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LICENSE CODE 
(foot 
notes) 

Min. years of 
Licensed 
exp. required 

Classes of boilers 
allowed to be 
operated 

Max. horse- 
power (In- 
charge of 
boilers) 

Max. horse- 
power as a 
Shift Engineer 

No. of 
ques. on 
exam 

Min. 
passing 
grade 

Waiting 
period if 
failed 

Application 
fee 
(includes 
exam) 

Two-year 
license 
fee*** 

Expired 
license fee.*** 
Total cost 

Special 2 None All 50 100* 50 70% 30 days $50.00 $20.00 $30.00 

Boat Master  15 Hours 
Minimum - 
Affidavit 

All boats for hire 21 ft 
and over – inland 
waters 

N/A N/A 40 70% 30 days $50.00 $75.00 $112.50 

2-C 3 1 year Boiler low pressure 100 500 50 70% 30 days $50.00 $35.00 $52.50 

2-B 3 1 year Boiler high and low 
pressure 

100 500 60 70% 30 days $50.00 $35.00 $52.50 

2-A 3 1 yr Boiler 
1 yr Turbine 

high and low 
pressure with 
engines, turbines, 
and appurtenance 

100 500 80**** 
(B=60) 

70% 30 days $50.00 $35.00 $52.50 

1-C 3 3 years Boiler low pressure 500 Unlimited 100 70% 30 days $50.00 $35.00 $52.50 

1-B 3 3 years Boiler high and low 
pressure 

500 Unlimited 100 70% 30 days $50.00 $35.00 $52.50 

1-A 3 3 yrs Boiler 
2 yrs Turbine 

high and low 
pressure with 
engines, turbines, 
and appurtenance 

500 Unlimited 130**** 
(B=100) 

70% 30 days $50.00 $35.00 $52.50 

Ch-C 3,1 5 years Boiler low pressure Unlimited Unlimited 115 70% 30 days $50.00 $75.00 $112.50 

Ch-B 3,1 5 years Boiler high and low 
pressure 

Unlimited Unlimited 115 70% 30 days $50.00 $75.00 $112.50 

Ch-A 3,1 5 yrs Boiler 
2 yrs Turbine 

high and low 
pressure with 
engines, turbines, 
and appurtenance 

Unlimited Unlimited 140**** 
(B=115) 

70% 30 days $50.00 $75.00 $112.50 

“Historical” 
(Steam 
Traction 
Engines) 

 25 Hours 
Minimum - 
Affidavit 

All steam traction 
engines and hobby 
boilers 

All steam 
traction 
engines & 
hobby 
boilers 

All steam 
traction 
engines & 
hobby boilers 

80 70% 30 days $50.00 $75.00 N/A 

 

1 = Must have held Minnesota 1st Class license for one year minimum. * As an apprentice in any plant under “direct supervision.” 
2 = Must have Special License to acquire operating experience. ** Licenses expired more than 2 years require retesting. 
3 = Affidavits must be signed and notarized by persons per Minnesota Rule 5225.0550. ***   The 2010 Minnesota Legislature restructured application and license fees 

by requiring separate application fee and license after passing exam. 
****  ‘A’ grade license exams include ‘B’ grade license exam content. 
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