
 
443 Lafayette Road N. 
St. Paul, MN 55155 
www.dli.mn.gov 

(651) 284-5032 
1-800-342-5354, press 3 

Failure to provide workers’ compensation insurance 
 

This document contains general information. It is not legal advice. Every situation is different and other laws 
might apply to your situation. If you have questions, contact an attorney, visit the Department of Labor and 
Industry website at www.dli.mn.gov/WorkComp.asp or call the Workers’ Compensation Hotline at  
1-800-342-5354 and press 3.

General duty to insure 
All employers are required by Minnesota Statutes § 176.181, subd. 2 to either:  (1) purchase workers’ 
compensation insurance to provide benefits to their employees for work-related injuries; or (2) obtain approval 
from the Minnesota Department of Commerce permitting self-insurance upon proof of the employer’s financial 
ability to self-insure. There is no minimum number of employees an employer must have before insurance is 
required. An employer with only one part-time employee generally must provide covereage. Penalties may be 
assessed against employers who fail to properly insure their employees, regardless of whether an injury has 
occurred. 
 
Consequences of failure to insure 
If an employer fails to properly insure its employees, the commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Labor 
and Industry (DLI) may order the employer to:  (1) provide the required insurance coverage; (2) refrain from 
employing any person at any time without the required insurance; and (3) pay a penalty of up to $1,000 an 
employee for every week the employee was not insured. 
 
If the DLI commissioner issues an order for failure to maintain workers’ compensation coverage, an employer 
has 10 days to comply with or contest the order. If the employer does not file a written objection with the 
commissioner within 10 days, the order is considered final and cannot be appealed. If the employer contests the 
order, the matter will be referred to a workers’ compensation judge to decide whether a fine or other terms of 
the order are justified. If the employer loses and did not maintain the required workers’ compensation insurance 
coverage while the case was pending, the judge may order the employer to pay additional penalties. 
 
Enforcement 
Minnesota Statues § 176.181 gives the DLI commissioner authority to enforce the laws that require workers’ 
compensation insurance coverage. Minnesota Statutes § 176.184 describes the commissioner’s enforcement 
powers. These include the ability to enter and inspect a business and its records, take depositions, issue 
subpeonas and order the production of documents to determine whether the employer has the required insurance 
coverage. If coverage is required and the employer either has no coverage or inadequate coverage, the 
commissioner’s representative will continue the investigation and determine what action, if any, is appropriate. 
 
Employee remedies 
If an employee suffers a compensable injury and the employer has not purchased insurance coverage or 
followed the proper procedures for self-insurance, the employee may ask the state Special Compensation Fund 
to pay the appropriate benefits. A workers’ compensation judge will decide whether the employer is liable for 
the workers’ injury. If so, and if the employer did not have workers’ compensation coverage, then the judge 
will:  (1) order the Special Compensation Fund to pay all appropriate compensation benefits to the employee; 
and (2) order the employer to reimburse the Special Compensation Fund for benefits paid and also pay the 
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Special Compensation Fund a penalty in the amount of 65 percent of those benefits plus costs paid by the 
Special Compensation Fund. Instead of requesting payment from the Special Compensation Fund, the employee 
may elect to sue the uninsured employer for the injury in a civil action for the full amount of the employee’s 
losses. The amount awarded in such a lawsuit may be much higher than the amount of workers’ compensation 
benefits due. In the lawsuit against the uninsured employer, the employer cannot claim the usual common law 
defenses to a personal injury lawsuit (such as assumption of risk) unless the employer can prove the employee 
was willfully negligent. 
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