Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

NOTICE OF HEARING

Possible Amendments to Rules Governing the Minnesota Residential Energy Code,
Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1322; OAH Docket # 8-9001-38469

Public Hearing. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (“Department”) will
hold a virtual public hearing at 9:30 a.m. on Tuesday, August 23, 2022, via WebEX, for the
purposes of taking public comment and testimony regarding the appropriateness of amending the
existing Minnesota Residential Energy Code, Minnesota Rules, chapter 1322, to adopt the
residential provisions of the 2021 International Energy Conservation Code (“IECC”). All
interested or affected persons will have an opportunity to participate by submitting oral or
written comments, statements, or arguments.

For a video and audio connection, register to join the hearing through an internet
connection, such as with a computer or tablet at: https:/tinyurl.com/1322hearing

For audio connection only, join the hearing by phone:
Call: 1-855-282-6330 or 1-415-655-0003
Access code: 2480 297 4382.

Please note: If the public hearing must be postponed or re-scheduled for any reason, the
Department will send a notice of such a change to its State Building Code Rulemaking List and
the organizations listed on its additional notice plan. The Department will also post the notice of
such a change on its website at: https:/www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-chapter-1322-0

Subject of Hearing and Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.106,
subdivision 1 (d), requires the Commissioner to act in accordance with federal law on each new
model residential energy code for which the United States Department of Energy has issued an
affirmative determination of improved energy efficiency in compliance with United States Code,
title 42, section 6833. On July 28, 2021, the United States Department of Energy issued an
affirmative determination concerning the residential provisions of the 2021 IECC, concluding
that buildings meeting that most recent revision would result in national site energy savings of
9.38 percent, national source energy savings of 8.79 percent, and national energy cost savings of
approximately 8.66 percent of residential building energy consumption. This affirmative
determination statement may be viewed in its entirety by contacting the agency contact person
listed below for a copy of the same or by viewing it at: https:/www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/
FR-2021-07-28/pdf/2021-15969.pdf.

Based on that affirmative determination, United States Code, title 42, section 6833
(a)(5)(B), now requires each state to review the provisions of its residential energy code to
determine whether it is appropriate for the state to revise its current building code to meet or
exceed the residential energy efficiency provisions of the 2021 IECC. United States Code, title
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42, section 6833 (a)(2), further requires that this state determination be made after public notice
and hearing, be based upon the record provided for at the hearing, and be made generally
available to the public. Accordingly, the Department encourages comments and public
participation at the hearing as scheduled above.

Public Comment. You and all interested or affected persons, including representatives of
associations and other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate. The
administrative law judge will accept your views either orally at the WebEx hearing or in writing
at any time before the close of the hearing record. Submit written comments to the administrative
law judge at the address below or via the Office of Administrative Hearings Rulemaking
eComments website https:/minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions. All evidence that
you present should relate to the issue identified above. You may also submit written material to
the administrative law judge to be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the
public hearing ends. At the hearing, the administrative law judge may order this five-day
comment period extended for a longer period but for no more than 20 calendar days. Following
the comment period, there is a five-working-day rebuttal period during which the agency and any
interested person may respond in writing to any new information submitted. No one may submit
additional evidence during the five-day rebuttal period. The Office of Administrative Hearings
must receive all comments and responses submitted to the administrative law judge no later than
4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses received are public and will be available
for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings or on their website.

The agency requests that any person submitting written comments or data to the
administrative law judge before the hearing or during the comment or rebuttal period also submit
a copy of the written comments or data to the agency contact person at the address listed below.

Administrative Law Judge. Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman will conduct the
hearing on the date and at the time and place listed above. Judge Lipman’s legal assistant,
Michelle Severson, may be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert
Street, P.O. Box 64620, St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, telephone (651) 361-7874, fax (651)
539-0310, and email: michelle.severson@state.mn.us.

Agency Contact Person. The agency contact person is: Amanda Spuckler at the
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, Minnesota
55155, telephone (651) 284-5006, and email: dli.rules@state.mn.us.

Adoption Procedure after the Hearing. After the close of the hearing record, the
administrative law judge will issue a Report and Recommendation to the Commissioner as to
whether it is appropriate to revise existing Minnesota Rules, chapter 1322, to adopt the
residential energy saving provisions of the 2021 IECC. You may ask to be notified of the date
when the administrative law judge’s Report and Recommendation will become available. You
can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the administrative law judge. You may also
ask to be notified of the date when the Commissioner issues her Final Order on the
administrative law judge’s Recommendation. You may make this request at the hearing or in
writing to the agency contact person listed above. Copies of the administrative law judge’s
Report and Recommendation and the Commissioner’s Final Order will also be made available
for viewing on the agency’s website at: https:/www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-chapter-1322-0.



https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions
https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions
mailto:dli.rules@state.mn.us
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-chapter-1322-0
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-chapter-1322-0

If the Commissioner’s Final Order determines that it is appropriate to revise the
residential energy efficiency provisions of Minnesota Rules, chapter 1322, then the
Commissioner will proceed with adopting the necessary amendments under the formal
rulemaking provisions of Chapter 14, the Minnesota Administrative Procedures Act. If the
Commissioner’s Final Order determines that it is not appropriate at this time to revise the
residential energy efficiency provisions of Minnesota Rules, chapter 1322, then the
Commissioner will certify that determination and the reasons for the same to the United States
Department of Energy as required by United States Code, title 42, section 6833 (a)(4). Copies of
the Commissioner’s Final Order will be made available for viewing on the agency’s website at:
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-
chapter-1322-0.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this information can be made
available in an alternative format, such as large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or
if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please contact the agency contact
person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to
register with the State Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. You should direct
questions regarding this requirement to the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board at:
Suite #190, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651)
539-1180 or 1-800-657-3889.

Order. I hereby order that the hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed
above.
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