Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Construction Codes and Licensing Division Licensing / Boiler 443 Lafaytte Road No. St. Paul, MN 55155

Email: <u>dli.license@state.mn.us</u>

Website: <u>www.dli.mn.gov</u> Phone: (651) 284-5034

PAID APPLICATION FEE IS NOT REFUNDABLE

CASH IS NOT ACCEPTED BY MAIL OR WALK-IN



Boiler Engineer Personal License

Examination Application Application Fee = \$50.00

| Make check or money order Minnesota Department of Lab | | OFFICE USE ONLY | | | | | |
|---|---|--|--|--|---|--|--|
| SELECT THE LICENSE YOU ARE A | Account Number | 632448 | STK B42 | BOILLIC | | | |
| □ Chief A Class □ 1A Class □ Chief B Class □ 1B Class | 2A Class2B Class | Check Number | | Amount Paid | | | |
| Chief C Class I C Class Special Engineer Historical Boiler E | ☐ 2C Class Engineer | PCK CC | | DLI Deposit Date | | | |
| Is this a license exam retest? | Statute § 604.113, chec for nonpayment will be \$30 service charge and the issuer to additional | cks returned charged a I may subject civil penalties. | | | | | |
| PRINT IN INK OR TYPE MAKE A COPY OF THIS APPLICATION FO | APPLICATION NUMB | ER: | LICENSE NU | LICENSE NUMBER: | | | |
| BOILER LICENSE NUMBER | AFFIDAVIT OF OPERAT | ING EXPERIENCE | OPERATING EX | OPERATING EXPERIENCE | | | |
| In the space below, enter Minnesota boiler engineer license number(s) currently held, if applicable. (An applicant for a Special Engineer license has no number to enter.) | Historical boiler e Boiler engineer li (all chief class, 1 class license app | cense affidavit | experience in qualifying for | may apply their boiler operating in the U.S. Armed Forces toward or a boiler license. 4 and supporting documentation | | | |
| MINNESOTA BOILER ENGINEER LICENSE NO. | INNESOTA BOILER ENGINEER LICENSE NO. affidavit) | | | | | | |
| The information you as an individual provide in Department's registration requirements. Minneso information is being requested for purposes of pro supply the requested data on this application; how denial of the same. Except for your name and de pending. Disclosure of this information to others Department of Revenue, the Department of Huma the information you provide, other than your Socia request. | ta Statute § 270C.72 Subd. ocessing your application. W vever, failure to provide the r signated address, the inforr may occur as authorized or an Services, upon court orde | 4 requires you to provide your for the exception of your Sour sequested information may contain you provide on this a required by law, including bother, and/or for the purpose of the | our social security cial Security nur delay the process pplication is priv ut not limited to t verification and | ty number on this a nber, you are not h sing of your applica ate data while the the Attorney Gener investigation. Onc | application. The other egally required to ation or result in the application is al's Office, the e you are registered, | | |
| | DF BIRTH (MM/DD/YYYY) | AREA CODE & PHONE N | IUMBER | E-MAIL ADDRESS | | | |
| LEGAL LAST NAME | SUFFIX (JR, SR, II, III) | LEGAL FIRST NAME | | LEGAL MIDDLE NAME | | | |
| RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS | PUBLIC MAILING ADDRESS (if different from residential address) | | | | | | |
| CITY | STATE ZIP CODE | CITY | | STATE | ZIP CODE | | |
| Is the Residential address above a non- designated (private) address? | Yes No | If yes , then you must prov | vide a designate | l d (Public) mailing a | address. | | |
| APPLICANT SIGNATURE | | | | DATE SIGNED (N | IM/DD/YYYY) | | |

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Construction Codes and Licensing Division Licensing and Certification Services 443 Lafayette Road North St. Paul, MN 55155

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

E-mail: <u>dli.license@state.mn.us</u> Website: <u>www.dli.mn.gov</u> Phone: (651) 284-5034

Boiler Engineer License Affidavit (Chief, First Class, and Second Class Licenses)

(city and state)

__, upon oath duly administered, declare that to my personal knowledge,

(*chief engineer, second class engineer or higher or employer)

the applicant:

١,

operator's license number _____ (of Applicant, if applicable)

Note: Do not use manufacturers horsepower ratings. For Licensing purposes, 10 square feet of heating surface = One Boiler Horsepower, or if H.S. cannot be discerned, 67,000 btu/hr input = One Boiler Horsepower. Reference rule 5225.1000. For high pressure A or B licenses, one year is equal to 2000 hours, reference rule 5225.0550, Subp. 10. Minnesota Residents: may only claim operating experience gained while the applicant had a valid license.

of:

STEAM BOILER PLANT

HAS ACTUALLY OPERATED A

| Total Horsepower | | Maximum Workir | | king Pressure (psi) | | Month | From Da | | TO (must Month | have end o Day | date) Year | |
|--|-----------|------------------------|----------|------------------------------|-----------|--|-------------|------------|-------------------|-------------------|-----------------|---------------|
| | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| and/or HOT WATER BOI | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| BTU Input/KW/Horsepower | Pressu | Pressure | | Temperature | | | Month | From Da | = | TO (must Month | have end Day | date) Year |
| And (if application) STEAM | ENGINI | ES OR ST | | JRBINES | | | | | | | | |
| Total Horsepower | Mont | From | Year | Month | To Day | Year | Total Hou | urs | | | | |
| HIGH PRESSURE | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| Total High Pressure Boiler Operation Hours | Mont | From h Day | Year | Month | To Day | Year | Total Hou | urs | | | | |
| Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 326B.082, subd. 11(b)(2), submission of a false or misleading experience affidavit or other document relating to a license application provides cause for a civil penalty of up to \$10,000 as well as the suspension or revocation of the license(s) of any person involved in such a submission. | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| *Name of Engineer or Manager (required) License Number or Title | | | tle (req | uired) Work Telephone Number | | | | | | | | |
| Employer Name – where building is located (required) Emp | | | | | Emple | loyer Address – where building is located (required) | | | | | | |
| City | | | Sta | ate | | | | Z | ip Code | | | |
| *This affidavit must be com | pleted b | by a Chief | Engine | er, 1 st Clas | s Engine | eer, 2 nd | Class Engir | neer or b | y a Manager | <u> </u> | | |
| Subscribed and sworn to be | fore me | on the | | da | y of | | , in the | e year 20 |) | | | |
| by (*Signature of chief eng | jineer, 1 | st class er | ngineer, | 2 nd class e | engineer | r or ma | nager) | | | | | |
| Signed | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| The information provided on this | | used to de | | if the applica | | | | | | | | |

The information provided on this form is used to determine if the applicant meets the license requirements. The requested information is required to process the license application. Failure to provide the requested information may delay the processing of license application or may be grounds for denying your application. Under M.S. § 13.41, the information that is provided on this form, except for the applicant's name and address, is private data while the application is pending. Disclosure of this information to others may occur as authorized or required by law, including the Attorney General's Office, the Department of Revenue, the Department of Human Services, and/or for the purpose of verification and investigation. Once the applicant is licensed, the information becomes public data and will be part of the agency's permanent records.

This material can be made available in different formats, such as large print, braille or on audio.

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Construction Codes and Licensing Division Licensing and Certification Services 443 Lafayette Road North St. Paul, MN 55155

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY

E-mail: dli.license@state.mn.us Website: <u>www.dli.mn.gov</u> Phone: (651) 284-5034

Instructions for Completing the Boiler Affidavit

Affidavit(s) must be fully completed in type or ink, notarized and returned to our office with the appropriate exam fees and application. The applicant should retain a copy for his/her personal records.

EXAM fees are **NONREFUNDABLE** and are good for one year from notification letter. Make sure that your affidavit(s) are complete and accurate in showing your actual boiler operating experience. No credit can be given for the time that is not verified by your affidavit(s). Affidavit(s) must cover the minimum time requirement for the license applied for.

Affidavits must be filled out by your previous employers and/or your current employer, indicating the amount of time served as an operating engineer, as defined in Minnesota Rules, Chapter 5225.

MINNESOTA RESIDENTS MAY ONLY CLAIM OPERATING EXPERIENCE GAINED WHILE THE APPLICANT HAD A VALID LICENSE

Military or Maritime service does not require the completion of an affidavit. You may submit your DD214(s) or documentation from military or maritime service verifying actual operating experience. For additional information regarding military or maritime documented experience, please contact our office at (651) 284-5034.

Below is an example of an entry on a boiler affidavit in which the applicant would be qualified to take a 2C examination: **STEAM BOILER PLANT**

| Total Horsepower | Maximum Working Pressure (psi) | From | | | TO (must have end date) | | | |
|------------------|--------------------------------|-------------|-----------|--------------|-------------------------|-----------|--------------|--|
| 15 | 15 | Month 06 | Day 01 | Year 2016 | Month 06 | Day 01 | Year 2017 | |

NOTES:

- Do not use manufacturers horsepower ratings. For Licensing purposes, 10 square feet of heating surface = One Boiler Horsepower, or if H.S. cannot be discerned, 67,000 btu/hr input = One Boiler Horsepower. Reference rule 5225.1000. For high pressure A or B licenses, one year is equal to 2000 hours, reference rule 5225.0550, Subp. 10. Minnesota Residents: may only claim operating experience gained while the applicant had a valid license.
- Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 326B.082, subd. 11(b)(2), submission of a false or misleading experience affidavit or other document relating to a license application provides cause for a civil penalty of up to \$10,000 as well as the suspension or revocation of the license(s) of any person involved in such a submission

APPLICATION:

- All fields must be fully completed, signed and notarized.
- Exam application fee may be submitted via online at <u>www.dli.mn.gov</u>, by check or money order payable to Department of Labor and Industry. Please do not send cash.

AFFIDAVITS:

- Must be signed and notarized properly with a current commission expiration date.
- All pertinent fields must be fully completed.
- This affidavit should be completed and signed by the Chief Engineer of the Plant. If there is not a Chief Engineer at the location the affidavit may be completed and signed by an individual possessing a 1st Class, 2nd Class or Managing Employer.
- Must complete total operating experience in one of the following categories: Steam Boiler Plant, Hot Water Boiler Plant; Steam Engines/Steam Turbines or High Pressure Hours. Note: Make sure total hours are recorded.
- Required total amount of time shown with specific dates of employment indicated.
- All licenses with the exception of a Special Engineer license require submission of both an exam application and affidavit(s).