most processing occupations 

• Operating power-driven equipment 

• Transportation of persons or property 

• Communications 

• Warehousing and storage 

• Construction 

• Cashiering and selling 

• Price marking, assembling orders, 
packing 

• Work in or about boiler or engine rooms 

• Maintenance or repair of a building or equipment 

• Work in freezers and meat coolers 

• Bagging and carrying out customers’ 
orders 

• Outside window washing that requires working from 
window sills 

• Baking 

• All occupations declared to be hazardous for 16 and 
17 year-olds 

**These lists are not exhaustive** 



   

        
    

  

    
  

 

   

   
 

    

   
 

    

     
   

 

     
    

     

     
  

  

    

       

    

      
      

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS ORDERS 

• A youth 16 or 17 years old may perform any non-hazardous job. 
• A youth 14 and 15 years old may not work in the manufacturing or mining industries, or in any hazardous job. 

• HO 1. Manufacturing or storing explosives 

• HO 2. Driving a motor vehicle or work as an 
outside helper on motor vehicles 

• HO 3. Coal mining 

• HO 4. Forest fire fighting, forecast fire 
prevention, timber tract, forestry service, and 
logging and sawmilling 

• HO 5. Power-driven woodworking machines 

• HO 6. Exposure to radioactive substances and 
ionizing radiation 

• HO 7. Power-driven hoisting apparatus 

• HO 8. Power-driven metal-forming, punching 
and shearing machines 

• HO 9. Mining, other than coal 

• HO 10. Power-driven meat-processing machines, 
slaughtering, rendering and meat packing plants 

• HO 11. Power-driven bakery machines 

• HO 12. Power-driven paper-products machines, scrap 
paper balers, and paper box compactors 

• HO 13. Manufacturing of brick, tile and related products 

• HO 14. Power-driven circular saws, band saws and 
guillotine shears, chain saws, reciprocating saws, wood 
chippers, and abrasive cutting discs. 

• HO 15. Wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking operations 

• HO 16. Roofing occupations and work on or about a roof 

• HO 17. Trenching and excavation operations 



 
   

   
    

   
  

 

   
    

 

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

EXCEPTIONS AND EXEMPTIONS 

• Apprentices and Student Learners enrolled in an approved program can 
be exempt from HO 5, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16 and 17 under certain conditions 

• There are some exceptions for 14- and 15-year-old students enrolled in 
Work Experience and Career Exploratory Programs (WECEP) and Work 
Study Programs; 

• The federal child labor provisions do not apply to: 
▪ Children 16 and 17 years of age employed by their parents in 

occupations other than those declared hazardous by the 
Secretary of Labor. 

▪ Children under 16 years of age employed by their parents in 
occupations other than manufacturing or mining, or occupations 
declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. 

• Other exemptions 



  

  

 

 

!WHD WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

KNOWLEDGE CHECK:  HAZARDOUS ORDER 
RESTRICTIONS 

Under federal law, the 17 Hazardous 
Order restrictions apply to all 
employees 16 years-old or younger. 

a) True 

b) False 

Answer this question at 
forms.office.com/g/mHycyS50PP or 
scan the QR code. 

https://forms.office.com/g/mHycyS50PP


 

 

  

         

  

         

    

  

!WHD WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

ADDITIONAL COMPLIANCE ASSISTANCE MATERIALS 

Youth Rules 
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/youthrules 

Child Labor Rules Advisor 
https://webapps.dol.gov/elaws/whd/flsa/cl/default.htm?_ga=2.168930918.61858325.1614197541-301270231.1606851725 

Child Labor Bulletin 101 (CL Requirements in Non-Agriculture Occupations Under the FLSA) 
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/childlabor101.pdf 

Fact Sheet #43 (Child Labor) 
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/whdfs43.pdf 

Child Labor Bulletin 102 (CL Requirements in Agriculture Occupations Under the FLSA) 
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/childlabor102.pdf 

USDOL-WHD Field Operations Handbook (Chapter 33 – Child Labor) 
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/field-operations-handbook/Chapter-33#B33c22 

USDOL-WHD Child Labor FAQs 
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/child-labor/faq#1 

**1-866-4US-WAGE (1-866-487-9243)** 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/youthrules
https://webapps.dol.gov/elaws/whd/flsa/cl/default.htm?_ga=2.168930918.61858325.1614197541-301270231.1606851725
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/childlabor101.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/whdfs43.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/childlabor102.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/field-operations-handbook/Chapter-33#B33c22
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/child-labor/faq#1


 
 

 

 

 

  
 

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

dol.gov/agencies/whd 
1 -866-487-9283 

DISCLAIMER 

This presentation is intended as general information only and does not 
carry the force of legal opinion. 

The Department of Labor is providing this information as a public service. 
This information and related materials are presented to give the public 
access to information on Department of Labor programs. You should be 
aware that, while we try to keep the information timely and accurate, 
there will often be a delay between official publications of the materials 
and the modification of these pages. Therefore, we make no express or 
implied guarantees. The Federal Register and the Code of Federal 
Regulations remain the official source for regulatory information 
published by the Department of Labor. We will make every effort to keep 
this information current and correct errors brought to our attention. 




