
110.24 Available Fault Current. For service installations and changes 
(at other than dwelling units) the service equipment is now required to 
be field marked with the fault current available on the supply side of 
the equipment. Circuit breakers and fuses must be properly selected 
to handle the maximum available fault current. The marking must be 
sufficiently durable to withstand the environment and shall include the 
date the calculation was performed. 
	
210.8 Ground-Fault Circuit-Interrupter Protection for Personnel. 
GFCI devices must now be located in a readily accessible place. This 
means that the device must be capable of being reached quickly which 
encourages the required monthly testing. Another change clarified that 
the GFCI requirement for receptacles within 6 feet of a sink applies to 
all sinks, not just laundry, utility and wet-bar sinks. 
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A Federal Environmental Protection Agency law requires 
contractors doing work on pre-1978 child occupied 
residential buildings to test for and abate lead in the areas of 
those buildings on which they are working. 

The Minnesota Legislature passed a law, effective Feb. 1, 
2011, intended to work in conjunction with this Federal 
law. This Minnesota law is contained in Minnesota Statutes 
326B.106, subd. 13 and 14.

DLI believes that this law intends that a permit should not 
be issued for work on pre-1978 residential structures unless 
the licensed residential contractor requesting the permit has 
the required lead certification or one of the exceptions in  
the Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, section 745.82, 
can be met. 
Read more ... 

EPA lead rule for renovation, repair and painting firms in effect
More information about 

requirements:
• Renovation, Repair and Painting (RRP) from  
	 the EPA  

• Contact the EPA by phone: 1-800-621-8431

• Pre-Renovation Education Program and RRP  
	 rule at the Minnesota Department of Health

• Find an EPA Lead-Safe Certified Contractor  
	 using the EPA’s online search tool

• Contractors – view a director of approved CEU  
	 classes on DLI’s website

Significant changes found in the 2011 NEC
There were more than 5,000 proposals submitted to the National Fire Protection 
Association for changes to the 2011 National Electrical Code. The following is a list of 
significant changes in the 2011 NEC.

EPA lead requirements

NEC continues on Page 8

http://www.epa.gov/lead/pubs/renovation.htm
http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/eh/lead/prof/pre/index.html
http://cfpub.epa.gov/flpp/searchrrp_firm.htm
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/rbccourses.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/rbccourses.asp
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Ken Peterson to lead Labor and Industry
Governor Mark Dayton has appointed Ken Peterson, pictured at right, as the 
commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry, a position Peterson 
also had from 1988 to 1990.

“I have known, worked with and respected Ken Peterson for almost 30 years,” 
Dayton said. “He is one of the most dedicated and effective public servants I 
have ever known. He brings exceptional experience and expertise back to the 
agency he has led before.”

“It is a thrill to be back serving the people of Minnesota,” said Peterson. “I look 
forward to aiding Governor Dayton in his commitment to protecting the 
hard-working men and women of Minnesota in the workplace, and ensuring 
Minnesota stays the great place to work that it is.”

Peterson has served the people of Minnesota in multiple capacities for several 
decades. He was the executive director of the Minnesota Public Interest Research Group (MPIRG), deputy commissioner of 
the Minnesota Department of Public Service and the Department of Labor and Industry, commissioner of the Department of 
Labor and Industry, deputy mayor and mayor’s chief of staff of the city of St. Paul, and director of the St. Paul Department of 
Planning and Economic Development. His most recent public service was in the Minnesota Attorney General’s office, where 
he was deputy attorney general for Government Operations.

Jessica Looman

Ken Peterson

Kris Eiden named deputy commissioner;
Jessica Looman named assistant commissioner
Kris Eiden is the Department of Labor and Industry’s new deputy 
commissioner. She is an attorney who has worked in both the private and 
public sectors.

Eiden served as chief deputy attorney general in the Minnesota Attorney 
General’s Office from 2003 to 2007, and deputy attorney general for four 
years prior to that. She was an attorney in private practice from 1991 to 1998, 
primarily representing regulated businesses. Most recently, Eiden taught 
paralegal students at a local business college.

Jessica Looman is the new assistant commissioner at DLI and will help direct 
the work of both the Construction Codes and Licensing Division and the 
Apprenticeship and Labor Standards units. 

Previously, she served as General Counsel of the Laborers District Council of 
Minnesota and North Dakota for more than 10 years. 

While there, Looman addressed important workplace issues such as drug and 
physical testing, workers’ compensation, prevailing wage, apprenticeship 
training, workforce diversity, unemployment insurance and misclassification 
of workers.

Kris Eiden
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In its 2010 session, the Minnesota legislature enacted legislation creating a 
home warranty dispute resolution process homeowners and builders or home 
improvement contractors are required to employ before a homeowner warranty 
dispute may proceed to litigation pursuant to Minn. Stat. 327A (unless the 
parties agree to use an alternative dispute resolution mechanism).

The new home warranty dispute resolution process is only required in cases 
where the builder or home improvement contractor has complied with all of the 
notice and opportunity to repair (NOR) provisions of the warranty law. 

If the builder or home improvement contractor fails to comply with the NOR 
requirements regarding inspection and offer to repair, the homeowner is not 
obligated to use a dispute resolution process before commencing litigation. 
Read more ...

CCLD Review is a quarterly 
publication of the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and 
Industry.   
Receive e-mail notification 
when an issue is available by 
subscribing online. 

CCLD main phone number
(651) 284-5012

Visit the Contact Us page 
Licensing information
DLI.License@state.mn.us
Business/Contractor Licenses 
and Bonds: 	  (651) 284-5034
(Including:  Electrical, HPP, Plumbing, 
Residential, Manufactured Structures, 
Mechanical Bonds, Technology 
System, Water Conditioning)

Personal Licenses and 
Certificates:   (651) 284-5031
(Including:  Boiler Engineers, 
Electricians, Plumbers, Power Limited 
Technicians, Pipefitters, Unlicensed 
Individuals)

Building Code information
Phone: 	 (651) 284-5012 	
Toll-free:	1-800-657-3944
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5749 	
TTY:  		  (651) 297-4198
Electrical information
Phone:  	(651) 284-5026		
Fax: 			  (651) 284-5749
DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us   
Boiler, High-Pressure Piping, 
Boats-for-Hire inspection
Phone: 	 (651) 284-5544	
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5737
DLI.Code@state.mn.us
Plumbing information
Phone:		 (651) 284-5063 			 
Fax: 			  (651) 284-5748
DLI.Plumbing@state.mn.us     
Residential Building Cont. 
Phone:  	(651) 284-5069			 
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5749
DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us
Independent Contractor 
Exemption Cert. information
Phone:  	(651) 284-5074			 
DLI.ic@state.mn.us

Contact information

Home warranty disputes

Warranty dispute resolution process in effect

View all the details of the home warranty dispute resolution 
process on DLI’s website at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ene.asp

Building officials: help us keep your  
e-mail address and phone number current
The state municipal building official list is online at  
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/bc_bo_list.pdf

If a change is needed, please contact Cindy Chapel at  
cynthia.chapel@state.mn.us. 

Notices are often sent to building officials via e-mail. 
Municipalities should also report building official designation 
changes to Cindy Chapel at CCLD. More information and the 
applicable forms are online at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Official.asp

Visit the contact us page to find phone numbers and  
e-mail addresses for DLI staff.

Stay current

New procedure strives to reduce litigation  
expenses for builders, remodelers and homeowners

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?key=58003
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ENE.asp
mailto:cynthia.chapel@state.mn.us
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/review.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Forms.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Forms.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Codes.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Electrical.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Boiler.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/HPP.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Boats.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Plumbing.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/RBC.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Icec.asp
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Insurance companies must provide DLI notice of policy cancellation or nonrenewal

Contractor insurance policy requirements change

Minnesota’s insurance laws (M.S. 60A.36) changed Jan. 1, 
2011, so that a contractor’s or business’ insurance company 
must provide DLI written notice of a policy cancellation or 
nonrenewal, subject to the terms of the policy. Policyholders 
must notify their insurance company, through an endorsement 
on the policy, that DLI is to be notified if the insurance policy 
is canceled or not renewed. 

Liability insurance is required
Businesses and contractors issued licenses by DLI must 
“have and maintain” general liability insurance coverage for 
the license to be valid. This means the business or contractor 
must have a general liability insurance policy in effect when 
a license is issued and maintain continuous liability insurance 
coverage throughout the license period.

Cancellation notice
In the event of a policy cancellation, insurers are required by 
law to send a written notice to the department “at the same 
time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice 
is sent to the insured.” Notice to DLI is required to be made 
if the insurance company cancels or non-renews the policy, 
subject to the terms of the policy. 

Policy endorsement
Before an insurance company can notify the department 
of a policy cancellation or non-renewal, it needs to know 
who and where to send the notice. The licensed business or 
contractor must notify the insurer, through an endorsement 
to the insurance policy, that the department will be notified 
if the insurance company cancels or non-renews the policy. 
DLI’s name and address is and should appear as the certificate 
holder as:

	 Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
	 CCLD Licensing and Certification Services
	 443 Lafayette Road North
	 St. Paul, MN 55155

ACORD form accepted
Because of changes in the cancellation notice language of the 
ACORD Certificate of Liability Insurance and notification 
requirement for cancellation or non-renewal of liability 
insurance, DLI will now accept the most recent version of the 
ACORD Certificate of Liability Insurance form (ACORD 25 
2010/05) as evidence of insurance coverage. The content on 
the certificate must include:
 
	 • the insurance company name and its NAIC number; 
	 • policyholder’s legal name, assumed name (dba) if  
		  applicable, and physical address; 
	 • policy information including policy number, effective  
		  date, expiration date, and policy limits; 
	 • insurance agent information and signature; and 
	 • DLI identified as the certificate holder.

Enforcement
Any licensed business or contractor failing to keep their 
liability insurance coverage in effect is immediately 
presumed to be unlicensed and, as such, prohibited from 
acting or holding themselves out as a licensed business or 
contractor. Unlicensed activity is a misdemeanor and will 
result in enforcement action against the business or contractor, 
including a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for each violation. 
Licensed businesses and contractors that discontinue their 
liability insurance coverage must terminate their license by 
returning the license certificate to the department.

Contractor insurance changes

326B.33, Subd. 16 
• Electrical contractor
• Elevator contractor
• Technology system contractor

326B.46, Subd. 2
• Plumbing contractor

326B.921, Subd. 6
• High-pressure-piping business

327B.04, Subd. 4(c)(2) 
• Manufactured home  
	 Manufacturer
• Manufactured home dealer
• Manufactured home dealer  
	 subAgency

326B.56, Subd. 2(b)
• Water conditioning contractor

326B.86, Subd. 2
• Residential building  
	 contractor
• Residential remodeler
• Residential roofer
• Manufactured home installer

View the mandatory liability insurance laws for Minnesota’s construction trades

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.33&year=2010#stat.326B.33.16
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.46&year=2010#stat.326B.46.2
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.921&year=2010#stat.326B.921.6
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=327B.04&year=2010#stat.327B.04.4
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.56&year=2010#stat.326B.56.2
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.86&year=2010#stat.326B.86.2


Page 5  •  ccld review •  winter 2010-11  • minnesota department of labor and industry

Although plumbing contractors have filed 
bonds and liability insurance with DLI and the 
Department of Health for many years, they have 
been doing it on behalf of their master plumber. 
A plumbing contractor’s license was actually 
the master plumber’s license, not the business’ 
license. The Minnesota legislature in 2010 shifted 
this responsibility to the plumbing contractor as a 
business entity rather than leave it with the master 
plumber. The change goes into effect with the license 
period starting Jan. 1, 2012.

Information currently provided by plumbing 
contractors when filing a bond and liability insurance 
will not change. This information includes:
	 •	 contractor name, address information, contact  
		  information
	 •	 federal and state business, employer and tax  
		  identification numbers 
	 •	 business name filing(s) with the Minnesota  
		  Secretary of State
	 •	 business disclosure of owners, partners,  
		  officers, or members
	 •	 responsible licensed master plumber or  
		  restricted master plumber
	 •	 plumbing contractor code compliance bond
	 •	 certificate of liability insurance
	 •	 certificate of compliance with Minnesota  
		  workers’ compensation laws

The primary differences plumbing contractors will 
experience in 2012 are:

	 •	 License number:  Each licensed plumbing  
		  contractor will be issued a license number that  
		  will remain with the licensed business entity  
		  as long as it remains licensed. This will  
		  eliminate use of the master plumber’s license  
		  as the plumbing contractor’s number.

	 •	 Responsible licensed plumber:  Each licensed  
		  plumbing contractor will designate a master  
		  plumber or restricted master plumber as its  
		  “responsible licensed plumber.” This individual  
		  must have a current, active master license and  
		  be responsible for the contractor’s compliance  
		  with Minnesota’s plumbing laws and code. The  
		  restrictions about who may be the responsible  
		  licensed plumber for a plumbing contractor are  
		  referenced in summary tables on DLI’s  
		  website.

	 •	 New bond:  Because the license is new, each  
		  licensed plumbing contractor must submit a  
		  new plumbing contractor code compliance  
		  bond for the license period starting Jan. 1, 	  
		  2012. Bonds currently in effect that expire Dec.  
		  31, 2011, will be unacceptable for the license  
		  period starting Jan. 1, 2012. 

Plumbing contractor license

Plumbing contractor licensing changes are coming
Beginning Jan. 1, 2012, DLI will license individuals and businesses that 
perform or offer to perform plumbing work, with or without compensation, 
as a licensed plumbing contractor or licensed restricted plumbing contractor. 
Master plumbers and restricted master plumbers will no longer “hold” the 
license for a plumbing contractor, but rather will be the “responsible master” 
for the contractor. The plumbing contractor, as a business entity, shall “hold” 
the license for itself.

The Minnesota Legislature made this change in 2010 to align regulation 
of plumbing contractors with that of electrical contractors, high-

pressure-piping contractors, elevator contractors, residential 
roofers, technology system contractors and residential building 
contractors. The law clarifies that business entities contracting 
to perform plumbing work shall be directly accountable for their 

business actions as a contractor.

Licensure of plumbing contractors

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingContChange.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingContChange.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingForms.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingForms.asp
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Code booksRefinery boilers

Legislation would change 
refinery boiler inspection timeline
Proposed legislation will allow Minnesota petroleum 
refineries to have their boilers inspected internally 
biennially instead of annually. 

The boilers would still require an annual inspection 
but the internal inspection would be allowed once 
every 24 months. 

The proposed legislation also implements guidelines 
for the water treatment program for the boilers. These 
must be met in order to qualify for the 24 month 
internal inspection frequency.

Excerpt of the proposed language:

Subd. 1. Biennial internal inspection for petroleum 
refineries. In lieu of the annual internal inspection 
of high-pressure steam boilers required by section 
326B.958, high-pressure steam boilers located at 
petroleum refineries not using a solid fuel may qualify 
for biennial internal inspection if the chief boiler 
inspector has approved a water treatment program 
for the boilers. The boilers must still be externally 
inspected at least every 12 months by an inspector 
holding a current certificate of competency. At the time 
of the external inspection, the inspector must review 
the water treatment program and water treatment 
log from the previous year. The chief engineer of 
the refinery must meet annually with the chief boiler 
inspector to review the program and water treatment 
log, and to discuss any program deficiencies.

Stay current with updates from DLI
• Follow DLI on Twitter at  
	 www.twitter.com/mndli 

• Subscribe to DLI’s RSS feed to 
	 be instantly notified of news at  
	 www.dli.mn.gov/rss/rss.xml 

• View DLI’s YouTube channel at  
	 www.youtube.com/user/mndli1

• Sign up for rulemaking  
	 notifications affecting CCLD  
	 trades and others at  
	 www.dli.mn.gov/Rulemaking.asp

• Sign up for  other DLI newsletters  
	 focusing on workers’ 	  
	 compensation, OSHA and more at  
	 www.dli.mn.gov/publications.asp

Social media

New construction code laws
The new edition of the Construction Codes and Licensing 
Laws is now available from Minnesota’s Bookstore. This 
book contains Minnesota Statutes Chapter 326B relating 
to the following areas: enforcement, State Building Code, 
elevators, interstate building compact, mechanical bond, 
electrical, plumbing, high-pressure piping, and boilers. 
Read more ...    

New residential contractor laws and rules
This book contains Minnesota Statutes Chapter 326B.59-
.89 and Minnesota Rules Chapter 2891. Read more at 
Minnesota’s Bookstore ...

General information about building codes
Minnesota’s Bookstore is a resource for other building codes 
and related materials. View more books and documents 
related to construction codes and licensing available at 
Minnesota’s Bookstore.

For additional help or to place an order by phone, contact 
Minnesota’s Bookstore at 1-800-657-3757.

New code books are available

Contact us

Find contact phone numbers and e-mail 
addresses for CCLD staff on the DLI website at 
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/CCLDcontactus.asp. 

Also available are links to DLI’s License Lookup, 
licensing forms and applications, and information 
about continuing education.

http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore.asp?page=viewbook&BookID=81331&stocknum=13711
http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore.asp?page=viewbook&BookID=81331&stocknum=13711
http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore.asp?page=viewbook&BookID=67692&stocknum=100
http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore.asp?page=mncategory&category=&CatID=210
http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore.asp
www.twitter.com/mndli
www.dli.mn.gov/rss/rss.xml
www.youtube.com/user/mndli1


Page 7  •  ccld review •  winter 2010-11  • minnesota department of labor and industry

A new home (page)

 

Common building plan review 
questions answered by CCLD staff

Q:
A:

Are all the routes to accessible building entrances required to have a maximum 1:20 slope?

No. A  walk with a maximum slope of 1:20 is required from (1) accessible parking to the accessible 
entrance and (2) accessible route between buildings on the same site. All other accessible entrances, 
not served by accessible parking are allowed to have a maximum 1:12 ramp as an element of their 
accessible route.

The questions below are part of an ongoing series featuring frequently asked questions received
by CCLD’s Building Plan Review Section. The responses are the opinions of the plan review staff
and do not represent an official division or state building official interpretation.

Q: Does CCLD Building Plan Review have jurisdiction on charter schools?

No. Charter schools do not fall under the definition of “public building” in Minn. Statutes 326B.103 
Subd. 11, as they are not a “school district building project” and therefore are not under CCLD 
jurisdiction

Q:
A:

Is a smoke/fire damper required at the top of a shaft where it terminates at the floor of a 
penthouse?

No. Assuming that the penthouse complies with the requirements of IBC Sec. 1509.2 for size, height 
and use, then it is a just another area of the roof, despite being enclosed. 

A:

Verify a license

DLI’s online License Lookup tool allows users to 
check the status of numerous different licenses, 
certificates, registrations and bonds.

To see the full list of searchable items, visit  
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/LicVerify.asp

Or to view a specific searchable database:

• Click here to verify a personal license

• Click here to verify a contractor license

Use DLI’s online tools to verify a license, certificate or registration

Residential contractor  
license and independent 

contractor certificate

Contractor Lookup

Get started

License Lookup

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlanConstruction.asp
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/pllic/licensing.aspx
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/licensing/licensing.aspx
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/LicVerify.asp
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2011 National Electrical Code

‘NEC’ - continued from Page 1
250.53(A)(2) Rod, Pipe, and Plate Electrodes, 
Supplemental Electrode Required. A single rod, pipe or 
plate used as grounding electrode must now be supplemented 
by another permitted electrode unless the single electrode 
has a resistance to earth of 25 ohms or less. Other acceptable 
electrodes include the metal frame of the building, a ground 
ring, a concrete encased electrode or an additional single rod, 
pipe or plate. The resistance to ground must be demonstrated 
if only one electrode is intended to constitute the grounding 
electrode system. 

314.27 Outlet Boxes. (C) Boxes at ceiling suspended 
(paddle) fan outlets. When a spare conductor is installed 
from the switch location to a ceiling mounted outlet box, 
the outlet box shall be listed for the support of a ceiling-
suspended (paddle) fan. This requirement applies to single-
family and multi-family dwellings in locations where a 
ceiling-suspended (paddle) fan is likely to be installed. 

334.10 Uses Permitted for Type NM cable. This change 
permits NM cable to be installed in attached and detached 
garages as well as storage buildings at one- and two-family 
dwellings without being protected by a 15-minute finish 
rating material.

338.10 (B)(4) SE Cable. The change in Article 338 allows 
the ampacity of Type SE cable installed as feeders or branch 
circuits to be considered at the 75°C rating where it is not 
installed in thermal insulation. The ampacity is still limited 
to 60°C where installed in thermal insulation.

404.2 (C) Switches Controlling Lighting Loads. In all 
occupancies, the grounded circuit conductor is now required 
at each switch location. There are exceptions for raceway 
systems that are sized large enough to allow an additional 
conductor to be installed and for cable installation where the 
addition of the grounded circuit conductor is practicable. An 
example would be type NM cable installed where the wall, 
floor or ceiling is unfinished on one side. 

406.4(D)(4) Receptacle Replacement Requirements. 
Where receptacles are replaced they must now comply with 
the same requirements as new installations. Listed tamper-
resistant and weather-resistant receptacles must be installed 
for replacements in those locations where it is currently 
required. This is in addition to the existing requirement for 
GFCI protection where otherwise required and the provisions 
for the replacement of non-grounding type receptacles. AFCI 
protection will also be required for receptacle replacements 
effective Jan. 1, 2014.

406.12 Tamper Resistant Receptacle Exceptions. 
Receptacles located within dedicated space for an appliance 
that is not easily moved from one place to another are no 
longer required to be listed tamper resistant. There is also 
an exception for a receptacle located more than 5'6" above 
the floor or that are part of a luminaire or appliance. Tamper-
resistant non-grounding receptacles are not available for 
replacement purposes and are exempted from the tamper-
resistant requirement as well.

450.14 Transformer Disconnecting Means. A disconnecting 
means is required either within sight of the transformer or 
must be lockable if it’s in a location that is not within sight. 
If the disconnect is not within sight, the location of the 
disconnecting means shall be field marked on the transformer.

680.73 Hydromassage Bathtubs. Receptacle outlets located 
under the skirt of the hydromassage tub are required to be 
located within 1 foot of the access and face the access opening.

Article 694 – Small Wind Electric Systems. New article 
covering systems with one or many wind generators, each 
with an individual capacity not exceeding 100kW. The article 
applies to systems with AC and DC output, with and without 
energy storage (batteries) and installations that are interactive 
with other sources (utilities) as well as stand-alone systems.

More 2011 NEC 
information

More details about the 
reasoning behind the changes 
are available in copies of the 
proposals and comments for 
the 2011 revision cycle. Both are 
available as a free download from 
NFPA.

   Download the Report for Proposals
   Download the Report on Comments

Nov. 4, 2011, is the deadline for submitting 
proposals for the 2014 NEC. Ideas and experiences 
to be considered for the code-making process may 
be submitted on a proposal form.

Minnesota’s Bookstore now stocks the 2011 
National Electrical Code and the 2011 National 
Electrical Code Handbook. 

http://www.nfpa.org/assets/files/PDF/ROP/70-A2010-ROP.pdf
http://www.nfpa.org/assets/files/AboutTheCodes/70/70-A2010-ROC.pdf
http://submissions.nfpa.org/onlinesub/onsubmain.php
http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore.asp?page=viewbook&BookID=81505&stocknum=13928
http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore.asp?page=viewbook&BookID=81505&stocknum=13928
http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore.asp?page=viewbook&BookID=81508&stocknum=13927
http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore.asp?page=viewbook&BookID=81508&stocknum=13927
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