DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY CONSTRUCTION CODES ADVISORY COUNCIL

Meeting Minutes: Construction Codes Advisory Council

Date: September 23, 2021 Time: 9:30 a.m. Location: WebEx Event

Members:

1. Scott Anderson (Alt – Guth)

- 2. Lori Bauer
- 3. Mark Brunner
- 4. Alfreda Daniels (Alt Hendricks)
- 5. Barry Greive
- 6. Mike Herman
- 7. Ken Hinz
- 8. Laura McCarthy
- 9. Dan McConnell
- 10. Scott McLellan
- 11. David Morlock
- 12. Mike Paradise
- 13. Mara Peterson
- 14. William Pim
- 15. Michael Pivec (Alt Marie-Alves)
- 16. John Smith
- 17. Reed Sprung
- 18. Stephen Ubl
- 19. Mark Worms

Members Absent

Duane Hendricks (alternate attended) Gerhard Guth (alternate attended) Tom Jenson Shelonda Marie-Alves (alternate attended)

Staff & Visitors

Roslyn Robertson – DLI Commissioner Kate Perushek – DLI Asst. Commissioner Jeff Lebowski – DLI Brittany Wysokinski – DLI Lyndy Logan – DLI

Staff & Visitors

Todd Green – DLI Dean Hunter – DLI Dan Kelsey – DLI Marty Kumm - DLI Rich Lockrem – DLI Scott McKown – DLI Eileen McNiff – DLI Greg Metz – DLI Chad Payment – DLI Steve Shold – DLI Amanda Spuckler – DLI Suzanne Todnem – DLI John Williamson – DLI Jessica Archer – Target Mary Barnett – UrbanWorks Arch Lisa Bode – City of Moorhead Jonathan Boesche – MN Senate Don Dabbert, Jr. – Dabbert Homes **Representative Ecklund** Senator Eken Brian Elliott – SEIU MN State Council Nick Erickson – Housing First MN Irene Kao – League of MN Cities **Representative Keeler** Senator Koran Russ Landry – CEE – MN Chapter of ASHRAE Jeffrey Mang – Mang Consulting Mark Puppe – Home Builders Assn. of Fargo Ben Rabe – Fresh Energy Gary Thaden – NECA/MMCA/SMACNA Nicole Westfall – MEEA Kevin Toskey – League of MN Cities

1. Call to order

- A. Roll call by Scott McKown a quorum was established with 19 members or alternates present via WebEx and a quorum was maintained throughout the meeting.
- B. Announcements Introductions
 - New Statutory Language/Seats
 - one member, appointed by the commissioner, <u>with expertise in</u> and engaged in each of the following occupations or industries (xvii) the energy conservation industry; and (xviii) building accessibility.
 - Welcome & introduction of new members:
 - Energy Conservation Industry John Smith, Michaud Cooley
 - Building Accessibility Mara Peterson, JQP, Inc.
 - Public Utility Supplier William Pim, Xcel Energy (Michael Warren retired)
 - **Remote meeting statement:** Thank you for joining this remote meeting via WebEx. As the council chair, I have determined today's meeting is via the WebEx platform due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Per Minnesota Statutes, section 13D.021, of the Open Meeting Law, electronic meetings are acceptable when an in-person meeting is "not practical or prudent because of a health pandemic or an emergency declared under Chapter 12."
 - Everyone present on this WebEx are able to hear all discussions.
 - All handouts discussed and WebEx instructions are posted on the Council's website at: <u>https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-</u> councils/construction-codes-advisory-council
 - All votes will be taken by roll call.
 - WebEx instructions were read aloud.

2. Approval of meeting agenda

A motion was made by Brunner, second by Greive, to approve the agenda as presented. The roll call vote was unanimous with 19 votes in favor; the motion carried.

3. Approval of previous minutes

A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Paradise, to approve the May 27, 2021, meeting minutes as presented. The roll call vote was unanimous with 19 votes in favor; the motion carried.

4. Regular Business

A. Expense approval – per diem. McLellan approved per diems – Lyndy will submit.

5. New Business (see <u>presentation</u> for items A through H)

- A. U.S. DOE energy code requirements for states Scott McLellan, Suzanne Todnem
- B. Rulemaking for new commercial energy code Scott McLellan
 - A motion was made by Greive, seconded by Smith, to proceed with rulemaking on the new Commercial Energy Code. The roll call vote was unanimous with 19 votes in favor; the motion carried.
- C. Process for residential energy code review (2021 IECC) Scott McLellan

- D. Legislation review and comment process Scott McLellan
- E. TAG report on review of floodproofing code Greg Metz
- F. TAG report on review of frost depth for Clay county (<u>SF 1114/HF 1402</u>) Dan Kelsey

A motion was made by Pim, seconded by Morlock, to proceed with recommendations from the Technical Advisory Group members for Clay County Frost Depth. The roll call vote was unanimous with 19 votes in favor; the motion carried.

- G. Formation of two new TAGs Scott McLellan
 - a. Window washing anchorage (SF 62/HF 165)
 - b. Building Code
 - i. Residential building permit fees (<u>SF 801/HF 1085</u> as amended)
 - ii. Adult changing tables (SF 2536/HF 2135)
 - iii. Raising exemption on municipal report; codes adopted by law; ROI on residential energy code (<u>SF 910</u>); permit requirements (Representative Elkins' Housing Affordability proposal <u>2SS-CG001-3</u>)
- H. Approval of TAGs & members
 - a. Window Washing Anchors

A motion was made by Paradise, seconded by Greive, to approve two new Technical Advisory Groups and the members proposed. Paradise then revised his motion to include adding John Smith to the Building Code Series 1 TAG and adding Ken Hinz to both TAGs. The roll call vote was unanimous with 18 votes in favor and one abstention (McCarthy); the motion carried.

b. Building Code

6. Open Forum

None

7. Council member discussion

At the suggestion of Paradise, McLellan said he will prioritize CCAC members when seeking participation on future TAG's by first asking if they are interested in serving.

8. Announcements

Meetings will occur as needed but a minimum of four times a year with one scheduled in the second week of January and one in the second week of February. Meeting dates will be sent to bill authors in advance.

9. Adjournment

A motion was made by Greive, seconded by McCarthy, to adjourn the meeting at 11:48 a.m. The roll call vote was unanimous with 19 votes in favor; the motion carried.

Respectfully Submitted,

Lyndy Logan Executive Secretary to the CCAC