Rulemaking docket for Minnesota Rules, Part 5219.0500 and 5221.4020
Exempt rules updating the workers’ compensation independent medical examination fees and workers’ compensation conversion factors; Minnesota Rules parts 5219.0500 and 5221.4020
The rules provide the annual adjustments to the maximum workers’ compensation independent medical examination fees as provided in Minn. Rules 5219.0500 and the workers’ compensation conversion factors for the workers’ compensation fee schedule as required by Minnesota Statutes § 176.136, subd. 1a (c) and (d). The independent medical examination (IME) fees and conversion factors are adjusted by the percent change in the Producer Price Index for Offices of Physicians for 2016, which was 0.2 percent.
Published notices and comment periods
Under the exempt rule process in Minn. Stat. § 14.386 (b), no Request for Comment or Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules was published. However, notice of the adjustments will be published in the August 2017 edition of COMPACT, the Department of Labor and Industry’s quarterly workers’ compensation newsletter.
Availability of rule draft(s) and statement of need and reasonableness
The adopted exempt rules are available at www.dli.mn.gov/PDF/docket/5219_5221_rules17.pdf.
Requests for hearing; date and place of hearing
Not applicable because these are exempt rules.
Date the rule was filed with Secretary of State and the effective date of the rule as adopted
The exempt rules were approved by the Office of Administrative Hearings on Aug. 21, 2017, and were filed with the Secretary of State on Aug. 22, 2017. The adopted rules were published in the State Register on Sept. 18, 2017, and are available at mn.gov/admin/assets/SR42_12%20-%20Accessible_tcm36-311504.pdf. The adopted rules are effective for services on or after Oct. 1, 2017.
Written comments, questions and requests
Rule contact: Ethan Landy