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Minnesota workers’ compensation insurers’ self-evaluation assessment tool

The Minnesota workers” compensation insurers’ self-evaluation assessment tool gives your office the
opportunity to review its claims for compliance. We suggest reviewing a representative number (10 percent) of
your Minnesota workers’ compensation lost-time (indemnity) claims. These claims should be those that are
more than six months old, but no older than 30 months. In the event your office has a high volume of Minnesota
workers’ compensation claims, we suggest you do no more than 10 percent or 100 files, whichever is less.

There are two Excel versions of the self-evaluation form for you to choose from. In either version, enter an “x”
in the appropriate column: Y (yes), N (no), N/A (not applicable). There are 21 columns for information. Both
versions are set up for 100 files to be reviewed.

The topics concentrate on whether your actions were done within the correct time frame as required by the
statutes and rules. If these time lines were complied with, place an “x” in the Y column; if not, place an “X” in
the N column.

Indemnity benefits are to be correctly calculated and the appropriate amount paid. The forms concerning these
benefits need to be completed correctly. If these were done correctly, place an “x” in the Y column; if not, place
an “x” in the N column.

If a topic does not apply, such as “Dependency benefits,” place an “x” in the N/A column.

If you are unsure of what the law requires, use the “Reference” tab, which contains “Notes,” “Statutes and
rules” and “Additional reference material” for each topic.
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Self-evaluation assessment option one has three tabs and the columns are in landscape layout with the files in
a vertical format. Enter the claim information on the “TOP-LANDSCAPE” tab.
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This information can be provided to you in alternative formats (Braille, large print or audio).
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Minnesota Workers' Compensation Insurers’ Self Evaluation Worksheet
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The “Summary” tab will automatically calculate the information.

Self-evaluation assessment option two has 12 tabs. The claim information is entered in columns across the
top. The topics are listed in a vertical format. Each of the first 10 tabs has room for 10 claims.
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The “Totals” tab will automatically calculate the information from tabs one through 10.
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After completing the survey, do not return it to the Department of Labor and Industry, it is intended to be used
to self-evaluate possible training needs for your company.

If you are interested in receiving training from the Department of Labor and Industry, contact DLI Training
Coordinator Jim Vogel at (651) 284- 5265.



