Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Construction Codes and Licensing Division Licensing and Certification Services 443 Lafayette Road North St. Paul, MN 55155

Phone: 651-284-5034
E-mail: DLI.License@state.mn.us

Instructions for Filling Out Certificate of Insurance

This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, Braille or on an audio.

Website: www.dli.mn.gov

Form must be completed by the insurance agent or insurance company, <u>not</u> by the policyholder.

Important: Policyholder must add an endorsement to policy to provide notice to the department of labor and industry (Certificate Holder name and address) if the insurer cancels or non-renews the policy subject to the terms of the policy.

- 1. In the License No field, enter the insured's license number. Note: New applicants will leave License No blank.
- 2. The insured name must be the legal name of the business entity as used on the business or contractor license application form and all other forms. If insured is an Individual Proprietor using an assumed name (DBA) both the individual's name and the DBA must appear on the certificate. The business/contractor name that an applicant uses to identify themselves must be filed or registered with Minnesota's Office of the Secretary of State. Note: Only individual (sole proprietor) or partnership business types using their own true full name(s) of the individual or all partners as part of the business name are not required to be registered with the Office of the Secretary of State. Contact: 651-296-2803; 1-877-551-6767 or www.sos.state.mn.us.
- The DBA (doing business as) name is the assumed name for the insured entity, if different from the contractor's or business's legal name, as filed or registered with the Minnesota Office of the Secretary of State.
- 4. Physical street address for the licensed business entity (location from where the business is operated) and mailing address, if different from the physical street address.
- 5. Insurance policy information must include the policy number, dates of coverage, NAIC number of the insurance company and the name of the insurance company licensed to do business in the state of Minnesota. The box is required to be checked to certify that the insurance policy meets the minimum statutory insurance requirements detailed on the form.
- Name of person who certifies insurance coverage (name of agent, corporate officer, or other authorized representative), insurance agent's license number, insurance agency's name and address, insurance agency's phone number.
- 7. Signature of the agent certifying the insurance coverage and the date certificate was signed. May be an electronic signature.

Liability Insurance Requirement Laws (Excerpts)

Reprinted below are excerpts of the applicable laws requiring liability insurance for contractor/business licenses regulated by DLI.

326B.33, Subd. 16 - Electrical Contractor, Elevator Contractor, Technology System Contractor

Each contractor shall have and maintain in effect general liability insurance, which includes premises and operations insurance and products and completed operations insurance, with limits of at least \$100,000 per occurrence, \$300,000 aggregate limit for bodily injury, and property damage insurance with limits of at least \$50,000 or a policy with a single limit for bodily injury and property damage of \$300,000 per occurrence and \$300,000 aggregate limits. Such insurance shall be written by an insurer licensed to do business in the state of Minnesota and each contractor shall maintain on file with the commissioner a certificate evidencing such insurance. In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured.

326B.46, Subd. 2 - Plumbing Business

...In addition, each applicant for a master plumber license or renewal thereof, shall provide evidence of public liability insurance, including products liability insurance with limits of at least \$50,000 per person and \$100,000 per occurrence and property damage insurance with limits of at least \$10,000. The insurance shall be written by an insurer licensed to do business in the state of Minnesota and each licensed master plumber shall maintain on file with the commissioner a certificate evidencing the insurance In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured.

326B.56, Subd. 2(b) - WaterConditioning Contractor

The insurance shall provide coverage, including products liability coverage, for all damages in connection with licensed work for which the licensee is liable, with personal damage limits of at least \$50,000 per person and \$100,000 per occurrence and property damage insurance with limits of at least \$10,000. The insurance shall be written by an insurer licensed to do business in this state and a certificate evidencing the insurance shall be filed with the commissioner. The insurance must remain in effect at all times while the application is pending and while the license is in effect. In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured.

326B.86, Subd. 2 – Residential Building Contractor, Remodeler, Roofer, Manufactured Home Installer

Each licensee shall have and maintain in effect commercial general liability insurance, which includes premises and operations insurance and products and completed operations insurance, with limits of at least \$100,000 per occurrence, \$300,000 aggregate limit for bodily injury, and property damage insurance with limits of at least \$25,000 or a policy with a single limit for bodily injury and property damage of \$300,000 per occurrence and \$300,000 aggregate limits. The insurance must be written by an insurer licensed to do business in this state. Each licensee shall maintain on file with the commissioner a certificate evidencing the insurance. In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured. The commissioner may increase the minimum amount of insurance required for any licensee or class of licensees if the commissioner considers it to be in the public interest and necessary to protect the interests of Minnesota consumers.

326B.921, Subd. 6 - High Pressure Piping Business

...each applicant for a high pressure pipefitting business license or renewal shall have in force public liability insurance, including products liability insurance, with limits of at least \$100,000 per person and \$300,000 per occurrence and property damage insurance with limits of at least \$50,000. The insurance must be kept in force for the entire term of the high pressure pipefitting business license, and the license shall be suspended by the department if at any time the insurance is not in force. The insurance must be written by an insurer licensed to do business in the state and shall be in lieu of any other insurance required by any subdivision of government for high pressure pipefitting. Each person holding a high pressure pipefitting business license shall maintain on file with the department a certificate evidencing the insurance. In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured.

327B.04, Subd. 4(c)(2)— Manufactured Home Manufacturer, Manufactured Home Dealer (subagency dealer)

...(2) a certificate of liability insurance in the amount of \$1,000,000 that provides coverage for the agency and each subagency location. In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the commissioner at the same time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured.

Individual Proprietors With an Assumed Name

Minnesota Department of Labor and Construction Codes and Licensing Licensing and Certification Services PO Box 84228 St. Paul, MN 55164-0228 Phone: (651) 284-5034 Fax: (651) 284-5743 TTV/MRS: (651) 297-4198 E-mail: DLU License@state mn.us	Division	Certific Covering General L	Minnesota Department of Labor and Construction Codes and Licensing DI Licensing and Certification Services PO Box 64228 5t. Paul, MN 55164-0228 Phone: (651) 284-5743 TTY/MRS: (651) 297-4198 E-mail: DLI License@state mn.us			te of Insurance ability and Property Damage	
www.dil.mn.gov PRINT IN INK or TYPE your responses.		Liability Insura This is to certify	WWW.dl.mn.gov PRINT IN INK or TYPE your imponses.			nce Coverage that the insurance policy listed below to the named insured for the policy	
Unreadable or illegible certificates will be		has been issue period indicate:	Unreadable or illegible certificates will be	dorwed		and that the policy meets the minimum	
Form must be completed by the insurance agent or coverage requiresurance company, not by the business/contractor, Statutes, section			Form must be completed by the insurance agent or insurance company, not by the business/contractor.		coverage requirements applicable under Minnesota Statutes, section 326.94, Subd. 2.		
LICENSE TYPE	LICENSE NO (if applicable)	POLICY NUMBER (pending	LICENSE TYPE	LICENSE NO (if applicable)	POLICY NUMBER (pending is not acceptable)		
INSURED (Use the penson(s) name if business structure is sole proprietor or partnership (i.e., Julia Doe, or John Doe and Jane Doe), otherwise the insured in the legal name of the Supress orthip).		FROM (mm/dd/yyyy)	INSURED (Use the persons) runne of business structure is sale proprietor or partiseship (i.e., John Doe, or John Doe and Jane Doe), otherwise the insured is the legal name of the business entity.)		FROM (mm/dd/yyyy)	TO (mm/dd/yyyy)	
WILLIAM SMITH	CORRECT	Check - Mandatory	WILLIAM SMITH CONTRACT	INCORRECT	Check - Mandatory Insurance policy meets the m	inimum statutory requirements.	
DBA ('doing business as' or also known as an insumption arms) (if applicable)		STATUTORY REQUIREME	DBA ("doing business its" or also known as an assumed name) (if applicable)		STATUTORY REQUIREMENT		
WILLIAM SMITH CONTRACTING		Policy provides commercial premises and operations ins operations insurance, with lim				Policy provides commercial general flability insurance, which includes premises and operations insurance and products and completed	

Corporations or Limited Liability Companies Without an Assumed Name



Corporations or Limited Liability Companies With an Assumed Name

Minnesota Department of Labor and Ind Construction Codes and Licensing Divis Licensing and Certification Services PO Box 64228 St. Paul, MN 55164-0228 Phone: (651) 284-5034 Fax: (651) 284-5743 TTY/MRS: (651) 297-4198 E-mail: DLJ License@state.mn.us www.dl.mn.gov PRINT IN INK or TYPE your responses. Unreadable or illegible certificates will be der	EXAMPLE and a surance agent or	Certific: Covering General L Liability Insura This is to certify has been issue period indicate coverage requir Statutes, section	Minnesota Department of Labor and Ind Construction Codes and Licensing Divis Licensing and Certification Services PO Box 64225 St. Paul, MN 55164-0228 Phone: (651) 284-534 Fax: (651) 284-5743 TTY:MRS: (651) 297-4198 E-mail: DUI.License@state.mn.us www.dii.mn.gov PRINT N INK or TYPE your responses. Unreadable or diegible certificates will be den Form must be completed by the in insurance company, not by the bu	EXAMPLE and a surance agent or	Liability Insuranc This is to certify th has been issued to period indicated at	at the insurance policy listed below the named insured for the policy and that the policy meets the minimum ents applicable under Minnesota
LICENSE TYPE LICENSE NO (if applicable		POLICY NUMBER (pending	LICENSE TYPE	LICENSE NO (if applicable)	POLICY NUMBER (pending is not acceptable)	
		Total Ind Carrier Control	Residential Contractor/Remodeler	*******	Jonas	
INSURED (Use the person(s) name if trustness shockure is sole proprietor or pathesistip (i.e., John Doe, or John Doe and Jane Doe), otherwise the insured is the legal name of the business entity.)		FROM (mm/dd/yyyy)	INSURED (Use the persons) reame if trainers shutters is sole prophetor or partnership (i.e., John Doc. or John Doe and Jane Doe), otherwise the insured is the legal name of the trainers entity (FROM (mm/dd/yyyy)	TO (mm/dd/yyyy)
SMITH CONSTRUCTION LLC	CORRECT	Check - Mandatory Insurance policy meets the	SMITH CONTRACTING	INCORRECT	Check - Mandatory Insurance policy meets the min	imum statutory requirements.
DBA ("doing business as" or also known as an assumed control of applicable) SMITH CONTRACTING		STATUTORY REQUIREME Policy provides commercial premises and operations insur	DBA ("doing trusiness as" or also known as an assumed notice applicable) SMITH CONSTRUCTION LLC ance and products and completed		STATUTORY REQUIREMENT Policy provides commercial general liability insurance, which includes premises and operations insurance and products and completed	