DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Residential Energy Code TAG

Meeting Notes

Date: Thursday, August 21, 2023 Meeting Location: Hybrid – Minnesota Room/WebEx

Call to order:

Steve Shold

Attendance:

TAG Members present: Steve Shold (DLI), Greg Metz (DLI), Chris Rosival (DLI), Mike Allen (BAM), Steve Ubl (building officials), John Smith (practical engineering applications), Rebecca Olson (MN Center for Energy & Environment), Eric Fowler (Fresh Energy), Eric Boyd (Housing First Minnesota), Alyssa Jagdfeld (MN AIA), Alison Lindburg (Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance)

TAG members absent: Jim Kummon (Heirloom Properties), Mike Robertson (Habitat for Humanity)

Guests attending: Lyndy Logan (DLI), Amanda Spuckler (DLI), Chad Payment (DLI), Brittany Wysokinski (DLI), Don Sivigny (DLI), Rich Lockrem (DLI), Tim Manz (DLI), Josiah Moore (DLI), Nick Erickson, Austin Paul, Brad Fevold, Eric Lacy, John Haluska, Matthew Brown, Michelle Dreier, Patrick Murray, Patrick Nielsen, Kyle Dimler, Scott Anderson

1. Call to order

2. Worksheet review of 2021 IECC chapter 2, Definitions, as described below and Sections 301 and 302.

Section R202 Definitions

The TAG consensus is to delete the following definitions included in Minnesota Rules, chapter 1322: accessible; air, exhaust; air-conditioning system; C-factor; cubic feet per minute; entrance door; and F-factor.

Code change proposals will be submitted to revise the following definitions, or their discussion was tabled to a future meeting: addition; air circulation, forced; air, outdoor; residential building; ventilation; and ventilation air.

The TAG consensus is to accept the following definitions in the 2021 IECC without modifications: air barrier; automatic; basement wall; building; building site; building thermal envelope; commercial building; conditioned floor area; conditioned space; continuous air barrier; curtain wall; duct; duct system; dwelling unit; energy cost;

exterior wall; fenestration product, site-built; infiltration; labeled; listed; low-voltage lighting; manual; roof recovering; roof repair; roof replacement; R-value; service water heating; solar heat gain coefficient (SHGC); standard reference design; sunroom; thermal distribution efficiency; thermal isolation; thermostat; visible transmittance; and zone.

The TAG consensus was to modify or add the following definitions:

- Alteration modify the definition to include "a change in a building, electrical, gas, mechanical, or plumbing system."
- Crawl space wall modify to include the definition in the 2nd edition printing of the IECC.
- ERV The definition of ERV in the 2021 IMC will be added.
- HRV The definition of ERV in the 2021 IMC will be added and modified to remove the reference to humidity.
- Proposed design modify to include the definition in the 2nd edition printing of the IECC.
- Roof assembly modify to include the definition in the 2nd edition printing of the IECC.
- U-factor modify the definition to clarify that it is inclusive of the inside and outside air films.

Section R301

The TAG consensus is to delete section R301 and assign the following Minnesota counties to climate zone 7: Aitkin, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Cook, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Pine, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau, St. Louis, and Wadena. All other counties are located in climate zone 6A.

Next Meeting:

Date: Tuesday, September 5, 2023 Time: 9:00 AM Location: Hybrid – Minnesota Room/WebEx Event

Meeting Adjourned: 3:00 PM

Prepared by: Steve Shold