Code bill brings changes for residential

building contractors and remodelers

Disclosure of criminal conviction, change order
requirement some of the newest additions

The CCLD legislation passed by the State Legislature brought significant
changes to the statutes and rules governing residential building
contractors, remodelers, roofers and manufactured home installers. The
following changes went into effect on Dec. 1, 2007:

* In addition to existing notification
requirements including changes of
address, business name or qualifying
person, licensees are now required
to notify the department, in writing,
of any of the following: entry of a
judgment against them based on
their contracting activities; filing for
bankruptcy protection; and conviction
of a crime relating to contracting,
including but not limited to: fraud,
misrepresentation, theft, misuse or
conversion of funds, criminal sexual
conduct, assault, burglary or theft of

department may take enforcement
action against contractors who refuse
to correct a code violation that has
been documented by a certified
building official.

* The minimum limit of liability
insurance for all licensees increases
to $300,000. The minimum surety
bond amount for residential roofers
increases to $15,000.

» The Contractor Recovery Fund fee
that licensees pay each year has been
increased by $60. The

proceeds.

ki

Crﬁh@.?‘ convictions
must ~ be  disclosed
within ten days of the
conviction. Judgments

For building code
details, visit: www.
doli.state.mn.us/
bc_minnesota_state
building_code.html

increase was necessary
because  the  limit
consumers will be able to
recover increased from
$75,000 to $150,000 for

and bankruptcy “filings

must be reported within 15 days.
Failure to comply provides a basis for
enforcement action including. license

suspension or revocation and fines of - )
“"'to make it simpler and less expensive

up to $10,000 for each violation.

» The existing rule that requires all
contracts with a customer to be reduced
to writing has been placed in statute
and amended to state that a change
to a contract scope or price must also
be reduced to a written change order
and must be dated and signed by both
parties.

 In areas of Minnesota that have not
adopted the State Building Code, the

443 Lafayette Road N. ¢ St. Paul, MN 55155

each contractor.

Other changes were made to streamline
the ContractorRecovery Fund process

for aggrieved consumers
compensation from the fund.

to get

* The new enforcement tools included
in the 2007 legislation will apply
to residential building contractors,

remodelers, residential  roofers,
manufactured home installers,
plumbers and electricians. These

changes seek to achieve uniformity
across the industries DLI regulates
while preserving due process rights.

52nd Annual Institute
for Building Officials

When: Jan. 9to 18, 2008
Where: Continuing Education
and Conference
Center, St. Paul
Building, design,
construction and
inspection code
professionals
Details: www.cce.umn.edu/
buildingofficials

Who:

Registration information
Phone: (612) 624-4000

Program questions
Phone: (612) 624-3708
E-mail: cceconfs@umn.edu.

The trade show is 4 to 6 p.m.,
Jan. 16, 2008. The Minnesota
certified building official exam will
be at 6:30 a.m., Jan. 18, 2008.

ICC Upper Great

Plains Regional Il
I : :

When: Feb. 4 to 8, 2008
Where: The Northland Inn,
Brooklyn Park, Minn.
Building, design,
construction and
inspection code
professionals
Details: www.ambo.us,
www.iccsafe.org/
training or call 1-888-
ICC-SAFE ext 33817

Who:

A trade show is planned for
10 a.m. to 4 p.m., Feb. 6 and 7.

View more building code
training opportunities
online at: www.doli.state.
mn.us/bc_education.html
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These photos were taken at a project in
Minnesota and show high-pressure piping

refrigeration units.

The manufacturer/contractor is from
outside of Minnesota and is not licensed
to fabricate or install high-pressure piping
in the state.

to send any piping, but cut the pieces and
“tack welded” them in place. The welds
do not even approach code compliance
and arc burns are clearly noticeable on
the piping.

View more photos of

improper HPP welds at:
www.doli.state.mn.us/hpp.html

Cutting corners on welds

that was sent with five rooftop ammonia

The manufacturer/contractor was told not

Recently-established Board of Electricity conducts first meetings

The Board of Electricity met for the first time Nov. 5,
2007, and again on Dec. 11. It was established by the 2007
legislature and consists of 12 members including:
* Electrical utilities: Douglas Fingerson and Kim
Huxford
» Contractors (master electricians): Thomas Seanger
and Jay Lewis
* Contractors (power limited technicians): James
Freichels and Timothy Malooly
* Journeyman electricians: Daniel Klein and Anthony
Toft
* Electrical inspector: Richard Owen
* Electrical engineer: Joseph Vespa
* Public member: John McConnell
* Commissioner’s designee: John Schultz

Members appointed by the governor serve a three-year term,
except for the first term, when half of the members’ terms
end Dec. 31, 2010, and the other half end Dec. 31, 2011.

Elected officers include Freichels as chairman, Lewis as
vice-chairman and Fingerson secretary. Officers will serve

until the annual meeting in July 2008.

The board’s main authority includes adoption of the
National Electrical Code, issuing final interpretations of
the Minnesota Electrical Code, adoption of licensing and
registration rules, adoption of continuing education rules
and approval of license reciprocity agreements.

The majority of the first meeting focused on detailed
explanation of legal issues and board authorities.

The board voted at its Dec. 11 meeting to present

a substantiating argument that from a public safety
perspective the 2008 NEC needs to become effective July
1, 2008, rather than 180 days after adoption. The 180 day
offset requirement includes a provision that allows the
effective date to be less for public health and safety. The
provision is found in the 2007 Session Laws, Chapter 140,
Article 4, Section 11.

The meeting agenda and minutes are available at www.doli.
state.mn.us/boe.html. E-mail messages can be sent to dli.
ccldboards@state.mn.us.
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Inspector competency rules hearing conducted

A public hearing

on the proposed
construction code
inspector competency
rules was conducted
Oct. 26, 2007, at the
Department of Labor
and Industry.

The department was
represented by Steve
Hernick, CCLD
assistant director; Don
Sivigny, CCLD senior
code development
representative; and Barry Grieve,
committee chair and CCLD senior
code administrative services

representative.

28 Administrative Law

ll Judge Kathleen
D. Sheehy heard
testimony concerning
the rules from industry
and code officials.

Judge Sheehy will
issue a report to the
department at the end
of December.

Visit www.doli.state.
mn.us/rulemaking activity.html
to track the progress of the rule
adoption process.

Hand-drawn plumbing plan revisions not accepted

From time to time, hand-drawn
revisions or modifications made

to computer generated (CAD)
plumbing plans are submitted for
review. Plans with these types of
revisions or modifications will not
be accepted. The drawings submitted
for review and approval must be
modified using a CAD system.

In addition, plans that show an
engineering firm’s logo in the title

block, but are signed by a master
plumber or other person that is not
employed by the engineering firm,
will not be accepted.

Designs for plumbing systems may
be prepared by the plumbing firm
performing the installation or by

a licensed professional engineer.
However, the plans must be signed by
the designer, and include the license
number of the engineer or plumber.

Code change reduces reach range for operable parts

The 2007 State Accessibility Code
has a reduced reach range for
operable parts.

The new range is 15 inches
minimum above the floor to 48
inches maximum above the floor
for an unobstructed reach from a
wheelchair. When reaching across
an obstruction, the maximum high
reach is 46 inches above the floor.

In residential Type A and Type B
dwelling units and sleeping units, the
code requires that lighting controls,
electrical switches and receptacle
PAGE 3
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outlets, environmental controls,
electrical panel boards and user
controls for security or intercom
systems be mounted within those
reach ranges stated above.

There are some exceptions for certain
elements. In general, controls must
be within the reach range. The code
sections addressing this issue in Type
A and Type B units are 1341.1003,
subp. 2 and 1341.1004, subp. 2.

For more information, contact Curt
Wiehle at (651) 284-5877 or
curtis.wiehle(@state.mn.us.

’ MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR & INDUSTRY

-

CCLD Review is a quarterly

publication of the Minnesota

Department of Labor and
Industry.

To receive e-mail notification
about future issues of the
CCLD Review, subscribe
online. Send any questions,
story ideas or comments to
dli.ccldreview@state.mn.us.

Contact information

CCLD main phone number
(651) 284-5012

CCLD staff phone numbers
and e-mail addresses:
www.doli.state.mn.us/
ccldcontactus.html

Licensing information

DLI.Licensing@state.mn.us

Electrical: (651) 284-5031

Boiler: (651) 284-5080

Residential Building Contractors:
(651) 284-5034

Building Code information
Phone: (651) 284-5068
Toll-free: 1-800-657-3944
Fax: (651) 284-5749
TTY: (651) 297-4198
bcsd.response@state.mn.us

Electrical information
Phone: (651) 284-5064
Fax: (651) 284-5743
DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us

Boiler, High-Pressure Piping,
Boats-for-Hire Inspection
Phone: (651) 284-5544

Fax: (651) 284-5737
DLI.Code@state.mn.us

Plumbing information
Phone: (651) 284-5067
Fax: (651) 284-5748
DLI.Plumbing@state.mn.us

Residential Building
Contractor information
Phone: (651) 284-5065
Fax:  (651) 284-5749
DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us
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New Plumbing Board conducts first meeting

The newly-appointed Plumbing Board met
for the first time on Nov. 13, 2007, at DLI’s
St. Paul offices.

The 12 new board members, appointed by
the governor, include:

Karl D. Abrahamson James Kittelson

Rebecca L. Ames Allen J. Lamm

Steven Christenson Michael McGowan

Jim Gander Rick Palmateer

Lawrence G. Justin John A. Parizek Steve
Kenneth Kammerer Paul A. Sullwold Sviggum, DLI

| Commissioner,

| left, and Randy
| Ellingboe,
~| manager of the
~| CCLD Plumbing
Plan Review
and Inspection
Unit, welcome
members to
the Nov. 13
Plumbing Board
meeting at DLI's
St. Paul offices.

The board’s commissioner designees
are Ronald Thompson of the Minnesota
Department of Health and Randy Ellingboe,
DLI. Elected officers include Parizek as
chairman, Justin as vice-chairman and
Gander as secretary.

The board will meet again at 9:30 a.m., Jan.
10. For more information about the Plumbing
Board, visit www.doli.state.mn.us/pb.html

National Electrical Code seminars are set for April and May

B One-day meetings to be presented  locations around the state starting April 2, 2008, and
at eight locations throughout state  concluding May 28, 2008.

The Electrical Inspections section of the CCLD will This is the first electrical seminar for the newly formed
sponsor a one-day seminar on the 2008 National CCLD. The division intends to provide more electrical
Electrical Code. code seminars in the future.
See the brochure online starting in February at:

The NEC 2008 “Analysis www.doli.state.mn.us/buildingcodes.html The brochure and registration
of Changes” will be used as form for this program will be
the base document for the program. CCLD Electrical available at www.doli.state.mn.us/buildingcodes.html
Area Representatives will present the seminar at eight February 2008.

All people working as plumbers must follow licensing, bond rules

Since Dec. 1, 2007, all people — statewide — working at  Apprentices must be directly supervised by a licensed
the business of plumbing must be licensed plumbers or plumber. Single-family homeowners may perform
registered apprentices, and have a $25,000 plumbing plumbing without a license in a home they occupy.
code compliance bond filed with the Department of

Labor and Industry (DLI). Unlicensed individuals with
Questions? Visit the Web site: two or more years

The one exception is for www.doli.state.mn.us/plumbing.html practical plumbing work

those who install sewer or experience have until Dec.

water service pipes outside buildings that are certified 31, 2007, to obtain a restricted plumbers license
with pipe laying training and have filed the $25,000 if they qualify and apply as described online at
plumbing code compliance bond with DLI. www.doli.state.mn.us/plumbing.html.
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Did you know?
New enforcement tools apply to all CCLD industries

5

(Administrative
orders) may
be issued to
anyone who

violates a law
under CCLD’s
authority and
Is the only
enforcement
tool that
can fine an
unlicensed
person.”

One of the goals of the construction codes consolidation was to adopt uniform and
consistent enforcement tools and procedures for all of the industries that CCLD regulates.
Managers of the units that moved to DLI in 2005 examined the best practices of the
plumbing, electrical, residential building contractor, high-pressure piping and boiler
units, and proposed a new set of enforcement tools that seeks to make enforcement
more efficient and consistent, while preserving the due process rights of the subject of
enforcement.

Theenforcementsection ofthe 2007 code legislation provides for the implementation

of four new enforcement tools:

1 to anyone who violates a law under CCLD’s authority. It is to be used for
violations that need correction, but do not require a penalty and may be served

on the violator or posted at the site of the violation. Written requests for reconsideration

may be made, but the commissioner’s response cannot be challenged and is final.

Notice of violation
A notice of violation is the lowest form of enforcement and can be issued

Stop Order

A stop order requires the subject to cease and desist from violative conduct
but cannot include a civil penalty. It must describe the act, conduct, practice,
or condition, and applicable law, and provide notice of the subject’s right
to a hearing. Hearings will be at the Office of Administrative Hearings, though the
commissioner will be the final decision maker.

Administrative Order
An administrative order may be issued to anyone who violates a law under
_

2

CCLD’s authority and is the only enforcement tool that can fine an unlicensed

person. It can contain a civil penalty and require corrections to be made. Some

or all of a penalty may be forgiven if corrections are made as ordered. The
subject of an order may request a hearing. If no hearing is requested within 30 days, the
order becomes final and any civil penalty becomes due.

Licensing Order

A licensing order can only be issued against licensees and applicants and
does not include corrective action, though it may include cease and desist
language. The order must describe the violative conduct, the penalty assessed

and the subject’s right to a hearing. If no hearing is requested within 30 days,
the order becomes final and any civil penalty becomes due and owing.
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"! Lawmakers change who can perform plumbing work

Following a Dec. 1, 2007 change, owners of public,
commercial and licensed facilities and their employees
can no longer do plumbing in their facilities in areas
of fewer than 5,000 people unless licensed to perform
plumbing.

prior to plumbing plan approval. This has usually been
when plans were submitted by someone other than the
contractor performing the installation. The plumbing
or pipelayer contractor is responsible for not beginning
work until the plan has

Plans for installation of
plumbing in these facilities

Want to see the code? Visit:
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/arule/4715/3130.html

been approved either by the
DLI Plumbing Plan Review
and Inspections Unit, a city

must be prepared by a

licensed engineer, or the licensed plumber who will
perform the installation. This is the same as currently
required in cities of 5,000 or more.

Don’t start work without plan approval
Starting installation of interior plumbing or exterior
water service or a sanitary or storm sewer system in a
commercial or public facility prior to plumbing plan

approval is a violation of the Minnesota Plumbing
Code.

Recently, DLI has found a number of jobs started

that has a plumbing plan
review agreement with DLI or a city of the first class
(Minneapolis, St. Paul, and Duluth).

Do not assume the engineering firm designing the
plan or general contractor has received the approval.
Ask for a copy of the letter or call DLI at (651) 284-
5044 for verification. Starting without a plan approval
may result in a monetary penalty. The requirements
for submitting plans and specifications are found in
Minnesota Rules part 4715.3130 of the Minnesota
Plumbing Code (see www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/
arule/4715/3130.html)

How old is your ‘R’ value? Energy
code requires that you know

The Minnesota energy code and federal thermal
insulation regulations require the installed R value of
spray foam plastic insulation products to be based on
the “aged” R value.

Using a standardized “aged” R value is particularly
important for “closed cell” foam plastics (both spray
and board) as these products slowly lose some R value
because the special gasses used as a blowing agent
begin to diffuse out over time.

The requirement is part of the Minnesota Thermal
Insulation Standards, Minnesota Rules Chapter 7640,
administered by the Department of Commerce. Chapter
7640 is incorporated by reference in both the
“Category 1 energy code (Part 7670.0260, subpart 3)
and the 2000 energy code (Part 7672.0300, subpart 4).
Aged R value is also a requirement for foam plastic
insulations in the U.S. Federal Trade Commission’s “R
Value Rule.”

The correct R value of any particular brand of

AR ———
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State and federal rules require the installed R value of spray foam
be based on the “aged” R value. (Photo by BASF Polyurethane
Foam Enterprises, LLC)

insulation can be found on the manufacturer’s “FTC
Fact Sheet,” which is required by the FTC R value Rule
to be available for each thermal insulation product.

For more information about these requirements, contact
Bruce Nelson at the Department of Commerce, State
Energy Office by phone at (651) 297-2313 or via e-mail
at bruce.nelson@state.mn.us
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Give notice
when ready for

Inspection

It is the duty of the plumbing
contractor to notify the proper
administrative authority when the
plumbing installation is ready for a
test or inspection.

The inspector, along with the
plumbing contractor, will set a
date and time for the inspection
or test. According to state rule,
if the inspector does not appear
within 24 hours of the appointment
— with some exceptions — the
inspection or test is deemed to
have been completed and the
plumbing contractor is required
to file an affidavit stating that the
work meets code. If you have
questions, call (651) 284-5044
and ask to speak to a plumbing

inspector.

Limitations placed on
some above-ground

pipe installations

When designing and installing
plastic piping systems for

drain waste and vent systems,
consideration must be given to
thermal expansion and contraction
of the materials for proper
installation and function of a
plumbing system.

To compensate for expansion

and contraction of plastic pipe,
the Minnesota Plumbing Code
requires that no horizontal drain,
waste and vent piping may exceed
35 feet in total length; and no stack
may exceed 35 feet in total height
unless an approved expansion

and contraction joint is installed
at intervals not to exceed 35 feet.
Special waste plastic pipe must
also meet this requirement.

If your project includes plastic
pipe, please design in advance to
avoid problems with plastic pipe
limitation requirements during
construction.

Air admittance valves
and water-free urinals

prohibited

The 2007 Minnesota Legislature
prohibited the installation of air
admittance valves and no-flush
urinals. Minnesota Statute section
326.37, subd. 4., states that
mechanical devices and fittings
with internal moving parts are
prohibited from installation in
plumbing venting systems.

Also, all urinals covered under
the jurisdiction of the Minnesota
Plumbing Code must have a water
flush device with a volume of not
more than one gallon per use.

New manufactured
structures memo
now available online

The Manufactured Structures
section of CCLD regulates
manufactured housing
(mobile homes) and
prefabricated buildings. Its
newest memorandum, which
covers repairs and alterations
to manufactured homes, is
available at www.doli.state.
mn.us/bc_manufactured
bulletins.html

Sign up to receive
rulemaking updates

DLI rulemaking information
for CCLD is online at www.
doli.state.mn.us/rulemaking
activity.html.

To receive notices of agency
rule proceedings register at
www.doli.state.mn.us/docs/
rules_reqnotices.doc or print
the Word document from the
Web site, complete it and
mail it as directed.

Board of High-Pressure Piping
Systems conducts first meetings

The Board of High-Pressure Piping Systems met
Nov. 16 and Dec. 17 at the Department of Labor
and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul.
For information about the board, visit
www.doli.state.mn.us/bohpps.html

Would you like to become a member of a
board or council? Visit
www.doli.state.mn.us/boards.html
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Former CCLD

worker remembered
Many close to Heitz said
he had a ‘dream job’

Former CCLD employee Leroy Heitz
lost his battle with cancer Nov. 20,
2007, in Shakopee, Minn. A memorial
service was Nov. 30 in Chaska.

Heitz was the building official in
Scott County until he was hired by the
Minnesota Division of Building Codes
and Standards in 1997.

In 1998, he was promoted to regional
building official of the northwest
region of Minnesota and promptly
moved from his home in the southern
metro to Woman Lake near Longville,
Minn.

In 2002, he and his wife, Sherri, moved
into ahome on Leech Lake near Walker,
Minn., where he maintained his home
office for CCLD. Many said Heitz had
a “dream job,” living on a lake with
northern Minnesota as his inspection
territory. However, there was much
more to it for Heitz. He loved his work
and seemed to have mastered the art of
working with the local contractors and

Leroy Heitz

building officials. This extended from
working in the sensitive regions of the
Red Lake Reservation to answering
calls at all hours from officials going
through some difficult times.

Heitz always gave his best. However,
after undergoing cancer surgery last
year, he decided to retire from state
employment.

Heitz is survived by his wife and will
be missed by many coworkers.

Have an electrical
complaint?

You can express electrical
complaints in a proactive
manner by reporting
violations as a formal
complaint.

For details, visit:
www.electricity.state. mn.us/
Complain/index.html.

Building official
changes?

The building official list is
online at:
www.doli.state.mn.us/
buildingcodes.html.

If a change is needed,
please contact Peggi White
via e-mail at:
peggi.white@state.mn.us.

Not sure who to
call at CCLD?

Visit the contact page at:
www.doli.state.mn.us/
ccldcontactus

The CCLD phone and
e-mail address list includes
contacts for specific issues.

CCLD loans three, two-part
display units to building
officials presenting code-
related information at
community events.

A variety of free literature and
photos is provided. The display
case size 15 55" x 26" x 11".

To reserve a display, contact
Chris Thompson at (651) 284-

Place your display unit reservations for 2008

5856 or via e-mail at chris.
thompson@state.mn.us.

A specific pickup time will be
arranged to allow quick pickup
in DLI’s front lobby.

For directions to DLI and
parking information, visit
www.doli.state.mn.us/direct.
html.
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