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Flooding response

DLI, others help assess state flood damage
Staff from DLI’s 
Construction Codes and 
Licensing Division, along 
with other municipal and 
state officials, assisted with 
recent flooding in southern 
and southeastern Minnesota.

CCLD staff Mike Fricke, 
Chris Meier and Doug 
Nord assisted Jay Krueger, 
Wabasha County Building 
Official with damage 
assessments from the floods. 
Krueger’s wife, Judi, and 
Gene Durand from the City 
of Red Wing also assisted 
in inspecting 51 structures 
along the Zumbro River and 
Zumbro Lake area.

Last Next

View images from the flood areas
Click the image below to view a slide show on DLI’s website

BY
THE
NUMBERS:
According to preliminary damage 
assessments compiled by responders 
to flooded areas in Minnesota:

	 23	 –  Minnesota counties assessed

	 180+	 –  homes destroyed or severely damaged

	 280+	 –  received minor damage

	 609	 –  total homes impacted

	 1,000+	 –  jobs temporarily lost

	$45 million	 –  damage to public infrastructure

Statistics as of early October 2010.

For continuing details about the flood  
recovery efforts visit www.minnesotarecovers.org

http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/Floodpics.asp
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Payments from the Residential Contractor 
Recovery Fund have increased due to the 
downturn and resulting financial difficulties in 
the residential construction industry. Given the 
current rate of claims on the fund, it is projected 
to run short on money as early as 2011.

DLI’s commissioner is responsible by law to 
keep the fund solvent.  

Commissioner Steve Sviggum, based on carefully studied financial projections, did increase the amount each 
residential building contractor will pay into the recovery fund at the time of their next license renewal by $75 
each year. 

All licenses issued by CCLD are on a two-year renewal schedule, so the increase paid with this year’s license 
renewal will be $150.

Contractor Recovery Fund

Contractor Recovery Fund fee increasing
State law requires DLI’s commissioner to keep the fund solvent

The statute states:  
If the balance in the fund is at 

any time less than the commissioner 
determines is necessary to carry out the 
purposes of this section, every licensee, 
when renewing a license, shall pay, 
in addition to the annual renewal fee 
and the fee set forth in subdivision 3, 
an assessment not to exceed $200. 
The commissioner shall set the 
amount of assessment based on 
a reasonable determination of 
the amount that is necessary to 
restore a balance in the fund adequate to 
carry out the purposes of this section.

“

View the complete memo outlining the change at:  
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/pdf/FundMemo.pdf

”

www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/pdf/FundMemo.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/RBCContractorRemodApp.asp
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CCLD Review is a quarterly 
publication of the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and 
Industry.   
Receive e-mail notification 
when an issue is available by 
subscribing online. 

CCLD main phone number
(651) 284-5012

Visit the Contact Us page 
Licensing information
DLI.License@state.mn.us
Business/Contractor Licenses 
and Bonds: 	  (651) 284-5034
(Including:  Electrical, HPP, Plumbing, 
Residential, Manufactured Structures, 
Mechanical Bonds, Technology 
System, Water Conditioning)

Personal Licenses and 
Certificates:   (651) 284-5031
(Including:  Boiler Engineers, 
Electricians, Plumbers, Power Limited 
Technicians, Pipefitters, Unlicensed 
Individuals)

Building Code information
Phone: 	 (651) 284-5012 	
Toll-free:	1-800-657-3944
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5749 	
TTY:  		  (651) 297-4198
Electrical information
Phone:  	(651) 284-5026		
Fax: 			  (651) 284-5749
DLI.Electricity@state.mn.us   
Boiler, High-Pressure Piping, 
Boats-for-Hire inspection
Phone: 	 (651) 284-5544	
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5737
DLI.Code@state.mn.us
Plumbing information
Phone:		 (651) 284-5063 			 
Fax: 			  (651) 284-5748
DLI.Plumbing@state.mn.us     
Residential Building Cont. 
Phone:  	(651) 284-5069			 
Fax:  		  (651) 284-5749
DLI.Contractor@state.mn.us
Independent Contractor 
Exemption Cert. information
Phone:  	(651) 284-5074			 
DLI.ic@state.mn.us

Contact information

Independent contractors

As a result of legislation effective Jan. 1, 2009, CCLD began to issue 
Independent Contractor Exemption Certificates (ICEC) to individuals 
who perform building construction or improvement services in Minnesota. 

Individuals who perform such services for other contractors and do not 
have an ICEC are automatically deemed to be employees of the contractor 
for whom they are working. Working without the proper certification is a 
violation of state law and can result in civil penalties and other regulatory 
action against the individual and the contractor they work for.

Although the ICEC program was intended to address the issue of worker 
misclassification (employees being treated as independent contractors) 
in the construction industry, it has not been as effective as planned. This 
is due in part to a 2-percent tax withholding requirement that also went 
into effect Jan. 1, 2009 and applies only to individual proprietors. As 
a result, many individuals formed a limited liability company (LLC) 
or other business entity to sidestep the ICEC and 2-percent witholding 
requirements.

DLI organized and administered a Worker Misclassification Task Force 
to explore and address the worker misclassification issue. One of its 
recommendations, which was signed into law in January 2010, was to 
lengthen the term of an ICEC from two years to four years. This law 
change means that all ICECs that were issued in 2009 now expire in 
March 2013 instead of March 2011. New ICECs are also valid for 
four years.

CCLD continues to take enforcement action against individuals and 
businesses that violate the ICEC laws. Penalty orders have been issued in 
more than 200 cases with information obtained from CCLD investigations 
being shared with the Department of Employment and Economic 
Development for potential unemployment insurance violations, the 
Department of Revenue for potential tax violations and to the DLI’s 
Workers’ Compensation Division for mandatory workers’ compensation 
violations. 

For information about the ICEC program, call (651) 284-5074.

ICEC legislation is updated
New: Certificates are now valid for four years

... all ICECs that were issued in 2009 now expire 
in March 2013 instead of March 2011. New 

ICECs are also valid for four years.
“

”

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Icec.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Icec.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Forms.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/ccldcontactus.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Codes.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Electrical.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Boiler.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Plumbing.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/RBC.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Icec.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Review.asp
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In response to concerns from the insurance industry, the 
Minnesota Department of Commerce, in conjunction 
with DLI, issued a joint bulletin Sept. 17, 2010, that 
warns roofing contractors they may be violating state 
law by acting as public insurance adjusters.

When soliciting work after storms, many roofing 
contractors present homeowners with a proposal known 
as a “price-agreeable contract.” Those contracts became 
popular among insurance restoration contractors in 
Minnesota following intense hailstorms in 1998. They 
state that the homeowner agrees to allow the contractor 
to perform whatever repair 
work the homeowner’s 
insurance company 
agrees to cover, for the 
price that the insurer agrees 
to pay for the repairs. Most 
of these contracts also have 
a provision calling for the cancellation of the contract 
if no agreement can be reached between the contractor 
and insurer.

While CCLD does not object to the price-agreeable 
contract in principle, the way it is presented to the 
homeowner can cause concern. CCLD hears many 
complaints from homeowners who claim the contractor 
failed to tell them the document they were asked to sign 
is a contract; they were led to believe it was merely 
an authorization for the contractor to examine the 
homeowner’s roof or to talk to their insurance company. 
CCLD has taken enforcement action against several 
contractors for these types of misrepresentations.

The concern addressed by the joint bulletin relates to 
how contractors interact with homeowners’ insurance 
companies. In some cases, CCLD and the Department 
of Commerce have noticed contractors who advertise 
or otherwise claim to act as the homeowner’s 
representative in negotiating a claim with the insurer. 
This can be construed as the services of a public adjuster 
– someone who, for a fee, negotiates a claim settlement 
on a homeowner’s behalf. 

Public adjusters are required to be licensed by 
the Department of Commerce. Its staff warn that 

enforcement action 
against contractors 
who cross the line 
between contracting 
and public adjusting 
will be taken and 
some contractors are 

already under investigation. 

The determination about whether a contractor is acting 
as a public adjuster is made by the Department of 
Commerce only. CCLD advises licensed contractors to 
be sure they stick to discussing with insurance adjusters 
only the scope of damage to a homeowner’s property 
and the fee the contractor seeks for the required repair 
work. 

Contractors should avoid making statements, verbally 
or in their advertisements or contracts, that they will 
act as a homeowner’s “representative” or “agent” in 
negotiating with an insurer.

Roofers warned about adjusting activities
Roofing

For help with questions about the bulletin, 
contact the Department of Commerce’s 
Market Assurance Division at (651) 296-2488 
or market.assurance@state.mn.us.

Use DLI’s online tools to verify a license, certificate or registration
DLI’s online License Lookup tool allows users to 

check the status of numerous different licenses, 
certificates, registrations and bonds.

To see the full list of searchable items, visit  
www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/LicVerify.asp

Or to view a specific searchable database:

• Click here to verify a personal license

• Click here to verify a contractor license

Verify a license

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/pdf/ReviewBulletin.pdf
http://www.state.mn.us/portal/mn/jsp/home.do?agency=Commerce
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/pllic/licensing.aspx
https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/licensing/licensing.aspx
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Seminars

CCLD’s Fall 2010 Seminar filling up fast

The CCLD Fall Seminar will 
cover the basics of completing a 
plan review in compliance with 
the Minnesota Residential Energy 
Code, Minn. Rules 1322, using a 
house plan, including construction 
document requirements, foundation 
insulation systems, mechanical 
ventilation, make-up air, heating 

and cooling systems, building heat 
loss and radon control. 

The final 90 minutes of the program 
will cover section 5 of ASHRAE 
Standard 90.1-2004, compliance 
forms for commercial energy code 
plan submittal.

DLI has launched a new online 
registration system for seminars. 

It accepts several forms of payment, 
yet payment by credit card is 
required to receive instant approval 
and guarantee a seminar seat on a 
specific date.

Department offering online registration system for seminars

Register for the CCLD Fall Seminar via the online registration system 
at  https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/events/events.aspx.

Visit CCLD’s Education Services 
Web page to view upcoming 
seminars and classes 
offered by CCLD and other 
organizations.

For information about contractor 
continuing education 
course offerings, visit CCLD’s 
continually-updated CEU listings.

Seminar and educational opportunity resources

https://secure.doli.state.mn.us/events/events.aspx
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Education.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/RBCCourses.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Education.asp
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Registration renewal

Registration renewal of unlicensed 
individuals performing electrical work
Effective Nov. 1, 2010, registration renewal 
requirements for unlicensed individuals performing 
electrical work changed to include completion of 
two hours of continuing education based on the 
National Electrical Code and reporting verified work 
experience for the previous 12 months. Previously, 
renewals required only payment of the renewal fee.

To encourage timely registration renewals, the 
department mails notices at least 60 days before the 
registration expiration date. Renewal notices are 
mailed to the address in the department’s license 
records for each individual registrant. Addressees are 
sent a renewal notice and work experience verification 
form with their name and registration information pre-
printed on the forms.

With respect to registered unlicensed individuals performing electrical work, 
the following information is important when renewing the registration:

Registration fee and late fee requirements:
	 •	 The registration fee is $20 and must be submitted with the renewal form and certificates of  
		  continuing education.
	 •	 A $15 late fee is required if the department receives the renewal fee more than 30 days  
		  after the date of the registration expires.
	 •	 A $15 late fee is required if the two hours of approved continuing education based on the  
		  NEC is completed more than 30 days after the date the registration expires.

Continuing education requirements:
	 •	 Complete at least two hours approved continuing education based on the NEC each year.
	 •	 Continuing education hours must be completed before the date the registration expires.
	 •	 Submit a copy of the continuing education certificate showing the course number, course  
		  title, session date and the approved course hours.

Electrical work experience verification required:
	 •	 Get Electrical Work Experience Verification Form(s) completed by your employer(s) for  
		  whom you performed electrical work in the past 12 months. The employer(s) must  
		  complete the form.
	 •	 Verification form must be submitted with your registration renewal fee and continuing  
		  education certificates. Note:  Do not delay renewal if verification form cannot be completed 	
		  and submitted. Submit verification form later.

•   According to state law, no person may perform electrical work without a license, unless  
    registered as an unlicensed individual.

For more information and to access forms, visit  
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/LicElectricalUnlicensed.asp 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/LicElectricalPersonal.asp
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All Class A Master Electricians, Class B Master 
Electricians and Master Elevator Constructor licenses 
expire Feb. 28, 2011. A licensee failing to renew 
their license before this date is unlicensed as a 
master on March 1, 2011, and 
thereafter until renewed.

To renew a license, master 
license holders must pay 
the applicable license fee 
and complete 16 hours of 
continuing education. License 
fees are:

	 •	 $88 for Class A Master Electricians and  
		  Master Elevator Constructors; and 
	 •	 $55 for Class B Master Electricians 

Continuing education hours include at least 12 hours 
instruction about the National Electrical Code and a 
maximum of four hours instruction about other related 
material, such as Minnesota’s license and inspection 
requirements and other technical topics related to 

electrical installations and equipment.

To ensure license renewal by Feb. 28, 2011, masters 
need to complete the required continuing education 
hours by Dec. 31, 2010. Licensees waiting until 

February 2011 to complete their continuing 
education will experience a delay in the renewal 

of the license because 
the department will be 
processing continuing 
education attendance 
rosters for hundreds of 
master electricians who 
waited to complete the 
required continuing 
education hours.

By law, any master electrician or master elevator 
constructor who obtained their license since March 
1, 2009 is not required to complete any continuing 
education to renew their license because they held the 
license for less than 24 months.

The department will mail master electrician and 
elevator constructor license renewals by Dec. 1, 2010, 
a full 90 days before licenses expire. 

License renewal

Show stopper

CCLD display booths available for your events
The CCLD loans three, two-
part display units to building 
officials presenting code-related 
information at community events.

A variety of free literature and 
photos is provided. The display 
case size is 55″ x 26″ x 11″.  To 
reserve a display, contact Chris 
Thompson at (651) 284-5856 or 
via e-mail at chris.thompson@
state.mn.us. 

Reservations are granted on a first-
come, first-served basis and the 
displays must be returned to DLI’s 
St. Paul offices as soon as possible 
after use to allow pick-up by other 
users. 

A specific pick-up time will be 
arranged to allow quick pick-up 
and drop-off in DLI’s front lobby. 

Master electrical and elevator license renewals
Licensees urged to complete continuing 
education early to avoid renewal delay

“Licensees waiting until February 2011 
to complete continuing education 

requirements will experience a delay in 
the renewal because of the processing 

of a high number of continuing education 
attendance rosters.”

mailto:chris.thompson@state.mn.us
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Personal license renewals

Master electrical and elevator license renewals

Renewal notices

To encourage timely license renewals, the department 
mails license renewal notices at least 60 days before 
a license expires. Renewal notices are mailed to the 
address in our license records for each individual 
licensee.  

For the U.S. Postal Service to deliver license renewal 
notices, the department must have an accurate mailing 
address. It is essential because the Postal Service 
considers the State of Minnesota to be a mass mailer 
and returns all mail undeliverable as addressed, 
including mail where the Postal Service has a 
forwarding address.

Individual license holders are responsible for notifying 
the department when they change their physical and 
mailing addresses. A license update form is available 
online at www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/forms.asp.

Continuing education

Requirements:  Minnesota Rules 3800.3602 prohibits 
DLI from renewing a license that has been held for at 
least 24 months unless the license holder has credit for 
the required hours of continuing education instruction. 
Individuals must complete 16 hours continuing 
education before they may renew a license held for at 
least 24 months.

		 Min. Hours	 Max. Hours 	
	License	 NEC Code	 Other Related
	 Master A and B Elect.	 12	 4
	 Master Elevator Const.	 12	 4
	 Journeyman A & B Elect.	 12	 4
	 Journeyman Elevator Const.	 12	 4
	 Maintenance Elect.	 12	 4
	 Installer A & B Elect.	 12	 4
	 Power Limited Technician	 4	 12
	 Unlicensed Individuals	 2	 0
	 Lineman	 0	 0

Exceptions:  Licensed linemen are exempt from 
needing continuing education hours to renew their 
license. Masters are not required to complete the 
continuing education hours to renew the license unless 
the license has been held for more than 24 months.

Licensee continuing education status:  Licensees 
may check the status of their continuing education at  
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/LicElectricalEducation.asp.  
The CE status check is unavailable for unlicensed 
individuals because the department does not yet 
have the ability to record and track their continuing 
education hours. However, this capability, will be 
implemented for registrations that expire in 2012.

Late fees

State law prohibits the department from renewing a 
license or registration unless the individual meets the 
statutory requirements. 

For individuals holding electrical licenses, this 
means receipt of the license fee by the department 
and completion of 16 hours of continuing education 
by the expiration date of the license. For registered 
unlicensed individuals, this means receipt of the 
registration fee by the department and completion of 
two hours of continuing education by the expiration 
date of the registration. 

A late fee, however, is required if either the license/
registration fee is not received by the department, or 
the continuing education is not completed within 30 
days of the expiration date. 

Individuals failing to complete their continuing 
education obligation within 30 days of the license/
registration expiration date are required to pay a 
late fee, even if they paid their license fee to the 
department before the license expired.

Follow these steps for a smooth and timely renewal

“License” continues on Page 9
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An electrical contractor license is 
valid only when all of the statutory 
requirements are met, including 
designation of a responsible master 
electrician who holds a current 
active license. Licensed electrical 
contractors must make sure their 
responsible master electrician 
renews his or her personal license 
by Feb. 28, 2011. 

Holders of an electrical contractor 
license, whose responsible master 
electrician fails to renew their 
personal license by Feb. 28, 2011, 
will have an invalid license March 
1, 2011, and thereafter until the 
responsible master electrician 
renews their personal license; or the 
contractor replaces the responsible 
master electrician.

A renewed personal license means 

the department has issued a license 
after verifying the payment of the 
correct license fees and verifying the 
completion of the required 16 hours 
of continuing education. 

Verification of the correct license fee 
occurs on the date the department 
actually receives and records 
payment, not the date the payment 
was placed in the mail and post 
marked. Verification of continuing 
education hours occurs upon 
department receipt of the continuing 
education provider’s attendance 
roster, which is then entered into 
the department’s licensing computer 
system, and confirmation that 
license fee has been paid.

Licensed master electricians 
attending continuing education in 
January and February 2011 may 

cause delays in the renewal of their 
licenses, thereby causing electrical 
contractor licenses to become 
invalid on March 1, 2011, and 
remain so until their licenses are 
renewed. 

Licensed electrical contractors 
should ensure their responsible 
licensed master electricians 
complete the required continuing 
education hours by Dec. 31, 2010, 
to prevent any risks to the validity 
of their contractor license.

A master electrician’s continuing 
education status may be checked 
online at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/
LicElectricalEducation.asp. A status 
listed as “MET” indicates the master 
electrician’s license is ready for 
renewal.

Responsible master electrician

License and registration reinstatement

Individuals have the length of a license or registration 
period to renew the license or registration. 
Reinstatement of a license or registration requires the 
payment of the license or registration fee necessary to 
bring it up-to-date and a late fee equal to one year’s 
license or registration fee.

For license holders, they have up to two years after 
the license expires to renew their license by paying the 
license and late fees. Individuals failing to reinstate 
the license during this two-year window must pass the 
license examination to become licensed again. Unless 
these individuals have a license that permits them 
to perform electrical work, it also means they must 

register as unlicensed individuals until they pass the 
license examination. A generic license renewal form is 
available online at  
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/LicElectricalPersonal.asp. 

For registered unlicensed individuals, they have up to 
one year after the registration expires to renew their 
registration by paying the registration and late fees. 
Individuals failing to reinstate the registration during 
this one-year period must submit a new registration. 
All electrical work performed during the inactive 
registration period is disregarded when evaluating 
work experience necessary to qualify for a license 
examination. A generic license renewal form is 
available online at  
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/LicElectricalPersonal.asp. 

“License” – continued from Page 8
Personal license renewals

Electrical contractor requires valid master electrician

www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/LicElectricalEducation.asp
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Plumbing contractor license

Plumbing contractor licensing changes are coming
Beginning Jan. 1, 2012, DLI will license individuals and businesses that perform or offer to perform plumbing 
work, with or without compensation, as a licensed plumbing contractor or licensed restricted plumbing 
contractor. Master plumbers and restricted master plumbers will no longer “hold” the license for a plumbing 
contractor, but rather will be the “responsible master” for the contractor. The plumbing contractor, as a business 
entity, shall “hold” the license for itself.

The Minnesota legislature made this change in 2010 to align regulation of plumbing contractors with that of 
electrical contractors, high-pressure-piping contractors, elevator contractors, residential roofers, technology 
system contractors and residential building contractors. The law clarifies that business entities contracting to 
perform plumbing work shall be directly accountable for their business actions as a contractor.

Licensure of plumbing contractors

Although plumbing contractors have filed bonds 
and liability insurance with DLI and the Department 
of Health for many years, they have been doing 
it on behalf of their master plumber. A plumbing 
contractor’s license was actually the master plumber’s 
license, not the business’ license. The Minnesota 
legislature in 2010 shifted this responsibility to the 
plumbing contractor as a business entity rather than 
leave it with the master plumber. The change goes into 
effect with the license period starting Jan. 1, 2012.

Information currently provided by plumbing 
contractors when filing a bond and liability insurance 
will not change. This information includes:
	 •	 contractor name, address information, contact  
		  information
	 •	 federal and state business, employer and tax  
		  identification numbers 
	 •	 business name filing(s) with the Minnesota  
		  Secretary of State
	 •	 business disclosure of owners, partners,  
		  officers, or members
	 •	 responsible licensed master plumber or  
		  restricted master plumber
	 •	 plumbing contractor code compliance bond
	 •	 certificate of liability insurance
	 •	 certificate of compliance with Minnesota  
		  workers’ compensation laws

The primary differences plumbing contractors will 
experience in 2012 are:

	 •	 License number:  Each licensed plumbing  
		  contractor will be issued a license number that  
		  will remain with the licensed business entity  
		  as long as it remains licensed. This will  
		  eliminate use of the master plumber’s license as  
		  the plumbing contractor’s number.

	 •	 Responsible licensed plumber:  Each licensed  
		  plumbing contractor will designate a master  
		  plumber or restricted master plumber as its  
		  “responsible licensed plumber.” This individual  
		  must have a current, active master license and  
		  be responsible for the contractor’s compliance  
		  with Minnesota’s plumbing laws and code. The  
		  restrictions about who may be the responsible  
		  licensed plumber for a plumbing contractor are  
		  Referenced in summary tables on DLI’s website.

	 •	 New bond:  Because the license is new, each  
		  licensed plumbing contractor must submit a  
		  new plumbing contractor code compliance  
		  bond for the license period starting Jan. 1, 2012.  
		  Bonds currently in effect that expire Dec. 31,  
		  2011, will be unacceptable for the license period  
		  starting Jan. 1, 2012. 

More information about the change, including fees, exemptions and 
who is allowed to be a responsible licensed plumber is at 
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingContChange.asp 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingForms.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingForms.asp
www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingContChange.asp
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Plumbing plan review and inspection updated

Plumbing Inspection
1. Projects for which review of plans and 
specifications is required by Minnesota Rule 
4715.3130 are required to be inspected by the 
department except as provided in (2) or (3) below. 

2. Where a municipal agreement exists with the 
department as provided in Minnesota Statutes 
Section 326B.43, Subdivision 2, those projects 
identified in subdivision 2(n) and “public building” 
projects are allowed to be inspected by the 
municipality where the inspections are performed 

by individuals licensed as master or journeyman 
plumbers. 

3. Projects not included in #2 are allowed to be 
inspected by municipalities with a building official 
only if the inspections are performed by individuals 
who are licensed as master or journeyman 
plumbers, or by individuals meeting the competency 
requirements established in rules under section 
326B.135. This applies regardless of whether or not 
a plumbing plan review agreement is in place. 

Effective Dec. 1, 2010, the following procedures regarding Plumbing Plan Review and 
Plumbing Inspection are in effect:

Plumbing Plan Review
1. Plumbing plans and specifications for Section 
326B.43, Subdivision 2(n) projects that include: (1) 
hospitals, nursing homes, supervised living facilities, 
and similar health-care-related facilities regulated by 
the Minnesota Department of Health; (2) buildings 
owned by the federal or state government; and (3) 
projects of a special nature for which department 
review is requested by either the municipality or 
by the state are required to be submitted to the 
department for review and approval. 

Plumbing plans and specifications for any “public 
building”* where the department will be making 
inspections are identified by the department as 
“projects of a special nature” and subsequently 

are required to be submitted to the department for 
review and approval.

2. Unless a plan review agreement as provided in 
Section 326B.43, Subdivision 2 exists between 
the department and a municipality, plans and 
specifications for other plumbing that meets the 
conditions of Minnesota Rule 4715.3130 must 
be submitted to the department for review and 
approval. This includes, but is not limited to: 
restaurants; grocery stores; department stores; 
offices; warehouses; churches; and housing with 
five units or more, excluding townhomes built to the 
International Residential Code (IRC) with individual 
water and sewer services to each dwelling unit.

Plumbing inspection and review

*Note: “Public building” means a building and its grounds the cost of which is paid for by the state or a state 
agency regardless of its cost, and a school district building project the cost of which is $100,000 or more.

For help with questions about the changes to plumbing plan review 
and inspection, call (651) 284-5067 or (651) 284-5063.  

See the Division’s Summary of the law for additional clarification

www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/pdf/reviewplumbingsummary.pdf
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Code adoption

Several rules being reviewed for adoption by CCLD
Minnesota Rules Chapter 1315 – Board of Electricity; adoption of 2011 National Electrical Code  
Published Request for Comments Sept. 7, 2010, and notified the Governor’s Office of this rulemaking. 

Minnesota Rules Chapter 1370 – Manufactured Home Storm Shelters
The administrative law judge approved the rules Sept. 15, 2010. The governor’s veto period should end at the 
end of September. The Notice of Adoption will be published and rules should be effective sometime in early 
2011.

Minnesota Rules Chapter 4715 and 4716 – Plumbing Board 
Request for Comment on Rules under recent legislation was published Sept. 7, 2010. Notices of Intent for 
two rulemakings are being issued; one for waterless urinals and one to incorporate legislation for statewide 
application of the plumbing code.  

Minnesota Rules Chapter 5225 – Boilers and Boats
Two Request for Comments are being drafted; one for continuing education and education equivalency; and one 
for Boiler Rules Chapter 5225 clean-up following the 2010 legislative changes to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 
326B.

For updates about all DLI rulemaking activity or to sign up to receive 
notice of agency rule proceedings, visit the agency’s rulemaking Web 
page at www.dli.mn.gov/Rulemaking.asp.

Home warranty

Governor signs new home warranty rules
Gov. Tim Pawlenty recently signed 
into law HF 3386 and SF 2832, 
which created a dispute resolution 
process by a neutral party for the 
review of homeowners’ claims 
against a builder or builders’ claims 
against a homeowner.

The law, effective Jan. 1, 2011, 
requires the party to submit any 
warranty claim to the dispute 
process before a lawsuit can be filed. 
Its purpose is to resolve warranty 
disputes without lengthy and 
expensive litigation.

For more information visit www.dli.
mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/warranty.pdf.

Gov. Tim Pawlenty, seated, signs new home warranty legislation. Its purpose is to resolve 
warranty disputes without lengthy and expensive litigation.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PDF/warranty.pdf
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Common building plan review 
questions answered by CCLD staff

Q:

A:

Does the IBC prohibit the use of wire glass in door assemblies?

No. Wire glass is not specifically prohibited, however if the glazing is deemed to be 
glazing in a hazardous location (IBC Sec. 2406.3), then the glazing is required to meet 
the requirements for safety glazing (CPSC 16 CFR 1201). In past codes, there was an 
exception where polished wire glass only had to meet the requirements of ANSI Z97.1. 

The 2006 IBC eliminated that exception. Plan reviewers and building inspectors need to make sure all 
glazing in hazardous locations meets the CPSC 16 CFR 1201 standard, including wire glass. 

The questions below are part of an ongoing series featuring frequently asked questions received
by CCLD’s Building Plan Review Section. The responses are the opinions of the plan review staff
and do not represent an official division or state building official interpretation.

Q:

A:

If a corridor is not required to be rated by IBC Table 1017.1 do the dead-end 
provisions of IBC Sec. 1017.3 still apply?

Yes. Elimination of the corridor rating does not exempt the other provisions of IBC Sec. 
1017, specifically dead ends (IBC Sec.1017.3) and air movement (IBC Sec. 1017.4). 
However, since only fire-resistive rated corridors cannot be interrupted by intervening 
rooms (IBC Sec. 1017.5), a potential solution to a dead-end corridor may be exiting the 

corridor through an intervening room (IBC Sec. 1014.2).

Q:

A:

Is plastic piping permitted in a building of Type I or II construction?

Maybe. If the plastic piping is used for plumbing, mechanical or electrical and is 
specifically approved and installed in accordance with the Minnesota Plumbing 
Code, Minnesota Mechanical Code or Minnesota Electrical Code, then despite being 
“combustible” it is permitted. (IBC Secs.603.1.1, 603.1.2 and 603.1.3) 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlanConstruction.asp
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CCLD Assistant Commissioner Joachim to retire
Assistant Commissioner Tom Joachim has accepted 
an early retirement incentive package and will retire 
Dec. 29, 2010. Joachim currently is an assistant 
commissioner with the Minnesota Department of 
Labor and Industry and the past Minnesota State 
Building Official.

Joachim began his career in code administration as 
a building inspector with Faribault in October 1978. 
After two-and-a-half years he was named the building 
official and planning/zoning administrator for Little 
Falls.

Joachim joined the State Building Codes Division 
at the Minnesota Department of Administration in 
December 1983. He advanced to supervisor of the 
Plan Review Section in 1987 and was named the sixth 
State Building Official in July 1992. Joachim held 
that position for 14 years before being named the 
assistant commissioner of the newly consolidated state 
Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD) 
in September 2006.

Joachim has received two of the highest awards in 
his profession:  the “Herb Meyer Award” in 2000 
from the North Star Chapter of Code Officials, for 
his achievements in the field of code enforcement 
and support of building official chapter activities; 
and the 2006 “Code Official of the Year” award from 
the Association of Minnesota Building Officials for 
his outstanding contributions to building safety in 
Minnesota.

Joachim was active 
as a member of 
many state and 
national advisory 
code committees. 
He also served 
as president of 
the National 
Conference 
of States on 
Building Codes 
and Standards and 
as commissioner 
for the Interstate 
Industrialized 
Buildings 
Commission.

Joachim retires with more than five years of municipal 
service and more than 27 years of state service. 

He would like to thank the Department of Labor and 
Industry, the Construction Codes and Licensing  staff, 
state and local code officials and the construction-
industry organizations and associations for their 
continued support toward building a safe environment 
for us to live, work and play.

Tom and his wife, Cathy, look forward to enjoying 
more time with their family, especially their 
grandchildren, and of course some golf!

Joachim

Web updates

• New enforcement actions against license holders at the DLI 		  		
	 enforcement actions Web page.
• Visit the contractor education calendar for continuing education course listings. 
• Download license forms on the CCLD forms page.

A few of the most recent additions include:

Visit www.dli.mn.gov to stay current about 
activity at the Department of Labor and Industry

Retirement

http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Enforcement.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/RBCCourses.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Forms.asp

