
1.1 Department of Labor and Industry​

1.2 Adopted Exempt Permanent Rules Relating to Workers' Compensation; 2019​
1.3 Adjustments to Relative Value Fee Schedule Conversion Factors and Amendments to​
1.4 Rules Implementing the Workers' Compensation Relative Value Fee Schedule Tables​

1.5 5221.4020 DETERMINING FEE SCHEDULE PAYMENT LIMITS.​

1.6 Subpart 1. [Repealed, 35 SR 227]​

1.7 Subp. 1a. [Repealed, 35 SR 227]​

1.8 Subp. 1b. Conversion factors and maximum fee formulas.​

1.9 [For text of item A, see Minnesota Rules]​

1.10 B. The conversion factors for services, articles, and supplies included in parts​

1.11 5221.4030 to 5221.4061 are as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.136, subdivision​

1.12 1a, as follows:​

1.13 [For text of subitems (1) to (7), see Minnesota Rules]​

1.14 (8) for dates of service from October 1, 2017, to September 30, 2018, the​

1.15 conversion factors are:​

1.16 [For text of units (a) to (c), see Minnesota Rules]​

1.17 (d) for chiropractic services identified by procedure codes described in​

1.18 part 5221.4060, subpart 2d: $49.44; and​

1.19 (9) for dates of service from October 1, 2018, to September 30, 2019, the​

1.20 conversion factors are:​

1.21 [For text of units (a) to (c), see Minnesota Rules]​

1.22 (d) for chiropractic services identified by procedure codes described in​

1.23 part 5221.4060, subpart 2d: $49.66.; and​
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2.1 (10) for dates of service from October 1, 2019, to September 30, 2020, the​

2.2 conversion factors are:​

2.3 (a) for medical/surgical services identified by procedure codes described​

2.4 in part 5221.4030, subpart 3: $70.24;​

2.5 (b) for pathology and laboratory services identified by procedure codes​

2.6 described in part 5221.4040, subpart 3: $59.57;​

2.7 (c) for physical medicine and rehabilitation services identified by​

2.8 procedure codes described in part 5221.4050, subpart 2d: $58.16; and​

2.9 (d) for chiropractic services identified by procedure codes described in​

2.10 part 5221.4060, subpart 2d: $50.25.​

2.11 Subp. 1c. Sample calculation. The following is a sample calculation for determining​

2.12 the maximum fee, excluding any applicable adjustments in parts 5221.4030 to 5221.4061,​

2.13 for a new patient office examination (procedure code 99201) in a clinic based on the 2016​

2.14 2019 National Physician Fee Schedule Relative Value April July (RVU16B RVU19C)​

2.15 Release:​

2.16 .48 [Work RVU (.48) * Work Geographic PCI (1)]​

.714 .76836 [Nonfacility PE RVU (.7 .76) * PE GPCI (1.02 1.011)]​2.17 +​

.01595 .0181 [MP RVU (.05) * MP GPCI (.319 .362)]​2.18 +​

1.20995 1.26646 [Total RVU]​2.19 =​

$60.00 [Conversion factor for example only]​2.20 *​

$72.597 $75.9876 [Maximum fee]​2.21 =​

$72.60 $75.99 [Maximum fee, rounded]​2.22 =​

2.23 Subp. 2. [Repealed, 35 SR 227]​

2.24 [For text of subparts 2a to 4, see Minnesota Rules]​
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3.1 5221.4035 FEE ADJUSTMENTS FOR MEDICAL/SURGICAL SERVICES.​

3.2 [For text of subparts 1 to 4, see Minnesota Rules]​

3.3 Subp. 5. Coding and payment for multiple surgeries and procedures. Part​

3.4 5221.4020, subpart 2a, item S, and column S in the tables incorporated by reference in part​

3.5 5221.4005, subpart 1, item A, describe codes subject to the multiple procedures payment​

3.6 restrictions. Multiple surgeries are separate surgeries performed by a single physician on​

3.7 the same patient at the same operative session or on the same day for which separate payment​

3.8 may be allowed.​

3.9 [For text of items A to E, see Minnesota Rules]​

3.10 F. For diagnostic imaging procedures with an indicator of 4 in column S, special​

3.11 rules for the technical component (TC) and professional component (PC) of diagnostic​

3.12 imaging procedures apply if the procedure is billed with another diagnostic imaging procedure​

3.13 with indicator 88 in column AB. If the procedure is furnished by the same provider, or​

3.14 different providers in the same group practice, to the same patient in the same session on​

3.15 the same day as another procedure with indicator 88, the procedures must be ranked according​

3.16 to the maximum fee for the technical component and professional component, calculated​

3.17 according to the formula in part 5221.4020, subpart 1b. The technical component with the​

3.18 highest maximum fee is paid at 100 percent, and the technical component of each subsequent​

3.19 procedure is paid at 50 percent. The professional component with the highest maximum fee​

3.20 is paid at 100 percent, and the professional component of each subsequent procedure is paid​

3.21 at 75 95 percent. For example (for illustrative purposes):​

Calculation of Total​
Adjusted Maximum​
Fee​

Total Adjusted​
Maximum Fee​

Unadjusted​
Maximum Fee,​
Procedure 2​

3.22 Unadjusted​
3.23 Maximum Fee,​
3.24 Procedure 1​

3.25 $102 + (.75 x $68)​
$176 ($100 + (.95 x​
$80))​

$152​
$160​

$102​
$80​

3.26 $68​
$100​3.27 PC​
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4.1 $476 + (.50 x $340)​
$700 ($500 + (.50 x​
$400))​

$646​
$700​

$340​
$400​

4.2 $476​
$500​4.3 TC​

$102 + (.75 x $68) +​
$476 + (.50 x $340)​

4.4 $799​
4.5 $860 ($600 +​

$816​
$480​

4.6 $544​
$600​4.7 Global​

$876 ($600 + (.95 x​
$80) + (.50 x $400))​

(.75 x $80) +​
(.50 x $400))​

4.8 [For text of items G to J, see Minnesota Rules]​

4.9 [For text of subparts 6 to 10, see Minnesota Rules]​

4.10 5221.4050 PHYSICAL MEDICINE AND REHABILITATION PROCEDURE CODES.​

4.11 [For text of subparts 1 to 2c, see Minnesota Rules]​

4.12 Subp. 2d. List of physical medicine and rehabilitation procedure codes. The​

4.13 physical medicine and rehabilitation conversion factor in part 5221.4020, subpart 1b, item​

4.14 B, applies to the health care providers listed in part 5221.0700, subpart 3, item C, subitem​

4.15 (4), when they provide, within their scope of practice, the services, articles, or supplies​

4.16 identified by procedure codes 97001 97010 through 97799, 97810 through 97814, and​

4.17 V5336 to V5364 in the Medicare Physician Fee Schedule tables described in part 5221.4005.​

4.18 [For text of subpart 3, see Minnesota Rules]​

4.19 5221.4060 CHIROPRACTIC PROCEDURE CODES.​

4.20 Subpart 1. Key to abbreviations and terms. For descriptions of columns,​

4.21 abbreviations, and terms, see part 5221.4020, subpart 2a.​

4.22 Subp. 2a. [Repealed, 25 SR 1142]​

4.23 Subp. 2b. [Repealed, 30 SR 291]​

4.24 Subp. 2c. [Repealed, 35 SR 227]​
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5.1 Subp. 2d. List of chiropractic procedure codes. The chiropractic conversion factor​

5.2 in part 5221.4020, subpart 1b, item B, applies to the health care providers listed in part​

5.3 5221.0700, subpart 3, item C, subitem (5), when they provide, within their scope of practice,​

5.4 services, articles, or supplies identified by any of the following procedure codes in the​

5.5 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule tables described in part 5221.4005:​

5.6 A. radiologic examination procedure codes from 72010 72020 to 73630 73660;​

5.7 B. pathology and laboratory procedure codes 81000 and 81002;​

5.8 C. physical medicine and rehabilitation procedure codes from 97010 to 97150​

5.9 and 97530 to 97799;​

5.10 [For text of items D to G, see Minnesota Rules]​

5.11 [For text of subparts 3 and 4, see Minnesota Rules]​

5.12 5221.4061 FEE ADJUSTMENTS FOR CHIROPRACTIC SERVICES.​

5.13 [For text of subparts 1 to 2, see Minnesota Rules]​

5.14 Subp. 3. Diagnostic imaging procedures. For diagnostic imaging procedures with​

5.15 an indicator of 4 in column S, special rules for the technical component and professional​

5.16 component (PC) apply if the procedure is billed with another diagnostic imaging procedure​

5.17 with indicator 88 in column AB. If the procedure is furnished by the same provider, or​

5.18 different providers in the same group practice, to the same patient in the same session on​

5.19 the same day as another procedure with indicator 88, the procedures must be ranked according​

5.20 to the maximum fee for the technical component and professional component, calculated​

5.21 according to the formula in part 5221.4020, subpart 1b. The technical component with the​

5.22 highest maximum fee is paid at 100 percent, and the technical component of each subsequent​

5.23 procedure is paid at 50 percent. The professional component with the highest maximum fee​

5.24 is paid at 100 percent, and the professional component of each subsequent procedure is paid​

5.25 at 75 95 percent. For example (for illustrative purposes):​
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Calculation of Total​
Adjusted Maximum​
Fee​

Total Adjusted​
Maximum Fee​

Unadjusted​
Maximum Fee,​
Procedure 2​

6.1 Unadjusted​
6.2 Maximum Fee,​
6.3 Procedure 1​

6.4 $102 + (.75 x $68)​
$176 ($100 + (.95 x​
$80))​

$152​
$160​

$102​
$80​

6.5 $68​
$100​6.6 PC​

6.7 $476 + (.50 x $340)​
$700 ($500 + (.50 x​
$400))​

$646​
$700​

$340​
$400​

6.8 $476​
$500​6.9 TC​

$102 + (.75 x $68) +​
$476 + (.50 x $340)​

6.10 $799​
6.11 $860 ($600 +​

$816​
$480​

6.12 $544​
$600​6.13 Global​

$876 ($600 + (.95 x​
$80) + (.50 x $400))​

(.75 x $80) +​
(.50 x $400))​

6.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. The amendments to Minnesota Rules, parts 5221.4020, 5221.4035,​

6.15 5221.4050, 5221.4060, and 5221.4061, are effective for services provided on or after October​

6.16 1, 2019.​
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