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                     Background 

 Governor Mark Dayton signed WESA into law 
on Mother’s Day, May 11, 2014. WESA 
amended several portions of Minnesota laws, 
including Minn. Stat. 363A, the Minnesota 
Human Rights Act (MHRA) and Minn. Stat. 
181, Minnesota’s general employment law. 
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Women’s Economic Security Act (WESA) 

Overview 
 Wage Disclosure Protection 
 Nursing Mothers 
 Pregnancy & Parental Leave 
 Sick / Safe Leave  
 Pregnancy Accommodation  
 Areas not affecting Labor Standards Unit 

 



What is WESA? 

 Covers many issues involving women’s 
rights in the workplace 

 Enacted in Spring of 2014 

 Makes changes to Labor Standards laws 

 New DLI investigative authority  

 New DLI enforcement authority  

 



Right to Sue (M.S. 181.944)   
 

Individuals can sue their employer for 
violations of: 

 Parenting Leave  
 School Conference and Activities Leave 
 Sick Leave Benefits; Care of Relatives 

 

Beginning July 1, 2014 
Employees can also sue their employer for 
violations of:   

 Nursing Mothers law  
 Wage Disclosure law 



Wage Disclosure Protection (M.S. 181.172) 

 
 

 
New statute under Chapter 181 

 
Employers cannot:  

• require employees not to disclose their 
wages  

• take adverse action against an employee 
who discloses their wages. 

 
Employees are not: 

• required to disclose wages or  
• allowed to disclose other employer 

information, such as trade secrets. 
 



Wage Disclosure Protection (M.S. 181.172) 

 
 

DLI Case Example:  
 
Employee filed a complaint stating employer 
was threatening to terminate employees who 
discussed their wages. DLI contacted employer 
and informed them that their practices were in 
violation of Wage Disclosure laws.  An audit 
was conducted and revealed that Complainant 
was earning below what other similarly situated 
employees were making.  Employer paid back 
wages and created a Wage Disclosure policy 
they now include in their employee handbook. 

 



Nursing Mothers (M.S. 181.939) 
 
Employers (employing at least one person) 
must: 

 
 Provide reasonable unpaid break time for 

nursing mothers to express milk 
 

 Provide space other than a bathroom that is 
shielded from view and free from intrusion and 
includes access to an electrical outlet 

 
 



• Break time not required if it “unduly disrupts” 
the employer’s operation. 

 
• An employer only must make “reasonable 

effort” to provide a place for the employee to 
express milk.  

 
• An employer may not retaliate against an 

employee for asserting rights under this law 
 
 
 

Nursing Mothers  exceptions 



Investigating Nursing Mothers Complaints 

DLI is required to contact the employer within 2 
business days and investigate the complaint within 
10 days. 
 
DLI will investigate and determine whether:  
 creating a nursing space is unreasonable or 
 allowing break time for nursing is “unduly disruptive” 
 employer has retaliated against the employee.  
 



Nursing Mothers (M.S. 181.939) 
DLI Hypotehtical:  
 
An employee on a construction site is a nursing 
mother and needs a space and time to pump 
while at work.  The employer wants her to use a 
portable toilet to pump and doesn’t want her to 
take more than 15 minutes every 4 hours to 
pump. 
 
 

 



Nursing Mothers (M.S. 181.939) 
DLI Hypotehtical:  
The employer is required to provide a space other 
than a bathroom (or toilet stall) for a nursing mother 
to express milk.  In this scenario, DLI contacted the 
employer and worked with them to find a suitable 
solution.  The employer created a screened of space 
in its construction trailer for the woman to pump.  A 
sign was put up not to enter while she was pumping.  
It had an electrical outlet as well.  DLI worked with 
the employer and employee to help determine the 
amount of time she needed and what amount of time 
would not unduly disrupt the business. 
 

 



Pregnancy & Parental Leave  
(M.S. 181.940 - .944) 

Definitions 
“Employee” 

• performs services for hire 
• for at least 12 months preceding the 

request 
• at least half-time during the 12 months 

immediately preceding the leave. 
• excludes independent contractors 



Pregnancy & Parental Leave (cont.)  

Definitions 
“Employer”  

 21 or more employees 
 at one site in Minnesota 
 Includes individuals, corporations, 

partnerships, associations, nonprofit 
organizations and governmental 
subdivisions. 



Pregnancy & Parental Leave (M.S. 181.940 - .944) 

• WESA expands leave from 6 weeks to 12 
weeks (same as federal law) 
 

• Includes leave for prenatal care, incapacity 
due to pregnancy, childbirth, or related health 
conditions 
 

• Expands start of leave from within 6 weeks 
to within 12 months of the birth or adoption 
of the child  
 

• Employer cannot retaliate against employee 
for requesting or taking leave under this 
statute 

 
 

 



Pregnancy & Parental Leave (M.S. 181.940 - .944) 

Additional requirements: 
 
• Employer must continue employee 

insurance, but is not required to pay cost of 
the insurance while employee is on leave 
 

• Leave runs concurrent to other paid leave 
offered by the employer, and any leave taken 
under Federal FMLA law. 

 
 



Pregnancy & Parental Leave (M.S. 181.940 - .944) 

DLI Hypotehtical:  
 
An employee working for a contractor had to 
take a total of four weeks off for medical 
appointments and sick leave related to her 
pregnancy.  A month before her due date, she 
tells her boss that she would like to take eight 
weeks of maternity leave.  Her employer is 
visibly upset because she had already taken 
three weeks off in the fall due to her back 
injury and believes she shouldn’t be entitled to 
so much time off. 



Pregnancy & Parental Leave (M.S. 181.940 - .944) 

DLI Hypotehtical (con’t):  
 
FMLA leave runs concurrent to MN Pregnancy 
and Parental Leave.  However, if an employee 
takes FMLA leave for unrelated reasons, they 
still still be entitled to 12 weeks of leave for 
pregnancy related illness and parental leave.  
This employee is entitled to 8 weeks of 
parental leave. 
 



Sick / Safe Leave (M.S. 181.9413) 
 

 Employer must:  
 allow use of sick leave benefit for leave 

for absence due to illness or injury of a 
relative 

 allow for a reasonable period of time as 
the employee’s attendance may be 
necessary. 

 
“Reasonableness” will be evaluated and 
determined on a case-by-case basis 



Sick / Safe Leave 

Leave can be used to care for an employee’s 
 child 
 adult child  
 spouse 
 sibling  
 parent  
 mother-in-law  
 father-in-law 
 grandchild (including step-grandchild, biological, 

adopted and foster grandchildren)  
 grandparent  
 step parent 



Sick / Safe Leave (M.S. 181.9413) 
 Safe Leave  

 Employees can also use sick leave 
benefits (up to 160 hours) to obtain 
assistance for themselves or their 
relatives because of sexual assault, 
domestic abuse or stalking. 

 
There is an anti-retaliation provision 
added to this law. 



Pregnancy Accommodation (M.S. 181.9414) 
 Employers must provide reasonable 

accommodation to employees with health 
conditions related to pregnancy or 
childbirth. 

 These are considered reasonable: 
 More frequent restroom, food and water breaks 
 Seating 
 Limits on lifting over 20 pounds. 

 Additional accommodations may be 
deemed reasonable, including: 
 Temporary transfer to less strenuous position 
 



Pregnancy Accommodation (M.S. 181.9414) 

 Employer may deny accommodation if they can 
show an undue hardship  

 Does not diminish other laws that protect 
women against sex or pregnancy discrimination 
or diminish coverage of pregnancy, childbirth, 
or related health conditions 

 The employer cannot require an employee to 
take leave or accept pregnancy 
accommodations. 

 Contains an anti-retaliation provision 
 



Pregnancy Accommodation (M.S. 181.9414) 

DLI Hypothetical: 
A pregnant employee requested a stool while she 
did her work.  Her employer said that it was a 
“tripping hazard” to have the stool on site.  The 
employee contacted us and we were able to get 
the employer into compliance with the law by 
providing the worker with the option to sit while 
working.  This same employer reduced the 
employee’s hours from 10 to 8 because of the 
pregnancy.  The employee didn’t ask for or want a 
reduction in hours as an accommodation, so we 
were able to get her employer to return her to a 10 
hour schedule.  
 



WESA AND THE MINNESOTA 
HUMAN RIGHTS ACT 

Minnesota Department of Human Rights 



• The Minnesota Department of Human Rights 
(MDHR) is charged with the responsibility of 
eliminating unlawful discrimination in the 
workplace under the MHRA. Approximately 
60% of the charges filed with MDHR in 2015 
concerned employment discrimination.  

• The four most common employment 
discrimination charges in 2015 were: disability 
(30%), race (20%) sex (16%) and age (16%).  
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MDHR Overview 
 



• MDHR has also long been charged with the 
responsibility of ensuring that certain 
businesses that contract with the state 
implement good faith efforts to employ 
minorities, women, and individuals with 
disabilities. 

• MDHR requires that these businesses obtain 
a workforce certificate from the MDHR 
Commissioner prior to executing a contract 
with the state. 
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MDHR Overview 
 



• Familial status was added a as protected 
class in the area of employment 

• Pregnancy accommodation protections 
added to DLI; DLI & MDHR now both 
have overlapping oversight over 
pregnancy accommodation issues 

• Equal Pay Certificate required for certain 
state contractors 
 

February 18, 2016 Construction Industry Conference 28 

WESA – Overview of Changes to MHRA  



The section of the MHRA prohibiting 
employment discrimination, Minn. Stat. 
§363A.08, was amended to include “familial 
status” as a protected class. Familial status 
under the MHRA provides protection for a: 
• Parent, guardian or designee of a parent or 
guardian that lives with at least one minor; or 

• Person who is pregnant or is in the process of 
securing legal custody of a minor 
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Familial Status 
 



• Employee “means an individual who is 
employed by an employer and who resides 
or works in this state.”  
• Includes “a commission salesperson, as defined 
in section 181.145, who resides or works in this 
state.”  See, Minn. Stat. §363A.03, Subd. 15. 

• Employer includes all employers that have 
“one or more employees.” See, Minn. Stat. 
§363A.03, Subd. 16. 
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Familial Status 
 



WESA created the right to a private cause of 
action for injunctive relief, damages and 
attorney fees, Minn. Stat. §181.944, for 
employees against their employer for violations 
of the following new or amended provisions of 
Minnesota law: 
• Nursing mothers, Minn. Stat. §181.939 
• Pregnancy accommodations, Minn. Stat. 
§181.9414 

• Pregnancy and Parental leave, Minn. Stat. 
§181.941 
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WESA Pregnancy Accommodation, Minn. Stat. 181 



• The new provisions in Minn. Stat. 181 added to 
the continued protections for  women under the 
MHRA. 

• Minn. Stat. 181.9414, Subd. 2 clarifies that the 
new accommodation protections “shall not be 
construed to affect any other provision of law 
relating to sex discrimination or pregnancy, or in 
any way to diminish coverage of . . . any other 
law.” 
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WESA Pregnancy Accommodation 
Addition to Minn. Stat. 181 



• Sex (1+ employee) 
• Familial Status (1+ employee) 
• Disability (15+ employees) 
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MDHR Pregnancy Discrimination Landscape 
 



• MHRA prohibits employers from discriminating 
against women on the basis of their gender 
and on the basis of their ability to become 
pregnant. Minnesota courts have interpreted 
the MHRA consistently with Title VII and the 
Pregnancy Discrimination Act.  

• On June 25, 2015, the EEOC updated its 
guidance to employers entitled “Pregnancy 
Discrimination and Related Issues.” 
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Sex Discrimination  
 



An employer can violate the law under the MHRA or 
Title VII, on the basis of an individual’s capacity to 
become pregnant/sex/familial status, when it: 
1. Takes adverse action against the individual, 
2. Treats the individual differently than individuals 
similar in ability or inability to work, 
3. Harasses or creates a hostile environment for the 
individual,  
4. Utilizes a policy that has a disparate impact on 
such individuals, or  
5. Denies the individual a right under the law. 
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Sex Discrimination  
 



• MHRA also prohibits discrimination against 
employees who are, have a record of, or are 
regarded as having a disabling impairment. 

• Employers with more than 15 employees are 
required to accommodate an employee who 
has a pregnancy-related impairment that rises 
to the level of a disability unless the 
accommodation imposes an undue hardship 
on the employer.  See, Minn. Stat. 363A.08, 
Subd. 6.  
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Disability Discrimination 
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Enforcement Issues - DLI v. MDHR 

  DLI MDHR 

Employer Size 21+ employees 

Sex & Familial Status (1+ 
employee); Disability 
accommodation (15+ employees) 

Employee Tenure 12 months n/a 

Statute of Limitation 2 years 1 year 

Reprisal/Retaliation pregnant employee 
any individual involved (i.e. 
reporting witness/supporter) 

Remedies 

injunctive relief; penalty; 
individual remedies only in 
court action 

individual remedies for 
compensatory, punitive, & mental 
anguish damages, attorney's fees, 
injunctive relief; penalty 



• The Minnesota Department of Labor and 
Industry (DLI) and MDHR are working 
together to ensure that all provisions of 
WESA that concern protections afforded to 
pregnant workers, nursing mothers, and 
workers that seek pregnancy and parental 
leave are enforced. 
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MDHR Partnership with DLI 
 



MDHR is also partnering with the EEOC on 
the EEOC’s following strategic enforcement 
initiatives: 
1. Eliminate recruiting and hiring barriers 
2. Protect vulnerable workers 
3. Enforce equal pay laws 
4. Ensure pregnancy accommodations are 
provided 
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MDHR Collaboration with EEOC 
 



• Since 1969, the Minnesota Human Rights 
Act (the Act) has afforded protection for 
women from being paid less than men 
absent a legitimate, non-discriminatory 
reason.  

• Nonetheless, pay disparities continue to 
persist at a systematic level where women 
make an average of 80 cents to the dollar 
paid to men.  

February 18, 2016 Construction Industry Conference 40 

Equal Pay Certificate - Background 



• The WESA amendments to the MHRA 
require certain state contractors to secure 
an Equal Pay Certificate as of  August 1, 
2014.  

• The requirement for the new Equal Pay 
Certificate can be found in the Minnesota 
Human Rights Act at Minn. Stat. §363A.44 
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Equal Pay Certificate - Background 



The Equal Pay Certificate law requires businesses with 
40 or more employees, seeking state contracts of over 
$500,000 to certify: 
• Compliance with Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the 

Equal Pay Act of 1963, the MN Human Rights Act, and the 
MN Equal Pay for Equal Work Law; 

• The average compensation for the company’s female 
employees is not consistently below the average 
compensation for male employees within each of the major 
categories in the EEO-1 report; 

• Making hiring, retention and promotion decisions regardless 
of gender; 

• Promptly correct wage and benefit disparities; 
• Evaluate wages and benefits to ensure compliance 
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Equal Pay Certificate Application 



• The contractor’s certification doesn’t 
establish it is actually in compliance with 
the applicable equal pay laws. See, Minn. 
Stat. 363A.44, Subd. 2(c). 

• MDHR may audit the contractor to evaluate 
its efforts to comply with the applicable 
laws. See, Minn. Stat. 363A.44, Subd. 8. 
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Equal Pay Certificate 



• State of Minnesota Departments and Agencies 

• Metropolitan Council 

• Metropolitan Airports Commission 

• Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority 

• Metropolitan Mosquito Control District 

Minnesota Department of Human Rights 
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What Contracting Entities are Covered 



Contractors must submit: 

• The $150 application fee 

• A statement of equal pay compliance signed by 
the organization’s Chief Executive Officer or 
Chairperson of the Board. 
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Obtaining an Equal Pay Certificate 



The following slides include some of the most 
common questions concerning the new law. 

Minnesota Department of Human Rights 
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Common Questions on the New Law 



Yes. The Department has an equal pay certificate 
application form that contractors can submit as 
part of their application for an Equal Pay 
Certificate. 
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Does the Department have a sample equal-pay 
compliance statement that contractors can use? 

http://mn.gov/mdhr/compliance/downloads/Equal_Pay_Application_7_22_14.docx
http://mn.gov/mdhr/compliance/downloads/Equal_Pay_Application_7_22_14.docx


• The business must obtain an Equal Pay 
Certificate from the Department if the business 
employs: 
• More than 40 employees either in Minnesota or the 
state of primary place of business, and  

• The contract is $500,000 or more. 
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Does a business located in a state other than Minnesota need to 
have an Equal Pay Certificate? 



• No. The business does not employ more than 40 
full-time employees in Minnesota or where it has 
its primary place of business.  

 

Minnesota Department of Human Rights 
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Our business has 55 full-time employees, 30 
employees in North Dakota and 25 employees in 
Minnesota. Do we need to obtain an Equal Pay 
Certificate? 



• Equal Pay Certificates, similar to Workforce 
Certificates, are good for 4 years.  

 

Minnesota Department of Human Rights 
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How often do I need to renew my 
Equal Pay Certificate? 



• No. Similar to a driver’s license, a company 
needs only one Certificate of Equal Pay, 
renewed every four years, for all contracts 
it is awarded from the state.  
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Do I need a Certificate of Equal Pay 
for each contract I am awarded? 



• No. The equal pay compliance statement must be 
signed by the Chief Executive Officer or 
Chairperson of the Board as specifically required 
by the statute. 

 

 

Minnesota Department of Human Rights 
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Can we have our Director of Human Resources 
sign our equal pay compliance statement? 



For more information, visit 
www.mn.gov/mdhr or call: 
612.539.1118  
651.296.1283 TTY 
800.657.3704 
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Contact the Minnesota Department of 
Human Rights 
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