
2019 Medicare Relative Value Tables for Minnesota workers’  
compensation use beginning Oct. 1, 2019 
As required by Minnesota Statutes § 176.136, subd. 1a, paragraph (d), on Aug. 15, 2019, the commissioner published in 
the State Register a Notice of Incorporation by Reference of the 2019 Relative Value Tables, July Release, dated May 3, 
2019, and established by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). These tables are effective for workers' 
compensation medical services provided on or after Oct. 1, 2019. 

Access the tables 

To access these tables, take the following steps. 

Step 1 

Open this link:  www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/PhysicianFeeSched/PFS-Relative-Value-
Files-Items/RVU19C.html?DLPage=1&DLEntries=10&DLSort=0&DLSortDir=descending. 

Step 2 

Click on the link to "RVU19C [Zip, 3MB]" (under "Downloads"). 

Step 3 

Open the RVU19C WinZip file. 

Step 4 

• Open any of the three GPCI2019 files (comma separated values file, text document or Microsoft Excel 
spreadsheet) to obtain the 2019 geographic practice cost indices for Minnesota. For your convenience, the GPCI 
values for Minnesota are as follows. 

 Work GPCI PE GPCI MP GPCI 

 1.0 1.011 0.362 

• Open any of the three PPRRVU19_JUL files (comma separated values file, text document or Microsoft Excel 
spreadsheet) to obtain the 2019 relative value units and associated indicators (dated May 3, 2019). 

Step 5 

Use the CMS tables from Step 4 and the Minnesota workers' compensation fee schedule implementation rules and the 
Minnesota workers' compensation conversion factors to determine the Minnesota workers' compensation maximum 
fees. The Minnesota workers' compensation conversion factors and maximum fee formulas can be found in Minnesota 
Rules, part 5221.4020. The Minnesota workers' compensation implementation rules are in Minnesota Rules, parts 
5221.4005 to 5221.4061. 

 

http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/PhysicianFeeSched/PFS-Relative-Value-Files-Items/RVU19C.html?DLPage=1&DLEntries=10&DLSort=0&DLSortDir=descending
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/PhysicianFeeSched/PFS-Relative-Value-Files-Items/RVU19C.html?DLPage=1&DLEntries=10&DLSort=0&DLSortDir=descending


Example calculations 

The following are examples of calculating the Minnesota workers' compensation maximum fee under the resource-
based relative value fee schedule (RBRVS) using the Medicare Relative Value Tables indicated above. The conversion 
factor used, for example only, is $60.00. 

1. For medical/surgical services provided by physicians in an office setting – example HCPCS code 99201. 

Maximum fee:  [(work RVU*work GPCI) + (nonfacility PE RVU*PE GPCI) + (MP RVU*MP GPCI)]* conversion factor (CF). 

Work RVU:  0.48 (work RVU, col. F) x 1.0 (work GPCI) = 0.48 
Practice expense RVU:  0.76 (nonfacility PE RVU, col. G) x 1.011 (PE GPCI) = 0.76836 
Malpractice expense RVU:  0.05 (MP RVU, col. K) x .362 (MP GPCI) = 0.0181 
Total GPCI-adjusted RVU = 0.48 + 0.76836 + 0.0181 = 1.26646 

Maximum fee = 1.26646 x $60.00 (CF, for example only) = $75.99 (rounded) 

2. For medical/surgical services provided in a facility setting – example HCPCS code 12002. 

Maximum fee:  [(work RVU*work GPCI) + (facility PE RVU*PE GPCI) + (MP RVU*MP GPCI)]* conversion factor (CF). 

Work RVU:  1.14 (work RVU, col. F) x 1.0 (work GPCI) = 1.140 
Practice expense RVU:  0.38 (facility PE RVU, col. I) x 1.011 (PE GPCI) = 0.384 
Malpractice expense RVU:  0.15 (MP RVU, col. K) x 0.362 (MP GPCI) = 0.054 
Total GPCU-adjusted RVU = 1.140 + 0.384 + 0.054 = 1.578 

Maximum fee = 1.578 x $60.00 (CF, for example only) = $94.68 (rounded) 

Minnesota workers' compensation RBRVS table 

The Department of Labor and Industry's (DLI's) website includes a Minnesota workers' compensation resource-based 
relative value fee schedule table for payment of workers' compensation professional medical services according to 
Minnesota Rules, parts 5221.4005 to 5221.4061. 

DLI will update this table annually, no later than Oct. 1, to reflect the annual adjustments to the RBRVS conversion 
factors in Minn. R., part 5221.4020. The table and corresponding instructions for its use are available at 
www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-rbrvs. Make sure you are using 
the table that corresponds to the date of service. 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workers-compensation/work-comp-medical-fee-schedules-rbrvs
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