# **HOW TO FILE A PERMIT SURCHARGE REPORT**

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

## What is a Permit Surcharge Report?

A Permit Surcharge Report is the documentation of all permit fees and surcharges collected from permits issued by municipalities in connection with the construction of new and remodeled buildings, including related equipment and appurtenances. The Permit Surcharge Report is required by Minnesota Statute 326.148.

## Who is required to submit the report?

All municipalities, regardless of population size, are required to complete and submit a Permit Surcharge Report to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI).

## What must be reported?

The total combined number of building, electrical, mechanical, and plumbing permits issued, including their valuations, fees, and surcharges collected during the previous month or quarter. This information will determine the portion of surcharge required to be paid to DLI and the amount retained by the municipality.

# When is the Permit Surcharge Report and payment due?

- Monthly report: Municipalities with a population of 20,000 or more must submit monthly by the 15th day following the month in which surcharges are collected.
- Quarterly report: Municipalities with a population of less than 20,000 must report quarterly by the 15th day following the quarter in which surcharges are collected.

Construction Codes and Licensing Division 443 Lafsyette Road North 51: Paul, MN 55155-4341 Phone: (651) 284-5411   Fax: (651) 284-574 www.dli.mn.gov	Lafayette Road North aul, MN 55155-4341 he: (651) 284-5411   Fax: (651) 284-5749			Monthly Petrinis Surcharge Report Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, Othe Population of Jurisdiction is greater than 20,000 (Use quarterly reporting form if 20,000 or less)		
	M	unicipali				
REPORTING UNIT/MUNICIPALITY		REPORTING MONTH		YEAR		
ADDRESS		COUNTY		TELEPHONE (include area code)		
CITY/TOWNSHIP	ZIP CODE	MUNICIPAL EMAIL ADDRESS				
Retention 3 (Use Line 3). Total surcharge fee, Lin 4 4, or 5) Total surcharge fee, Lin 5 Refund adjustments, if applicable i	e 1, is between e 1, is more tha	\$25 and \$ an \$1,250,	1,250, enter \$25, or enter 2% of total surc	-\$ -\$ -\$		
Building Type	es, Number	of Permi	ts/Units, and Va	luation		
Building Types		ber of mits	Number of Units	Valuation		
7 New single-family dwellings				\$		
New two-family dwellings     New townhouse buildings			1	\$		
10 New multi-family buildings				\$		
11 New commercial, industrial, and				ľ		
institutional buildings				\$		
12 Totals (N	ew)			\$		
I hereby certify the in	nformation	containe	d herein to be tr	ue and correct		
PRINT OF TYPE NAME OF PERSON SIGNING		PHONE	E-MJ	AIL		
		TITLE		DATE		

## How do I submit the Permit Surcharge Report and payment?

### Option 1 - submit online:

The <u>Permit Surcharge System</u> is available to municipalities to complete, submit and pay online. Previous reports can also be viewed.

### Option 2 - complete and mail:

Download a monthly reporting form if your municipality has a population of 20,000 or more. Download a guarterly reporting form if your municipality has a population of less than 20,000.

## Questions?

- Learn more about the building permit surcharge.
- Sign up for building permit surcharge reminders/updates.
- Contact us at <u>DLI.Buildingsurcharge@state.mn.us</u> or 651-284-5411.



**Construction Codes and Licensing** 

Web: dli.mn.gov Phone: 651-284-5005 or 1-800-657-3944