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Legislative changes affect construction codes
CCLD changes during the 2013 legislative session affect plumbing, elevators, 
charter schools, wind farms and others. Article 2 of Chapter 85 of the 2013 
Session Laws is available from the Office of the Revisor of Statutes. Some of the 
more notable changes include: 

Plumbing Inspection fee schedule
Section 326B.49 subd. 3. Inspection fees, is replaced with a 
different inspection fee schedule. The previous fee schedule 
was based on ranges of drainage fixture units with a cap 
of $1,800. The new fee schedule is primarily based on the 
number of fixtures installed and does not limit the total fee. 

When compared to the previous fee schedule, this schedule 
results in a more equitable fee. Under the previous fee 
schedule, small projects had a minimum $300 inspection 
fee. Under the new fee schedule, a small project could have 
a fee as little as $125. The new fee schedule also eliminates 
the $300 jump in fees when the drainage fixture unit total 
would move to the next range. Effective July 1, 2013. View 
more information about the change at  
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/pe_inspection_notice.pdf. 

Accelerated plumbing plan review
Section 326B.49 Applications, Fees. Subd. 2(10), providing 
for an accelerated plan review is deleted effective Jan. 
1, 2014. As part of its strategic plan, DLI is committed 
to completing plan reviews in a timely manner for all 
submissions, not only those submitted under the accelerated 
plan review provision.

Plumbing plan review submission
Section 326B.43 Plumbing Standards; Rules; Agreement 
with Municipality; Exception. Subd. 2(n) was amended 
to clarify the types of facilities required to have plans and 
specifications submitted to DLI. 

The list of health care facilities was replaced with “state-
licensed facilities as defined in section 326B.103, subd. 
13” and the reference to “buildings owned by the federal 
or state government” was replaced with “public buildings 

as defined in sections 326B.103, subd. 11.” These changes 
clarify the types of projects required to have the plan 
review performed by DLI and clarifies when the agency is 
the plumbing inspection authority. Effective July 1, 2013. 
Read more about plumbing plan review on page 3.

Elevator licensing, inspection changes
Sections 326B.163 to 326B.191 were amended to include 
new elevator licensing requirements. 

Elevator contractors and elevator constructors were 
previously licensed under sections 326B.31 to 326B.399 
that make up the Minnesota Electrical Act. The changes 
result in the elevator license requirements amended and 
relocated to sections 326B.163 to 326B.191 relating to 
elevators. In addition to being relocated, the changes 
require elevator licenses be based on both elevator and 

The Minnesota State Capitol building. Recent legislative changes 
affect the construction codes in Minnesota.
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electrical code and technology. Changes to the licensing requirements became 
effective July 1, 2013.

2013 Session Law Chapter 85 also includes a change to the elevator permit 
and inspection fee schedule found in Minnesota Rules 1307.0032. Under the 
current schedule, the inspection fee is based on the valuation of the elevator 
installation and is capped at $1,000. In addition to eliminating the $1,000 cap, 
the hourly rate for inspections will increase from $45 to $80. The fee schedule 
will also be moved to section 326B.184. These fee changes and the fee 
schedule moving to section 326B.184 become effective Jan. 1, 2014.

An unofficial version of sections 326B.163 to 326B.191 and more details about 
the licensing and inspection changes are available at www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/
elevator.asp.

Charter schools jurisdiction
Section 326B.103 Definitions, subd. 11. Public building. “Public building” 
means a building and its grounds the cost of which is paid for by the state or 
a state agency regardless of its cost, and a school district building project or 
charter school building project the cost of which is $100,000 or more. 

Effective July 1, 2013, charter school building projects valued at $100,000 or 
more must be submitted to CCLD, similar to other state construction projects 
regulated by Minnesota Rules 1302. CCLD will retain code administration 
authority on all charter school projects meeting the definition of a public 
building for purposes of plan review, permitting and inspection unless the 
project is delegated to the local building official through the normal delegation 
agreement process. 

For charter school projects valued at less than $100,000 in construction 
value, code administration is the responsibility of the local building official or 
building department. View more details at www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/pdf/charter_
school.pdf 

Building code applies to use of a building
Minnesota Statutes Section 326B.101 Policy and Purpose. The State Building 
Code governs the construction, reconstruction, alteration, and repair, and use 
of buildings and other structures to which the code is applicable.

This is an important change and clarifies that the building code applies to 
how buildings are used, including when the use changes. Section 326B.121, 
subd. 1 includes a similar change. An example of this change and the building 
code applying to a building’s use is when an existing retail unit in a multiple 
occupancy building is remodeled into a restaurant. Another example could 
be when a building used as a bank is remodeled to be used as a dental clinic. 
Effective July 1, 2013.

Wind farm inspections
Section 326B.37 Inspection Fee Schedule. Subd. 15. Utility interconnected 
wind generation installations. This is a new subdivision in the electrical 
inspection fee schedule that provides an alternative for calculating inspection 
fees for large wind farm installations. Read more about this change on page 6. 
Effective July 1, 2013.  
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CCLD main contact info
Phone: 	 (651) 284-5012 	
Toll-free:	1-800-657-3944
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5749 	
TTY:  		  (651) 297-4198

Visit the Contact Us page 

Licensing information
DLI.License@state.mn.us
Business/Contractor Licenses 
and Bonds: 	  (651) 284-5034
(Including:  Electrical, HPP, Plumbing, 
Residential, Manufactured Structures, 
Mechanical Bonds, Technology 
System, Water Conditioning)

Personal Licenses and 
Certificates:   (651) 284-5031
(Including:  Boiler Engineers, 
Electricians, Plumbers, Power Limited 
Technicians, Pipefitters, Unlicensed 
Individuals, Building Officials)

Electrical information

Contact information

Phone:  	(651) 284-5026		
Fax: 			  (651) 284-5749
DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us   

Boiler, High-Pressure Piping, 
Boats-for-Hire inspection
Phone: 	 (651) 284-5544	
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5737
DLI.Code@state.mn.us

Plumbing information
Phone:		 (651) 284-5063 			 
Fax: 			  (651) 284-5748
DLI.Plumbing@state.mn.us     

License enforcement details
Phone:  	(651) 284-5069			 
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5746
DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us

Contractor registration  
program
Phone:  	(651) 284-5074			 
DLI.register@state.mn.us

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Review.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Forms.asp
mailto:DLI.License@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Electrical.asp
mailto:DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld.asp
mailto:DLI.Code@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Plumbing.asp
mailto:DLI.Plumbing@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/Enforcement.asp
mailto:DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/register.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/register.asp
mailto:DLI.register@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Elevator.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Elevator.asp
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/pdf/charter_school.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Plumbing plan review and inspection requirements

Resources

What must be reviewed?

Regardless of whether a municipality has a formal plan review agreement with DLI, some plumbing plan  
reviews and inspections must always be performed by DLI.

Municipalities with plumbing  
plan review agreements 

Plan review: In accordance with section 326B.43, subd. 2(n), 
municipalities that have a formal plumbing plan review agreement 
with DLI may perform plumbing plan reviews with the exceptions 
listed below. The following plumbing plans must be submitted 
to DLI for review: 

1. (Type I)  State-licensed facilities as defined in section 
326B.103, subd. 13, states, “State licensed facility” means 
a building and its grounds that are licensed by the state as a 
hospital, nursing home, supervised living facility, free-standing 
outpatient surgical center, correctional facility, boarding care 
home or residential hospice. 

2.  (Type II) Public buildings as defined in section 326B.103 
subd. 11, which was amended and passed in 2013 legislation 
as: “Public building” means a building and its grounds the cost 
of which is paid for by the state or a state agency regardless 
of its cost, and a school district building project or charter 
school building project the cost of which is $100,000 or more.  
Examples of these types of facilities include public schools, 
state colleges, Minnesota Department of Transportation, 
Department of Natural Resources and similar facilities. 

3. (Type III) Projects of special nature for which DLI review is 
requested by either the municipality or the state. These projects 
are all dialysis facilities and all charter school and independent 
school district projects not covered in Type II. 

Inspections: The plumbing inspections for those facilities may be 
conducted by the municipality if the inspections are performed by 
inspectors who are licensed master or journeyman plumbers. In 
municipalities where plumbing inspections are not performed by 
licensed plumbers, DLI staff members will inspect the facilities.

Municipalities with no  
plumbing plan review agreements 

Plan review: Unless a plumbing plan review 
agreement exists between DLI and a municipality, 
all plumbing plans and specifications for public 
and commercial types of facilities must be 
submitted to DLI for review and approval prior to 
installation. DLI reviews plumbing plans for all of 
the following types of facilities including yet not 
limited to: 

1. Assisted living facilities, restaurants, coffee 
shops, grocery stores, gas stations, liquor stores, 
hotels or lodges, retail malls, office buildings, 
dental offices, warehouses, churches, all schools, 
apartments (including residential housing with 
five units or more built to IBC, and similar 
facilities.) 

2. All facilities listed above under Types I, II and 
III.  

Inspections: The plumbing inspections for 
facilities listed under Item 1 may be conducted 
by the municipality if the inspections are 
performed by inspectors who meet the competency 
requirements established in section 326B.135, or 
are licensed master or journeyman plumbers.  

The plumbing inspections for facilities listed in 
Item 2 (types I, II, and III) are performed by DLI 
staff members.

Non-code enforced areas: For non-code enforced areas, DLI will perform all commercial, licensed  
and public plumbing plan reviews and all plumbing inspections. 

Plumbing handouts available online
A selection of plumbing informational sheets and handouts 
were recently added to DLI’s website. Topics include kitchen 
items, fixtures, sand and flammable interceptors and more. 

Visit www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/checklists.asp to view the files.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/checklists.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Two CCLD seminars scheduled for fall ‘13
IAEI Significant Changes to the 2014  

National Electrical Code

This seminar – scheduled for three metro and three 
outstate Minnesota locations – will focus on the articles 
and sections of the 2014 National Electrical Code (NEC) 
that have been substantially altered from the 2011 edition.

Instructors will explore the substantiations for the 
changes and integrate them into a more thorough 
understanding of the applicable code requirements. 

In addition to demonstrating the need for the 
modifications, the presenters will turn the most complex 
information into a logical, interactive seminar session.

The Life of a Boiler

 

This seminar – scheduled for three outstate Minnesota 
locations – will focus on the life of a boiler starting with 
the construction requirements for boilers in Minnesota 
and cover jurisdictional authority, state or local building 
official. 

Curriculum will include new boiler installations and 
testing requirements, operation of existing boilers, repairs 
to existing boilers and alteration requirements. 

The seminar will also include the requirements for 
natural gas fuel trains, combustion air, venting, piping, 
valves, safety valves, controls, safety devices, testing and 
compliance. 

Details for both seminars – including continuing education credit, dates and locations – are available at 
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/education.asp. 

Additional educational opportunities slated for 2014
The Annual Institute for Building Officials will be More information
conducted Jan. 8 to Jan. 23, 2014, at the University of Read more about each event, including dates, 
Minnesota, St. Paul Campus. directions and how to register.

Annual Institute for Building Officials
The ICC Upper Great Plains Region III Educational 

ICC Upper Great Plains Region III Educational Institute is scheduled for Feb. 2 to Feb. 7, 2014, at the Oak 
InstituteRidge Conference Hotel in Chaska.

Locate inspectors quickly

Find code  
requirements 
in one place

DLI has a one-stop “Local Code Lookup” – online at  
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction – to help contractors and homeowners 
find local code requirements and code inspectors. 

The online search tool 
helps users find which 
code authority has local 
jurisdiction for permits, plan 
review and inspection in the 
areas of boilers, building 
codes, electrical, elevators, 
high-pressure piping, 
plumbing or other Minnesota 
construction codes and 
licensing disciplines. 

DLI’s Local Code 
Lookup helps 
homeowners and 
contractors find local 
code requirements 
and inspectors in one 
place.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/education.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/education.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/education.asp
http://cce.umn.edu/Annual-Institute-for-Building-Officials/
http://www.iccsafe.org/training
http://www.iccsafe.org/training
http://cce.umn.edu/Annual-Institute-for-Building-Officials/
http://www.iccsafe.org/training
http://www.iccsafe.org/training
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction
http://www.dli.mn.gov
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction
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DLI’s Building Plan Review section adds new employee
As part of a three-step initiative to reduce the turnaround and complexity of projects he reviewed while with the city. 
time between document submittal and plan review, CCLD’s Rehn may be contacted at ryan.rehn@state.mn.us or  
Building Plan Review unit has added an additional plan (651) 284-5410. 
reviewer. 

View the full Construction Codes and Licensing Division’s 
Ryan Rehn is the newest member of the Building Plan contact directory online at  
Review unit. He was previously with the city of St. Paul www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/CCLDContactUs.asp.
and brings a wealth of knowledge gained by the variety 

Consumers

Workforce changes

Enforcement actions

Enforcement actions
View enforcement 

and license actions 
taken against 

licensees.
 

White Bear Lake residential contractor fined $34,000
Some recent CCLD enforcement actions include:

• In April 2013, the agency revoked the license of a residential building contractor 
from White Bear Lake who failed to make payments to subcontractors, falsified lien 
waivers and failed to cooperate with DLI’s investigation. The contractor was also 
ordered to cease and desist from acting as a residential building contractor and fined 
$34,000.

Also in April, an unlicensed residential building contractor from Woodbury was found •

to have contracted to perform a remodeling project, which he later abandoned after 
performing some poor quality work. The agency ordered him to cease and desist from
acting as a residential contractor and fined him $26,000.

• An unlicensed lighting company from Utah was ordered to cease and desist from unlicensed electrical 
work and fined $4,500.  

• An unlicensed contractor from Minnetonka was fined $4,000 and ordered to cease and desist from 
performing electrical, plumbing and residential contractor work.

Summaries of all final CCLD enforcement actions are available at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Enforcement.asp. 
Questions about specific enforcement actions should be directed to (651) 284-5069 or  
DLI.contractor@state.mn.us.

Reminder: Homeowners have options when signing contract
In 2012, DLI successfully sought  Similarly, any contract for roof repairs 
changes to the state’s home solicitation If a contractor offers a contract to that are expected to be covered by 
laws requiring home improvement perform repair work, the contract an insurance policy must include a 
contractors to provide a three-day must include language that explains provision that allows the contract to 
right-to-cancel. A contract may be the homeowner’s right-to-cancel the be cancelled if the insurance company 
canceled within three days in cases contract within three business days of denies the claim. Visit www.dli.
where the contractor makes the first signing it. mn.gov/ccld/RBCconsumer.asp for 
contact with the homeowner. more information.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/CCLDContactUs.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/Enforcement.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/Enforcement.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Enforcement.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/RBCconsumer.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/RBCconsumer.asp
mailto:ryan.rehn@state.mn.us
mailto:DLI.contractor@state.mn.us
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Minnesota Statutes Section 326B.37 (Electrical Inspection 
Fee Schedule) was revised by the 2013 Legislature to 
allow wind farm installers two options for calculating 
electrical inspection fees. 

The first option is to use the traditional method of 
calculating inspection fees based on the size and 
quantity of tangible components of the electrical system 
– generators, power sources, feeders, branch circuits, 
transformers, technology circuits or systems, grounding, 
systems more than 600 volts and so on. 

The new alternative “plan review/limited inspection” 
option includes a plan review and an associated plan 
review fee, and a set inspection fee for each wind tower. 
The plan review fee is based on 65 percent of the valuation 
of the electrical installation related to one typical tower 
in the proposed wind farm, not including the supporting 
tower or other nonelectrical equipment. This fee is similar 
to the typical plan review fee that is assessed for a building 
permit application. 

In addition to the plan review fee, there is a set electrical 
inspection fee of $80 for each individual wind tower, 
including any voltage matching transformers located at 
the tower, plus the inspection fees for the feeders that 
interconnect the individual towers to the utility’s electrical 
grid.

The primary purpose of a wind farm is to produce 
electricity that can be added to the electrical grid, not 
to consume or take electricity from the electrical grid. 
Consequently, there usually is no “utility electrical 
service” for a wind farm or for individual wind towers, 

New options for wind farm electrical inspections
unlike a typical premises 
that derives power from 
the grid and has a (metered) 
utility-supplied electrical service 
that constitutes the interconnection 
between the facilities of the serving 
electrical utility and the premises wiring 
system (i.e. service point). Because of that, 
there is no electrical service inspection fee 
for the wind farm or individual towers.

The intent for this revision in the electrical 
inspection fee schedule is to provide an 
alternative method of calculating inspection 
fees. With either option, the resulting 
calculated inspection fees need to be 
reasonable and defendable, yet adequately 
offset the cost of providing the electrical 
inspection service. 

Another benefit of the plan review or limited 
inspection model is more universal design 
acceptance, enabling designs and methods to 
be approved well in advance rather than at the 
installation phase.

Conducting plan reviews in this manner is a 
new endeavor for DLI’s electrical inspection 
unit – the exact process and procedures will be 
developed as it moves forward. Installers are 
encouraged to contact the electrical inspection 
unit in advance of any proposed wind farm 
projects if they desire to use the new method for 
calculating electrical inspection fees.

Inspection fees

• Follow DLI on Twitter at  
	 www.twitter.com/mndli 

• Subscribe to DLI’s RSS feed to 
	 be instantly notified of news at  
	 www.twfeed.com/atom/mndli  

• View DLI’s YouTube channel at  
	 www.youtube.com/user/mndli1

• Sign up for  other DLI newsletters  
	 focusing on workers’ compensation,  
	 OSHA and more at  
	 www.dli.mn.gov/publications.asp

Stay in touch

http://dli.mn.gov/CCLD/CCLDContactUs.asp
http://dli.mn.gov/CCLD/CCLDContactUs.asp
www.twitter.com/mndli
http://www.twfeed.com/atom/mndli
www.youtube.com/user/mndli
www.dli.mn.gov/publications.asp
www.dli.mn.gov/rss/rss.xml
www.twfeed.com/atom/mndli
www.dli.mn.gov/rss/rss.xml
http://www.dli.mn.gov
http://www.youtube.com/user/mndli1
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CCLD reviews construction electrician programs
Since August 2012, CCLD has been 
working with instructors, program 
directors and deans of technical 
colleges to review the curriculums 
of the many construction electrician 
programs in Minnesota, North 
Dakota, South Dakota and Iowa.

Minnesota Statutes 326B.33, subd. 
2, paragraph (b), and 7, paragraph 
(b) allows an applicant for a  Class 
A journeyman electrician, power 
limited technician, or maintenance 
electrician license to be granted one 
year of experience credit for the 
successful completion of a two-year, 
post-high-school electrical course 
approved by DLI.  

Electrical courses at the technical 
colleges listed in the chart at right 
have met the required criteria and 
their graduates qualify for the  
one-year experience credit.

School name Location
Anoka Technical College Anoka, Minn.
Dakota County Technical College Rosemount, Minn.
Dunwoody College of Technology Minneapolis, Minn.
Hibbing Community College Hibbing, Minn.
Leech Lake Tribal College Cass Lake, Minn.
Minnesota State Community and  
Technical College

Wadena and Moorhead, Minn.

Minnesota West Community and 
Technical College

Jackson and Canby, Minn.

North Dakota State College of Science Wahpeton, N.D.
Northeast Iowa Community College Calmar, Iowa
Northwest Iowa Community College	 Sheldon, Iowa
Northwest Technical College Bemidji, Minn.
Ridgewater College Willmar, Minn.
Riverland Community College Owatonna, Minn.
St. Cloud Technical & Community 
College

St. Cloud, Minn.

St. Paul College St. Paul, Minn.

Electrical experience

Important information for power limited technicians
Technology circuits

The term “technology circuits or 
systems” is defined in Minnesota 
Statutes section 326B.31 and 
includes class 2 or class 3 wiring for, 
but not limited to: remote control, 
signaling, control, alarm, audio signal, 
communication, antenna systems and 
indoor lighting and outdoor landscape 
lighting systems operating at 30 volts 
or less.

A power limited technician (PLT) 
is a person having the necessary 
qualifications, training, experience, 
and technical knowledge to install, 
alter, repair, plan, lay out, and 
supervise the installation, alteration 
and repair of electrical wiring, 

apparatus and equipment for 
technology circuits or systems.

However, the PLT license is not a 
stand-alone license. PLTs are only 
permitted to perform work when they 
are IRS W2-type employees of a 
licensed contractor or employer. 

Technology system work is required 
to be performed by employees 
of companies licensed by DLI as 
technology system or electrical 
contractors. Additionally, licensed 
PLTs may perform technology system 
work on property owned or leased by 
their employer when the employer is 
registered with the agency. 

More information

Technology system contractor 
license application packets

Employer registration packets

Unlicensed individuals may 
perform technology system 
work when working under the 
supervision of a PLT when both 
are employees of the same 
employer.

Individual registration forms

•

•

•

http://dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/eli_laws_and_rules.pdf
http://dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/eli_laws_and_rules.pdf
http://dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/eli_laws_and_rules.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/tsc_licenseapp12.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/tsc_licenseapp12.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/ele_reg_employer.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/ele_unlicensed.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov
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Fuel

ele_John W - Bulk Storage 

Hazardous (Classified) Areas at Bulk Storage Fuel Dispensers  
With Containment Systems or Dikes 

When motor fuel dispensing is installed in conjunction with motor fuel bulk storage, National Electrical Code (NEC) 
Articles 501 (Class 1 Locations), 514 (Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities) and 515 (Bulk Storage Plants) shall all apply, 
in addition to other specific or general articles in the NEC.   

In accordance with NEC 515.10, when a bulk fuel storage facility also incorporates dispensing of gasoline or other 
volatile flammable liquids, the electrical installation shall comply with the applicable rules in NEC Article 514.  

Installers also need to be aware that the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency has mandated that aboveground 
storage tanks of 1,100 gallons or more installed after November 2, 1998 shall have secondary containment. 
Acceptable containment systems include: a minimum of 12 inches compacted clay, a geo-synthetic clay liner, 
concrete, a synthetic membrane, the outer layer of a double-walled tank, fabricated steel or fiberglass. 

Unlike typical classified locations identified in the NEC, bulk storage facilities that incorporate dispensing are 
considered nontypical, and the boundaries of the hazardous (classified) locations for such installations shall be 
determined by a registered professional electrical engineer. The length of the dispenser hose shall be considered 
when determining the boundary of the hazardous area. The space outside of the containment wall shall also be 
included in the hazardous area if the dispenser hose could be extended over the containment dike wall to dispense 
motor fuel. In a worst case scenario, the presumed hazardous area would be measured horizontally the length of the 
extended hose (including dispenser handle), plus two feet, and vertically from grade to a height of 18-inches in all 
directions, unless the boundary of the hazardous location was proven to be different through engineering analysis. 

The boundary of the classified area shall be consistent with other codes and standards, including but not limited to: 
 NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Handbook 44, Specifications, Tolerances, and Other 

Technical Requirements for Weighing and Measuring Devices as adopted by the 96th National Conference 
on Weights and Measures 2011 

 NFPA 497, Recommended Practice for the Classification of Flammable Liquids, Gases, or Vapors and of 
Hazardous (Classified) Locations for Electrical Installations in Chemical Process Areas 

 NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code 

Electrical Licensing & Inspection 
443 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-4342 
www.dli.mn.gov 

     (651) 284-5026 
      1-800-DIAL-DLI 
      Fax: (651) 284-5743 
      TTY: (651) 297-4198 

Multiple sections of the National Electrical Code apply when 
motor fuel dispensers are installed in conjunction with motor fuel 
bulk storage.

Verify a license

Important rules for bulk storage fuel dispensers
When motor fuel dispensers are installed in conjunction 
with motor fuel bulk storage, National Electrical Code 
(NEC) Articles 501 (Class 1 Locations), 514 (Motor Fuel 
Dispensing Facilities) and 515 (Bulk Storage Plants) all 
apply, in addition to other specific or general articles in the 
NEC.  

In accordance with NEC 515.10, when a bulk fuel storage 
facility also incorporates dispensing of gasoline or other 
volatile flammable liquids, the electrical installation must 
comply with the applicable rules in NEC Article 514. 

Installers also need to be aware that the Minnesota 
Pollution Control Agency mandates that above ground 
storage tanks of 1,100 gallons or more installed after Nov. 
2, 1998, must have secondary containment. Acceptable 
containment systems include: 

•	 a minimum of 12 inches compacted clay
•	 a geo-synthetic clay liner
•	 concrete
•	 a synthetic membrane
•	 the outer layer of a double-walled tank
•	 fabricated steel
•	 fiberglass

Unlike typical classified locations identified in the NEC, 
bulk storage facilities that incorporate dispensers are 
considered nontypical, and the boundaries of the hazardous 
(classified) locations for such installations must be 
determined by a registered professional electrical engineer. 
The length of the dispenser hose will be considered when 
determining the boundary of the hazardous area. The space 
outside of the containment wall will also be included in 
the hazardous area if the dispenser hose could be extended 
over the containment dike wall to dispense motor fuel. In 

a worst-case scenario, the presumed hazardous area would 
be measured horizontally the length of the extended hose 
(including dispenser handle), plus two feet, and vertically 
from grade to a height of 18 inches in all directions, unless 
the boundary of the hazardous location was proven to be 
different through engineering analysis.

The boundary of the classified area must be consistent with 
other codes and standards, including yet not limited to:
•	 National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 	
	 Handbook 44, Specifications, Tolerances, and Other 		
	 Technical Requirements for Weighing and Measuring 		
	 Devices as adopted by the 96th National Conference on 	
	 Weights and Measures 2011
•	 NFPA 497, Recommended Practice for the Classification 	
	 of Flammable Liquids, Gases, or Vapors and of  
	 Hazardous (Classified) Locations for Electrical  
	 Installations in Chemical Process Areas
•	 NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code

It’s personal ... and business:  DLI’s improved online License Lookup tool now 
allows users to check the status of numerous personal and business licenses, 
certificates, registrations and bonds.

To see the full list of searchable items, visit www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/LicVerify.asp

Use DLI’s online tools to verify a license, certificate or registration

Verify licenses, 
bonds, certifications 

and registrations
Get started

License LookupLicense Lookup

http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/LicVerify.asp
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/LicVerify.asp
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/LicVerify.asp
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/LicVerify.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov
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On the move

For electrical work, moved buildings treated as new
Except for energy code compliance, buildings or 
structures that are moved into or within a jurisdiction 
are treated as new buildings (Minnesota Rules Chapter 
1300.0220, subp. 4). 

The existing wiring in a moved building is not 
automatically required to be removed and replaced with 
new wiring. If the existing wiring is in good condition 
and there is no evidence of disrepair or overloaded 
circuitry, the existing wiring may be acceptable.

However, one problem with older wiring is the 
temperature rating of the insulation on the conductors. 
New light fixtures are generally required to be connected 
to 90 degrees Celsius branch circuit supply wiring at 
lighting outlets while older branch circuit wiring most 
likely has a lower temperature rating of 75 or 60 C. 
The supply conductor insulation temperature rating 
requirements for new fixtures is often marked on the 
carton, in the installation instructions, and most certainly 
on the light fixture. The wiring at the lighting fixture 
outlet needs to be replaced with 90 C supply wiring if 
required by the fixture manufacturer.

A moved building must comply with the current National 
Electrical Code (NEC) to the extent practicable with 
respect to the following, including yet not limited to: 

•	 Minimum 100 ampere service or larger if required
•	 Electrical service grounding and bonding
•	 Electrical service grounding electrode system
•	 Ground-fault-circuit-interrupter protection where 

required
•	 Arc-fault-circuit-interrupter protection where 

required.

•	 Minimum quantity and amperage of branch circuits 
(kitchen, bathrooms, laundry, etc.)

•	 Minimum quantity of receptacle outlets and lighting 
outlets in all locations indoors and outdoors

•	 Existing receptacle outlets that are not supplied 
with an equipment grounding conductor (two-prong 
receptacle outlets) need to be replaced with grounding 
type receptacle outlets that are grounded via an 
equipment grounding conductor (as an alternative, 
two-prong receptacle outlets can be replaced with 
GFCI receptacle outlets where permitted by the NEC; 
GFCI receptacles cannot be used as replacements 
for two prong receptacle outlets where equipment is 
specifically required to be grounded by the NEC)

•	 Tamper-resistant receptacles are required
•	 Smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors 

(according to the building code)  

This is not an inclusive list; other requirements are also 
applicable depending on conditions in the field.

DLI strongly recommends all involved parties meet 
with the electrical inspector (and building inspector if 
applicable) at the beginning of the project so everyone 
has a clear understanding of what is required or allowed.

It is unlikely that a moved building would meet every 
code requirement, something that can be readily 
accomplished for a new building, such as exact spacing 
or location of receptacle outlets or other issues for 
which an electrical inspector can make a judgment call 
in the field. However, basic fire and life safety issues 
related to the electrical system are critical and must be in 
compliance.

City of Prior Lake is now a state-inspected electrical area

Electrical inspection districts

Read the full electrical inspector change notice at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/ele_insp06012013.pdf.

View the Electrical Inspector Directory homepage at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ElectricalInspect.asp.

Search for codes and inspectors with the Local Code Lookup at http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction/. 

•

•

•

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/EducationOutreach.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/ele_insp06012013.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ElectricalInspect.asp
http://workplace.doli.state.mn.us/jurisdiction/
http://www.dli.mn.gov
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