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Board of Electricity

Proposed Permanent Rules Modifying Electrical Board Training Requirements

3800.3520 EXAMINATION; MINIMUM EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS FOR
LICENSURE; ACCEPTABLE EXPERIENCE.

[For text of subparts 1 to 3, see Minnesota Rules]

Subp. 4. Acceptable experience for certain categories in certain
situations. Experience in the categories of planning for the installation of wiring, apparatus,
and equipment for light, heat, and power; laying out for the installation of wiring, apparatus,
and equipment for light, heat, and power; supervising the installation of wiring, apparatus,
and equipment for light, heat, and power; and wiring and installing electrical wiring,
apparatus, and equipment for light, heatjand power is acceptable in the situations described

in items A to E D.

[For text of items A and B, see Minnesota Rules]

B- C. Experience while performing electrical work outside of Minnesota, which

the department has determined is substantially equivalent to the work performed while in
the employ of a licensed contractor in Minnesota. This determination must be based on a

certification by the employer for the type of work performed.

E: D. Experience while performing electrical work in the armed forces of the

United States which the department has determined is substantially equivalent to work

3800.3520 1
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performed while in the employ of a licensed contractor in Minnesota. This determination

shall be based on a certification by the military for the type of work performed.

[For text of subpart 5, see Minnesota Rules]

ELECTRICAL TRAINING PROGRAMS

3800.4000 PURPOSE.

Parts 3800.4000 to 3800.4055 establish requirements for approval of programs that

must be used to fulfill the experience credit requirements for electrical license applicants.

3800.4005 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. For purposes of parts 3800.4000 to 3800.4055, the terms defined

in this part have the mcanings given.

Subp. 2. Advanced standing. TAdvanced standing" means credit toward program

completion for prior education recognized by.apostsecondary program through a developed

procedure, including transfer of credits for courses that ate at least 80 percent similar to

those in an approved program, and credit by eXamination forup to 25 percent of program

Courscs.

Subp. 3. Approval period. "Approval period" means atime frame beginning with

the approval beginning date and extending until the program1s discontinued or commissioner

approval is removed or not continued through the reapplication process.

Subp. 4. Board. "Board" means the Board of Electricity.

Subp. 5. Course. "Course" means a part of a program that consists of an individual

knowledge or skill area, or part of a larger knowledge or skill area.

Subp. 6. Electrical work. "Electrical work" means the installing, altering, repairing,

planning, or laying out of electrical wiring, apparatus, or equipment for light, heat, power,

or other purposes. The installing, altering, repairing, planning, or laying out of electrical

3800.4005 2
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wiring apparatus or equipment for light, heat, power, or other purposes includes but is not

limited to the performance of any work governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.35.

Subp. 7. Independent study. "Independent study" means student learning effort within

the specific program content that is outside of lecture, shop, or lab hours and does not require

student and instructor contact.

Subp. 8. Survey. "Survey" means collecting and analyzing information to assess

compliance with parts 3800.4000 to 3800.4055. Information must be analyzed by multiple

methods, including review of requested information and materials, on-site evaluation, or

interviews and conferencés withyprogram administrators, instructors, or students.

3800.4010 TWO-YEAR ELECTRICAL PROGRAM.

To qualify for approval, a two-year electrical program must be a postsecondary program

that awards a diploma or an associate of'applied science degree at completion and meets

the requirements of parts 3800.4000/to 3800:4055L Satisfactory completion of an approved

two-year electrical program fulfills the 12-month experi€nce credit allowance for a Class

A journeyworker electrician, power limited technigianyor maintenance electrician license

applicant according to part 3800.3520, subpart 5, items B, E, and I, @aad Minnesota Statutes,

section 326B.33, subdivisions 2, paragraph (b), and 7, paragraph (b).

3800.4015 POWER LIMITED TECHNICIAN PROGRAM.

To qualify for approval, a power limited technician program must either be a two-year

electrical program described in part 3800.4010 or other program that has at least 500 hours

of student and instructor contact time meeting the program content described in part

3800.4050. Approval for experience credit for programs other than a two-year electrical

program is based on increments of 100 hours, or major fraction thereof, of student and

instructor contact time up to a maximum of 2,000 hours.

3800.4015 3
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3800.4020 APPLICATION FOR PROGRAM APPROVAL.

Subpart 1. Content. An application for approval of a program must meet each of the

requirements in items A to G.

A. The application must be in a format provided by the commissioner and contain

complete, current, and accurate information.

B. The application must include a syllabus for each program course.

C. The application must include a detailed written description of how the program

meets the required program€entent.

D. The appli€ation must identify course instructors and their qualifications.

E. The informatienfprovided inithe application must be verifiable by survey.

F. The application rust identifyfa beginning date corresponding to an initial

student enrollment date. Students enrolled afterthe beginning date who successfully complete

an approved program within the approval peried are eligible for experience credit.

G. The application must be signed by thefadministrator and department head of

a program or another official representative of the applicant.

Subp. 2. Processing. The commissioner shall review all applications. Items A to E

apply to all applications.

A. Incomplete applications must be immediately returned to the applicant.

B. Upon review of completed applications, including completion of a survey, any

deficiencies must be noted and identified to the applicant.

C. If no deficiencies are noted or all identified deficiencies have been corrected,

the commissioner shall recommend approval to the board.

3800.4020 4
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D. If the applicant fails to correct identified deficiencies, the commissioner shall

recommend disapproval to the board.

E. An applicant may request a hearing before the board to appeal disapproval of

a program.

3800.4025 REPORTING AND REAPPLICATION FOR APPROVAL.

A. By July 1 of each year, the administrator of a program approved for experience

credit shall provide an annual report to the commissioner. The annual report must include

a copy of course syllabi for approved programs, a detailed description of new courses or

courses modified over teén percent, and identification and qualification of instructors,

including instructor‘development, The,annual report must be signed by the administrator

and department head of the'prograim or anether official representative of the program

provider.

B. An approved program must beg@submitted for approval by July 1 of the fifth

year from the last approval date. At the commissioner'sdiscretion, the commissioner may

modify the initial time period for resubmission to a€hieve review of approximately 20

percent of approved programs each year.

C. The administrator of an approved program shallgrovide information as part

of a survey upon request of the commissioner.

D. The administrator of an approved program shall notify the commissioner when

an approved program is discontinued.

3800.4030 REMOVAL OF APPROVAL.

A. The board shall remove approval of a program based on a determination by

survey that the program does not meet the requirements for approval.

B. The board may remove approval of a program if the administrator of an

approved program fails to provide the annual report according to part 3800.4025.

3800.4030 5
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C. The board may remove approval of a program if the administrator of an

approved program fails to resubmit the program for reapplication by July 1 of the fifth year

from the last approval date or the year assigned by the commissioner as allowed by part

3800.4025, item B.

3800.4035 VERIFICATION OF COMPLETION.

Upon inquiry by the commissioner, the provider of an approved program shall provide

verification that an applicant has completed an approved program.

3800.4040 TWO-YEAR ELECTRICAL PROGRAM CONTENT.

Subpart 1. Contaettime. A two-year electrical program shall consist of 2,000 or more

hours of student and instructorontaet time and is subject to the following:

A. up to 200 hours ofindependent study may be substituted for student and

instructor contact time;

B. a minimum of 1,600 hour§'ef student and instructor contact time must be

technical electrical instruction;

C. at least 30 percent but not more than 40 percent of theitechnical electrical

student and instructor contact time must be lecture hours, and the remainder shop or lab

hours;

D. intern programs, whether internal or external, do not satisfy the contact time

requirement under this subpart; and

E. astudent may receive advanced standing credit for up to one-third of the courses

of an approved program.

Subp. 2. Attendance policy. A two-year electrical program must include an attendance

policy that requires students to attend a minimum of 95 percent of each required program

course. The program must include a provision for students to retake courses or make up

3800.4040 6
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7.1 portions of courses when the student does not attend 95 percent or more of each required
7.2 program course. Attendance records must be kept at the course level.

7.3 Subp. 3. Technical content. A two-year electrical program must include courses that
7.4 cover the following knowledge and skill areas:

7.5 A. electrical theory;

7.6 B. electronic theory;

7.7 C. lighting systems;

7.8 D. heating and€00ling,systems;

7.9 E. motors;]

7.10 F. generators;

7.11 G. transformers;

7.12 H. panelboards and switchboards;

7.13 I. overcurrent devices;

7.14 J. grounding;

7.15 K. motor controls;

7.16 L. electronic controls;

7.17 M. electrical code;

7.18 N. electrical test equipment and troubleshooting;
7.19 O. specification and blueprint reading;

7.20 P. installation and application of electrical materials and equipment;
7.21 Q. wiring methods;

3800.4040 7
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R. conductors and cables;

. tools, materials, and handling;

| w2

!

fire alarm systems;

s

communication systems;

|<

. alarm systems;

=

data systems;

| <

. electrical and jeb site safety;

=<

. related mathematicsj; and

|N

. related general.education.

3800.4045 QUALIFICATIONS OFINSTRUCTORS FOR TWO-YEAR PROGRAMS.

Subpart 1. Generally. An insttuctor fof'a two-year electrical program shall meet the

requirements in subparts 2 and 3.

Subp. 2. Licensing, experience, and education. “An instructor shall:

A. hold a current license issued by the Department of llaboriand Industry as a

Class A master electrician or a Class A journeyworker electfiCian;

B. hold a current license issued by an electrical licensing authority in the state

where the school is located if the state has a reciprocal agreement with the Department of

Labor and Industry for either master or journeyworker licenses;

C. have a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering and have 4,000

hours of experience performing electrical work;

D. have an Associate of Applied Science degree in electrical construction or

maintenance, or both, and have 6,000 hours of experience performing electrical work;

3800.4045 8
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E. have a two-year diploma for completing a two-year electrical construction

program or maintenance program, or both, and have 6,000 hours of experience performing

electrical work; or

F. for courses limited to specific technical or general education areas, other than

general wiring methods or the application of electrical codes, be a technical expert based

on special training or certification or accreditation in the specific knowledge or skill area.

Subp. 3. Recent initial experience. Except for instructors of courses in subpart 2,

item F, a minimum of 2,000 hours of the required instructor experience must have been in

the five years prior to the@pplication for program approval or the instructor's employment

date, whichever is later, and congist of either:

A. a minimum 0f2,000dours oflexperience performing electrical work; or

B. (1) up to 1,500 hours of jexperience credit for instruction based on a formula

in which one hour of instruction equals twedhours/of experience credit; plus (2) a sufficient

number of hours of experience performing eleetrical workito total 2,000 hours.

3800.4050 POWER LIMITED TECHNICIAN PROGRAM CONTENT.

Subpart 1. Contact time. A power limited technician progfam shall consist of a

minimum of 500 hours of student and instructor contact time@nd is subject to the following:

A. up to ten percent of the approved hours may be independent study;

B. a minimum of 80 percent of the approved hours must be technical electrical

instruction; and

C. intern programs, whether internal or external, do not satisfy the contact time

requirement under this subpart.

Subp. 2. Attendance policy. A power limited technician program must include an

attendance policy that requires students to attend a minimum of 95 percent of each required

3800.4050 9
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program course. The policy must include a provision for students to retake courses or make

up portions of courses when the student does not attend 95 percent or more of each required

program course. Attendance records must be kept at the course level.

Subp. 3. Technical content. A power limited technician program must include courses

that cover the following knowledge and skill areas:

A. electrical theory;

B. electronic theory;

C. Class 2 and Class)3 power supplies;

D. Class 2¢dnd Class 3/eircuits;

E. grounding;

F. electrical code;

G. electrical test equipment and troublgshooting;

H. specification and blueprint reading;

I. wiring methods;

J. conductors and cables;

K. tools, materials, and handling;

L. electrical and job site safety;

M. related mathematics;

N. related general education; and

O. technology circuits or systems.

3800.4050 10
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A minimum of 30 percent but not more than 50 percent of the total student and instructor

contact time must be on technology circuits or systems as defined in Minnesota Statutes,

section 326B.31, subdivision 29.

3800.4055 QUALIFICATIONS OF INSTRUCTORS FOR POWER LIMITED
TECHNICIAN PROGRAMS.

Subpart 1. Generally. An instructor for a power limited technician program shall

meet the requirements of subparts 2 and 3.

Subp. 2. Licensing, experience, and education. An instructor shall:

A. hold a licen$e as issued by the Department of Labor and Industry as a Class A

master electrician, Class A journeywoiker electrician, or power limited technician;

B. hold a current license 1ssued by an electrical licensing authority in the state

where the school is located if the state has'a reciprocal agreement with the Department of

Labor and Industry for either master, journegyworker, or power limited technician, or

equivalent licenses;

C. have a Bachelor of Science degree in‘electrical or electronic engineering and

have 3,000 hours of experience in engineering, planning, laying outgsupervising, or installing

technology system wiring;

D. have an Associate of Applied Science degree in electrical construction or

maintenance, or both, and have 4,000 hours of experience performing electrical work;

E. have a two-year diploma for completing a two-year electrical construction or

maintenance program, or both, and have 4,000 hours of experience performing electrical

work;

F. have an Associate of Applied Science degree in technology systems, and have

4,000 hours of experience performing technology system work;

3800.4055 11
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G. have a two-year diploma for completing a two-year technology systems

program, and have 4,000 hours of experience performing technology system work;

H. be a certified instructor for a nationally recognized training program; or

I. for courses limited to specific technical or general education areas, other than

general wiring methods or the application of electrical codes, be a technical expert based

on special training or certification or accreditation in the specific knowledge or skill area.

Subp. 3. Recent initial experience. Except for instructors of courses in subpart 2,

item I, a minimum of 2,000Aeurs of the required instructor experience must have been in

the five years prior to th€application for program approval or the instructor's employment

date, whichever is later, and conSist ofieither:

A. aminimum of 2,000 hours of eXperience performing electrical work, including

technology system work; or

B. (1) up to 1,500 hours of'experience credit for instruction based on a formula

in which one hour of instruction equals two hours of eXperience credit; plus (2) a sufficient

number of hours of experience performing electrical woik to total 2,000 hours.

3800.4055 12
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