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DEFINITIONS
•	 Migrant worker:  an individual at least 17 years old who travels 100 miles or more to Minnesota from 

another state to perform seasonal agricultural labor in Minnesota.
•	 Recruited migrant worker:  a migrant worker offered housing or transportation as an inducement to 

employment or anticipated employment.
•	 Agricultural worker:  any person employed to cultivate, harvest or process fruits and vegetables for 

market.
•	 Agriculture includes but is not limited to:

	◦ dairying
	◦ field production
	◦ cultivation of crops
	◦ raising of bees, livestock, fur-bearing animals or poultry
	◦ repair and maintenance of equipment
	◦ cleaning, processing, preservation and transport of agricultural 

products

MINIMUM WAGE
Agricultural workers are not exempt from the state minimum wage. If the 
employees are exempt from federal minimum wage, they are still required 
to be paid the Minnesota minimum wage.

Provision Amount as of Jan. 1, 2021
(amount increases every Jan. 1)

Large-employer $10.08/hour

Small-employer $8.21/hour

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS
•	 Migrant contract in Spanish and English
•	 Guarantee of a minimum of 70 hours in a two-week period
•	 Biweekly pay
•	 Final wages due within three days of termination
•	 Statement of earnings
•	 Health insurance when five or more migrant workers are recruited
•	 Payroll records must be kept a minimum of three years
•	 New migrant workers must be provided with employee notice
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Provision Amount as of Jan. 1, 2021
(amount increases every Jan. 1)

Large-employer salary $740.88/week

Small-employer salary $603.52/week

OVERTIME
Hourly agricultural employees in Minnesota must be paid overtime at the rate of time and a half 
the employee's regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 48 hours in a workweek.

Agricultural employees are exempt from some overtime provisions of the federal Fair Labor 
Standards Act (FLSA). However, federal law does not supersede Minnesota's requirement to pay 
overtime. 

"Salary" is defined as a guaranteed predetermined wage for each workweek. 

Agricultural workers are exempt from state law overtime requirements if they are paid a certain 
minimum salary.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
For additional information about migrant worker protections, contact Labor Standards at 651-284-5075, 
651-284-5099 (Spanish message line) or email dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us.


