
 
 

        

 

  

 

    

   

   

   

  

         

        

                                                      

  

 

    

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 
 

 

 

 

  

  

  

  

   
         

  

ffll MINNESOTA 
O FFICE O F CO MBATI V E SPO RTS 

□ □ ,..._ 

_____________________________________________________ __________________ 

Referee License 

Your application will not be processed or will be delayed unless you: 

1. Complete this application. You must complete all sections including your Social Security number. 

2. Read the data practices notice and sign the acknowledgement. 

3. Submit the $25 license fee. 

Note: The department may request additional information necessary to determine an applicant’s eligibility for a 

license, such as additional training and personal interviews. 

Applicant information (write in ink or type) – Write legibly 

Select license type: 

Amateur, Pro MMA License - $25 Professional Boxing License - $25 

Applicant’s Social Security number: Applicant’s date of birth: List previous MN-OCS license number(s): 

Applicant’s name (first, middle and last): 

Applicant’s street address or P.O. box: 

City: State ZIP Code Country, if other than United States: 

Main phone number (including area code): Other phone number: 

Email address: 

Acknowledgement 

I understand and accept that, according to Minnesota Statutes Sections 341.27 and 326B.082, the Commissioner 

of the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry may deny, revoke, suspend or limit this license if I 

knowingly and willfully made a false statement or provided false documentation in this application. I declare 

that all statements, documentation and medical information provided with this application are true and correct. 

Applicant’s signature Date (month/day/year) 

443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155 • (651) 284-5366 • FAX: (651) 539-0269 • www.dli.mn.gov 

www.dli.mn.gov


 

 

   

    

 

   

 

  

  

  

   

  

 

 

   

  

 

    

    

   

  

  

 

 

 

  

Qualifications 

Before the commissioner can issue a referee license, the applicant must produce sufficient information and 

documentation to support their proficiency and complete understanding of the Minnesota Rules, the 

Association of Boxing Commissions Uniform Rules of Boxing, the Association of Boxing Commissions Regulatory 

Guidelines, the Uniform Mixed Martial Arts Rules, the Association of Boxing Commission Referee Rules and 

Guidelines and their knowledge of boxing and/or martial arts. 

Items which may be of assistance to the commissioner in evaluating your application include, but are not limited 

to: 

• any certificate of completion of a referee’s training program from another state or other regulating body 
under the Association of Boxing Commissions; 

• a resume with at least three professional references who can verify your years of experience; 

• a log of your experience as an amateur and/or professional referee; and 

• licensure from another state or regulatory body that regulates combative sports. 

If you have no prior experience, but are interested in becoming a licensed referee, please contact the 

Department of Labor and Industry, Office of Combative Sports for additional information. 

Data practices notice 

The information you as an individual, or business entity, provide in this application will be used by the 

Department of Labor and Industry staff members to determine if you meet the license requirements. Before a 

license is issued to you, Minnesota Statute Section 270C.72, subd. 4, requires you to provide your Social Security 

number and, where applicable, your Minnesota Business Identification number on this application. The other 

information is required to process your application.  Failure to provide the requested information may delay the 

processing of your application or may be grounds for denying your application. Under Minnesota Statute Section 

13.41, the information you provide on this application, except for you name and address, is private data while 

the application is pending.  Disclosure of this information to others may occur as authorized or required by law, 

including but not limited to the Attorney General's Office, the Department of Revenue, the Department of 

Human Services, upon court order, or for the purpose of verification and investigation. After you are licensed, 

the information you provide, except for your Social Security number and data otherwise protected, becomes 

public data and may be released to anyone upon request. 



  

 

                     

   

          

     
      

         
         

 

□ 

License fee 

Payment type: 

Check #________  (payable to DLI-OCS)  

Annual license expires Dec. 31 of the year it was issued. A new license application must be submitted each year. 

Mail application and payment to: Contact information: 

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Phone: (651) 284-5366 
Office of Combative Sports Fax: (651) 539-0269 
443 Lafayette Road N. Web: www.dli.mn.gov/ocs.asp 
St. Paul, MN 55155 Email: matt.schowalter@state.mn.us 
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