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Workers’ Compensation Advisory Council 

April 10, 2013 
Minutes 

 
Voting members present 
Jason George for Glen Johnson 
Russell Hess 
Andrew Kepper for Susan Olson 
Shar Knutson 
Robert Lux 
Edward Reynoso 
Dawn Soleta 
Gary Thaden, by phone 
 
Voting members excused 
Elaine Garry 
Robert Ryan 
 
Voting members absent 
Walter Frederickson 
 
Nonvoting members present 
Rep. Andrea Kieffer 
 
Nonvoting members excused 
Sen. John Pederson 
 
Nonvoting members absent 
Sen. Dan Sparks 
Rep. Tim Mahoney 
 
Staff members present 
Ken Peterson 
Kris Eiden 
Sandy Barnes 
Kate Berger 
Deb Caswell 
Mike Hill 
Wendy Legge 
Chris Leifeld 
 

Mark McCrea 
Philip Moosbrugger 
Donna Olson 
John Rajkowski 
Jessica Stimac 
Lisa Wichterman 
 
Visitors present 
Kevin Adams; MCIT 
Ken Askuc; MASPRR 
Bob Babbitt 
Daniela Bird 
Laura Bordelon 
Randy Bradley; Alaris 
Scott Brener; SFM 
Mike Donnelly; Corvel 
Karen Ebert; MCIT 
Jeremy Esitencon; MSIA 
Ben Gerber; MN Chamber of Commerce 
Susan Giguere, RN; MAPS 
James Heer; WCRA 
Steve Hollander; MARP 
Bob Johnson, Insurance Federation of Minnesota 
Andrew Keiffer: Honsen 
Suxanna Kennedy: Leonard, Street; MSIA 
Brad Lehto; MN AFL-CIO 
Andy Morrison 
Laura Mundt; Mayo Clinic 
Mike Otos: Alaris Group 
Ros Otos; Alaris Group 
Thomas Saby; MASPPR 
Joe Schindler; MHA 
Peter Thrane; Leonard, Street & Deinard 
John Wedl:WPS 
Dan Wolfe; MN APTA 
 
 

 
The Workers’ Compensation Advisory Council (WCAC) was called to order at 9:42 a.m. by 
Commissioner Ken Peterson. Members introduced themselves. A quorum was present with Gary 
Thaden attending by phone. 
 
Peterson stated the WCAC members were chosen for their judgment and experience and that the 
workers’ compensation system in Minnesota is their program – it belongs to management and 
labor. Peterson noted the workers’ compensation law was passed 100 years ago this month as an 
agreement between management and labor. 
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Peterson announced that the members of the WCAC were close to an agreement and the 
members would be caucusing in an effort to finalize an agreement. At 9:45 a.m., Peterson 
recessed the meeting so WCAC members could caucus. 
 
Peterson reconvened the meeting at 11 a.m. All members previously in attendance were present, 
with Gary Thaden again attending by phone. Peterson asked the WCAC members if there had 
been an agreement between business and labor. Shar Knutson spoke for labor and confirmed 
there was an agreement. Laura Bordelon spoke for business and confirmed there was an 
agreement. Peterson briefly reviewed the following agreed upon items. 
 

Labor/business workers’ compensation agreement 
 
 Repeal Spaeth decision. 

 
 Implementation of pain contracts. 

 
 Change the data collected on the prevailing charge from the current one year to two years. 

 
 Patient advocate two-year pilot program for back fusions. 

 
 Increase maximum weekly benefit to 102 percent of the state average weekly wage (SAWW) 

for all wage-loss benefits. 
 

 Cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) delay reduced to three years and COLA cap increased to 
3 percent for all wage-loss benefits. 
 

 Cover mental-mental cases for traumatic events, using Chamber of Commerce language with 
clarification that physical/mental injuries are also still compensable (current law). 
 

 Rehabilitation changes 
o Job search/placement services: 
 would be limited to 20 hours a month; 
 at three months of job search/placement there is a mandatory review, job placement 

services would end unless parties agree to an additional three months of job 
placement services or ordered by DLI or other options are chosen such as jobs skills 
enhancement, retraining, etc; and 

 at six months, job search/placement services would end, an injured worker would 
have to do further job search on his/her own. 

 
o DLI will hold any rehabilitation conference within 21 days of receipt of any 

Rehabilitation Request form. Services to the injured worker would continue during the 
time the conference would be scheduled or heard. 
 

o Qualified rehabilitation consultants (QRCs) are not allowed to operate in the capacity of 
disability case manager. 

 

 



Workers’ Compensation Advisory Council Minutes -3- April 10, 2013 
 

 
 

 Increase injured worker attorney fee cap to $26,000 – make it a straight cap of 20 percent and 
injured worker attorneys waive subdivision 7 fees on Roraff/Heaton. 

 
The commissioner called for a vote on the agreement. All voted in favor of the agreement and it 
was passed on a voice vote. 
 
Peterson thanked everyone for their efforts and announced the Department of Labor and Industry 
would now proceed to try to get this proposal passed through the Legislature. 
 
Respectfully submitted, 

Debbie Caswell 
Debbie Caswell 
Executive Secretary 
 
dc/s 

 

 


