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Plumbing Board

Adopted Permanent Rules Governing Plumbing Licensing

4716.0010 DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subps I to 5, see M.R.]

Subp. 6. Registered unlicensed plumber. "Registered unlicensed plumber" means
an individual who performs plumbing work for a contractor or employer, does not hold any
class of plumber license, is not a plumber's apprentice as described in Minnesota Statutes,
section 326B.42, subdivision 6, and is registered with the commissioner under part

4716.0050. »

| 471 6.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS.

Subpart 1. Examinations. An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted
journeyworker or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination

given by the commissioner.
A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:

(1) at least one year of practical plumbing experience as a licensed

journeyworker plumber as described in subpart 2;
[For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]
B. An applicant for the journeyworker examination:

(1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota as described
in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.42, subdivision 6, or must be a registered unlicensed
plumber as described in part 4716.0010, subpart 6, and must have at least four years of

recorded practical plumbing experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F;
[For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]

4716.0020 1
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Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience

described in subpart 1.
[For text of items A to D, see M.R.]

E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyworker plumber or a licensed

restricted master plumber, subitems (1) and (2) apply.

(1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following
number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required
hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included
in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part
4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing

work and corresponding number of hours:
(a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours;
(b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and
(c) fixture installation, 500 hours.
| [For text of subitem (2), see M.R.]
F. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed plumber, subitems (1) and (2) apply.

(1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following
number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required
hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing included in the
definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part 4714.0050;
however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing work and

corresponding number of hours:
(a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours;

(b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and

4716.0020 2



32
3.3

34

3.5

3.6

3.7
3.8

3.9

3.13
3.14
3.15
3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

11/26/18 REVISOR SS/NB AR4365

(c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours.

(2) The applicant must have been a registered unlicensed plumber at all times
while obtaining the practical plumbing experience or the applicant must have obtained the

practical plumbing experience in one of the following ways:

(a) during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies

the experience;

(b) aspart of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner,
and an authorized representative of the plumbing educational institution certifies the

experience; or

(c) as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is
verified by a state agency that regulates plumbing licensing in that state or by a federal

agency.

G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (2), units (a) to (c), all practical plumbing
experience must be certified by the licensed master plumber who is responsible for the work
performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the restricted master plumber's own
experience. The employer of a journeyworker plumber, restricted master plumber, restricted

journeyworker plumber, or registered unlicensed plumber is responsible for:

[For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]

4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES.

Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration.l Initial and renewed journeyworker plumber's
licenses and renewed festricted journeyworker plumber's licenses expire on December 31
of each odd-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Initial and renewed master plumber's
licenses and renewed restricted master plumber's licenses expire on December 31 of each
even-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Any journeyworker plumber, master plumber,

restricted journeyworker plumber, or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal

4716.0040 3



4.1
4.2
43
4.4
4.5

4.6

4.7
4.8
4.9
4.10
4.11
4.12
_ 4.13
4.14

4.15

4.16

4.17

4.18

4.19
4.20
4.21
422
4.23
4.24
4.25

4.26

11/26/18 REVISOR SS/NB ARA4365

application after December 31 shall not work as a plumber until the person has submitted
an application, fee, and penalty fee. Any licensed journeyworker or master plumber who
does not renew the license within two years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person
must retake and pass the examination before a new license will be issued. Any licensed
restricted journeyworker or restricted master plumber who does not renew the license within

two years of the license expiration will permanently forfeit the restricted plumber license.

Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be suBmitted to
the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 of
the year in which the license expires. The application must be accompanied by the required
fee. Journeyworker and master plumbers who submit their license renewal applications after
expiration of their license but within two years after expiration of the previously issued
license must pay all past due renewal fees plus the required late fee. Restricted journeyworker
and restricted master plumbers who submit their license renewal applications after expiration
of their license but within two years after expiration of the previously issued license must

pay the past due renewal fee plus the required late fee.

4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF REGISTERED UNLICENSED PLUMBER.

~ Subpart 1. Scope. Subpart 2 does not apply to a registered plumber's apprentice under

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

Subp. 2. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a registered unlicensed
plumber until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to the
commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from July
1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal
registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period

on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A

- registered unlicensed plumber who submits a registration application after July 1 in any

year must pay the renewal fee plus the required late fee.

4716.0050 4



5.1
52

53

5.7

5.8

5.9

5.24

5.25

11/26/18 REVISOR SS/NB AR4365

A. A registered unlicensed plumber must be at least 18 years of age or be a high
school graduate, except that a registered unlicensed plumber employed and supervised by

the registered unlicensed plumber's parent must be at least 16 years of age.

B. At the time of registration, a registered unlicensed plumber must provide a
name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and

practical plumbing experience.

4716.0091 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 4716.0090 to 4716.0092 have the meanings
given them in this part, UPC sections 201.0 to 228.0 as incorporated by reference in part
4714.0050, and Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50.

Subp. 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner. "Registered unlicensed water
conditioner" means an individual who performs water conditioning work for a contractor
or employer, does not hold any class of water conditioning license, and is registered with

the commissioner under part 4716.0093.

4716.0092 LICENSURE.

Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning
contractor license must designate a responsible licensed master as defined in Minnesota
Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible licensed master must give a minimum 15-day
notice to the water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the
responsible licensed master for the contractor. The contractor and responsible licensed
master must immediately notify the department upon the termination or separation of the
contractor's responsible licensed master. The water conditioning contractor shall have 60
days from the last day of employment of its previous responsible licensed master to employ
another responsible licensed master. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written

notification to the department that it has designated a different responsible licensed master.

4716.0092 5
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If the water conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible licensed
master, the water conditioning contractor's license is invalid and the contractor shall cease
and desist from pérforming any water conditioning work and return the contractor's license
for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement responsible licensed master, the
water conditioning contractor may request reinstatement of the terminated license under

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.096.
[For text of subp 2, see M.R.]

Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning
journeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner.
An applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker examination must have been a
registered unlicensed water conditioner at all times while obtaining at least six months of
practical experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitém (2), except as permitted in subpart

4, item A, subitem (4). The applicant is responsible for verifying practical experience.

Subp. 4. Experience. For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2

and 3, the following requirements apply.
[For text of items A to C, see M.R.]
D. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner:

(1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner
at all times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience, except as allowed

under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, subdivision 2; and

(2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed
water conditioning master who is responsible for the work performed. Practical water
conditioning experience includes installation, servicing, and training hours. The commissioner

may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to

4716.0092 6
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evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy

and acceptability of an applicant's experience.

E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed

water conditioner is responsible for:

(1) recording the practical water conditioning experience worked by each

employee; and

(2) maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience for at

least six years after the employee's last recorded experience.

[For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]

4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION.

Subpart 1. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a registered unlicensed
water conditioner until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to
the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from
July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal
registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period'
on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A
registefed unlicensed water conditioner who submits a registration application after July 1

in any year must pay the renewal fee plus the required late fee.

A. A registered unlicensed water conditioner must be at least 18 years of age or
a high school graduate, except that a registered unlicensed water conditioner employed and
supervised by the registered unlicensed water conditioner's parent must be at least 16 years

of age.

B. An applicant for registration under this part must provide a name, address, date
of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and practical water

conditioning experience on a form provided by the commissioner.

4716.0093 7
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4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. Continuing education; content.

A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,
individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain 16 hours of continuing

education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:
(1) master plumber;
(2) journeyworker plumber; and
(3) restricted plumber.

At least eight hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, and the remainder
must pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to plumbing installations and
equipment, this chapter, the Minnesota State Building Code, or Minnesota Statutes, sections
326B.41 to 326B.59. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must

comply with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.

B. Inaddition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,
individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain four hours of

continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:
(1) water conditioning master; and
(2) water conditioning journeyworker.

At least two hours must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remainder must pertain to
the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water conditioning installation and servicing,
this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. Continuing education
hours obtained by any electronic media must comply with Minnesota Statutes, sections

326B.098 to 326B.099.
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C. Inaddition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,
individuals who hold the following registration types are required to obtain continuing

education instruction during the registration period before the registration can be renewed:
(1) registered unlicensed plumbers; and
(2) registered unlicensed water conditioners.

The registered unlicensed plumber must obtain at least two hours of continuing education

instruction that must pertain to the Plumbing Code.

The registered unlicensed water conditioner must obtain at least two hours of continuing
education instruction. At least one hour of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code,
and the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water
conditioning installation and servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50
to 326B.59. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply

with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.

D. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,
an applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain four
hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the
certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical
topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems, this chapter,

NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438.

E. In addition to satisfying the requirements of part 4716.0097 and Minnesota
Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following certifications are required to
obtain the following continuing education during the certification period before the certificate

may be renewed:

(1) abackflow prevention rebuilder shall meet the minimum requirements

to recertify in ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130; and

4716.0205 9
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101 (2) abackflow prevention tester shall meet the minimum requirements to

102 recertify in ASSE Standard 5110.

10.3 A [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]
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