Skip to main content

There are six levels of severity, ranging from “A” for the least serious violations to “F” for the most serious.

The OSHA investigator considers the combined severity and probability levels for each apparent violation and assigns a corresponding penalty amount.

Additional multiplying factors will be applied to penalties for serious violations contributing to a fatality; and to willful, repeat and failure-to-abate violations.

Penalty chart: Amounts unadjusted for good faith, size and history


Based on: employee exposure; proximity to hazard; duration of hazard; and work conditions


Based on: the injury or illness that could reasonably be expected to result from an employee's exposure to the violative condition


  Non-serious Serious
  A B C D E F
Lesser (1-4) 0 $500 $1,500 $2,500 $3,500 $5,500
Greater (5-8) $250 $1,000  $2,000  $3,000 $4,500 $7,000