Pregnancy leave, nursing mothers

PREGNANCY LEAVE FROM WORK

Female employees may take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave during or following pregnancy when:

1. they work for a company with 21 or more employees at one site;
2. they worked at least half time during the past 12 months; and ! F‘
3. they have been with the company for at least 12 months. ">
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Pregnancy leave may be taken if the woman cannot work because of:
e prenatal care;
e pregnancy;
e childbirth; or
e related health conditions.

An employee may also be able to use employer-provided benefits, like sick leave or disability leave, if she is sick
during her pregnancy or to recover after childbirth.

PREGNANCY ACCOMMODATIONS AT WORK NURSING MOTHERS

REQUIRED ACCOMMODATIONS A mother who needs to express breast milk for her
A pregnant employee may request and her employer child at work:
must provide: * must be provided reasonable unpaid break time
* more frequent restroom, food and water breaks; to express breast milk; and
* seating; and * must, when possible, be provided a private area
® limits on lifting more than 20 pounds. to express milk that:
OTHER ACCOMMODATIONS » is not a bathroom,
A pregnant employee may request other reasonable » is shielded from view,
workplace accommodations when: » is free of intrusion from coworkers and the
* she has been given advice from a health care public, and
provider or doula; and » has access to an electrical outlet.
* the accommodation would not impose an undue
hardship on the employer's business. The employer must make a
reasonable effort to provide a
Other accommodations may include the temporary private area to express milk.
transfer to a less strenuous or hazardous job. An Employers are not required
employer cannot require an employee to take an to provide break time if doing
accommodation. An employer cannot retaliate so would seriously disrupt
against an employee for requesting or taking an operations. Breaks already
accommodation. Employees may have additional rights  provided may fulfill this
under the Minnesota Human Rights Act. requirement.

m DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR AND INDUSTRY

Labor Standards ¢ 443 Lafayette Road N. e St. Paul, MN 55155
651-284-5075 ¢ 800-342-5354 ¢ 651-284-5099 (Spanish) « www.dli.mn.gov e dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us

Notice: This flier is a brief summary of Minnesota law. It is intended as a guide and is not to be considered a substitute for Minnesota Statutes relating to pregnancy and nursing.
Version 0714




