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08/22/18 REVISOR SS/HR SR4438

Department of Labor and Industry

Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Workers' Compensation Vocational
Rehabilitation Fees

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 42, Number 44, pages
1293-1297, April 30, 2018 (42 SR 1293), are adopted with the following modifications:

5220.1900 REHABILITATION SERVICE FEES AND COSTS.

Subp. 7. Case activities that require approval or are not billable. The services and
activities described in items A and B either require approval or are not billable by the

rehabilitation provider.

B. Rehabilitation providers shall not bill for the following services and, activities,

or charges:

(4) time spent reviewing the file by an assigned qualified rehabilitation
consultant or registered rehabilitation vendor when a case has been transferred from another
qualified rehabilitation consultant or registered rehabilitation vendor within the same

rehabilitation firm; ex

(5) wait time exceeding 15 minutes for early arrival for a prearranged meeting

or appointment:; or

(6) charges beyond the hourly fee for testimony at a hearing or administrative

conference when the qualified rehabilitation consultant or registered rehabilitation vendor

has provided rehabilitation services under the plan.

5220.1900 1
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Department of Labor and Industry

Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Workers' Compensation Vocational
Rehabilitation Fees

5220.1900 REHABILITATION SERVICE FEES AND COSTS.

[For text of subps 1 and 1a, see M.R.]

Subp. 1b. Fees. Hourly fees for rehabilitation services shall not exceed the maximum
rates in subparts 1c, 1d, and le, and-1£; except that the maximum rates may be inereased

adjusted annually according to Minnesota Statutes, section 176.102, subdivision 2, paragraph

(a), beginning October 1, 1993;but 2018. Any annual increase is limited by the annual

adjustment for injured employees under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.645.

Subp. 1c. Consultants. When billing on an hourly basis for the services of qualified
rehabilitation consultants, a qualified rehabilitation consultant or qualified rehabilitation
consultant firm shall bill at an hourly rate not to exceed $65 $103.10 per hour as adjusted
under subpart 1b. A rehabilitation provider shall bill one-half of the hourly rate for wait
time, and three-fourths of the hourly rate for travel time. Travel time shall be prorated as

outlined in part 5220.1805, item E.

[For text of subp 1d, see M.R.]

Subp. le. Job development and placement services. Whether provided by registered
rehabilitation vendors or qualified rehabilitation consultant firms, job development and job
placement services, when billed on an hourly basis, shall be billed at an hourly rate not to

exceed $50 $82.58 per hour as adjusted under subpart 1b.

Subp. 1f. [See repealer.]

Subp. 1g. Payment. As soon as reasonably possible, and no later than 30 calendar
days after receiving the rehabilitation provider's bill for rehabilitation services, the employer

or insurer shall pay the charge or any portion of the charge that is not denied, deny all or a
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2.1

2.2

2.3

24

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

2.9

2.10

2.11

2.12

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

222

223

224

03/08/18 REVISOR SS/IC RD4438

part of the charge stating the specific service charge and the reason it is excessive or
unreasonable, or specify the additional data needed, with written notification to the

rehabilitation provider. An employer or insurer is subject to penalties pursuant to Minnesota

Statutes, chapter 176, for failure to pay or deny the payment as required by this chapter and

Minnesota Statutes, section 176.102.

Subp. 2. Reasonable and necessary services. A rehabilitation provider shall bill for

only those necessary and reasonable services whieh that are rendered in-aceordance-with

according to Minnesota Statutes, section 176.102, and the rules adopted to administer that

section. A dispute about reasonable and necessary services and costs shall be determined
by the commissioner or a compensation judge. The commissioner's or a compensation

judge's review must include all the following factors:

[For text of items A to D, see M.R.]

| [For text of subps 3 to 6, see M.R.]

Subp. 6a. Billing Payment limits on qualified rehabilitation consultant

services. When a rehabilitation provider other than a qualified rehabilitation consultant is
providing and billing for job development or job placement services pursuant to an approved
rehabilitation plan, the-qualifted rehabilitation-consultant-shall- imit-the-qualified
rehabilitation-consultant's-billing-te-ne payment for more than #we six hours in-any
30-ealendar-day-peried of qualified rehabilitation consultant services per calendar month

requires specific approval by the insurer or a determination by the commissioner or a

compensation judge that the services were reasonable and necessary under subpart 2. Billing
beyond-this-limit-will require-speetfic-approval-of the parties-or-a-determination-by-the
department-or-a-compensation-judge: Travel time and wait time are not included in the

six-hour limit.

Subp. 6b. Plans; exceptions. The qualified rehabilitation consultant shall bill no more

than eight hours for a rehabilitation consultation as described in Minnesota Statutes, section

5220.1900 2
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176.102, subdivision 4, and part 5220.0100, subpart 26, and the development, preparation,
and filing of a rehabilitation plan as described in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.102,
subdivision 4, and part 5220.0410. If conditions exist that necessitate traveling over 50
miles to visit the employee, employer, or health care provider, or an unusually difficult

medical situation is documentable, billing payment beyond this limit is allowed upon the

express—consent-of the-parties specific approval by the insurer or a determination by the

department commissioner or a compensation judge that the services were reasonable and

necessary under subpart 2.

Subp. 7. Case activities requiring-insurer-consent-for-payment that require
approval or are not billable. Therehabilitatton-providermust-obtain-the-consent-efthe

msurer-before-billing-for the-following-ease-activities;-however;the presenee-or-absenece-of
consent-shallnetpreclude-the-commissionerora-compensationjudge from-determining the
fe&seﬁ&b}e—va}ﬁ&er—ﬁeeess%w-%hesefaseaeﬁwﬁeﬁ

The services and activities described in items A and B either require approval or are

not billable by the rehabilitation provider.

A. The following services and activities are not compensable unless the

rehabilitation plan specifies them, the insurer approves them, or the commissioner or a

compensation judge determines that they were reasonable and necessary under subpart 2:

A (1) whennetdirectedby-theplan; phone calls; or visits to health care providers

and accompanying the employee to appointments or examinations; or

B: follew-up-activity with-employers-duringjob-placementservicesto-verify
employee-applications-or-applications-not-arranged-by-the rehabilitation-provider;

C. phene-ealls-to-the-department regarding-general procedures-or-questions-on

D: unanswered-attempted-phene—ealls;

5220.1900 3
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E assigned-qualified rehabilitation-consultant-service-during-vendor-aetivity
periods-beyond required-reporting-or-speeifte-problem-selvingactivity;

G- &mefe%aﬁ%da&e&a%&&admhﬁs&&ﬁv&eeﬁereme%&the%upew&se%eﬁhe
ualified rehabilitationconsultantintern-who-is-providing-services-to-the-employee;

H befefe—&éetemiﬁa&e&eﬁeﬁgib%ﬁw}seﬁéeeﬁeﬁéefedwhe&ﬁehabﬂﬁa&eﬁ
watver-has-beenrequested-and-was-not-dented-or-when-the-insurer-disputes-the-employee's
eligibility-for rehabilitationserviees;

) Loarties]  ned aualified rehabilitat l oo rehabilitation
vendor-when-a-case-has-been-transferred-from-anotherqualified rehabilitation-consultantor
vendor-within-the-same-rehabilitationfirm;

¥ (2) time spent by a supervisor; or another qualified rehabilitation consultant;

or-supportstaffinadditionte consulting with or advising the assigned qualified rehabilitation

consultant;.

K- job-placementactivities-beyond-90-daysfrom-the-start-of thejob-placement

|- waittimefora-visit-without-aprearranged-meeting or-early-arrtval fora
prearranged-appeintment;

M: services-that-duplicateservices-already-provided:

N charges-beyond-the-hourly fee fortestimony-at-ajudicial- hearing-when-the
qualifted-rehabilitation-consultant-or registered rehabilitation-vendor-has-provided
rehabilitationservices-under-the-plan;

O: travel-eosts-beyond-these-needed-to-develop-orcomplete-aplans-or

5220.1900 4
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P seﬁiees&ﬁef&feqﬁeﬁ%%ﬁspeﬂéﬁﬁefm%ﬁa%ﬁhefeha%ﬂﬁ&ﬁe&p}aﬁ%a&beeﬁ

B. Rehabilitation providers shall not bill for the following services and activities:

(1) phone calls to the department regarding general procedures or questions

about rehabilitation not related to a specific rehabilitation plan;

(2) unanswered attempted phone calls where the rehabilitation provider does

not leave a message;

(3) time for attendance at an administrative conference by the supervisor of

the qualified rehabilitation consultant intern who is providing services to the employee;

(4) time spent reviewing the file by an assigned gualiﬁéd rehabilitation

consultant or registered rehabilitation vendor when a case has been transferred from another

qualified rehabilitation consultant or registered rehabilitation vendor within the same

rehabilitation firm; or

(5) waittime exceeding 15 minutes for early arrival for a prearranged meeting

or appointment.

[For text of subps 8 and 9, see M.R.]

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, part 5220.1900, subpart 1f, is repealed.
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