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1. You must receive at least the 
minimum wage each hour for all hours 
your employer requires you to work, 
including preparation time, opening 
and closing times, and required 
meetings.

2. Your employer may not deduct 
from your wages for breakages, cash 
shortages, tools and uniforms. Some 
exceptions to this rule are allowed. 
Any deductions from your paycheck 
must be authorized in writing by you.

3.  Each time you are paid, you 
must receive a statement listing all 
deductions, such as taxes, from your 
earnings.

4. Keep accurate records of hours 
worked. If there is a difference between 
your record and the employer's, review 
your records together.

5. Rest breaks are not required. 
However, you must be allowed time 
to use the nearest restroom within each 
four consecutive hours of work.

6.  If you work eight or more 
consecutive hours, you must be 
allowed sufficient time to eat a meal.

7. Your employer must pay one-
and-one-half times your regular rate 
of pay for overtime hours worked. 
State law requires overtime after 48 
hours in a workweek. Employers with 
more than $500,000 in annual sales or 
revenue are covered by federal law 
and require overtime after 40 hours 
in a workweek.

8. Minors (younger than 18 years 
of age) are prohibited from working 
certain jobs. High school students 
younger than 18 may not work after 
11 p.m. on evenings before school 
days or before 5 a.m. on school days. 
Minors younger than 16 years of age 
have limited work hours. Contact the 
Labor Standards unit for jobs not 
allowed and hour limitations.

9. You have a right to a safe workplace! 
If safety or health hazards exist, 
contact the Occupational Safety and 
Health Administration (OSHA).
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For more information, 
visit the DLI Web site:

www.dli.mn.gov.

Prepared by Labor Standards, 
Minnesota Department of 

Labor and Industry

Use 1-800-DIAL-DLI to reach the units 
below or dial them directly using the 
numbers listed.

Minnesota OSHA.............(651) 284-5050

Labor Standards.............(651) 284-5005

Workers' Comp...............(651) 284-5005

Dept. of Human Rights....(651) 296-5663
         toll-free................1-800-657-3704

10. If you are injured on the job, 
immediately inform the employer! The 
employer has an obligation to provide 
you with workers' compensation 
insurance.

11. Your employer must provide a 
work environment free from racial, 
sexual and religious harassment. 
Report violations to the human 
resources office.

12. If your employment ends, contact 
the nearest Minnesota WorkForce 
Center to file a claim for re-employment 
insurance.

443 lafayette road n. 
st. paul, mn  55155
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