
326B.438 MEDICAL GAS SYSTEMS. 
 
Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this 
subdivision have the meanings given them. 
 
(b) "Medical gas" means medical gas as defined under the National Fire Protection 
Association NFPA 99C Standard on Gas and Vacuum Systems. 
 
(c) "Medical gas system" means a level 1, 2, or 3 piped medical gas and vacuum 
system as defined under the National Fire Protection Association NFPA 99C Standard 
on Gas and Vacuum Systems. 
 
Subd. 2. License and certification required. No person shall perform or offer to 
perform the installation, maintenance, or repair of medical gas systems unless the 
person obtains a contractor license. An individual shall not engage in the installation, 
maintenance, or repair of a medical gas system unless the individual possesses a 
current Minnesota master or journeyman plumber's license and is certified by the 
commissioner under rules adopted by the Minnesota Plumbing Board. The certification 
must be renewed biennially for as long as the certificate holder engages in the 
installation, maintenance, or repair of medical gas systems.  
 
[See Note.] 
 
Subd. 3. Exemptions. An individual who on August 1, 2010, possesses a valid 
certificate meeting the requirements of the American Society of Sanitary Engineering 
(ASSE) Standard 6010 and is a qualified brazer in accordance with the provisions 
required in the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 99C is exempt from the 
licensing requirements of subdivision 2 and may install, maintain, and repair a medical 
gas system. This exemption applies only if the individual maintains a valid certification in 
accordance with ASSE Standard 6010 and the brazer qualifications in NFPA 99C, and 
is certified by the commissioner under rules adopted by the Minnesota Plumbing Board. 
 
Subd. 4. Fees. For the purpose of calculating fees under section 326B.092, an initial or 
renewed medical gas certificate issued by the commissioner according to subdivision 2 
shall be considered a journeyman level license. 
 
[See Note.] 
 
History: 2010 c 183 s 8; 2010 c 280 s 39; 1Sp2011 c 4 art 3 s 16 
 
NOTE: This section is effective August 1, 2010, except that the requirement under 
subdivision 2 that a master or journeyman plumber must be certified by the Minnesota 
Plumbing Board and the fee in subdivision 4 are not effective until 180 days after the 
board adopts rules. Laws 2010, chapter 183, section 8, the effective date, as amended 
by Laws 2010, chapter 280, section 39. 
 
NOTE: The requirement under subdivisions 2 and 3 that a master plumber, journeyman 
plumber, or exempt individual must be certified by the commissioner and the fee in 
subdivision 4, added by Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 4, article 3, section 
16, are not effective until 180 days after the Minnesota Plumbing Board adopts rules. 
Laws 2011, First Special Session chapter 4, article 3, section 16, the effective date. 


