Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Orange bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Powered by google

Labor Standards -- Payment for hours worked



Required statement of earnings

Employers are required to provide each employee with a written statement of earnings. This statement must be issued at the end of each pay period and may be in any form desired, but must include the following.

Statement of earnings must include:
1) the name of the employee;
2) the hourly rate of pay (if applicable);
3) the total number of hours worked by the employee unless exempt from Minnesota Statutes chapter 177;
4) the total amount of gross pay earned by the employee during that period;
5) a list of deductions made from the employee's pay;
6) the net amount of pay after all deductions are made;
7) the date on which the pay period ends; and
8) the legal name of the employer and the operating name of the employer if different from the legal name.
See Minnesota Statutes 181.032.


Wages due upon separation -- Minnesota Statutes 181.13 and 181.14

The statutes provide penalties if wages are not paid according to the following guidelines:

  • for a discharged employee, wages are due within 24 hours of demand; and

  • for voluntary-quit employees, wages are due by the next payday, not to exceed 20 days from the last day worked.

More information

Recordkeeping

The Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act (MFLSA) sets recordkeeping requirements for all covered employees.

Every employer must keep certain records about each worker who is entitled to minimum wage and overtime pay under MFLSA. The act requires no particular format for the records. It does require that the records include certain identifying information about the employee and data about hours worked and the wages earned. The law requires that this information be kept for a period of not less than three years.

Basic employee information an employer must record:
a) name, address, Social Security number and occupation;
b) rate of pay, deductions (taxes, insurance, union dues, other) and the amount paid each pay period;
c) beginning and ending hours worked each day, including a.m. and p.m. designations, plus total hours worked each day and each work week;
d) a record of free meals accepted;
e) proof of age of minors employed; and
f) for each employer subject to MFLSA sections 177.41 and 177.44, and while performing work on public works projects funded in whole or in part with state funds, the prevailing wage master job classifications of each employee working on the project for each hour worked.

Available for purchase from Minnesota's Bookstore

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer