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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions
NOTICE: How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register
The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages. State agencies are 

required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register. Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and 
participate in the important rulemaking process. Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules. Each agency is assigned specific 
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rules. Generally speaking, proposed and adopted exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the 
State Register.

	An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter of 
a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101).  It does this  by publishing a notice in 
the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new 
statutory grant of required rulemaking.

	When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules 
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules. This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed.  Proposed emergency rules, and with-
drawn proposed rules, are also published in the State Register. After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been rewritten 
into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules.  These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety, but only the 
changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules. To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person simply needs two issues of the State 
Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted. 

	The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule: issues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-
25 inclusive (issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26); issues #27-38 inclusive (issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39); issues #40-52 inclusive, with 
final index (#1-52, or 53 in some years). An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in August, but starting with Volume 
19 now appears in the final issue of each volume. For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact Minnesota’s Bookstore, 660 Olive Street 
(one block east of I-35E and one block north of University Ave), St. Paul, MN 55155, phone:  (612) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757. TTY relay 
service phone number: (800) 627-3529.

Volume 41 - Minnesota Rules
(Rules Appearing in Vol. 41 Issues #27-52  are  

          in Vol 41, #52 - Monday 26 June 2017)
Volume 42, #18

Monday 3 July -  Monday 30 October

Office of Administrative Hearings
1408 (adopted) ..............................................................................    39

1420.1850 (proposed expedited) ..................................................      483

Board of Dentistry
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Department of Education 
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6232.1000; .2550; .2560 (expedited emergency) .........................      223
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Department of Transportation 
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Expedited Rules
Provisions exist for the Commissioners of some state agencies to adopt expedited rules when conditions exist 

that do not allow the Commissioner to comply with the requirements for normal rules.  The Commissioner must 
submit the rule to the attorney general for review and must publish a notice of adoption that includes a copy of the 
rule and the conditions. Expedited rules are effective upon publication in the State Register, and may be effective 
up to seven days before  
publication under certain conditions.  

Expedited  rules are effective for the period stated or up to 18 months.  Specific Minnesota Statute citations  
accompanying these expedited rules detail the agency's rulemaking authority.

KEY:  Proposed Rules  -  Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language.  Strikeouts indicate dele-
tions from existing rule language.  If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.”   
Adopted Rules  - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language.  Strikeout indicates deletions from 
proposed rule language.

Office of Administrative Hearings
Workers’ Compensation Division

Proposed Expedited Permanent Rules Governing Workers' Compensation Litigation  
Procedures: Resolution of Claims with Intervenors; Notice of Intent to Adopt Expedited 
Rules without a Public Hearing

Proposed Expedited Permanent Rules Governing Workers’ Compensation Litigation Procedures: Resolution 
of Claims with Intervenors, Minnesota Rules, 1420.1850; Revisor’s ID Number RD4493

Introduction. The Office of Administrative Hearings (Agency) intends to adopt rules under the expedited rulemak-
ing process following the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2410, and the 
Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, section 14.389. You may submit written comments on the proposed 
expedited rules until November 29, 2017.

Agency Contact Person. You may submit comments or questions on the rules to the Agency contact person. The 
Agency contact person is:

Katie Lin 
Rulemaking Coordinator

Office of Administrative Hearings
PO Box 64620

St. Paul, MN 55164
Phone: (651) 361-7911
TDD: (651) 361-7878 
Fax: (651) 539-0310

Email: Katie.Lin@state.mn.us

You may also review the proposed rules and submit written comments via the  
Office of Administrative Hearings Rulemaking e-Comments website at https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/ 

Subject of the Expedited Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed expedited rules are about workers’ com-
pensation intervention practices. The rules allow counsel for the employee and/or employer/insurer to jointly file a partial 
stipulation. The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minn. Stat. 176.83, subd. 12. The statutory authority to adopt the 
rules under the expedited rulemaking process is 2017 Minnesota Laws Chapter 94, Article 5, Section 4. A copy of the 
proposed rules is published in the State Register and attached to this notice as mailed.  The proposed expedited rules may 
be also viewed at https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/.

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, November 29, 2017, to submit written comment in sup-
port of or in opposition to the proposed expedited rules and any part or subpart of the rules. Your comment must be in 
writing and received by the Agency contact person by the due date. The Agency encourages comment. Your comment 
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Expedited Rules
should identify the portion of the proposed expedited rules addressed and the reason for the comment. In addition, you 
are encouraged to propose any change desired. You must also make any comments that you have on the legality of the 
proposed rules during this comment period.

Modifications. The Agency may modify the proposed expedited rules using either of two avenues: The Agency may 
modify the rules directly so long as the modifications do not make them substantially different as defined in Minnesota 
Statutes, section 14.05, subdivision 2, paragraphs (b) and (c). Or the Agency may adopt substantially different rules if 
it follows the procedure under Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110. If the final rules are identical to the rules originally 
published in the State Register, the Agency will publish a notice of adoption in the State Register. If the final rules are 
different from the rules originally published in the State Register, the Agency must publish a copy of the changes in the 
State Register. If the proposed expedited rules affect you in any way, the Agency encourages you to participate in the 
rulemaking process.

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 
print, braille, or audio.  To make such a request, please contact the Agency contact person at the address or telephone 
number listed above.

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Campaign 
Finance and Public Disclosure Board. You may direct questions regarding this requirement to the Campaign Finance and 
Public Disclosure Board at: Suite #190, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone 
(651) 539-1180 or 18006573889.

Adoption and Review of Expedited Rules. The Agency may adopt the rules at the end of the comment period. The 
Agency will then submit rules and supporting documents to the Office of Administrative Hearings for review for legality. 
You may ask to be notified of the date that the Agency submits the rules. If you want to be so notified, or want to receive 
a copy of the adopted rules, or want to register with the Agency to receive notice of future rule proceedings, submit your 
request to the Agency contact person listed above.

Dated: October 19, 2017

Signed by: Tammy L. Pust, Chief Judge
Office of Administrative Hearings

1420.1850  RESOLUTION OF CLAIMS WITH INTERVENORS; HEARINGS. 
 
     Subpart 1. Stipulations without agreement of all intervenors or potential intervenors. A stipulation for settlement 
that does not include the agreement of all intervenors or that seeks to preclude rights of potential intervenors must meet 
the requirements of this subpart. 

[For text of item A, see M.R.]
 
          B.  Where other parties have reached an agreement to settle a claim but have been unable to reach agreement with 
an intervenor, or obtain the intervenor’s signature on the stipulation, the requirements of subitem (1) or (2) must be met. 
 
               (1)  If the stipulation is signed by the intervenor, the stipulation must include a statement that the parties nego-
tiated with the intervenor in good faith but the intervenor chooses not to enter into an agreement and reserves the right to 
petition for hearing on the merits under subpart 3. By signing the stipulation in this manner, the intervenor is waiving the 
right to a Parker/Lindberg hearing under subpart 2, but not waiving the right to a hearing on the merits under subpart 3. 
 
               (2)  If the stipulation, or a letter of agreement attached to the stipulation, is not signed by the intervenor, the 
stipulation must include a statement that the parties were unable to obtain a response from the intervenor despite good 
faith efforts, or were unable to reach agreement with the intervenor despite the belief that the parties negotiated with the 
intervenor in good faith and made a reasonable offer to settle the intervention claim. At the time the stipulation is filed 
for approval, a copy of the stipulation must be served on the intervenor. An affidavit of service of the stipulation must 
accompany the stipulation when it is filed for approval. the parties must file a partial stipulation for settlement that com-
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Expedited Rules
plies with Minnesota Statutes, section 176.521, subdivision 2b. 

     Subp. 2.  [See repealer.] 

     Subp. 3. Intervenor hearing on the merits. 

A. If the parties have not fully resolved the intervenor claim following the procedures procedure in subparts
subpart 1 and 2 and there is no action pending at the office, a party must file a written petition under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 176.291, for a hearing on the merits of the intervening party’s claim. The petition must be filed within 30 days 
after an award on stipulation is served and filed. If a petition is pending at the time an award on stipulation is served and 
filed under subpart 2, the office shall schedule the intervenor claims for a hearing on the merits for at least one-half day. 

[For text of item B, see M.R.]
[For text of subp 4, see M.R.]

REPEALER.Minnesota Rules, part 1420.1850, subpart 2, is repealed.

Department of Transportation
Proposed Exempt Permanent Rules Relating to Modifying Local State-Aid Route 
Standards

Exempt Rules
Exempt rules are excluded from the normal rulemaking procedures (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.386 and 14.388).  

They are most often of two kinds.  One kind is specifically exempted by the Legislature from rulemaking pro-
cedures, but approved for form by the Revisor of Statutes, reviewed for legality by the Office of Administrative 
Hearings, and then published in the State Register.  These exempt rules are effective for two years only.

The second kind of exempt rule is one adopted where an agency for good cause finds that the rulemaking pro-
visions of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14 are unnecessary, impracticable, or contrary to the public interest.  This 
exemption can be used only where the rules:

(1) address a serious and immediate threat to the public health, safety, or welfare, or
(2) comply with a court order or a requirement in federal law in a manner that does not allow for compliance

with Minnesota Statutes Sections 14.14-14.28, or
(3) incorporate specific changes set forth in applicable statutes when no interpretation of law is required, or
(4) make changes that do not alter the sense, meaning, or effect of the rules.
These exempt rules are also reviewed for form by the Revisor of Statutes, for legality by the Office of Admin-

istrative Hearings and then published in the State Register.  In addition, the Office of Administrative Hearings must 
determine whether the agency has provided adequate justification for the use of this exemption.  Rules adopted 
under clauses (1) or (2) above are effective for two years only.  The Legislature may also exempt an agency from 
the normal rulemaking procedures and establish other procedural and substantive requirements  unique to that 
exemption.

KEY:  Proposed Rules  -  Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language.  Strikeouts indicate dele-
tions from existing rule language.  If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.”  Adopted 
Rules  - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language.  Strikeout indicates deletions from proposed 
rule language.     

8820.0200  DEFINITIONS.
[For text of subps 1 to 16, see M.R.]

     Subp. 16a. Curb reaction distance. “Curb reaction distance” means the distance measured from the edge of the out-
side through-traffic lane to the adjacent face of curb. 

[For text of subps 17 and 18, see M.R.]

     Subp. 19. District state-aid engineer. “District state-aid engineer” means a registered licensed engineer employed as 
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Exempt Rules
the district state-aid engineer of the Minnesota Department of Transportation, or a designated representative. 

     Subp. 19a. Excess sum. “Excess sum” has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 162.07, subdivision 1a. 
[For text of subps 20 to 25, see M.R.]

     Subp. 26. Natural preservation route. “Natural preservation route” means an existing or proposed roadway that has 
been designated as a natural preservation route in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 162.021, by the commis-
sioner upon petition by a county board and that possesses sensitive or unique scenic, environmental, pastoral, or histor-
ical characteristics. Examples may include, but are not limited to, roads along lakes, rivers, wetlands, or floodplains or 
through forests or hilly, rocky, or bluff terrain. 

[For text of subps 27 to 29, see M.R.]

     Subp. 30. Reconditioning. “Reconditioning” includes resurfacing, replacement, or rehabilitation of the pavement 
structure to extend the life of the roadway and effectively address critical safety and operations needs through minor 
improvements to the existing facility. Reconditioning projects generally utilize the existing horizontal and vertical align-
ment, may entail minor widening or geometric improvement, and normally require little or no additional right-of-way. 
Reconditioning may include changes in vertical or horizontal alignment involving no more than 20 percent of the length 
of the project. Reconditioning may include curb replacement along no more than 20 percent of the length of the project, 
not including curb replacement for purposes of meeting the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, United States Code, 
title 42, section 12101 et seq requirements. Work does not normally extend beyond the existing ditch bottom. 

[For text of subp 31, see M.R.]

     Subp. 31a. Rural. “Rural” means a roadway that includes ditches and is located in an area that is not presently, nor 
will it be in the foreseeable future, sufficiently developed to warrant that use of an urban design. 

[For text of subps 32 to 34, see M.R.]

     Subp. 35.  [See repealer.] 

     Subp. 36. State-aid engineer. “State-aid engineer” means a registered licensed engineer employed as the state-aid 
engineer of the Minnesota Department of Transportation, or a designated representative. 

[For text of subps 37 to 43, see M.R.]

     Subp. 43a. Urban. “Urban” means a roadway that includes a curb and gutter and is, or will be in the foreseeable 
future, located in an area that is sufficiently developed to warrant an urban design. 

[For text of subps 44 to 46, see M.R.]

8820.0400  LOCAL HIGHWAY AND STREET DEPARTMENTS. 

     Each county and each urban municipality shall establish and maintain a highway or street department. These depart-
ments must be adequately organized, staffed, and equipped to administer for the county or urban municipality matters 
relating to the operations of the state-aid program and to exercise all functions incidental thereto, in accordance with 
law. Preparation of plans and specifications and supervision of construction and maintenance must be under the control 
and direction of a professional engineer, registered licensed in the state of Minnesota and employed or retained for that 
purpose. 

8820.0800  ROUTE DESIGNATION PROCEDURES; TURNBACKS; REVOCATION. 

     Subpart 1. Resolution and certification. With regard to Route designations, for county state-aid highways (CSAH) 
and municipal state-aid streets (MSAS) must be selected by the respective boards of county commissioners or govern-
ing bodies of urban municipalities. The highway or street selections must be reviewed by the district state-aid engineer 
of that area and the engineer’s recommendation must be filed with the commissioner. Upon preliminary approval of the 
commissioner, the respective boards or governing bodies shall establish the route by designation. For MSAS routes to be 
designated on county roadways, the designation must be approved in the form of a resolution by the county board and 
the resolution filed with the commissioner. After receipt of each board action requesting designation, the commissioner 
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shall approve all or part of the highway or street designations that comply with the criteria set out in this chapter. The 
commissioner shall certify to the respective boards of county commissioners or governing bodies of urban municipalities 
the approved portion of the highway or street designation. Highways or streets so approved become a part of the CSAH 
system or the MSAS system, subject to additions or revisions as may be, from time to time, requested and approved. 
 
     Subp. 1a. Route revisions. Route revisions must be completed in accordance with subpart 1, except that revisions 
may be made on the basis of a construction plan, approved by a state-aid engineer, without action of the respective 
governing body if the designated route is relocated and the function of the designated route at the previous location is 
transferred to the new location. 

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 3. Payback on revoked state-aid routes. If a local unit of government revokes a state-aid route for which 
state-aid construction money has been spent, the district state-aid engineer shall determine the remaining life of the proj-
ect and compute the value of the items that were financed with state-aid money. This computed value must be subtracted 
from the next state-aid contract let by the local unit of government. For this determination, (1) the life of a construction 
and reconstruction project is 25 years, (2) the life of a bridge project is 35 years, and (3) the life of a surfacing or recon-
ditioning project is ten years. Payback is not required if the state-aid construction was a special resurfacing project. 
 
8820.1000  MONEY NEEDS AND APPORTIONMENT DETERMINATION. 
 
     Subpart 1. Construction cost estimates data. To provide data to implement the formulas for state-aid apportionment, 
each county highway engineer and city engineer shall prepare cost estimates of construction required to must provide 
the commissioner actual cost data for all construction projects that improve the county state-aid or municipal state-aid 
system to approved standards. 
 
     Subp. 2. Incidental costs. In addition to the direct construction or maintenance costs permitted under law, the cost 
costs of the following incidental items is are eligible for inclusion in the total estimate of determining money needs: 
 
          A.  right-of-way; 
 
          B.  automatic traffic control signals; 
 
          C.  lighting of roadways and bridges within approved standards; and 
 
          D.  drainage costs. 
 
     Subp. 3.  [Repealed, 20 SR 1041] 
 
8820.1400  MAINTENANCE, CONSTRUCTION, TOWN BRIDGE, AND TURNBACK TOWN ROAD AC-
COUNTS; STATE-AID PAYMENTS.

[For text of subps 1 to 8, see M.R.]
 
8820.1500  CONSTRUCTION FUNDS. 
 
     Subpart 1.  [Repealed by amendment, 8 SR 2146] 
 
     Subp. 2. State-aid contracts. Upon receipt of an abstract of bids, a certification as to the execution of a contract that 
includes a requirement for bond, and a payment request, the commissioner shall promptly release from the funds avail-
able to the county or urban municipality up to 95 percent of the state-aid portion of the contract. Upon further receipt of a 
signed supplemental agreement, change order, or work order, including by means of an electronic signature, for a major 
addition to the contract, or appraised values for additional right-of-way costs, the commissioner shall promptly release 
from the funds available to the county or urban municipality up to 95 percent of the state-aid portion of the supplemen-
tal agreement, change order, work order, or right-of-way appraised value. The commissioner shall keep the remaining 
percentage of the state-aid share of the contract, except of approved right-of-way claims which will be paid in full upon 
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proof of acquisition and availability of funds, until the project is 95 percent or more completed as substantiated and 
requested by the county or city engineer. 

     Upon receipt of the final project acceptance and final cost determination by the county or city engineer, and upon con-
currence of project acceptance by the district state aid engineer, the commissioner shall promptly release from the funds 
available any remaining money due to the state-aid portion of the contract. 

[For text of subps 3 to 12, see M.R.]
 
8820.1800  TRANSFER FOR HARDSHIP CONDITION OR LOCAL OTHER USE.

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 2. Other local use. When the county board or governing body of an urban municipality desires to use a part of 
its state-aid allocation on local roads or streets not on an approved state-aid system, it shall certify to the commissioner 
that its state-aid routes are improved to state-aid standards or are in an adequate condition that does not have needs other 
than additional surfacing or shouldering needs identified in its respective state-aid needs report. The state-aid engineer 
must concur before state-aid funds are expended. That portion of the county or city apportionment attributable to needs 
must not be used on the local system. 

     A construction project for a local road or street not on an approved state-aid system and not designed to state-aid 
standards must not be given final approval by the State Aid for Local Transportation Division unless the plan is accompa-
nied by a resolution from the respective county board or urban municipality that indemnifies, saves, and holds harmless 
the state of Minnesota and its agents and employees from claims, demands, actions, or causes of action arising out of or 
by reason of a matter related to constructing the local road or street as designed. The resolution must be approved by the 
respective county board or urban municipality and agree to defend at the sole cost of the county or urban municipality 
any claim arising as a result of constructing the local road or street. 

     Payment for the project must be made in accordance with part 8820.1500, subparts 1 to 5.

 
8820.2100  DISASTER ACCOUNT. 

     The commissioner must authorize the disaster board to inspect the disaster area if the requesting county or urban 
municipality damage estimate exceeds ten percent of the current road annual state-aid allotment to the county or urban 
municipality. The disaster board must consider the availability of any state and federal disaster relief funds before mak-
ing its recommendation. A disaster appropriation approved by the commissioner for a county or urban municipality in 
accordance with law, must be promptly paid after a work plan for each project under this part is submitted, up to 95 per-
cent of its estimate to the county or urban municipality for which the appropriation was authorized. The funds so allotted 
and paid to the county or urban municipality may only be spent for the purpose for which they were authorized, and 
within a reasonable time specified by the commissioner. Immediately upon completion of the work for which the disaster 
payment was made or the expiration of the time specified for doing the work, whichever occurs first, the county or urban 
municipality shall file a report certifying the extent of the authorized work completed and showing the total expenditure 
made. If the total disaster allotment was not required or used for the purpose specified or if state or federal disaster aid is 
later received, the remainder and an amount equal to the state or federal aid received must be promptly reimbursed to the 
commissioner for redeposit in the county state-aid highway fund disaster account or the municipal state-aid street fund, 
as the case may be, and apportioned by law. Damage estimates submitted by a county or urban municipality must exceed 
ten percent of the current annual state-aid allotment to the county or urban municipality before the commissioner shall 
authorize the disaster board to inspect the disaster area. The disaster board shall consider the availability of any available 
federal disaster relief funds before making its recommendation disaster account. 

 
8820.2300  TURNBACK, TOWN BRIDGE, AND TOWN ROAD ACCOUNTS.

[For text of subps 1 to 2, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 2a. Town road account allocation. The amounts to be distributed to the counties from the town road account 
must be determined according to the formula prescribed by Minnesota Statutes, section 162.081, subdivisions 2 and 4. 
 
          A.  The funds apportioned to a county from the town road account must be distributed to the treasurer of each eli-
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gible town within 30 days of the receipt of the funds by the county treasurer, according to a distribution formula adopted 
by the county board. The county board must consider each town’s levy for road and bridge purposes, its population, 
length of town roads road mileage, and other factors considered advisable to the interest of achieving equity among the 
towns. The county treasurer is the treasurer for eligible unorganized towns. 
 
          B.  If a county board does not adopt a distribution formula, the funds must be distributed to the town according to 
subitems (1) to (4) items A and B. 
 
               (1)  The county auditor shall certify to the commissioner the name of each town that has levied 0.04835 percent 
of taxable market value of the town for road and bridge purposes in the year preceding the allocation year. 
 
               (2)  The county auditor shall certify to the commissioner the name of each unorganized town in which the coun-
ty has levied 0.04835 percent of taxable market value of the unorganized town for town road and bridge purposes in the 
year preceding the allocation year. 
 
          A.   
 
               (3)  Fifty percent of the funds apportioned to a county must be distributed to an eligible town based upon the 
percentage that its population bears to the total population of the eligible towns in the county. 
 
          B.   
 
               (4)  Fifty percent of the funds apportioned to a county must be distributed to eligible towns based upon the 
percentage of the length of town roads of each town to the total length of town roads of eligible towns in the county. 

[For text of subps 3 to 6, see M.R.]
 
 
     Subp. 6a. In lieu payment. In lieu of contracting work or force account work, the commissioner, with concurrence of 
the receiving agency, may enter into an agreement to pay a lump sum payment from the turnback account to the receiv-
ing agency’s road and bridge account, or encumbered within the turnback account to be paid as county or municipal 
construction, equal to the net value of eligible turnback costs for a project to be constructed within 20 years of the release 
date. 

[For text of subp 7, see M.R.]
 
 
8820.2400  TRANSFER TO COUNTY REGULAR ACCOUNT FUND. 

     Upon receipt of a certified copy of a county board resolution under Minnesota Statutes, section 162.08, requesting 
the transfer of part or all of the total accumulated amount in the county municipal account fund, to the county regular ac-
count fund, the commissioner shall transfer the funds, provided the county submits a written request to the commissioner 
and holds a public hearing within 30 days of the request to receive and consider objections by the governing body of a 
city within the county, having a population of less than 5,000, and:. 

 
          A.  no written objection is filed with the commissioner within 14 days of that hearing; or 
 
          B.  within 14 days of the public hearing held by the county, a city having a population of less than 5,000 files a 
written objection with the commissioner identifying a specific county state-aid highway within the city which is request-
ed for improvement and the commissioner investigates the nature of the requested improvement and finds: 
 
               (1)  the identified highway is not deficient in meeting minimum state-aid street standards; 
 
               (2)  the county has shown evidence that the identified highway has been programmed for construction in the 
county’s five-year capital improvement budget in a manner consistent with the county’s transportation plan; or 
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               (3)  there are conditions created by or within the city beyond the control of the county that prohibit program-
ming or reconstruction of the identified highway. 
 
8820.9920  MINIMUM DESIGN STANDARDS; RURAL AND SUBURBAN UNDIVIDED; NEW OR RECON-
STRUCTION PROJECTS. 

     When the road authority has determined that the roadway will be specifically designed to include on-road bicycle fa-
cilities, and only if the roadway surface is paved, the appropriate design criteria in the current MnDOT Bikeway Facility 
Design Manual are recommended for design purposes to accommodate the bicycle facility. 

     New or reconstruction projects for rural and suburban undivided roadways must meet or exceed the minimum dimen-
sions indicated in the following design chart. Where two dimensions are indicated, the larger values within the ranges are 
desirable. 

Projected 
ADT (a)

Lane 
Width 
(b)

Shoulder 
Width 

In-
slope 
(b) 
(c) 

Clear 
Zone 
(c)(d)

MinimumDesign 
Speed (d) (e)

Sur-facing Structural De-
sign Strength 

Bridges to 
Remain (e) 
(f) Width 
Curb to 
Curb

feet feet rise: 
run feet mph tons feet

0-49 1111-
12 1 1:3 7 30-60 Agg. 22

50-149 1111-
12 3 1:4 9 40-60 Agg. 22

150-299 1211-
12 4 1:4 15 40-60 Agg./Paved 7-ton/10-ton-

Staged (g) (h) 28 

300-749 1211-
12 4 1:4 15 40-60 Paved 10-ton Staged 

(g) (h) 28

750-1499 1211-
12 4 1:4 25 40-60 Paved 10-ton Staged 

(g) (h) 28

1500 and 
over

1211-
12 6(f)6(g) 1:4 30 40-60 Paved 10 30

     Engineering judgment should be used to choose a lane-width, on-road bicycle facility, or shoulder-width dimension 
other than the widths indicated in the chart for roadways. Factors to consider include safety, speed, population/land use, 
benefit/cost analysis, traffic mix, peak hourly traffic, farm equipment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle 
traffic, pedestrian traffic, on-street parking, intersection and driveway spacing, rights-of-way constraints, vehicle turn 
lane configuration, sight distance, sight lines, bus routes, other nonmotorized uses, functional classification, or other 
factors. Dimensions less than those indicated in the chart require a variance in accordance with parts 8820.3300 and 
8820.3400. 

     For rural divided roadways, use the geometric design standards of the Mn/DOT Road Design Manual, with a mini-
mum ten tons structural design and minimum 40 mph design speed. 

     (a) Use the existing traffic for highways not on the state-aid system.

     (b) The state-aid engineer may approve lane widths of ten feet on roads classified as local or collector if truck and bus 
volumes are relatively low, rights-of-way are constrained, design speeds are 35 mph or less, and ADT is less than 1,500. 

     (b) (c) Applies to slope inslope within the clear zone only. Approach roadway sideslopes in the clear zone must be 1:4 
or flatter. Mn/DOT Road Design Manual clear zone may be used. 

     (c) (d) Culverts with less than 30-inch vertical height allowed without protection in the clear zone. Mn/DOT Road 
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Design Manual clear zone widths may be used in lieu of the values in the table in this part. 

     Guardrail is required to be installed at all bridges where the design speed exceeds 40 mph, and either the existing 
ADT exceeds 400 or the bridge clear width is less than the sum of the lane and shoulder widths. 

     Mailbox supports must be in accordance with chapter 8818.

     For roadways in suburban areas as defined in part 8820.0200, the clear zone may be reduced to a width of ten feet for 
projected ADT under 1,000 and to 20 feet for projected ADT of 1,000 or over. Wherever the legal posted speed limit is 
40 45 mph or less, the clear zone may be reduced to a width of ten feet. 

(d) (e) Subject to terrain. In suburban areas, the minimum design speed may be equal to the current legal posted speed
where the legal posted speed is 30 mph or greater.

(e) Inventory rating of H 15 is required. (f) Bridges to remain must have a load rating factor of at least 0.75 using the
AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. A bridge narrower 
than these widths may remain in place if the bridge is not deficient structurally or hydraulically. 

(f) (g) Shoulders are required to be a minimum width of eight feet for highways classified as minor arterials and prin-
cipal arterials with greater than 1,500 ADT projected, at least two feet of which must be paved. If the roadway is desig-
nated as a bicycle facility by the road authority, at least four feet of the shoulder shall be paved. 

(g) (h) Except within municipal corporate limits, ten-ton staged structural design must be able to carry ten-ton axle
loads except during spring load-restriction periods, or year-round if needed for system continuity. Roadbed width must 
accommodate ultimate ten-ton pavement overlay thickness and ultimate 1:4 sideslope. Within municipal corporate limits, 
minimum structural design must support nine-ton axle strength. 

     Approach sideslopes must be 1:4 or flatter when the ADT exceeds 400.

     HS 25 loading with AASHTO Standard Specifications or HL-93 loading with load and resistance factor design 
(LRFD) is required for new or reconstructed bridges. HS 18 loading is required for all rehabilitated bridges. The curb-
to-curb minimum width for new or reconstructed bridges must be no less than either the minimum required lane plus 
shoulder widths or the proposed lane plus shoulder widths, whichever is greater, HL-93 loading in the AASHTO LRFD 
(load and resistance factor design) Specifications is required for new or reconstructed bridges. Rehabilitated bridges must 
have a load rating factor of at least 0.9 using the AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance 
factor rating) for inventory level. The curb-to-curb minimum width for new or reconstructed bridges must be equal to the 
proposed lane plus shoulder widths, but in no case less than the minimum lane widths plus four feet, and in no case less 
than required per Minnesota Statutes, section 165.04. 

     Vehicular roadway bridge and underpass structures when two-way bicycle traffic is accommodated: on bridge or 
underpass sidewalks, the sidewalk clear width shall be no less than eight feet, but preferably ten feet. Whenever practica-
ble, the shoulder/clear zone of an off-road shared use path should be carried across bridges and through underpasses and 
the minimum structure clear width must be 12 feet. When the full width of the approach shared use path (surface width 
plus shoulder/clear zone) is greater than the proposed clear width of the structure, then lead-in bicycle safety railing is 
required at each end of the bridge or underpass. As an alternative to lead-in bicycle safety railing, the surface width of 
the approach shared use path may be narrowed at a 1:50 taper while maintaining minimum surface width and shoulder/
clear zone through the structure. 

8820.9922  MINIMUM DESIGN STANDARDS; NEW BRIDGE, BRIDGE REPLACEMENT, OR BRIDGE 
REHABILITATION PROJECTS AND APPROACH ROADWAYS ON RURAL OR SUBURBAN UNDIVIDED 
ROADWAYS THAT ARE NOT ON THE STATE-AID SYSTEM. 

     New bridge, bridge replacement, or bridge rehabilitation projects and approach roadways on rural or suburban 
undivided roadways that are not on the state-aid system must meet or exceed the minimum dimensions indicated in the 
following design chart. 
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Existing ADT 
(a)

Lane 
Width(b)

Shoulder 
Width 

Inslope (b) 
(c) 

Clear Zone (c) 
(d)

Minimum Design Speed 
(d) (e)

(feet) (feet) (rise: run) (feet) (mph)
0-49 (f) 11 1 1:3 7 30-60
50-149 11 3 1:4 9 30-60
150-400 1211-12(f) 4 1:4 15(e)15(g) 30-60

     Engineering judgment may be used to choose a lane-width or shoulder-width dimension other than the widths indicat-
ed in the chart for roadways. Factors to consider may be safety, speed, population, land use, benefit/cost analysis, traffic 
mix, farm equipment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian traffic, other nonmotorized 
uses, functional classification, or other factors. Widths less than those indicated in the chart require a variance in accor-
dance with parts 8820.3300 and 8820.3400. 

     (a) For existing ADT greater than 400, part 8820.9920 standards apply.

     (b) The state-aid engineer may approve lane widths of ten feet on roads classified as local or collector where truck and 
bus volumes are relatively low, rights-of-way are constrained, design speeds are 35 miles per hour or less, and ADT is 
less than 1,500. 

     (b) (c) Applies to slope within the clear zone only.

     (c) (d) Culverts with less than 30-inch vertical height allowed without protection in the clear zone. Mn/DOT Road 
Design Manual clear zone widths may be used in lieu of the values in the table in this part. 

     (d) (e) Subject to terrain.

     (f) Where two dimensions are shown, the larger values within the range are desirable.

     (e) (g) For roadways in suburban areas, the clear zone may be reduced to a width of ten feet for projected ADT under 
1,000 and to 20 feet for projected ADT of 1,000 or over. Wherever the legal posted speed limit is 40 45 miles per hour or 
less, the clear zone may be reduced to a width of ten feet. 

     HS 25 loading with AASHTO Standard Specifications or HL-93 loading with load and resistance factor design 
(LRFD) is required for new or reconstructed bridges. HS 18 loading is required for all rehabilitated bridges. The curb-to-
curb minimum width for new or reconstructed bridges must be equal to the proposed lane plus shoulder widths, but in no 
case less than the minimum lane width plus four feet, and in no case less than required per Minnesota Statutes, section 
165.04. 

     Bridge structures Bridges and approach roadways of minimum 20-foot clear width and 20-foot width to the outsides 
of the shoulders may be constructed where existing ADT is less than 50, potential for increasing ADT is low, and the lo-
cal government agency finds that the bridge width can operate effectively at that width for the expected life of the bridge. 

     HL-93 loading in the AASHTO LRFD (load and resistance factor design) Specifications is required for new or re-
constructed bridges. Rehabilitated bridges must have a load rating factor of at least 0.9 using the AASHTO Manual for 
Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. The curb-to-curb minimum width for 
new or reconstructed bridges must be equal to the proposed lane plus shoulder widths, but in no case less than (1) the 
minimum lane width plus four feet, and (2) the width required under Minnesota Statutes, section 165.04. 

 
8820.9926  MINIMUM DESIGN STANDARDS: RURAL AND SUBURBAN UNDIVIDED; RECONDITIONING 
PROJECTS. 
 
     Subpart 1. Minimum reconditioning standards. Reconditioning projects for rural or suburban undivided roadways 
must meet or exceed the minimum dimensions indicated in the following design chart. See part 8820.0200, subpart 30, 
for the description of activities allowed. 
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Existing ADT Statutory or Regulatory Posted 

Speed
Lane Width 
(Paved)

Combined Lane (Paved) and Shoulder 
Width

1-749 Under 50 mph 45 mph or less 10 feet 11 feet
1-749 50 mph or over 10 feet 12 feet
750 and over Under 50 mph45 mph or less 10 feet 12 feet
750 and over 50 mph & and over 11 feet 14 feet

     When the road authority has determined that the roadway will be specifically designed to include on-road bicycle fa-
cilities, and only if the roadway surface is paved, the appropriate design criteria in the current MnDOT Bikeway Facility 
Design Manual are recommended for design purposes. 

Engineering judgment should be used to choose a lane-width, on-road bicycle facility, or shoulder width dimension other 
than the widths indicated in the chart. Factors to consider include safety, speed, population/land use, benefit/cost analy-
sis, traffic mix, peak hourly traffic, farm equipment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian 
traffic, on-street parking, intersection and driveway spacing, rights-of-way constraints, vehicle turn lane configuration, 
sight distance, sight lines, bus routes, other nonmotorized uses, functional classification, or other factors. Dimensions 
less than those indicated in the chart require a variance in accordance with parts 8820.3300 and 8820.3400. 

     Widths of bridges to remain in place must equal roadway pavement width. Bridges narrower than these widths may 
remain in place provided that the bridge does not qualify for federal-aid bridge funds. H 15 inventory rating is required. 
Bridges to remain must have a load rating factor of at least 0.75 using the AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, 
LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. 

     Any highway that was previously built to state-aid or state standards, that was granted a variance to standards in effect 
at the time of construction or reconstruction, or that is a trunk highway turnback, may be reconditioned. 

     The proposed structural design strength must accommodate a minimum of seven tons per axle.

 
     Subp. 2.  [Repealed, 23 SR 1455] 
 
8820.9936  MINIMUM DESIGN STANDARDS, URBAN; NEW OR RECONSTRUCTION PROJECTS. 

     New or reconstruction projects for urban roadways without a designated on-road bicycle facility must meet or exceed 
the minimum dimensions indicated in the following design chart.

Functional Classification and Projected 
Traffic Volume

Design 
Speed

Lane Width 
(a)

Curb Reaction Dis-
tance (e) (c)

Parking Lane 
Width(e)

mph feet feet feet

Collectors or Locals with ADT < 10,000
30-4030-
45

(b) 1110-11 21-2 (d) 87-8

50 or over 
40

1211-12 2 108-10

Collectors or Locals with ADT ≥ 10,000 
and Arterials

30-4030-
35

(b) 1110-11 (c) 41-2 (d) 107-10

over 4040-
45

1211-12 (c) 41-4 (d) 107-10

50 or over 11-12 2-4 Not allowed

     Engineering judgment may be used to choose a lane-width dimension other than the widths indicated in the chart for 
roadways. Factors to consider include safety, speed, population/land use, benefit/cost analysis, traffic mix, peak hourly 
traffic, farm equipment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian traffic, other nonmotorized 
uses, functional classification, or other factors. Widths less than those indicated in the chart require a variance in accor-
dance with parts 8820.3300 and 8820.3400. 
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     (a) Twelve feet should be considered in industrial areas. One-way turn lanes must be at least ten feet wide, except 11 
feet is required if the design speed is over 40 50 mph or higher.

     (b) Wherever possible, lane widths of 12 feet, rather than 11 feet, should be used. Ten feet may be considered where 
truck or bus volumes are relatively low, rights-of-way are constrained, and design speeds are 35 mph or less. Eleven feet 
minimum is required on four-lane, undivided facilities. 

     (c) May be reduced to two feet if there are four or more traffic lanes and on one-way streets. 

     (d) No parking is allowed for six or more traffic lanes or when the posted speed limit exceeds 45 mph. 

     (e) (c) Curb reaction must be provided only where parking is not provided.

     (d) The state-aid engineer may approve a zero foot curb reaction distance where the cross-section is constrained, 
appropriate curb types are used, and drainage collection is adequate. The curb must be constructed without a gutter or 
monolithically with the adjacent traveled way. 

     (e) The roadway ADT and the vehicle mix must be considered when determining parking lane width. In commercial 
or industrial areas, the minimum parking lane width is eight feet. 

     One-way streets must have at least two through-traffic lanes.

     When a median is included in the design of the two-way roadway, a one-foot minimum curb reaction distance to the 
median is required on either side of the median. Minimum median width is four feet. 

     Urban design roadways must be a minimum nine tons structural axle load design.

     Roadways not on the state-aid system are not subject to the minimum structural design strength requirements. 

     The minimum curb-to-curb width of a new bridge must be the required street width, but in no case less than required 
per Minnesota Statutes, section 165.04. HS 25 loading with AASHTO Standard Specifications or HL-93 loading with 
load and resistance factor design (LRFD) is required for new or reconstructed bridges and a minimum of HS 18 loading 
is required for all rehabilitated bridges. HL-93 loading in the AASHTO LRFD (load and resistance factor design) Speci-
fications is required for new or reconstructed bridges. Rehabilitated bridges must have a load rating factor of at least 0.9 
using the AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. Where 
the new bridge approach roadway includes elements for the accommodation of pedestrians or bicycles, the new bridge 
width must also provide for pedestrians or bicycles unless pedestrians or bicycles are otherwise accommodated. 

     For ADT less than 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes. For ADT greater than 
or equal to 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes plus half the sum of the shoulders, 
parking lane, and curb reaction distance. Bridges to remain must have a load rating factor of at least 0.75 using the AAS-
HTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. 

     Clearance of 1.5 feet from the face of the curb to fixed objects must be provided when the posted design speed is 40 
to 45 mph. A ten-foot clear zone measured from the driving lane must be provided when the posted design speed exceeds 
45 is 50 mph or higher. 

     For volumes greater than 15,000 projected ADT, at least four through-traffic lanes are required, unless a capacity anal-
ysis demonstrates that a different lane configuration achieves level of service D or better. Unless four lanes are provided, 
an engineering traffic study is required for traffic volumes greater than 15,000 projected ADT to determine lane configu-
ration and lane use. 

 
8820.9941  MINIMUM DESIGN STANDARDS: ON-ROAD BICYCLE FACILITY FOR URBAN; NEW OR 
RECONSTRUCTION PROJECTS. 

     The bicycle facility design standard in this part applies when the road authority has determined that the roadway will 

R-04365    016



495PageMinnesota State Register, Monday 30 October 2017(Cite 42 SR 495)

Exempt Rules
be specifically designed to include an on-road bicycle facility and only if the roadway surface is paved. 

     New or reconstruction projects for urban roadways must meet or exceed the dimensions indicated in the following 
design chart. 

Functional Classifi-
cation and Projected 
Traffic Volume

Design 
Speed

Lane 
Width 

(a)

Curb 
Reaction 

Distance (d)
(c)

Parking 
Lane 

Width (f)
(e)

Bikeway Design Road-
ways with Two Travel 
Lanes Urban Curb and 

Gutter

Bikeway Design 
Roadways with Four 
or more Travel Lanes 

Urban Curb and 
Gutter

(mph) (feet) (feet) (feet) (ADT) (feet) (feet)
Collectors or Locals 
with ADT <2,000

25-30 10-12 
(e)10-11 
(b)

21-2 (d) 7-107-8 <500 SL N/A

500-
2,000

WOL 14-16 
or BL 5-6

35-40 
35-45

11-1210-
11 (b)

21-2 (d) 8-107-8 <500 SL or BL 5 BL 5-6

500-
2,000

WOL 14-16 
or BL 5-6

50 or 
over 40 

1211-12 2 108-10 BL 5-6 BL 5-6

Collectors or Locals 
With ADT 2,000-
5,000

25-30 10-12 
(e)10-11 
(b)

21-2 (d) 7-107-8 WOL 14-16 
or BL 5-6

WOL 14-16 or BL 
5-6

35-40 
35-45

11-1210-
11 (b)

21-2 (d) 8-107-8 BL 5-6 BL 5-6

50 or 
over 40 

1211-12 2 108-10 BL-6 BL 6

Collectors or Locals 
with ADT 5,000-
10,000

25-30 10-12 
(e)10-11 
(b)

21-2 (d) 7-107-8 BL 5-6 WOL 14-16 or BL 
5-6

35-40 
35-45

11-1210-
11 (b)

21-2 (d) 8-107-8 BL 5-6 or 
PS 8

BL 5-6

50 or 
over 40 

1211-12 2 108-10 BL 6 or PS 
8 or SUP

BL 6 or PS 8 or SUP

Collectors or Locals 
with ADT >10,000 
and Arterials

30-40 
30-35

11-1210-
11 (b)

4 (b)1-2 (d) 107-10 BL 6 or PS 
8 8-10 or 
SUP

BL 6 or PS 8 8-10 or 
SUP

over 40 
40-45

1211-12 4 (b)1-4 10 (c)7-10 BL 6 or PS 
8 8-10 or 
SUP

BL 6 or PS 8 8-10 or 
SUP

50 or 
over

11-12 2-4 Not al-
lowed

BL 6 or PS 
8-10 or SUP

BL 6 or PS 8-10 or 
SUP

(SL = shared lane; BL = bicycle lane; WOL = wide outside lane; PS = paved shoulder; SUP = shared use path) 

     Engineering judgment should be used to choose a lane-width, on-road bicycle facility, or shoulder width dimension 
other than the widths indicated in the chart. Factors to consider include safety, speed, population/land use, benefit/cost 
analysis, traffic mix, peak hourly traffic, farm equipment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, 
pedestrian traffic, on-street parking, intersection and driveway spacing, rights-of-way constraints, vehicle turn lane 
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configuration, sight distance, sight lines, bus routes, other nonmotorized uses, functional classification, or other factors. 
Dimensions less than those indicated in the chart require a variance in accordance with parts 8820.3300 and 8820.3400. 

(a) Twelve feet should be considered in industrial areas. Eleven feet minimum is required on four-lane, undivided
facilities. One-way turn lanes must be at least ten feet wide, except 11 feet is required if the design speed is over 40 50 
mph or over. 

(b) Curb reaction distance may be reduced to two feet if there are four or more traffic lanes and on one-way streets. A 
combination of all minimum widths for the driving lane, on-road bicycle lane, and parking lane is only permissible with 
a variance. Ten feet may be considered where truck and bus volumes are relatively low, rights-of-way are constrained, 
and design speeds are 35 mph or less. 

(c) No parking is allowed on streets with six or more traffic lanes or when the posted speed limit exceeds 45 mph.

(d) (c) Curb reaction shall be provided unless on-street parking, a bicycle facility, or a wide outside lane are provided
adjacent to the curb. The dimensions for wide outside lanes include the curb reaction distance. 

(e) When creating a multimodal design with a combination of vehicle lane, parking lane, and bikeway lane widths, if
a vehicle lane width of less than 11 feet is used, the parking and bikeway lanes shall be at least one foot wider than the 
minimum widths. Engineering judgment should be used to choose a vehicle lane width of less than 11 feet. Additional 
factors to consider include the types of vehicles (buses, trucks, etc.), peak hour counts, turning movements, population/
land use, crash history/analysis, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian traffic, other nonmotorized uses, and snow 
storage. 

(d) The state-aid engineer may approve a zero foot curb reaction distance where the cross-section is constrained,
appropriate curb types are used, and drainage collection is adequate. The curb must be constructed without a gutter or 
monolithically with the adjacent traveled way. 

(f) (e) In determining the parking lane width, the roadway ADT and the vehicle mix shall be taken into consideration
for residential,. In commercial and/or or industrial areas, or for a mixed use thereof the minimum parking lane width is 
eight feet.

     One-way streets must have at least two through-traffic lanes.

     When a raised median is included in the design of the two-way roadway, a one-foot minimum curb reaction distance 
to the median is required on either side of the median. Minimum median width is four feet. 

     Urban design roadways must accommodate a minimum nine tons structural axle load design.

     Roadways not on the state-aid system are not subject to the minimum structural design strength requirements. 

     The minimum curb-to-curb width of a new bridge must be the required street width, but in no case less than required 
per Minnesota Statutes, section 165.04. HS 25 loading with AASHTO Standards Specifications or HL-93 loading with 
load and resistance factor design (LRFD) is required for new or reconstructed bridges and a minimum of HS 18 loading 
is required for all rehabilitated bridges. HL-93 loading in the AASHTO LRFD (load and resistance factor design) Speci-
fications is required for new or reconstructed bridges. Rehabilitated bridges must have a load rating factor of at least 0.9 
using the AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. When 
the new bridge approach roadway includes elements for the accommodation of pedestrians or bicycles, the new bridge 
width must also provide for pedestrians or bicycles unless pedestrians or bicycles are otherwise accommodated. 

     For ADT less than 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes. For ADT greater than or 
equal to 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes plus one-half the sum of the shoulders, 
parking lane, and curb reaction distance. Bridges to remain must have a load rating factor of at least 0.75 using the AAS-
HTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. 

     Clearance of 1.5 feet from the face of the curb to fixed objects must be provided when the posted speed is 40 to 45 
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mph. A ten foot clear zone measured from the driving lane must be provided when the posted speed exceeds 45 is 50 
mph or over. 

     For volumes greater than 15,000 projected ADT, at least four through-traffic lanes are required, unless a capacity anal-
ysis demonstrates that a different lane configuration achieves level of service D or better. Unless four lanes are provided, 
an engineering traffic study is required for volumes greater than 15,000 projected ADT to determine lane configuration 
and lane use. 

Structures: Vehicular roadway bridge and underpass structures when two-way bicycle traffic is accommodated: on 
bridge or underpass sidewalks, the sidewalk clear width shall be no less than eight feet, but preferably ten feet. Whenever 
practicable, the shoulder/clear zone of an off-road shared use path should be carried across bridges and through under-
passes. The minimum structure clear width must be 12 feet. When the surface width plus shoulder/clear zone full width 
of the approach shared use path is greater than the proposed clear width of the structure, a lead-in bicycle safety railing 
is required at each end of the bridge or underpass. As an alternative to lead-in bicycle safety railing, the surface width of 
the approach shared use path may be narrowed at a 1:50 taper while maintaining minimum surface width and shoulder/
clear zone through the structure. 

 
8820.9946  MINIMUM DESIGN STANDARDS, URBAN; RECONDITIONING PROJECTS. 
 
     Subpart 1. Two-way streets. In the following design chart, total width is from face-to-face of curbs. 

     Reconditioning projects for two-way urban roadways must meet or exceed the minimum dimensions indicated in the 
chart. 

Number of Through Lanes, 
Functional Class, and Present 
Traffic Volume

Total Width 
with No Park-
ing

Total Width with 
Parking on One 
Side

Total Width with 
Parking on Both 
Sides

Proposed Structural 
Design Strength

(feet) (feet) (feet) (tons)
2-Lane Collector or Local with 
ADT < 10,000

2622 3228 3834 (b) 9

4-Lane Collector or Local with 
ADT < 10,000

44 5251 6058 (b) 9

2-Lane Collector or Local with 
ADT ≥ 10,000 or 2-Lane Arterial 
(a)

2622 3228 4234 9

4-Lane Collector or Local with 
ADT ≥ 10,000 or 4-Lane Arterial

44 5451 6458 9

6-Lane Collectors or Arterials 66 (c) (c) 9

     Engineering judgment may be used to choose a lane-width or shoulder-width dimension other than the widths indicat-
ed in the chart for roadways. Factors to consider include safety, speed, population/land use, benefit/cost analysis, traffic 
mix, peak hourly traffic, farm equipment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian traffic, 
other nonmotorized uses, functional classification, or other factors. Widths less than those indicated in the chart require a 
variance in accordance with parts 8820.3300 and 8820.3400. 

     (a) Permissible for present traffic volumes less than 15,000 ADT.

     (b) When ADT is less than 5,000, seven tons is allowable.

     (c) No parking is allowed.

     When a median is included in the design of the two-way roadway, a one-foot reaction distance to the median is re-
quired on either side of the median. Minimum median width is four feet. 
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     For ADT less than 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes. For ADT greater than 
or equal to 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes plus half the sum of the shoulders, 
parking lane, and curb reaction distance. Bridges to remain must have a load rating factor of at least 0.75 using the AAS-
HTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. 

 
 
     Subp. 2. One-way streets. In the following design chart, total width is from face-to-face of curbs. 

     Reconditioning projects for one-way urban roadways must meet or exceed the minimum dimensions indicated in the 
chart. 

Number of Through 
Lanes and Functional 
Class

Present ADT Total Width 
with No 
Parking

Total Width 
with Parking 
on One Side

Total Width 
with Parking on 
Both Sides

Proposed Struc-
tural Design 
Strength

(feet) (feet) (feet) (tons)
2-Lane Collector or Lo-
cal with ADT < 10000

< 5,000 21 29 37 7
5,000-10,000 23 31 39 9

2-Lane Collector or Lo-
cal with ADT ≥ 10000 
or 2-lane Arterial

< 1500010,000-
15,000

23 31 39 9

≥ 15,000 24 32 40 9
3-Lane Arterial or Col-
lector

All 34 42 50 9

     For ADT less than 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes. For ADT greater than 
or equal to 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes plus half the sum of the shoulders, 
parking lane, and curb reaction distance. Bridges to remain must have a load rating factor of at least 0.75 using the AAS-
HTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. 

 
     Subp. 3. Exception. Any street that was previously built to state-aid or state standards, or that was granted a variance 
to standards in effect at the time of construction or reconstruction, or that is a trunk highway turnback, but does not meet 
current standards, may be reconditioned regardless of subparts 1 and 2. 
 
8820.9951  MINIMUM DESIGN STANDARDS, ON-ROAD BICYCLE FACILITIES FOR URBAN; RECONDI-
TIONING PROJECTS. 

     The bicycle facility design standard in this part applies when the road authority has determined that the roadway will 
be specifically designed to include an on-road bicycle facility, and only if the roadway surface is paved. 

     Reconditioning projects for urban roadways must meet or exceed the minimum dimensions indicated in the following 
design chart.
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Number of Through Lanes, 
Functional Class, and Present 
Traffic Volume

Design 
Speed

Lane Width(a) Parking 
Lane Width 

(e)(d)

Proposed Struc-
tural Design 

Strength

Bikeway Design

(mph) (feet) (feet) (tons) (ADT) (feet)

Two-Lane Collectors or  
Locals with ADT <10,000

25-30 10-12 (d)10-11 
(b)-(c)

7-107-8 9 (b) (e) <1,000 SL

1,000-
5,000

WOL 14-
16 or BL 
5-6

5,000-
10,000

BL 5-6

35-
4035-45

11-1210-11 
(b)-(c)

8-107-8 9 (b) (e) <500 SL or BL 
5-6

500-
10,000

BL 5-6 or 
PS 8

50 or 
over 40 

11-12 108-10 9 (b) (e) <10,000 BL 5-6 or 
PS 8 or 
SUP

Two-Lane Collectors or 
Locals With ADT >10,000 or 
Two-Lane Arterials (a)

25-30 10-12 (d)10-11 
(b)-(c)

7-10 9 >10,000 BL 5-6

35-
4035-45

11-1210-11 
(b)-(c)

8-107-10 9 >10,000 BL 5-6 or 
PS 8 or 
SUP

50 or 
over 40 

11-12 10Not al-
lowed

9 >10,000 BL 6 or PS 
8 8-10 or 
SUP

Four-Lane Collectors or Lo-
cals with ADT <10,000

25-30 10-12 (d)10-11 
(b)-(c)

7-107-8 9 (b) (e) <10,000 WOL 14-
16 or BL 
5-6

35-
4035-45

11-1210-11 
(b)-(c)

8-107-8 9 (b) (e) <10,000 BL 5-6

50 or 
over 40 

11-12 108-10 9 (b) (e) <10,000 BL 6 5-6 
or PS 8 or 
SUP

Four-Lane Collectors or Lo-
cals with ADT >10,000

30-
4030-45

11-1210-11 (c) 107-10 9 >10,000 BL 6 or PS 
8 8-10 or 
SUP

50 or 
over 40 

11-12 10Not al-
lowed

9 >10,000 BL 6 or PS 
8 8-10 or 
SUP

Six-Lane Collectors or Arte-
rials

1211-12 (c)Not 
allowed

9 Not 
allowed

SUP

(SL = shared lane; BL = bicycle lane; WOL = wide outside lane; PS = paved shoulder; SUP = shared use path) 

     Engineering judgment should be used to choose a lane-width, on-road bicycle facility, or shoulder width dimension 
other than the widths indicated in the chart. Factors to consider include safety, speed, population/land use, benefit/cost 
analysis, traffic mix, peak hourly traffic, farm equipment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, 
pedestrian traffic, on-street parking, intersection and driveway spacing, rights-of-way constraints, vehicle turn lane 
configuration, sight distance, sight lines, bus routes, other nonmotorized uses, functional classification, or other factors. 
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Dimensions less than those indicated in the chart require a variance in accordance with parts 8820.3300 and 8820.3400. 

     (a) A road may be reconditioned under this part if present traffic volumes are less than 15,000 ADT. Eleven feet mini-
mum is required on four-lane, undivided facilities. Twelve feet should be considered in industrial areas. 

     (b) When ADT is less than 5,000, seven-ton axle load structural design strength is allowable Ten feet may be con-
sidered where truck and bus volumes are relatively low, rights-of-way are constrained, and design speeds are 35 mph or 
less.

     (c) No parking is allowed for six-lane collectors or arterials A combination of all minimum widths for the driving 
lane, on-road bicycle lane, and parking lane is only permissible with a variance. 

     (d) When creating a multimodal design with a combination of vehicle lane, parking lane, and bikeway lane widths, if 
a vehicle lane width of less than 11 feet is used, the parking and bikeway lanes shall be at least one foot wider than the 
minimum widths. Engineering judgment should be used to choose a vehicle lane width of less than 11 feet. Additional 
factors to consider include the types of vehicles (buses, trucks, etc.), peak hour counts, turning movements, population/
land use, crash history/analysis, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian traffic, other nonmotorized uses, and snow 
storage. 

     (e) (d) In determining the parking lane width, the roadway ADT and the vehicle mix shall be taken into consideration 
for residential,. In commercial and/or or industrial areas, or for a mixed use thereof the minimum parking lane width is 
eight feet.

     (e) When ADT is less than 5,000, seven-ton axle load structural design strength is permissible. 

     A minimum curb reaction of one foot shall be provided unless on-street parking, a bicycle facility, or a wide outside 
lane are provided adjacent to the curb. The dimensions for wide outside lanes include the curb reaction distance. When a 
raised median is included in the design of the two-way roadway, a one-foot minimum curb reaction distance to the medi-
an is required on either side of the median. Minimum median width is four feet. 

     For ADT less than 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes. For ADT greater than or 
equal to 150, the widths of bridges to remain must be at least the sum of the lanes plus one-half the sum of the shoulders, 
parking lane, and curb reaction distance. Bridges to remain must have a load rating factor of at least 0.75 using the AAS-
HTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. 

 
8820.9981  MINIMUM DESIGN STANDARDS: NATURAL PRESERVATION ROUTES, DESIGNATED NA-
TIONAL FOREST HIGHWAYS WITHIN NATIONAL FORESTS, AND STATE PARK ACCESS ROADS 
WITHIN STATE PARKS; NEW OR RECONSTRUCTION PROJECTS. 
 
     Subpart 1. Type I route. New or reconstruction projects for type I natural preservation routes, designated national 
forest highways within national forests, and state park access roads within state parks must meet or exceed the minimum 
dimensions indicated in the following design chart. 

Surface Type Minimum Design 
Speed

Lane 
Width

Shoulder 
Width

Inslope Clear 
Zone

Design 
Strength

Bridge to 
Remain

(mph) (feet) (feet) (rise: 
run)

(feet) (tons) (feet)

(a) (b) (c) (d)
Aggregate 30 11 1 1:3 3 22
Paved 30 11 2 1:3 9 9 22

     Engineering judgment may be used to choose a lane-width or shoulder-width dimension other than the widths indicat-
ed in the chart for roadways. Factors to consider include safety, speed, population, land use, benefit-cost analysis, traffic 
mix, peak hourly traffic, farm equipment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian traffic, 
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other nonmotorized uses, functional classification, or other factors. Widths less than those indicated in the chart require a 
variance under parts 8820.3300 and 8820.3400. 

(a) If the route has scenic vistas that will require parking vehicles along the shoulder, widening the shoulder at these
locations is acceptable. The designer will provide a four-foot paved shoulder if the route is a popular bicycle route. 

(b) Applies to slope within the clear zone only. Other design features, such as guardrails or retaining walls, should be
considered in particularly sensitive areas in lieu of reconstructing the inslope in accordance with part 8820.4060. 

(c) Guardrail is required to be installed at all bridges where the design speed exceeds 40 mph, and either the existing
ADT exceeds 400 or the bridge width is less than the sum of the lane and shoulder widths. 

     Mailbox supports must be in accordance with chapter 8818.

(d) Inventory rating of HS 15 is required. Bridges to remain must have a load rating factor of at least 0.75 using the
AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. A bridge narrower 
than these widths may remain in place if the bridge is not deficient structurally or hydraulically. 

     HS 20 loading with AASHTO Standard Specifications or HL-93 loading with load and resistance factor design 
(LRFD) is required for new bridges. HS 18 loading is required for all rehabilitated bridges. HL-93 loading in the AAS-
HTO LRFD (load and resistance factor design) Specifications is required for new or reconstructed bridges. Rehabilitated 
bridges must have a load rating factor of at least 0.9 using the AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and 
resistance factor rating) for inventory level. The curb-to-curb minimum width for new or reconstructed bridges is the 
sum of the lane and shoulder widths plus four feet. 

     Ditch depths and widths must be kept to the minimum required to function hydraulically and to provide for adequate 
snow storage when a standard ditch would negatively impact the surroundings. 

     The designer shall specify in the plan and special provisions that the clearing width is to be kept to the absolute mini-
mum. In sensitive areas, the normal clearance allowed to a contractor for working room is zero unless otherwise required 
for special conditions. 

     Curb and gutter may be used in lieu of a ditch section under the paved option. The lane width, shoulder width, and 
clear zone must be maintained. 

     For designated national forest highways within national forests, and state park access roads within state parks, this 
subpart applies only where the projected ADT is less than 100, unless the route has been designated as a natural preser-
vation route. 

     For roundabout design, the design criteria of the current edition of the Minnesota State Aid Roundabout Guide are 
recommended. 

     Subp. 2. Type II route. New or reconstruction projects for type II natural preservation routes, designated national 
forest highways within national forests, and state park access roads within state parks must meet or exceed the minimum 
dimensions indicated in the following design chart. 

Surface Type Minimum Design 
Speed

Lane 
Width

Shoulder 
Width

Inslope Clear 
Zone

Design 
Strength

Bridge to 
Remain

(mph) (feet) (feet) (rise: 
run)

(feet) (tons) (feet)

(a) (b) (c) (d)
Aggregate 30 11 2 1:3 9 22
Paved (e) 3040 11 3 1:4 9 9 22
Paved 40 11 3 1:4 9 9 22
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     Engineering judgment may be used to choose a lane-width or shoulder-width dimension other than the widths indicat-
ed in the chart for roadways. Factors to consider include safety, speed, population, land use, benefit-cost analysis, traffic 
mix, peak hourly traffic, farm equipment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian traffic, 
other nonmotorized uses, functional classification, or other factors. Widths less than those indicated in the chart require a 
variance under parts 8820.3300 and 8820.3400. 

     (a) The designer will provide a six-foot paved shoulder if the route is a popular bicycle route. If the route has scenic 
vistas that will require parking vehicles along the shoulder, widening the shoulder at these locations is acceptable. 

     (b) Applies to slope within clear zone only. Other design features, such as guardrail or retaining walls, should be con-
sidered in particularly sensitive areas in lieu of reconstructing the inslope in accordance with part 8820.4060. Approach 
sideslopes must be 1:4 or flatter within the clear zone when the ADT exceeds 400. 

     (c) Guardrail is required to be installed at all bridges where the design speed exceeds 40 mph, and either the existing 
ADT exceeds 400 or the bridge width is less than the sum of the lane and shoulder widths. 

     Mailbox supports must be in accordance with chapter 8818.

     (d) This standard may be applied only when the project is located in a subdivided area. 

     (e) Inventory rating of HS 15 is required. (d) Bridges to remain must have a load rating factor of at least 0.75 using 
the AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. A bridge nar-
rower than these widths may remain in place if the bridge does not qualify for federal-aid bridge funds. 

     (e) A 30 mph design speed may be applied only when the project is located in a suburban area. 

     HS 20 loading with AASHTO Standard Specifications or HL-93 loading with load and resistance factor design 
(LRFD) is required for new bridges. HS 18 loading is required for all rehabilitated bridges. HL-93 loading in the AAS-
HTO LRFD (load and resistance factor design) Specifications is required for new or reconstructed bridges. Rehabilitated 
bridges must have a load rating factor of at least 0.9 using the AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and 
resistance factor rating) for inventory level. The curb-to-curb minimum width for new or reconstructed bridges is the 
sum of the lane and shoulder widths, but may not be less than 30 feet. 

     Ditch depths and widths must be kept to the minimum required to function hydraulically, to be traversable if within 
the clear zone, and to provide for adequate snow storage when a standard ditch would negatively impact the surround-
ings. 

     The designer shall specify in the plan and special provisions that the clearing width is to be kept to the absolute 
minimum. In sensitive areas, the normal clearance allowed to a contractor for working room is zero unless required for 
special conditions. 

     For designated national forest highways within national forests, and state park access roads within state parks, this 
subpart may be applied only where the projected ADT is less than 300, unless the route has been designated as a natural 
preservation route. 

     For roundabout design, the design criteria of the current edition of the Minnesota State Aid Roundabout Guide are 
recommended. 

 
     Subp. 3. Type III route. New or reconstruction projects for type III natural preservation routes, designated national 
forest highways within national forests, and state park access roads within state parks must meet or exceed the minimum 
dimensions indicated in the following design chart. 
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Surface Type Minimum Design 

Speed
Lane 
Width

Shoulder 
Width

Inslope Clear 
Zone

Design 
Strength

Bridge to 
Remain

(mph) (feet) (feet) (rise: 
run)

(feet) (tons) (feet)

(a) (b) (c) (d)
Aggregate 30 11-12 3 1:4 10 24
Paved (e) 30 12 4 1:4 10 9 24
Paved (e) 40 11-12 4 1:4 15 9 24

     Engineering judgment may be used to choose a lane-width or shoulder-width dimension other than the widths indicat-
ed in the chart for roadways. Factors to consider include safety, speed, population, land use, benefit-cost analysis, traffic 
mix, peak hourly traffic, farm equipment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian traffic, 
other nonmotorized uses, functional classification, or other factors. Widths less than those indicated in the chart require a 
variance under parts 8820.3300 and 8820.3400. 

     (a) The designer will provide a six-foot paved shoulder if the route is a popular bicycle route. If the route has scenic 
vistas which will require parking vehicles along the shoulder, widening the shoulder at these locations is acceptable. 

     (b) Applies to slope within the clear zone only. Other design features, such as guardrail or retaining walls, should be 
considered in particularly sensitive areas in lieu of reconstructing the inslope in accordance with part 8820.4060. Ap-
proach sideslopes must be 1:4 or flatter within the clear zone when the ADT exceeds 400. 

     (c) Guardrail is required to be installed at all bridges where the design speed exceeds 40 mph, and either the existing 
ADT exceeds 400 or the bridge width is less than the sum of the lane and shoulder widths. 

     Mailbox supports must be in accordance with chapter 8818.

     (d) Inventory rating of HS 15 is required. Bridges to remain must have a load rating factor of at least 0.75 using the 
AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor rating) for inventory level. A bridge narrower 
than these widths may remain in place if the bridge does not qualify for federal-aid bridge funds. 

     (e) This standard may be applied only when the project is located in a subdivided area or an area in a detailed devel-
opment process, and physical restraints are present that prevent reasonable application of another level of these stan-
dards. A design speed of 30 mph and a clear zone of ten feet may be applied when the project is located in a suburban 
area. 

     HS 25 loading with AASHTO Standard Specifications or HL-93 loading with load and resistance factor design 
(LRFD) is required for new bridges. HS 18 loading is required for all rehabilitated bridges. HL-93 loading in the AAS-
HTO LRFD (load and resistance factor design) Specifications is required for new or reconstructed bridges. Rehabilitated 
bridges must have a load rating factor of at least 0.9 using the AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and 
resistance factor rating) for inventory level. The curb-to-curb minimum width for new or reconstructed bridges is the 
sum of the lane and shoulder widths, but may not be less than 32 feet. 

     Ditch depths and widths must be kept to the minimum required to function hydraulically, to be traversable if within 
the clear zone, and to provide for adequate snow storage when a standard ditch would negatively affect the surroundings. 

     The designer shall specify in the plan and special provisions that the clearing width is to be kept to the absolute 
minimum. In sensitive areas, the normal clearance allowed to a contractor for working room is zero unless required for 
special conditions. 

     For roundabout design, the design criteria of the current edition of the Minnesota State Aid Roundabout Guide are 
recommended. 
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8820.9986  MINIMUM DESIGN STANDARDS: NATURAL RESERVATION PRESERVATION ROUTES, DES-
IGNATED NATIONAL FOREST HIGHWAYS WITHIN NATIONAL FORESTS, AND STATE PARK ACCESS 
ROADS WITHIN STATE PARKS; RECONDITIONING PROJECTS. 

     Reconditioning projects for natural preservation routes, designated national forest highways within national forests, 
and state park access roads within state parks must meet or exceed the minimum dimensions indicated in the following 
design chart. 

TYPE I, II, OR III ROUTE
Proposed Design Strength Pavement Width Shoulder-to-Shoulder Width

(tons) (feet) (feet)
7 22 (a) 26 (a)

     Engineering judgment may be used to choose dimensions other than those indicated in the chart for roadways. Factors 
to consider include safety, speed, population, land use, benefit-cost analysis, traffic mix, peak hourly traffic, farm equip-
ment, environmental impacts, terrain limitations, bicycle traffic, pedestrian traffic, other nonmotorized uses, functional 
classification, or other factors. Dimensions less than those indicated in the chart under this part require a variance under 
parts 8820.3300 and 8820.3400. 

     (a) Natural preservation routes may be reconditioned to existing pavement and shoulder widths. 

     Widths of bridges to remain in place must equal pavement width. A bridge narrower than these widths may remain in 
place if the bridge does not qualify for federal-aid bridge funds. H 15 loading is required. Bridges to remain must have 
a load rating factor of at least 0.75 using the AASHTO Manual for Bridge Evaluation, LRFR (load and resistance factor 
rating) for inventory level. 

 
8820.9995  MINIMUM BICYCLE OFF-ROAD AND SHARED USE PATH STANDARDS. 

Minimum Bicycle Path Standards(a)

For Off-Road Bike Shared Use Path Design, the following shall apply:
Minimum Surface Width (two-
way) 8 ft (b) (a)

Shoulder/Clear Zone 2 ft (b) (c) (d)
Inslope Maximum 1:2 (rise:run)
Design Speed 20 mph (e) (d)
Vertical Clearance over lane and 
shoulder

9 ft-9 in 10 ft nominal (7 ft-9 in 8 ft nominal if passage of emergency or main-
tenance vehicles is not required) (e)

     (a) For on-road bicycle facilities, the current Minnesota Department of Transportation bicycle design guidelines are 
recommended for design purposes. 

     (b) (a) Ten feet is desired for a combined bicycle/pedestrian shared use path. Five feet is required for a one-way bicy-
cle shared use path.

     (c) Whenever practicable, the shoulder/clear zone of an off-road bikepath should be carried across bridges and 
through underpasses. Minimum structure clear width must be 12 feet. When the full width of the approach bike path 
(surface width plus shoulder/clear zone) is greater than the proposed clear width of the structure, then lead-in bicycle 
safety railing is required at each end of the bridge or underpass. As an alternative to lead-in bicycle safety railing, the 
surface width of the approach bike path may be narrowed at a 1:50 taper while maintaining minimum surface width and 
shoulder/clear zone through the structure. (b) For vehicular roadway bridges or underpasses accommodating an off-road 
bicycle path or shared use path, the total width (minimum surface width plus shoulder/clear zone) is eight feet minimum, 
with ten feet being desirable. However, whenever practicable, the shoulder/clear zone of an off-road bike or shared use 
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path should be carried across or under a vehicular bridge. When the clear zone of an off-road bike or shared use path 
cannot practicably be carried across or under the bridge, a lead-in guardrail must be provided, unless the surface width 
of the approach path is narrowed at a maximum 1:50 taper while providing the minimum travel lane and shoulder/clear 
zone widths through the structure. 

     For a separate off-road bicycle path or shared use path, the shoulder/clear zone must be carried across bridge or 
underpass structures. Minimum structure clear width must be 12 feet. When the surface width plus shoulder/clear zone 
width of the approaching off-road bike or shared use path is greater than the proposed clear width of the structure, then 
lead-in bicycle safety railing is required, unless the surface width of the approach path is narrowed at a maximum 1:50 
taper while providing the minimum travel lane and shoulder/clear zone widths through the structure. 

     (d) (c) Clear zone is measured from the edge of the bicycle travel lane.

     (e) (d) Use a 30 mph design speed for grades longer than 500 feet and greater than four percent, from the uphill point 
where the grade equals four percent to 500 feet beyond the downhill point where the grade becomes less than four per-
cent. The maximum allowable grade is 8.3 percent. 

     (e) When an off-road bicycle or shared use path continues through a box culvert structure, up to three inches of bitu-
minous surfacing may be used through the structure. The minimum vertical clearance for box culvert structures is nine 
feet, nine inches, or seven feet, nine inches if passage of emergency or maintenance vehicles is not necessary. 

REPEALER.Minnesota Rules, parts 8820.0200, subpart 35; and 8820.1900, are repealed.

Commissioner’s Orders
Various agency commissioners are authorized to issue "commissioner's orders" on specified activities gov-

erned by their agency's enabling laws.  See the Minnesota Statutes governing each agency to determine the specific 
applicable statutes. Commissioners' orders are approved by assistant attorneys general as to form and execution and 
published in the State Register. These commissioners orders are compiled in the year-end subject matter index for 
each volume of the State Register.

Department of Natural Resources
Commissioner’s Order 17-02: Middle Lake, Kandiyohi County (DOW# 34020800) –  
Slow-no wake only

Date:  October 30, 2017
Statutory authority:  Minnesota Statutes, section 97A.101 subd. 4
☐ Supersedes 
☒ Supplements Commissioner’s Order 14-03

BACKGROUND
The Commissioner can restrict watercraft use on Designated Wildlife Lakes per M.S. 97A.101, subdivision 4 after a 

public meeting has been held and news releases announcing the meeting and proposed restrictions have been published. 
The statutory requirements to implement such restrictions on Middle Lake have been met.

ORDER
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, pursuant to authority vested in me by law, including Minne-

sota Statutes, section 97A.101, subdivision 4, that watercraft use on Middle Lake (DOW #34020800) is slow-no wake 
only. Slow- no wake means operation of a watercraft at the slowest possible speed necessary to maintain steerage, but in 
no case greater than five miles per hour.

Date: Oct. 18, 2017
Tom Landwehr, Commissioner	
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Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject 

matter of a  possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the 
State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of 
the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.  

The State Register also publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notic-
es of meetings and matters of public interest.

Department of Human Services (DHS)
Health Care Administration

Public Notice Regarding Changes to Payment Rates and Methodologies, and Services 
under the Medical Assistance (MA) Program

This notice is published pursuant to Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, part 447, section 205 (42 C.F.R. § 
447.205), which requires publication of a notice when there is any significant proposed change in the methods and stan-
dards for setting payment rates for Medicaid services. 

This notice corrects an error in the June 26, 2017, edition of the State Register describing payment rates for pressure 
and non-pressure support ventilators. The June 26 notice incorrectly described a change to the payment rate for non-pres-
sure support ventilators. The notice said, “…the Commissioner shall pay for pressure and non-pressure support ventila-
tors at the lower of the submitted charge or the Medicare fee schedule rate plus 47 percent.” 

Effective July 1, 2017, the Commissioner shall pay for pressure support ventilators at the lower of the submitted 
charge or the Medicare fee schedule rate plus 47 percent. There is no change to the payment methodology for non-pres-
sure support ventilators.

This notice also corrects an error in the August 21, 2017, edition of the State Register describing payment rates 
for the administration of vaccines provided to children. The August 21 notice included an incorrect statement of fiscal 
impact. The notice said that the changes would result in a net spending increase of $28,000 in the MA program for fiscal 
year 2018. 

The new payment methodology for vaccine administration effective January 1, 2018, will result in a net savings of 
$55,000 in the MA program for calendar year 2018.

For more information, or questions about submitting or reviewing comments, please contact Sean Barrett at 651-
431-2298 or sean.barrett@state.mn.us. Comments may also be mailed to Sean Barrett at P.O. Box 64983, St Paul, MN
55164. Copies of this notice, and any comments received, may be reviewed by appointment at the Elmer L. Anderson
Human Services building located at 540 Cedar St, St Paul, MN 55101.

Department of Labor & Industry (DLI)
Notice of Prevailing Wage Determinations for Highway/Heavy Construction Projects

The Commissioner has identified and certified prevailing wage rates for Highway & Heavy construction projects in 
all 10 state regions on October 30, 2017.

Wage rate determinations are available online at: http://www.dli.mn.gov/LS/PrevWageHwyH.asp

Questions regarding determinations may be directed to the following:

Division of Labor Standards & Apprenticeship
443 Lafayette Road N
St. Paul, MN 55155

Phone: 651-284-5091
Email: dli.prevwage@state.mn.us
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Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association (MCHA)
Official Meeting Notice

The Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association (MCHA), administrator for the Minnesota Premium Security 
Plan, will hold an Actuarial Committee meeting on Tuesday, November 7th, 2017 at 1:30 P.M.   

For additional information on attendance at this meeting please call MCHA at 952-593-9609.

Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association (MCHA)
Official Meeting Notice

The Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association (MCHA), administrator for the Minnesota Premium Security 
Plan, will hold a Finance Committee meeting on Friday, November 17th, 2017 at 9:00 A.M.  

For additional information on attendance at this meeting please call MCHA at 952-593-9609.

Minnesota Plumbing Board
REQUEST FOR COMMENTS for Possible Amendments to Rules Governing Plumber 
Licensing, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Plumbing Board requests comments on its possible amendments to rules govern-
ing plumber licensing. The Board is considering the following rule amendments: (1) rules on the new classification of 
registered unlicensed individuals for water conditioning installation; (2) rules on continuing education for registered 
unlicensed individuals; (3) amendments to afford licensees and registrants broader access to remote and online continu-
ing education course offerings; (4) amendments for consistency with changes that have been made in Minnesota Statutes 
chapter 326B and in the Plumbing Code; and (5) other amendments that the Board determines are needed. 

Persons Affected. The amendments to the rules would likely affect individuals and contractors currently licensed, 
certified or registered in Minnesota under Chapter 4716, individuals and contractors who would like to be licensed, 
certified or registered under Chapter 4716, individuals who perform water conditioning installation but are not licensed, 
certified or registered, providers of continuing education courses, and the general public.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(5), authorizes the Board to adopt rules to 
regulate licensure, certification, or registration of plumbing contractors, journey workers, unlicensed individuals, master 
plumbers, restricted master plumbers, restricted journey workers, restricted plumbing contractors, backflow prevention 
rebuilders and testers, water conditioning contractors, and water conditioning installers, and other persons engaged in 
the design, installation, and alteration of plumbing systems or engaged in or working at the business of water condition-
ing installation or service, or engaged in or working at the business of medical gas system installation, maintenance, 
or repair, except for those individuals licensed under section 326.02, subdivisions 2 and 3. Minnesota Statutes, section 
326B.555, which was enacted in 2017, creates a new category of registered unlicensed individuals to perform water 
conditioning installation and authorizes the Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals. The 
Board’s authority to adopt rules regulating continuing education was amended in 2017 to include continuing education 
for all registered unlicensed individuals. Specifically, Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(6), as amended in 
2017, authorizes the Board to adopt rules that regulate continuing education for individuals licensed as master plumb-
ers, journey workers, restricted master plumbers, restricted journey workers, registered unlicensed individuals, water 
conditioning masters, and water conditioning journey workers, and for individuals certified under sections 326B.437 and 
326B.438. 

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in 
writing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Board intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. 
The Board will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date of this 
request for comments. The Board does not plan to appoint an advisory committee to comment on the possible rules. 
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The Board is also interested in learning whether local governments might be required to adopt or amend an ordi-

nance or other regulation to implement these rules and therefore requests that local governments provide the Board 
with relevant information about their ordinances.

The Board is interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after the rule 
takes effect will cost will exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.127, 
subd. 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a small busi-
ness means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees.  

Rules Drafts. The Department has not yet drafted the possible rule amendments. 

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, requests to receive a draft of the rules when it has been 
prepared, and requests for more information on these possible rules should be directed to: Suzanne Todnem at Minnesota 
Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, Saint Paul, MN 55155, 651.284.5006, and email  
dli.rules@state.mn.us. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 
print, braille, or audio. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone 
number listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking re-
cord submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required 
to submit to the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you 
submit comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews 
the comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Dated: October 17, 2017					   

Richard Jacobs, Chair
Minnesota Plumbing Board

Minnesota Department of Revenue
Official Notice: Cigarette Sales Tax – Rate Change; Cigarette Excise Tax – Rate Change

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 297F.25, the Commissioner of Revenue has determined that the new ciga-
rette sales tax rate will be 57.4 cents per pack of 20 cigarettes. For packs of cigarettes with other than 20 cigarettes, the 
tax must be adjusted proportionally. This rate is effective for sales on or after January 1, 2018.

2016 Minnesota Statutes, section 297F.05, subdivision 1a, which required the Commissioner of Revenue to annu-
ally adjust the cigarette excise tax rate, was repealed effective July 1, 2017. As a result, the cigarette excise tax rate will 
remain at 152 mills on each cigarette.

Publication Date: October 30, 2017

Teachers Retirement Association
Notice of Meeting 

The Board of Trustees, Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association will hold a meeting on Wednesday, November 
15, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Suite 400, 60 Empire Drive, St. Paul, MN to consider matters which may properly come before 
the Board.  Board members may participate by telephone.
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Teachers Retirement Association

TRA Audit Committee
Notice of Meeting

The Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association Audit Committee will hold a meeting on Tuesday, November 14, 
2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 414, 60 Empire Drive, St. Paul, MN to consider matters which may properly come before the 
committee.  Committee members may participate by telephone.

State Contracts
     
Informal Solicitations:  Informal solicitations for professional/technical (consultant) contracts valued at over 

$5,000 through $50,000, may either be published in the State Register or posted on the Department of Administra-
tion, Materials Management Division’s (MMD) Web site.  Interested vendors are encouraged to monitor the P/T 
Contract Section of the MMD Website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us for informal solicitation announcements.  

Formal Solicitations:  Department of Administration procedures require that formal solicitations (announce-
ments for contracts with an estimated value over $50,000) for professional/technical contracts must be published in 
the State Register.  Certain quasi-state agency and Minnesota State College and University institutions are exempt 
from these requirements. 

Requirements:   There are no statutes or rules requiring contracts to be advertised for any specific length 
of time, but the  Materials Management Division strongly recommends meeting the following requirements: $0 
- $5000 does not need to be advertised.  Contact the Materials Management Division:  (651) 296-2600 $5,000 - 
$25,000 should be advertised in the State Register for a period of at least seven calendar days; $25,000 - $50,000 
should be advertised in the State Register for a period of at least 14 calendar days; and anything above $50,000 
should be advertised in the State Register for a minimum of at least 21 calendar  days.

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (Minnesota State)
Metropolitan State University

Notice of Request for Proposals (RFP) for the GROW-IT Center Project Design

Metropolitan State University is soliciting proposals from qualified architectural and engineering consulting firms to 
provide services for the design and construction to remodel and construct an addition to its greenhouse.  The full Request 
for Proposals (RFP) can be downloaded at: http://www.minnstate.edu/vendors/index.html

A mandatory project informational meeting has been scheduled for 2:00 PM, Monday, November 13, 2017, Founders 
Hall Room 301 at Metropolitan State University, 700 East 7th Street, Saint Paul, MN.

Proposals must be delivered to:
Mark Bollinger

Director of Operations
Suite 321 Founders Hall

Metropolitan State University
700 East 7th Street

Saint Paul, MN   55106-5000

Proposals must be received NO later than 2:00 PM, Tuesday, November 28, 2017; late responses will not be 
considered.  Metropolitan State University reserves the right to reject any or all proposals, to waive any irregularities or 
informalities, and to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be its own best interest.  This Request for Proposals does 
not obligate Metropolitan State University to award a contract.
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Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (Minnesota State)

St. Cloud Technical & Community College
Formal Request for Proposal for Snow Removal Services 

Response Due Date and Time:  Monday, November 6, 2017 at 12:00 p.m. Central Time

The complete Request for Proposal will be available on Monday, October 23, 2017 on the website  
http://www.sctcc.edu/rfp.

Title of Project:   Snow Removal

Geographic Location Requirements:  St. Cloud Technical & Community College, 1540 Northway Drive, St. Cloud, 
MN  56303

Responses must be received at the location listed below:

	 St. Cloud Technical & Community College
	 1540 Northway Drive
	 St. Cloud, MN  56303
	 Susan Meyer, Purchasing Agent, Room 1-401
	 Phone:  (320) 308-5973
	 Fax:      (320) 308-5027
	 E-mail:  smeyer@sctcc.edu

Contact for questions:  Susan Meyer, Phone:  (320) 308-5973 e-mail:  smeyer@sctcc.edu 

Your response to this Request for Proposal (RFP) must be returned sealed.  Sealed responses must be received no 
later than the due date and time specified above.  Late responses cannot be considered and the responses will be rejected.  

The laws of Minnesota and MnSCU Board of Trustees policies and procedures apply to this RFP.

All attached General RFP Terms and Conditions, Specifications and Special Terms and Conditions are part of the 
RFP and will be incorporated into any contract(s) entered into as a result of this RFP.

All responses to this RFP must be prepared as stated herein and properly signed.  Address all correspondence and 
inquiries regarding this RFP to the Contact person above.  This is a request for responses to an RFP and is NOT a 
purchase order.

Minnesota House of Representatives and Minnesota Senate
Requests for Bids for printing the Official Directory of the Minnesota Legislature

 
The Minnesota House of Representatives and the Minnesota Senate are seeking bids from qualified printers to pro-

vide printing services for the Official Directory of the Minnesota Legislature.
 
The size of the publication will be 4" x 6". The Official Directory of the Minnesota Legislature will contain approxi-

mately 424 pages plus cover.
 
All bids must be submitted on the forms accompanying the specifications in a sealed envelope and delivered to 175 

State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155-1298 no later than November 13, 
2017 at 2 p.m. (CT) Bid submittals will be opened publicly on that date and time.
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A copy of the Request for Bid packet can be obtained by contacting: Barry LaGrave, 175 State Office Building, St. 

Paul, Minnesota 55155-1298, phone: 651-297-1338, email: barry.lagrave@house.mn.
 
Other department personnel are NOT allowed to discuss the Request for Bid with anyone, including responders, 

before the proposal submission deadline.

Metropolitan Council 
Request for Bids for Green Line LRT Extension (“Southwest LRT”) Civil Construction

Invitation for Bid #15P307A (Rebid)

The Metropolitan Council intends to re-solicit sealed bids for Civil Construction of the Southwest Light Rail Transit 
Line, an approximately 15-mile line that will serve the Twin Cities metropolitan region of Minnesota, operating from 
downtown Minneapolis through the southwestern suburban cities of St. Louis Park, Hopkins, Minnetonka, and Eden 
Prairie.

The anticipated issue date for the Invitation for Bids is October 30, 2017.  Visit www.metrocouncil.org (see Doing 
Business) for additional information.  

Questions may be directed to Auburn Dees, IFB Administrator, auburn.dees@metc.state.mn.us or 651-602-1346.

Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) 
Engineering Services Division

Notice of Potential Availability of Contracting Opportunities for a Variety of Highway  
Related Technical Activities (“Consultant Pre-Qualification Program”)

This document is available in alternative formats for persons with disabilities by calling Kelly Arneson at (651) 366-
4774; for persons who are hearing or speech impaired by calling Minnesota Relay Service at (800) 627-3529. 

Mn/DOT, worked in conjunction with the Consultant Reform Committee, the American Council of Engineering 
Companies of Minnesota (ACEC/MN), and the Department of Administration, to develop the Consultant Pre-Qualifica-
tion Program as a new method of consultant selection. The ultimate goal of the Pre-Qualification Program is to stream-
line the process of contracting for highway related professional/technical services. Mn/DOT awards most of its consul-
tant contracts for highway-related technical activities using this method, however, Mn/DOT also reserves the right to use 
Request for Proposal (RFP) or other selection processes for particular projects.

Nothing in this solicitation requires Mn/DOT to use the Consultant Pre-Qualification Program.

Mn/DOT is currently requesting applications from consultants. Refer to Mn/DOT’s Consultant Services web site, 
indicated below, to expenses are incurred in responding to this notice will be borne by the responder. Response to this 
notice becomes public information under the Minnesota Government Data Practices.

Consultant Pre-Qualification Program information, application requirements and applications forms are available on 
Mn/DOT’s Consultant Services web site at: http://www.dot.state.mn.us/consult.

Send completed application material to:
Kelly Arneson

Consultant Services
Office of Technical Support

Minnesota Department of Transportation
395 John Ireland Blvd. -  Mail Stop 680

St. Paul, MN 55155
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Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT)

Engineering Services Division
Notice Concerning Professional/Technical Contract Opportunities and Taxpayers’ 
Transportation Accountability Act Notices

NOTICE TO ALL: The Minnesota Department of Transportation (Mn/DOT) is now placing additional public notic-
es for professional/technical contract opportunities on Mn/DOT’s Consultant Services website at:  www.dot.state.mn.us/
consult

New Public notices may be added to the website on a daily basis and be available for the time period as indicated 
within the public notice.  Mn/DOT is also posting notices as required by the Taxpayers’ Transportation Accountability 
Act on the above referenced website.

Several convenient ways to order:
• Retail store Open 8 a.m. - 3 p.m. Monday - Friday, 660 Olive Street, St. Paul
• Phone (credit cards): 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday - Friday, 651.297.3000 (Twin Cities) or 1.800.657.3757

(nationwide toll-free)
• On-line orders:  www.minnesotasbookstore.com
• Minnesota Relay Service: 711
• Fax (credit cards):  651.215.5733 (fax line available 24 hours)
• Mail orders:  Orders can be sent to Minnesota’s Bookstore,  660 Olive Street, St. Paul, MN  55155
Minnesota’s Bookstore accepts VISA, MasterCard, American Express & Discover for all purchases.
PREPAYMENT REQUIRED.  Prices and availability subject to change.  Fax and phone orders require credit 
card.  
Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery.  For mail orders, complete order blank and send to address above.  
Enclose payment - for security reasons, we do not recommend mailing credit card information.  
Please allow 2-3 weeks for delivery.   
Please make checks payable to "Minnesota's Bookstore."  
A $20.00 fee will be charged for returned checks.
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No petition for rulemaking is submitted because the Plumbing Board did not receive a petition 
for rulemaking.  
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1.1 Plumbing Board​

1.2 Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Plumbing Licensing​

1.3 4716.0010 DEFINITIONS.​

1.4 [For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.]​

1.5 Subp. 6. Registered unlicensed plumber. "Registered unlicensed plumber" means​

1.6 an individual who performs plumbing work for a contractor or employer, does not hold any​

1.7 class of plumber license, is not a plumber's apprentice as described in Minnesota Statutes,​

1.8 section 326B.42, subdivision 6, and is registered with the commissioner under part​

1.9 4716.0050.​

1.10 4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS.​

1.11 Subpart 1. Examinations. An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted​

1.12 journeyworker or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination​

1.13 given by the commissioner. Examinations for journeyworker and master plumber licenses​

1.14 shall be held in March and September of each year. Applications for the March examination​

1.15 must be filed not later than February 15 and for the September examination not later than​

1.16 August 15.​

1.17 A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:​

1.18 (1) a current Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and five years of​

1.19 practical plumbing experience at least one year of practical plumbing experience as a licensed​

1.20 journeyworker plumber as described in subpart 2;​

1.21 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

1.22 B. An applicant for the journeyworker examination:​

1.23 (1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota as described​

1.24 in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.42, subdivision 6, or must be a registered unlicensed​

1​4716.0020​
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2.1 plumber as described in part 4716.0010, subpart 6, and must have at least four years of​

2.2 recorded practical plumbing experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F;​

2.3 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

2.4 Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience​

2.5 described in subpart 1.​

2.6 [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]​

2.7 E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyworker plumber or a licensed​

2.8 restricted master plumber, subitems (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2.9 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

2.10 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

2.11 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

2.12 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

2.13 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

2.14 work and corresponding number of hours:​

2.15 (a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours;​

2.16 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and​

2.17 (c) fixture installation, 500 hours.​

2.18 [For text of subitem (2), see M.R.]​

2.19 (3) The applicant must have completed the entire two years of practical​

2.20 plumbing experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination.​

2.21 F. If the applicant is a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber, subitems​

2.22 (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2​4716.0020​
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3.1 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

3.2 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

3.3 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

3.4 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

3.5 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

3.6 work and corresponding number of hours:​

3.7 (a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours;​

3.8 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and​

3.9 (c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours.​

3.10 (2) Except for experience qualifying under subitem (3), The applicant must​

3.11 have been a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber at all times while obtaining​

3.12 the practical plumbing experience. or the applicant must have obtained the practical plumbing​

3.13 experience in one of the following ways:​

3.14 (a) during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies​

3.15 the experience;​

3.16 (b) as part of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner,​

3.17 and an authorized representative of the plumbing educational institution certifies the​

3.18 experience; or​

3.19 (c) as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is​

3.20 verified by a state agency that regulates plumbing licensing in that state or by a federal​

3.21 agency.​

3.22 (3) Up to 24 months of practical plumbing experience gained before the​

3.23 effective date of the applicant's initial registration as a plumber's apprentice will be credited​

3.24 if the applicant gained some of the experience during the 12-month period immediately​

3.25 prior to the effective date of the applicant's initial registration and if:​

3​4716.0020​
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4.1 (a) the applicant gained the plumbing experience during military service,​

4.2 and the applicant's military officer certifies the experience;​

4.3 (b) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as part of a plumbing​

4.4 education class approved by the commissioner, and an authorized representative of the​

4.5 educational institution certifies the experience; or​

4.6 (c) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as a plumber's​

4.7 apprentice in another state where the experience is verified by a state agency in that state​

4.8 or by a federal agency.​

4.9 G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (3) (2), units (a) to (c), all practical​

4.10 plumbing experience must be certified by the licensed master plumber or plumbing contractor​

4.11 who is responsible for the work performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the​

4.12 restricted master plumber's own experience. The employer of a journeyworker plumber,​

4.13 restricted master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber, or plumber's apprentice​

4.14 registered unlicensed plumber is responsible for:​

4.15 [For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]​

4.16 4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES.​

4.17 Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration. Initial and renewal renewed journeyworker​

4.18 plumber's licenses and renewed restricted journeyworker plumber's licenses expire on​

4.19 December 31 of each odd-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Initial and renewed​

4.20 master plumber's licenses, and renewal restricted journeyworker and renewed restricted​

4.21 master plumber's licenses, shall be issued for the calendar year for which application is​

4.22 made and shall expire on December 31 of such year each even-numbered year after issuance​

4.23 or renewal. Any journeyworker plumber, master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber,​

4.24 or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal application after December 31 shall​

4.25 not work as a plumber until the person has submitted an application, fee, and penalty fee.​

4​4716.0040​
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5.1 Any licensed journeyworker or master plumber who does not renew the license within two​

5.2 years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person must retake and pass the examination​

5.3 before a new license will be issued. Any licensed restricted journeyworker or restricted​

5.4 master plumber who does not renew the license within 12 months two years of the license​

5.5 expiration will permanently forfeit the restricted plumber license.​

5.6 Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be submitted to​

5.7 the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 of​

5.8 the year preceding the year for in which application is made the license expires. The​

5.9 application must be accompanied by the required fee. Journeyworker and master plumbers​

5.10 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within​

5.11 two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay all past due renewal​

5.12 fees plus the required late fee. Restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers​

5.13 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within 12​

5.14 months two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay the past due​

5.15 renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

5.16 4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE REGISTERED​
5.17 UNLICENSED PLUMBER.​

5.18 Subpart 1. Scope. Subpart 2 shall does not apply to a registered plumber's apprentices​

5.19 apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1) paragraph​

5.20 (a).​

5.21 Subp. 2. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a plumber's apprentice​

5.22 registered unlicensed plumber until that person has submitted an application and fee for​

5.23 registration to the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for​

5.24 the period from July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial​

5.25 and renewal registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each​

5.26 registration period on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by​

5​4716.0050​
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6.1 the required fee. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber who submits a​

6.2 registration application after July 1 in any year must pay the past due renewal fee plus the​

6.3 required late fee.​

6.4 A. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber must be at least 18 years​

6.5 of age or be a high school graduate, except that an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber​

6.6 employed and supervised by the apprentice's registered unlicensed plumber's parent must​

6.7 be at least 16 years of age.​

6.8 B. At the time of registration, an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber must​

6.9 provide a name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and information about​

6.10 education and practical plumbing experience.​

6.11 4716.0091 DEFINITIONS.​

6.12 Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 4716.0090 to 4716.0092 have the meanings​

6.13 given them in this part, UPC sections 201.0 to 228.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

6.14 4714.0050, and Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50.​

6.15 Subp. 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner. "Registered unlicensed water​

6.16 conditioner" means an individual who performs water conditioning work for a contractor​

6.17 or employer, does not hold any class of water conditioning license, and is registered with​

6.18 the commissioner under part 4716.0093.​

6.19 4716.0092 LICENSURE.​

6.20 Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning​

6.21 contractor license must designate a water conditioning responsible licensed master or master​

6.22 plumber, licensed by the commissioner, as the individual responsible for the water​

6.23 conditioning contractor's compliance with this part, chapter 4714, Minnesota Statutes,​

6.24 sections 326B.50 to 326B.59, and all orders issued under Minnesota Statutes, section​

6.25 326B.082 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible water​

6​4716.0092​
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7.1 conditioning licensed master or master plumber must give a minimum 15-day notice to the​

7.2 water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the responsible water​

7.3 conditioning licensed master or master plumber for the contractor. The contractor and​

7.4 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber must immediately notify​

7.5 the department upon the termination or separation of the contractor's responsible water​

7.6 conditioning licensed master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall​

7.7 have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous responsible water conditioning​

7.8 licensed master or master plumber to employ another responsible water conditioning licensed​

7.9 master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written notification​

7.10 to the department that it has designated a different water conditioning responsible licensed​

7.11 master or master plumber as the individual responsible for the contractor's compliance with​

7.12 this part, chapter 4714, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. If the water​

7.13 conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible water conditioning​

7.14 licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning contractor's license is invalid​

7.15 and the contractor shall cease and desist from performing any water conditioning work and​

7.16 return the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement​

7.17 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning​

7.18 contractor may request reinstatement of the terminated license under Minnesota Statutes,​

7.19 section 326B.096.​

7.20 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​

7.21 Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning​

7.22 journeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner.​

7.23 An applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker examination must have been a​

7.24 registered unlicensed water conditioner at all times while obtaining at least six months of​

7.25 practical experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitem (2), except as permitted in subpart​

7.26 4, item A, subitem (4). The applicant is responsible for verifying practical experience.​

7​4716.0092​
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8.1 Subp. 4. Experience. For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2​

8.2 and 3, the following requirements apply.​

8.3 [For text of items A to C, see M.R.]​

8.4 D. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner:​

8.5 (1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner​

8.6 at all times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience, except as allowed​

8.7 under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, subdivision 2; and​

8.8 (2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed​

8.9 water conditioning master who is responsible for the work performed. Practical water​

8.10 conditioning experience includes installation, servicing, and training hours. The commissioner​

8.11 may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to​

8.12 evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy​

8.13 and acceptability of an applicant's experience.​

8.14 E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed​

8.15 water conditioner is responsible for:​

8.16 (1) recording the practical water conditioning experience worked by each​

8.17 employee; and​

8.18 (2) maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience for at​

8.19 least six years after the employee's last recorded experience.​

8.20 [For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]​

8.21 4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION.​

8.22 Subpart 1. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a registered unlicensed​

8.23 water conditioner until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to​

8.24 the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from​

8​4716.0093​
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9.1 July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal​

9.2 registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period​

9.3 on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A​

9.4 registered unlicensed water conditioner who submits a registration application after July 1​

9.5 in any year must pay the renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

9.6 A. A registered unlicensed water conditioner must be at least 18 years of age or​

9.7 a high school graduate, except that a registered unlicensed water conditioner employed and​

9.8 supervised by the registered unlicensed water conditioner's parent must be at least 16 years​

9.9 of age.​

9.10 B. An applicant for registration under this part must provide a name, address, date​

9.11 of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and practical water​

9.12 conditioning experience on a form provided by the commissioner.​

9.13 4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS.​

9.14 Subpart 1. Continuing education; content.​

9.15 A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

9.16 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain 16 hours of continuing​

9.17 education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

9.18 (1) master plumber;​

9.19 (2) journeyworker plumber; and​

9.20 (3) restricted plumber.​

9.21 At least 12 eight hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, and at least four​

9.22 hours of instruction must pertain to the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

9.23 technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, this chapter, the Minnesota​

9.24 State Building Code, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.49 326B.59.​

9​4716.0205​
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10.1 Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must not exceed four hours​

10.2 during the renewal period comply with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.3 B. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.4 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain four hours of​

10.5 continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

10.6 (1) water conditioning master; and​

10.7 (2) water conditioning journeyworker.​

10.8 At least two hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remainder must​

10.9 pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water conditioning installation and​

10.10 servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. Continuing​

10.11 education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply with Minnesota Statutes,​

10.12 sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.13 C. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.14 individuals who hold the following registration types are required to obtain continuing​

10.15 education instruction during the registration period before the registration can be renewed:​

10.16 (1) registered unlicensed plumbers; and​

10.17 (2) registered unlicensed water conditioners.​

10.18 The registered unlicensed plumber must obtain at least two hours of continuing education​

10.19 instruction that must pertain to the Plumbing Code.​

10.20 The registered unlicensed water conditioner must obtain at least two hours of continuing​

10.21 education instruction. At least one hour of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

10.22 and the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water​

10.23 conditioning installation and servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50​

10​4716.0205​
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11.1 to 326B.59. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply​

11.2 with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

11.3 C D. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

11.4 326B, an applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain​

11.5 four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the​

11.6 certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical​

11.7 topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems, this chapter,​

11.8 NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438.​

11.9 D E. In addition to satisfying the requirements of part 4716.0097 and Minnesota​

11.10 Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following certifications are required to​

11.11 obtain the following continuing education during the certification period before the certificate​

11.12 may be renewed:​

11.13 (1) a backflow prevention rebuilder shall meet the minimum requirements​

11.14 to recertify in ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130; and​

11.15 (2) a backflow prevention tester shall meet the minimum requirements to​

11.16 recertify in ASSE Standard 5110.​

11.17 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​
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1 
Chapter 4716 SONAR, R04365 

Minnesota Plumbing Board 

STATEMENT OF NEED AND REASONABLENESS 

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, chapter 

4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365 

INTRODUCTION 

The Minnesota Plumbing Board (“Board”) intends to adopt rules regulating the registration of 

unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed 

individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of both plumbers and water 

conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered 

unlicensed individuals.    

In 2017, the Minnesota Legislature granted the Board rulemaking authority over a new category 

of registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation and authorized 

the Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.1  Additionally, the 

Minnesota Legislature newly granted the Board authority to regulate continuing education 

requirements for all registered unlicensed individuals.2   

There are two notable changes in the proposed rule amendments. First, the Board’s proposed 

amendments provide the requirements for the registration of unlicensed water conditioners 

(registration of unlicensed plumbers is already in rule). The Board anticipates that some 

registered unlicensed individuals will apply their work experience to pursue licensure while 

some registered unlicensed individuals will not.  The proposed rules facilitate the Department’s 

tracking of individuals’ work experience to determine when individuals have obtained sufficient 

experience to qualify them to take the appropriate licensing exam. Second, the proposed rules 

require minimal continuing education hours for registered unlicensed individuals to ensure they 

stay current with industry and Plumbing Code changes.   

The Board published a Request for Comments on October 30, 2017. In response to the Request 

for Comments, the Board received one comment that requested that the Board support legislation 

that would change the licensing requirements for backflow prevention assembly rebuilders in 

Minnesota. The Board received 61 comments about the continuing education requirements for 

registered unlicensed plumbers.3 The Board addressed those concerns at Board meetings and in 

the rule-by-rule analysis below.4  

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (“Department”) is required to provide support 

to the Board, including for rulemaking.5   

1 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 14. This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
2 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 8.  This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
3 All comments submitted in response to the Request for Comments are available here 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/4716-comment.pdf.  
4 See Board meeting minutes for March 12, 2018; June 12, 2018, August 28, 2018 at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-

department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board  
5 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2(c) (2018). 
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ALTERNATIVE FORMAT 

Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 

print, braille, or audio. To make a request, contact Suzanne Todnem at the Department of Labor 

and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-4342, or by telephone 651-284-

5006, or email to:  dli.rules@state.mn.us.  

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The Board’s statutory authority to adopt rules related to licensure, certification, or registration is 

stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(5), which authorizes the Board to: 

adopt rules that regulate the licensure, certification, or registration of plumbing 

contractors, journeyworkers, unlicensed individuals, master plumbers, restricted master 

plumbers, restricted journeyworkers, restricted plumbing contractors, backflow 

prevention rebuilders and testers, water conditioning contractors, and water conditioning 

installers, and other persons engaged in the design, installation, and alteration of 

plumbing systems or engaged in or working at the business of water conditioning 

installation or service, or engaged in or working at the business of medical gas system 

installation, maintenance, or repair, except for those individuals licensed under section 

326.02, subdivisions 2 and 3.  

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(6) was amended in 2017 to authorize the Board 

to adopt rules regulating continuing education for registered unlicensed individuals.  Specifically, 

the Board has the authority to “adopt rules that regulate continuing education for individuals 

licensed as master plumbers, journeyworker plumbers, restricted master plumbers, restricted 

journeyworker plumbers, registered unlicensed individuals, water conditioning masters, and 

water conditioning journeyworkers, and for individuals certified under sections 326B.437 and 

326B.438.”6 While the Board’s authority to regulate continuing education for licensed 

individuals is not new, the authority to regulate continuing education for registered unlicensed 

individuals is new.  

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subd. 3, authorizes the Board to prescribe rules for the 

registration of unlicensed individuals.7 The Board has been regulating registered unlicensed 

individuals who perform plumbing as a different classification than plumber’s apprentices since 

2010.8 

6See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2 (2018). 

7See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 3 (2018). 

8 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/ and Minn. R. part 4716.0050. 
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Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, which was enacted in 2017, creates a new category of 

registered unlicensed individuals to perform water conditioning installation and authorizes the 

Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.9 

 

Because specific portions of the Board’s rulemaking authority was new in 2017, effective August 

1, 2017, those portions are subject to the 18-month time limit in Minnesota Statutes, section 

14.125. The Board will publish a notice of intent to adopt rules or a notice of hearing within 18 

months of the effective date.  

 

Under these statutes, the Board has the necessary statutory authority to adopt the proposed rules. 

 

REGULATORY ANALYSIS 
 

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, sets out eight factors for a regulatory analysis that must be 

included in the SONAR. Paragraphs (1) through (8) below quote these factors and then give the 

agency’s response. 

 

(1) a description of the classes of persons who probably will be affected by the proposed 

rule, including classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will 

benefit from the proposed rule 
 

The proposed amendments to the rules would likely affect individuals and contractors currently 

licensed, certified or registered in Minnesota under Chapter 4716; individuals and contractors 

who would like to be licensed, certified or registered under Chapter 4716; individuals who 

perform water conditioning installation but are not licensed, certified or registered; providers of 

continuing education courses; and the general public. 

 

(2) the probable costs to the agency and to any other agency of the implementation and 

enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues 
 

Although the Board has the authority to adopt plumbing licensing rules, it does not implement or 

enforce the licensing rules. The Department currently administers and enforces the licensing 

rules. Any additional costs the Department incurs to implement and enforce the proposed rules 

will be offset by additional registration fees collected from registered unlicensed individuals. The 

Department does not anticipate increased costs to administer the rule except for the newly 

regulated individuals. The costs to enforce registration of the newly regulated individuals will be 

offset by the registration fees.  

 

(3) a determination of whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for 

achieving the purpose of the proposed rule 
 

The Board has determined there is no less costly or less intrusive method for achieving the 

purposes of the proposed rules. The proposed rule utilizes existing infrastructure for licensing, 

                                                           
9See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/ . This 

law became effective August 1, 2017. 
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registration and enforcement. The proposed rules are anticipated to be less intrusive and reduce 

some costs of compliance compared to the current rule. For example, licensed plumbers may 

take all of the required continuing education using electronic media. Also, a one-day continuing 

education course on the Plumbing Code satisfies the minimum Code-related continuing 

education requirement instead of a two-day course on the Plumbing Code (or 1.5-day course) 

because the minimum requirement for Code-related continuing education has been changed from 

12 hours to 8 hours.  

 

(4) a description of any alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule 

that were seriously considered by the agency and the reasons why they were rejected in 

favor of the proposed rule 
 

No alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule were identified.  The 

Board determined that the existing requirements and procedures used have been successful and 

should be maintained. The same or similar procedures are used in other similar industries as well.  

 

(5) the probable costs of complying with the proposed rule, including the portion of the 

total costs that will be borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate 

classes of governmental units, businesses, or individuals 
 

The probable costs of complying with the proposed rule are anticipated to be minimal. 

Registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning work will be subject to the 

same $14 initial registration fee and $19 renewal registration fee that registered unlicensed 

plumbers and electricians are currently required to pay. Other regulated parties under this 

proposed rule are anticipated to see the same or lower costs to comply with the proposed rule.  

 

(6) the probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule, including those 

costs or consequences borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate 

classes of government units, businesses, or individuals 
 

The probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule are fewer avenues for 

unlicensed individuals to qualify for journeyworker licensing exams and fewer work options for 

individuals seeking employment in the water conditioning industry, which could limit the pool of 

qualified workers available to businesses that provide water conditioning services to the public. 

 

Another consequence of not adopting the proposed rule is that the Board would lose its statutory 

authority to regulate certain parties. The legislature would then need to pass new legislation, 

which may have costs associated with it. Without rules to address the newly regulated party in 

statute, there would be confusion for anyone interested in hiring or becoming a registered 

unlicensed water conditioner.  

 

(7) an assessment of any differences between the proposed rule and existing federal 

regulations and a specific analysis of the need for and reasonableness of each difference 
 

There are no federal regulations that apply. 
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(8) an assessment of the cumulative effect of the rule with other federal and state 

regulations related to the specific purpose of the rule. . . . ‘[C]umulative effect’ means the 

impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in addition to other rules, 

regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules. Cumulative effects 

can result from individually minor but collectively significant rules adopted over a period 

of time. 

The proposed rules cover areas that are not addressed by federal law or other Minnesota 

state laws. Therefore, this consideration is not applicable to this proposed rule. 
 

PERFORMANCE-BASED RULES 
 

The Board carefully considered the directives of the legislature requiring performance-based 

standards to the extent possible. Because this is a licensing rule and not a code, performance-

based and prescriptive are not applicable. However, to the extent possible, the Board considered 

and discussed performance and prescriptive elements. The proposed rules are prescriptive in that 

they establish a specific number of continuing education hour requirements for registered 

unlicensed individuals. The proposed rules are as performance-based as possible by allowing 

flexibility in the method and topics of continuing education while remaining clear and 

enforceable.  

 

ADDITIONAL NOTICE 
 

This Additional Notice Plan was reviewed by the Office of Administrative Hearings and 

approved in a November 1, 2018 Order on Review of Additional Notice Plan and Dual Notice by 

Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman. 

 

Our Notice Plan also includes giving notice required by statute. We will mail or e-mail the 

Notice of Intent to Adopt to everyone who has registered to be on the Department’s rulemaking 

mailing list under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.14, subdivision 1a. We will also give notice to 

the Legislature per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.116. We will also e-mail the rules and Notice 

of Intent to Adopt to the following organizations and trade groups: 

 

a. Associated Builders and Contractors  

b. Local chapter of the Association of Minnesota Building Officials (AMBO) 

c. Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association 

d. Association of General Contractors of Minnesota 

e. Builders Association of Minnesota (BAM) 

f. Builders Association of the Twin Cities 

g. Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association 

h. Minnesota Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors Association 

i. American Society of Plumbing Engineers – Minnesota Chapter 

j. American Society of Civil Engineers – Minnesota Section 

k. Association of Minnesota Counties 

l. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), Minneapolis 

m. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), St. Paul 

n. League of Minnesota Cities 
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o. American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota 

p. Minnesota Pipe Trades Association 

q. Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division 

r. Minnesota Water Quality Association (MWQA) 

s. Minnesota Society of Professional Engineers (MNSPE) 

 

Our Notice Plan did not include notifying the Commissioner of Agriculture because the rules do 

not affect farming operations per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.111. 

 

CONSULTATION WITH MMB ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT IMPACT 
 

As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, the Board consulted with Minnesota 

Management and Budget (MMB). The Board did this by sending MMB copies of the documents 

that we sent to the Governor’s Office for review and approval on the same day we sent them to 

the Governor’s office. We did this before publishing the Notice of Intent to Adopt. The 

documents included: the Governor’s Office Proposed Rule and SONAR Form; the proposed 

rules; and the near-final SONAR. MMB Executive Budget Officer Marianne Conboy responded, 

in part, as follows in a letter dated October 31, 2018: “There appears to be no direct fiscal impact 

or fiscal benefit from this rule amendment to local units of government.” 

 

Because local governments are not actively engaged in the regulation of businesses and 

individuals in the plumbing and water conditioning industry, the financial impact to them is 

minimal.  To the extent that local governments inspect the installation of water conditioning 

systems, the proposed rules might improve the inspection process by enhancing the knowledge 

of individuals working in the industry.   

 

The Board will submit a copy of the cover correspondence and the response received from MMB 

to OAH at the hearing or with the documents it submits for Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) 

review.  

 

DETERMINATION ABOUT RULES REQUIRING LOCAL IMPLEMENTATION 
 

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.128 requires agencies to determine whether a local government 

will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply with a proposed 

agency rule and submit this determination for ALJ approval. An agency must make this 

determination before the close of the hearing record or before the agency submits the record 

to the administrative law judge if there is no hearing. The Board has determined that no 

local government will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply 

with the proposed rule. Plumber and water conditioner licensing and registration is enforced 

at the state level so no local government or municipality will be required to adopt or amend 

a local ordinance as a result of the proposed rule.  
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COST OF COMPLYING FOR SMALL BUSINESS OR CITY 

Agency Determination of Cost 

As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.127, the Board has considered whether the cost of 

complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will exceed $25,000 

for any small business or small city.10  The Board asked the public to submit comments 

specifically regarding whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after the rule 

takes effect will exceed $25,000 in the Request for Comments published on October 30, 2017. 

The Board did not receive any comments addressing this issue. The Board has determined that 

the cost of complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will not 

exceed $25,000 for any small business or small city.   

The proposed rule amendments are anticipated to keep the cost of complying with the rule the 

same or less with the exception of the continuing education requirements for registered 

unlicensed individuals (water conditioners and plumbers). 

Small cities are not anticipated to incur any costs. It is not anticipated that a small city would 

employ a registered unlicensed individual. Therefore, even if there are minimal increased costs 

for registered unlicensed individuals or employers of registered unlicensed individuals, small 

cities will not be affected. Furthermore, because plumber and water conditioner licensing is 

administered and enforced at the state level, it is not anticipated that any city, including a small 

city, would incur any costs to comply with the proposed rule from an administrative perspective.  

Small businesses already have to track the hours worked by their individual employees so there 

is no additional cost anticipated in the normal course of maintaining employment records.11 

The rule does not require employers to pay the registration costs or continuing education costs. 

However, if the employer chooses to pay the registration cost, assuming all possible employees 

are registered unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost for a small business would be 

$19 x 49 employees12 = $931, which is well below the $25,000 threshold.13  

The average cost for a two-hour continuing education course is $ 49.00.14 Again, the cost for two 

hours of continuing education may be paid by the registrant or the employer. If the employer 

chooses to pay this cost, again assuming the maximum number of employees are registered 

unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost, on average, would be $ 49.00 x 49 employees 

= $ 2,401.00. This total is again well below the $25,000 threshold. The combined total of annual 

10 A small business is defined as “any one business that has less than 50 full-time employees” and a small city is 

defined as “any one statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees.” Minn. Stat. § 

14.127, subd. 1 (2018).  
11 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c) (2018).  
12 At least one employee would have to be a licensed journeyworker or master plumber. This example is for 

illustrative purposes only. A small business is unlikely to have 49 registered unlicensed individuals.  
13 The initial registration fee is currently set at $14 per registrant and the annual renewal fee is $19. For illustrative 

purposes, the estimate uses only the renewal fee, which is the higher of the two fees.  
14 See Attachment A.  

R-04365    054

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.127
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.127
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326B.47


8 
Chapter 4716 SONAR, R04365 

registration fees and continuing education costs is approximately $ 3,332.00, which is well below 

the $25,000 threshold.  

LIST OF WITNESSES 

If these rules go to a public hearing, the Department anticipates having the following witnesses 

testify in support of the need for and reasonableness of the rules: 

1. Mr. Richard Jacobs, Plumbing Board Chair, will testify about the Board’s interest

in amending the code.

2. Mr. Charlie Durenberger, Assistant Director, CCLD, will testify about the

technical aspects of the proposed amendments.

3. Other Board members or Department of Labor and Industry staff, if necessary.

RULE-BY-RULE ANALYSIS 

4716.0010 DEFINITIONS 

The proposed rule amendment adds a subpart 6 to codify the term, “Registered unlicensed 

plumber.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and assist in plumbing have 

been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, the proposed rule amendment formally 

names and clarifies this category of individuals.15   

4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS 

Subpart 1. Examinations.  
The proposed rule amendment deletes language that states two specific times of the year in 

which journeyworker and master plumber licensing exams will be held. The Department began 

offering journeyworker and master plumber licensing examinations on a weekly basis several 

years ago in an effort to increase the availability of exams to those seeking licensure.  As result, 

the current rule requirement that exams be given in March and September is outdated and no 

longer necessary. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it 

modernizes the rule part and deletes unnecessary language.  

Subpart 1(A)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment clarifies that an applicant for the master plumber examination 

must have worked as a licensed journeyworker plumber for at least one year before he or she can 

qualify to take the master plumber license examination. The current language that an applicant 

for the master plumber examination be a licensed Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and 

have “five years of practical plumbing experience” has the same meaning because four years of 

practical plumbing experience is required to qualify for the journeyworker plumber examination 

and the fifth year comes the year after an individual becomes a licensed journeyworker plumber. 

The proposed rule states that requirement more clearly.  

15 See Minn. Laws, 2010  c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/ 
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Subpart 1(B)(1)  

The proposed rule amendment clarifies the distinction between a plumber’s apprentice defined in 

Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, and the registered unlicensed plumber, which is a newly 

formalized term.16 See 4716.0010 analysis above. The requirement is substantively the same but 

clarifies the two categories of applicants and clarifies that the four years of practical plumbing 

experience must be recorded as required in Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c).  

 

Subp. 2. Experience 

 

Subpart 2(E) 

The proposed rule amendment corrects the subitems referenced here to correspond with the 

proposed rule below. 

 

Subpart 2(E)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 

qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 

(c).  

 

Subpart 2(E)(3)  

The current rule requires applicants who are licensed restricted journeyworker plumbers or 

licensed restricted master plumbers to have completed the entire two years of practical plumbing 

experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination. The proposed rule 

amendment deletes subitem 3 because removing this timeframe encourages licensed restricted 

journeyworker plumbers and licensed restricted master plumbers to take the regular licensed 

journeyworker plumber and licensed master plumber examinations. The proposed rule 

amendment broadens the pool of possible applicants. A shortage of skilled laborers is anticipated 

according to industry experts and economists.17 The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 

reasonable because the applicants are still subject to examination to ensure competent licensed 

plumbers.  

 

Subpart 2(F) 

The proposed rule amendment deletes reference to plumber’s apprentice and replaces it with 

registered unlicensed plumber because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation 

subject to subitems (1) and (2) that follow. Because a registered plumber’s apprentice, as defined 

in Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, is part of a formal, approved apprenticeship, subitems (1) and 

(2) are moot issues to them. The proposed rule amendment also corrects the subitems referenced 

here to correspond with the proposed rule below. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 

reasonable because the distinction between a registered plumber’s apprentice and registered 

unlicensed plumber should be clear.  

 

                                                           
16 Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6 (2018) provides a definition of “plumber’s apprentice and defines it as “any 

individual who is employed in the practical installation of plumbing under an apprenticeship agreement approved by 

the department under section 178.07.” 
17 See https://mn.gov/deed/data/data-tools/employment-outlook/; 

https://mn.gov/deed/newscenter/publications/review/june-2018/job-outlook-2026.jsp; 

https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/plumbers-pipefitters-and-steamfitters.htm; and 

http://www.startribune.com/worse-than-dating-twin-cities-builders-go-all-out-to-find-workers/432561123/.   
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Subpart 2(F)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 

qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 

(c).  

 

Subpart 2(F)(2) 

The proposed rule amendment deletes the reference to subitem (3) because subitem (3) is deleted 

in the proposed rule. Again, the reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “unlicensed 

plumber” is added because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation subject to 

subitems (1) and (2) that follow.  

 

The proposed rule amendment provides for alternate options for an applicant to have obtained 

the practical plumbing experience as listed in items (a) through (c). The alternate options are 

substantively the same as the language that is deleted in subpart 2(F)(3). The language was 

removed from subitem (3) and moved to subitem (2) because combining subitems (2) and (3) 

into one subitem, and removing the timing requirements in subitem (3), clarifies the two avenues 

through which an applicant may obtain the practical plumbing experience. That is, the practical 

experience must be obtained as a registered unlicensed plumber or through one of the ways listed 

in (2)(a) through (c). There is minimal substantive change to subitems (2) and (3) as the intent is 

to clarify the different acceptable ways to obtain the practical plumbing experience.  

 

Subpart 2(G) 

The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference numbering to reflect the proposed 

amendments. For example, the reference to subitem (3) is replaced with subitem “(2), units (a) to 

(c)” because the proposed rule amendment moves the content in subitem (3) to subitem (2), units 

(a) to (c). The word “master” is added and “or plumbing contractor” is deleted because a 

plumbing contractor is a business entity and a human being must provide the certification. The 

reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “registered unlicensed plumber” is added to 

be consistent with the proposed amendments above.  

                

4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES 

 

Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration 

The proposed rule amendment provides consistency for all journeyworker licensees and master 

licensees and aligns the rules with Minnesota Statutes.18 The proposed rule amendment 

simplifies the renewal of journeyworker plumber and master plumber licenses. All 

journeyworker plumber licenses will expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years rather than 

on anniversary dates of license issuance. All master plumber licenses will expire on December 

31 of even-numbered years. The Department can provide more efficient administration and 

enforcement of the licensing rules, thereby keeping enforcement costs, and therefore license fees, 

down. Individual licensees and the Department benefit from the proposed change.  

 

The renewal window for restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers was changed 

from 12 months to within “two years of the license expiration” to grant restricted license holders 

                                                           
18 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.49, subd. 1(b) (2018). This statute was amended in 2016. See Minn. Laws, 2016 c 189 art 

8 sec 3.  
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additional time to renew their license before permanently forfeiting their restricted plumber 

license. Because failing to renew timely results in permanent forfeiture, it is reasonable to grant 

license holders more than 12 months to renew. The two-year time period to renew is consistent 

with the renewal period for licensed journeyworker and master plumbers. Restricted 

journeyworker and restricted master plumber licenses are relatively few in number and are a 

holdover from the transition from no licensure in cities with populations less than 5,000 to 

statewide plumber licensing in 2005.  Restricted plumber licenses were granted to individuals 

who were performing plumbing at the time of the transition and who performed plumbing work 

in municipalities with a population under 5,000.  A plumber holding a restricted license may not 

perform plumbing work in municipalities with a population over 5,000. No new restricted 

plumber licenses have been granted since the transition period. Once a restricted license is 

forfeited, it cannot be reinstated or renewed.  

 

Subpart 2. License renewals 

The proposed rule amendment clarifies that license renewal applications must be submitted by 

December 31 of the year in which the license expires to be a timely renewal.  

 

The proposed rule amends the timeframe in which a restricted journeyworker or restricted master 

plumber must pay the past due renewal fee to coordinate with the two year timeframe proposed 

in subpart 1 above.  

 

4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER’S APPRENTICE 

 

The proposed rule amends the title of this rule part to “REGISTRATION OF REGISTERED  

UNLICENSED PLUMBER.” The proposed rule amendment aligns the title with the title change 

to Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, which was changed from “Plumber’s Apprentices” to “Unlicensed 

Individuals” in 2010.19 This amendment is reasonable because chapter 4716 regulates registered 

unlicensed plumbers but not registered plumber’s apprentices who are part of a formal 

apprenticeship program. The formal distinction between a plumber’s apprentice and a registered 

unlicensed plumber is relatively new.20 Rule titles are not enforceable but the title change adds 

clarity to the rule part particularly since the rule specifically states that it does not apply to 

registered plumber’s apprentices.   

 

Subpart 1. Scope. 

The proposed rule amendment updates and corrects this subpart. The proposed rule amendment 

updates the word “shall (not)” with “does (not)” because “shall (not)” is not grammatically 

correct. Also, the change to “does (not)” modernizes the language and is plain language. The 

proposed rule amendment corrects the referenced statute cite. The current rule refers to 

“Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1)” however, there is no such clause 

(1). The correct cite format is Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 

Emphasis added. The proposed rule amendment changes the plural “plumber’s apprentices” to 

singular for consistency with the rest of the rule chapter.   

 

 

                                                           
19 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/  
20 Id.  
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Subp. 2. Registration requirements 

The proposed rule amendments change all “plumber’s apprentice” references to “registered 

unlicensed plumber.” Plumber’s apprentices are regulated under the formal, approved 

apprenticeship agreement subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 178 and related rule chapters. 

The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it uses terminology that is 

consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 and other proposed amendments in this rule chapter.  

 

4716.0091 DEFINITIONS 
 

Subpart 1. Scope. 

The proposed rule amendment adds “Subpart 1. Scope” because now that a second subpart is 

added, it is necessary and reasonable to number and title the subpart. When it was the only 

subpart in this section, it was not necessary to number and title it.  

 

 Subpart 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner 

The proposed rule amendment adds this subpart to establish and define the term, “Registered 

unlicensed water conditioner.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and 

assist in plumbing have been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, registered 

unlicensed water conditioners is a newly established category of regulated parties per the 2017 

legislature.21 It is necessary and reasonable to establish and define this terms that identifies the 

legislature’s newly regulated category of individuals.   

 

4716.0092 LICENSURE 

  

Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. 

The proposed rule amendment reduces redundant language and thereby provides clarity and 

consistency with the current Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subds. 1a and 2a.  The proposed rule 

amendment replaces all references to “water conditioning master or master plumber” with 

“responsible licensed master” because “responsible licensed master” is a term already defined in 

Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subd. 1a and the definition requires the individual to be a “water 

conditioning master or licensed master plumber.” All the language that the proposed rule 

amendment deletes is deleted because it is addressed by using the defined term “responsible 

licensed master.”  There is no substantive change to the rule part.  

 

Subpart 3. Water conditioning journeyworker.  

The proposed rule amendment adds that, in addition to the six months of practical experience and 

passing an exam, an applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker license must be a 

registered unlicensed water conditioner in Minnesota except as permitted in subpart 4, item A, 

subitem (4). The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable to ensure that the 

qualifying experience is obtained under proper qualified conditions and is consistent with Minn. 

Stat. § 326B.555.  

 

Subpart 4. Experience. 

Subpart 4 provides specific requirements for the experience needed in subparts 2 and 3. There 

are no proposed amendments to items A through C. Items D and E are new to provide the 

                                                           
21 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/.  
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specific experience requirements for registered unlicensed water conditioners and the employer 

of the registered unlicensed water conditioner and water conditioning journeyworker. The 

statutory authority to regulate registered unlicensed water conditioners is new. Therefore, this 

formalized category of regulated individuals is new, thus, the new items in this subpart. Items A 

through C detail the requirements for other required experiences listed in subparts 2 and 3.  

Subpart 4(D)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment is new to address the newly formalized category of registered 

unlicensed water conditioner and what is expected of those applicants. The proposed rule 

amendment clearly states the requirement (to be a registered unlicensed water conditioner while 

obtaining the practical water conditioning experience) and clarifies that the exception in Minn. 

Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, applies here.  This is necessary and reasonable because it should be 

clear what is expected of the regulated parties, what other permissions apply to the requirement 

and is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. The exception in Minn. Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, 

grants flexibility to applicants.   

Subpart 4(D)(2) 

The proposed rule amendment clarifies what is required of the licensed water conditioning 

master who is responsible for certifying the work performed by the registered unlicensed water 

conditioner. It is necessary and reasonable to clearly state the requirements. The requirements are 

reasonable and consistent with the requirements in Minn. R. part 4716.0020, subp. 2, and Minn. 

R. part 4716.0092, subp. 4(C), while tailored to the water conditioner licensing requirements.

The proposed rule amendment is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555.

Subpart 4(E)(1) and (2) 

The proposed rule amendment adds recordkeeping requirements for the employers of water 

conditioning journeyworkers and registered unlicensed water conditioners. The proposed rule 

amendment requires the employers to record the practical water conditioning experience worked 

by each employee and to maintain those records for at least six years. The registered unlicensed 

water conditioner needs this record of experience to qualify as an applicant for the 

journeyworker exam and the journeyworker needs the recorded experience to qualify for the 

master exam. It is necessary and reasonable to require the employer to make and maintain these 

records and such requirement is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. It is necessary and 

reasonable for the employer to maintain these records for six years after the employee’s last 

recorded experience because it gives applicants time to take the journeyworker exam after 

completing the training and for the journeyworker to take the master exam. There are a variety of 

reasons why an applicant might be delayed in taking an examination. For example, a medical 

incident or family emergency that delays the applicant from taking the examination. Six years 

balances flexibility for the applicant with minimal burden for the employer. Six years is 

consistent with the record retention requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers in part 

4716.0020, subp. 2(G)(2).  
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4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION 

 

Subpart 1. Registration requirements 

The proposed rule amendment is new to establish the requirements and qualifications to become 

a registered unlicensed water conditioner. For example, the proposed rule amendment requires a 

person to submit an application and fee to the Department annually to become a registered 

unlicensed water conditioner. Registrations are effective from July 1 through June 30 of the 

following year and late renewals require payment of a late fee. This date range is consistent with 

Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and the registered unlicensed plumber registration dates in Minn. R. part 

4716.0050, subp. 2. This is necessary and reasonable because having a set registration period 

makes administration of and compliance with the rule easier and more efficient for both the 

Department who enforces the rule and the registrants complying with the code. This efficiency 

keeps licensing fees down.      

 

The proposed rule amendment establishes reasonable qualifications in items A and B that are 

consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and other similar rules. Specifically, item A requires a 

registered unlicensed water conditioner to be at least 18 years of age or a high school graduate, 

though individuals as young as 16 may register and perform work if they are supervised by the 

individual’s parent. Item B requires applicants for an unlicensed water conditioner registration to 

provide to the Department certain personal information, including Social Security number as 

required by Minn. Stat. § 270C.72.22 These qualifications are consistent with the qualifications 

for registered unlicensed plumbers in Minn. R. part 4716.0050, subp. 2, and Minn. Stat. § 

326B.555. This information is necessary and reasonable for the Department to be able to verify 

individual identities and is consistent with Minnesota Statutes.    

 

4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS 

 

Subpart 1. Continuing education; content. 

Plumbing licensees are currently required to take 16 hours of approved continuing education 

each two-year license period. The proposed rule amendment does not change that total number of 

required hours.  

 

Subpart 1(A) 

The proposed rule amendment lowers the minimum number of continuing education hours that 

must pertain to the Plumbing Code from twelve to eight and allows the remainder of the required 

hours to pertain to the Plumbing Code or technical topics related plumbing installations and 

equipment, Minnesota Rules chapter 4716, the Minnesota State Building Code, or the Plumbing 

and Water Conditioning sections of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B. The proposed rule 

amendment changes only the minimum number of hours that must pertain to the Plumbing Code 

and allows a licensee to obtain all continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code. This is 

necessary and reasonable because eight hours of Plumbing Code instruction will be sufficient for 

some veteran licensed plumbers while newer licensed plumbers might benefit from more 

Plumbing Code instruction hours. The proposed rule amendment allows more flexibility while 

maintaining a high standard of qualifications. The proposed rule amendment is consistent with 

the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 that encourages agencies to develop rules that 

                                                           
22 See Minn. Stat. § 270C.72 (2018).  
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“emphasize superior achievement in meeting the agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum 

flexibility for the regulated party.”23 Because knowledge of the Plumbing Code is essential to 

safe plumbing practices, and the Plumbing Code changes, it is reasonable to require licensed 

individuals have a minimum number of continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code.  

 

The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 

326B.49 to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.59, emphasis added, because the range 

to 326B.49 does not include the water conditioning sections, which are sections 326B.50 through 

326B.59. This also provides additional flexibility in the topics in which licensed plumbers may 

get the required continuing education hours.  

 

The proposed rule amendment allows licensed individuals to tailor their continuing education 

hour topics to their needs while also maintaining high quality continuing education because all 

continuing education courses must be approved, pursuant to Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 

through 4716.0210.  

 

The proposed rule amendment eliminates the current four-hour limit on continuing education 

hours obtained by any electronic media. That is, online continuing education hours are currently 

limited to four of the sixteen. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because 

some licensed plumbers in outstate Minnesota have some challenges with accessing in-person 

continuing education courses that metro area plumbers do not have. For example, there are fewer 

in-person course offerings in outstate Minnesota. Allowing all sixteen continuing education 

hours to be obtained online modernizes the requirement and recognizes the changes and 

improvements in technology. Electronic media standards are established in Minnesota Statutes, 

sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. The online courses must also be approved pursuant to 

Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 through 4716.0210 like any other in-person course. The 

proposed rule amendment is consistent with the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 

that encourages agencies to develop rules that “emphasize superior achievement in meeting the 

agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum flexibility for the regulated party.”   

 

These changes are intended to make it easier and less costly for licensees to obtain the continuing 

education required to maintain licensure while maintaining quality education. Continuing 

education requirements for regulated parties are necessary and reasonable to ensure competency 

and recognizes industry changes in the interest of public health. 

 

Subpart 1(B) 

Licensed water conditioning journeyworkers and masters must obtain four hours of continuing 

education hours per two-year licensing period. The proposed rule amendment deletes 

unnecessary language and adds the requirement that two of the four required continuing 

education hours must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remaining two hours may pertain to 

the Plumbing Code or an existing list of other relevant topics. The proposed rule amendment 

maintains the same number of hours as the current rule and maintains flexibility while ensuring 

licensed water conditioners stay current with the Plumbing Code in addition to technical topics. 

It is necessary and reasonable to require licensed water conditioners to take two hours of 

continuing education on the Plumbing Code because their work is subject to and governed by the 

                                                           
23 See Minn. Stat. § 14.002 (2018).  
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Plumbing Code. Because the scope of their work is not as broad as licensed plumbers, it is 

reasonable that the total number of required continuing education hours is fewer than licensed 

plumbers. Correspondingly, the required minimum number of continuing education hours on the 

Plumbing Code is also fewer than what is required for licensed plumbers.  

 

The proposed rule amendment adds that the continuing education hours may be obtained online, 

subject to the requirements in Minn. Stat. §§ 326B.098 to 326B.099. This proposed amendment 

is consistent with the proposed amendment in subpart 1(A) above.   

 

Subpart 1(C) 

The proposed rule amendment creates a new requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers and 

water conditioners to take two hours of continuing education each year as a condition of 

renewing their registration. Registered unlicensed plumbers must take two hours of continuing 

education on the Plumbing Code because the range of work they may perform is broad and 

includes the entire scope of the Plumbing Code. Registered unlicensed water conditioners must 

take one hour of continuing education on the Plumbing Code and the other hour of continuing 

education may be on the Plumbing Code or a technical topic related to water conditioning 

installation. The scope of the work of a registered unlicensed water conditioner is limited to 

water conditioning so they do not work with the entire Plumbing Code.  

 

For many registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education 

requirement is absorbed into their training toward qualifying for the journeyworker exam in their 

respective field. For other registered unlicensed plumbers and registered unlicensed water 

conditioners who do not intend to take the journeyworker exam in their respective field, this 

requirement ensures they stay current with industry practices and the Plumbing Code.  

 

For both registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education hours 

may be taken online. This requirement will enhance registrants’ knowledge and understanding of 

the Plumbing Code and other information relevant to their work. While field work is important, 

there are tables, calculations and backflow protection of water supply system in the Plumbing 

Code that industry professionals must be aware of and learn about. A continuing education class 

is a setting conducive to learning about certain aspects of the Plumbing Code.   

 

Similarly, registered unlicensed electricians have been required to obtain two hours of continuing 

education every renewal period since 2009.24 It is necessary and reasonable to require a regulated 

party to obtain some continuing education to maintain their registration to ensure competence in 

the interest of public health.  

 

Subpart 1(D) and (E) 

The proposed rule amendment renumbers these paragraphs to reflect the new paragraphs added 

above. There are no substantive changes.  

 

                                                           
24 See Minn. R. 3800.3602 (2018). See also https://www.revisor.mn.gov/state_register/34/15/.   
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CONCLUSION 

Based on the foregoing, the proposed rules are both needed and reasonable. 

_______________________________ 

November 13, 2018 Richard Jacobs 

Plumbing Board Chair 

This Statement of Need and Reasonableness was made available for public review on November 

13, 2018. 
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2-hour Continuing Education  Average Costs

Plumbology* $60.00
Metro Testing & Plumbing** $50.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace)*** - electrical $36.00

Total $146.00

Average $48.67

Continuing Education Average Cost-Per-Hour

# of hours Total cost Average cost per hour
Plumbology* 8 $130.00 $16.25
Plumbology 4 $85.00 $21.25
Plumbology 2 $60.00 $30.00
Metro Testing & Plumbing** 8 $150.00 $18.75
Metro Testing & Plumbing 6 $125.00 $20.83
Metro Testing & Plumbing 2 $50.00 $25.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace)*** 4 $80.00 $20.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace) 2 $36.00 $18.00
MyPlumbingTraining.com**** 8 $125 (incl. lunch) $15.63
MyPlumbingTraining.com - apprentices 8 $20.00 $2.50

Total $861.00 $18.82

*http://www.plumbologymn.com/register
**https://metrotesting.net/classes/
***https://www.tradesmance.com/minnesota-plumbing-continuing-education
****https://myplumbingtraining.com/onsite_courses
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December 22, 2017 

Suzanne Todnem 
Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry 
443 Lafayette Ave. N. 
St. Paul, MN  55155 

Dear Ms. Todnem: 

Please accept the following official comments from the Minnesota Nursery & Landscape Association 
(MNLA) with respect to the REQUEST FOR COMMENTS for Possible Amendments to Rules Governing 
Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365, published by the 
Minnesota Plumbing Board on October 30, 2017. 

1) The Minnesota Plumbing Board has adopted rules and advocated for past statute changes that
allow only licensed plumbers to become certified Minnesota backflow prevention assembly
rebuilders, by regulating the installation, maintenance, testing, repair, replacement and
rebuilding of backflow prevention assemblies.  However, the MN-rebuilder-prerequisite ASSE
5130 Backflow Prevention Assembly Repairer certification administered by the American Society
of Sanitary Engineers (ASSE) requires only that prospective repairers hold a current ASSE 5110
Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester certificate and pass ASSE-approved 5130 training and
written/practical exams.  Installation and replacement of backflow prevention assemblies are
not part of the subject matter of ASSE 5130 certification.  Neither should installation and
replacement be regulated by Minnesota’s rebuilder certification.

Backflow prevention (and the associated assemblies that are used to protect potable water
supplies) is considered by ASSE and other institutions to be unique and subject to specific,
comprehensive training, regardless of and independent of status as a licensed plumber. The
ASSE coursework, testing and practical exams are the same for plumbers and non-plumbers. The
ASSE approach supports the requirement that any person who chooses to interact in any way
with backflow prevention equipment must first become qualified to do so via stand-alone,
comprehensive coursework and exam(s) in the form of ASSE 5110 Backflow Prevention
Assembly Tester certificate and if interested in the work of repair or rebuilding of backflow
assemblies, pass ASSE-approved 5130 training.

The MNLA believes that the ASSE 5110 and 5130 certifications provide sufficient, stand-alone
assurances of competency, understanding and protection of public safety to enable 5130-
holders to safely and effectively maintain, repair and rebuild backflow prevention assemblies,
regardless of their status as plumbers or non-plumbers.  However, Minnesota rules and statutes
crafted specifically and uniquely by the Minnesota Plumbing Board and the Minnesota
legislature, prohibit non-plumbers from obtaining ASSE 5130 training and becoming rebuilders.
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MNLA recognizes and is prepared to support necessary amendments to Minnesota statutes to 
enable non-plumbers to repair and rebuild backflow prevention assemblies.   

The MNLA’s Tim Power presented a Request for Action at the April 18th, 2017 meeting of the 
Minnesota Plumbing Board that asked the board to change MN Rules 4716.0096 to allow 
qualified non-plumbers to rebuild non-RPZ backflow prevention assemblies.  We acknowledge 
that several impediments were pointed out in that plumbing board meeting in making that basic 
idea come to pass: 

• MN Statutes 326B.42 and 326B.437 and MN Rules 4716.0096 (referenced above)
all require that “MN rebuilders” must be licensed plumbers.

• Now that several classes of backflow prevention assemblies are mentioned in the
2015 Minnesota Plumbing Code, the Minnesota Plumbing Board has taken the
position that the rebuilding of backflow prevention assemblies is considered
plumbing work.  ASSE takes no such position in its 5110 and 5130 certifications.

• MN Statutes 326B.46 addresses licensing, bond and insurance for plumbing
contractors.  Since all licensed plumbers must work for a licensed plumbing
contractor, the public is considered protected from potential liability.  If qualified
non-plumbers were allowed to rebuild backflow prevention assemblies, there
would need to be some way to assure public protection from liability.  The MNLA is
prepared to assist in crafting and will support a workable requirement that
qualified non-plumber backflow prevention assembly repairer/rebuilders work for
a contractor who carries appropriate bond and insurance.

The MNLA hopes that the Minnesota Plumbing Board agrees with the notion that the backflow 
tester and repairer certifications administered by the American Society of Sanitary Engineers 
(ASSE) provide a discrete body of knowledge that is sufficient for testing and rebuilding backflow 
prevention assemblies in Minnesota.  If so, the MNLA respectfully requests the assistance of the 
Minnesota Plumbing Board in proposing statute changes to make that notion possible.  If 
successful, step two would then be to undergo rulemaking to adjust MR 4716.0096 as well. 

2) MS 326B.42, MS 326B.437 and MR 4716.0096 all address reduced pressure zone (RPZ) backflow
prevention assemblies only.  The MNLA recommends that the Minnesota Plumbing Board
advocate for statute changes to eliminate the references to RPZ’s only, since several classes of
backflow prevention assemblies in addition to RPZ assemblies are now incorporated in the
Minnesota Plumbing Code.  Step two would then be to undergo rulemaking to adjust MR
4716.0096 as well.

3) Minnesota’s Plumbing Code incorporates several classes of backflow prevention assemblies that
are newly regulated.  The annual addition of hundreds if not thousands of new assemblies
associated with private utilities including landscape irrigation systems will require “authorities
having jurisdiction” to establish or expand backflow testing registries.  The additional testing and
potential rebuilding of these assemblies will require an expanded cadre of trained and certified
testers and rebuilders.  The MNLA urges the Minnesota Plumbing Board to support the
expansion of this cadre by allowing 5110-holding non-plumbers to train and certify for ASSE
5130 and to become MN rebuilders, thus helping to ensure the health and safety of Minnesota’s
citizens and environment.
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4) Finally, the MNLA is aware of a customized letter of understanding between ASSE and MN DLI
that acknowledges Minnesota’s unique requirement that only licensed plumbers may even
apply in Minnesota to train and certify for ASSE 5130.  The MNLA requests that the Minnesota
Plumbing Board advocate for MN DLI to alter its unique agreement with ASSE to eliminate its
requirement that only licensed plumbers may apply to train and certify for ASSE 5130, enabling
qualified non-plumbers to attain ASSE 5130.

Sincerely, 

Cassie M. Larson 
Executive Director 
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William Fish, Jr. 

60270CSAH3 

Litchfield, MN 55355 

Suzanne Todnem 

Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road N. 

St. Paul, MN 55155 

RECEIVED 

JUL O 3 2018 

Re: Proposed Permanent Rules to Amend Minn. Rules, Chapter 4716, R-04365 

Dear Ms. Todnem, 

I would respectfully request a hearing by the Plumbing Board on the proposed 

permanent rules to amend Minnesota Rules Chapter 4716. As someone who will be 

significantly impacted by this proposed rulemaking and having reviewed the final 

proposed rule, R-04365, I would like the Board to consider further public testimony on 

the rule. Specifically, I have objections to the proposed changes in Chapter 4716.0205 

related to continuing education requirements for registered unlicensed plumbers. 

Sincerely, 

William Fish 

PM050299 
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Meeting Minutes: SPECIAL Plumbing Board 
Date: March 12, 2018 @ 12:30 p.m. 
Minutes by: Lyndy Logan 
Location: Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 55117-4344 

Members DLI Staff & Visitors 
Tom Andresen Suzanne Todnem (Gen. Counsel, DLI) 
Jeff Brown (via teleconference) Lyndy Logan (DLI) 
Michael Dryke (via teleconference) Scott Thompson (MN Plumbing Training) 
Grant Edwards (Vice Chair) Tim Malooly (MN Nursery & Landscape) 
Mike Herman Larry Johnson (MN Nursery & Landscape) 
Rick Jacobs (Chair) Nick Erickson (Housing First Minnesota) 
Jim Lungstrom (Commissioner’s Designee) Adam Hanson (ABC) 
John Parizek (via teleconference) Tom McCarthy (Local 34) 
Phillip Sterner (Secretary) Gary Thaden (MMCA) 
David Wagner Sophie Thaden (MMCA) 
David Weum Scott Eggen (City of Minneapolis) 

Richard Hauffe (ICC) 
Members Absent Luke Westman (PHCC) 
John Flagg Paul Sullwold (PHCC) 
Larry Justin Russ Jundt (MNLA) 

Jami Sehm (Scott County) 
Dean Berckes (Military Affairs) – via teleconference 

1. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order by Chair Jacobs at 12:36 p.m.  Roll call was taken by Chair
Jacobs and a quorum was declared with 10 of 12 voting members present in person or via
teleconference and one non-voting member. Suzanne Todnem noted that Jim Lungstrom was
appointed as the temporary designee for the department due to Cathy Tran’s absence.
Introductions and housekeeping announcements were made.

2. Approval of Meeting agenda
A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Edwards, to approve the agenda as presented.
The roll call vote was unanimous with 10 votes in favor; the motion carried.

3. Regular Business
Approval of expense reports – Jacobs approved the expenses as presented.
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4. Special Business
A. Discuss recent bill proposal HF 3214 and SF 2602 – see Attachment A

Todnem noted that HF 3214 and SF 2602 are identical. Edwards asked what the Board
was hoping to accomplish and Todnem said the Board could choose how, or if, to
respond to the proposed legislation by:
1) Instruct and authorize the Chair to draft a letter to the legislature to be shared

with relevant Committees (after Board discussion); or,
2) Choose to authorize someone to speak on behalf of the Board should a hearing

be called; or,
3) Monitor the proposals and Todnem would provide updates.

Todnem said the Department’s position is neutral.  Jacobs said he reviewed the bills and 
believes the Board, at the very least, should send a response/communication to the 
legislature.  Jacobs said that as the complexity of water systems increases so too does 
the risk to people that the systems protect. The proposed legislation, in his opinion, 
makes the assumption that ASSE requirements alone are adequate. This would have a 
direct effect on the installation, operation, maintenance and safety of these and future 
systems.  He is not in favor of either bill. 

Parizek said the proposed changes to the statute fail to address other types of 
assemblies that need testing. This specifically addresses RPZ valves but not double 
check assemblies, pressure vacuum breakers, or spill resistant vacuum breakers.  
Rebuilding and repairing these assemblies has always fallen under the plumbing license. 
The other three assemblies that aren’t mentioned still fall under the plumbing license. 
You must be a licensed plumber to install, repair, or re-build any of these 4 devices or 
assemblies that require annual testing.  In addition, the manufacturers of most of the 
assemblies and devices dealing with backflow recommend annual testing/servicing by a 
licensed plumber.  There is nothing in the ASSE series 5000 standard suggesting that 
certification of this standard is to replace any required plumbing licensing.  In fact, it is 
just the opposite.  This standard recommends that all state, federal, and local plumbing 
codes should be followed.  This would include current licensing requirements. The 
Board should consider making a recommendation that the language “reduce pressure 
backflow prevention assemblies” be changed to “backflow prevention assemblies and 
devices.”  

Edwards said this legislation could set a dangerous precedence to all trades and codes. 
This could harm inspection protocol and building officials.  This legislation makes a 
statement that non-plumbers can install plumbing in Minnesota and all code inspections 
should be alarmed by this. Edwards believes someone from the Board should speak to 
the legislature about what this bill could do to the entire concept of building codes. 

Scott Eggen, City of Minneapolis, said that almost all higher and lower level devices are 
considered high hazard devices. There is only one double-check value assembly that is 
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low hazard and it is very rarely used because of this reason. Most devices are high 
hazard and are in a system that could potentially cause major health issues. 

Tim Malooly, Minnesota Nursery & Landscape Association, addressed the Board.  Their 
interpretation of whether a non-plumber may install, relocate or re-install any backflow 
prevention assembly of any type is no, this is not the intention of this legislation. The 
interpretation that the Board is undergoing is understandable; however, the focal point 
of the language is focusing only upon the backflow prevention component of rebuilding 
and testing and the original strikeout language on Minnesota Statute 326B.437, Lines 
1.16, 1.17, and 1.18 was to open the opportunity for a non-plumber to rebuild and test, 
provided they were qualified by the department.  If this stricken language in the lines 
noted above is problematic, he is certain that an adjustment could be made to ensure 
that only licensed plumbers make original installations, replacements or relocation. It is 
only testing, repair or rebuild. 

Edwards asked if the backflow preventer devices are manufactured to the listed NSF 61 
Standard and Malooly said yes, any testable devices.  Edwards said in repairing this 
device you open the system thereby altering the plumbing system. 

Thaden, representing the Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association, said they 
oppose the bill.  He said the Board has specific language to change the statute in front of 
them. The board may consider other language but that language is not in front of them 
or the legislature. If the Board likes the language that is fine but if not then he urged the 
Board to make a motion to oppose the bills. 

Paul Sullwold, former board member, representing PHCC, said they oppose this bill as it 
is written and encouraged the Board to let their vast knowledge be known if there is a 
hearing.  It is not a good bill and it is never a good idea to water down the plumbing 
code. 

Dean Berckes said that he too opposes this bill.  A licensed professional is needed when 
the system is altered. 

Larry Johnson, Minnesota Nursery & Landscape Association, said he would be happy to 
discuss changes to find language that would work.  They are ready to discuss and find 
common ground. 

Weum said it seems that most of the Board members oppose the bills and if the Board 
sends a letter to the legislature it should specify exactly what is opposed. 

Edwards said he believes the Board members feel that the language is actually not 
broad enough.  If any language is going to be altered it is going to further reinforce that 
an individual would need a plumbing license if opening a system.  He would like to see 
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the Board members vote that a letter be drafted and designate at least one 
representative to attend a hearing. 

The Board took a ten minute break and reconvened at 2:04 p.m. 

Jacobs asked Board members if they would like to do nothing and see what happens or 
send a letter to the legislature and authorize a board member to testify if the bill goes to 
a hearing. 

Jacobs polled the Board and asked members if they support or oppose the bills as 
written.  There was zero support in favor of the bills and the following members below 
opposed. Lungstrom said the Department remains neutral. 
1. Dryke
2. Edwards
3. Brown
4. Andresen
5. Herman, as it is currently written
6. Wagner, as it is currently written
7. Parizek
8. Jacobs
9. Sterner, as it is currently written
10. Weum, as it is currently written

Edwards said the Chair should write a letter to the legislature on the consensus of the 
Board and to speak at a hearing if there is one.  In addition, industry players could be 
invited to submit letters to support or contradict the Board and these could also be 
brought to a hearing. 

Parizek said it would be beneficial to have a discussion with the Minnesota Nursery and 
Landscape Association, the Board, the Department, and the industry. 

A motion was made by Parizek, seconded by Sterner, to send a letter to the 
legislature opposing HF3214 and SF2602 and to designate the Board chair (and 
by friendly amendment by Edwards – or his designated board member(s)) to 
attend any legislative hearings.  The roll call vote was unanimous with 10 votes 
in favor and one abstention from Lungstrom, representing the Department; the 
motion carried. 

B. Review comments to the board to date for Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716.
Todnem noted that this agenda item was included because it relates to the proposed
legislation.
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Jacobs said a letter was received from the Minnesota Nursery and Landscape 
Association with respect to the Request for Comments – see Attachment B. 

Parizek said the rule draft will be discussed at the Special Ad-Hoc Code Review and 
Rulemaking Committee meeting scheduled for March 15, 2018, and a draft will be 
brought forward to the Board at the April 17, 2018 meeting. 

5. Announcements
Next regularly scheduled meetings in 2018 – all meetings will be held at 9:30 a.m. in the
Minnesota Room.  The Executive Committee meetings occur at 8:30 a.m. prior to each regular
meeting in the Minnesota Room.
A. April 17, 2018
B. July 17, 2018 (annual meeting)
C. October 16, 2018

6. Adjournment
A motion was made by Edwards, seconded by Herman, to adjourn the meeting at 2:22 p.m.
The vote was unanimous with 10 votes in favor of the motion; the motion passed.

Respectfully submitted, 

Phil Sterner 
Phil Sterner, Board Secretary 
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Attachment A 
12/13/17 REVISOR SS/SA 18-5292 

This Document can be made available 
in alternative formats upon request State of Minnesota 

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 
NINETIETH SESSION H. F. No.   3214 

03/01/2018 Authored by Kresha and Fenton 
The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Commerce and Regulatory Reform 

1.1 A bill for an act 
1.2 relating to labor and industry; modifying backflow rebuilder designations; amending 
1.3 Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 326B.437; Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, 
1.4 section 326B.42, subdivision 1b. 

1.5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

1.6 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 326B.42, subdivision 1b, is 

1.7 amended to read: 

1.8 Subd. 1b. Backflow prevention rebuilder. A "backflow prevention rebuilder" is an 

1.9 individual who is qualified by training prescribed by the Plumbing Board and possesses a 

1.10 master or journeyworker plumber's license to engage in the testing, maintenance, and 

1.11 rebuilding of reduced pressure zone type backflow prevention assemblies as regulated by 

1.12 the Plumbing Code. 

1.13 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 326B.437, is amended to read: 

1.14 326B.437 REDUCED PRESSURE BACKFLOW PREVENTION REBUILDERS 

1.15 AND TESTERS. 

1.16 (a) No person shall perform or offer to perform the installation, maintenance, repair, 

1.17 replacement, or rebuilding of reduced pressure zone backflow prevention assemblies unless 

1.18 the person obtains a plumbing contractor's license. An individual shall not engage in the 

1.19 testing, maintenance, repair, or rebuilding of reduced pressure zone backflow prevention 

1.20 assemblies, as regulated by the Plumbing Code, unless the individual is certified by the 

1.21 commissioner as a backflow prevention rebuilder. 
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12/13/17 REVISOR SS/SA 18-5292H. F. No.   3214 
2.1 (b) An individual shall not engage in testing of a reduced pressure zone backflow

2.2 prevention assembly, as regulated by the Plumbing Code, unless the individual possesses 

2.3 a backflow prevention rebuilder certificate or is certified by the commissioner as a backflow 

2.4 prevention tester. 

2.5 (c) Certificates are issued for an initial period of two years and must be renewed every

2.6 two years thereafter for as long as the certificate holder installs, maintains, repairs, rebuilds, 

2.7 or tests reduced pressure zone backflow prevention assemblies. For purposes of calculating 

2.8 fees under section 326B.092, an initial or renewed backflow prevention rebuilder or tester 

2.9 certificate shall be considered an entry level license. 

2.10 (d) The Plumbing Board shall adopt expedited rules under section 14.389 that are related

2.11 to the certification of backflow prevention rebuilders and backflow prevention testers. 

2.12 Section 326B.13, subdivision 8, does not apply to these rules. Notwithstanding the 18-month 

2.13 limitation under section 14.125, this authority expires on December 31, 2014. 

2.14 (e) The department shall recognize certification programs that are a minimum of 16

2.15 contact hours and include the passage of an examination. The examination must consist of 

2.16 a practical and a written component. This paragraph expires when the Plumbing Board 

2.17 adopts rules under paragraph (d). 
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Attachment A 
12/13/17 REVISOR SS/SA 18-5292 as introduced 

SENATE 
STATE OF MINNESOTA 
NINETIETH SESSION S.F. No. 2602 

(SENATE AUTHORS: RUUD and Ingebrigtsen) 
DATE D-PG OFFICIAL STATUS 

02/22/2018 6165 Introduction and first reading
Referred to Jobs and Economic Growth Finance and Policy 

1.1 A bill for an act 
1.2 relating to labor and industry; modifying backflow rebuilder designations; amending 
1.3 Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 326B.437; Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, 
1.4 section 326B.42, subdivision 1b. 

1.5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

1.6 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 326B.42, subdivision 1b, is 

1.7 amended to read: 

1.8 Subd. 1b. Backflow prevention rebuilder. A "backflow prevention rebuilder" is an 

1.9 individual who is qualified by training prescribed by the Plumbing Board and possesses a 

1.10 master or journeyworker plumber's license to engage in the testing, maintenance, and 

1.11 rebuilding of reduced pressure zone type backflow prevention assemblies as regulated by 

1.12 the Plumbing Code. 

1.13 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 326B.437, is amended to read: 

1.14 326B.437 REDUCED PRESSURE BACKFLOW PREVENTION REBUILDERS 

1.15 AND TESTERS. 

1.16 (a) No person shall perform or offer to perform the installation, maintenance, repair, 

1.17 replacement, or rebuilding of reduced pressure zone backflow prevention assemblies unless 

1.18 the person obtains a plumbing contractor's license. An individual shall not engage in the 

1.19 testing, maintenance, repair, or rebuilding of reduced pressure zone backflow prevention 

1.20 assemblies, as regulated by the Plumbing Code, unless the individual is certified by the 

1.21 commissioner as a backflow prevention rebuilder. 
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S.F. No. 2602 12/13/17 REVISOR SS/SA 18-5292 as introduced 

2.1 (b) An individual shall not engage in testing of a reduced pressure zone backflow 

2.2 prevention assembly, as regulated by the Plumbing Code, unless the individual possesses 

2.3 a backflow prevention rebuilder certificate or is certified by the commissioner as a backflow 

2.4 prevention tester. 

2.5 (c) Certificates are issued for an initial period of two years and must be renewed every 

2.6 two years thereafter for as long as the certificate holder installs, maintains, repairs, rebuilds, 

2.7 or tests reduced pressure zone backflow prevention assemblies. For purposes of calculating 

2.8 fees under section 326B.092, an initial or renewed backflow prevention rebuilder or tester 

2.9 certificate shall be considered an entry level license. 

2.10 (d) The Plumbing Board shall adopt expedited rules under section 14.389 that are related 

2.11 to the certification of backflow prevention rebuilders and backflow prevention testers. 

2.12 Section 326B.13, subdivision 8, does not apply to these rules. Notwithstanding the 18-month 

2.13 limitation under section 14.125, this authority expires on December 31, 2014. 

2.14 (e) The department shall recognize certification programs that are a minimum of 16 

2.15 contact hours and include the passage of an examination. The examination must consist of 

2.16 a practical and a written component. This paragraph expires when the Plumbing Board 

2.17 adopts rules under paragraph (d). 
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Nursery & 
Landscape Association 

1813 Lexington Ave N • Roseville, MN 55113 
651-633-4987 • Fax 651 -633-4986 • www.MNLA.biz 

Attachment B 

December 22, 2017 

Suzanne Todnem 
Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry 
443 Lafayette Ave. N. 
St. Paul, MN  55155 

Dear Ms. Todnem: 

Please accept the following official comments from the Minnesota Nursery & Landscape Association 
(MNLA) with respect to the REQUEST FOR COMMENTS for Possible Amendments to Rules Governing 
Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365, published by the 
Minnesota Plumbing Board on October 30, 2017. 

1) The Minnesota Plumbing Board has adopted rules and advocated for past statute changes that
allow only licensed plumbers to become certified Minnesota backflow prevention assembly
rebuilders, by regulating the installation, maintenance, testing, repair, replacement and
rebuilding of backflow prevention assemblies.  However, the MN-rebuilder-prerequisite ASSE
5130 Backflow Prevention Assembly Repairer certification administered by the American Society
of Sanitary Engineers (ASSE) requires only that prospective repairers hold a current ASSE 5110
Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester certificate and pass ASSE-approved 5130 training and
written/practical exams. Installation and replacement of backflow prevention assemblies are
not part of the subject matter of ASSE 5130 certification.  Neither should installation and
replacement be regulated by Minnesota’s rebuilder certification.

Backflow prevention (and the associated assemblies that are used to protect potable water
supplies) is considered by ASSE and other institutions to be unique and subject to specific,
comprehensive training, regardless of and independent of status as a licensed plumber. The
ASSE coursework, testing and practical exams are the same for plumbers and non-plumbers. The
ASSE approach supports the requirement that any person who chooses to interact in any way
with backflow prevention equipment must first become qualified to do so via stand-alone,
comprehensive coursework and exam(s) in the form of ASSE 5110 Backflow Prevention
Assembly Tester certificate and if interested in the work of repair or rebuilding of backflow
assemblies, pass ASSE-approved 5130 training.

The MNLA believes that the ASSE 5110 and 5130 certifications provide sufficient, stand-alone
assurances of competency, understanding and protection of public safety to enable 5130-
holders to safely and effectively maintain, repair and rebuild backflow prevention assemblies,
regardless of their status as plumbers or non-plumbers.  However, Minnesota rules and statutes
crafted specifically and uniquely by the Minnesota Plumbing Board and the Minnesota
legislature, prohibit non-plumbers from obtaining ASSE 5130 training and becoming rebuilders.
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Attachment B 

MNLA recognizes and is prepared to support necessary amendments to Minnesota statutes to 
enable non-plumbers to repair and rebuild backflow prevention assemblies. 

The MNLA’s Tim Power presented a Request for Action at the April 18th, 2017 meeting of the 
Minnesota Plumbing Board that asked the board to change MN Rules 4716.0096 to allow 
qualified non-plumbers to rebuild non-RPZ backflow prevention assemblies. We acknowledge 
that several impediments were pointed out in that plumbing board meeting in making that basic 
idea come to pass: 

• MN Statutes 326B.42 and 326B.437 and MN Rules 4716.0096 (referenced above) 
all require that “MN rebuilders” must be licensed plumbers. 

• Now that several classes of backflow prevention assemblies are mentioned in the 
2015 Minnesota Plumbing Code, the Minnesota Plumbing Board has taken the 
position that the rebuilding of backflow prevention assemblies is considered 
plumbing work. ASSE takes no such position in its 5110 and 5130 certifications. 

• MN Statutes 326B.46 addresses licensing, bond and insurance for plumbing 
contractors. Since all licensed plumbers must work for a licensed plumbing 
contractor, the public is considered protected from potential liability.  If qualified 
non-plumbers were allowed to rebuild backflow prevention assemblies, there 
would need to be some way to assure public protection from liability.  The MNLA is 
prepared to assist in crafting and will support a workable requirement that 
qualified non-plumber backflow prevention assembly repairer/rebuilders work for 
a contractor who carries appropriate bond and insurance. 

The MNLA hopes that the Minnesota Plumbing Board agrees with the notion that the backflow 
tester and repairer certifications administered by the American Society of Sanitary Engineers 
(ASSE) provide a discrete body of knowledge that is sufficient for testing and rebuilding backflow 
prevention assemblies in Minnesota. If so, the MNLA respectfully requests the assistance of the 
Minnesota Plumbing Board in proposing statute changes to make that notion possible.  If 
successful, step two would then be to undergo rulemaking to adjust MR 4716.0096 as well. 

2) MS 326B.42, MS 326B.437 and MR 4716.0096 all address reduced pressure zone (RPZ) backflow 
prevention assemblies only.  The MNLA recommends that the Minnesota Plumbing Board 
advocate for statute changes to eliminate the references to RPZ’s only, since several classes of 
backflow prevention assemblies in addition to RPZ assemblies are now incorporated in the 
Minnesota Plumbing Code.  Step two would then be to undergo rulemaking to adjust MR 
4716.0096 as well. 

3) Minnesota’s Plumbing Code incorporates several classes of backflow prevention assemblies that 
are newly regulated. The annual addition of hundreds if not thousands of new assemblies 
associated with private utilities including landscape irrigation systems will require “authorities 
having jurisdiction” to establish or expand backflow testing registries.  The additional testing and 
potential rebuilding of these assemblies will require an expanded cadre of trained and certified 
testers and rebuilders.  The MNLA urges the Minnesota Plumbing Board to support the 
expansion of this cadre by allowing 5110-holding non-plumbers to train and certify for ASSE 
5130 and to become MN rebuilders, thus helping to ensure the health and safety of Minnesota’s 
citizens and environment. 
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Attachment B 

4) Finally, the MNLA is aware of a customized letter of understanding between ASSE and MN DLI 
that acknowledges Minnesota’s unique requirement that only licensed plumbers may even 
apply in Minnesota to train and certify for ASSE 5130. The MNLA requests that the Minnesota 
Plumbing Board advocate for MN DLI to alter its unique agreement with ASSE to eliminate its 
requirement that only licensed plumbers may apply to train and certify for ASSE 5130, enabling 
qualified non-plumbers to attain ASSE 5130. 

Sincerely, 

Cassie M. Larson 
Executive Director 
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Meeting Minutes: Plumbing Board 
Date: June 12, 2018 
Time: 9:30 a.m. 
Minutes by: Lyndy Logan 
Location: Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 55117-4344 

Members DLI Staff & Visitors 
Michael Dryke – via teleconference Suzanne Todnem (Gen. Counsel, DLI) 
John Flagg Lyndy Logan (DLI) 
Mike Herman – via teleconference Jim Peterson (DLI) 
Rick Jacobs (Chair) Brad Jensen (DLI) 
Larry Justin – via teleconference Gary Thaden (MMCA) 
John Parizek Mike Johnson (J-Berd) 
Cathy Tran (DLI Commissioner’s Designee) Megan Henkemeyer (J-Berd) 
David Wagner Nick Erickson (Housing First MN) 
David Weum (DOH Commissioner’s Designee) Adam Hanson (ABC) 

David Radziej (PHCC) 
Members Absent Tom Bakken (City of Hastings) 
Tom Andresen Jami Neiber (Scott County) 
Jeff Brown 
Grant Edwards (Vice Chair) 
Phillip Sterner (Secretary) 

1. Call to Order 
The meeting was called to order by Chair Jacobs at 9:37 a.m. Roll call was taken by Chair Jacobs 
and a quorum was declared with 8 of 12 voting members present in person or via 
teleconference and one non-voting member. Introductions and housekeeping announcements 
were made. 

2. Approval of meeting agenda 
A motion was made by Parizek, seconded by Flagg, to approve the agenda as presented.  The 
roll call vote was unanimous with 8 votes in favor; the motion carried. 

3. Regular Business 
Approval of expense reports – Jacobs approved the expenses as presented. 
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4. Special Business 
A. Review draft of proposed amendments to Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716 – Plumber 

Licensing and Apprentices Registration – for possible rulemaking. 
The Chair reviewed amendments to the Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Plumbing 
Licensing DRAFT dated June 5, 2018 – see Attachment A. A question was raised – Why 
not have the same CE requirements for registered unlicensed plumbers (RUP) as 
registered unlicensed water conditioners (RUWC). RUPs require 2 hours on the code 
while RUWCs require one hour on code and one hour on technical. Parizek said the 
water conditioning licenses only require 4 hours of CE every two years – not a full 16 CE 
hours that a licensed plumber must complete. The work of a RUP is broader and 
requires wider code knowledge than a RUWC.  A limited portion of the plumbing code 
applies to water conditioning.  There were no other significant discussions and no 
changes were made to the language. 

A motion was made by Parizek, seconded by Flagg, for the Plumbing Board to 
move forward with the proposed amendments to Minnesota Rules, Chapter 
4716, RD4365, Plumber Licensing and Apprentices Registration, draft dated 
June 5, 2018, and to authorize the Chair to conduct rulemaking as outlined in 
the Resolution dated June 12, 2018. The vote was unanimous with 8 votes in 
favor; the motion carried. 

5. Announcements 
Next regularly scheduled meetings in 2018 – all meetings will be held at 9:30 a.m. in the 
Minnesota Room. The Executive Committee meetings occur at 8:30 a.m. prior to each regular 
meeting in the Minnesota Room. 
A. July 17, 2018 (annual meeting) 
B. October 16, 2018 

Larry Justin and John Parizek were thanked for their service to the Board. 

6. Adjournment 
A motion was made by Parizek, seconded by Flagg, to adjourn the meeting at 10:55 a.m. The 
vote was unanimous with 8 votes in favor of the motion; the motion passed. 

Respectfully submitted, 

Rick Jacobs 
Rick Jacobs, Board Chair 
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​  ​06/05/18 REVISOR SS/NB RD4365 

1.1 Plumbing Board 
Attachment A 

1.2 Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Plumbing Licensing 

1.3 4716.0010 DEFINITIONS. 

1.4 [For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.] 

1.5 Subp. 6. Registered unlicensed plumber. "Registered unlicensed plumber" means 

1.6 an individual who performs plumbing work for a contractor or employer, does not hold any 

1.7 class of plumber license, is not a plumber's apprentice as described in Minnesota Statutes, 

1.8 section 326B.42, subdivision 6, and is registered with the commissioner under part 

1.9 4716.0050. 

1.10 4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS. 

1.11 Subpart 1. Examinations. An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted 

1.12 journeyworker or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination 

1.13 given by the commissioner. Examinations for journeyworker and master plumber licenses 

1.14 shall be held in March and September of each year. Applications for the March examination 

1.15 must be filed not later than February 15 and for the September examination not later than 

1.16 August 15. 

1.17 A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:

1.18 (1) a current Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and five years of

1.19 practical plumbing experience at least one year of practical plumbing experience as a licensed 

1.20 journeyworker plumber as described in subpart 2; 

1.21 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.] 

1.22 B. An applicant for the journeyworker examination:

1.23 (1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota as described

1.24 in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.42, subdivision 6, or must be a registered unlicensed 

4716.0020 1 
R-04365    144



               ​

          ​

        ​

        ​

   ​

        ​

           ​

         ​

         ​

               ​

             ​

              ​

            ​

     ​

     ​

        ​

   ​

      ​

          ​

           ​

          ​

     ​

​​

​  ​06/05/18 REVISOR SS/NB RD4365 

2.1 plumber as described in part 4716.0010, subpart 6, and must have at least four years of 

2.2 recorded practical plumbing experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F; 

2.3 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.] 

2.4 Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience 

2.5 described in subpart 1. 

2.6 [For text of items A to D, see M.R.] 

2.7 E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyworker plumber or a licensed 

2.8 restricted master plumber, subitems (1) to (3) and (2) apply. 

2.9 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following 

2.10 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required 

2.11 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included 

2.12 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part 

2.13 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing 

2.14 work and corresponding number of hours: 

2.15 (a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours; 

2.16 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and 

2.17 (c) fixture installation, 500 hours. 

2.18 [For text of subitem (2), see M.R.] 

2.19 (3) The applicant must have completed the entire two years of practical 

2.20 plumbing experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination. 

2.21 F. If the applicant is a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber, subitems 

2.22 (1) to (3) and (2) apply. 

4716.0020 2 
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3.1 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following 

3.2 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required 

3.3 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included 

3.4 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part 

3.5 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing 

3.6 work and corresponding number of hours: 

3.7 (a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours; 

3.8 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and 

3.9 (c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours. 

3.10 (2) Except for experience qualifying under subitem (3), The applicant must 

3.11 have been a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber at all times while obtaining 

3.12 the practical plumbing experience. or the applicant must have obtained the practical plumbing 

3.13 experience in one of the following ways: 

3.14 (a) during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies 

3.15 the experience; 

3.16 (b) as part of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner, 

3.17 and an authorized representative of the plumbing educational institution certifies the 

3.18 experience; or 

3.19 (c) as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is 

3.20 verified by a state agency that regulates plumbing licensing in that state or by a federal 

3.21 agency. 

3.22 (3) Up to 24 months of practical plumbing experience gained before the 

3.23 effective date of the applicant's initial registration as a plumber's apprentice will be credited 

3.24 if the applicant gained some of the experience during the 12-month period immediately 

3.25 prior to the effective date of the applicant's initial registration and if: 

4716.0020 3 
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4.1 (a) the applicant gained the plumbing experience during military service, 

4.2 and the applicant's military officer certifies the experience; 

4.3 (b) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as part of a plumbing 

4.4 education class approved by the commissioner, and an authorized representative of the 

4.5 educational institution certifies the experience; or 

4.6 (c) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as a plumber's 

4.7 apprentice in another state where the experience is verified by a state agency in that state 

4.8 or by a federal agency. 

4.9 G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (3) (2), units (a) to (c), all practical 

4.10 plumbing experience must be certified by the licensed master plumber or plumbing contractor 

4.11 who is responsible for the work performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the 

4.12 restricted master plumber's own experience. The employer of a journeyworker plumber, 

4.13 restricted master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber, or plumber's apprentice 

4.14 registered unlicensed plumber is responsible for: 

4.15 [For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.] 

4.16 4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES. 

4.17 Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration. Initial and renewal renewed journeyworker 

4.18 plumber's licenses and renewed restricted journeyworker plumber's licenses expire on 

4.19 December 31 of each odd-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Initial and renewed 

4.20 master plumber's licenses, and renewal restricted journeyworker and renewed restricted 

4.21 master plumber's licenses, shall be issued for the calendar year for which application is 

4.22 made and shall expire on December 31 of such year each even-numbered year after issuance 

4.23 or renewal. Any journeyworker plumber, master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber, 

4.24 or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal application after December 31 shall 

4.25 not work as a plumber until the person has submitted an application, fee, and penalty fee. 

4716.0040 4 
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5.1 Any licensed journeyworker or master plumber who does not renew the license within two 

5.2 years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person must retake and pass the examination 

5.3 before a new license will be issued. Any licensed restricted journeyworker or restricted 

5.4 master plumber who does not renew the license within 12 months two years of the license 

5.5 expiration will permanently forfeit the restricted plumber license. 

5.6 Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be submitted to 

5.7 the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 of 

5.8 the year preceding after the year for in which the application is made. The application must 

5.9 be accompanied by the required fee. Journeyworker and master plumbers who submit their 

5.10 license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within two years after 

5.11 expiration of the previously issued license must pay all past due renewal fees plus the 

5.12 required late fee. Restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers who submit their 

5.13 license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within 12 months two years 

5.14 after expiration of the previously issued license must pay the past due renewal fee plus the 

5.15 required late fee. 

5.16 4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE REGISTERED 
5.17 UNLICENSED PLUMBER. 

5.18 Subpart 1. Scope. Subpart 2 shall does not apply to a registered plumber's apprentices 

5.19 apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1) paragraph 

5.20 (a). 

5.21 Subp. 2. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a plumber's apprentice 

5.22 registered unlicensed plumber until that person has submitted an application and fee for 

5.23 registration to the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for 

5.24 the period from July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial 

5.25 and renewal registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each 

5.26 registration period on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by 

4716.0050 5 
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6.1 the required fee. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber who submits a 

6.2 registration application after July 1 in any year must pay the past due renewal fee plus the 

6.3 required late fee. 

6.4 A. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber must be at least 18 years

6.5 of age or be a high school graduate, except that an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber 

6.6 employed and supervised by the apprentice's registered unlicensed plumber's parent must 

6.7 be at least 16 years of age. 

6.8 B. At the time of registration, an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber must

6.9 provide a name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and information about 

6.10 education and practical plumbing experience. 

6.11 4716.0091 DEFINITIONS. 

6.12 Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 4716.0090 to 4716.0092 have the meanings 

6.13 given them in this part, UPC sections 201.0 to 228.0 as incorporated by reference in part 

6.14 4714.0050, and Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. 

6.15 Subp. 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner. "Registered unlicensed water 

6.16 conditioner" means an individual who performs water conditioning work for a contractor 

6.17 or employer, does not hold any class of water conditioning license, and is registered with 

6.18 the commissioner under part 4716.0093. 

6.19 4716.0092 LICENSURE. 

6.20 Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning 

6.21 contractor license must designate a water conditioning responsible licensed master or master 

6.22 plumber, licensed by the commissioner, as the individual responsible for the water 

6.23 conditioning contractor's compliance with this part, chapter 4714, Minnesota Statutes, 

6.24 sections 326B.50 to 326B.59, and all orders issued under Minnesota Statutes, section 

6.25 326B.082 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible water 

4716.0092 6 
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7.1 conditioning licensed master or master plumber must give a minimum 15-day notice to the 

7.2 water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the responsible water 

7.3 conditioning licensed master or master plumber for the contractor. The contractor and 

7.4 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber must immediately notify 

7.5 the department upon the termination or separation of the contractor's responsible water 

7.6 conditioning licensed master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall 

7.7 have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous responsible water conditioning 

7.8 licensed master or master plumber to employ another responsible water conditioning licensed 

7.9 master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written notification 

7.10 to the department that it has designated a different water conditioning responsible licensed 

7.11 master or master plumber as the individual responsible for the contractor's compliance with 

7.12 this part, chapter 4714, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. If the water 

7.13 conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible water conditioning 

7.14 licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning contractor's license is invalid 

7.15 and the contractor shall cease and desist from performing any water conditioning work and 

7.16 return the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement 

7.17 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning 

7.18 contractor may request reinstatement of the terminated license under Minnesota Statutes, 

7.19 section 326B.096. 

7.20 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

7.21 Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning 

7.22 journeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner. 

7.23 An applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker examination must be a registered 

7.24 unlicensed water conditioner in Minnesota and must have at least six months of practical 

7.25 experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitem (2). The applicant is responsible for 

7.26 verifying practical experience. 

4716.0092 7 
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8.1 Subp. 4. Experience. For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2 

8.2 and 3, the following requirements apply. 

8.3 [For text of items A to C, see M.R.] 

8.4 D. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner: 

8.5 (1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner 

8.6 at all times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience, except as allowed 

8.7 under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, subdivision 2; and 

8.8 (2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed 

8.9 water conditioning master who is responsible for the work performed. Practical water 

8.10 conditioning experience includes installation, servicing, and training hours. The commissioner 

8.11 may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to 

8.12 evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy 

8.13 and acceptability of an applicant's experience. 

8.14 E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed 

8.15 water conditioner is responsible for: 

8.16 (1) recording the practical water conditioning experience worked by each 

8.17 employee; and 

8.18 (2) maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience for at 

8.19 least six years after the employee's last recorded experience. 

8.20 [For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.] 

8.21 4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION. 

8.22 Subpart 1. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a registered unlicensed 

8.23 water conditioner until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to 

8.24 the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from 

4716.0093 8 
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9.1 July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal 

9.2 registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period 

9.3 on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A 

9.4 registered unlicensed water conditioner who submits a registration application after July 1 

9.5 in any year must pay the renewal fee plus the required late fee. 

9.6 A. A registered unlicensed water conditioner must be at least 18 years of age or 

9.7 a high school graduate, except that a registered unlicensed water conditioner employed and 

9.8 supervised by the registered unlicensed water conditioner's parent must be at least 16 years 

9.9 of age. 

9.10 B. An applicant for registration under this part must provide a name, address, date 

9.11 of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and practical water 

9.12 conditioning experience on a form provided by the commissioner. 

9.13 4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS. 

9.14 Subpart 1. Continuing education; content. 

9.15 A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B, 

9.16 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain 16 hours of continuing 

9.17 education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed: 

9.18 (1) master plumber; 

9.19 (2) journeyworker plumber; and 

9.20 (3) restricted plumber. 

9.21 At least 12 eight hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, and at least four 

9.22 hours of instruction must pertain to the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, 

9.23 technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, this chapter, the Minnesota 

9.24 State Building Code, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.49 326B.59. 

4716.0205 9 
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10.1 Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must not exceed four hours 

10.2 during the renewal period comply with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. 

10.3 B. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,

10.4 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain four hours of 

10.5 continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed: 

10.6 (1) water conditioning master; and

10.7 (2) water conditioning journeyworker.

10.8 At least two hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remainder must 

10.9 pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water conditioning installation and 

10.10 servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. Continuing 

10.11 education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply with Minnesota Statutes, 

10.12 sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. 

10.13 C. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,

10.14 individuals who hold the following registration types are required to obtain continuing 

10.15 education instruction during the registration period before the registration can be renewed: 

10.16 (1) registered unlicensed plumbers; and

10.17 (2) registered unlicensed water conditioners.

10.18 The registered unlicensed plumber must obtain at least two hours of continuing education 

10.19 instruction that must pertain to the Plumbing Code. 

10.20 The registered unlicensed water conditioner must obtain at least two hours of continuing 

10.21 education instruction. At least one hour of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, 

10.22 and the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water 

10.23 conditioning installation and servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 

4716.0205 10 
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11.1 to 326B.59. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply 

11.2 with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. 

11.3 C D. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 

11.4 326B, an applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain 

11.5 four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the 

11.6 certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical 

11.7 topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems, this chapter, 

11.8 NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438. 

11.9 D E. In addition to satisfying the requirements of part 4716.0097 and Minnesota 

11.10 Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following certifications are required to 

11.11 obtain the following continuing education during the certification period before the certificate 

11.12 may be renewed: 

11.13 (1) a backflow prevention rebuilder shall meet the minimum requirements

11.14 to recertify in ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130; and 

11.15 (2) a backflow prevention tester shall meet the minimum requirements to

11.16 recertify in ASSE Standard 5110. 

11.17 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

4716.0205 11 
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Minutes: SPECIAL Plumbing Board meeting 
Date: August 28, 2018 
Time: 9:30 a.m. 
Minutes by: Lyndy Logan 
Location: Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 55117-4344 

Members 
Tom Andresen 
Richard Becker 
Michael Dryke 
Kent Erickson 
John Flagg 
Mike Herman – via teleconference 
Rick Jacobs (Chair) 
Justin Parizek – via teleconference 
Phillip Sterner (Secretary) 
Cathy Tran (DLI Commissioner’s Designee) 

Members Absent 
Jeff Brown 
David Wagner 
David Weum (DOH Commissioner’s Designee) 

DLI Staff & Visitors 
Suzanne Todnem (Gen. Counsel, DLI) 
Lyndy Logan (DLI) 
Jim Peterson (DLI) 
Brad Jensen (DLI) 
Gary Thaden (MMCA) 
Scott Thompson (My Plumbing Training) 
Peter Daniels (Wenck Associates) 
Mike Johnson (J-Berd) 
Megan Henkemeyer (J-Berd) 
Adam Hanson (ABC) 
Matt Marciniak (IAPMO) 
John Parizek (ASSE) 
Anita Anderson (MDH) – via teleconference 

1. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order by Chair Jacobs at 9:35 a.m. Roll call was taken by Jacobs and
a quorum was declared with 9 of 12 voting members present in person or via teleconference.
Introductions and housekeeping announcements were made and Kent Erickson and Justin
Parizek introduced themselves as new Board members.

2. Approval of meeting agenda
A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Flagg, to approve the agenda as presented. The
roll call vote was unanimous with 9 votes in favor; the motion carried.

3. Regular Business
Approval of expense reports – Jacobs approved the expenses as presented.
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4. Special Business 
A. Review and approve NEW proposed changes to Minnesota Rules, part 4716.0040, subp. 

2, at lines 5.7-5.8 and part 4716.0092, subp. 3, at lines 7.23-7.25 of the 6/5/18 rule draft 
– See Attachment A. 
Todnem said there are no substantive changes; language was only revised to provide 
clarification.  Todnem noted that 5.7 and 5.8 were revised to make it clear renewals 
must happen before expiration.  Jacobs agreed that the proposed changes provide 
clarity. Lines 7.23, 7.24, and 7.25 were revised to more closely mirror registered 
unlicensed plumber language and to provide clarification. 

Clarification was provided to Scott Thompson that 4.3 and 4.6 lines were consolidated 
and moved to a different part of the rule.   

A motion was made by Becker, seconded by Herman, to approve new proposed 
changes to Minnesota Rules 4716.0040, subp. 2 at lines 5.7-5.8 and part 
4716.0092, subp. 3 at lines 7.23-7.25.  The roll call vote was unanimous with 9 
votes in favor; the motion carried. 

Phil Sterner joined the meeting at 9:54 a.m. resulting in 10 of 12 voting members present in person or 
via teleconference. 

B. Review RFI clarification from Peter Daniels regarding a grinder pump lift station 
The Chair noted that Peter Daniels submitted additional information as requested – see 
Attachment B. Daniels said that would be used in place of a septic system. 

The Chair read aloud from the RFI:  “There are thousands of grinder pump stations 
installed in Minnesota at commercial, residential, industrial, and institutional facilities. 
We are not aware of any of these grinder pump stations that are equipped with 10-ft 
tall vent pipes. These grinder pump stations are often located in yards or green space 
outside of homes and buildings. The grinder stations themselves are designed with 
several venting options. Adding an additional 10-ft tall vent is not needed. There is also 
not a practical way to install a 10-ft tall vent pipe on a buried grinder pump station 
located in a property's backyard. We are also concerned that a 10-ft tall exterior vent 
could freeze with condensation in the winter.” 

The Board reviewed and discussed Attachment B and the following question, answer, 
and motion resulted: 

Question: Do plumbing code sections 710.10 and 906.4 apply to exterior 
sumps and receiving tanks? 

Answer: Yes, if the exterior sumps and receiving tank are located within 
the property lines and not covered by a utility easement.  If the 
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sump and receiving tank are covered by a utility easement, then 
the Plumbing Code does not apply.  

A motion was made by Becker, seconded by Flagg, to accept the Answer to the 
Question (shown above) and to authorize the chair to issue a Final 
Interpretation. The roll call vote was unanimous with 9 voting members 
present in person or via teleconference [Parizek was no longer present via 
teleconference], the motion carried.  

5. Announcements 
Next regularly scheduled meetings in 2018 – all meetings will be held at 9:30 a.m. in the 
Minnesota Room.  The Executive Committee meetings occur at 8:30 a.m. prior to each regular 
meeting in the Minnesota Room. 
A. October 16, 2018 

6. Adjournment 
A motion was made by Flagg, seconded by Becker, to adjourn the meeting at 10:44 a.m. The 
roll call vote was unanimous with 9 votes in favor of the motion; the motion passed. 

Respectfully submitted, 

Phil Sterner 
Phil Sterner, Board Secretary 
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M~. 
W the appikant gained the plumbing experience during military service, 

and the applicant's military officer certifies the experience; 

tb:) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as part of a plumbing 

education class approved by the commissioner, and an authorized representative ofthe 

educational institution certifies the experience; or 

fc1 the applicant gained the plumbing experience as a plumber's 

apprentice in another state v,nere the experience is verified by a state agency in that state 

Of by a federal agency. 

G. Except as provided in item F, subitem@} (2), units (a) to (c), all practical 

plumbing experience must be certified by the licensed master plumber or plumbing contractor 

who is responsible for the work performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the 

restricted master plumber's own experience. The employer of a j ourneyworker plumber, 

restricted master plumber, restrictedjourneyworker plumber, or plumber's apprentice 

registered unlicensed plumber is responsible for: 

[For text of subitems (1) and (2), see MR.] 

4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES. 

Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration. Initial and rene>vval renewedjourneyworker 

plumber's licenses and renewed restricted journeyworker plumber's licenses expire on 

December 31 of each odd-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Initial and renewed 

master plumber's licenses, and renC\val restrictedjoumeyworker and renewed restricted 

master plumber's licenses, shall be issued for the calendar year for v,rhich application is 

made and shall expire on December 31 of such year each even-numbered year after issuance 

or renewal. Any j ourneyworker plumber, master plumber, restricted j ourneyworker plumber, 

or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal application after December 31 shall 

not work as a plumber until the person has submitted an application, fee, and penalty fee. 

4716.0040 4 

Attachment A 
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5.1 Any licensed joumeyworker or master plumber who does not renew the license within two 

5.2 years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person must retake and pass the examination 

5.3 before a new license will be issued. Any licensed restricted j oumeyworker or restricted 

5.4 master plumber who does not renew the license within 12 months two years of the license 

5.5 expiration will permanently forfeit the restricted plumber license. 

5.6 Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be submitted to 

the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 ef 

ffii:~IBr-13fiIBe-EH:f.~~he year fef in which the application is mad~ The application must 
C)f- - --/L u~se. expir.e 

5.9 be accompanied by the required fee. Joumeyworker and master plumbers who submit their 

5.10 license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within two years after 

5.11 expiration of the previously issued license must pay all past due renewal fees plus the 

5.12 required late fee. Restricted joumeyworker and restricted master plumbers who submit their 

5.13 license renewal applications after expiration oftheir license but within 12 months two years 

5.14 after expiration of the previously issued license must pay the past due renewal fee plus the 

5.15 required late fee. 

5.16 4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUl\fflER'S A.PPRENTICE REGISTERED 
5.17 UNLICENSED PLUMBER. 

5.18 Subpart 1. Scope. Subpart 2 shall does not apply to ~registered plumber's apprentices 

5.19 apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1) paragraph 

5.20 ~-

5.21 Subp. 2. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a plumber's apprentice 

5.22 registered unlicensed plumber until that person has submitted an application and fee for 

5.23 registration to the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for 

5.24 the period from July 1 of e~ch year to June 30 ofthe following year. Applications for initial 

5.25 and renewal registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each 

5.26 registration period on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by 

4716.0050 5 
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6.1 the required fee. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber who submits a 

6.2 registration application after July 1 in any year must pay the past due renewal fee plus the 

6.3 required late fee. 

6.4 A. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber must be at least 18 years 

6.5 ofage or be a high school graduate, except that an apprentice a registered unlicen,sed plumber 

6.6 employed and supervised by the apprentice's registered unlicensed plumber's parent must 

6.7 be at least 16 years of age. 

6.8 B. At the time ofregistration, an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber must 

6.9 provide a name, address, date ofbirth, Social Security number, and information about 

6.10 education and practical plumbing experience. 

6.11 4716.0091 DEFINITIONS. 

6.12 Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 4716.0090 to 4716.0092 have the meanings 

6.13 given them in this part, UPC sections 201.0 to 228.0 as incorporated by reference in part 

6.14 4 714.0050, and Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. 

6.15 Subp. 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner. "Registered unlicensed water 

6.16 conditioner" means an individual who performs water conditioning work for a contractor 

6.17 or employer, does not hold any class ofwater conditioning license, and is registered with 

6.18 the commissioner under part 4716.0093. 

6.19 4716.0092 LICENSURE. 

6.20 Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning 

6.21 contractor license must designate a •.vater conditioning responsible licensed master or master 

6.22 plumber, licensed by the commissioner, as the individual responsible for the v;ater 

6.23 conditioning contractor's compliance with this part, chapter 4714, Minnesota Statutes, 

6.24 sections 326B.50 to 326B.59, and all orders issued under l\finnesota Statutes, section 

6.25 326B.082 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible water 

4716.0092 6 
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7.1 conditioning licensed master or master plumber must give a minimum 15-day notice to the 

7.2 water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the responsible water 

7.3 conditioning licensed master or master plumbef for the contractor. The contractor and 

7.4 responsible !,vater conditioning licensed master or master plumber must immediately notify 

7.5 the department upon the termination or separation of the contractor's responsible water 

7.6 conditioning licensed master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall 

7.7 have 60 days from the last day ofemployment ofits previous responsible ·,vater conditioning 

7.8 licensed master or master plumber to employ another responsible ·,;vilter conditioning licensed 

7.9 master or master plrnnber. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written notification 

1.10 to the department that it has designated a different 'Nater conditioning responsible licensed 

7.11 master or master plumber as the individual responsible for the contractor's compliance with 

7.12 this part, chapter 4714, and Minnesota 8tatutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. Ifthe water 

7.13 conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible Vlater conditioning. 

7.14 licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning contractor's license is invalid 

7.15 and the contractor shall cease and desist from performing any water conditioning work and 

7.16 return the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement 

7. I 7 responsible 'Nater conditioning licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning 

7.18 contractor may request reinstatement of the terminated license under Minnesota Statutes, 

7.19 section 326B.096. 

1.20 [For text of'subp 2, see MR. l 

1.21 Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning 

7.22 joumeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner. 

An applicant for the water conditioning joumeyworker examination must~registered 
. ,)f_ V\.CW'e:.., ~ 

unlicensed water conditionert · t least six months of practical 
7 ~ a.t\ +,v1i'le'...S whi'le c:>b+a.1,,,1,rto-1 

experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitem (RThe applicant is responsible for 

7.26 verifying practical experience. 

4716.0092 7 
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Attachment B 

RFI / Grinder pump 
Additional information requested by the 
Plumbing Board: 

• Is the grinder pump on the inlet or outlet side of a septic tank?
No. Septic tanks are not usually present if a grinder pump is used. Sewage leaves the house,
enters the grinder station, then is pumped to a public sewer/treatment system. If the grinder
pump is on the outlet side of a septic tank, it would fall under the code requirements of the
MPCA, Minnesota Rules Chapters 7080 through 7083 Subsurface Sewage Treatment Systems
Program and not fall under the jurisdiction of the 2015 Minnesota Plumbing Code.

• You indicate in your RFI under, Explain why you disagree with the interpretation given to you
by DLI staff: that the grinder stations themselves are designed with several venting options.
Could you please provide these venting options.
The bolted lids are not air/water tight, and there is an option to add a small mushroom vent
(usually a few inches tall, see attached shop drawing)

• Is the sump that the grinder pump is located in air and water tight?
Yes, except for bolted lid, as mentioned above

• How close is the grinder pump located to building?
This can vary, depends on each situation. Typically as close as 5 feet, as far as a hundred feet.

Peter Daniels, PE 
Project Engineer / Principal 
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Plumbing Board 
c/o Department of Labor and Industry 
443 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, MN 55155-4344 
www.dli.mn.gov 

PRINT IN INK or TYPE 

Plumbing Board 
Request for Interpretation 

Peter Daniels, PE
MN Plumbing Code Sections
710.3-710.12 & 906.4

NAME OF SUBMITTER Rule(s) to be interpreted (e.g., 4714.0330) 

The Minnesota Plumbing Code (MN Rules, Chapter 4714) is available at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingCode.asp 
Has a request for interpretation been submitted 

XD Yes 
to Department of Labor and Industry (DU) staff, either as a verbal request or a 

written request? D No 
If "No," contact DLI staff at 651-284-5187. The DLI is responsible for administration and interpretation of the Minnesota 
Plumbing Code, and all requests must be processed and provided a DLI interpretation before being referred to the Plumbing 
Board. This form is intended to be used to request an interpretation from the Plumbing Board only as a resolution of dispute 
with DU interpretation. 

MN Plumbing Code Sections
710.3-710.12 & 906.4 Corey Frain Plans submitted May 10, 2018

CODE/RULE to be interpreted: NAME OF DU employee gave interpretation: DATE interpretation originally requested: 

Provide a co 

Is there a local dispute with an Inspector of other official? If Yes, state the name or type of official 

Yes 

State the circumstances 

X No 

of the initial dispute: 

Requirement #5 in the DOLI plan review letter dated June 1, 2018 (PLB1805-00156) requires a 10-ft tall vent pipe to be
added to a proposed grinder pump lift station located outside a building, in green space. Installing a vent pipe in this
manner is not feasible, and not necessary, given the design and location of the grinder pump station.

Explain why you disagree with the interpretation given to you by DU staff: 
There are thousands of grinder pump stations installed in Minnesota at commercial, residential, industrial, and institutional facilities. We are
not aware of any of these grinder pump stations that are equipped with 10-ft tall vent pipes. These grinder pump stations are often located in
yards or green space outside of homes and buildings. The grinder stations themselves are designed with several venting options. Adding an
additional 10-ft tall vent is not needed. There is also not a practical way to install a 10-ft tall vent pipe on a buried grinder pump station
located in a property's backyard. We are also concerned that a 10-ft tall exterior vent could freeze with condensation in the winter.

What is your interpretation of the language: 

Venting of exterior grinder pump stations should be allowed through the grinder pump station's standard design options, as
has been done for thousands of grinder pump stations in the past. An additional 10-ft tall vent pipe should not be required.

List any other information you would like the Board to consider: 

See attached for a photo of a typical grinder pump station design. We have also talked to multiple grinder pump
manufacturers about this issue, and they are also not aware of any issues that have developed in the past due to the lack
of a 10-ft tall vent.

See attached for photos of typical grinder pump station installation. Also attached is a letter from a vendor that sells
packaged grinder pump stations.

Information regarding submitting this form: 
Submit any supporting documentation to be considered electronically to DLI.CCLDBOARDS@state.mn.us. Once your 
Request For Interpretation form has been received, it will be assigned a file number. Please reference this file number on 
any correspondence and supplemental submissions. 

Information for presentation to the Board. 
You will be notified with the date of the Board Meeting in which your Request For Interpretation will be heard. 
Limit presentations to 5 minutes or less. 
Be prepared to answer questions regarding the Code, the circumstances that led to the dispute and please bring copies of 
any documentation. 

What you can do if you disagree with the Board's determination: 
You may appeal the Board's determination pursuant to Minn. Stat. Chapter 14. 
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RFI File No. Date Received by DLI Dated Received by Board Date of Board Meeting 

Title of RFI By: 

This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, Braille or on a tape. To request, call 1-800-342-5354 (DIAL-DU) Voice or 
TDD (651) 297-4198. 

Submitted bv: 
NAME FIRM NAME 

ADDRESS CITY STATE 

PHONE SIGNATURE (orioinal or electronic) 

,£0~ 
DATE 

For assistance or questions on completing this form, please call 651-284-5898 or 651-284-5889. 

Mailing address: Plumbing Board 
c/o Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, MN 55155-4344 

**" Please remember to attach all necessary explanations and supporting documentation'""* Page 2 of 2 

ZIP CODE 

PB0096 June 15, 2018 July 17, 2018 July 17, 2018 

Peter Daniels Wenck Associates, Inc.

7500 Olson Memorial Highway Suite 300 Golden Valley, MN 55427

763-252-6838 June 13, 2018
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Employment Outlook Projections 
Data Tool
The Employment Outlook data tool shows one-year and ten-year projections of employment growth or 
decline by occupation and industry for Minnesota's regions, statewide, and for the U.S.

Use the data tool (https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/projections/)

Snapshot About More Data Methodology Glossary 

Snapshot

Want more results? Use the Employment Outlook data tool
(https://apps.deed.state.mn.us/lmi/projections/).

Page 1 of 1Employment Outlook (Employment Projections) / Minnesota Department of Employment...
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Minnesota Job Outlook to 2026 
by Dave Senf 
david.senf@state.mn.us (mailto:david.senf@state.mn.us)
June 2018

The prime goal of employment projections is to provide details on projected job growth and employment 
prospects for 810 occupations in Minnesota. Projections of future job growth at the national, state, and 
substate level are widely used in career guidance, in planning education and training programs, and in 
workforce development efforts in the private and public sectors. Workforce development will be more 
important than ever in achieving a healthy economy in the future since slow labor force growth over the 
next decade is expected to keep the state’s job picture extremely tight.

Changes in demand for goods and services, productivity advances, technological innovations, and shifts in 
business practices all combine to alter the mix of occupations that employers will be looking to fill over the 
next 10 years even with only moderate economic growth. The ongoing retirement of the Baby Boomers 
over the next 10 years will also heavily influence employment opportunities in Minnesota. Job openings 
arising from retirements and occupational transfers will be larger than job openings created by 
employment growth for most occupations.

Total jobs in Minnesota are projected to increase by 181,600 between 2016 and 2026, reaching over 3.2 
million jobs by 2026 according to recently released 2016 – 2026 Minnesota employment projections. The 
projected growth is about 28 percent higher than the previous decade (2006 – 2016) when the state added 
128,300 jobs with most of the growth occurring from 2011 to 2016 as the state’s job market rebounded 
from the Great Recession. Job expansion over the last 10 years was severely trimmed by steep job cutbacks 
experienced during the Great Recession in 2008 – 2010.

Job creation in the state over the next decade while stronger than the previous decade will not accelerate to 
match job growth two decades ago. The state add 280,000 jobs between 1996 and 2006 even with a mild 
recession in 2001. While no repeat of the Great Recession is expected during the next 10 years, economic 
expansion and job growth nationally and in Minnesota will be limited by slow labor force growth as the 
Baby Boomers continue to retire. Minnesota’s labor force participation has inched up over the last few 
years but remains way below its 2000 peak of 75.4 percent. The state’s labor force participation rate, 70.2 
percent in 2017, may continue to inch up over the next few years if the job market continues to tighten but 
any increase will be minimal as the baby boom retirement limits any significant increase in the rate.

When Baby Boomers entered the labor force between 1964 and 1980, they replaced a much smaller older 
generation in the workforce thus generating robust labor force expansion. A steady increase in female 
labor force participation between 1960 and 2000 boosted labor force growth even higher before it flattened 
out in 2000. Since Millennial numbers are just slightly larger than Baby Boomers, labor force growth will be 
subdued as Millennials replace Baby Boomers in the labor force. Unless net immigration into the state 
increases significantly in the near future the state’s labor force will record minimal growth between 2016 
and 2026.

1
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Projected jobs include wage and salary employment as well as self-employment with all jobs measured on 
an annual average basis. Projection employment plunged 4.8 percent between 2007 and 2010 with wage 
and salary jobs dropping 4.7 percent and self-employed jobs slipping by 6.9 percent. Wage and salary 
employment surpassed its 2007 peak in 2013, but self-employment continued to fall until 2014. Self-
employed jobs were still 5.5 percent lower in 2016 when compared to 2007 while wage and salary jobs 
were 4.8 percent higher than in 2007. The breakdown of jobs showed that 6.6 percent of jobs in 2016 were 
self-employed as opposed to the 93.4 percent that were wage and salary jobs.

Job growth has averaged 1.5 percent since 2011 but is expected to decline gradually over the next 10 years 
to average just over 0.5 percent annually between 2016 and 2026. Most of the projected job expansion will 
occur over the next five years before tailing off during the second half of the decade as Baby Boomer 
retirements slow labor force growth and restrict job growth. The moderate job growth combined with 
slower labor force growth will continue to push Minnesota’s unemployment down. Unemployment in the 
state is likely to fall below 3 percent for the first time since 1999 over the next few years unless a recession 
develops and demand for workers drops.

Minnesota’s long-term industry and occupational employment projections (10-year timeframe) rely heavily 
on national industry and occupational employment projections produced by the U.S. Department of Labor’s 
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). Minnesota, along with most other states, customizes national projections 
to reflect state specific industrial, occupational, and demographic traits. Historical employment trends for 
290 industries in Minnesota are compared to corresponding national industry employment trends using 
statistical techniques. The models produced are used with BLS’s projections of 2026 national industry 
employment to produce industry projections for Minnesota.

The key macroeconomic assumptions driving the 2016 – 2026 national industry projections are:

1. Gross Domestic Product (GDP) growth will average 2.0 percent annually during the 10-year period, 
up from the 1.5 percent annual average experienced during the previous decade, but slower than 
the 3.3 percent growth achieved between 1996 and 2006.

2. Productivity growth will increase slightly over the next 10 years, averaging 1.6 percent between 2016 
and 2026 compared to the 1.5 percent average experienced between 2006 and 2016. The 1.6 percent 
annual productivity gain will be down from the 2.8 percent achieved between 1996 and 2006.

3. U.S. labor force growth will inch up over the next 10 years, averaging 0.6 percent a year compared to 
the 0.5 percent annual average of the previous 10 years. Labor force growth between 1996 and 2006 
averaged 1.2 percent annually.

4. Unemployment will average 4.7 percent in 2026 or about the same as the 4.9 percent average in 
2016 and the 4.6 percent average in 2006.

Projected industry employment is converted to occupational employment projections based on industry 
staffing patterns and the distribution of industry employment across occupations. Staffing patterns for 
Minnesota industries are developed from estimates of occupational employment collected through the 
Minnesota Wage and Salary Survey, which is a product of the Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) 
program. Shifts in staffing patterns over the 2016 to 2026 period across industries are also projected as 
part of the BLS national projections. These shifts in staffing patterns are used in Minnesota’s projections. 
The shifts project which occupations within an industry will be increasing or decreasing as a percent of total 
industrial employment.

2
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A majority of occupations, 631 in all, will experience employment growth over the next 10 years in 
Minnesota. The expected expansion of healthcare services over the next decade is a prime example of how 
changes in the demand for goods and services fuel demand for particular occupations. As the Baby Boomer 
generation enters their senior years, demand for healthcare services will increase steadily. Increasing 
healthcare service expenditures will in turn boost the demand for workers in healthcare related jobs like 
registered nurses, pharmacists, dental assistants, personal care aides, and home health aides both 
nationally and in Minnesota.

Nineteen occupations are expected to see no change in the number of workers. These are small specialized 
occupations (less than 100 positions in 2016) that are employed in industries that are expected to 
experience little employment change. Slightly less than 20 percent of all occupations, 162 to be exact, are 
projected to decline. Seventy percent of the declining occupations, however, are projected to decline by 10 
percent or less.

The 162 shrinking occupations combined accounted for roughly 683,000 jobs or 22 percent of all jobs in 
2026. The number of jobs in these occupations is projected to tail off to 651,000 by 2026, an aggregated 7 
percent drop. Declining occupations are concentrated in the production, office and administrative support, 
and management occupational groups. Almost all of the job loss in the managerial group is expected to be 
farmers, ranchers, and other agricultural managers which are included in the managerial occupation group. 
Minnesota farmers totaled 50,800 in 2016 and are projected to slip to 49,500 or a 2.7 percent decline over 
the next 10 years. Other occupations expected to see their numbers shrink the most over the next 10 years 
are team assemblers, executive secretaries, secretaries and administrative assistants, electrical and 
electronic equipment assemblers, and general office clerks.

Some occupations will decline as industries which employ workers in the declining occupations cut back 
their workforces. Electrical and electronic equipment assemblers is one such occupation. Continued 
reduction in Minnesota’s computer and electronic product manufacturing is expected over the next 10 
years, leading to a reduction in the number of electrical and electronic equipment assemblers (SOC 51-
2022).

General office clerks, on the other hand, are employed across multiple industries yet are still expected to 
decline slightly with automation of some of their work. For example, in 2016 an estimated 3,030 office 
clerks (SOC 43-9061) were working in the real estate industry (NAICS 531), accounting for 11 percent of the 
27,000 workers in the industry. While this industry is expected to increase employment to 28,600 by 2026, 
office clerk positions within the industry will drop to 2,780 in 2026. Office clerk positions in the real estate 
industry will shrink by 8 percent by 2026 even though real estate employment is expected to expand by 6 
percent.

Minnesota’s total employment is projected to climb 5.8 percent over the 2016 – 2026 period, compared to 
projected U.S. employment growth of 7.4 percent over the same time period. Minnesota’s employment 
growth trailed the U.S. pace during the previous 10 years, 4.3 percent for the state compared to 4.7 percent 
nationwide.

Most of the predicted job growth will occur in the 415 occupations projected to grow faster than overall 
employment. These fast growing occupations are anticipated to add roughly 180,100 new positions. The 
216 occupations that will expand below the overall job growth rate will add a combined 34,000 jobs. 
Nineteen occupations are expected to experience no change in numbers over the next 10 years. The other 
162 occupations are expected to be declining occupations. The combined loss of shrinking occupations is 
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projected to be approximately 32,500, bringing net job growth to 181,600 jobs. So 180,100 jobs from fast 
growing occupations + 34,000 jobs from slower growing occupations - 32,500 jobs from shrinking 
occupations = 181,600.

Three major occupational groups will experience job growth twice the rate of overall job growth over the 
next 10 years – personal care and service, healthcare support, and healthcare practitioners and technical. 
Growth in the fastest growing occupational groups will be fueled by climbing senior citizen numbers and 
their increasing health care demand. Eleven of the 22 major occupational groups are expected to grow 
faster than average but not twice as fast. The other eight occupational groups are projected to expand 
slower than overall employment growth. Two of the groups – office and administrative support and 
production occupations – are expected to see their workforces shrink slightly, with office and administrative 
support jobs slipping by 0.8 percent and production jobs decreasing by 2.0 percent.

When the occupational aggregation scheme is combined into only 10 super groups then the state’s two 
largest major occupational groups in 2016 – professional and related and service occupations – will add the 
most jobs in Minnesota from 2016 to 2026 (see Table 1 which lists projections for super occupational 
groups ranked by 2016 employment). These two super occupational groups, which tend to have 
occupations at the opposite ends of the educational attainment and earnings range, are projected to 
account for 71 percent of all net employment growth over the next 10 years, adding 129,000 new positions. 
Professional and service occupations accounted for 42.4 percent of all employment and are projected to 
account for 44 percent of 2026 employment.

Table 1. Projections for Super Occupational Groups 2016 to 2026

Estimated 
2016

Projected 
2026

2016 - 2026 
Numeric 
Change

2016 - 2026 Percent 
Change

Total Employment 3,097,300 3,278,900 181,600 5.9

Professional and Related 679,070 739,780 60,710 8.9

Service 633,790 702,320 68,530 10.8

Office and Administrative Support 423,740 420,510 -3,230 -0.8

Management, Business, and 
Financial 413,540 441,690 28,150 6.8

Sales and Related 295,310 300,900 5,590 1.9

Production 224,790 220,280 -4,510 -2.0

Transportation and Material 
Moving 188,100 196,340 8,240 4.4

Construction and Extraction 119,140 129,150 10,010 8.4
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Installation, Maintenance, and 
Repair 103,310 109,970 6,660 6.5

Farming, Fishing, and Forestry 16,510 17,960 1,450 8.8

Source: DEED LMI Office Projections

Service occupations will not only be adding the most jobs over the next decade but will also be the fastest 
growing occupational group. Service occupations, fueled by rapidly climbing healthcare support jobs and 
personal care and service jobs, are anticipated to expand 10.8 percent, adding roughly 68,500 workers. 
Production occupations are anticipated to decline the most in both absolute and percent terms. 
Productions jobs are projected to decline by 4,500 positions or by 2.0 percent as manufacturers continue to 
find ways to increase production with fewer workers.

The top 50 occupations in terms of the number of workers employed accounted for 50.3 percent of all state 
employment in 2016. The largest occupations range from retail salespersons (86,800 jobs) to executive 
secretary and administrative assistant (14,580 jobs). Employment growth in these large occupations will 
account for 51.5 percent of all job growth over the next decade. The net result is that the share of total 
employment accounted for by the 50 largest occupations (50.4 percent in 2026) will remain virtually 
unchanged over the next 10 years. Ten of the largest occupations are expected to see their workforce 
numbers shrink with team assemblers, executive secretaries and administrative assistants, secretaries and 
administrative secretaries, and office clerks anticipated to see the steepest declines.

The top 50 fastest growing occupations among occupations with employment of more than 500 workers in 
2026 combined for 8.7 percent of the 2016 employment base but are anticipated to account for 35.4 
percent of jobs created over the next 10 years. There are 526 occupations that employed more than 500 
workers in 2016 and 286 occupations that employed below 500 workers. The 50 fastest expanding 
occupations are projected to grow on average by 20.4 percent or more than three times the anticipated 
overall job growth rate. The expected increases range from 39 percent for statisticians to 14.8 percent for 
production helpers.

As presented above, projected employment growth can be viewed from two perspectives – percent change 
and numerical change. Some occupations, which start with a large number of workers in 2016, are 
projected to grow slower than overall employment growth but will add a large number of workers by 2026. 
Other occupations, which have relatively small numbers of workers in 2016, are projected to grow rapidly 
over the next 10 years but will add relatively few new jobs. The distinction between occupations with fast 
employment growth and occupations expected to add the most jobs is apparent when the 50 fastest 
growing occupations (Table 2) are compared to the 50 occupations expected to add the most jobs (Table 3).

Table 2. Fastest Growing Occupations
2016 - 2026 Percent 

Change
2016 - 2026 

Numeric 
Change

Statisticians 39.1 360
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Personal Care Aides 33.6 22,980

Physician Assistants 30.9 610

Home Health Aides 30.7 7,850

Nurse Practitioners 27.8 990

Magnetic Resonance Imaging Technologists 26.2 190

Phlebotomists 26.2 500

Medical Assistants 25.3 2,480

Hazardous Materials Removal Workers 24.5 150

Software Developers, Applications 23.8 3,600

Information Security Analysts 23.8 880

Massage Therapists 22.6 820

Operations Research Analysts 22.4 590

Veterinary Technologists and Technicians 22.3 560

Earth Drillers, Except Oil and Gas 22.3 120

Therapists, All Other 21.8 120

Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary 20.8 680

Veterinarians 20.7 360

Septic Tank Servicers and Sewer Pipe Cleaners 20.7 150

Athletic Trainers 20.5 160

Diagnostic Medical Sonographers 20.5 330

Computer Numerically Controlled Machine Tool Programmers 20.2 150

Market Research Analysts and Marketing Specialists 20.1 2,840

Marriage and Family Therapists 19.9 220

Veterinary Assistants and Laboratory Animal Caretakers 19.9 210
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Occupational Therapy Assistants 19.2 100

Physical Therapist Assistants 18.6 280

Medical and Health Services Managers 18.5 1,470

Nursing Instructors and Teachers, Postsecondary 18.4 250

Self-Enrichment Education Teachers 18.2 1,650

Physical Therapists 17.8 760

Personal Financial Advisors 17.4 910

Telecommunications Line Installers and Repairers 17.3 240

Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including 
Health

17.3 130

Appraisers and Assessors of Real Estate 17.1 440

Mental Health Counselors 16.8 740

Financial Managers 16.8 2,580

Building Cleaning Workers, All Other 16.5 110

Nurse Anesthetists 16.0 290

Ophthalmic Medical Technicians 15.9 150

Optometrists 15.7 120

Community Health Workers 15.5 220

Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers 15.4 470

Coaches and Scouts 15.4 720

Surgeons 15.2 200

Medical Secretaries 15.1 1,780

Anesthesiologists 15.1 90

Health Technologists and Technicians, All Other 14.9 190

Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education 14.9 1,040
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Helpers--Production Workers 14.8 1,590

Source: DEED LMI Office Projections

Table 3. Occupations Adding the Most Jobs
2016 - 2026

Percent 
Change

2016 - 2026

Numeric 
Change

Accountants and Auditors 9.4 2,830

Bus Drivers, School or Special Client 8.0 1,250

Business Operations Specialists, All Other 7.9 1,980

Carpenters 5.6 1,200

Childcare Workers 8.5 2,370

Combined Food Preparation and Serving Workers, Including Fast Food 12.0 7,980

Computer Systems Analysts 5.9 940

Construction Laborers 9.7 1,630

Cooks, Restaurant 7.2 1,830

Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education 4.6 1,360

Financial Managers 16.8 2,580

General and Operations Managers 7.4 3,220

Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists 6.9 1,090

Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers 6.4 2,460

Helpers--Production Workers 14.8 1,590

Home Health Aides 30.7 7,850

Industrial Engineers 10.8 940

Insurance Sales Agents 9.0 900
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Janitors and Cleaners, Except Maids and Housekeeping Cleaners 8.2 3,990

Laborers and Freight, Stock, and Material Movers, Hand 5.5 2,130

Landscaping and Groundskeeping Workers 8.9 1,700

Lawyers 9.2 1,160

Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses 12.3 2,180

Light Truck or Delivery Services Drivers 5.6 920

Maids and Housekeeping Cleaners 8.0 1,540

Maintenance and Repair Workers, General 6.9 1,610

Management Analysts 11.1 1,770

Managers, All Other 6.7 1,080

Market Research Analysts and Marketing Specialists 20.1 2,840

Medical and Health Services Managers 18.5 1,470

Medical Assistants 25.3 2,480

Medical Secretaries 15.1 1,780

Nurse Practitioners 27.8 990

Nursing Assistants 5.8 1,890

Operating Engineers and Other Construction Equipment Operators 8.9 890

Personal Care Aides 33.6 22,980

Personal Financial Advisors 17.4 910

Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters 13.1 1,250

Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education 14.9 1,040

Receptionists and Information Clerks 5.2 960

Registered Nurses 11.1 7,250

Sales Representatives, Services, All Other 8.0 1,630
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Sales Representatives, Wholesale and Manufacturing, Except Technical 
and 
Scientific Products 5.8 1,960

Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical 
Education 4.7 1,010

Self-Enrichment Education Teachers 18.2 1,650

Social and Human Service Assistants 8.2 1,230

Software Developers, Applications 23.8 3,600

Stock Clerks and Order Fillers 3.4 1,150

Teacher Assistants 6.7 2,210

Waiters and Waitresses 2.5 1,270

Source: DEED LMI Office Projections

Only 13 occupations appear on both Top 50 lists. The combined job growth of these occupations is 51,800 
jobs or 28.5 percent of total projected job growth. A large share of the new jobs expected in this group of 
occupations will be personal care aide positions.

The occupations are: 

Financial Managers 
Production Workers Helpers 
Home Health Aides 
Market Research Analysts and Marketing Specialists 
Medical and Health Services Managers 
Medical Assistants 
Medical Secretaries 
Nurse Practitioners 
Personal Care Aides 
Personal Financial Advisors 
Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education 
Self-Enrichment Education Teachers 
Software Developers, Applications

Job opportunities tend to be better in occupations that are growing, but new openings created by 
employment growth are a tiny part of the future job opportunities across occupations. The chance of 
scoring a job in a particular occupation also depends on how many workers are leaving the occupation and 
on how many job seekers are looking to enter that occupation. Job openings created by workers leaving the 
labor force or transferring to a different occupation will far exceed openings generated by employment 
growth.
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Over the 10 year projection period, openings generated by employment growth are projected to be around 
181,600. Openings generated by workers exiting the labor force, primarily through retirement, are 
projected to be around 1,480,000. Job openings from workers transferring from one occupation to another 
will surpass exit openings with 1,950,300 occupational transfers anticipated over the decade. Only 5 
percent of job openings over the next 10 years are expected to arise from employment growth.

Table 4 lists the 20 occupations expected to have the most openings over the decade. Even occupations 
that are anticipated to experience decline during the next 10 years will have thousands of exit and transfer 
openings. For example, the number of workers employed as bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks 
in Minnesota is projected to decline by 1,010 as technological change and automation reduce the demand 
for workers in this occupation.

Some of the 35,930 individuals working as bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks in 2016 will still be 
working in that occupation in 2026 but many others will have retired or transferred to another occupation 
over the next 10 years thereby creating labor market exit and occupational transfer openings for 
bookkeepers, accounting, and auditing clerks. Over the 10 years 21,940 bookkeeping, accounting, and 
auditing clerks are expected to retire or leave the labor force for other reasons thereby creating openings in 
the occupation. Another 17,020 openings are expected to be generated by bookkeeping, accounting, and 
auditing clerks who take another job in different occupations. Even though the number of bookkeeping, 
accounting, and auditing clerks is expected to fall from 35,930 in 2016 to 34,920 in 2026, there will be a 
need for 37,950 workers to fill the openings in this occupation created by labor force exits and occupational 
transferring.

Looking at labor force exits and occupational separations on an annual average basis provides another way 
of understanding the job churning that occurs in Minnesota’s job market. Each year roughly 2,200 workers 
leave their bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerk job by exiting the labor force while another 1,700 
workers leave the occupation taking another job in a different occupation. That translates into about 11 
percent of bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks turning over each year.

The occupational turnover rate created from occupational separation openings (labor force exit and 
occupational transfer openings) for bookkeeping, accounting, and auditing clerks is about average among 
Minnesota’s 810 occupations. Occupations that require extended years of education, like doctors and 
lawyers, have low occupational separation rates as few doctors or lawyers transfer out of their professions 
into some other occupation. The occupational turnover or separation rate for surgeons is 2.8 percent and 
4.3 percent for lawyers.

Occupations with high occupational separation rates tend to be jobs that require little training, are low 
paying, and usually considered entry level jobs. The jobs grouped together in the lifeguards, ski patrol, and 
other recreational protective service occupation have an occupational separation rate of 25 percent. That 
means that from one year to the next 25 percent of this occupation’s workforce moves on either exiting the 
labor force or taking another job in a new occupation. Other occupations with high numbers of 
occupational separation openings include: cashiers, waiters and waitresses, combined food preparation 
and serving workers, counter attendants at food places, amusement and recreation attendants, and ushers, 
lobby attendants, and ticket takers.

As shown at the top of Table 4 the 181,600 new jobs that are expected to be created over the next 10 years 
are only a small percent (5 percent) of the projected total job openings. The other 95 percent of job 
openings will be split between openings created by labor market exits (41 percent of all openings) and 
occupational transfers (54 percent). During each year between 2016 and 2026 roughly 4.7 percent of all 
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jobs will need a replacement worker from labor market exits and another 6.3 percent of jobs will need a 
replacement worker from occupational transfers. When exploring career options using 2016-2026 
employment projections, it is important to consider both employment growth generated openings and 
projected job openings created by labor force exits and occupational transfers.

Table 4. Occupations with the Most Job Openings

2016 
Employment

Job Openings 
from 

Employment 
Growth 

2016 - 2026

Job Openings 
from Labor 

Market Exits 
2016 - 2026

Job Openings 
from 

Occupational 
Transfers 

2016 - 2026

Total Job 
Openings 

2016 - 2026

Total Employment 3,097,300 181,600 1,480,000 1,950,300 3,611,900

Combined Food Preparation 
and Serving Workers, 
Including Fast Food 66,730 7,980 62,630 65,500 136,110

Personal Care Aides 68,410 22,980 63,770 48,040 134,790

Retail Salespersons 86,820 -850 54,700 68,560 122,410

Cashiers 64,170 -260 60,120 58,680 118,540

Waiters and Waitresses 50,540 1,270 37,880 58,040 97,190

Customer Service 
Representatives 57,600 400 29,550 43,360 73,310

Janitors and Cleaners, Except 
Maids and Housekeeping 
Cleaners 48,830 3,990 33,080 31,970 69,040

Office Clerks, General 57,500 -1,370 33,340 32,480 64,450

Laborers and Freight, Stock, 
and Material Movers, Hand 38,660 2,130 19,680 33,960 55,770

Heavy and Tractor-Trailer 
Truck Drivers 38,400 2,460 16,800 24,890 44,150

Stock Clerks and Order 
Fillers 33,540 1,150 18,630 24,310 44,090

Childcare Workers 27,760 2,370 23,630 17,930 43,930

Registered Nurses 65,410 7,250 19,770 15,010 42,030
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Home Health Aides 25,600 7,850 17,940 14,920 40,710

General and Operations 
Managers 43,540 3,220 9,360 26,930 39,510

Nursing Assistants 32,660 1,890 20,410 16,980 39,280

Cooks, Restaurant 25,610 1,830 15,540 21,220 38,600

Bookkeeping, Accounting, 
and Auditing Clerks 35,930 -1,010 21,940 17,020 37,950

Sales Representatives, 
Wholesale and 
Manufacturing, Except 
Technical and Scientific 
Products 33,950 1,960 11,530 23,400 36,880

Teacher Assistants 32,810 2,210 18,610 15,470 36,290

Source: DEED LMI Office Projections

Detailed 2016 – 2026 occupational and industry employment projections for Minnesota can be found at 
mn.gov/deed/data/data-tools/employment-outlook/ (/deed/data/data-tools/employment-
outlook/index.jsp). 

The BLS’s main projection website is www.bls.gov/emp/. Projections for all states are available at 
www.projectionscentral.com/Projections/LongTerm
(http://www.projectionscentral.com/Projections/LongTerm). 

Information on the Minnesota Wage and Salary Survey is available at mn.gov/deed/data/data-tools/oes/. A 
condensed 2026 Minnesota staffing pattern matrix (810 occupations across 30 aggregated industries) is 
available at mn.gov/deed/data/data-tools/occupational-staffing/ (/deed/data/data-tools/occupational-
staffing/index.jsp).

1

2

3
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Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters PRINTER-FRIENDLY EN ESPAÑOL

What They Do -> 

Summary

SUGGESTED CITATION:

Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Outlook Handbook, Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters, 

on the Internet at https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/plumbers-pipefitters-and-steamfitters.htm (visited January 07, 2019).

Summary What They Do Work Environment How to Become One Pay Job Outlook State & Area Data Similar Occupations More Info

Quick Facts: Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters

2017 Median Pay $52,590 per year 
$25.28 per hour 

Typical Entry-Level Education High school diploma or equivalent

Work Experience in a Related Occupation None

On-the-job Training Apprenticeship

Number of Jobs, 2016 480,600

Job Outlook, 2016-26 16% (Much faster than average)

Employment Change, 2016-26 75,200

What Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters Do
Plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters install and repair pipes that carry liquids or gases to, from, and 

within businesses, homes, and factories.

Work Environment
Plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters work in factories, homes, businesses, and other places where there are pipes or septic systems. Plumbers are often on call 

for emergencies, so evening and weekend work is common.

How to Become a Plumber, Pipefitter, or Steamfitter
Although most plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters learn on the job through an apprenticeship, some start out by attending a technical school. Most states 

and localities require plumbers to be licensed.

Pay
The median annual wage for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters was $52,590 in May 2017.

Job Outlook
Employment of plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters is projected to grow 16 percent from 2016 to 2026, much faster than the average for all occupations. New 

construction and building maintenance and repair should drive demand for these workers, and overall job opportunities are expected to be good.

State & Area Data
Explore resources for employment and wages by state and area for plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters.

Similar Occupations
Compare the job duties, education, job growth, and pay of plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters with similar occupations.

More Information, Including Links to O*NET
Learn more about plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters by visiting additional resources, including O*NET, a source on key characteristics of workers and 

occupations.
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LOCAL

Shortage of skilled workers squeezing 
Twin Cities builders
Jobs drained by recession are back, with no one to fill them 

By Nicole Norfleet (http://www.startribune.com/nicole-norfleet/101685423/) and Jim Buchta
(http://www.startribune.com/jim-buchta/10644536/) Star Tribune staff writers 

JULY 5, 2017 — 2:10PM 

Kevin Yakes spends so much time trying to keep his Golden Valley construction firm 
staffed, he sometimes feels like a full-time recruiter. During a recent family getaway in 
Florida, Yakes hopped in the car and drove more than an hour to have beers with a 
refrigeration technician he wanted to attract to Minnesota.

“It’s like dating,” Yakes said. “I’ve never, ever, had such a hard time trying to find 
people.”

Nearly a decade after the U.S. economy collapsed and construction workers fled the 
industry, Twin Cities builders and contractors are in the midst of one of their busiest 
years. But a shortage of skilled workers means that new projects — from modest office 
renovations to soaring new apartment towers — are costing more and taking longer to 
complete. The situation has contributed to a housing shortage in the region.

Even last year’s completion of U.S. Bank Stadium, a project that kept thousands of 
workers busy for nearly three years, hasn’t fully replenished the pool of construction 
help. “We have more work than we know what to do with,” said Robert Heise, president 
of the Minnesota-North Dakota chapter of Associated Builders and Contractors.

As of May, there were more than 125,000 construction workers in Minnesota, the most 
for that month since 2006. And the latest tally of construction job openings was the 
highest in at least a decade. Electricians, carpenters and plumbers are among the most 
scarce.

Source: Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development // By C.J. Sinner, Star Tribune • Created with 
Datawrapper

Construction job openings soar in Minnesota 
Because so many skilled tradesmen left the industry during the recession, the construction industry is one of the 
most short-staffed employment sectors in the state.
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Labor leaders say the industry has struggled to attract young people to replenish the 
pool of workers drained by the 2008-2009 recession, even though construction jobs pay 
above-average wages and most require just a high school diploma.

One reason for that, says Tim Worke, chief executive of the Associated General 
Contractors of Minnesota, is that vocational training has been devalued. “Everyone has 
been told that you have to have a four-year degree to be prosperous at life,” Worke said.

D AVI D  J OL E S  –  STAR  T R I B U NE

Vasiliy Chobanu, front, and Andrey Gubceai, 
trowel joint compound onto walls at an office 
remodel for Adhesive Systems Technology in 
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But it’s a fine line, he added, because the old notion that construction is a field only for 
those with a “strong back and a strong body” isn’t the case anymore. The work is more 
technical and workers need advanced training, Worke said.

James Mahler, a 35-year-old project manager for River City Tile & Underlayment in 
Chanhassen, joined the trades at age 19. “College was never something that appealed to 
me,” he said. “I was eager to begin working and making my own career path.”

In the recession, as others fled the industry, he stayed the course and is glad he did. He 
has never been without work and has been able to pick and choose jobs.

“We make extremely good money, work reasonable hours, get to be active and build 
actual communities within the Twin Cities,” he said. “I want young people to realize 
that it is not a step down to go into construction.”

With costs and job openings on the rise, the industry is getting more creative. This 
summer a consortium of industry groups will launch one of its most comprehensive 
efforts yet to help fill jobs: Project Build Minnesota, a marketing campaign aimed at 
“making construction sexy again,” said David Siegel, executive director of the Builders 
Association of the Twin Cities. The goal is to sweep as many trainees into both union 
and nonunion jobs. The consortium plans to raise $800,000.

Earlier this year, a collective of labor unions launched its own PR campaign dubbed 
Elevate Minnesota to promote union construction jobs.

A third group called the Twin Cities Construction Sector Initiative, which includes the 
Associated General Contractors, the Minnesota Building Trades Council, educational 
institutions and other stakeholders, is taking a higher-level look at workforce needs. 
That group hopes to roll out a multiyear plan by end of the summer.

Until those efforts gel, the effects of the tight labor market are rippling through Twin 
Cities property markets.

Commercial construction costs are increasing two to five times the rate of inflation, 
local analysts say. Jim Durda, executive vice president of the local office of Zeller Realty 
Group, which manages the Fifth Street Towers and LaSalle Plaza in Minneapolis, said 
that 10 years ago it might have cost $25 per square foot to build out or remodel a 
commercial space. Today, it’s $35 to $50 per square foot, partly because of labor costs.

Such increases can be even more detrimental for new buildings, which employ hundreds 
of workers from many trades. Last month, plans to build a Hy-Vee store in White Bear 
Lake were scuttled. High labor costs contributed to the decision not to build, according 
to both John Johannson, a manager in the local development company on the project, 
and Tara Deering-Hansen, a spokeswoman at Hy-Vee’s Des Moines headquarters.

Homebuilders are facing similar issues. Some builders have painted “help wanted” and 
phone referral numbers on their trucks.

Two weeks before the start of a luxury house tour in the Twin Cities, Scott Busyn and 
several other custom homebuilders were scrambling to finish in time for it. Busyn paid 
overtime and offered other perks to discourage subcontractors from jumping ship to 
work with other companies.

At CPM Cos., one of the biggest apartment developers in the Twin Cities, the situation is 
making it difficult to finish buildings on time.

Construction manager Troy Wenck of Reuter Walton Commercial said that he’s 
spending valuable time trying to recruit employees, and the company has had to turn 
away projects.

Mark Scherer, an owner of the one of the largest lumberyards and truss-building plants 
in the region, has managed to keep his staffing levels steady by regularly raising wages. 
At a plant in Albertville, he gave workers a nearly $1 an hour raise last fall. “That seemed 
to take care of the problem,” he said.

DAVID JOLES &#X2022; DAVID.JOLES@STARTRIBUNE.COM 

Construction workers on a remodeling job for 

Adhesive Systems Technology in Brooklyn 

Center troweled joint compound onto freshly 

sheet-rocked walls. 
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He hasn’t, however, been able to solve a more serious problem: Timing. He said it 
normally takes 90 days to build a house, but it’s now taking 120 to 180 days in some 
cases.

Houses are also more expensive. Scherer said an upscale house used to cost $175 per 
square foot, but increases in labor and other inputs means the price is now $250 to north 
of $300 per square foot.

For Yakes, the chief executive of Summit Commercial Facilities Group, a fix couldn’t 
come soon enough.

He has a handful of openings to add to his current staff of 30 — and he wasn’t able to 
persuade the Florida technician he met for drinks to join his company.

“It is a whole lot of work,” Yakes said. “You just always have to be ready to hire that 
next top talent.”

Nicole Norfleet covers commercial real estate along with professional services, including the Twin 
Cities' thriving marketing, accounting, and legal communities. 

nicole.norfleet@startribune.com 612-673-4495 nicolenorfleet

Jim Buchta has covered real estate for the Star Tribune for several years. He also has covered 
energy, small business, consumer affairs and travel. 

jim.buchta@startribune.com 612-673-7376
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8 Hour - CE Class

$130.00

6 Hour - CE Class

$110.00

4 Hour - CE Class

$85.00

H O M E  ( / )
C L A S S  S C H E D U L E  ( / C L A S S - S C H E D U L E / )
S E S S I O N  D E S C R I P T I O N S  ( / S E S S I O N - D E S C R I P T I O N S / )
A B O U T  U S  ( / W H A T - W E - D O / )
C O N T A C T  ( / C O N T A C T / )
F A Q  ( / F A Q / )
R E G I S T E R  ( / R E G I S T E R / )

2018 Code Prep Class is now scheduled.  Click on Register to sign up and reserve your 
spot!  

×
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PLUMBOLOGY

2 Hour - CE Class

$60.00

TWO WEEKEND 
PREP CLASS

$550.00

PlumbologyMN@gmail.com (mailto:PlumbologyMN@gmail.com)  |  507-531-0137

Powered by Squarespace (http://www.squarespace.com)
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Home Page

« All Classes

August 28, 2018 – Tuesday – Hibbing
August 28@7:30 am-4:30 pm $50 - $150

Check-in will be open for 30 minutes prior to the start of class.

Pre-registration is required!  If you would like assistance with your 

registration or if you have questions regarding class offerings, please 

email us at signup@metrotesting.com or call Gary at 612-221-5481.

* This is the first of two classes offered at this location.  For information 

on the second class, please click here or use the “city” filter 

located under the map of MN.  The content of the second class 

is different than the first class.

Class Schedule:

• 8am – 10am : Code Interpretation Drawings (2 hours technical)

• 10am – 12pm : Horizontal Wet Venting For Bathroom Groups (first 2 hours of code class section)

• 12pm – 12:30pm : Lunch – Provided

• 12:30pm – 4:30pm : Horizontal Wet Venting For Bathroom Groups (remaining 4 hours of code class section)

NOTE: Registration will be closed by 12 noon one business day before class.

Search products…

Home About The Instructor Classes Contact Us My account $0.00
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Details 

Date: 
August 28 

Time: 
7:30 am-4:30 pm 

Cost: 
$50 - $150 

Class Category:
MN Plumbing CE

Organizer

Gary Ford

Phone: 
(612) 221-5481

Email: 
signup@metrotesting.com 

Website: 
www.metrotesting.net

Venue 

Hibbing Memorial Building

400 E 23rd St 
Hibbing, MN 55746 + Google Map

*You are required to bring the 2015 MN Plumbing Code Book with you to class** 2015 MN Plumbing Code Book is available at MN

Bookstore Call 651.297.3000 or available online at: http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore.asp?

page=viewbook&BookID=67911

Tickets 

+ GOOGLE
CALENDAR

+ ICAL
EXPORT

0
18 available 

Horizontal Wet Venting For Bathroom 
Groups and Code Interpretation Drawings

$150.00
This is an 8 hour class which will be taught from 8am-4:30pm and 
provide the student with 6 hours of code and 2 of technical. 

0
5 available 

Horizontal Wet Venting For Bathroom 
Groups

$125.00 This is a 6 hour code class that will be taught from 10am-4:30.

0
5 available 

Code Interpretation Drawings (8am-10am) $50.00
This is a 2 hour class of technical knowledge which will be taught 
from 8am-10am.

Add to 
cart 

Map data ©2018 GoogleReport a map error
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© Metro Plumbing & Testing, LLC 2018 

Storefront designed by WooCommerce. 

« August 27, 2018 – Monday – Grand Rapids August 29, 2018 – Wednesday – Duluth »
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Home Page

« All Classes

September 5, 2018 – Wednesday – Eagan
September 5@7:30 am-4:30 pm $50 - $150

Check-in will be open for 30 minutes prior to the start of class.

Pre-registration is required!  If you would like assistance with your registration or if you 

have questions regarding class offerings, please email us at signup@metrotesting.com or 

call Gary at 612-221-5481.

* This is the first of two classes offered at this location.  For information on the second 

class, please click here or use the “city” filter located under the map of MN.  The 

content of the second class is different than the first class.

Class Schedule:

• 8am – 10am : Code Interpretation Drawings (2 hours technical)

• 10am – 12pm : Horizontal Wet Venting For Bathroom Groups (first 2 hours of code class section)

• 12pm – 12:30pm : Lunch – Provided

• 12:30pm – 4:30pm : Horizontal Wet Venting For Bathroom Groups (remaining 4 hours of code class section)

NOTE: Registration will be closed by 12 noon one business day before class.

*You are required to bring the 2015 MN Plumbing Code Book with you to class** 2015 MN Plumbing Code Book is available at MN Bookstore Call 

651.297.3000 or available online at: http://www.comm.media.state.mn.us/bookstore/mnbookstore.asp?page=viewbook&BookID=67911

Tickets 

0
19 available 

Horizontal Wet Venting For Bathroom Groups and 

Code Interpretation Drawings
$150.00

This is an 8 hour class which will be taught from 8am-4:30pm and provide the 

student with 6 hours of code and 2 of technical. 

0
5 available 

Horizontal Wet Venting For Bathroom Groups 

(10am-4:30pm)
$125.00 This is a 6 hour code class that will be taught from 10am-4:30

Search products…

Home About The Instructor Classes Contact Us My account $0.00
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© Metro Plumbing & Testing, LLC 2018 

Storefront designed by WooCommerce. 

Details 

Date: 
September 5 

Time: 
7:30 am-4:30 pm 

Cost: 
$50 - $150 

Class Category:
MN Plumbing CE

Organizer

Gary Ford

Phone: 
(612) 221-5481 

Email: 
signup@metrotesting.com 

Website: 
www.metrotesting.net

Venue 

TBD Eagan

Eagan, MN + Google Map

« August 29, 2018 – Wednesday – Duluth September 6, 2018 – Thursday – Woodbury »

+ GOOGLE 
CALENDAR

+ ICAL 
EXPORT

0
5 available 

Code Interpretation Drawings (8am-10am) $50.00 This is a 2 hour class of technical knowledge which will be taught from 8am-

10am.

Add to 
cart 

Map data ©2018 GoogleReport a map error
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Toggle navigation 
TradesmanCE.com 

Powered by At Your Pace Online

State Approved 100% Online Mobile Friendly Print Your Certificate

Home Electrician Minnesota

Minnesota Electrical Continuing Education
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Our courses are approved by the Minnesota Deptartment of Labor and Industry to satisfy your electrician's license continuing education requirements (DLI education 
sponsor ID: #S1672153). You can find our courses on the DLI approved courses list as "1 Above".

Classes are delivered using cutting edge software. Complete your CE on your computer, tablet or smart phone! Click here to view our courses listed under 'Approved 
continuing education courses' on the MN DLI Web site.

CE Requirements to Renew a MN Electrical License
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End of dialog window.
• The following license types are required to complete 16 hours of continuing education every two years.

◦ Master A & B Electrician
◦ Journeyman A & B Electrician
◦ Maintenance Electrician
◦ Installer A & B Electrician
◦ Power Limited Technician

• The following license types are required to take 2 hours of continuing education annually.
◦ Unlicensed electrical
◦ Unlicensed power limited technician

• A portion of your CE hours must cover the NEC Code Updates. Depending on your license type you may also take hours in approved non-code courses. All 
Electrical Licensees can take all code courses to meet their CE hour requirements.

2017 NEC - Changes to Chapter 2 - Wiring & Protection

2 Hour Course $ 36.00 

This 2 hour course is designed to help you meet your continuing education requirements by covering changes made to Chapter 2 of the 2017 NEC. The course has 
been approved by the State of Minnesota and will be reviewing code for the following subject - Wiring & Protection.

Add to Cart More 4.4 1081 Reviews

MN Electrician CE CATV Installation Practices (2 Hr)

2 Hour Course $ 36.00 

This 2 hour course is specifically designed for Power Limited Technicians that work with the telecommunication infrastructure but is approved for ALL electricians 
in the state of Minnesota for 2 hours of continuing education. This course includes:

• Introduction to CATV Installation Practices

• Planning

• Tools & Installation Practices

• Installation Practices & Mobile Homes

• Certificate of Completion

Add to Cart More 4.4 382 Reviews

MN 16 Hour 2017 NEC Package

16 Hour Course $ 288.00 

This course is designed to meet all of your continuing education requirements by covering changes made to Chapters 2-9 of the 2017 NEC. The course has been 
approved by the Minnesota Board of Electrical Contractors and will be reviewing code for the following subjects, wiring & protection, wiring methods & materials, 
equipment for general use, special occupancies, and special conditions.

Add to Cart More 4.5 162 Reviews

Page 2 of 6Minnesota Electrical Continuing Education Online | TradesmanCE.com
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2017 NEC - Changes to Chapter 3. 8. & 9 - Wiring Methods & Materials - Communication - Tables

2 Hour Course $ 36.00 

This 2 hour course is designed to help you meet your continuing education requirements by covering changes made to Chapters 3, 8, & 9 of the 2017 NEC. The 
course has been approved by the State of Minnesota and will be reviewing code for the following subjects, wiring methods & materials, communication systems, 
and informative annexes.

Add to Cart More 4.4 177 Reviews

MN 8 Hour PLT NEC 2017 Part 1

8 Hour Course $ 144.00 

This 8 hour Minnesota Power Limited Technician Electrician continuing education package covers significant changes to the 2017 National Electrical Code. This 
course includes:

• Changes to 2017 NEC
• High definition videos
• Interactive review quizzes
• Detailed comparisons between the 2014 and 2017 NEC
• Certificate of Completion

Add to Cart More 4.4 18 Reviews

MN 8 Hour PLT NEC 2017 Part 2

8 Hour Course $ 144.00 

This 8 hour Minnesota Power Limited Technician Electrician continuing education package covers significant changes to the 2017 National Electrical Code. This 
course includes:

• Changes to 2017 NEC
• High definition videos
• Interactive review quizzes
• Detailed comparisons between the 2014 and 2017 NEC
• Certificate of Completion

Add to Cart More 4.6 10 Reviews

2017 NEC - Changes to Chapter 7 - Special Conditions

2 Hour Course $ 36.00 

This 2 hour course is designed to help you meet your continuing education requirements by covering changes made to Chapter 7 of the 2017 NEC. The course has 
been approved by the State of Minnesota and will be reviewing code for the following subject -  Special Conditions.

Add to Cart More 4.4 74 Reviews

MN 8 Hour 2017 NEC Package Chapters 1, 4 & 6

8 Hour Course $ 144.00 

This course is designed to meet your continuing education requirements by covering changes made to Chapters 1, 4 & 6 of the 2017 NEC. The course has been 
approved by the Minnesota Board of Electrical Contractors and will be reviewing code for the following subjects, the code review process, code wide changes, new 
articles, the requirements for electrical installations, special equipment, and equipment for general use.

Add to Cart More 4.5 43 Reviews
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2017 NEC - Change to Chapter 6 - Special Equipment

4 Hour Course $ 72.00 

This 4 hour course is designed to help you meet your continuing education requirements by covering changes made to Chapter 6 of the 2017 NEC. The course has 
been approved by the State of Minnesota and will be reviewing code for the following subject - Special Equipment.

Add to Cart More 4.9 11 Reviews

2017 NEC - Change to Chapter 5 - Special Occupancies

3 Hour Course $ 54.00 

This 3 hour course is designed to help you meet your continuing education requirements by covering changes made to Chapter 5 of the 2017 NEC. The course has 
been approved by the State of Minnesota and will be reviewing code for the following subject - Special Occupancies.

Add to Cart More

2017 NEC - Changes to Chapter 4 - Equipment for General Use

3 Hour Course $ 54.00 

This 3 hour course is designed to help you meet your continuing education requirements by covering changes made to Chapter 4 of the 2017 NEC. The course has 
been approved by the State of Minnesota and will be reviewing code for the following subject - Equipment for General Use.

Add to Cart More 4.1 12 Reviews

2017 NEC - An Introduction to the Class & Changes to Chapter 1 - General

1 Hour Course $ 18.00 

This 1 hour course is designed to help you meet your continuing education requirements by covering changes made to Chapter 1 of the 2017 NEC. The course has 
been approved by the State of Minnesota and will be reviewing code for the following subjects, the code review process, code wide changes, new articles, and the 
requirements for electrical installations.

Add to Cart More 4.3 23 Reviews

Minnesota State Approval Letters

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

CONSTRUCTION CODES AND LICENSING LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION SERVICES

443 Lafayette Road N. • St. Paul, MN 55155 Phone: (651) 284-5012 • 1-800-657-3944 dli.license@state.mn.us • www.dli.mn.gov/ccld.asp 

May 2, 2017

At Your Pace Online LLC

1383 2nd Avenue

Gold Hill, OR 97525

RE: Course Approval Registration

Your application for continuing education entitled 1 ATTEMPT 2017 NEC REVIEW: CHAPTER 1 has been approved with a course program id number 20170228 and 
approved until May 1, 2020.
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Code/Energy Hours: 1.00 Other Hours: 0.00

This course is approved for Electrical.

Your application for continuing education entitled 1 ATTEMPT 2017 NEC REVIEW: CHAPTER 2 has been approved with a course program id number 20170229 and 
approved until May 1, 2020.

Code/Energy Hours: 2.00 Other Hours: 0.00

This course is approved for Electrical.

Your application for continuing education entitled 1 ATTEMPT 2017 NEC REVIEW: CHAPTERS 3, 8, & 9 has been approved with a course program id number 
20170230 and approved until May 1, 2020.

Code/Energy Hours: 2.00 Other Hours: 0.00

This course is approved for Electrical.

Your application for continuing education entitled 1 ATTEMPT 2017 REVIEW: CHAPTER 4 has been approved with a course program id number 20170231 and 
approved until May 1, 2020.

Code/Energy Hours: 3.00 Other Hours: 0.00

This course is approved for Electrical.

Your application for continuing education entitled 1 ATTEMPT 2017 NEC REVIEW: CHAPTER 5 has been approved with a course program id number 20170232 and 
approved until May 1, 2020.

Code/Energy Hours: 3.00 Other Hours: 0.00

This course is approved for Electrical. 

Your application for continuing education entitled 1 ATTEMPT 2017 NEC REVIEW: CHAPTER 6 has been approved with a course program id number 20170233 and 
approved until May 1, 2020.

Code/Energy Hours: 4.00 Other Hours: 0.00

This course is approved for Electrical.

Your application for continuing education entitled 1 ATTEMPT 2017 NEC REVIEW: CHAPTER 7 has been approved with a course program id number 20170234 and 
approved until May 1, 2020.

Code/Energy Hours: 2.00 Other Hours: 0.00

This course is approved for Electrical. 

If you have further questions, please contact Josephine Steinhoff at 651-284-5034.

Sincerely,

Licensing and Certification Services

Construction Codes and Licensing Division

View PDF

× Login
Username: Enter your username

Password: Enter your password
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Forgotten your username or password?

Log In Cancel

× Modal Header

Some text in the modal.

Close

At Your Pace Online
Headquartered in Gold Hill, OR, At Your Pace Online is the premier online educator for a wide range of trades and professions, including auto dealers, contracting, 
electricians, gas fitters, HVAC operators, insurance, plumbers, real estate, and water operators.
Our Blog
Rebranding Plumbers - Professionalism and Plumbing?
Apr 10, 2018
Attention Florida Contractors and Electricians
Dec 18, 2017
Five Important Changes in the 2014 National Electrical Code: Part 1
Dec 18, 2017

Other Links
• At Your Pace Online Company 
• Contact Us 
• Sign In 
• Site Map 

Contact Us
: 1383 2nd Ave, Gold Hill, OR 97525 
: (877) 724-6150
: 866.333.9840
: contact@atyourpaceonline.com

•

•

•

•

•

© TradesmanCE.com is an At Your Pace Online, LLC Property
Powered By At Your Pace Online v1
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TradesmanCE.com 

Powered by At Your Pace Online

State Approved 100% Online Mobile Friendly Print Your Certificate

Home Plumbing Minnesota

Minnesota Plumbing Continuing Education
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Fullscreen

This is a modal window.

Beginning of dialog window. Escape will cancel and close the window.
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Font Size
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Our Minnesota plumber continuing education course is approved by the Montana Department of Labor & Industry to help satisfy your CE requirements (Provider ID # 
S1672153).

We are proud to offer the first online continuing education class approved by the Minnesota DLI for plumbers. Our course can be completed At Your Pace Online 
to help you meet the state's requirements to maintain your license. Once you finish your class, you will have an official certificate of completion to save for your records, 
and we will report your course completion to the state for you.
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CE Requirements to Renew a MN Plumber License

• The MN DLI requires plumbers to obtain 16 hours of continuing education before license renewal.
• Master Plumbers, Restricted Master Plumbers, Journeyman Plumbers and Restricted Journeyman Plumbers need 12 hours of Code/Law Credit and 4 hours if Other 

Related credit. 
• Currently only 4 of the 16 hours can be taken online.
• Your license type will dictate when you must renew your license:

◦ Journeyman & Restricted Journeyman Plumbers must complete their CE and renew by December 31st of odd-numbered years.
◦ Master & Restricted Master Plumbers must complete their CE and renew by December 31st of even-numbered years.

MN 4Hr UPC Plumbing Course

4 Hour Course $ 80.00 

This class will satisfy 4 of the required Code hours for your CE requirements.

This course includes 4 hours of code change review between the 2009 UPC and 2012 UPC. It begins with a history of the UPC and then moves into the changes 
between the two editions.

Course ID: 20160422

Add to Cart More 4.4 14 Reviews

× Login
Username: Enter your username

Password: Enter your password

Forgotten your username or password?

Log In Cancel

× Modal Header

Some text in the modal.

Close

At Your Pace Online
Headquartered in Gold Hill, OR, At Your Pace Online is the premier online educator for a wide range of trades and professions, including auto dealers, contracting, 
electricians, gas fitters, HVAC operators, insurance, plumbers, real estate, and water operators.
Our Blog
Rebranding Plumbers - Professionalism and Plumbing?
Apr 10, 2018
Attention Florida Contractors and Electricians
Dec 18, 2017
Five Important Changes in the 2014 National Electrical Code: Part 1
Dec 18, 2017

Other Links
• At Your Pace Online Company 
• Contact Us 
• Sign In 
• Site Map 

Contact Us
: 1383 2nd Ave, Gold Hill, OR 97525 
: (877) 724-6150
: 866.333.9840
: contact@atyourpaceonline.com
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• Home
• Onsite Courses
• Online Courses

◦ ND
◦ MN

• About
• FAQs
• Contact
• Login

Onsite Courses

Upcoming Continuing Education Sessions

Our courses are designed for both full and partial attendance. If you only need a couple hours of code 
or technical/other, we can accommodate you! Please contact Scott for more information regarding 
start times for partial days. 

Lunch will be provided. 

Registered Unlicensed Plumbers and apprentices are welcome to attend for $39. Registration is 
required. 

To sign up for a session, click the day you wish to attend. 

Page 1 of 7My Plumbing Training
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If none of the current dates or locations work for you, call Ruth at 701-238-4245 or Scott at 701-238-
9816. 

CANCELLATION POLICY: If you need to cancel your enrollment, you will need to notify us prior 
to the start of class. You can do this by calling Scott at 701-238-9816 or Ruth at 701-238-4245. If we 
are unable to answer, please leave a voicemail. You may choose to either have your fee refunded or 
enroll in another training session. If you don’t notify us by the start of class and don’t show up, you 
may enroll in another training session within the next 2 months and the fee will be applied to that 
class. 

Spring Courses

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Jan 17, 2019 — Thu — Alexandria, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Jan 18, 2019 — Fri — Fargo, ND 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Jan 24, 2019 — Thu — Roseau, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Jan 25, 2019 — Fri — East Grand Forks, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Feb 1, 2019 — Fri — Detroit Lakes, MN 

Click to Register
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Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Feb 7, 2019 — Thu — Mankato, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Feb 8, 2019 — Fri — Northfield, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Feb 14, 2019 — Thu — Bloomington, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Feb 15, 2019 — Fri — Rochester, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Feb 21, 2019 — Thu — Fargo, ND 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Feb 22, 2019 — Fri — Fergus Falls, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Feb 28, 2019 — Thu — Buffalo, MN 
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Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Mar 7, 2019 — Thu — Hutchinson, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Mar 8, 2019 — Fri — Jordan, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Mar 13, 2019 — Wed — Ely, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Mar 14, 2019 — Thu — Grand Rapids, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Mar 15, 2019 — Fri — Brainerd, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Mar 21, 2019 — Thu — Marshall, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close
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Mar 22, 2019 — Fri — Brandon, SD 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Mar 25, 2019 — Mon — Bloomington, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Mar 26, 2019 — Tue — Mankato, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Mar 28, 2019 — Thu — Rochester, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Mar 29, 2019 — Fri — Albert Lea, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Apr 5, 2019 — Fri — Fargo, ND 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Apr 9, 2019 — Tue — Forest Lake, MN 

Click to Register
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Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Apr 10, 2019 — Wed — Two Harbors, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Apr 11, 2019 — Thu — Duluth, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Apr 17, 2019 — Wed — Winona, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Apr 18, 2019 — Thu — Caledonia, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Apr 23, 2019 — Tue — Rochester, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

Apr 24, 2019 — Wed — Mankato, MN 

Click to Register

Log in Sign up Continue as a guest
Close

May 2, 2019 — Thu — Rochester, MN 
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© 2019 My Plumbing Training • Terms Of Use
• Privacy Policy
• FAQs
• Contact

Click to Register

About us

THE EASIEST WAY TO STAY CURRENT ON YOUR PLUMBING CE 

At My Plumbing Training, we work with you to make sure you remain current on all your continuing 
education requirements specified by the Minnesota Plumbing Board. 

EXPERT TRAINING 

"I have known Scott Thompson for 16 years. We are using his continuing education program for our 
licensed plumbers, and his interactive style makes the CE requirement much more interesting and 
informative than just a lecture." Mike Peterson, Peterson Mechanical, Inc 

Get in touch

17694 28th Ave N 
Glyndon, MN 56547 
701-238-9816 
support@myplumbingtraining.com





Your Message

Send message
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Client Information 

First Name * 
Last Name * 
Address * 
Address 2 
City * 
State * 
Zip * 
Phone Number * 
Email Address * 

Additional Email Address 

Licenses

License Number * 
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Other license to be credited with continuing education:

Additional License Number 

Training

Hours 
8 hour training - $129
6 hour training - $109
4 hour training - $89
2 hour training - $69
Registered Unlicensed Plumbers and Apprentices - $39

Training needed (select all that apply)

 2 Tech  2 Code  4 Code 
Please check at least one 'training needed' option. 

 Do you need a code book? $120.00 
The code book is handed on site on the day of the class. It will not be delivered by mail. I 
understand. 

Payment Information

TOTAL 
$129.00
8 hour training
$129.00
Code Book 
$120.00 
Credit Card Number 
Month (MM) 
Year (YYYY) 
CVC 

Submit Payment

Course Details

Alexandria, MN 

Jan 17, 2019 — Thu at 8:00 AM 

The technical portion is from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m., the 2-hour code portion is from 10:00 a.m. to 
noon, and the 4-hour code portion is from 12:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Lunch will be provided. 
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Registration opens 30 minutes before we begin. This session includes 2 hours of technical/other and 6 
hours of code review as required by the State of Minnesota. These are state-approved courses. Every 
class is open for both journeyman and master plumbers. Apprentices are also welcome for a nominal 
fee. 

Location Information

Broadway Ballroom 
115 30th Avenue East 
Alexandria, MN 56308 

Click to Enlarge 
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© 2019 My Plumbing Training • Terms Of Use
• Privacy Policy
• FAQs
• Contact

About us

THE EASIEST WAY TO STAY CURRENT ON YOUR PLUMBING CE 

At My Plumbing Training, we work with you to make sure you remain current on all your continuing 
education requirements specified by the Minnesota Plumbing Board. 

EXPERT TRAINING 

"I have known Scott Thompson for 16 years. We are using his continuing education program for our 
licensed plumbers, and his interactive style makes the CE requirement much more interesting and 
informative than just a lecture." Mike Peterson, Peterson Mechanical, Inc 

Get in touch

17694 28th Ave N 
Glyndon, MN 56547 
701-238-9816
support@myplumbingtraining.com





Your Message

Send message
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From: Todnem, Suzanne (DLI)
To: sonars@lrl.leg.mn
Subject: Plumbing Board SONAR attached
Date: Wednesday, November 21, 2018 10:33:00 AM
Attachments: Letter_to_Leg_Ref_Library_Signed_11.21.18.pdf

4716_R04365_SONAR_FINAL_signed_11.13.18.pdf
image001.png

Dear Librarian,

Please see the attached letter and Statement of Need and Reasonableness.

Thank you,
Suzanne

Suzanne Todnem
General Counsel| Office of General Counsel

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: (651) 284-5851 | Web: www.dli.mn.gov
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1 
Chapter 4716 SONAR, R04365 


Minnesota Plumbing Board 


STATEMENT OF NEED AND REASONABLENESS 


Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, chapter 


4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365 


INTRODUCTION 


The Minnesota Plumbing Board (“Board”) intends to adopt rules regulating the registration of 


unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed 


individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of both plumbers and water 


conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered 


unlicensed individuals.    


In 2017, the Minnesota Legislature granted the Board rulemaking authority over a new category 


of registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation and authorized 


the Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.1  Additionally, the 


Minnesota Legislature newly granted the Board authority to regulate continuing education 


requirements for all registered unlicensed individuals.2   


There are two notable changes in the proposed rule amendments. First, the Board’s proposed 


amendments provide the requirements for the registration of unlicensed water conditioners 


(registration of unlicensed plumbers is already in rule). The Board anticipates that some 


registered unlicensed individuals will apply their work experience to pursue licensure while 


some registered unlicensed individuals will not.  The proposed rules facilitate the Department’s 


tracking of individuals’ work experience to determine when individuals have obtained sufficient 


experience to qualify them to take the appropriate licensing exam. Second, the proposed rules 


require minimal continuing education hours for registered unlicensed individuals to ensure they 


stay current with industry and Plumbing Code changes.   


The Board published a Request for Comments on October 30, 2017. In response to the Request 


for Comments, the Board received one comment that requested that the Board support legislation 


that would change the licensing requirements for backflow prevention assembly rebuilders in 


Minnesota. The Board received 61 comments about the continuing education requirements for 


registered unlicensed plumbers.3 The Board addressed those concerns at Board meetings and in 


the rule-by-rule analysis below.4  


The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (“Department”) is required to provide support 


to the Board, including for rulemaking.5   


1 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 14. This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
2 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 8.  This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
3 All comments submitted in response to the Request for Comments are available here 


http://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/4716-comment.pdf.  
4 See Board meeting minutes for March 12, 2018; June 12, 2018, August 28, 2018 at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-


department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board  
5 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2(c) (2018). 



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2017&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=94

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=94&doctype=Chapter&year=2017&type=0#laws.2.8.0

http://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/4716-comment.pdf

http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board

http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.435
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ALTERNATIVE FORMAT 
 


Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 


print, braille, or audio. To make a request, contact Suzanne Todnem at the Department of Labor 


and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-4342, or by telephone 651-284-


5006, or email to:  dli.rules@state.mn.us.  


 


STATUTORY AUTHORITY 
 


The Board’s statutory authority to adopt rules related to licensure, certification, or registration is 


stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(5), which authorizes the Board to: 


 


adopt rules that regulate the licensure, certification, or registration of plumbing 


contractors, journeyworkers, unlicensed individuals, master plumbers, restricted master 


plumbers, restricted journeyworkers, restricted plumbing contractors, backflow 


prevention rebuilders and testers, water conditioning contractors, and water conditioning 


installers, and other persons engaged in the design, installation, and alteration of 


plumbing systems or engaged in or working at the business of water conditioning 


installation or service, or engaged in or working at the business of medical gas system 


installation, maintenance, or repair, except for those individuals licensed under section 


326.02, subdivisions 2 and 3.  


 


Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(6) was amended in 2017 to authorize the Board 


to adopt rules regulating continuing education for registered unlicensed individuals.  Specifically, 


the Board has the authority to “adopt rules that regulate continuing education for individuals 


licensed as master plumbers, journeyworker plumbers, restricted master plumbers, restricted 


journeyworker plumbers, registered unlicensed individuals, water conditioning masters, and 


water conditioning journeyworkers, and for individuals certified under sections 326B.437 and 


326B.438.”6 While the Board’s authority to regulate continuing education for licensed 


individuals is not new, the authority to regulate continuing education for registered unlicensed 


individuals is new.  


 


Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subd. 3, authorizes the Board to prescribe rules for the 


registration of unlicensed individuals.7 The Board has been regulating registered unlicensed 


individuals who perform plumbing as a different classification than plumber’s apprentices since 


2010.8  


 


                                                           
6See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2 (2018). 


 
7See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 3 (2018). 


 
8 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/ and Minn. R. part 4716.0050. 



mailto:dli.rules@state.mn.us

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.435

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.47

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4716.0050/
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Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, which was enacted in 2017, creates a new category of 


registered unlicensed individuals to perform water conditioning installation and authorizes the 


Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.9 


 


Because specific portions of the Board’s rulemaking authority was new in 2017, effective August 


1, 2017, those portions are subject to the 18-month time limit in Minnesota Statutes, section 


14.125. The Board will publish a notice of intent to adopt rules or a notice of hearing within 18 


months of the effective date.  


 


Under these statutes, the Board has the necessary statutory authority to adopt the proposed rules. 


 


REGULATORY ANALYSIS 
 


Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, sets out eight factors for a regulatory analysis that must be 


included in the SONAR. Paragraphs (1) through (8) below quote these factors and then give the 


agency’s response. 


 


(1) a description of the classes of persons who probably will be affected by the proposed 


rule, including classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will 


benefit from the proposed rule 
 


The proposed amendments to the rules would likely affect individuals and contractors currently 


licensed, certified or registered in Minnesota under Chapter 4716; individuals and contractors 


who would like to be licensed, certified or registered under Chapter 4716; individuals who 


perform water conditioning installation but are not licensed, certified or registered; providers of 


continuing education courses; and the general public. 


 


(2) the probable costs to the agency and to any other agency of the implementation and 


enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues 
 


Although the Board has the authority to adopt plumbing licensing rules, it does not implement or 


enforce the licensing rules. The Department currently administers and enforces the licensing 


rules. Any additional costs the Department incurs to implement and enforce the proposed rules 


will be offset by additional registration fees collected from registered unlicensed individuals. The 


Department does not anticipate increased costs to administer the rule except for the newly 


regulated individuals. The costs to enforce registration of the newly regulated individuals will be 


offset by the registration fees.  


 


(3) a determination of whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for 


achieving the purpose of the proposed rule 
 


The Board has determined there is no less costly or less intrusive method for achieving the 


purposes of the proposed rules. The proposed rule utilizes existing infrastructure for licensing, 


                                                           
9See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/ . This 


law became effective August 1, 2017. 


 



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2017&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=94
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registration and enforcement. The proposed rules are anticipated to be less intrusive and reduce 


some costs of compliance compared to the current rule. For example, licensed plumbers may 


take all of the required continuing education using electronic media. Also, a one-day continuing 


education course on the Plumbing Code satisfies the minimum Code-related continuing 


education requirement instead of a two-day course on the Plumbing Code (or 1.5-day course) 


because the minimum requirement for Code-related continuing education has been changed from 


12 hours to 8 hours.  


 


(4) a description of any alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule 


that were seriously considered by the agency and the reasons why they were rejected in 


favor of the proposed rule 
 


No alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule were identified.  The 


Board determined that the existing requirements and procedures used have been successful and 


should be maintained. The same or similar procedures are used in other similar industries as well.  


 


(5) the probable costs of complying with the proposed rule, including the portion of the 


total costs that will be borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate 


classes of governmental units, businesses, or individuals 
 


The probable costs of complying with the proposed rule are anticipated to be minimal. 


Registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning work will be subject to the 


same $14 initial registration fee and $19 renewal registration fee that registered unlicensed 


plumbers and electricians are currently required to pay. Other regulated parties under this 


proposed rule are anticipated to see the same or lower costs to comply with the proposed rule.  


 


(6) the probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule, including those 


costs or consequences borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate 


classes of government units, businesses, or individuals 
 


The probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule are fewer avenues for 


unlicensed individuals to qualify for journeyworker licensing exams and fewer work options for 


individuals seeking employment in the water conditioning industry, which could limit the pool of 


qualified workers available to businesses that provide water conditioning services to the public. 


 


Another consequence of not adopting the proposed rule is that the Board would lose its statutory 


authority to regulate certain parties. The legislature would then need to pass new legislation, 


which may have costs associated with it. Without rules to address the newly regulated party in 


statute, there would be confusion for anyone interested in hiring or becoming a registered 


unlicensed water conditioner.  


 


(7) an assessment of any differences between the proposed rule and existing federal 


regulations and a specific analysis of the need for and reasonableness of each difference 
 


There are no federal regulations that apply. 
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(8) an assessment of the cumulative effect of the rule with other federal and state 


regulations related to the specific purpose of the rule. . . . ‘[C]umulative effect’ means the 


impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in addition to other rules, 


regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules. Cumulative effects 


can result from individually minor but collectively significant rules adopted over a period 


of time. 


The proposed rules cover areas that are not addressed by federal law or other Minnesota 


state laws. Therefore, this consideration is not applicable to this proposed rule. 
 


PERFORMANCE-BASED RULES 
 


The Board carefully considered the directives of the legislature requiring performance-based 


standards to the extent possible. Because this is a licensing rule and not a code, performance-


based and prescriptive are not applicable. However, to the extent possible, the Board considered 


and discussed performance and prescriptive elements. The proposed rules are prescriptive in that 


they establish a specific number of continuing education hour requirements for registered 


unlicensed individuals. The proposed rules are as performance-based as possible by allowing 


flexibility in the method and topics of continuing education while remaining clear and 


enforceable.  


 


ADDITIONAL NOTICE 
 


This Additional Notice Plan was reviewed by the Office of Administrative Hearings and 


approved in a November 1, 2018 Order on Review of Additional Notice Plan and Dual Notice by 


Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman. 


 


Our Notice Plan also includes giving notice required by statute. We will mail or e-mail the 


Notice of Intent to Adopt to everyone who has registered to be on the Department’s rulemaking 


mailing list under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.14, subdivision 1a. We will also give notice to 


the Legislature per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.116. We will also e-mail the rules and Notice 


of Intent to Adopt to the following organizations and trade groups: 


 


a. Associated Builders and Contractors  


b. Local chapter of the Association of Minnesota Building Officials (AMBO) 


c. Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association 


d. Association of General Contractors of Minnesota 


e. Builders Association of Minnesota (BAM) 


f. Builders Association of the Twin Cities 


g. Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association 


h. Minnesota Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors Association 


i. American Society of Plumbing Engineers – Minnesota Chapter 


j. American Society of Civil Engineers – Minnesota Section 


k. Association of Minnesota Counties 


l. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), Minneapolis 


m. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), St. Paul 


n. League of Minnesota Cities 
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o. American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota 


p. Minnesota Pipe Trades Association 


q. Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division 


r. Minnesota Water Quality Association (MWQA) 


s. Minnesota Society of Professional Engineers (MNSPE) 


 


Our Notice Plan did not include notifying the Commissioner of Agriculture because the rules do 


not affect farming operations per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.111. 


 


CONSULTATION WITH MMB ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT IMPACT 
 


As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, the Board consulted with Minnesota 


Management and Budget (MMB). The Board did this by sending MMB copies of the documents 


that we sent to the Governor’s Office for review and approval on the same day we sent them to 


the Governor’s office. We did this before publishing the Notice of Intent to Adopt. The 


documents included: the Governor’s Office Proposed Rule and SONAR Form; the proposed 


rules; and the near-final SONAR. MMB Executive Budget Officer Marianne Conboy responded, 


in part, as follows in a letter dated October 31, 2018: “There appears to be no direct fiscal impact 


or fiscal benefit from this rule amendment to local units of government.” 


 


Because local governments are not actively engaged in the regulation of businesses and 


individuals in the plumbing and water conditioning industry, the financial impact to them is 


minimal.  To the extent that local governments inspect the installation of water conditioning 


systems, the proposed rules might improve the inspection process by enhancing the knowledge 


of individuals working in the industry.   


 


The Board will submit a copy of the cover correspondence and the response received from MMB 


to OAH at the hearing or with the documents it submits for Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) 


review.  


 


DETERMINATION ABOUT RULES REQUIRING LOCAL IMPLEMENTATION 
 


Minnesota Statutes, section 14.128 requires agencies to determine whether a local government 


will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply with a proposed 


agency rule and submit this determination for ALJ approval. An agency must make this 


determination before the close of the hearing record or before the agency submits the record 


to the administrative law judge if there is no hearing. The Board has determined that no 


local government will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply 


with the proposed rule. Plumber and water conditioner licensing and registration is enforced 


at the state level so no local government or municipality will be required to adopt or amend 


a local ordinance as a result of the proposed rule.  
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COST OF COMPLYING FOR SMALL BUSINESS OR CITY 
 


Agency Determination of Cost 
 


As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.127, the Board has considered whether the cost of 


complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will exceed $25,000 


for any small business or small city.10  The Board asked the public to submit comments 


specifically regarding whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after the rule 


takes effect will exceed $25,000 in the Request for Comments published on October 30, 2017. 


The Board did not receive any comments addressing this issue. The Board has determined that 


the cost of complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will not 


exceed $25,000 for any small business or small city.   


 


The proposed rule amendments are anticipated to keep the cost of complying with the rule the 


same or less with the exception of the continuing education requirements for registered 


unlicensed individuals (water conditioners and plumbers). 


 


Small cities are not anticipated to incur any costs. It is not anticipated that a small city would 


employ a registered unlicensed individual. Therefore, even if there are minimal increased costs 


for registered unlicensed individuals or employers of registered unlicensed individuals, small 


cities will not be affected. Furthermore, because plumber and water conditioner licensing is 


administered and enforced at the state level, it is not anticipated that any city, including a small 


city, would incur any costs to comply with the proposed rule from an administrative perspective.   


 


Small businesses already have to track the hours worked by their individual employees so there 


is no additional cost anticipated in the normal course of maintaining employment records.11 


 


The rule does not require employers to pay the registration costs or continuing education costs. 


However, if the employer chooses to pay the registration cost, assuming all possible employees 


are registered unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost for a small business would be 


$19 x 49 employees12 = $931, which is well below the $25,000 threshold.13  


 


The average cost for a two-hour continuing education course is $ 49.00.14 Again, the cost for two 


hours of continuing education may be paid by the registrant or the employer. If the employer 


chooses to pay this cost, again assuming the maximum number of employees are registered 


unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost, on average, would be $ 49.00 x 49 employees 


= $ 2,401.00. This total is again well below the $25,000 threshold. The combined total of annual 


                                                           
10 A small business is defined as “any one business that has less than 50 full-time employees” and a small city is 


defined as “any one statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees.” Minn. Stat. § 


14.127, subd. 1 (2018).  
11 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c) (2018).  
12 At least one employee would have to be a licensed journeyworker or master plumber. This example is for 


illustrative purposes only. A small business is unlikely to have 49 registered unlicensed individuals.  
13 The initial registration fee is currently set at $14 per registrant and the annual renewal fee is $19. For illustrative 


purposes, the estimate uses only the renewal fee, which is the higher of the two fees.  
14 See Attachment A.  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.127

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.127

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326B.47
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registration fees and continuing education costs is approximately $ 3,332.00, which is well below 


the $25,000 threshold.  


 


LIST OF WITNESSES 
 


If these rules go to a public hearing, the Department anticipates having the following witnesses 


testify in support of the need for and reasonableness of the rules: 


1. Mr. Richard Jacobs, Plumbing Board Chair, will testify about the Board’s interest 


in amending the code. 


2. Mr. Charlie Durenberger, Assistant Director, CCLD, will testify about the 


technical aspects of the proposed amendments. 


3. Other Board members or Department of Labor and Industry staff, if necessary. 


 


RULE-BY-RULE ANALYSIS 
 


4716.0010 DEFINITIONS 


 


The proposed rule amendment adds a subpart 6 to codify the term, “Registered unlicensed 


plumber.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and assist in plumbing have 


been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, the proposed rule amendment formally 


names and clarifies this category of individuals.15   


 


4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS 


 


Subpart 1. Examinations.  
The proposed rule amendment deletes language that states two specific times of the year in 


which journeyworker and master plumber licensing exams will be held. The Department began 


offering journeyworker and master plumber licensing examinations on a weekly basis several 


years ago in an effort to increase the availability of exams to those seeking licensure.  As result, 


the current rule requirement that exams be given in March and September is outdated and no 


longer necessary. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it 


modernizes the rule part and deletes unnecessary language.  


 


Subpart 1(A)(1) 


The proposed rule amendment clarifies that an applicant for the master plumber examination 


must have worked as a licensed journeyworker plumber for at least one year before he or she can 


qualify to take the master plumber license examination. The current language that an applicant 


for the master plumber examination be a licensed Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and 


have “five years of practical plumbing experience” has the same meaning because four years of 


practical plumbing experience is required to qualify for the journeyworker plumber examination 


and the fifth year comes the year after an individual becomes a licensed journeyworker plumber. 


The proposed rule states that requirement more clearly.  


 


 


 


                                                           
15 See Minn. Laws, 2010  c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/
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Subpart 1(B)(1)  


The proposed rule amendment clarifies the distinction between a plumber’s apprentice defined in 


Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, and the registered unlicensed plumber, which is a newly 


formalized term.16 See 4716.0010 analysis above. The requirement is substantively the same but 


clarifies the two categories of applicants and clarifies that the four years of practical plumbing 


experience must be recorded as required in Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c).  


 


Subp. 2. Experience 


 


Subpart 2(E) 


The proposed rule amendment corrects the subitems referenced here to correspond with the 


proposed rule below. 


 


Subpart 2(E)(1) 


The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 


qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 


(c).  


 


Subpart 2(E)(3)  


The current rule requires applicants who are licensed restricted journeyworker plumbers or 


licensed restricted master plumbers to have completed the entire two years of practical plumbing 


experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination. The proposed rule 


amendment deletes subitem 3 because removing this timeframe encourages licensed restricted 


journeyworker plumbers and licensed restricted master plumbers to take the regular licensed 


journeyworker plumber and licensed master plumber examinations. The proposed rule 


amendment broadens the pool of possible applicants. A shortage of skilled laborers is anticipated 


according to industry experts and economists.17 The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 


reasonable because the applicants are still subject to examination to ensure competent licensed 


plumbers.  


 


Subpart 2(F) 


The proposed rule amendment deletes reference to plumber’s apprentice and replaces it with 


registered unlicensed plumber because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation 


subject to subitems (1) and (2) that follow. Because a registered plumber’s apprentice, as defined 


in Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, is part of a formal, approved apprenticeship, subitems (1) and 


(2) are moot issues to them. The proposed rule amendment also corrects the subitems referenced 


here to correspond with the proposed rule below. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 


reasonable because the distinction between a registered plumber’s apprentice and registered 


unlicensed plumber should be clear.  


 


                                                           
16 Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6 (2018) provides a definition of “plumber’s apprentice and defines it as “any 


individual who is employed in the practical installation of plumbing under an apprenticeship agreement approved by 


the department under section 178.07.” 
17 See https://mn.gov/deed/data/data-tools/employment-outlook/; 


https://mn.gov/deed/newscenter/publications/review/june-2018/job-outlook-2026.jsp; 


https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/plumbers-pipefitters-and-steamfitters.htm; and 


http://www.startribune.com/worse-than-dating-twin-cities-builders-go-all-out-to-find-workers/432561123/.   



https://mn.gov/deed/data/data-tools/employment-outlook/

https://mn.gov/deed/newscenter/publications/review/june-2018/job-outlook-2026.jsp

https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/plumbers-pipefitters-and-steamfitters.htm

http://www.startribune.com/worse-than-dating-twin-cities-builders-go-all-out-to-find-workers/432561123/
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Subpart 2(F)(1) 


The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 


qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 


(c).  


 


Subpart 2(F)(2) 


The proposed rule amendment deletes the reference to subitem (3) because subitem (3) is deleted 


in the proposed rule. Again, the reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “unlicensed 


plumber” is added because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation subject to 


subitems (1) and (2) that follow.  


 


The proposed rule amendment provides for alternate options for an applicant to have obtained 


the practical plumbing experience as listed in items (a) through (c). The alternate options are 


substantively the same as the language that is deleted in subpart 2(F)(3). The language was 


removed from subitem (3) and moved to subitem (2) because combining subitems (2) and (3) 


into one subitem, and removing the timing requirements in subitem (3), clarifies the two avenues 


through which an applicant may obtain the practical plumbing experience. That is, the practical 


experience must be obtained as a registered unlicensed plumber or through one of the ways listed 


in (2)(a) through (c). There is minimal substantive change to subitems (2) and (3) as the intent is 


to clarify the different acceptable ways to obtain the practical plumbing experience.  


 


Subpart 2(G) 


The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference numbering to reflect the proposed 


amendments. For example, the reference to subitem (3) is replaced with subitem “(2), units (a) to 


(c)” because the proposed rule amendment moves the content in subitem (3) to subitem (2), units 


(a) to (c). The word “master” is added and “or plumbing contractor” is deleted because a 


plumbing contractor is a business entity and a human being must provide the certification. The 


reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “registered unlicensed plumber” is added to 


be consistent with the proposed amendments above.  


                


4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES 


 


Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration 


The proposed rule amendment provides consistency for all journeyworker licensees and master 


licensees and aligns the rules with Minnesota Statutes.18 The proposed rule amendment 


simplifies the renewal of journeyworker plumber and master plumber licenses. All 


journeyworker plumber licenses will expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years rather than 


on anniversary dates of license issuance. All master plumber licenses will expire on December 


31 of even-numbered years. The Department can provide more efficient administration and 


enforcement of the licensing rules, thereby keeping enforcement costs, and therefore license fees, 


down. Individual licensees and the Department benefit from the proposed change.  


 


The renewal window for restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers was changed 


from 12 months to within “two years of the license expiration” to grant restricted license holders 


                                                           
18 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.49, subd. 1(b) (2018). This statute was amended in 2016. See Minn. Laws, 2016 c 189 art 


8 sec 3.  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326B.49

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2016/0/189/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2016/0/189/
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additional time to renew their license before permanently forfeiting their restricted plumber 


license. Because failing to renew timely results in permanent forfeiture, it is reasonable to grant 


license holders more than 12 months to renew. The two-year time period to renew is consistent 


with the renewal period for licensed journeyworker and master plumbers. Restricted 


journeyworker and restricted master plumber licenses are relatively few in number and are a 


holdover from the transition from no licensure in cities with populations less than 5,000 to 


statewide plumber licensing in 2005.  Restricted plumber licenses were granted to individuals 


who were performing plumbing at the time of the transition and who performed plumbing work 


in municipalities with a population under 5,000.  A plumber holding a restricted license may not 


perform plumbing work in municipalities with a population over 5,000. No new restricted 


plumber licenses have been granted since the transition period. Once a restricted license is 


forfeited, it cannot be reinstated or renewed.  


 


Subpart 2. License renewals 


The proposed rule amendment clarifies that license renewal applications must be submitted by 


December 31 of the year in which the license expires to be a timely renewal.  


 


The proposed rule amends the timeframe in which a restricted journeyworker or restricted master 


plumber must pay the past due renewal fee to coordinate with the two year timeframe proposed 


in subpart 1 above.  


 


4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER’S APPRENTICE 


 


The proposed rule amends the title of this rule part to “REGISTRATION OF REGISTERED  


UNLICENSED PLUMBER.” The proposed rule amendment aligns the title with the title change 


to Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, which was changed from “Plumber’s Apprentices” to “Unlicensed 


Individuals” in 2010.19 This amendment is reasonable because chapter 4716 regulates registered 


unlicensed plumbers but not registered plumber’s apprentices who are part of a formal 


apprenticeship program. The formal distinction between a plumber’s apprentice and a registered 


unlicensed plumber is relatively new.20 Rule titles are not enforceable but the title change adds 


clarity to the rule part particularly since the rule specifically states that it does not apply to 


registered plumber’s apprentices.   


 


Subpart 1. Scope. 


The proposed rule amendment updates and corrects this subpart. The proposed rule amendment 


updates the word “shall (not)” with “does (not)” because “shall (not)” is not grammatically 


correct. Also, the change to “does (not)” modernizes the language and is plain language. The 


proposed rule amendment corrects the referenced statute cite. The current rule refers to 


“Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1)” however, there is no such clause 


(1). The correct cite format is Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 


Emphasis added. The proposed rule amendment changes the plural “plumber’s apprentices” to 


singular for consistency with the rest of the rule chapter.   


 


 


                                                           
19 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/  
20 Id.  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/
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Subp. 2. Registration requirements 


The proposed rule amendments change all “plumber’s apprentice” references to “registered 


unlicensed plumber.” Plumber’s apprentices are regulated under the formal, approved 


apprenticeship agreement subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 178 and related rule chapters. 


The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it uses terminology that is 


consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 and other proposed amendments in this rule chapter.  


 


4716.0091 DEFINITIONS 
 


Subpart 1. Scope. 


The proposed rule amendment adds “Subpart 1. Scope” because now that a second subpart is 


added, it is necessary and reasonable to number and title the subpart. When it was the only 


subpart in this section, it was not necessary to number and title it.  


 


 Subpart 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner 


The proposed rule amendment adds this subpart to establish and define the term, “Registered 


unlicensed water conditioner.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and 


assist in plumbing have been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, registered 


unlicensed water conditioners is a newly established category of regulated parties per the 2017 


legislature.21 It is necessary and reasonable to establish and define this terms that identifies the 


legislature’s newly regulated category of individuals.   


 


4716.0092 LICENSURE 


  


Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. 


The proposed rule amendment reduces redundant language and thereby provides clarity and 


consistency with the current Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subds. 1a and 2a.  The proposed rule 


amendment replaces all references to “water conditioning master or master plumber” with 


“responsible licensed master” because “responsible licensed master” is a term already defined in 


Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subd. 1a and the definition requires the individual to be a “water 


conditioning master or licensed master plumber.” All the language that the proposed rule 


amendment deletes is deleted because it is addressed by using the defined term “responsible 


licensed master.”  There is no substantive change to the rule part.  


 


Subpart 3. Water conditioning journeyworker.  


The proposed rule amendment adds that, in addition to the six months of practical experience and 


passing an exam, an applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker license must be a 


registered unlicensed water conditioner in Minnesota except as permitted in subpart 4, item A, 


subitem (4). The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable to ensure that the 


qualifying experience is obtained under proper qualified conditions and is consistent with Minn. 


Stat. § 326B.555.  


 


Subpart 4. Experience. 


Subpart 4 provides specific requirements for the experience needed in subparts 2 and 3. There 


are no proposed amendments to items A through C. Items D and E are new to provide the 


                                                           
21 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/.  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/
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specific experience requirements for registered unlicensed water conditioners and the employer 


of the registered unlicensed water conditioner and water conditioning journeyworker. The 


statutory authority to regulate registered unlicensed water conditioners is new. Therefore, this 


formalized category of regulated individuals is new, thus, the new items in this subpart. Items A 


through C detail the requirements for other required experiences listed in subparts 2 and 3.  


 


Subpart 4(D)(1) 


The proposed rule amendment is new to address the newly formalized category of registered 


unlicensed water conditioner and what is expected of those applicants. The proposed rule 


amendment clearly states the requirement (to be a registered unlicensed water conditioner while 


obtaining the practical water conditioning experience) and clarifies that the exception in Minn. 


Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, applies here.  This is necessary and reasonable because it should be 


clear what is expected of the regulated parties, what other permissions apply to the requirement 


and is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. The exception in Minn. Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, 


grants flexibility to applicants.   


 


Subpart 4(D)(2) 


The proposed rule amendment clarifies what is required of the licensed water conditioning 


master who is responsible for certifying the work performed by the registered unlicensed water 


conditioner. It is necessary and reasonable to clearly state the requirements. The requirements are 


reasonable and consistent with the requirements in Minn. R. part 4716.0020, subp. 2, and Minn. 


R. part 4716.0092, subp. 4(C), while tailored to the water conditioner licensing requirements. 


The proposed rule amendment is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555.  


 


Subpart 4(E)(1) and (2) 


The proposed rule amendment adds recordkeeping requirements for the employers of water 


conditioning journeyworkers and registered unlicensed water conditioners. The proposed rule 


amendment requires the employers to record the practical water conditioning experience worked 


by each employee and to maintain those records for at least six years. The registered unlicensed 


water conditioner needs this record of experience to qualify as an applicant for the 


journeyworker exam and the journeyworker needs the recorded experience to qualify for the 


master exam. It is necessary and reasonable to require the employer to make and maintain these 


records and such requirement is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. It is necessary and 


reasonable for the employer to maintain these records for six years after the employee’s last 


recorded experience because it gives applicants time to take the journeyworker exam after 


completing the training and for the journeyworker to take the master exam. There are a variety of 


reasons why an applicant might be delayed in taking an examination. For example, a medical 


incident or family emergency that delays the applicant from taking the examination. Six years 


balances flexibility for the applicant with minimal burden for the employer. Six years is 


consistent with the record retention requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers in part 


4716.0020, subp. 2(G)(2).  
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4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION 


 


Subpart 1. Registration requirements 


The proposed rule amendment is new to establish the requirements and qualifications to become 


a registered unlicensed water conditioner. For example, the proposed rule amendment requires a 


person to submit an application and fee to the Department annually to become a registered 


unlicensed water conditioner. Registrations are effective from July 1 through June 30 of the 


following year and late renewals require payment of a late fee. This date range is consistent with 


Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and the registered unlicensed plumber registration dates in Minn. R. part 


4716.0050, subp. 2. This is necessary and reasonable because having a set registration period 


makes administration of and compliance with the rule easier and more efficient for both the 


Department who enforces the rule and the registrants complying with the code. This efficiency 


keeps licensing fees down.      


 


The proposed rule amendment establishes reasonable qualifications in items A and B that are 


consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and other similar rules. Specifically, item A requires a 


registered unlicensed water conditioner to be at least 18 years of age or a high school graduate, 


though individuals as young as 16 may register and perform work if they are supervised by the 


individual’s parent. Item B requires applicants for an unlicensed water conditioner registration to 


provide to the Department certain personal information, including Social Security number as 


required by Minn. Stat. § 270C.72.22 These qualifications are consistent with the qualifications 


for registered unlicensed plumbers in Minn. R. part 4716.0050, subp. 2, and Minn. Stat. § 


326B.555. This information is necessary and reasonable for the Department to be able to verify 


individual identities and is consistent with Minnesota Statutes.    


 


4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS 


 


Subpart 1. Continuing education; content. 


Plumbing licensees are currently required to take 16 hours of approved continuing education 


each two-year license period. The proposed rule amendment does not change that total number of 


required hours.  


 


Subpart 1(A) 


The proposed rule amendment lowers the minimum number of continuing education hours that 


must pertain to the Plumbing Code from twelve to eight and allows the remainder of the required 


hours to pertain to the Plumbing Code or technical topics related plumbing installations and 


equipment, Minnesota Rules chapter 4716, the Minnesota State Building Code, or the Plumbing 


and Water Conditioning sections of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B. The proposed rule 


amendment changes only the minimum number of hours that must pertain to the Plumbing Code 


and allows a licensee to obtain all continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code. This is 


necessary and reasonable because eight hours of Plumbing Code instruction will be sufficient for 


some veteran licensed plumbers while newer licensed plumbers might benefit from more 


Plumbing Code instruction hours. The proposed rule amendment allows more flexibility while 


maintaining a high standard of qualifications. The proposed rule amendment is consistent with 


the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 that encourages agencies to develop rules that 


                                                           
22 See Minn. Stat. § 270C.72 (2018).  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/270C.72
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“emphasize superior achievement in meeting the agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum 


flexibility for the regulated party.”23 Because knowledge of the Plumbing Code is essential to 


safe plumbing practices, and the Plumbing Code changes, it is reasonable to require licensed 


individuals have a minimum number of continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code.  


 


The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 


326B.49 to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.59, emphasis added, because the range 


to 326B.49 does not include the water conditioning sections, which are sections 326B.50 through 


326B.59. This also provides additional flexibility in the topics in which licensed plumbers may 


get the required continuing education hours.  


 


The proposed rule amendment allows licensed individuals to tailor their continuing education 


hour topics to their needs while also maintaining high quality continuing education because all 


continuing education courses must be approved, pursuant to Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 


through 4716.0210.  


 


The proposed rule amendment eliminates the current four-hour limit on continuing education 


hours obtained by any electronic media. That is, online continuing education hours are currently 


limited to four of the sixteen. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because 


some licensed plumbers in outstate Minnesota have some challenges with accessing in-person 


continuing education courses that metro area plumbers do not have. For example, there are fewer 


in-person course offerings in outstate Minnesota. Allowing all sixteen continuing education 


hours to be obtained online modernizes the requirement and recognizes the changes and 


improvements in technology. Electronic media standards are established in Minnesota Statutes, 


sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. The online courses must also be approved pursuant to 


Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 through 4716.0210 like any other in-person course. The 


proposed rule amendment is consistent with the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 


that encourages agencies to develop rules that “emphasize superior achievement in meeting the 


agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum flexibility for the regulated party.”   


 


These changes are intended to make it easier and less costly for licensees to obtain the continuing 


education required to maintain licensure while maintaining quality education. Continuing 


education requirements for regulated parties are necessary and reasonable to ensure competency 


and recognizes industry changes in the interest of public health. 


 


Subpart 1(B) 


Licensed water conditioning journeyworkers and masters must obtain four hours of continuing 


education hours per two-year licensing period. The proposed rule amendment deletes 


unnecessary language and adds the requirement that two of the four required continuing 


education hours must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remaining two hours may pertain to 


the Plumbing Code or an existing list of other relevant topics. The proposed rule amendment 


maintains the same number of hours as the current rule and maintains flexibility while ensuring 


licensed water conditioners stay current with the Plumbing Code in addition to technical topics. 


It is necessary and reasonable to require licensed water conditioners to take two hours of 


continuing education on the Plumbing Code because their work is subject to and governed by the 


                                                           
23 See Minn. Stat. § 14.002 (2018).  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.002
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Plumbing Code. Because the scope of their work is not as broad as licensed plumbers, it is 


reasonable that the total number of required continuing education hours is fewer than licensed 


plumbers. Correspondingly, the required minimum number of continuing education hours on the 


Plumbing Code is also fewer than what is required for licensed plumbers.  


 


The proposed rule amendment adds that the continuing education hours may be obtained online, 


subject to the requirements in Minn. Stat. §§ 326B.098 to 326B.099. This proposed amendment 


is consistent with the proposed amendment in subpart 1(A) above.   


 


Subpart 1(C) 


The proposed rule amendment creates a new requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers and 


water conditioners to take two hours of continuing education each year as a condition of 


renewing their registration. Registered unlicensed plumbers must take two hours of continuing 


education on the Plumbing Code because the range of work they may perform is broad and 


includes the entire scope of the Plumbing Code. Registered unlicensed water conditioners must 


take one hour of continuing education on the Plumbing Code and the other hour of continuing 


education may be on the Plumbing Code or a technical topic related to water conditioning 


installation. The scope of the work of a registered unlicensed water conditioner is limited to 


water conditioning so they do not work with the entire Plumbing Code.  


 


For many registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education 


requirement is absorbed into their training toward qualifying for the journeyworker exam in their 


respective field. For other registered unlicensed plumbers and registered unlicensed water 


conditioners who do not intend to take the journeyworker exam in their respective field, this 


requirement ensures they stay current with industry practices and the Plumbing Code.  


 


For both registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education hours 


may be taken online. This requirement will enhance registrants’ knowledge and understanding of 


the Plumbing Code and other information relevant to their work. While field work is important, 


there are tables, calculations and backflow protection of water supply system in the Plumbing 


Code that industry professionals must be aware of and learn about. A continuing education class 


is a setting conducive to learning about certain aspects of the Plumbing Code.   


 


Similarly, registered unlicensed electricians have been required to obtain two hours of continuing 


education every renewal period since 2009.24 It is necessary and reasonable to require a regulated 


party to obtain some continuing education to maintain their registration to ensure competence in 


the interest of public health.  


 


Subpart 1(D) and (E) 


The proposed rule amendment renumbers these paragraphs to reflect the new paragraphs added 


above. There are no substantive changes.  


 


                                                           
24 See Minn. R. 3800.3602 (2018). See also https://www.revisor.mn.gov/state_register/34/15/.   



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/3800.3602/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/state_register/34/15/
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CONCLUSION 


Based on the foregoing, the proposed rules are both needed and reasonable. 


_______________________________ 


November 13, 2018 Richard Jacobs 


Plumbing Board Chair 


This Statement of Need and Reasonableness was made available for public review on November 


13, 2018. 







2-hour Continuing Education  Average Costs


Plumbology* $60.00
Metro Testing & Plumbing** $50.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace)*** - electrical $36.00


Total $146.00


Average $48.67


Continuing Education Average Cost-Per-Hour


# of hours Total cost Average cost per hour
Plumbology* 8 $130.00 $16.25
Plumbology 4 $85.00 $21.25
Plumbology 2 $60.00 $30.00
Metro Testing & Plumbing** 8 $150.00 $18.75
Metro Testing & Plumbing 6 $125.00 $20.83
Metro Testing & Plumbing 2 $50.00 $25.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace)*** 4 $80.00 $20.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace) 2 $36.00 $18.00
MyPlumbingTraining.com**** 8 $125 (incl. lunch) $15.63
MyPlumbingTraining.com - apprentices 8 $20.00 $2.50


Total $861.00 $18.82


*http://www.plumbologymn.com/register
**https://metrotesting.net/classes/
***https://www.tradesmance.com/minnesota-plumbing-continuing-education
****https://myplumbingtraining.com/onsite_courses
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Minnesota Plumbing Board 

STATEMENT OF NEED AND REASONABLENESS 

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, chapter 

4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365 

INTRODUCTION 

The Minnesota Plumbing Board (“Board”) intends to adopt rules regulating the registration of 

unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed 

individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of both plumbers and water 

conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered 

unlicensed individuals.    

In 2017, the Minnesota Legislature granted the Board rulemaking authority over a new category 

of registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation and authorized 

the Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.1  Additionally, the 

Minnesota Legislature newly granted the Board authority to regulate continuing education 

requirements for all registered unlicensed individuals.2   

There are two notable changes in the proposed rule amendments. First, the Board’s proposed 

amendments provide the requirements for the registration of unlicensed water conditioners 

(registration of unlicensed plumbers is already in rule). The Board anticipates that some 

registered unlicensed individuals will apply their work experience to pursue licensure while 

some registered unlicensed individuals will not.  The proposed rules facilitate the Department’s 

tracking of individuals’ work experience to determine when individuals have obtained sufficient 

experience to qualify them to take the appropriate licensing exam. Second, the proposed rules 

require minimal continuing education hours for registered unlicensed individuals to ensure they 

stay current with industry and Plumbing Code changes.   

The Board published a Request for Comments on October 30, 2017. In response to the Request 

for Comments, the Board received one comment that requested that the Board support legislation 

that would change the licensing requirements for backflow prevention assembly rebuilders in 

Minnesota. The Board received 61 comments about the continuing education requirements for 

registered unlicensed plumbers.3 The Board addressed those concerns at Board meetings and in 

the rule-by-rule analysis below.4  

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (“Department”) is required to provide support 

to the Board, including for rulemaking.5   

1 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 14. This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
2 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 8.  This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
3 All comments submitted in response to the Request for Comments are available here 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/4716-comment.pdf.  
4 See Board meeting minutes for March 12, 2018; June 12, 2018, August 28, 2018 at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-

department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board  
5 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2(c) (2018). 

R-04365    214

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2017&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=94
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=94&doctype=Chapter&year=2017&type=0#laws.2.8.0
http://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/4716-comment.pdf
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.435


2 
Chapter 4716 SONAR, R04365 

 

ALTERNATIVE FORMAT 
 

Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 

print, braille, or audio. To make a request, contact Suzanne Todnem at the Department of Labor 

and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-4342, or by telephone 651-284-

5006, or email to:  dli.rules@state.mn.us.  

 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 
 

The Board’s statutory authority to adopt rules related to licensure, certification, or registration is 

stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(5), which authorizes the Board to: 

 

adopt rules that regulate the licensure, certification, or registration of plumbing 

contractors, journeyworkers, unlicensed individuals, master plumbers, restricted master 

plumbers, restricted journeyworkers, restricted plumbing contractors, backflow 

prevention rebuilders and testers, water conditioning contractors, and water conditioning 

installers, and other persons engaged in the design, installation, and alteration of 

plumbing systems or engaged in or working at the business of water conditioning 

installation or service, or engaged in or working at the business of medical gas system 

installation, maintenance, or repair, except for those individuals licensed under section 

326.02, subdivisions 2 and 3.  

 

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(6) was amended in 2017 to authorize the Board 

to adopt rules regulating continuing education for registered unlicensed individuals.  Specifically, 

the Board has the authority to “adopt rules that regulate continuing education for individuals 

licensed as master plumbers, journeyworker plumbers, restricted master plumbers, restricted 

journeyworker plumbers, registered unlicensed individuals, water conditioning masters, and 

water conditioning journeyworkers, and for individuals certified under sections 326B.437 and 

326B.438.”6 While the Board’s authority to regulate continuing education for licensed 

individuals is not new, the authority to regulate continuing education for registered unlicensed 

individuals is new.  

 

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subd. 3, authorizes the Board to prescribe rules for the 

registration of unlicensed individuals.7 The Board has been regulating registered unlicensed 

individuals who perform plumbing as a different classification than plumber’s apprentices since 

2010.8  

 

                                                           
6See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2 (2018). 

 
7See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 3 (2018). 

 
8 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/ and Minn. R. part 4716.0050. 
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Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, which was enacted in 2017, creates a new category of 

registered unlicensed individuals to perform water conditioning installation and authorizes the 

Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.9 

Because specific portions of the Board’s rulemaking authority was new in 2017, effective August 

1, 2017, those portions are subject to the 18-month time limit in Minnesota Statutes, section 

14.125. The Board will publish a notice of intent to adopt rules or a notice of hearing within 18 

months of the effective date.  

Under these statutes, the Board has the necessary statutory authority to adopt the proposed rules. 

REGULATORY ANALYSIS 

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, sets out eight factors for a regulatory analysis that must be 

included in the SONAR. Paragraphs (1) through (8) below quote these factors and then give the 

agency’s response. 

(1) a description of the classes of persons who probably will be affected by the proposed

rule, including classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will

benefit from the proposed rule

The proposed amendments to the rules would likely affect individuals and contractors currently 

licensed, certified or registered in Minnesota under Chapter 4716; individuals and contractors 

who would like to be licensed, certified or registered under Chapter 4716; individuals who 

perform water conditioning installation but are not licensed, certified or registered; providers of 

continuing education courses; and the general public. 

(2) the probable costs to the agency and to any other agency of the implementation and

enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues

Although the Board has the authority to adopt plumbing licensing rules, it does not implement or 

enforce the licensing rules. The Department currently administers and enforces the licensing 

rules. Any additional costs the Department incurs to implement and enforce the proposed rules 

will be offset by additional registration fees collected from registered unlicensed individuals. The 

Department does not anticipate increased costs to administer the rule except for the newly 

regulated individuals. The costs to enforce registration of the newly regulated individuals will be 

offset by the registration fees.  

(3) a determination of whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for

achieving the purpose of the proposed rule

The Board has determined there is no less costly or less intrusive method for achieving the 

purposes of the proposed rules. The proposed rule utilizes existing infrastructure for licensing, 

9See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/ . This 

law became effective August 1, 2017. 
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registration and enforcement. The proposed rules are anticipated to be less intrusive and reduce 

some costs of compliance compared to the current rule. For example, licensed plumbers may 

take all of the required continuing education using electronic media. Also, a one-day continuing 

education course on the Plumbing Code satisfies the minimum Code-related continuing 

education requirement instead of a two-day course on the Plumbing Code (or 1.5-day course) 

because the minimum requirement for Code-related continuing education has been changed from 

12 hours to 8 hours.  

(4) a description of any alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule

that were seriously considered by the agency and the reasons why they were rejected in

favor of the proposed rule

No alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule were identified.  The 

Board determined that the existing requirements and procedures used have been successful and 

should be maintained. The same or similar procedures are used in other similar industries as well. 

(5) the probable costs of complying with the proposed rule, including the portion of the

total costs that will be borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate

classes of governmental units, businesses, or individuals

The probable costs of complying with the proposed rule are anticipated to be minimal. 

Registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning work will be subject to the 

same $14 initial registration fee and $19 renewal registration fee that registered unlicensed 

plumbers and electricians are currently required to pay. Other regulated parties under this 

proposed rule are anticipated to see the same or lower costs to comply with the proposed rule. 

(6) the probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule, including those

costs or consequences borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate

classes of government units, businesses, or individuals

The probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule are fewer avenues for 

unlicensed individuals to qualify for journeyworker licensing exams and fewer work options for 

individuals seeking employment in the water conditioning industry, which could limit the pool of 

qualified workers available to businesses that provide water conditioning services to the public. 

Another consequence of not adopting the proposed rule is that the Board would lose its statutory 

authority to regulate certain parties. The legislature would then need to pass new legislation, 

which may have costs associated with it. Without rules to address the newly regulated party in 

statute, there would be confusion for anyone interested in hiring or becoming a registered 

unlicensed water conditioner.  

(7) an assessment of any differences between the proposed rule and existing federal

regulations and a specific analysis of the need for and reasonableness of each difference

There are no federal regulations that apply. 
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(8) an assessment of the cumulative effect of the rule with other federal and state

regulations related to the specific purpose of the rule. . . . ‘[C]umulative effect’ means the

impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in addition to other rules,

regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules. Cumulative effects

can result from individually minor but collectively significant rules adopted over a period

of time.

The proposed rules cover areas that are not addressed by federal law or other Minnesota 

state laws. Therefore, this consideration is not applicable to this proposed rule. 

PERFORMANCE-BASED RULES 

The Board carefully considered the directives of the legislature requiring performance-based 

standards to the extent possible. Because this is a licensing rule and not a code, performance-

based and prescriptive are not applicable. However, to the extent possible, the Board considered 

and discussed performance and prescriptive elements. The proposed rules are prescriptive in that 

they establish a specific number of continuing education hour requirements for registered 

unlicensed individuals. The proposed rules are as performance-based as possible by allowing 

flexibility in the method and topics of continuing education while remaining clear and 

enforceable.  

ADDITIONAL NOTICE 

This Additional Notice Plan was reviewed by the Office of Administrative Hearings and 

approved in a November 1, 2018 Order on Review of Additional Notice Plan and Dual Notice by 

Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman. 

Our Notice Plan also includes giving notice required by statute. We will mail or e-mail the 

Notice of Intent to Adopt to everyone who has registered to be on the Department’s rulemaking 

mailing list under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.14, subdivision 1a. We will also give notice to 

the Legislature per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.116. We will also e-mail the rules and Notice 

of Intent to Adopt to the following organizations and trade groups: 

a. Associated Builders and Contractors

b. Local chapter of the Association of Minnesota Building Officials (AMBO)

c. Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association

d. Association of General Contractors of Minnesota

e. Builders Association of Minnesota (BAM)

f. Builders Association of the Twin Cities

g. Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association

h. Minnesota Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors Association

i. American Society of Plumbing Engineers – Minnesota Chapter

j. American Society of Civil Engineers – Minnesota Section

k. Association of Minnesota Counties

l. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), Minneapolis

m. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), St. Paul

n. League of Minnesota Cities
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o. American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota

p. Minnesota Pipe Trades Association

q. Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division

r. Minnesota Water Quality Association (MWQA)

s. Minnesota Society of Professional Engineers (MNSPE)

Our Notice Plan did not include notifying the Commissioner of Agriculture because the rules do 

not affect farming operations per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.111. 

CONSULTATION WITH MMB ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT IMPACT 

As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, the Board consulted with Minnesota 

Management and Budget (MMB). The Board did this by sending MMB copies of the documents 

that we sent to the Governor’s Office for review and approval on the same day we sent them to 

the Governor’s office. We did this before publishing the Notice of Intent to Adopt. The 

documents included: the Governor’s Office Proposed Rule and SONAR Form; the proposed 

rules; and the near-final SONAR. MMB Executive Budget Officer Marianne Conboy responded, 

in part, as follows in a letter dated October 31, 2018: “There appears to be no direct fiscal impact 

or fiscal benefit from this rule amendment to local units of government.” 

Because local governments are not actively engaged in the regulation of businesses and 

individuals in the plumbing and water conditioning industry, the financial impact to them is 

minimal.  To the extent that local governments inspect the installation of water conditioning 

systems, the proposed rules might improve the inspection process by enhancing the knowledge 

of individuals working in the industry.   

The Board will submit a copy of the cover correspondence and the response received from MMB 

to OAH at the hearing or with the documents it submits for Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) 

review.  

DETERMINATION ABOUT RULES REQUIRING LOCAL IMPLEMENTATION 

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.128 requires agencies to determine whether a local government 

will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply with a proposed 

agency rule and submit this determination for ALJ approval. An agency must make this 

determination before the close of the hearing record or before the agency submits the record 

to the administrative law judge if there is no hearing. The Board has determined that no 

local government will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply 

with the proposed rule. Plumber and water conditioner licensing and registration is enforced 

at the state level so no local government or municipality will be required to adopt or amend 

a local ordinance as a result of the proposed rule.  
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COST OF COMPLYING FOR SMALL BUSINESS OR CITY 

Agency Determination of Cost 

As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.127, the Board has considered whether the cost of 

complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will exceed $25,000 

for any small business or small city.10  The Board asked the public to submit comments 

specifically regarding whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after the rule 

takes effect will exceed $25,000 in the Request for Comments published on October 30, 2017. 

The Board did not receive any comments addressing this issue. The Board has determined that 

the cost of complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will not 

exceed $25,000 for any small business or small city.   

The proposed rule amendments are anticipated to keep the cost of complying with the rule the 

same or less with the exception of the continuing education requirements for registered 

unlicensed individuals (water conditioners and plumbers). 

Small cities are not anticipated to incur any costs. It is not anticipated that a small city would 

employ a registered unlicensed individual. Therefore, even if there are minimal increased costs 

for registered unlicensed individuals or employers of registered unlicensed individuals, small 

cities will not be affected. Furthermore, because plumber and water conditioner licensing is 

administered and enforced at the state level, it is not anticipated that any city, including a small 

city, would incur any costs to comply with the proposed rule from an administrative perspective.  

Small businesses already have to track the hours worked by their individual employees so there 

is no additional cost anticipated in the normal course of maintaining employment records.11 

The rule does not require employers to pay the registration costs or continuing education costs. 

However, if the employer chooses to pay the registration cost, assuming all possible employees 

are registered unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost for a small business would be 

$19 x 49 employees12 = $931, which is well below the $25,000 threshold.13  

The average cost for a two-hour continuing education course is $ 49.00.14 Again, the cost for two 

hours of continuing education may be paid by the registrant or the employer. If the employer 

chooses to pay this cost, again assuming the maximum number of employees are registered 

unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost, on average, would be $ 49.00 x 49 employees 

= $ 2,401.00. This total is again well below the $25,000 threshold. The combined total of annual 

10 A small business is defined as “any one business that has less than 50 full-time employees” and a small city is 

defined as “any one statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees.” Minn. Stat. § 

14.127, subd. 1 (2018).  
11 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c) (2018).  
12 At least one employee would have to be a licensed journeyworker or master plumber. This example is for 

illustrative purposes only. A small business is unlikely to have 49 registered unlicensed individuals.  
13 The initial registration fee is currently set at $14 per registrant and the annual renewal fee is $19. For illustrative 

purposes, the estimate uses only the renewal fee, which is the higher of the two fees.  
14 See Attachment A.  
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registration fees and continuing education costs is approximately $ 3,332.00, which is well below 

the $25,000 threshold.  

LIST OF WITNESSES 

If these rules go to a public hearing, the Department anticipates having the following witnesses 

testify in support of the need for and reasonableness of the rules: 

1. Mr. Richard Jacobs, Plumbing Board Chair, will testify about the Board’s interest

in amending the code.

2. Mr. Charlie Durenberger, Assistant Director, CCLD, will testify about the

technical aspects of the proposed amendments.

3. Other Board members or Department of Labor and Industry staff, if necessary.

RULE-BY-RULE ANALYSIS 

4716.0010 DEFINITIONS 

The proposed rule amendment adds a subpart 6 to codify the term, “Registered unlicensed 

plumber.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and assist in plumbing have 

been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, the proposed rule amendment formally 

names and clarifies this category of individuals.15   

4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS 

Subpart 1. Examinations.  
The proposed rule amendment deletes language that states two specific times of the year in 

which journeyworker and master plumber licensing exams will be held. The Department began 

offering journeyworker and master plumber licensing examinations on a weekly basis several 

years ago in an effort to increase the availability of exams to those seeking licensure.  As result, 

the current rule requirement that exams be given in March and September is outdated and no 

longer necessary. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it 

modernizes the rule part and deletes unnecessary language.  

Subpart 1(A)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment clarifies that an applicant for the master plumber examination 

must have worked as a licensed journeyworker plumber for at least one year before he or she can 

qualify to take the master plumber license examination. The current language that an applicant 

for the master plumber examination be a licensed Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and 

have “five years of practical plumbing experience” has the same meaning because four years of 

practical plumbing experience is required to qualify for the journeyworker plumber examination 

and the fifth year comes the year after an individual becomes a licensed journeyworker plumber. 

The proposed rule states that requirement more clearly.  

15 See Minn. Laws, 2010  c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/ 
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Subpart 1(B)(1)  

The proposed rule amendment clarifies the distinction between a plumber’s apprentice defined in 

Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, and the registered unlicensed plumber, which is a newly 

formalized term.16 See 4716.0010 analysis above. The requirement is substantively the same but 

clarifies the two categories of applicants and clarifies that the four years of practical plumbing 

experience must be recorded as required in Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c).  

 

Subp. 2. Experience 

 

Subpart 2(E) 

The proposed rule amendment corrects the subitems referenced here to correspond with the 

proposed rule below. 

 

Subpart 2(E)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 

qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 

(c).  

 

Subpart 2(E)(3)  

The current rule requires applicants who are licensed restricted journeyworker plumbers or 

licensed restricted master plumbers to have completed the entire two years of practical plumbing 

experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination. The proposed rule 

amendment deletes subitem 3 because removing this timeframe encourages licensed restricted 

journeyworker plumbers and licensed restricted master plumbers to take the regular licensed 

journeyworker plumber and licensed master plumber examinations. The proposed rule 

amendment broadens the pool of possible applicants. A shortage of skilled laborers is anticipated 

according to industry experts and economists.17 The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 

reasonable because the applicants are still subject to examination to ensure competent licensed 

plumbers.  

 

Subpart 2(F) 

The proposed rule amendment deletes reference to plumber’s apprentice and replaces it with 

registered unlicensed plumber because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation 

subject to subitems (1) and (2) that follow. Because a registered plumber’s apprentice, as defined 

in Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, is part of a formal, approved apprenticeship, subitems (1) and 

(2) are moot issues to them. The proposed rule amendment also corrects the subitems referenced 

here to correspond with the proposed rule below. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 

reasonable because the distinction between a registered plumber’s apprentice and registered 

unlicensed plumber should be clear.  

 

                                                           
16 Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6 (2018) provides a definition of “plumber’s apprentice and defines it as “any 

individual who is employed in the practical installation of plumbing under an apprenticeship agreement approved by 

the department under section 178.07.” 
17 See https://mn.gov/deed/data/data-tools/employment-outlook/; 

https://mn.gov/deed/newscenter/publications/review/june-2018/job-outlook-2026.jsp; 

https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/plumbers-pipefitters-and-steamfitters.htm; and 

http://www.startribune.com/worse-than-dating-twin-cities-builders-go-all-out-to-find-workers/432561123/.   
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Subpart 2(F)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 

qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 

(c).  

 

Subpart 2(F)(2) 

The proposed rule amendment deletes the reference to subitem (3) because subitem (3) is deleted 

in the proposed rule. Again, the reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “unlicensed 

plumber” is added because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation subject to 

subitems (1) and (2) that follow.  

 

The proposed rule amendment provides for alternate options for an applicant to have obtained 

the practical plumbing experience as listed in items (a) through (c). The alternate options are 

substantively the same as the language that is deleted in subpart 2(F)(3). The language was 

removed from subitem (3) and moved to subitem (2) because combining subitems (2) and (3) 

into one subitem, and removing the timing requirements in subitem (3), clarifies the two avenues 

through which an applicant may obtain the practical plumbing experience. That is, the practical 

experience must be obtained as a registered unlicensed plumber or through one of the ways listed 

in (2)(a) through (c). There is minimal substantive change to subitems (2) and (3) as the intent is 

to clarify the different acceptable ways to obtain the practical plumbing experience.  

 

Subpart 2(G) 

The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference numbering to reflect the proposed 

amendments. For example, the reference to subitem (3) is replaced with subitem “(2), units (a) to 

(c)” because the proposed rule amendment moves the content in subitem (3) to subitem (2), units 

(a) to (c). The word “master” is added and “or plumbing contractor” is deleted because a 

plumbing contractor is a business entity and a human being must provide the certification. The 

reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “registered unlicensed plumber” is added to 

be consistent with the proposed amendments above.  

                

4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES 

 

Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration 

The proposed rule amendment provides consistency for all journeyworker licensees and master 

licensees and aligns the rules with Minnesota Statutes.18 The proposed rule amendment 

simplifies the renewal of journeyworker plumber and master plumber licenses. All 

journeyworker plumber licenses will expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years rather than 

on anniversary dates of license issuance. All master plumber licenses will expire on December 

31 of even-numbered years. The Department can provide more efficient administration and 

enforcement of the licensing rules, thereby keeping enforcement costs, and therefore license fees, 

down. Individual licensees and the Department benefit from the proposed change.  

 

The renewal window for restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers was changed 

from 12 months to within “two years of the license expiration” to grant restricted license holders 

                                                           
18 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.49, subd. 1(b) (2018). This statute was amended in 2016. See Minn. Laws, 2016 c 189 art 

8 sec 3.  
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additional time to renew their license before permanently forfeiting their restricted plumber 

license. Because failing to renew timely results in permanent forfeiture, it is reasonable to grant 

license holders more than 12 months to renew. The two-year time period to renew is consistent 

with the renewal period for licensed journeyworker and master plumbers. Restricted 

journeyworker and restricted master plumber licenses are relatively few in number and are a 

holdover from the transition from no licensure in cities with populations less than 5,000 to 

statewide plumber licensing in 2005.  Restricted plumber licenses were granted to individuals 

who were performing plumbing at the time of the transition and who performed plumbing work 

in municipalities with a population under 5,000.  A plumber holding a restricted license may not 

perform plumbing work in municipalities with a population over 5,000. No new restricted 

plumber licenses have been granted since the transition period. Once a restricted license is 

forfeited, it cannot be reinstated or renewed.  

Subpart 2. License renewals 

The proposed rule amendment clarifies that license renewal applications must be submitted by 

December 31 of the year in which the license expires to be a timely renewal.  

The proposed rule amends the timeframe in which a restricted journeyworker or restricted master 

plumber must pay the past due renewal fee to coordinate with the two year timeframe proposed 

in subpart 1 above.  

4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER’S APPRENTICE 

The proposed rule amends the title of this rule part to “REGISTRATION OF REGISTERED  

UNLICENSED PLUMBER.” The proposed rule amendment aligns the title with the title change 

to Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, which was changed from “Plumber’s Apprentices” to “Unlicensed 

Individuals” in 2010.19 This amendment is reasonable because chapter 4716 regulates registered 

unlicensed plumbers but not registered plumber’s apprentices who are part of a formal 

apprenticeship program. The formal distinction between a plumber’s apprentice and a registered 

unlicensed plumber is relatively new.20 Rule titles are not enforceable but the title change adds 

clarity to the rule part particularly since the rule specifically states that it does not apply to 

registered plumber’s apprentices.   

Subpart 1. Scope. 

The proposed rule amendment updates and corrects this subpart. The proposed rule amendment 

updates the word “shall (not)” with “does (not)” because “shall (not)” is not grammatically 

correct. Also, the change to “does (not)” modernizes the language and is plain language. The 

proposed rule amendment corrects the referenced statute cite. The current rule refers to 

“Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1)” however, there is no such clause 

(1). The correct cite format is Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 

Emphasis added. The proposed rule amendment changes the plural “plumber’s apprentices” to 

singular for consistency with the rest of the rule chapter.   

19 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/ 
20 Id.  
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Subp. 2. Registration requirements 

The proposed rule amendments change all “plumber’s apprentice” references to “registered 

unlicensed plumber.” Plumber’s apprentices are regulated under the formal, approved 

apprenticeship agreement subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 178 and related rule chapters. 

The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it uses terminology that is 

consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 and other proposed amendments in this rule chapter.  

4716.0091 DEFINITIONS 

Subpart 1. Scope. 

The proposed rule amendment adds “Subpart 1. Scope” because now that a second subpart is 

added, it is necessary and reasonable to number and title the subpart. When it was the only 

subpart in this section, it was not necessary to number and title it.  

 Subpart 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner 

The proposed rule amendment adds this subpart to establish and define the term, “Registered 

unlicensed water conditioner.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and 

assist in plumbing have been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, registered 

unlicensed water conditioners is a newly established category of regulated parties per the 2017 

legislature.21 It is necessary and reasonable to establish and define this terms that identifies the 

legislature’s newly regulated category of individuals.   

4716.0092 LICENSURE 

Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. 

The proposed rule amendment reduces redundant language and thereby provides clarity and 

consistency with the current Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subds. 1a and 2a.  The proposed rule 

amendment replaces all references to “water conditioning master or master plumber” with 

“responsible licensed master” because “responsible licensed master” is a term already defined in 

Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subd. 1a and the definition requires the individual to be a “water 

conditioning master or licensed master plumber.” All the language that the proposed rule 

amendment deletes is deleted because it is addressed by using the defined term “responsible 

licensed master.”  There is no substantive change to the rule part.  

Subpart 3. Water conditioning journeyworker.  

The proposed rule amendment adds that, in addition to the six months of practical experience and 

passing an exam, an applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker license must be a 

registered unlicensed water conditioner in Minnesota except as permitted in subpart 4, item A, 

subitem (4). The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable to ensure that the 

qualifying experience is obtained under proper qualified conditions and is consistent with Minn. 

Stat. § 326B.555.  

Subpart 4. Experience. 

Subpart 4 provides specific requirements for the experience needed in subparts 2 and 3. There 

are no proposed amendments to items A through C. Items D and E are new to provide the 

21 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/. 
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specific experience requirements for registered unlicensed water conditioners and the employer 

of the registered unlicensed water conditioner and water conditioning journeyworker. The 

statutory authority to regulate registered unlicensed water conditioners is new. Therefore, this 

formalized category of regulated individuals is new, thus, the new items in this subpart. Items A 

through C detail the requirements for other required experiences listed in subparts 2 and 3.  

Subpart 4(D)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment is new to address the newly formalized category of registered 

unlicensed water conditioner and what is expected of those applicants. The proposed rule 

amendment clearly states the requirement (to be a registered unlicensed water conditioner while 

obtaining the practical water conditioning experience) and clarifies that the exception in Minn. 

Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, applies here.  This is necessary and reasonable because it should be 

clear what is expected of the regulated parties, what other permissions apply to the requirement 

and is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. The exception in Minn. Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, 

grants flexibility to applicants.   

Subpart 4(D)(2) 

The proposed rule amendment clarifies what is required of the licensed water conditioning 

master who is responsible for certifying the work performed by the registered unlicensed water 

conditioner. It is necessary and reasonable to clearly state the requirements. The requirements are 

reasonable and consistent with the requirements in Minn. R. part 4716.0020, subp. 2, and Minn. 

R. part 4716.0092, subp. 4(C), while tailored to the water conditioner licensing requirements.

The proposed rule amendment is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555.

Subpart 4(E)(1) and (2) 

The proposed rule amendment adds recordkeeping requirements for the employers of water 

conditioning journeyworkers and registered unlicensed water conditioners. The proposed rule 

amendment requires the employers to record the practical water conditioning experience worked 

by each employee and to maintain those records for at least six years. The registered unlicensed 

water conditioner needs this record of experience to qualify as an applicant for the 

journeyworker exam and the journeyworker needs the recorded experience to qualify for the 

master exam. It is necessary and reasonable to require the employer to make and maintain these 

records and such requirement is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. It is necessary and 

reasonable for the employer to maintain these records for six years after the employee’s last 

recorded experience because it gives applicants time to take the journeyworker exam after 

completing the training and for the journeyworker to take the master exam. There are a variety of 

reasons why an applicant might be delayed in taking an examination. For example, a medical 

incident or family emergency that delays the applicant from taking the examination. Six years 

balances flexibility for the applicant with minimal burden for the employer. Six years is 

consistent with the record retention requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers in part 

4716.0020, subp. 2(G)(2).  
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4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION 

Subpart 1. Registration requirements 

The proposed rule amendment is new to establish the requirements and qualifications to become 

a registered unlicensed water conditioner. For example, the proposed rule amendment requires a 

person to submit an application and fee to the Department annually to become a registered 

unlicensed water conditioner. Registrations are effective from July 1 through June 30 of the 

following year and late renewals require payment of a late fee. This date range is consistent with 

Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and the registered unlicensed plumber registration dates in Minn. R. part 

4716.0050, subp. 2. This is necessary and reasonable because having a set registration period 

makes administration of and compliance with the rule easier and more efficient for both the 

Department who enforces the rule and the registrants complying with the code. This efficiency 

keeps licensing fees down.     

The proposed rule amendment establishes reasonable qualifications in items A and B that are 

consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and other similar rules. Specifically, item A requires a 

registered unlicensed water conditioner to be at least 18 years of age or a high school graduate, 

though individuals as young as 16 may register and perform work if they are supervised by the 

individual’s parent. Item B requires applicants for an unlicensed water conditioner registration to 

provide to the Department certain personal information, including Social Security number as 

required by Minn. Stat. § 270C.72.22 These qualifications are consistent with the qualifications 

for registered unlicensed plumbers in Minn. R. part 4716.0050, subp. 2, and Minn. Stat. § 

326B.555. This information is necessary and reasonable for the Department to be able to verify 

individual identities and is consistent with Minnesota Statutes.    

4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS 

Subpart 1. Continuing education; content. 

Plumbing licensees are currently required to take 16 hours of approved continuing education 

each two-year license period. The proposed rule amendment does not change that total number of 

required hours.  

Subpart 1(A) 

The proposed rule amendment lowers the minimum number of continuing education hours that 

must pertain to the Plumbing Code from twelve to eight and allows the remainder of the required 

hours to pertain to the Plumbing Code or technical topics related plumbing installations and 

equipment, Minnesota Rules chapter 4716, the Minnesota State Building Code, or the Plumbing 

and Water Conditioning sections of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B. The proposed rule 

amendment changes only the minimum number of hours that must pertain to the Plumbing Code 

and allows a licensee to obtain all continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code. This is 

necessary and reasonable because eight hours of Plumbing Code instruction will be sufficient for 

some veteran licensed plumbers while newer licensed plumbers might benefit from more 

Plumbing Code instruction hours. The proposed rule amendment allows more flexibility while 

maintaining a high standard of qualifications. The proposed rule amendment is consistent with 

the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 that encourages agencies to develop rules that 

22 See Minn. Stat. § 270C.72 (2018). 
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“emphasize superior achievement in meeting the agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum 

flexibility for the regulated party.”23 Because knowledge of the Plumbing Code is essential to 

safe plumbing practices, and the Plumbing Code changes, it is reasonable to require licensed 

individuals have a minimum number of continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code.  

 

The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 

326B.49 to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.59, emphasis added, because the range 

to 326B.49 does not include the water conditioning sections, which are sections 326B.50 through 

326B.59. This also provides additional flexibility in the topics in which licensed plumbers may 

get the required continuing education hours.  

 

The proposed rule amendment allows licensed individuals to tailor their continuing education 

hour topics to their needs while also maintaining high quality continuing education because all 

continuing education courses must be approved, pursuant to Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 

through 4716.0210.  

 

The proposed rule amendment eliminates the current four-hour limit on continuing education 

hours obtained by any electronic media. That is, online continuing education hours are currently 

limited to four of the sixteen. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because 

some licensed plumbers in outstate Minnesota have some challenges with accessing in-person 

continuing education courses that metro area plumbers do not have. For example, there are fewer 

in-person course offerings in outstate Minnesota. Allowing all sixteen continuing education 

hours to be obtained online modernizes the requirement and recognizes the changes and 

improvements in technology. Electronic media standards are established in Minnesota Statutes, 

sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. The online courses must also be approved pursuant to 

Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 through 4716.0210 like any other in-person course. The 

proposed rule amendment is consistent with the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 

that encourages agencies to develop rules that “emphasize superior achievement in meeting the 

agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum flexibility for the regulated party.”   

 

These changes are intended to make it easier and less costly for licensees to obtain the continuing 

education required to maintain licensure while maintaining quality education. Continuing 

education requirements for regulated parties are necessary and reasonable to ensure competency 

and recognizes industry changes in the interest of public health. 

 

Subpart 1(B) 

Licensed water conditioning journeyworkers and masters must obtain four hours of continuing 

education hours per two-year licensing period. The proposed rule amendment deletes 

unnecessary language and adds the requirement that two of the four required continuing 

education hours must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remaining two hours may pertain to 

the Plumbing Code or an existing list of other relevant topics. The proposed rule amendment 

maintains the same number of hours as the current rule and maintains flexibility while ensuring 

licensed water conditioners stay current with the Plumbing Code in addition to technical topics. 

It is necessary and reasonable to require licensed water conditioners to take two hours of 

continuing education on the Plumbing Code because their work is subject to and governed by the 

                                                           
23 See Minn. Stat. § 14.002 (2018).  
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Plumbing Code. Because the scope of their work is not as broad as licensed plumbers, it is 

reasonable that the total number of required continuing education hours is fewer than licensed 

plumbers. Correspondingly, the required minimum number of continuing education hours on the 

Plumbing Code is also fewer than what is required for licensed plumbers.  

The proposed rule amendment adds that the continuing education hours may be obtained online, 

subject to the requirements in Minn. Stat. §§ 326B.098 to 326B.099. This proposed amendment 

is consistent with the proposed amendment in subpart 1(A) above.   

Subpart 1(C) 

The proposed rule amendment creates a new requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers and 

water conditioners to take two hours of continuing education each year as a condition of 

renewing their registration. Registered unlicensed plumbers must take two hours of continuing 

education on the Plumbing Code because the range of work they may perform is broad and 

includes the entire scope of the Plumbing Code. Registered unlicensed water conditioners must 

take one hour of continuing education on the Plumbing Code and the other hour of continuing 

education may be on the Plumbing Code or a technical topic related to water conditioning 

installation. The scope of the work of a registered unlicensed water conditioner is limited to 

water conditioning so they do not work with the entire Plumbing Code.  

For many registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education 

requirement is absorbed into their training toward qualifying for the journeyworker exam in their 

respective field. For other registered unlicensed plumbers and registered unlicensed water 

conditioners who do not intend to take the journeyworker exam in their respective field, this 

requirement ensures they stay current with industry practices and the Plumbing Code.  

For both registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education hours 

may be taken online. This requirement will enhance registrants’ knowledge and understanding of 

the Plumbing Code and other information relevant to their work. While field work is important, 

there are tables, calculations and backflow protection of water supply system in the Plumbing 

Code that industry professionals must be aware of and learn about. A continuing education class 

is a setting conducive to learning about certain aspects of the Plumbing Code.   

Similarly, registered unlicensed electricians have been required to obtain two hours of continuing 

education every renewal period since 2009.24 It is necessary and reasonable to require a regulated 

party to obtain some continuing education to maintain their registration to ensure competence in 

the interest of public health.  

Subpart 1(D) and (E) 

The proposed rule amendment renumbers these paragraphs to reflect the new paragraphs added 

above. There are no substantive changes.  

24 See Minn. R. 3800.3602 (2018). See also https://www.revisor.mn.gov/state_register/34/15/.  
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CONCLUSION 

Based on the foregoing, the proposed rules are both needed and reasonable. 

_______________________________ 

November 13, 2018 Richard Jacobs 

Plumbing Board Chair 

This Statement of Need and Reasonableness was made available for public review on November 

13, 2018. 
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2-hour Continuing Education  Average Costs

Plumbology* $60.00
Metro Testing & Plumbing** $50.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace)*** - electrical $36.00

Total $146.00

Average $48.67

Continuing Education Average Cost-Per-Hour

# of hours Total cost Average cost per hour
Plumbology* 8 $130.00 $16.25
Plumbology 4 $85.00 $21.25
Plumbology 2 $60.00 $30.00
Metro Testing & Plumbing** 8 $150.00 $18.75
Metro Testing & Plumbing 6 $125.00 $20.83
Metro Testing & Plumbing 2 $50.00 $25.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace)*** 4 $80.00 $20.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace) 2 $36.00 $18.00
MyPlumbingTraining.com**** 8 $125 (incl. lunch) $15.63
MyPlumbingTraining.com - apprentices 8 $20.00 $2.50

Total $861.00 $18.82

*http://www.plumbologymn.com/register
**https://metrotesting.net/classes/
***https://www.tradesmance.com/minnesota-plumbing-continuing-education
****https://myplumbingtraining.com/onsite_courses

Attachment A
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R-04365 Dual Notice

Minnesota Plumbing Board 

DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or 
More Persons Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for 
Hearing Are Received; Revisor’s ID Number R04365 

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, 
Chapter 4716 

Introduction. The Minnesota Plumbing Board intends to adopt rules without a public 
hearing following the procedures in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, 
Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written 
request for a hearing on the rules by 4:30 p.m. on December 28, 2018, the Board will hold a 
public hearing in Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road 
North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, starting at 9:30 a.m. on Friday, January 11, 2019. To find out 
whether the Board will adopt the rules without a hearing or if it will hold the hearing, you should 
contact the agency contact person after December 28, 2018, and before January 11, 2019. 

Agency Contact Person. Submit any comments or questions on the rules or written 
requests for a public hearing to the agency contact person. The agency contact person is: 
Suzanne Todnem at Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. 
Paul, MN 55155, (651) 284-5006 dli.rules@state.mn.us.  

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules are about the registration 
of unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed 
individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of both plumbers and water 
conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered 
unlicensed individuals.  

The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.435, 
326B.47, and 326B.555. A copy of the proposed rules is available on the Board’s website at 
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716. 
A free copy of the rules is available upon request from the agency contact person listed above. 

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 2018, to submit written 
comment in support of or in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. 
Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the due date. 
Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules 
addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. You are encouraged to 
propose any change that you desire. Any comments that you have about the legality of the 
proposed rules must also be made during this comment period. 

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that 
the Board hold a hearing on the rules. You must make your request for a public hearing in 
writing, which the agency contact person must receive by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 
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2018. You must include your name and address in your written request. In addition, you must 
identify the portion of the proposed rules that you object to or state that you oppose the entire set 
of rules. Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not valid and the agency 
cannot count it when determining whether it must hold a public hearing. You are also 
encouraged to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed 
rules. 

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a 
hearing, the Board will hold a public hearing unless a sufficient number of persons withdraw 
their requests in writing. If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number 
below 25, the agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, 
explain the actions the agency took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on 
this action. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. 

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this information can be made 
available in an alternative format, such as large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or 
if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please contact the agency contact 
person at the address or telephone number listed above. 

Modifications. The Board might modify the proposed rules, either as a result of public 
comment or as a result of the rule hearing process. It must support modifications by data and 
views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing. The adopted rules may not be 
substantially different than these proposed rules unless the Board follows the procedure under 
Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, the Board 
encourages you to participate in the rulemaking process. 

Cancellation of Hearing. The Board will cancel the hearing scheduled for January 11, 
2019, if the agency does not receive requests for a hearing from 25 or more persons. If you 
requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the scheduled hearing whether the 
hearing will be held. You may also call the agency contact person at 651.284.5006 after 
December 28, 2018, to find out whether the hearing will be held. You may check for whether the 
hearing will be held by going on-line at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716.  

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit valid written requests for a public 
hearing on the rules, the Board will hold a hearing following the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The Board will hold the hearing on the date and at the time 
and place listed above. The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard. 
Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman is assigned to conduct the hearing. Judge Lipman can 
be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert Street, P.O. Box 64620, 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, telephone (651) 361-7875, and fax (651) 539-0310. 

Hearing Procedure. If the Board holds a hearing, you and all interested or affected 
persons, including representatives of associations or other interested groups, will have an 
opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing 
at any time before the hearing record closes. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed 
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rules. You may also submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in 
the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends. At the hearing the 
Administrative Law Judge may order that this five-day comment period is extended for a longer 
period but not more than 20 calendar days. Following the comment period, there is a five-
working-day rebuttal period when the agency and any interested person may respond in writing 
to any new information submitted. No one may submit new evidence during the five-day rebuttal 
period. The Office of Administrative Hearings must receive all comments and responses 
submitted to the Administrative Law Judge via the Office of Administrative Hearings 
Rulemaking e-comments website at https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions no 
later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses received will be available for 
review at the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry or on the agency’s website at 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-
4716. This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 
to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. You may direct questions about 
the procedure to the Administrative Law Judge. 
 

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the 
Administrative Law Judge before the hearing or during the comment or rebuttal period also 
submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address stated 
above. 
 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. The statement of need and reasonableness 
summarizes the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be 
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. It is 
now available from the agency contact person. You may review or obtain copies for the cost of 
reproduction by contacting the agency contact person. Or, you may access a free copy on the 
agency’s website at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-
minnesota-rules-4716. 
 

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to 
register with the State Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Ask any questions about 
this requirement of the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board at: Suite #190, 
Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651) 539-1180 or 
1-800-657-3889. 
 

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the 
rules after the end of the comment period. The Board will submit the rules and supporting 
documents to the Office of Administrative Hearings for a legal review. You may ask to be 
notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office. If you want either to receive notice of 
this, to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or to register with the agency to receive notice of 
future rule proceedings, submit your request to the agency contact person listed above. 
 

Adoption Procedure after a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing 
record, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a report on the proposed rules. You may ask to 
be notified of the date that the Administrative Law Judge’s report will become available, and can 
make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge. You may also ask 
to be notified of the date that the agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the 
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Secretary of State by requesting this at the hearing or by writing to the agency contact person 
stated above. 

 
 
Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed 

above. 
 
 

 
      ________________________________________ 
November 13, 2018    Richard Jacobs 

Chair, Minnesota Plumbing Board  
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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions
NOTICE: How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register
The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages. State agencies are 

required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register. Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and 
participate in the important rulemaking process. Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules. Each agency is assigned specific 
Minnesota Rule chapter numbers. Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published.  Supplements are published to update this set of 
rules. Generally speaking, proposed and adopted exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the 
State Register.

	An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter of 
a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101).  It does this  by publishing a notice in 
the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new 
statutory grant of required rulemaking.

	When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules 
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules. This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed.  Proposed emergency rules, and with-
drawn proposed rules, are also published in the State Register. After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been rewritten 
into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules.  These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety, but only the 
changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules. To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person simply needs two issues of the State 
Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted. 

	The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule: issues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-
25 inclusive (issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26); issues #27-38 inclusive (issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39); issues #40-52 inclusive, with 
final index (#1-52, or 53 in some years). An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in August, but starting with Volume 
19 now appears in the final issue of each volume. For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact Minnesota’s Bookstore, 660 Olive Street 
(one block east of I-35E and one block north of University Ave), St. Paul, MN 55155, phone:  (612) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757. TTY relay 
service phone number: (800) 627-3529.

Volume 43 - Minnesota Rules Department of Labor and Industry
(Rules Appearing in Vol. 42 Issues #27-52  are  5220.1900 (adopted).........................................................................   361

          in Vol 42, #52 - Monday 25 June 2018) 5219.0500; 5221.4020(Exempt).......................................................   384

Volume 43, #22 Department of Natural Resources
6232.0200; .0300; .0400; .0800; .0900; .1000; .1300; .1600; .1750; 

Monday 2 July - Monday 26 November .1800; .1970; .1980; .2100; .2500; .4700(adopted expedited)..................   117
6230.0200; .0295; .0400; 6234.0600; .1400; .1700; .2600;  

Office of Administrative Hearings 6236.0700 (adopted expedited) ..............................................................    153
1420.1850(proposed) .......................................................................   177 6232.2550; .2560 (adopted expedited) ...........................................    157

6234.0300; 6237.0400; .0550 (adopted expedited).........................    160
Board of Architecture, Engineering, Land Surveying, Landscape  6266.0400 (expedited emergency)...................................................   381

Architecture, Geoscience, and Interior Design 6264.0400 (expedited emergency)..................................................    493
1800 (adopted)..................................................................................     89

Board of Optometry
Board of Assessors 6500.0100; .2000; .2900; .3000 (adopted).......................................       5
1950 (proposed)...............................................................................    563

Plumbing Board
Board of Cosmetology 4716 (proposed)...............................................................................    585
2105; 2110 (adopted)........................................................................   347

Secretary of State
Board of Dentistry 8200.7200 (adopted).........................................................................   437
3100.1160; .3600; .8500; .8700; .9600 (adopted).......................197, 507

Pollution Control Agency
Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED) 7150 (proposed)................................................................................   212
3300.6000 – 3300.6070 (proposed)..................................................   315

Environmental Quality Board
4410.2550 (adopted).........................................................................   162
4410.0200; .0500; .4300; .4400; .5200; .7904; .7906; .7926;  

.4600 (proposed).......................................................................................   531

Department of Health
4717.7860 (adopted).........................................................................   262
4626 (adopted)..................................................................................   295

Office of Higher Education 
4830.0150; 4850.0011; .0012; .0013; .0017 (proposed)...................  207
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Proposed Rules
Comments on Planned Rules or Rule Amendments. An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned 

Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking 
proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101). It does this by publishing a 
notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 
60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

Rules to be Adopted After a Hearing. After receiving comments and deciding to hold a public hearing on the 
rule, an agency drafts its rule. It then publishes its rules with a notice of hearing. All persons wishing to make a 
statement must register at the hearing. Anyone who wishes to submit written comments may do so at the hearing, 
or within five working days of the close of the hearing. Administrative law judges may, during the hearing, extend 
the period for receiving comments up to 20 calendar days. For five business days after the submission period the 
agency and interested persons may respond to any new information submitted during the written submission period 
and the record then is closed. The administrative law judge prepares a report within 30 days, stating findings of fact, 
conclusions and recommendations. After receiving the report, the agency decides whether to adopt, withdraw or 
modify the proposed rule based on consideration of the comments made during the rule hearing procedure and the 
report of the administrative law judge. The agency must wait five days after receiving the report before taking any 
action.

Rules to be Adopted Without a Hearing. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 14.22, an agency may propose 
to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing. An agency must first solicit Com-
ments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public. The agency then publish-
es a notice of intent to adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register. 
If, during the 30-day comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of 
the proposed rules, the agency must proceed under the provisions of §§ 14.1414.20, which state that if an agency 
decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a notice of intent in the State Register.

KEY: Proposed Rules - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strikeouts indicate dele-
tions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” Adopted 
Rules - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikeout indicates deletions from proposed rule 
language.

Minnesota Plumbing Board
DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More 
Persons Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing Are 
Received; Revisor’s ID Number R04365

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716

Introduction. The Minnesota Plumbing Board intends to adopt rules without a public hearing following the 
procedures in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310, and 
the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or more persons submit 
a written request for a hearing on the rules by 4:30 p.m. on December 28, 2018, the Board will hold a public hearing in 
Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, starting at 
9:30 a.m. on Friday, January 11, 2019. To find out whether the Board will adopt the rules without a hearing or if it will 
hold the hearing, you should contact the agency contact person after December 28, 2018, and before January 11, 2019.

Agency Contact Person. Submit any comments or questions on the rules or written requests for a public hear-
ing to the agency contact person. The agency contact person is: Suzanne Todnem at Minnesota Department of Labor and 
Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, MN 55155, (651) 284-5006 dli.rules@state.mn.us. 

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules are about the registration of unlicensed  
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Proposed Rules
individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed individuals who perform plumbing, 
examination and licensing of both plumbers and water conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed 
individuals and registered unlicensed individuals. 

The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.435, 326B.47, and 326B.555. A 
copy of the proposed rules is available on the Board’s website at  
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716. A free copy of the 
rules is available upon request from the agency contact person listed above.

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 2018, to submit written comment in support of 
or in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. Your comment must be in writing and received 
by the agency contact person by the due date. Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of 
the proposed rules addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. You are encouraged to propose any 
change that you desire. Any comments that you have about the legality of the proposed rules must also be made during 
this comment period.

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that the Board hold a 
hearing on the rules. You must make your request for a public hearing in writing, which the agency contact person must 
receive by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 2018. You must include your name and address in your written request. 
In addition, you must identify the portion of the proposed rules that you object to or state that you oppose the entire set 
of rules. Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not valid and the agency cannot count it when 
determining whether it must hold a public hearing. You are also encouraged to state the reason for the request and any 
changes you want made to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a hearing, the Board will 
hold a public hearing unless a sufficient number of persons withdraw their requests in writing. If enough requests for 
hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the agency must give written notice of this to all persons who 
requested a hearing, explain the actions the agency took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on this 
action. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 
to 14.20.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative 
format, such as large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hear-
ing accessible, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications. The Board might modify the proposed rules, either as a result of public comment or as a result 
of the rule hearing process. It must support modifications by data and views submitted to the agency or presented at the 
hearing. The adopted rules may not be substantially different than these proposed rules unless the Board follows the 
procedure under Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, the Board encourages you 
to participate in the rulemaking process.

Cancellation of Hearing. The Board will cancel the hearing scheduled for January 11, 2019, if the agency 
does not receive requests for a hearing from 25 or more persons. If you requested a public hearing, the agency will 
notify you before the scheduled hearing whether the hearing will be held. You may also call the agency contact person 
at 651.284.5006 after December 28, 2018, to find out whether the hearing will be held. You may check for whether the 
hearing will be held by going on-line at  
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716. 

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit valid written requests for a public hearing on the rules, the 
Board will hold a hearing following the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The Board will hold 
the hearing on the date and at the time and place listed above. The hearing will continue until all interested persons have 
been heard. Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman is assigned to conduct the hearing. Judge Lipman can be reached 
at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert Street, P.O. Box 64620, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, 
telephone (651) 361-7875, and fax (651) 539-0310.
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Proposed Rules
Hearing Procedure. If the Board holds a hearing, you and all interested or affected persons, including repre-

sentatives of associations or other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate. You may present your views 
either orally at the hearing or in writing at any time before the hearing record closes. All evidence presented should 
relate to the proposed rules. You may also submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the 
hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends. At the hearing the Administrative Law Judge may 
order that this five-day comment period is extended for a longer period but not more than 20 calendar days. Following 
the comment period, there is a five-working-day rebuttal period when the agency and any interested person may respond 
in writing to any new information submitted. No one may submit new evidence during the five-day rebuttal period. The 
Office of Administrative Hearings must receive all comments and responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge 
via the Office of Administrative Hearings Rulemaking e-comments website at  
https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses 
received will be available for review at the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry or on the agency’s web-
site at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716. This rule hear-
ing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 
to 14.20. You may direct questions about the procedure to the Administrative Law Judge.

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge before 
the hearing or during the comment or rebuttal period also submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency con-
tact person at the address stated above.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. The statement of need and reasonableness summarizes the justifica-
tion for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the 
probable cost of the proposed rules. It is now available from the agency contact person. You may review or obtain copies 
for the cost of reproduction by contacting the agency contact person. Or, you may access a free copy on the agency’s 
website at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716.

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State 
Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Ask any questions about this requirement of the Campaign Finance and 
Public Disclosure Board at: Suite #190, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone 
(651) 539-1180 or 1-800-657-3889.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the rules after the end of 
the comment period. The Board will submit the rules and supporting documents to the Office of Administrative Hear-
ings for a legal review. You may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office. If you want either to 
receive notice of this, to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or to register with the agency to receive notice of future rule 
proceedings, submit your request to the agency contact person listed above.

Adoption Procedure after a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the Adminis-
trative Law Judge will issue a report on the proposed rules. You may ask to be notified of the date that the Administrative 
Law Judge’s report will become available, and can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative 
Law Judge. You may also ask to be notified of the date that the agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the 
Secretary of State by requesting this at the hearing or by writing to the agency contact person stated above.

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed above.

November 13, 2018				 Richard Jacobs
Chair, Minnesota Plumbing Board 
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Commissioner’s Orders
Various agency commissioners are authorized to issue "commissioner's orders" on specified activities gov-

erned by their agency's enabling laws.  See the Minnesota Statutes governing each agency to determine the specific 
applicable statutes. Commissioners' orders are approved by assistant attorneys general as to form and execution and 
published in the State Register. These commissioners orders are compiled in the year-end subject matter index for 
each volume of the State Register.

Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
Commissioner’s Order #1 ML 2018: Amend Smallmouth Bass Season, Walleye Season, 
and Walleye Limits to Make Adjustments to Manage Fisheries in the 1837 Ceded Territory 
(Mille Lacs)

Date:  December 1, 2018
Statutory authority:  Minnesota Statutes, section 97C.005, subdivision 3

Supersedes: Expedited Emergency Game and Fish Rule 6264.0400, subd. 4, item B, referring to the angling season 
for smallmouth bass and largemouth bass, and item F, referring to the catch and release angling season and possession 
restriction for walleye: Mille Lacs Fishing Regulations as published in the 23 April 2018 State Register (42 SR 1254)

BACKGROUND
Each year a harvestable surplus is set for walleye in Mille Lacs Lake by a joint management process between the 

state and the eight Chippewa Bands. The harvestable surplus is the pounds of fish that can be taken safely from Mille 
Lacs Lake while ensuring sufficient walleye remaining in the lake for a healthy population. The harvestable surplus for 
2019 will not be determined until January 2019. However, the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) is confident that 
the safe harvest will be similar to or higher than that set in 2018, therefore, limited harvest may be taken by state anglers 
this winter with little risk of exceeding the safe harvest for the 2018/2019 fishing season. The winter 2018/19 fishing 
season will commence December 1, 2018, and extend through February 24, 2019, with the harvest restrictions outlined 
in the order below. This decision is based on the results of recent fisheries surveys that indicate the Mille Lacs walleye 
fishery can accommodate an ice fishery and stay within the projected state share of the 2019 harvestable surplus.

Because smallmouth bass were considered abundant enough to allow a fall harvest, smallmouth bass in Mille Lacs 
were temporarily exempted from the statewide fall harvest closure to increase the opportunity for anglers to harvest fish. 
However, in consultation with stakeholder groups, the DNR has determined the harvest season should again be closed, 
starting on December, to protect quality smallmouth bass during the winter walleye harvest season, and to be consistent 
with the statewide harvest closure for smallmouth bass. 

For all other species, the Expedited Emergency Game and Fish Rule adopted on April 23, 2018, will remain in effect. 

ORDER
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, pursuant to authority vested in me by law, including Minneso-

ta Statutes, section 97C.005, subdivision 3, that: 
1. The angling season for taking smallmouth bass on Lake Mille Lacs is closed beginning at 12:01 a.m., December

1, 2018.
2. The angling season for walleye begins at 12:01 a.m. on December 1, 2018, and continues to 11:59 p.m. on Feb-

ruary 24, 2019. While a person is on or angling in Lake Mille Lacs, the possession limit for walleye is one. The walleye 
in possession must be from 21 inches in length to 23 inches in length, inclusive, or over 28 inches in length. All walleye 
less than 21 inches in length or greater than 23 inches but not greater than 28 inches in length must be returned immedi-
ately to the water. 

3. Fishing for all other species, including northern pike, perch, and panfish, and the existing regulations for all
other species, continue unaffected by this order.

 Date: 11/19/2018
Tom Landwehr, Commissioner 
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State Grants & Loans
In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts 

Section), the State Register also publishes notices about grants and loans available through any agency or branch 
of state government.  Although some grant and loan programs specifically require printing in a statewide pub-
lication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the State Register itself. Agencies 
are encouraged to publish grant and loan notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for 
interested parties to respond.          

SEE ALSO: Office of Grants Management (OGM) at: http://www.grants.state.mn.us/public/

Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED)
Notice of Grant Opportunity

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development 
(DEED) places notice of any available grant opportunities online at https://mn.gov/deed/about/contracts/

Department of Human Services 
Child Care Services Division 

Notice of Request for Proposals for a Qualified Grantee to Administer the Child Care 
Aware of Minnesota Coordinating Office and Support the Child Care Aware of Minnesota 
System

	NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Department of Human Services, through its Child Care Services 
Division, Child Development Services Unit (State), is requesting proposals to support the Child Care Aware of Minneso-
ta System, the statewide implementation of Parent Aware, Minnesota’s Quality Rating and Improvement System, those 
working within child care and early childhood programs, and families by helping them to find quality, affordable child 
care.  

The Responder selected for this award will have documented these preferred skills as part of their RFP proposal:
•	 The ability to prepare a detailed work plan and timeline which identifies a methodology for the development 

and implementation of program deliverables. The selected Responder is expected to begin delivery of services outlined 
in this RFP at the beginning of the proposed contract start date of July 1, 2019. If a Responder is unable to begin delivery 
of any of the required deliverables at the beginning of the proposed contract start date of July 1, 2019, the Responder 
must include a transition plan with proposed timeline to begin service and budget requirements.  

•	 Knowledge and understanding of the Child Care Aware of Minnesota system.
•	 Knowledge and understanding of best practices in implementing quality rating and improvement systems.
•	 Knowledge and understanding of Minnesota’s professional development and training delivery system, including 

online training delivery.
•	 Knowledge and understanding of Develop, Minnesota’s Quality Improvement & Registry Tool.
•	 Marketing and communication skills to reach underserved and underrepresented families and child care pro-

grams.
•	 Knowledge of Relationship Based Professional Development (coaching and consultation) models, including 

reflective practice and supervision.
•	 The ability to establish collaborative relationships with other agencies/organizations that provide coaching and 

consultation services to child care programs, especially those providing health and safety coaching and consultation.
•	 Skills in collection, reporting and using data for continuous quality improvement.
•	 Familiarity with the following resources:  
		 o Minnesota Early Childhood Indicators of Progress for Children Birth to Kindergarten 			 

		  (https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-7596A-ENG). 
		 o Minnesota Knowledge and Competency Framework  

		  (https://education.mn.gov/MDE/dse/early/know/index.htm).  
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		 o Achieve, the Minnesota Center for Professional Development, (http://www.mncpd.org) and its services. 
		 o Minnesota Statutes/chapters 245A, (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=245A) and Minnesota  

		  Statutes, section 626.556 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.556).   
		 o Minnesota Rules, parts 9503 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=9503 and  

		  9502 (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=9502). 

	Work is proposed to start July 1, 2019.  For more information, or to obtain a copy of the Request for Proposal, con-
tact:

Missy Lorey, Contracts Coordinator
Department of Human Services

Child Development Services Division
P.O. Box 64962

St. Paul, MN 55155 0962
Phone: (651) 431-3865

Missy.Lorey@state.mn.us 

	This is the only person designated to answer questions by potential responders regarding this request.

	Proposals submitted in response to this Request for Proposals must be received at the address above no later than 
4:00 p.m., Central Time, January 4, 2019.  Late proposals will not be considered.  Faxed or e-mailed proposals will 
not be considered.

	The RFP can be viewed by visiting the Minnesota Department of Human Services RFP web site:   
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/id_000102 

	This request does not obligate the State to complete the work contemplated in this notice.   The State reserves the 
right to cancel this solicitation.  All expenses incurred in responding to this notice are solely the responsibility of the 
responder.

Department of Human Services 
Child Care Services Division 

Notice of Request for Proposals for a Qualified Grantee to Conduct Classroom  
Assessment Scoring System (CLASS™) Observation for Child Care Centers Participating 
in the Parent Aware Quality Rating and Improvement System, and Support Parent Aware 
and CLASS™ Coaches

 NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Department of Human Services, through its Child Care Services 
Division, Child Development Services Unit (State), is requesting proposals to conduct Classroom Assessment Scoring 
System (“CLASS™”) observations for child care centers with preschool classrooms and seeking a Three-or Four-Star 
Rating through the Full-Rating Pathway in Parent Aware, Minnesota’s Quality Rating and Improvement System, and 
to support Parent Aware and CLASS™ coaches.  The data from the CLASS™ observation is used to determine if the 
program meets a particular Parent Aware quality indicator.  Support for Parent Aware and CLASS™ coaches includes but 
is not limited to facilitating trainings and learning communities. 

The Responder selected for this award will have documented these preferred skills as part of their RFP proposal:
• The ability to prepare a detailed workplan and timeline which identifies a methodology for the development and 

implementation of program deliverables.  Respondent is expected to begin delivery of services outlined in this RFP at 
the beginning of the proposed contract start date of July 1, 2019.  If respondent is unable to begin delivery of any of the 
required deliverables at the beginning of the proposed contract start date of July 1, 2019, include a transition plan with 
proposed timeline to begin service and budget requirements.  

• Knowledge and understanding of the Child Care Aware of Minnesota system.
• Knowledge and understanding of best practices in implementing quality rating and improvement systems.
• Knowledge and understanding of best practices in implementing the Preschool CLASS™ Observation tool.
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•	 Experience in implementing the Preschool CLASS™ Observation tool.
•	 Knowledge and understanding of Minnesota’s professional development and training delivery system, including 

on-line training delivery.
•	 Marketing and communication skills to reach underserved and underrepresented families and child care pro-

grams.
•	 Knowledge and understanding in providing Relationship Based Professional Development (coaching and con-

sultation) and training of adult learners.
•	 The ability to establish collaborative relationships with other agencies/organization that provide coaching and 

consultation services to child care programs.
•	 Skills in the collection and reporting of data and its use for continuous quality improvement.
•	 Awareness of the following resources: 
		 o Minnesota Early Childhood Indicators of Progress for Children Birth to Kindergarten  

		  (https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-7596A-ENG)
		 o Minnesota Knowledge and Competency Framework
		 (https://education.mn.gov/MDE/dse/early/know/index.htm)
		 o Achieve, the Minnesota Center for Professional Development and its services (http://www.mncpd.org/) 

	Work is proposed to start July 1, 2019.  For more information, or to obtain a copy of the Request for Proposal, con-
tact:

Missy Lorey, Contracts Coordinator
Department of Human Services

Child Development Services Division
P.O. Box 64962

St. Paul, MN 55155 0962
Phone: (651) 431-3865

Missy.Lorey@state.mn.us 

	This is the only person designated to answer questions by potential responders regarding this request.

	Proposals submitted in response to this Request for Proposals must be received at the address above no later than 
4:00 p.m., Central Time, January 4, 2019.  Late proposals will not be considered.  Faxed or e-mailed proposals will 
not be considered.

	
The RFP can be viewed by visiting the Minnesota Department of Human Services RFP web site:   

http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/id_000102 

	This request does not obligate the State to complete the work contemplated in this notice.   The State reserves the 
right to cancel this solicitation.  All expenses incurred in responding to this notice are solely the responsibility of the 
responder.

Department of Human Services 
Child Care Services Division 

Notice of Request for Proposals for a Qualified Grantee to Increase the Supply of High 
Quality, Affordable Child Care Including Business Planning and Low Interest Loans

 NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Department of Human Services, through its Child Care Ser-
vices Division, Child Development Services Unit (State), is requesting proposals to increase the supply of high quality 
affordable child care in Minnesota communities.  The State is looking for an innovative process to guide communities in 
identifying the scope and size of its child care challenges, and to empower and support communities to develop solutions 
to address these challenges.  In addition, qualified Responders will provide business planning training, consultation and 
low interest loans to child care programs throughout Minnesota.  
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	The Responder selected for this award will have documented these preferred skills as part of their RFP proposal:
• The ability to prepare a detailed workplan and timeline which identifies a methodology for the development and

implementation of program deliverables.  
• The selected Responder is expected to begin delivery of services outlined in this RFP at the beginning of the

proposed contract start date of July 1, 2019. If Responder is unable to begin delivery of any of the required deliverables 
at the beginning of the proposed contract start date of July 1, 2019, please include a transition plan with proposed time-
line to begin service and budget requirements.  

• Experience in working with child care providers to create sustainable business models.
• Knowledge and understanding of economic development and the role of child care.
• Knowledge of both public and private financial sources for early child care and early education sites.
• Demonstrated ability to analyze financing projects.
• Experience in working with communities to solve a problem.
• Demonstrated understanding of the needs of diverse communities.
• Knowledge and understanding of the Child Care Aware of Minnesota system.
• Knowledge and understanding of Parent Aware, Minnesota’s Quality Rating and Improvement System for early

childhood programs.
• Knowledge and understanding of Minnesota’s professional development and training delivery system, including

on-line training delivery.
• Marketing and communication skills to reach underserved and underrepresented families and child care pro-

grams.
• Knowledge and understanding in providing Relationship Based Professional Development (coaching, mentoring

and consultation) and training of adult learners.
• The ability to establish collaborative relationships with other agencies/organization that provide coaching, men-

toring and consultation services to child care programs.
• Experience and expertise in the collection, usage and reporting of data for continuous quality improvement.
• Awareness of the following resource:

o Achieve, the Minnesota Center for Professional Development (https://www.mncpd.org/) and its services.

	Work is proposed to start July 1, 2019.  For more information, or to obtain a copy of the Request for Proposal, con-
tact:

Missy Lorey, Contracts Coordinator
Department of Human Services

Child Development Services Division
P.O. Box 64962

St. Paul, MN 55155 0962
Phone: (651) 431-3865

Missy.Lorey@state.mn.us 

	This is the only person designated to answer questions by potential responders regarding this request.

	Proposals submitted in response to this Request for Proposals must be received at the address above no later than 
4:00 p.m., Central Time, January 4, 2019.  Late proposals will not be considered.  Faxed or e-mailed proposals will 
not be considered.

	The RFP can be viewed by visiting the Minnesota Department of Human Services RFP web site:  
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/id_000102 

	This request does not obligate the State to complete the work contemplated in this notice.   The State reserves the 
right to cancel this solicitation.  All expenses incurred in responding to this notice are solely the responsibility of the 
responder.

State Grants & Loans
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Department of Human Services 
Child Care Services Division 

Notice of Request for Proposals for a Qualified Grantee to Provide Supports to Improve 
the Quality of Afterschool Programs

	NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Department of Human Services, through its Child Care Services 
Division, Child Development Services Unit (State), is requesting proposals to develop and implement a process to help 
afterschool programs that serve school-age children (ages kindergarten through 12 years of age) to adopt research-based 
best practices.

The Responder selected for this award will have documented these preferred skills as part of their RFP proposal:
• The ability to prepare a detailed work plan and timeline which identifies a methodology for the development

and implementation of program deliverables.
• Outreach capabilities to culturally and linguistically diverse afterschool practitioners in Minnesota.
• Knowledge of best practices in afterschool programming and effective strategies for helping afterschool pro-

grams adopt them.
• Knowledge of developmental expectations of school-age children ages 5 – 12.
• Knowledge of how to use the Minnesota School-Age Indicators of Progress.
• Knowledge of ways to help afterschool program leaders and practitioners develop activities across the variety of

developmental levels of children in their programs.
• The ability to establish collaborative relationships with other agencies/organizations that provide services to

afterschool programs.
• Experience delivering classroom and relationship-based professional development.
• Marketing and recruitment skills needed to engage afterschool programs.
• Skills in collection, reporting and using data for continuous quality improvement.

	Work is proposed to start July 1, 2019.  For more information, or to obtain a copy of the Request for Proposal, con-
tact:

Kelli Peters, Contracts Specialist
Department of Human Services

Child Development Services Division
P.O. Box 64962

St. Paul, MN 55155 0962
Phone: (651) 431-3867

Kelli.Peters@state.mn.us

This is the only person designated to answer questions by potential responders regarding this request.

	Proposals submitted in response to this Request for Proposals must be received at the address above no later than 
4:00 p.m., Central Time, Friday, January 4, 2019.  Late proposals will not be considered.  Faxed or e-mailed pro-
posals will not be considered.

	The RFP can be viewed by visiting the Minnesota Department of Human Services RFP web site:  
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/id_000102 

	This request does not obligate the State to complete the work contemplated in this notice.   The State reserves the 
right to cancel this solicitation.  All expenses incurred in responding to this notice are solely the responsibility of the 
responder.

State Grants & Loans
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Informal Solicitations:  Informal solicitations for professional/technical (consultant) contracts valued at over 

$5,000 through $50,000, may either be published in the State Register or posted on the Department of Administra-
tion, Materials Management Division’s (MMD) Web site.  Interested vendors are encouraged to monitor the P/T 
Contract Section of the MMD Website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us for informal solicitation announcements.  

Formal Solicitations:  Department of Administration procedures require that formal solicitations (announce-
ments for contracts with an estimated value over $50,000) for professional/technical contracts must be published in 
the State Register.  Certain quasi-state agency and Minnesota State College and University institutions are exempt 
from these requirements. 

Requirements:   There are no statutes or rules requiring contracts to be advertised for any specific length 
of time, but the  Materials Management Division strongly recommends meeting the following requirements: $0 
- $5000 does not need to be advertised.  Contact the Materials Management Division:  (651) 296-2600 $5,000 - 
$25,000 should be advertised in the State Register for a period of at least seven calendar days; $25,000 - $50,000 
should be advertised in the State Register for a period of at least 14 calendar days; and anything above $50,000 
should be advertised in the State Register for a minimum of at least 21 calendar  days.

Minnesota Department of Agriculture
Notice of Contract Opportunity for Agricultural Research and Evaluation of the Clean 
Water Fund

PROJECT NAME: Agricultural Research and Evaluation of the Clean Water Fund

DETAILS: The Minnesota Department of Agriculture, Pesticide and Fertilizer Management Division (MDA) is 
requesting proposals from scientists and researchers to conduct research related to clean water in agricultural areas of the 
State, including research to evaluate the effectiveness of agricultural conservation practices, identify underlying process-
es that affect water quality, and develop technologies to target critical areas of the landscape.

Proposals should quantify agricultural conservation practices effectiveness related to nutrient source reduction, off-
site movement, and treatment in the State of Minnesota. Proposals should focus on the water quality effects of individual 
practices and/or the cumulative effects of multiple conservation practices. Proposals must include a cost effectiveness 
component, as well as an education and outreach plan to benefit the people of Minnesota.  See the Request for Proposals 
(RFP) for information on the project priorities. MDA may award multiple projects from this RFP.

Work is anticipated to start after January 15, 2019.

COPY REQUEST: To get a copy of the RFP, please send a written request, by email, to:

  Aicam Laacouri
  Clean Water Research Coordinator
  Email: Aicam.Laacouri@state.mn.us

PROPOSAL DEADLINE: Proposals submitted in response to the RFP in this advertisement must be received no 
later than 3:00 p.m. Central Time, on Thursday, November 29, 2018.  Late proposals will not be considered.  Fax 
and email proposals will not be considered.

This request does not obligate the State to complete the work contemplated in this notice.   The State reserves the 
right to cancel this solicitation.  All expenses incurred in responding to this notice are solely the responsibility of the 
responder.

Completed and Current Funded Projects
For a list of Clean Water research projects supported by MDA, please visit:  

www.mda.state.mn.us/clean-water-research-projects. 
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Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (Minnesota State)

Inver Hills Community College
Notice of Request for Proposals for Mechanical and Physical Plant Systems Repair

Notice of Request for Proposal for the desire to secure a service provider to support the repair and maintenance of, 
but not limited to, the physical plant, boilers chillers, pumps, motors, mechanical equipment and assorted plumbing on an 
as needed and emergency call basis. 

Walkthrough’s are planned for Friday November 16th from 9 am to 11am. To receive a complete copy of the propos-
al, http://minnstate.edu/vendors/index.html

Proposals must be sealed with a notation on the outside of the envelope stating: Mechanical and Physical Plant Sys-
tems Repair proposal – DELIVER IMMEDIATELY

Mail or deliver (faxes and email will not be accepted) sealed proposal must be delivered no later than 12:00pm Tues-
day, November 27th, 2018 to:

	 Inver Hills Community College
Purchasing Department

	 2500 East 80th Street, Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076
Attn: Karla Colwell

Phone (651)450-3871 
 
PROPOSAL CLOSE DATE IS Tuesday, November 27th 2018- 12:00P.M.  

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (Minnesota State)
Lake Superior College

Request for Bid for Flight Simulators

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that proposals are being solicited for Flight Simulators for Lake Superior College’s 
Center for Advanced Aviation in Duluth, MN.  We are requesting two full motion enclosed flight training devices certi-
fied to FAA AATD level.

For additional information or to request a copy of the RFB specifications, please contact:

Mike Francisco, purchasing@lsc.edu
Lake Superior College

2101 Trinity Rd, Duluth MN  55811
Telephone:  218-733-5968

Proposals are due at the Lake Superior College Business Office, 2101 Trinity Road, Duluth, MN 55811 by Friday, 
December 7, 2018 at 12:00pm CT.

This notice and the Request for Proposal do not obligate the State of Minnesota, Minnesota State Colleges and Uni-
versities or Lake Superior College to award a contract; and reserves its right to withdraw from the RFB if it is considered 
to be in its best interest.
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State Contracts
Minnesota Historical Society (MNHS)
Request for Proposals for Consultant to Develop Exterior Building Rehabilitation at  
Historic Forestville

The Minnesota Historical Society (MNHS) is soliciting proposals from qualified consultants (Consultant) to work 
collaboratively with MNHS to develop building assessments for four structures, cost estimates, preparation and distribu-
tion of construction documents, project bidding, and construction administration and observation for an Exterior Build-
ing Rehabilitation Project at Historic Forestville, located in Preston, Minnesota. Design phase of the project will start no 
later than February 4, 2019.  Construction phase will start no later than July 8, 2019. The Society’s Capital Planning & 
Management staff, who will oversee this work, are based at the Minnesota History Center in Saint Paul. This a prevailing 
wage and jobs reporting project.

The Request for Proposal is available by contacting Mary Green Toussaint, Contract Manager, Minnesota Historical 
Society, by e-mail only: mary.green-toussaint@mnhs.org

There will be a MANDATORY pre-bid meeting for all interested parties on Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at 1:00 
P.M. Central Time at the Site, which is located at 21899 County Road 18, Preston, Minnesota 55969.  The meeting shall 
take place in the Visitor Center.

Proposals (sealed bid process) must be received by Mary Green Toussaint, MNHS Contract Manager, or her agent by 
2:00 P.M. Local Time on Thursday, January 10, 2019. Late proposals will not be accepted. Authorized agents for re-
ceipt of proposals are staff located at the Information Desk on the 1st floor of the Minnesota History Center, 345 Kellogg 
Boulevard West, St. Paul, Minnesota 55102.

Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT)
Engineering Services Division

Notices Regarding Professional/Technical (P/T) Contracting

P/T Contracting Opportunities: MnDOT is now placing additional public notices for P/T contract opportunities 
on the MnDOT’s Consultant Services website. New public notices may be added to the website on a daily basis and be 
available for the time period as indicated within the public notice.  

Taxpayers’ Transportation Accountability Act (TTAA) Notices: MnDOT is posting notices as required by the 
TTAA on the MnDOT Consultant Services website.

MnDOT’s Prequalification Program: MnDOT maintains a Pre-Qualification Program in order to streamline the 
process of contracting for highway related P/T services.  Program information, application requirements, application 
forms and contact information can be found on MnDOT’s Consultant Services website. Applications may be submitted at 
any time for this Program.  

MnDOT Consultant Services website: www.dot.state.mn.us/consult

If you have any questions regarding this notice, or are having problems viewing the information on the Consultant 
Services website, please all the Consultant Services Help Line at 651-366-4611, Monday – Friday, 9:00am – 4:00pm.
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Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector.  The 

State Register meets state and federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices.  Any tax-supported 
institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts and requests for proposals from the private sector.  
It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following:  1) name of contact person;  2) institution name, 
address, and telephone number;  3) brief description of commodity, project or tasks;  4) cost estimate;  and 5) final 
submission date of completed contract proposal.  Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks 
from the date article is submitted for publication).  Surveys show that subscribers are interested in hearing about 
contracts for estimates as low as $1,000.  Contact editor for further details.

Besides the following listing, readers are advised to check: http://www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/solicitations.
htm as well as the Office of Grants Management (OGM) at:  http://www.grants.state.mn.us/public/.

Brown’s Creek Watershed District (BCWD)
Request for Qualifications for Engineering Consulting Services Issued by the Brown’s 
Creek Watershed District for Calendar Years 2019-2020

1. Introduction

The Brown’s Creek Watershed District (BCWD) is the governmental unit with primary responsibility for protecting 
the water resources of the Brown’s Creek Watershed.  The District was established in 1997 under the Minnesota Water-
shed District Act.

The District covers approximately 18,000 acres that drain into Brown’s Creek, which then enters the St. Croix River.  
The watershed includes Brown’s Creek; a DNR designated trout stream and several small tributaries.  The watershed 
includes twelve major lakes and numerous wetlands.  The District includes portions of the Cities of Oak Park Heights, 
Grant, Hugo, Lake Elmo, and Stillwater along with May and Stillwater Townships. 

2. Solicitation

Minnesota Statutes, Section 103B.227, Subdivision 5, require BCWD to solicit proposals every two years to provide 
consulting services.  The current engineering consulting services include, but are not limited to; 1) assistance with the 
implementation of the approved 2017-2026 watershed management plan, 2) assistance with a 2017 rule revision process, 
3) the implementation of a permitting and plan review program and, 4) advising managers of technical options and vari-
ous projects and studies as requested by the managers.

3. General Instructions

Firms interested in providing services to BCWD shall submit electronic qualifications.  The Brown’s Creek Water-
shed District on or before 3:00 P.M., December 28, 2018, will accept qualification statements.

Submittals should be sent to: Brown’s Creek Watershed District
Attention:  Karen Kill
Karen.kill@mnwcd.org

Qualification statements received after this time will not be considered.  Prospective responders who have any ques-
tions regarding this “Request for Qualifications”, may contact Karen Kill, (651) 330-8220 x26.
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4. Qualification Statement Content

Firms are requested to include in their qualification statement, the following information in the order listed:

a. A brief summary of the firms qualifications.
b. Name and phone number of the person designated to answer questions about the qualification statement.
c. A specific list of the individuals who would be assigned to work and manage BCWD projects, their proposed

responsibilities, technical background, years of experience, and their previous experience in servicing watersheds.
d. Hourly fee schedules by labor category and an estimated monthly blended retainer fee based upon 66 hours of

typical services.
e. Submittals may not exceed 10 pages in length.  Submittals that exceed 10 pages in length may not be consid-

ered.

5. Selection Process

Because the BCWD is charged with managing a DNR Designated Trout Stream and many other unique resources, 
selection will emphasize criteria that indicate a firm’s experience and knowledge of integrated resource management 
approaches to watershed management.

Qualification statements will be evaluated by the Board of Managers and ranked based on the following criteria:

1. Experience with watershed management organizations within the metropolitan area.
2. Experience with innovative and alternative watershed management approaches that integrate water resources

engineering with natural resource management.
3. Engineering design and timely construction management and inspection.
4. Locally based firm with the ability to respond to emergency situations in the watershed or situations that would

require immediate attention.
5. Ability to work with the public, regulatory agencies (including DNR) and other stakeholders and the ability to

communicate effectively with the BCWD Board of Managers, Watershed District Attorney and SWCD staff.
7. Permitting, plan review and environmental assessment experience.
8. Interdisciplinary group of water resources professionals that can provide full range of services to the watershed

(i.e., surface water, ground water, natural resources, water quality, engineering, etc.)
9. The BCWD Board of Managers anticipates making a decision, within 30 days, based upon the submittals.

However, at their discretion, they may choose to conduct interviews after reviewing the proposals.

Dakota County
Notice of Letter for Interest (LOI) for Innovative Solutions that Support Community 
Living

	Notice is hereby given that Dakota County Social Services Department is distributing this Letter of Interest to seek 
information in regards to community services for adults age 55 and older. 

Please note this is not a request for proposal; rather, Dakota County’s interest is to seek information from organiza-
tions that provide services or are interested in supporting older adults to continue to living in their own home or apart-
ment. 

	Dakota County Social Service’s target population for this service is adults 55 and older who require support to con-
tinue living in their own home or apartment but are not eligible for the Elderly Waiver (EW), Alternative Care (AC), or 
Essential Community Supports (ECS) or other Home and Community-Based Services programs, and may be involved in 
other County services such as Adult Protection.

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
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	The Service Concepts Dakota County Social Services is focusing on for the targeted population is Chore Services, 
Respite Services, and/or Innovative Solutions that Support Community Living. 

Dakota County will contract with one or more selected vendors for services for the contract period of July 1, 2019 
through December 31, 2020, with potential for contract extensions following the initial contract term. 

To access the complete LOI online, or to acquire additional information about Dakota County visit our website at
https://www.co.dakota.mn.us/Government/DoingBusiness/BidProposalsInformation/Pages/chore-respite-services.

aspx

Contact:   Sarah Montgomery
Dakota County Social Services

Dakota County Northern Services Center
1 Mendota Road West, Suite 500
West St. Paul, MN 55118-4773

Email:  Sarah.Montgomery@co.dakota.mn.us

On Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at 12:00 p.m. CST Dakota County will be hosting a Responder’s Meeting at the 
Dakota County Northern Service Center, 1 Mendota Road West, Conference Room 501, West St Paul, MN 55118. RSVP 
to:  Sarah.Montgomery@co.dakota.mn.us

Deadline for proposals is 4:00 p.m. CST on Friday, January 11, 2019.  No late proposal will be considered.

Hennepin County Consultant Selection
Advertisement for A/E Services 

Hennepin County, through a staff consultant selection group, is selecting architectural/engineering and/or strategic 
planning firms to work with county staff to create a Downtown Campus Master Plan.

To obtain a Request for Proposal, please access the Hennepin County internet site at www.hennepin.us.   From the 
County home page, search for “DSC” in the search box in the middle of the page.  From the Hennepin County Designer 
Selection Committee page, you may view and print the RFP for your use.  

A letter of interest is not required for RFP noted above.  All proposals received by the deadline noted in the RFP will 
be reviewed by the selection group.  If you experience difficulty locating or downloading the RFP, you may call Adam 
Sobiech, Hennepin County Facility Services, at 612-348-3172.

Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC)
Notice of Call for Bids for 2019 Baggage Claim/Ticket Lobby Operational Improvements 
P1

Airport Location: 	 Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport
Project Name: 	 2019 Baggage Claim/Ticket Lobby Operational Improvements P1
MAC Contract No:	 106-2-860
Bids Close At: 	 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, December 18, 2018

Notice to Contractors: Sealed Bid Proposals for the project listed above will be received by the MAC, a public cor-
poration, at the office thereof located at 6040-28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55450, until the date and hour 
indicated.  This project includes general construction work associated with the central ticket lobby and baggage claim 
areas of Terminal 1-Lindbergh, related to several phases of operational improvements. 

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
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Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC)
Notice of Call for Bids for 2019 Concessions Rebids

Airport Location: Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport
Project Name: 	 2019 Concessions Rebids
MAC Contract 	 No: 106-2-855
Bids Close At: 	 2:00 pm, Tuesday, 18 December 2018

Notice to Contractors: Sealed Bid Proposals for the project listed above will be received by the MAC, a public cor-
poration, at the office thereof located at 6040-28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55450, until the date and hour 
indicated.  This project provides for demolition and general construction and installation of electrical utilities.

Note: You can sign up on our Web site (www.metroairports.org) to receive email notifications of new business op-
portunities or go directly to https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/MNORGMAC/subscriber/topics?gsp-CODE_RED 
and choose this and other topics about which you are interested.

Targeted Group Businesses (TGB): The goal of the MAC for the utilization of Targeted Group Businesses on this 
project is 7%.

Bid Security: Each bid shall be accompanied by a "Bid Security" in the form of a certified check made payable to 
the MAC in the amount of not less than five percent (5%) of the total bid, or a surety bond in the same amount, running 
to the MAC, with the surety company thereon duly authorized to do business in the State of Minnesota. 

Availability of Bidding Documents: Bidding documents are on file for inspection at the office of Alliiance; at the 
Minnesota Builders Exchange; Dodge Data and Analytics; and NAMC-UM Plan Room. Bidders desiring bidding docu-
ments may secure a complete set from: Franz Reprographics; 2781 Freeway Boulevard, Suite 100; Brooklyn Center, MN 
55430; PH:  763.503.3401; FX:  763.503.3409. Make checks payable to: Alliiance. Deposit per set (refundable):  $150. 

Note: You can sign up on our Web site (www.metroairports.org) to receive email notifications of new business op-
portunities or go directly to https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/MNORGMAC/subscriber/topics?gsp-CODE_RED 
and choose this and other topics about which you are interested.

Targeted Group Businesses (TGB): The goal of the MAC for the utilization of Targeted Group Businesses on this 
project is 7%.

Bid Security: Each bid shall be accompanied by a "Bid Security" in the form of a certified check made payable to 
the MAC in the amount of not less than five percent (5%) of the total bid, or a surety bond in the same amount, running 
to the MAC, with the surety company thereon duly authorized to do business in the State of Minnesota. 

Project Labor Agreement: This project is subject to the MAC’s Project Labor Agreement requirements. A copy (or 
sample) of the Project Labor Agreement and Contract Riders are included in the Appendix.

Availability of Bidding Documents: Bidding documents are on file for inspection at the office of Alliiance; at the 
Minnesota Builders Exchange; Dodge Data and Analytics; and NAMC-UM Plan Room. Bidders are also required to pick 
up a complete set, including drawings and specifications, for the 2018 Baggage Handling System (MAC Contract No. 
106-2-854). Bidders desiring bidding documents may secure a complete set from Franz Reprographics; 2781 Freeway
Boulevard, Suite 100; Brooklyn Center, MN 55430; PH: 763.503.3401. Make checks payable to: Alliiance. Deposit per
set (refundable):  $150. Requests for mailing sets will be invoiced for mailing charges. Deposit will be refunded upon
return of bidding documents in good condition within 10 days of opening of bids.

MAC Internet Access of Additional Information: A comprehensive Notice of Call for Bids for this project will be 
available on November 13, 2018, at MAC’s web address of  
http://www.metroairports.org/Airport-Authority/Business-Opportunities/Solicitations.aspx (construction bids).

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
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Requests for mailing sets will be invoiced for mailing charges. Deposit will be refunded upon return of bidding docu-
ments in good condition within 10 days of opening of bids.

MAC Internet Access of Additional Information: A comprehensive Notice of Call for Bids for this project will be 
available on November 26, 2018, at MAC’s web address of  
http://www.metroairports.org/Airport-Authority/Business-Opportunities/Solicitations.aspx (construction bids).

Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC)
Notice of Call for 2019 Valet Parking Lobby / 2019 Restroom Upgrade

Airport Location:	 Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport
Project Name: 2019 Valet Parking Lobby / 2019 Restroom Upgrade
MAC Contract No:	 106-2-880 / 106-2-881
Bids Close At: 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, December 18, 2018

Notice to Contractors: Sealed Bid Proposals for the project listed above will be received by the MAC, a public cor-
poration, at the office thereof located at 6040-28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55450, until the date and hour 
indicated.  This project provides for demolition and renovation work.

Note: You can sign up on our Web site (www.metroairports.org) to receive email notifications of new business op-
portunities or go directly to https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/MNORGMAC/subscriber/topics?gsp-CODE_RED 
and choose this and other topics about which you are interested.

Targeted Group Businesses (TGB): The goal of the MAC for the utilization of Targeted Group Businesses on this 
project is 6%.

Bid Security: Each bid shall be accompanied by a "Bid Security" in the form of a certified check made payable to 
the MAC in the amount of not less than five percent (5%) of the total bid, or a surety bond in the same amount, running 
to the MAC, with the surety company thereon duly authorized to do business in the State of Minnesota. 

Availability of Bidding Documents: Bidding documents are on file for inspection at the office of Alliiance; at the 
Minnesota Builders Exchange; Dodge Data and Analytics; and NAMC-UM Plan Room. Bidders desiring bidding docu-
ments may secure a complete set from: Franz Reprographics; 2781 Freeway Boulevard, Suite 100; Brooklyn Center, MN 
55430; PH: 763.503.3401. Make checks payable to: Alliiance. Deposit per set (refundable):  $150. Requests for mailing 
sets will be invoiced for mailing charges. Deposit will be refunded upon return of bidding documents in good condition 
within 10 days of opening of bids.

MAC Internet Access of Additional Information: A comprehensive Notice of Call for Bids for this project will be 
available on November 19, 2018, at MAC’s web address of  
http://www.metroairports.org/Airport-Authority/Business-Opportunities/Solicitations.aspx (construction bids).

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
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Several convenient ways to order:
• Retail store Open 8 a.m. - 3 p.m. Monday - Friday, 660 Olive Street, St. Paul
• Phone (credit cards): 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday - Friday, 651.297.3000 (Twin Cities) or 1.800.657.3757 (nation-

wide toll-free)
• On-line orders:  www.mnbookstore.com
• Minnesota Relay Service: 711
• Fax (credit cards):  651.215.5733 (fax line available 24 hours)
• Mail orders:  Orders can be sent to Minnesota’s Bookstore,  660 Olive Street, St. Paul, MN  55155
Minnesota’s Bookstore accepts VISA, MasterCard, American Express & Discover for all purchases.
PREPAYMENT REQUIRED.  Prices and availability subject to change.  Fax and phone orders require credit 

card.  
Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery.  For mail orders, complete order blank and send to address above.  
Enclose payment - for security reasons, we do not recommend mailing credit card information.  
Please allow 2-3 weeks for delivery.   
Please make checks payable to "Minnesota's Bookstore."  
A $20.00 fee will be charged for returned checks.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE STATE REGISTER! 
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Minnesota Plumbing Board 
 
DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or 
More Persons Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for 
Hearing Are Received; Revisor’s ID Number R04365 
 

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, 
Chapter 4716 
 

Introduction. The Minnesota Plumbing Board intends to adopt rules without a public 
hearing following the procedures in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, 
Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written 
request for a hearing on the rules by 4:30 p.m. on December 28, 2018, the Board will hold a 
public hearing in Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road 
North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, starting at 9:30 a.m. on Friday, January 11, 2019. To find out 
whether the Board will adopt the rules without a hearing or if it will hold the hearing, you should 
contact the agency contact person after December 28, 2018, and before January 11, 2019. 
 

Agency Contact Person. Submit any comments or questions on the rules or written 
requests for a public hearing to the agency contact person. The agency contact person is: 
Suzanne Todnem at Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. 
Paul, MN 55155, (651) 284-5006 dli.rules@state.mn.us.  
 

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules are about the registration 
of unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed 
individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of both plumbers and water 
conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered 
unlicensed individuals.  

 
The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.435, 

326B.47, and 326B.555. A copy of the proposed rules is available on the Board’s website at 
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716. 
A free copy of the rules is available upon request from the agency contact person listed above. 
 

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 2018, to submit written 
comment in support of or in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. 
Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the due date. 
Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules 
addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. You are encouraged to 
propose any change that you desire. Any comments that you have about the legality of the 
proposed rules must also be made during this comment period. 
 

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that 
the Board hold a hearing on the rules. You must make your request for a public hearing in 
writing, which the agency contact person must receive by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 
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2018. You must include your name and address in your written request. In addition, you must 
identify the portion of the proposed rules that you object to or state that you oppose the entire set 
of rules. Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not valid and the agency 
cannot count it when determining whether it must hold a public hearing. You are also 
encouraged to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed 
rules. 
 

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a 
hearing, the Board will hold a public hearing unless a sufficient number of persons withdraw 
their requests in writing. If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number 
below 25, the agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, 
explain the actions the agency took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on 
this action. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. 

 
Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this information can be made 

available in an alternative format, such as large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or 
if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please contact the agency contact 
person at the address or telephone number listed above. 
 

Modifications. The Board might modify the proposed rules, either as a result of public 
comment or as a result of the rule hearing process. It must support modifications by data and 
views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing. The adopted rules may not be 
substantially different than these proposed rules unless the Board follows the procedure under 
Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, the Board 
encourages you to participate in the rulemaking process. 
 

Cancellation of Hearing. The Board will cancel the hearing scheduled for January 11, 
2019, if the agency does not receive requests for a hearing from 25 or more persons. If you 
requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the scheduled hearing whether the 
hearing will be held. You may also call the agency contact person at 651.284.5006 after 
December 28, 2018, to find out whether the hearing will be held. You may check for whether the 
hearing will be held by going on-line at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716.  
 

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit valid written requests for a public 
hearing on the rules, the Board will hold a hearing following the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The Board will hold the hearing on the date and at the time 
and place listed above. The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard. 
Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman is assigned to conduct the hearing. Judge Lipman can 
be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert Street, P.O. Box 64620, 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, telephone (651) 361-7875, and fax (651) 539-0310. 
 

Hearing Procedure. If the Board holds a hearing, you and all interested or affected 
persons, including representatives of associations or other interested groups, will have an 
opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing 
at any time before the hearing record closes. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed 
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rules. You may also submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in 
the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends. At the hearing the 
Administrative Law Judge may order that this five-day comment period is extended for a longer 
period but not more than 20 calendar days. Following the comment period, there is a five-
working-day rebuttal period when the agency and any interested person may respond in writing 
to any new information submitted. No one may submit new evidence during the five-day rebuttal 
period. The Office of Administrative Hearings must receive all comments and responses 
submitted to the Administrative Law Judge via the Office of Administrative Hearings 
Rulemaking e-comments website at https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions no 
later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses received will be available for 
review at the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry or on the agency’s website at 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-
4716. This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 
to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. You may direct questions about 
the procedure to the Administrative Law Judge. 

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the 
Administrative Law Judge before the hearing or during the comment or rebuttal period also 
submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address stated 
above. 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. The statement of need and reasonableness 
summarizes the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be 
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. It is 
now available from the agency contact person. You may review or obtain copies for the cost of 
reproduction by contacting the agency contact person. Or, you may access a free copy on the 
agency’s website at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-
minnesota-rules-4716. 

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to 
register with the State Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Ask any questions about 
this requirement of the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board at: Suite #190, 
Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651) 539-1180 or 
1-800-657-3889.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the 
rules after the end of the comment period. The Board will submit the rules and supporting 
documents to the Office of Administrative Hearings for a legal review. You may ask to be 
notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office. If you want either to receive notice of 
this, to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or to register with the agency to receive notice of 
future rule proceedings, submit your request to the agency contact person listed above. 

Adoption Procedure after a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing 
record, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a report on the proposed rules. You may ask to 
be notified of the date that the Administrative Law Judge’s report will become available, and can 
make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge. You may also ask 
to be notified of the date that the agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the 
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Secretary of State by requesting this at the hearing or by writing to the agency contact person 
stated above. 

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed 
above. 

________________________________________ 
November 13, 2018 Richard Jacobs 

Chair, Minnesota Plumbing Board  
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1.1 Plumbing Board​

1.2 Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Plumbing Licensing​

1.3 4716.0010 DEFINITIONS.​

1.4 [For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.]​

1.5 Subp. 6. Registered unlicensed plumber. "Registered unlicensed plumber" means​

1.6 an individual who performs plumbing work for a contractor or employer, does not hold any​

1.7 class of plumber license, is not a plumber's apprentice as described in Minnesota Statutes,​

1.8 section 326B.42, subdivision 6, and is registered with the commissioner under part​

1.9 4716.0050.​

1.10 4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS.​

1.11 Subpart 1. Examinations. An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted​

1.12 journeyworker or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination​

1.13 given by the commissioner. Examinations for journeyworker and master plumber licenses​

1.14 shall be held in March and September of each year. Applications for the March examination​

1.15 must be filed not later than February 15 and for the September examination not later than​

1.16 August 15.​

1.17 A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:​

1.18 (1) a current Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and five years of​

1.19 practical plumbing experience at least one year of practical plumbing experience as a licensed​

1.20 journeyworker plumber as described in subpart 2;​

1.21 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

1.22 B. An applicant for the journeyworker examination:​

1.23 (1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota as described​

1.24 in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.42, subdivision 6, or must be a registered unlicensed​

1​4716.0020​
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2.1 plumber as described in part 4716.0010, subpart 6, and must have at least four years of​

2.2 recorded practical plumbing experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F;​

2.3 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

2.4 Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience​

2.5 described in subpart 1.​

2.6 [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]​

2.7 E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyworker plumber or a licensed​

2.8 restricted master plumber, subitems (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2.9 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

2.10 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

2.11 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

2.12 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

2.13 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

2.14 work and corresponding number of hours:​

2.15 (a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours;​

2.16 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and​

2.17 (c) fixture installation, 500 hours.​

2.18 [For text of subitem (2), see M.R.]​

2.19 (3) The applicant must have completed the entire two years of practical​

2.20 plumbing experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination.​

2.21 F. If the applicant is a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber, subitems​

2.22 (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2​4716.0020​
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3.1 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

3.2 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

3.3 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

3.4 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

3.5 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

3.6 work and corresponding number of hours:​

3.7 (a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours;​

3.8 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and​

3.9 (c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours.​

3.10 (2) Except for experience qualifying under subitem (3), The applicant must​

3.11 have been a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber at all times while obtaining​

3.12 the practical plumbing experience. or the applicant must have obtained the practical plumbing​

3.13 experience in one of the following ways:​

3.14 (a) during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies​

3.15 the experience;​

3.16 (b) as part of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner,​

3.17 and an authorized representative of the plumbing educational institution certifies the​

3.18 experience; or​

3.19 (c) as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is​

3.20 verified by a state agency that regulates plumbing licensing in that state or by a federal​

3.21 agency.​

3.22 (3) Up to 24 months of practical plumbing experience gained before the​

3.23 effective date of the applicant's initial registration as a plumber's apprentice will be credited​

3.24 if the applicant gained some of the experience during the 12-month period immediately​

3.25 prior to the effective date of the applicant's initial registration and if:​

3​4716.0020​
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4.1 (a) the applicant gained the plumbing experience during military service,​

4.2 and the applicant's military officer certifies the experience;​

4.3 (b) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as part of a plumbing​

4.4 education class approved by the commissioner, and an authorized representative of the​

4.5 educational institution certifies the experience; or​

4.6 (c) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as a plumber's​

4.7 apprentice in another state where the experience is verified by a state agency in that state​

4.8 or by a federal agency.​

4.9 G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (3) (2), units (a) to (c), all practical​

4.10 plumbing experience must be certified by the licensed master plumber or plumbing contractor​

4.11 who is responsible for the work performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the​

4.12 restricted master plumber's own experience. The employer of a journeyworker plumber,​

4.13 restricted master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber, or plumber's apprentice​

4.14 registered unlicensed plumber is responsible for:​

4.15 [For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]​

4.16 4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES.​

4.17 Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration. Initial and renewal renewed journeyworker​

4.18 plumber's licenses and renewed restricted journeyworker plumber's licenses expire on​

4.19 December 31 of each odd-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Initial and renewed​

4.20 master plumber's licenses, and renewal restricted journeyworker and renewed restricted​

4.21 master plumber's licenses, shall be issued for the calendar year for which application is​

4.22 made and shall expire on December 31 of such year each even-numbered year after issuance​

4.23 or renewal. Any journeyworker plumber, master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber,​

4.24 or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal application after December 31 shall​

4.25 not work as a plumber until the person has submitted an application, fee, and penalty fee.​

4​4716.0040​
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5.1 Any licensed journeyworker or master plumber who does not renew the license within two​

5.2 years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person must retake and pass the examination​

5.3 before a new license will be issued. Any licensed restricted journeyworker or restricted​

5.4 master plumber who does not renew the license within 12 months two years of the license​

5.5 expiration will permanently forfeit the restricted plumber license.​

5.6 Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be submitted to​

5.7 the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 of​

5.8 the year preceding the year for in which application is made the license expires. The​

5.9 application must be accompanied by the required fee. Journeyworker and master plumbers​

5.10 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within​

5.11 two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay all past due renewal​

5.12 fees plus the required late fee. Restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers​

5.13 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within 12​

5.14 months two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay the past due​

5.15 renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

5.16 4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE REGISTERED​
5.17 UNLICENSED PLUMBER.​

5.18 Subpart 1. Scope. Subpart 2 shall does not apply to a registered plumber's apprentices​

5.19 apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1) paragraph​

5.20 (a).​

5.21 Subp. 2. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a plumber's apprentice​

5.22 registered unlicensed plumber until that person has submitted an application and fee for​

5.23 registration to the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for​

5.24 the period from July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial​

5.25 and renewal registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each​

5.26 registration period on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by​

5​4716.0050​
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6.1 the required fee. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber who submits a​

6.2 registration application after July 1 in any year must pay the past due renewal fee plus the​

6.3 required late fee.​

6.4 A. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber must be at least 18 years​

6.5 of age or be a high school graduate, except that an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber​

6.6 employed and supervised by the apprentice's registered unlicensed plumber's parent must​

6.7 be at least 16 years of age.​

6.8 B. At the time of registration, an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber must​

6.9 provide a name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and information about​

6.10 education and practical plumbing experience.​

6.11 4716.0091 DEFINITIONS.​

6.12 Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 4716.0090 to 4716.0092 have the meanings​

6.13 given them in this part, UPC sections 201.0 to 228.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

6.14 4714.0050, and Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50.​

6.15 Subp. 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner. "Registered unlicensed water​

6.16 conditioner" means an individual who performs water conditioning work for a contractor​

6.17 or employer, does not hold any class of water conditioning license, and is registered with​

6.18 the commissioner under part 4716.0093.​

6.19 4716.0092 LICENSURE.​

6.20 Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning​

6.21 contractor license must designate a water conditioning responsible licensed master or master​

6.22 plumber, licensed by the commissioner, as the individual responsible for the water​

6.23 conditioning contractor's compliance with this part, chapter 4714, Minnesota Statutes,​

6.24 sections 326B.50 to 326B.59, and all orders issued under Minnesota Statutes, section​

6.25 326B.082 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible water​
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7.1 conditioning licensed master or master plumber must give a minimum 15-day notice to the​

7.2 water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the responsible water​

7.3 conditioning licensed master or master plumber for the contractor. The contractor and​

7.4 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber must immediately notify​

7.5 the department upon the termination or separation of the contractor's responsible water​

7.6 conditioning licensed master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall​

7.7 have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous responsible water conditioning​

7.8 licensed master or master plumber to employ another responsible water conditioning licensed​

7.9 master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written notification​

7.10 to the department that it has designated a different water conditioning responsible licensed​

7.11 master or master plumber as the individual responsible for the contractor's compliance with​

7.12 this part, chapter 4714, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. If the water​

7.13 conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible water conditioning​

7.14 licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning contractor's license is invalid​

7.15 and the contractor shall cease and desist from performing any water conditioning work and​

7.16 return the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement​

7.17 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning​

7.18 contractor may request reinstatement of the terminated license under Minnesota Statutes,​

7.19 section 326B.096.​

7.20 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​

7.21 Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning​

7.22 journeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner.​

7.23 An applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker examination must have been a​

7.24 registered unlicensed water conditioner at all times while obtaining at least six months of​

7.25 practical experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitem (2), except as permitted in subpart​

7.26 4, item A, subitem (4). The applicant is responsible for verifying practical experience.​
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8.1 Subp. 4. Experience. For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2​

8.2 and 3, the following requirements apply.​

8.3 [For text of items A to C, see M.R.]​

8.4 D. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner:​

8.5 (1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner​

8.6 at all times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience, except as allowed​

8.7 under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, subdivision 2; and​

8.8 (2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed​

8.9 water conditioning master who is responsible for the work performed. Practical water​

8.10 conditioning experience includes installation, servicing, and training hours. The commissioner​

8.11 may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to​

8.12 evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy​

8.13 and acceptability of an applicant's experience.​

8.14 E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed​

8.15 water conditioner is responsible for:​

8.16 (1) recording the practical water conditioning experience worked by each​

8.17 employee; and​

8.18 (2) maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience for at​

8.19 least six years after the employee's last recorded experience.​

8.20 [For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]​

8.21 4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION.​

8.22 Subpart 1. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a registered unlicensed​

8.23 water conditioner until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to​

8.24 the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from​

8​4716.0093​

REVISOR SS/EP RD4365​08/29/18  ​

R-04365    279



9.1 July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal​

9.2 registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period​

9.3 on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A​

9.4 registered unlicensed water conditioner who submits a registration application after July 1​

9.5 in any year must pay the renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

9.6 A. A registered unlicensed water conditioner must be at least 18 years of age or​

9.7 a high school graduate, except that a registered unlicensed water conditioner employed and​

9.8 supervised by the registered unlicensed water conditioner's parent must be at least 16 years​

9.9 of age.​

9.10 B. An applicant for registration under this part must provide a name, address, date​

9.11 of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and practical water​

9.12 conditioning experience on a form provided by the commissioner.​

9.13 4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS.​

9.14 Subpart 1. Continuing education; content.​

9.15 A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

9.16 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain 16 hours of continuing​

9.17 education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

9.18 (1) master plumber;​

9.19 (2) journeyworker plumber; and​

9.20 (3) restricted plumber.​

9.21 At least 12 eight hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, and at least four​

9.22 hours of instruction must pertain to the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

9.23 technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, this chapter, the Minnesota​

9.24 State Building Code, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.49 326B.59.​
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10.1 Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must not exceed four hours​

10.2 during the renewal period comply with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.3 B. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.4 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain four hours of​

10.5 continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

10.6 (1) water conditioning master; and​

10.7 (2) water conditioning journeyworker.​

10.8 At least two hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remainder must​

10.9 pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water conditioning installation and​

10.10 servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. Continuing​

10.11 education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply with Minnesota Statutes,​

10.12 sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.13 C. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.14 individuals who hold the following registration types are required to obtain continuing​

10.15 education instruction during the registration period before the registration can be renewed:​

10.16 (1) registered unlicensed plumbers; and​

10.17 (2) registered unlicensed water conditioners.​

10.18 The registered unlicensed plumber must obtain at least two hours of continuing education​

10.19 instruction that must pertain to the Plumbing Code.​

10.20 The registered unlicensed water conditioner must obtain at least two hours of continuing​

10.21 education instruction. At least one hour of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

10.22 and the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water​

10.23 conditioning installation and servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50​
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11.1 to 326B.59. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply​

11.2 with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

11.3 C D. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

11.4 326B, an applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain​

11.5 four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the​

11.6 certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical​

11.7 topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems, this chapter,​

11.8 NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438.​

11.9 D E. In addition to satisfying the requirements of part 4716.0097 and Minnesota​

11.10 Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following certifications are required to​

11.11 obtain the following continuing education during the certification period before the certificate​

11.12 may be renewed:​

11.13 (1) a backflow prevention rebuilder shall meet the minimum requirements​

11.14 to recertify in ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130; and​

11.15 (2) a backflow prevention tester shall meet the minimum requirements to​

11.16 recertify in ASSE Standard 5110.​

11.17 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​
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From: Todnem, Suzanne (DLI)
To: Todnem, Suzanne (DLI)
Bcc:

Morris, Susan (Co-Isanti);

"
Subject: Plumbing Board rulemaking notice, chapter 4716
Date: Monday, November 26, 2018 9:59:00 AM
Attachments: image001.png

You are receiving this email because under the Minnesota Administrative Procedures Act, each
Minnesota agency must make reasonable efforts to notify persons or classes of persons who may be
significantly affected by the rule being proposed. The Minnesota Plumbing Board has identified you
as a person or organization who may be affected by the proposed rule. 

The Minnesota Plumbing Board intends to adopt permanent rules governing Plumber Licensing and
Apprenticeship Registration, Minnesota Rules, chapter 4716. The Dual Notice: Notice of Intent to
Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Requests a Hearing, and Notice of
Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing are Received, is published in the November 26, 2018,
edition of the State Register. The Dual Notice provides full details about the hearing and cancelation
of hearing. Links to the Dual Notice, proposed rules and the Statement of Need and Reasonableness
are available at: https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-
minnesota-rules-4716 along with other information on the status of the rulemaking proceeding. 

The comment period for this rulemaking ends at 4:30 p.m. on December 28, 2018.

Suzanne Todnem
General Counsel| Office of General Counsel

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: (651) 284-5851 | Web: www.dli.mn.gov
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From: RULES, DLI (DLI) on behalf of DLIRULES (DLI)
To: "Julie Ring"
Subject: Plumbing Board rulemaking notice, chapter 4716
Date: Monday, November 26, 2018 10:14:00 AM
Attachments: image001.png

You are receiving this email because under the Minnesota Administrative Procedures Act, each
Minnesota agency must make reasonable efforts to notify persons or classes of persons who may be
significantly affected by the rule being proposed. The Minnesota Plumbing Board has identified you
as a person or organization who may be affected by the proposed rule. 

The Minnesota Plumbing Board intends to adopt permanent rules governing Plumber Licensing and
Apprenticeship Registration, Minnesota Rules, chapter 4716. The Dual Notice: Notice of Intent to
Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Requests a Hearing, and Notice of
Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing are Received, is published in the November 26, 2018,
edition of the State Register. The Dual Notice provides full details about the hearing and cancelation
of hearing. Links to the Dual Notice, proposed rules and the Statement of Need and Reasonableness
are available at: https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-
minnesota-rules-4716 along with other information on the status of the rulemaking proceeding. 

The comment period for this rulemaking ends at 4:30 p.m. on December 28, 2018.

 
 
Suzanne Todnem
General Counsel| Office of General Counsel
 
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: (651) 284-5851 | Web: www.dli.mn.gov
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1 
R-04365 Dual Notice 

Minnesota Plumbing Board 
 
DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or 
More Persons Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for 
Hearing Are Received; Revisor’s ID Number R04365 
 

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, 
Chapter 4716 
 

Introduction. The Minnesota Plumbing Board intends to adopt rules without a public 
hearing following the procedures in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, 
Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written 
request for a hearing on the rules by 4:30 p.m. on December 28, 2018, the Board will hold a 
public hearing in Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road 
North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, starting at 9:30 a.m. on Friday, January 11, 2019. To find out 
whether the Board will adopt the rules without a hearing or if it will hold the hearing, you should 
contact the agency contact person after December 28, 2018, and before January 11, 2019. 
 

Agency Contact Person. Submit any comments or questions on the rules or written 
requests for a public hearing to the agency contact person. The agency contact person is: 
Suzanne Todnem at Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. 
Paul, MN 55155, (651) 284-5006 dli.rules@state.mn.us.  
 

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules are about the registration 
of unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed 
individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of both plumbers and water 
conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered 
unlicensed individuals.  

 
The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.435, 

326B.47, and 326B.555. A copy of the proposed rules is available on the Board’s website at 
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716. 
A free copy of the rules is available upon request from the agency contact person listed above. 
 

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 2018, to submit written 
comment in support of or in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. 
Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the due date. 
Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules 
addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. You are encouraged to 
propose any change that you desire. Any comments that you have about the legality of the 
proposed rules must also be made during this comment period. 
 

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that 
the Board hold a hearing on the rules. You must make your request for a public hearing in 
writing, which the agency contact person must receive by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 

R-04365    292

mailto:dli.rules@state.mn.us
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716


2 
R-04365 Dual Notice 

2018. You must include your name and address in your written request. In addition, you must 
identify the portion of the proposed rules that you object to or state that you oppose the entire set 
of rules. Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not valid and the agency 
cannot count it when determining whether it must hold a public hearing. You are also 
encouraged to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed 
rules. 
 

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a 
hearing, the Board will hold a public hearing unless a sufficient number of persons withdraw 
their requests in writing. If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number 
below 25, the agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, 
explain the actions the agency took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on 
this action. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. 

 
Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this information can be made 

available in an alternative format, such as large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or 
if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please contact the agency contact 
person at the address or telephone number listed above. 
 

Modifications. The Board might modify the proposed rules, either as a result of public 
comment or as a result of the rule hearing process. It must support modifications by data and 
views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing. The adopted rules may not be 
substantially different than these proposed rules unless the Board follows the procedure under 
Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, the Board 
encourages you to participate in the rulemaking process. 
 

Cancellation of Hearing. The Board will cancel the hearing scheduled for January 11, 
2019, if the agency does not receive requests for a hearing from 25 or more persons. If you 
requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the scheduled hearing whether the 
hearing will be held. You may also call the agency contact person at 651.284.5006 after 
December 28, 2018, to find out whether the hearing will be held. You may check for whether the 
hearing will be held by going on-line at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716.  
 

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit valid written requests for a public 
hearing on the rules, the Board will hold a hearing following the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The Board will hold the hearing on the date and at the time 
and place listed above. The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard. 
Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman is assigned to conduct the hearing. Judge Lipman can 
be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert Street, P.O. Box 64620, 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, telephone (651) 361-7875, and fax (651) 539-0310. 
 

Hearing Procedure. If the Board holds a hearing, you and all interested or affected 
persons, including representatives of associations or other interested groups, will have an 
opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing 
at any time before the hearing record closes. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed 
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rules. You may also submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in 
the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends. At the hearing the 
Administrative Law Judge may order that this five-day comment period is extended for a longer 
period but not more than 20 calendar days. Following the comment period, there is a five-
working-day rebuttal period when the agency and any interested person may respond in writing 
to any new information submitted. No one may submit new evidence during the five-day rebuttal 
period. The Office of Administrative Hearings must receive all comments and responses 
submitted to the Administrative Law Judge via the Office of Administrative Hearings 
Rulemaking e-comments website at https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions no 
later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses received will be available for 
review at the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry or on the agency’s website at 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-
4716. This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 
to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. You may direct questions about 
the procedure to the Administrative Law Judge. 

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the 
Administrative Law Judge before the hearing or during the comment or rebuttal period also 
submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address stated 
above. 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. The statement of need and reasonableness 
summarizes the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be 
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. It is 
now available from the agency contact person. You may review or obtain copies for the cost of 
reproduction by contacting the agency contact person. Or, you may access a free copy on the 
agency’s website at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-
minnesota-rules-4716. 

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to 
register with the State Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Ask any questions about 
this requirement of the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board at: Suite #190, 
Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651) 539-1180 or 
1-800-657-3889.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the 
rules after the end of the comment period. The Board will submit the rules and supporting 
documents to the Office of Administrative Hearings for a legal review. You may ask to be 
notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office. If you want either to receive notice of 
this, to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or to register with the agency to receive notice of 
future rule proceedings, submit your request to the agency contact person listed above. 

Adoption Procedure after a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing 
record, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a report on the proposed rules. You may ask to 
be notified of the date that the Administrative Law Judge’s report will become available, and can 
make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge. You may also ask 
to be notified of the date that the agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the 
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Secretary of State by requesting this at the hearing or by writing to the agency contact person 
stated above. 

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed 
above. 

________________________________________ 
November 13, 2018 Richard Jacobs 

Chair, Minnesota Plumbing Board  
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1.1 Plumbing Board​

1.2 Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Plumbing Licensing​

1.3 4716.0010 DEFINITIONS.​

1.4 [For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.]​

1.5 Subp. 6. Registered unlicensed plumber. "Registered unlicensed plumber" means​

1.6 an individual who performs plumbing work for a contractor or employer, does not hold any​

1.7 class of plumber license, is not a plumber's apprentice as described in Minnesota Statutes,​

1.8 section 326B.42, subdivision 6, and is registered with the commissioner under part​

1.9 4716.0050.​

1.10 4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS.​

1.11 Subpart 1. Examinations. An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted​

1.12 journeyworker or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination​

1.13 given by the commissioner. Examinations for journeyworker and master plumber licenses​

1.14 shall be held in March and September of each year. Applications for the March examination​

1.15 must be filed not later than February 15 and for the September examination not later than​

1.16 August 15.​

1.17 A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:​

1.18 (1) a current Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and five years of​

1.19 practical plumbing experience at least one year of practical plumbing experience as a licensed​

1.20 journeyworker plumber as described in subpart 2;​

1.21 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

1.22 B. An applicant for the journeyworker examination:​

1.23 (1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota as described​

1.24 in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.42, subdivision 6, or must be a registered unlicensed​

1​4716.0020​
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2.1 plumber as described in part 4716.0010, subpart 6, and must have at least four years of​

2.2 recorded practical plumbing experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F;​

2.3 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

2.4 Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience​

2.5 described in subpart 1.​

2.6 [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]​

2.7 E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyworker plumber or a licensed​

2.8 restricted master plumber, subitems (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2.9 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

2.10 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

2.11 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

2.12 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

2.13 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

2.14 work and corresponding number of hours:​

2.15 (a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours;​

2.16 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and​

2.17 (c) fixture installation, 500 hours.​

2.18 [For text of subitem (2), see M.R.]​

2.19 (3) The applicant must have completed the entire two years of practical​

2.20 plumbing experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination.​

2.21 F. If the applicant is a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber, subitems​

2.22 (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2​4716.0020​
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3.1 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

3.2 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

3.3 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

3.4 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

3.5 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

3.6 work and corresponding number of hours:​

3.7 (a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours;​

3.8 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and​

3.9 (c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours.​

3.10 (2) Except for experience qualifying under subitem (3), The applicant must​

3.11 have been a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber at all times while obtaining​

3.12 the practical plumbing experience. or the applicant must have obtained the practical plumbing​

3.13 experience in one of the following ways:​

3.14 (a) during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies​

3.15 the experience;​

3.16 (b) as part of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner,​

3.17 and an authorized representative of the plumbing educational institution certifies the​

3.18 experience; or​

3.19 (c) as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is​

3.20 verified by a state agency that regulates plumbing licensing in that state or by a federal​

3.21 agency.​

3.22 (3) Up to 24 months of practical plumbing experience gained before the​

3.23 effective date of the applicant's initial registration as a plumber's apprentice will be credited​

3.24 if the applicant gained some of the experience during the 12-month period immediately​

3.25 prior to the effective date of the applicant's initial registration and if:​

3​4716.0020​
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4.1 (a) the applicant gained the plumbing experience during military service,​

4.2 and the applicant's military officer certifies the experience;​

4.3 (b) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as part of a plumbing​

4.4 education class approved by the commissioner, and an authorized representative of the​

4.5 educational institution certifies the experience; or​

4.6 (c) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as a plumber's​

4.7 apprentice in another state where the experience is verified by a state agency in that state​

4.8 or by a federal agency.​

4.9 G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (3) (2), units (a) to (c), all practical​

4.10 plumbing experience must be certified by the licensed master plumber or plumbing contractor​

4.11 who is responsible for the work performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the​

4.12 restricted master plumber's own experience. The employer of a journeyworker plumber,​

4.13 restricted master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber, or plumber's apprentice​

4.14 registered unlicensed plumber is responsible for:​

4.15 [For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]​

4.16 4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES.​

4.17 Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration. Initial and renewal renewed journeyworker​

4.18 plumber's licenses and renewed restricted journeyworker plumber's licenses expire on​

4.19 December 31 of each odd-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Initial and renewed​

4.20 master plumber's licenses, and renewal restricted journeyworker and renewed restricted​

4.21 master plumber's licenses, shall be issued for the calendar year for which application is​

4.22 made and shall expire on December 31 of such year each even-numbered year after issuance​

4.23 or renewal. Any journeyworker plumber, master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber,​

4.24 or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal application after December 31 shall​

4.25 not work as a plumber until the person has submitted an application, fee, and penalty fee.​

4​4716.0040​
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5.1 Any licensed journeyworker or master plumber who does not renew the license within two​

5.2 years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person must retake and pass the examination​

5.3 before a new license will be issued. Any licensed restricted journeyworker or restricted​

5.4 master plumber who does not renew the license within 12 months two years of the license​

5.5 expiration will permanently forfeit the restricted plumber license.​

5.6 Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be submitted to​

5.7 the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 of​

5.8 the year preceding the year for in which application is made the license expires. The​

5.9 application must be accompanied by the required fee. Journeyworker and master plumbers​

5.10 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within​

5.11 two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay all past due renewal​

5.12 fees plus the required late fee. Restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers​

5.13 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within 12​

5.14 months two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay the past due​

5.15 renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

5.16 4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE REGISTERED​
5.17 UNLICENSED PLUMBER.​

5.18 Subpart 1. Scope. Subpart 2 shall does not apply to a registered plumber's apprentices​

5.19 apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1) paragraph​

5.20 (a).​

5.21 Subp. 2. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a plumber's apprentice​

5.22 registered unlicensed plumber until that person has submitted an application and fee for​

5.23 registration to the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for​

5.24 the period from July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial​

5.25 and renewal registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each​

5.26 registration period on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by​

5​4716.0050​
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6.1 the required fee. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber who submits a​

6.2 registration application after July 1 in any year must pay the past due renewal fee plus the​

6.3 required late fee.​

6.4 A. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber must be at least 18 years​

6.5 of age or be a high school graduate, except that an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber​

6.6 employed and supervised by the apprentice's registered unlicensed plumber's parent must​

6.7 be at least 16 years of age.​

6.8 B. At the time of registration, an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber must​

6.9 provide a name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and information about​

6.10 education and practical plumbing experience.​

6.11 4716.0091 DEFINITIONS.​

6.12 Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 4716.0090 to 4716.0092 have the meanings​

6.13 given them in this part, UPC sections 201.0 to 228.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

6.14 4714.0050, and Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50.​

6.15 Subp. 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner. "Registered unlicensed water​

6.16 conditioner" means an individual who performs water conditioning work for a contractor​

6.17 or employer, does not hold any class of water conditioning license, and is registered with​

6.18 the commissioner under part 4716.0093.​

6.19 4716.0092 LICENSURE.​

6.20 Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning​

6.21 contractor license must designate a water conditioning responsible licensed master or master​

6.22 plumber, licensed by the commissioner, as the individual responsible for the water​

6.23 conditioning contractor's compliance with this part, chapter 4714, Minnesota Statutes,​

6.24 sections 326B.50 to 326B.59, and all orders issued under Minnesota Statutes, section​

6.25 326B.082 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible water​

6​4716.0092​

REVISOR SS/EP RD4365​08/29/18  ​

R-04365    301



7.1 conditioning licensed master or master plumber must give a minimum 15-day notice to the​

7.2 water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the responsible water​

7.3 conditioning licensed master or master plumber for the contractor. The contractor and​

7.4 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber must immediately notify​

7.5 the department upon the termination or separation of the contractor's responsible water​

7.6 conditioning licensed master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall​

7.7 have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous responsible water conditioning​

7.8 licensed master or master plumber to employ another responsible water conditioning licensed​

7.9 master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written notification​

7.10 to the department that it has designated a different water conditioning responsible licensed​

7.11 master or master plumber as the individual responsible for the contractor's compliance with​

7.12 this part, chapter 4714, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. If the water​

7.13 conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible water conditioning​

7.14 licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning contractor's license is invalid​

7.15 and the contractor shall cease and desist from performing any water conditioning work and​

7.16 return the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement​

7.17 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning​

7.18 contractor may request reinstatement of the terminated license under Minnesota Statutes,​

7.19 section 326B.096.​

7.20 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​

7.21 Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning​

7.22 journeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner.​

7.23 An applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker examination must have been a​

7.24 registered unlicensed water conditioner at all times while obtaining at least six months of​

7.25 practical experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitem (2), except as permitted in subpart​

7.26 4, item A, subitem (4). The applicant is responsible for verifying practical experience.​

7​4716.0092​
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8.1 Subp. 4. Experience. For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2​

8.2 and 3, the following requirements apply.​

8.3 [For text of items A to C, see M.R.]​

8.4 D. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner:​

8.5 (1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner​

8.6 at all times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience, except as allowed​

8.7 under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, subdivision 2; and​

8.8 (2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed​

8.9 water conditioning master who is responsible for the work performed. Practical water​

8.10 conditioning experience includes installation, servicing, and training hours. The commissioner​

8.11 may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to​

8.12 evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy​

8.13 and acceptability of an applicant's experience.​

8.14 E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed​

8.15 water conditioner is responsible for:​

8.16 (1) recording the practical water conditioning experience worked by each​

8.17 employee; and​

8.18 (2) maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience for at​

8.19 least six years after the employee's last recorded experience.​

8.20 [For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]​

8.21 4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION.​

8.22 Subpart 1. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a registered unlicensed​

8.23 water conditioner until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to​

8.24 the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from​

8​4716.0093​
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9.1 July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal​

9.2 registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period​

9.3 on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A​

9.4 registered unlicensed water conditioner who submits a registration application after July 1​

9.5 in any year must pay the renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

9.6 A. A registered unlicensed water conditioner must be at least 18 years of age or​

9.7 a high school graduate, except that a registered unlicensed water conditioner employed and​

9.8 supervised by the registered unlicensed water conditioner's parent must be at least 16 years​

9.9 of age.​

9.10 B. An applicant for registration under this part must provide a name, address, date​

9.11 of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and practical water​

9.12 conditioning experience on a form provided by the commissioner.​

9.13 4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS.​

9.14 Subpart 1. Continuing education; content.​

9.15 A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

9.16 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain 16 hours of continuing​

9.17 education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

9.18 (1) master plumber;​

9.19 (2) journeyworker plumber; and​

9.20 (3) restricted plumber.​

9.21 At least 12 eight hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, and at least four​

9.22 hours of instruction must pertain to the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

9.23 technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, this chapter, the Minnesota​

9.24 State Building Code, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.49 326B.59.​

9​4716.0205​
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10.1 Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must not exceed four hours​

10.2 during the renewal period comply with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.3 B. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.4 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain four hours of​

10.5 continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

10.6 (1) water conditioning master; and​

10.7 (2) water conditioning journeyworker.​

10.8 At least two hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remainder must​

10.9 pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water conditioning installation and​

10.10 servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. Continuing​

10.11 education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply with Minnesota Statutes,​

10.12 sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.13 C. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.14 individuals who hold the following registration types are required to obtain continuing​

10.15 education instruction during the registration period before the registration can be renewed:​

10.16 (1) registered unlicensed plumbers; and​

10.17 (2) registered unlicensed water conditioners.​

10.18 The registered unlicensed plumber must obtain at least two hours of continuing education​

10.19 instruction that must pertain to the Plumbing Code.​

10.20 The registered unlicensed water conditioner must obtain at least two hours of continuing​

10.21 education instruction. At least one hour of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

10.22 and the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water​

10.23 conditioning installation and servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50​

10​4716.0205​
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11.1 to 326B.59. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply​

11.2 with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

11.3 C D. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

11.4 326B, an applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain​

11.5 four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the​

11.6 certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical​

11.7 topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems, this chapter,​

11.8 NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438.​

11.9 D E. In addition to satisfying the requirements of part 4716.0097 and Minnesota​

11.10 Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following certifications are required to​

11.11 obtain the following continuing education during the certification period before the certificate​

11.12 may be renewed:​

11.13 (1) a backflow prevention rebuilder shall meet the minimum requirements​

11.14 to recertify in ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130; and​

11.15 (2) a backflow prevention tester shall meet the minimum requirements to​

11.16 recertify in ASSE Standard 5110.​

11.17 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​
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Minnesota Plumbing Board  

CERTIFICATE OF E-MAILING THE DUAL NOTICE TO THE PLUMBING BOARD 
INTERESTED PARTIES LIST  

Proposed Rules Governing Plumber Licensing and Apprentice Registration, Minnesota 
Rules, chapter 4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365 

I certify that on November 26, 2018, I e-mailed to the Plumbing Board Interested Parties 
list a link to the Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More 
Persons Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing Are 
Received and a link to the rulemaking docket.  

I have attached a copy of the email to this Certificate. 

_________________________________ 
Lyndy Logan 
Executive Assistant  
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From: Logan, Lyndy (DLI)
Cc: Logan, Lyndy (DLI)
Bcc: "

Subject: Plumbing Board rulemaking notice, chapter 4716
Date: Monday, November 26, 2018 10:08:00 AM
Attachments: image003.png

image005.png
image007.png

Dear Plumbing Board members, Interested Parties, and DLI staff:

You are receiving this email because under the Minnesota Administrative Procedures Act, each
Minnesota agency must make reasonable efforts to notify persons or classes of persons who may be
significantly affected by the rule being proposed. The Minnesota Plumbing Board has identified you
as a person or organization who may be affected by the proposed rule. 

The Minnesota Plumbing Board intends to adopt permanent rules governing Plumber Licensing and
Apprenticeship Registration, Minnesota Rules, chapter 4716. The Dual Notice: Notice of Intent to
Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Requests a Hearing, and Notice of
Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing are Received, will be published in the November 26,
2018, edition of the State Register. The Dual Notice provides full details about the hearing and
cancelation of hearing. Links to the Dual Notice, proposed rules and the Statement of Need and
Reasonableness are available at: https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716 along with other information on
the status of the rulemaking proceeding. 

The comment period for this rulemaking ends at 4:30 p.m. on December 28, 2018.

Thank you,

Lyndy Logan
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Minnesota Plumbing Board 

DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or 
More Persons Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for 
Hearing Are Received; Revisor’s ID Number R04365 

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, 
Chapter 4716 

Introduction. The Minnesota Plumbing Board intends to adopt rules without a public 
hearing following the procedures in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, 
Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written 
request for a hearing on the rules by 4:30 p.m. on December 28, 2018, the Board will hold a 
public hearing in Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road 
North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, starting at 9:30 a.m. on Friday, January 11, 2019. To find out 
whether the Board will adopt the rules without a hearing or if it will hold the hearing, you should 
contact the agency contact person after December 28, 2018, and before January 11, 2019. 

Agency Contact Person. Submit any comments or questions on the rules or written 
requests for a public hearing to the agency contact person. The agency contact person is: 
Suzanne Todnem at Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. 
Paul, MN 55155, (651) 284-5006 dli.rules@state.mn.us.  

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules are about the registration 
of unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed 
individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of both plumbers and water 
conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered 
unlicensed individuals.  

The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.435, 
326B.47, and 326B.555. A copy of the proposed rules is available on the Board’s website at 
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716. 
A free copy of the rules is available upon request from the agency contact person listed above. 

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 2018, to submit written 
comment in support of or in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. 
Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the due date. 
Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules 
addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. You are encouraged to 
propose any change that you desire. Any comments that you have about the legality of the 
proposed rules must also be made during this comment period. 

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that 
the Board hold a hearing on the rules. You must make your request for a public hearing in 
writing, which the agency contact person must receive by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 
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2018. You must include your name and address in your written request. In addition, you must 
identify the portion of the proposed rules that you object to or state that you oppose the entire set 
of rules. Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not valid and the agency 
cannot count it when determining whether it must hold a public hearing. You are also 
encouraged to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed 
rules. 

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a 
hearing, the Board will hold a public hearing unless a sufficient number of persons withdraw 
their requests in writing. If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number 
below 25, the agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, 
explain the actions the agency took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on 
this action. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. 

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this information can be made 
available in an alternative format, such as large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or 
if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please contact the agency contact 
person at the address or telephone number listed above. 

Modifications. The Board might modify the proposed rules, either as a result of public 
comment or as a result of the rule hearing process. It must support modifications by data and 
views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing. The adopted rules may not be 
substantially different than these proposed rules unless the Board follows the procedure under 
Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, the Board 
encourages you to participate in the rulemaking process. 

Cancellation of Hearing. The Board will cancel the hearing scheduled for January 11, 
2019, if the agency does not receive requests for a hearing from 25 or more persons. If you 
requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the scheduled hearing whether the 
hearing will be held. You may also call the agency contact person at 651.284.5006 after 
December 28, 2018, to find out whether the hearing will be held. You may check for whether the 
hearing will be held by going on-line at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716.  

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit valid written requests for a public 
hearing on the rules, the Board will hold a hearing following the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The Board will hold the hearing on the date and at the time 
and place listed above. The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard. 
Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman is assigned to conduct the hearing. Judge Lipman can 
be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert Street, P.O. Box 64620, 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, telephone (651) 361-7875, and fax (651) 539-0310. 

Hearing Procedure. If the Board holds a hearing, you and all interested or affected 
persons, including representatives of associations or other interested groups, will have an 
opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing 
at any time before the hearing record closes. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed 
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rules. You may also submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in 
the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends. At the hearing the 
Administrative Law Judge may order that this five-day comment period is extended for a longer 
period but not more than 20 calendar days. Following the comment period, there is a five-
working-day rebuttal period when the agency and any interested person may respond in writing 
to any new information submitted. No one may submit new evidence during the five-day rebuttal 
period. The Office of Administrative Hearings must receive all comments and responses 
submitted to the Administrative Law Judge via the Office of Administrative Hearings 
Rulemaking e-comments website at https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions no 
later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses received will be available for 
review at the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry or on the agency’s website at 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-
4716. This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 
to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. You may direct questions about 
the procedure to the Administrative Law Judge. 

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the 
Administrative Law Judge before the hearing or during the comment or rebuttal period also 
submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address stated 
above. 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. The statement of need and reasonableness 
summarizes the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be 
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. It is 
now available from the agency contact person. You may review or obtain copies for the cost of 
reproduction by contacting the agency contact person. Or, you may access a free copy on the 
agency’s website at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-
minnesota-rules-4716. 

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to 
register with the State Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Ask any questions about 
this requirement of the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board at: Suite #190, 
Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651) 539-1180 or 
1-800-657-3889.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the 
rules after the end of the comment period. The Board will submit the rules and supporting 
documents to the Office of Administrative Hearings for a legal review. You may ask to be 
notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office. If you want either to receive notice of 
this, to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or to register with the agency to receive notice of 
future rule proceedings, submit your request to the agency contact person listed above. 

Adoption Procedure after a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing 
record, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a report on the proposed rules. You may ask to 
be notified of the date that the Administrative Law Judge’s report will become available, and can 
make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge. You may also ask 
to be notified of the date that the agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the 
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Secretary of State by requesting this at the hearing or by writing to the agency contact person 
stated above. 

 
 
Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed 

above. 
 
 

 
      ________________________________________ 
November 13, 2018    Richard Jacobs 

Chair, Minnesota Plumbing Board  
 

R-04365    313



R-04365    314Exhibit I



R-04365    315



R-04365    316



R-04365    317



R-04365    318



R-04365    319



R-04365    320



R-04365    321



R-04365    322



R-04365    323



R-04365    324



R-04365    325



R-04365    326



R-04365    327



R-04365    328



R-04365    329



R-04365    330



R-04365    331



R-04365    332



R-04365    333



R-04365    334



R-04365    335



R-04365    336



R-04365    337



R-04365    338



R-04365    339



R-04365    340



R-04365    341



R-04365    342



Minnesota Plumbing Board 

c/o Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
443 Lafayette Road North 
Saint Paul, MN 55155-4344 
dli.ccldboards@state.mn.us

October 5, 2018 

The Honorable Tammy Pust 
Chief Administrative Law Judge 
Office of Administrative Hearings 
600 North Robert Street 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0620 

RE: Request for Authorization to Omit the Text of the Proposed Rule from the Publication of the Board's 
Dual Notice in the State Register for Rules Governing the Minnesota Plumbing Code; Minnesota Rules, 
Chapter 4716; R-04365 

Dear Chief Judge Pust: 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 14.22, subdivision l{b}, the Minnesota Plumbing Board respectfully 
requests your auth?rization to omit the text of the proposed rules from its publication of the Dual Notice of 
Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Request a Hearing and Notice of Hearing if 
25 or More Requests for Hearing are Received. 

The Board's current draft of the proposed rule amendments, dated 8/29/2018, is 11 pages long. The State 
Register estimates that the cost for publication of the proposed rule language will be approximately $1,120.00 

The Board does not have any budget. In light of the lack of a budget, the Board believes that publishing the 
proposed rule language in the State Register would be unduly expensive. The class of persons affected by these 
proposed rules is limited and the Department of Labor and Industry, which provides staff to the Board, is in 
constant communication with the class of affected persons. The Board's Web site also serves as a valuable 
source of current information about Board activity, including its rulemaking activities.1 The rule was approved by 
the Board at a Board meeting. Meeting minutes and attachments are posted on the Board's Web site. The rule 
8/29/2018 draft is posted on the Board's Web site.2 The previous rule draft, which was substantially the same as 
the 8/29/2018 draft, was posted on the Board's Web site before being replaced with the updated 8/29/2018 
draft. 

The Board's on line rulemaking docket will provide: 1} a copy of the Dual Notice; 2} a copy of the proposed rule; 
3} a copy of the signed Statement of Need and Reasonableness; 4} a description of the rulemaking; 5} contact

1 See https:ijwww.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board. 

2 See https://www .d Ii. m n .gov /sites/ defa ult/files/pdf /pb-m i nutes0618. pdf. 

443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155 • {651} 284-5005 • www.dli.mn.gov 
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can result from individually minor but collectively significant rules adopted over a period 
of time. 
The proposed rules cover areas that are not addressed by federal law or other Minnesota 
state laws. Therefore, this consideration is not applicable to this proposed rule. 
 
PERFORMANCE-BASED RULES 
 
The Board carefully considered the directives of the legislature requiring performance-based 
standards to the extent possible. Because this is a licensing rule and not a code, performance-
based and prescriptive are not applicable. However, to the extent possible, the Board considered 
and discussed performance and prescriptive elements. The proposed rules are prescriptive in that 
they establish a specific number of continuing education hour requirements for registered 
unlicensed individuals. The proposed rules are as performance-based as possible by allowing 
flexibility in the method and topics of continuing education while remaining clear and 
enforceable.  
 
ADDITIONAL NOTICE 
 

This Additional Notice Plan was reviewed by the Office of Administrative Hearings and 
approved in a [date] letter by Administrative Law Judge [name]. 
 

Our Notice Plan also includes giving notice required by statute. We will mail or e-mail 
the [rules and] Notice of Intent to Adopt to everyone who has registered to be on the 
Department’s rulemaking mailing list under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.14, subdivision 1a. 
We will also give notice to the Legislature per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.116. We will also 
e-mail the rules and Notice of Intent to Adopt to the following organizations and trade groups: 

 
a. Associated Builders and Contractors  
b. Local chapter of the Association of Minnesota Building Officials (AMBO) 
c. Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association 
d. Association of General Contractors of Minnesota 
e. Builders Association of Minnesota (BAM) 
f. Builders Association of the Twin Cities 
g. Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association 
h. Minnesota Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors Association 
i. American Society of Plumbing Engineers – Minnesota Chapter 
j. American Society of Civil Engineers – Minnesota Section 
k. Association of Minnesota Counties 
l. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), Minneapolis 
m. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), St. Paul 
n. League of Minnesota Cities 
o. American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota 
p. Minnesota Pipe Trades Association 
q. Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division 
r. Minnesota Society of Professional Engineers (MNSPE) 
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1.1 Plumbing Board​

1.2 Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Plumbing Licensing​

1.3 4716.0010 DEFINITIONS.​

1.4 [For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.]​

1.5 Subp. 6. Registered unlicensed plumber. "Registered unlicensed plumber" means​

1.6 an individual who performs plumbing work for a contractor or employer, does not hold any​

1.7 class of plumber license, is not a plumber's apprentice as described in Minnesota Statutes,​

1.8 section 326B.42, subdivision 6, and is registered with the commissioner under part​

1.9 4716.0050.​

1.10 4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS.​

1.11 Subpart 1. Examinations. An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted​

1.12 journeyworker or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination​

1.13 given by the commissioner. Examinations for journeyworker and master plumber licenses​

1.14 shall be held in March and September of each year. Applications for the March examination​

1.15 must be filed not later than February 15 and for the September examination not later than​

1.16 August 15.​

1.17 A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:​

1.18 (1) a current Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and five years of​

1.19 practical plumbing experience at least one year of practical plumbing experience as a licensed​

1.20 journeyworker plumber as described in subpart 2;​

1.21 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

1.22 B. An applicant for the journeyworker examination:​

1.23 (1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota as described​

1.24 in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.42, subdivision 6, or must be a registered unlicensed​

1​4716.0020​
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2.1 plumber as described in part 4716.0010, subpart 6, and must have at least four years of​

2.2 recorded practical plumbing experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F;​

2.3 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

2.4 Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience​

2.5 described in subpart 1.​

2.6 [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]​

2.7 E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyworker plumber or a licensed​

2.8 restricted master plumber, subitems (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2.9 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

2.10 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

2.11 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

2.12 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

2.13 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

2.14 work and corresponding number of hours:​

2.15 (a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours;​

2.16 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and​

2.17 (c) fixture installation, 500 hours.​

2.18 [For text of subitem (2), see M.R.]​

2.19 (3) The applicant must have completed the entire two years of practical​

2.20 plumbing experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination.​

2.21 F. If the applicant is a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber, subitems​

2.22 (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2​4716.0020​
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3.1 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

3.2 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

3.3 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

3.4 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

3.5 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

3.6 work and corresponding number of hours:​

3.7 (a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours;​

3.8 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and​

3.9 (c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours.​

3.10 (2) Except for experience qualifying under subitem (3), The applicant must​

3.11 have been a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber at all times while obtaining​

3.12 the practical plumbing experience. or the applicant must have obtained the practical plumbing​

3.13 experience in one of the following ways:​

3.14 (a) during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies​

3.15 the experience;​

3.16 (b) as part of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner,​

3.17 and an authorized representative of the plumbing educational institution certifies the​

3.18 experience; or​

3.19 (c) as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is​

3.20 verified by a state agency that regulates plumbing licensing in that state or by a federal​

3.21 agency.​

3.22 (3) Up to 24 months of practical plumbing experience gained before the​

3.23 effective date of the applicant's initial registration as a plumber's apprentice will be credited​

3.24 if the applicant gained some of the experience during the 12-month period immediately​

3.25 prior to the effective date of the applicant's initial registration and if:​

3​4716.0020​
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4.1 (a) the applicant gained the plumbing experience during military service,​

4.2 and the applicant's military officer certifies the experience;​

4.3 (b) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as part of a plumbing​

4.4 education class approved by the commissioner, and an authorized representative of the​

4.5 educational institution certifies the experience; or​

4.6 (c) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as a plumber's​

4.7 apprentice in another state where the experience is verified by a state agency in that state​

4.8 or by a federal agency.​

4.9 G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (3) (2), units (a) to (c), all practical​

4.10 plumbing experience must be certified by the licensed master plumber or plumbing contractor​

4.11 who is responsible for the work performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the​

4.12 restricted master plumber's own experience. The employer of a journeyworker plumber,​

4.13 restricted master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber, or plumber's apprentice​

4.14 registered unlicensed plumber is responsible for:​

4.15 [For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]​

4.16 4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES.​

4.17 Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration. Initial and renewal renewed journeyworker​

4.18 plumber's licenses and renewed restricted journeyworker plumber's licenses expire on​

4.19 December 31 of each odd-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Initial and renewed​

4.20 master plumber's licenses, and renewal restricted journeyworker and renewed restricted​

4.21 master plumber's licenses, shall be issued for the calendar year for which application is​

4.22 made and shall expire on December 31 of such year each even-numbered year after issuance​

4.23 or renewal. Any journeyworker plumber, master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber,​

4.24 or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal application after December 31 shall​

4.25 not work as a plumber until the person has submitted an application, fee, and penalty fee.​

4​4716.0040​
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5.1 Any licensed journeyworker or master plumber who does not renew the license within two​

5.2 years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person must retake and pass the examination​

5.3 before a new license will be issued. Any licensed restricted journeyworker or restricted​

5.4 master plumber who does not renew the license within 12 months two years of the license​

5.5 expiration will permanently forfeit the restricted plumber license.​

5.6 Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be submitted to​

5.7 the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 of​

5.8 the year preceding the year for in which application is made the license expires. The​

5.9 application must be accompanied by the required fee. Journeyworker and master plumbers​

5.10 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within​

5.11 two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay all past due renewal​

5.12 fees plus the required late fee. Restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers​

5.13 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within 12​

5.14 months two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay the past due​

5.15 renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

5.16 4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE REGISTERED​
5.17 UNLICENSED PLUMBER.​

5.18 Subpart 1. Scope. Subpart 2 shall does not apply to a registered plumber's apprentices​

5.19 apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1) paragraph​

5.20 (a).​

5.21 Subp. 2. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a plumber's apprentice​

5.22 registered unlicensed plumber until that person has submitted an application and fee for​

5.23 registration to the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for​

5.24 the period from July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial​

5.25 and renewal registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each​

5.26 registration period on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by​
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6.1 the required fee. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber who submits a​

6.2 registration application after July 1 in any year must pay the past due renewal fee plus the​

6.3 required late fee.​

6.4 A. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber must be at least 18 years​

6.5 of age or be a high school graduate, except that an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber​

6.6 employed and supervised by the apprentice's registered unlicensed plumber's parent must​

6.7 be at least 16 years of age.​

6.8 B. At the time of registration, an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber must​

6.9 provide a name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and information about​

6.10 education and practical plumbing experience.​

6.11 4716.0091 DEFINITIONS.​

6.12 Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 4716.0090 to 4716.0092 have the meanings​

6.13 given them in this part, UPC sections 201.0 to 228.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

6.14 4714.0050, and Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50.​

6.15 Subp. 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner. "Registered unlicensed water​

6.16 conditioner" means an individual who performs water conditioning work for a contractor​

6.17 or employer, does not hold any class of water conditioning license, and is registered with​

6.18 the commissioner under part 4716.0093.​

6.19 4716.0092 LICENSURE.​

6.20 Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning​

6.21 contractor license must designate a water conditioning responsible licensed master or master​

6.22 plumber, licensed by the commissioner, as the individual responsible for the water​

6.23 conditioning contractor's compliance with this part, chapter 4714, Minnesota Statutes,​

6.24 sections 326B.50 to 326B.59, and all orders issued under Minnesota Statutes, section​

6.25 326B.082 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible water​
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7.1 conditioning licensed master or master plumber must give a minimum 15-day notice to the​

7.2 water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the responsible water​

7.3 conditioning licensed master or master plumber for the contractor. The contractor and​

7.4 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber must immediately notify​

7.5 the department upon the termination or separation of the contractor's responsible water​

7.6 conditioning licensed master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall​

7.7 have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous responsible water conditioning​

7.8 licensed master or master plumber to employ another responsible water conditioning licensed​

7.9 master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written notification​

7.10 to the department that it has designated a different water conditioning responsible licensed​

7.11 master or master plumber as the individual responsible for the contractor's compliance with​

7.12 this part, chapter 4714, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. If the water​

7.13 conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible water conditioning​

7.14 licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning contractor's license is invalid​

7.15 and the contractor shall cease and desist from performing any water conditioning work and​

7.16 return the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement​

7.17 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning​

7.18 contractor may request reinstatement of the terminated license under Minnesota Statutes,​

7.19 section 326B.096.​

7.20 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​

7.21 Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning​

7.22 journeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner.​

7.23 An applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker examination must have been a​

7.24 registered unlicensed water conditioner at all times while obtaining at least six months of​

7.25 practical experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitem (2), except as permitted in subpart​

7.26 4, item A, subitem (4). The applicant is responsible for verifying practical experience.​
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8.1 Subp. 4. Experience. For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2​

8.2 and 3, the following requirements apply.​

8.3 [For text of items A to C, see M.R.]​

8.4 D. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner:​

8.5 (1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner​

8.6 at all times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience, except as allowed​

8.7 under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, subdivision 2; and​

8.8 (2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed​

8.9 water conditioning master who is responsible for the work performed. Practical water​

8.10 conditioning experience includes installation, servicing, and training hours. The commissioner​

8.11 may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to​

8.12 evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy​

8.13 and acceptability of an applicant's experience.​

8.14 E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed​

8.15 water conditioner is responsible for:​

8.16 (1) recording the practical water conditioning experience worked by each​

8.17 employee; and​

8.18 (2) maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience for at​

8.19 least six years after the employee's last recorded experience.​

8.20 [For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]​

8.21 4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION.​

8.22 Subpart 1. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a registered unlicensed​

8.23 water conditioner until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to​

8.24 the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from​
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9.1 July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal​

9.2 registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period​

9.3 on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A​

9.4 registered unlicensed water conditioner who submits a registration application after July 1​

9.5 in any year must pay the renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

9.6 A. A registered unlicensed water conditioner must be at least 18 years of age or​

9.7 a high school graduate, except that a registered unlicensed water conditioner employed and​

9.8 supervised by the registered unlicensed water conditioner's parent must be at least 16 years​

9.9 of age.​

9.10 B. An applicant for registration under this part must provide a name, address, date​

9.11 of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and practical water​

9.12 conditioning experience on a form provided by the commissioner.​

9.13 4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS.​

9.14 Subpart 1. Continuing education; content.​

9.15 A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

9.16 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain 16 hours of continuing​

9.17 education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

9.18 (1) master plumber;​

9.19 (2) journeyworker plumber; and​

9.20 (3) restricted plumber.​

9.21 At least 12 eight hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, and at least four​

9.22 hours of instruction must pertain to the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

9.23 technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, this chapter, the Minnesota​

9.24 State Building Code, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.49 326B.59.​

9​4716.0205​
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10.1 Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must not exceed four hours​

10.2 during the renewal period comply with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.3 B. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.4 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain four hours of​

10.5 continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

10.6 (1) water conditioning master; and​

10.7 (2) water conditioning journeyworker.​

10.8 At least two hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remainder must​

10.9 pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water conditioning installation and​

10.10 servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. Continuing​

10.11 education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply with Minnesota Statutes,​

10.12 sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.13 C. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.14 individuals who hold the following registration types are required to obtain continuing​

10.15 education instruction during the registration period before the registration can be renewed:​

10.16 (1) registered unlicensed plumbers; and​

10.17 (2) registered unlicensed water conditioners.​

10.18 The registered unlicensed plumber must obtain at least two hours of continuing education​

10.19 instruction that must pertain to the Plumbing Code.​

10.20 The registered unlicensed water conditioner must obtain at least two hours of continuing​

10.21 education instruction. At least one hour of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

10.22 and the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water​

10.23 conditioning installation and servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50​
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11.1 to 326B.59. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply​

11.2 with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

11.3 C D. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

11.4 326B, an applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain​

11.5 four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the​

11.6 certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical​

11.7 topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems, this chapter,​

11.8 NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438.​

11.9 D E. In addition to satisfying the requirements of part 4716.0097 and Minnesota​

11.10 Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following certifications are required to​

11.11 obtain the following continuing education during the certification period before the certificate​

11.12 may be renewed:​

11.13 (1) a backflow prevention rebuilder shall meet the minimum requirements​

11.14 to recertify in ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130; and​

11.15 (2) a backflow prevention tester shall meet the minimum requirements to​

11.16 recertify in ASSE Standard 5110.​

11.17 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​
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Minnesota Plumbing Board 

c/o Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
443 Lafayette Road North 

Saint Paul, MN 55155-4344 

dli.ccldboards@state.mn.us

October 9, 2018 

The Honorable Tammy Pust 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

Office of Administrative Hearings 

600 North Robert Street 

St. Paul, MN 55164-0620 

RE: Request for Authorization to Omit the Text of the Proposed Rule from the Publication of the Board's 

Dual Notice in the State Register for Rules Governing Plumber Licensing; Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716; 

R-04365; Docket #8-9001-35569

Dear Chief Judge Pust: 

My letter to you dated October 5, 2018, requesting authorization to omit the text of the proposed rule from 

publication of the Board's dual notice in the State Register had an error in the heading description. It 

erroneously described the rules as "Governing the Plumbing Code." The correct description is "Rules Governing 

Plumber Licensing," as indicated above. Emphasis added. 

I apologize for the error and any inconvenience as a result. 

If you have any questions, please contact me at 651-284-5851. 

Very truly yours, 

uzanne Todnem 

Attorney for the Minnesota Plumbing Board 

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 

Suzanne.Todnem@state.mn.us 

cc: Richard Jacobs, Board Chair 

443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155 • {651) 284-5005 • www.dli.mn.gov 
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OAH 8-9001-35569 
Revisor R-4365 

STATE OF MINNESOTA 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

In the Matter of the Rules Governing the 
Minnesota Plumbing Code 

ORDER ON REQUEST TO OMIT 
FROM THE NOTICE THE TEXT OF 

PROPOSED RULES, PURSUANT TO 
MINN. STAT. § 14.14, SUBD. 1(B) 

This matter came before Chief Administrative Law Judge Tammy L. Pust on 
October 5, 2018.  The Minnesota Plumbing Board (Board) seeks an order authorizing 
the omission of the proposed rule text when it publishes its Dual Notice of Intent to 
Adopt Rules Without a Hearing and Notice of Hearing. The Board asserts that the 
expense of printing the proposed rules in the State Register is unduly burdensome, and
a poor use of limited state resources, given the narrow class of persons affected by the 
rule proposals. 

As an alternative to publication, the Board pledges that it will mail or email a wide 
range of interested stakeholders directly, informing them that a free copy of the 
proposed rules is available on the Internet and include instructions on how to obtain 
those materials.  Further, its notice will detail the subject matter of the omitted rules, cite 
the statutory authority for the proposed rules, and outline the proposed rules’ purpose. 
In addition, the Board’s Statement of Need and Reasonableness (SONAR) will be 
accessible on the Board’s website. 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

Conditioned upon the Board’s use of the procedures outlined in its petition of 
October 5, 2018, the request to omit the proposed rule text is GRANTED.

Dated:  October 26, 2018 

TAMMY L. PUST 
Chief Administrative Law Judge 
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From: Todnem, Suzanne (DLI)
To: "sen.jeremy.miller@senate.mn"; "sen.bobby.champion@senate.mn"; "rep.pat.garofalo@house.mn";

"rep.tim.mahoney@house.mn"; "rep.joe.hoppe@house.mn"; "rep.linda.slocum@house.mn";
"sen.karin.housley@senate.mn"; "rep.dave.baker@house.mn"; Legislative Coordinating Commission
(lcc@lcc.leg.mn)

Subject: Plumbing Board rulemaking Notice, SONAR and rule (chapter 4716)
Date: Wednesday, November 21, 2018 1:05:00 PM
Attachments: image001.png

Letter_to_Legislators_LCC.pdf
Dual_Notice_R04365_Final_signed_11.13.18.pdf
4716_R04365_SONAR_FINAL_signed_11.13.18.pdf
rd4365_Approved_by_Revisor_for_publication.pdf

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 14.116(b), please review the attached cover letter, the Dual
Notice, the Statement of Need and Reasonableness, and the rule for the above-referenced rules. All
these documents are available online as well at: https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716.

Thank you.

Suzanne Todnem
General Counsel| Office of General Counsel

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155
Phone: (651) 284-5851 | Web: www.dli.mn.gov
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R-04365 Dual Notice 


Minnesota Plumbing Board 
 
DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or 
More Persons Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for 
Hearing Are Received; Revisor’s ID Number R04365 
 


Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, 
Chapter 4716 
 


Introduction. The Minnesota Plumbing Board intends to adopt rules without a public 
hearing following the procedures in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, 
Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written 
request for a hearing on the rules by 4:30 p.m. on December 28, 2018, the Board will hold a 
public hearing in Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road 
North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, starting at 9:30 a.m. on Friday, January 11, 2019. To find out 
whether the Board will adopt the rules without a hearing or if it will hold the hearing, you should 
contact the agency contact person after December 28, 2018, and before January 11, 2019. 
 


Agency Contact Person. Submit any comments or questions on the rules or written 
requests for a public hearing to the agency contact person. The agency contact person is: 
Suzanne Todnem at Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. 
Paul, MN 55155, (651) 284-5006 dli.rules@state.mn.us.  
 


Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules are about the registration 
of unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed 
individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of both plumbers and water 
conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered 
unlicensed individuals.  


 
The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.435, 


326B.47, and 326B.555. A copy of the proposed rules is available on the Board’s website at 
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716. 
A free copy of the rules is available upon request from the agency contact person listed above. 
 


Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 2018, to submit written 
comment in support of or in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. 
Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the due date. 
Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules 
addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. You are encouraged to 
propose any change that you desire. Any comments that you have about the legality of the 
proposed rules must also be made during this comment period. 
 


Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that 
the Board hold a hearing on the rules. You must make your request for a public hearing in 
writing, which the agency contact person must receive by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 
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2018. You must include your name and address in your written request. In addition, you must 
identify the portion of the proposed rules that you object to or state that you oppose the entire set 
of rules. Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not valid and the agency 
cannot count it when determining whether it must hold a public hearing. You are also 
encouraged to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed 
rules. 
 


Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a 
hearing, the Board will hold a public hearing unless a sufficient number of persons withdraw 
their requests in writing. If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number 
below 25, the agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, 
explain the actions the agency took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on 
this action. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. 


 
Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this information can be made 


available in an alternative format, such as large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or 
if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please contact the agency contact 
person at the address or telephone number listed above. 
 


Modifications. The Board might modify the proposed rules, either as a result of public 
comment or as a result of the rule hearing process. It must support modifications by data and 
views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing. The adopted rules may not be 
substantially different than these proposed rules unless the Board follows the procedure under 
Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, the Board 
encourages you to participate in the rulemaking process. 
 


Cancellation of Hearing. The Board will cancel the hearing scheduled for January 11, 
2019, if the agency does not receive requests for a hearing from 25 or more persons. If you 
requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the scheduled hearing whether the 
hearing will be held. You may also call the agency contact person at 651.284.5006 after 
December 28, 2018, to find out whether the hearing will be held. You may check for whether the 
hearing will be held by going on-line at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716.  
 


Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit valid written requests for a public 
hearing on the rules, the Board will hold a hearing following the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The Board will hold the hearing on the date and at the time 
and place listed above. The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard. 
Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman is assigned to conduct the hearing. Judge Lipman can 
be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert Street, P.O. Box 64620, 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, telephone (651) 361-7875, and fax (651) 539-0310. 
 


Hearing Procedure. If the Board holds a hearing, you and all interested or affected 
persons, including representatives of associations or other interested groups, will have an 
opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing 
at any time before the hearing record closes. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed 
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rules. You may also submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in 
the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends. At the hearing the 
Administrative Law Judge may order that this five-day comment period is extended for a longer 
period but not more than 20 calendar days. Following the comment period, there is a five-
working-day rebuttal period when the agency and any interested person may respond in writing 
to any new information submitted. No one may submit new evidence during the five-day rebuttal 
period. The Office of Administrative Hearings must receive all comments and responses 
submitted to the Administrative Law Judge via the Office of Administrative Hearings 
Rulemaking e-comments website at https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions no 
later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses received will be available for 
review at the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry or on the agency’s website at 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-
4716. This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 
to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. You may direct questions about 
the procedure to the Administrative Law Judge. 
 


The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the 
Administrative Law Judge before the hearing or during the comment or rebuttal period also 
submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address stated 
above. 
 


Statement of Need and Reasonableness. The statement of need and reasonableness 
summarizes the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be 
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. It is 
now available from the agency contact person. You may review or obtain copies for the cost of 
reproduction by contacting the agency contact person. Or, you may access a free copy on the 
agency’s website at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-
minnesota-rules-4716. 
 


Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to 
register with the State Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Ask any questions about 
this requirement of the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board at: Suite #190, 
Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651) 539-1180 or 
1-800-657-3889. 
 


Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the 
rules after the end of the comment period. The Board will submit the rules and supporting 
documents to the Office of Administrative Hearings for a legal review. You may ask to be 
notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office. If you want either to receive notice of 
this, to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or to register with the agency to receive notice of 
future rule proceedings, submit your request to the agency contact person listed above. 
 


Adoption Procedure after a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing 
record, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a report on the proposed rules. You may ask to 
be notified of the date that the Administrative Law Judge’s report will become available, and can 
make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge. You may also ask 
to be notified of the date that the agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the 
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Secretary of State by requesting this at the hearing or by writing to the agency contact person 
stated above. 


 
 
Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed 


above. 
 
 


 
      ________________________________________ 
November 13, 2018    Richard Jacobs 


Chair, Minnesota Plumbing Board  
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Chapter 4716 SONAR, R04365 


Minnesota Plumbing Board 


STATEMENT OF NEED AND REASONABLENESS 


Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, chapter 


4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365 


INTRODUCTION 


The Minnesota Plumbing Board (“Board”) intends to adopt rules regulating the registration of 


unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed 


individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of both plumbers and water 


conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered 


unlicensed individuals.    


In 2017, the Minnesota Legislature granted the Board rulemaking authority over a new category 


of registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation and authorized 


the Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.1  Additionally, the 


Minnesota Legislature newly granted the Board authority to regulate continuing education 


requirements for all registered unlicensed individuals.2   


There are two notable changes in the proposed rule amendments. First, the Board’s proposed 


amendments provide the requirements for the registration of unlicensed water conditioners 


(registration of unlicensed plumbers is already in rule). The Board anticipates that some 


registered unlicensed individuals will apply their work experience to pursue licensure while 


some registered unlicensed individuals will not.  The proposed rules facilitate the Department’s 


tracking of individuals’ work experience to determine when individuals have obtained sufficient 


experience to qualify them to take the appropriate licensing exam. Second, the proposed rules 


require minimal continuing education hours for registered unlicensed individuals to ensure they 


stay current with industry and Plumbing Code changes.   


The Board published a Request for Comments on October 30, 2017. In response to the Request 


for Comments, the Board received one comment that requested that the Board support legislation 


that would change the licensing requirements for backflow prevention assembly rebuilders in 


Minnesota. The Board received 61 comments about the continuing education requirements for 


registered unlicensed plumbers.3 The Board addressed those concerns at Board meetings and in 


the rule-by-rule analysis below.4  


The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (“Department”) is required to provide support 


to the Board, including for rulemaking.5   


1 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 14. This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
2 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 8.  This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
3 All comments submitted in response to the Request for Comments are available here 


http://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/4716-comment.pdf.  
4 See Board meeting minutes for March 12, 2018; June 12, 2018, August 28, 2018 at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-


department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board  
5 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2(c) (2018). 



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2017&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=94

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=94&doctype=Chapter&year=2017&type=0#laws.2.8.0

http://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/4716-comment.pdf

http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board

http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.435
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ALTERNATIVE FORMAT 
 


Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 


print, braille, or audio. To make a request, contact Suzanne Todnem at the Department of Labor 


and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-4342, or by telephone 651-284-


5006, or email to:  dli.rules@state.mn.us.  


 


STATUTORY AUTHORITY 
 


The Board’s statutory authority to adopt rules related to licensure, certification, or registration is 


stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(5), which authorizes the Board to: 


 


adopt rules that regulate the licensure, certification, or registration of plumbing 


contractors, journeyworkers, unlicensed individuals, master plumbers, restricted master 


plumbers, restricted journeyworkers, restricted plumbing contractors, backflow 


prevention rebuilders and testers, water conditioning contractors, and water conditioning 


installers, and other persons engaged in the design, installation, and alteration of 


plumbing systems or engaged in or working at the business of water conditioning 


installation or service, or engaged in or working at the business of medical gas system 


installation, maintenance, or repair, except for those individuals licensed under section 


326.02, subdivisions 2 and 3.  


 


Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(6) was amended in 2017 to authorize the Board 


to adopt rules regulating continuing education for registered unlicensed individuals.  Specifically, 


the Board has the authority to “adopt rules that regulate continuing education for individuals 


licensed as master plumbers, journeyworker plumbers, restricted master plumbers, restricted 


journeyworker plumbers, registered unlicensed individuals, water conditioning masters, and 


water conditioning journeyworkers, and for individuals certified under sections 326B.437 and 


326B.438.”6 While the Board’s authority to regulate continuing education for licensed 


individuals is not new, the authority to regulate continuing education for registered unlicensed 


individuals is new.  


 


Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subd. 3, authorizes the Board to prescribe rules for the 


registration of unlicensed individuals.7 The Board has been regulating registered unlicensed 


individuals who perform plumbing as a different classification than plumber’s apprentices since 


2010.8  


 


                                                           
6See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2 (2018). 


 
7See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 3 (2018). 


 
8 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/ and Minn. R. part 4716.0050. 



mailto:dli.rules@state.mn.us

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.435

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.47

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4716.0050/
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Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, which was enacted in 2017, creates a new category of 


registered unlicensed individuals to perform water conditioning installation and authorizes the 


Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.9 


 


Because specific portions of the Board’s rulemaking authority was new in 2017, effective August 


1, 2017, those portions are subject to the 18-month time limit in Minnesota Statutes, section 


14.125. The Board will publish a notice of intent to adopt rules or a notice of hearing within 18 


months of the effective date.  


 


Under these statutes, the Board has the necessary statutory authority to adopt the proposed rules. 


 


REGULATORY ANALYSIS 
 


Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, sets out eight factors for a regulatory analysis that must be 


included in the SONAR. Paragraphs (1) through (8) below quote these factors and then give the 


agency’s response. 


 


(1) a description of the classes of persons who probably will be affected by the proposed 


rule, including classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will 


benefit from the proposed rule 
 


The proposed amendments to the rules would likely affect individuals and contractors currently 


licensed, certified or registered in Minnesota under Chapter 4716; individuals and contractors 


who would like to be licensed, certified or registered under Chapter 4716; individuals who 


perform water conditioning installation but are not licensed, certified or registered; providers of 


continuing education courses; and the general public. 


 


(2) the probable costs to the agency and to any other agency of the implementation and 


enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues 
 


Although the Board has the authority to adopt plumbing licensing rules, it does not implement or 


enforce the licensing rules. The Department currently administers and enforces the licensing 


rules. Any additional costs the Department incurs to implement and enforce the proposed rules 


will be offset by additional registration fees collected from registered unlicensed individuals. The 


Department does not anticipate increased costs to administer the rule except for the newly 


regulated individuals. The costs to enforce registration of the newly regulated individuals will be 


offset by the registration fees.  


 


(3) a determination of whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for 


achieving the purpose of the proposed rule 
 


The Board has determined there is no less costly or less intrusive method for achieving the 


purposes of the proposed rules. The proposed rule utilizes existing infrastructure for licensing, 


                                                           
9See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/ . This 


law became effective August 1, 2017. 


 



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2017&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=94
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registration and enforcement. The proposed rules are anticipated to be less intrusive and reduce 


some costs of compliance compared to the current rule. For example, licensed plumbers may 


take all of the required continuing education using electronic media. Also, a one-day continuing 


education course on the Plumbing Code satisfies the minimum Code-related continuing 


education requirement instead of a two-day course on the Plumbing Code (or 1.5-day course) 


because the minimum requirement for Code-related continuing education has been changed from 


12 hours to 8 hours.  


 


(4) a description of any alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule 


that were seriously considered by the agency and the reasons why they were rejected in 


favor of the proposed rule 
 


No alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule were identified.  The 


Board determined that the existing requirements and procedures used have been successful and 


should be maintained. The same or similar procedures are used in other similar industries as well.  


 


(5) the probable costs of complying with the proposed rule, including the portion of the 


total costs that will be borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate 


classes of governmental units, businesses, or individuals 
 


The probable costs of complying with the proposed rule are anticipated to be minimal. 


Registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning work will be subject to the 


same $14 initial registration fee and $19 renewal registration fee that registered unlicensed 


plumbers and electricians are currently required to pay. Other regulated parties under this 


proposed rule are anticipated to see the same or lower costs to comply with the proposed rule.  


 


(6) the probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule, including those 


costs or consequences borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate 


classes of government units, businesses, or individuals 
 


The probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule are fewer avenues for 


unlicensed individuals to qualify for journeyworker licensing exams and fewer work options for 


individuals seeking employment in the water conditioning industry, which could limit the pool of 


qualified workers available to businesses that provide water conditioning services to the public. 


 


Another consequence of not adopting the proposed rule is that the Board would lose its statutory 


authority to regulate certain parties. The legislature would then need to pass new legislation, 


which may have costs associated with it. Without rules to address the newly regulated party in 


statute, there would be confusion for anyone interested in hiring or becoming a registered 


unlicensed water conditioner.  


 


(7) an assessment of any differences between the proposed rule and existing federal 


regulations and a specific analysis of the need for and reasonableness of each difference 
 


There are no federal regulations that apply. 
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(8) an assessment of the cumulative effect of the rule with other federal and state 


regulations related to the specific purpose of the rule. . . . ‘[C]umulative effect’ means the 


impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in addition to other rules, 


regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules. Cumulative effects 


can result from individually minor but collectively significant rules adopted over a period 


of time. 


The proposed rules cover areas that are not addressed by federal law or other Minnesota 


state laws. Therefore, this consideration is not applicable to this proposed rule. 
 


PERFORMANCE-BASED RULES 
 


The Board carefully considered the directives of the legislature requiring performance-based 


standards to the extent possible. Because this is a licensing rule and not a code, performance-


based and prescriptive are not applicable. However, to the extent possible, the Board considered 


and discussed performance and prescriptive elements. The proposed rules are prescriptive in that 


they establish a specific number of continuing education hour requirements for registered 


unlicensed individuals. The proposed rules are as performance-based as possible by allowing 


flexibility in the method and topics of continuing education while remaining clear and 


enforceable.  


 


ADDITIONAL NOTICE 
 


This Additional Notice Plan was reviewed by the Office of Administrative Hearings and 


approved in a November 1, 2018 Order on Review of Additional Notice Plan and Dual Notice by 


Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman. 


 


Our Notice Plan also includes giving notice required by statute. We will mail or e-mail the 


Notice of Intent to Adopt to everyone who has registered to be on the Department’s rulemaking 


mailing list under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.14, subdivision 1a. We will also give notice to 


the Legislature per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.116. We will also e-mail the rules and Notice 


of Intent to Adopt to the following organizations and trade groups: 


 


a. Associated Builders and Contractors  


b. Local chapter of the Association of Minnesota Building Officials (AMBO) 


c. Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association 


d. Association of General Contractors of Minnesota 


e. Builders Association of Minnesota (BAM) 


f. Builders Association of the Twin Cities 


g. Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association 


h. Minnesota Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors Association 


i. American Society of Plumbing Engineers – Minnesota Chapter 


j. American Society of Civil Engineers – Minnesota Section 


k. Association of Minnesota Counties 


l. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), Minneapolis 


m. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), St. Paul 


n. League of Minnesota Cities 
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o. American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota 


p. Minnesota Pipe Trades Association 


q. Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division 


r. Minnesota Water Quality Association (MWQA) 


s. Minnesota Society of Professional Engineers (MNSPE) 


 


Our Notice Plan did not include notifying the Commissioner of Agriculture because the rules do 


not affect farming operations per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.111. 


 


CONSULTATION WITH MMB ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT IMPACT 
 


As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, the Board consulted with Minnesota 


Management and Budget (MMB). The Board did this by sending MMB copies of the documents 


that we sent to the Governor’s Office for review and approval on the same day we sent them to 


the Governor’s office. We did this before publishing the Notice of Intent to Adopt. The 


documents included: the Governor’s Office Proposed Rule and SONAR Form; the proposed 


rules; and the near-final SONAR. MMB Executive Budget Officer Marianne Conboy responded, 


in part, as follows in a letter dated October 31, 2018: “There appears to be no direct fiscal impact 


or fiscal benefit from this rule amendment to local units of government.” 


 


Because local governments are not actively engaged in the regulation of businesses and 


individuals in the plumbing and water conditioning industry, the financial impact to them is 


minimal.  To the extent that local governments inspect the installation of water conditioning 


systems, the proposed rules might improve the inspection process by enhancing the knowledge 


of individuals working in the industry.   


 


The Board will submit a copy of the cover correspondence and the response received from MMB 


to OAH at the hearing or with the documents it submits for Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) 


review.  


 


DETERMINATION ABOUT RULES REQUIRING LOCAL IMPLEMENTATION 
 


Minnesota Statutes, section 14.128 requires agencies to determine whether a local government 


will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply with a proposed 


agency rule and submit this determination for ALJ approval. An agency must make this 


determination before the close of the hearing record or before the agency submits the record 


to the administrative law judge if there is no hearing. The Board has determined that no 


local government will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply 


with the proposed rule. Plumber and water conditioner licensing and registration is enforced 


at the state level so no local government or municipality will be required to adopt or amend 


a local ordinance as a result of the proposed rule.  
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COST OF COMPLYING FOR SMALL BUSINESS OR CITY 
 


Agency Determination of Cost 
 


As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.127, the Board has considered whether the cost of 


complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will exceed $25,000 


for any small business or small city.10  The Board asked the public to submit comments 


specifically regarding whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after the rule 


takes effect will exceed $25,000 in the Request for Comments published on October 30, 2017. 


The Board did not receive any comments addressing this issue. The Board has determined that 


the cost of complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will not 


exceed $25,000 for any small business or small city.   


 


The proposed rule amendments are anticipated to keep the cost of complying with the rule the 


same or less with the exception of the continuing education requirements for registered 


unlicensed individuals (water conditioners and plumbers). 


 


Small cities are not anticipated to incur any costs. It is not anticipated that a small city would 


employ a registered unlicensed individual. Therefore, even if there are minimal increased costs 


for registered unlicensed individuals or employers of registered unlicensed individuals, small 


cities will not be affected. Furthermore, because plumber and water conditioner licensing is 


administered and enforced at the state level, it is not anticipated that any city, including a small 


city, would incur any costs to comply with the proposed rule from an administrative perspective.   


 


Small businesses already have to track the hours worked by their individual employees so there 


is no additional cost anticipated in the normal course of maintaining employment records.11 


 


The rule does not require employers to pay the registration costs or continuing education costs. 


However, if the employer chooses to pay the registration cost, assuming all possible employees 


are registered unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost for a small business would be 


$19 x 49 employees12 = $931, which is well below the $25,000 threshold.13  


 


The average cost for a two-hour continuing education course is $ 49.00.14 Again, the cost for two 


hours of continuing education may be paid by the registrant or the employer. If the employer 


chooses to pay this cost, again assuming the maximum number of employees are registered 


unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost, on average, would be $ 49.00 x 49 employees 


= $ 2,401.00. This total is again well below the $25,000 threshold. The combined total of annual 


                                                           
10 A small business is defined as “any one business that has less than 50 full-time employees” and a small city is 


defined as “any one statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees.” Minn. Stat. § 


14.127, subd. 1 (2018).  
11 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c) (2018).  
12 At least one employee would have to be a licensed journeyworker or master plumber. This example is for 


illustrative purposes only. A small business is unlikely to have 49 registered unlicensed individuals.  
13 The initial registration fee is currently set at $14 per registrant and the annual renewal fee is $19. For illustrative 


purposes, the estimate uses only the renewal fee, which is the higher of the two fees.  
14 See Attachment A.  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.127

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.127

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326B.47
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registration fees and continuing education costs is approximately $ 3,332.00, which is well below 


the $25,000 threshold.  


 


LIST OF WITNESSES 
 


If these rules go to a public hearing, the Department anticipates having the following witnesses 


testify in support of the need for and reasonableness of the rules: 


1. Mr. Richard Jacobs, Plumbing Board Chair, will testify about the Board’s interest 


in amending the code. 


2. Mr. Charlie Durenberger, Assistant Director, CCLD, will testify about the 


technical aspects of the proposed amendments. 


3. Other Board members or Department of Labor and Industry staff, if necessary. 


 


RULE-BY-RULE ANALYSIS 
 


4716.0010 DEFINITIONS 


 


The proposed rule amendment adds a subpart 6 to codify the term, “Registered unlicensed 


plumber.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and assist in plumbing have 


been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, the proposed rule amendment formally 


names and clarifies this category of individuals.15   


 


4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS 


 


Subpart 1. Examinations.  
The proposed rule amendment deletes language that states two specific times of the year in 


which journeyworker and master plumber licensing exams will be held. The Department began 


offering journeyworker and master plumber licensing examinations on a weekly basis several 


years ago in an effort to increase the availability of exams to those seeking licensure.  As result, 


the current rule requirement that exams be given in March and September is outdated and no 


longer necessary. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it 


modernizes the rule part and deletes unnecessary language.  


 


Subpart 1(A)(1) 


The proposed rule amendment clarifies that an applicant for the master plumber examination 


must have worked as a licensed journeyworker plumber for at least one year before he or she can 


qualify to take the master plumber license examination. The current language that an applicant 


for the master plumber examination be a licensed Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and 


have “five years of practical plumbing experience” has the same meaning because four years of 


practical plumbing experience is required to qualify for the journeyworker plumber examination 


and the fifth year comes the year after an individual becomes a licensed journeyworker plumber. 


The proposed rule states that requirement more clearly.  


 


 


 


                                                           
15 See Minn. Laws, 2010  c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/
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Subpart 1(B)(1)  


The proposed rule amendment clarifies the distinction between a plumber’s apprentice defined in 


Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, and the registered unlicensed plumber, which is a newly 


formalized term.16 See 4716.0010 analysis above. The requirement is substantively the same but 


clarifies the two categories of applicants and clarifies that the four years of practical plumbing 


experience must be recorded as required in Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c).  


 


Subp. 2. Experience 


 


Subpart 2(E) 


The proposed rule amendment corrects the subitems referenced here to correspond with the 


proposed rule below. 


 


Subpart 2(E)(1) 


The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 


qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 


(c).  


 


Subpart 2(E)(3)  


The current rule requires applicants who are licensed restricted journeyworker plumbers or 


licensed restricted master plumbers to have completed the entire two years of practical plumbing 


experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination. The proposed rule 


amendment deletes subitem 3 because removing this timeframe encourages licensed restricted 


journeyworker plumbers and licensed restricted master plumbers to take the regular licensed 


journeyworker plumber and licensed master plumber examinations. The proposed rule 


amendment broadens the pool of possible applicants. A shortage of skilled laborers is anticipated 


according to industry experts and economists.17 The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 


reasonable because the applicants are still subject to examination to ensure competent licensed 


plumbers.  


 


Subpart 2(F) 


The proposed rule amendment deletes reference to plumber’s apprentice and replaces it with 


registered unlicensed plumber because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation 


subject to subitems (1) and (2) that follow. Because a registered plumber’s apprentice, as defined 


in Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, is part of a formal, approved apprenticeship, subitems (1) and 


(2) are moot issues to them. The proposed rule amendment also corrects the subitems referenced 


here to correspond with the proposed rule below. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 


reasonable because the distinction between a registered plumber’s apprentice and registered 


unlicensed plumber should be clear.  


 


                                                           
16 Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6 (2018) provides a definition of “plumber’s apprentice and defines it as “any 


individual who is employed in the practical installation of plumbing under an apprenticeship agreement approved by 


the department under section 178.07.” 
17 See https://mn.gov/deed/data/data-tools/employment-outlook/; 


https://mn.gov/deed/newscenter/publications/review/june-2018/job-outlook-2026.jsp; 


https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/plumbers-pipefitters-and-steamfitters.htm; and 


http://www.startribune.com/worse-than-dating-twin-cities-builders-go-all-out-to-find-workers/432561123/.   



https://mn.gov/deed/data/data-tools/employment-outlook/

https://mn.gov/deed/newscenter/publications/review/june-2018/job-outlook-2026.jsp

https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/plumbers-pipefitters-and-steamfitters.htm

http://www.startribune.com/worse-than-dating-twin-cities-builders-go-all-out-to-find-workers/432561123/
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Subpart 2(F)(1) 


The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 


qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 


(c).  


 


Subpart 2(F)(2) 


The proposed rule amendment deletes the reference to subitem (3) because subitem (3) is deleted 


in the proposed rule. Again, the reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “unlicensed 


plumber” is added because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation subject to 


subitems (1) and (2) that follow.  


 


The proposed rule amendment provides for alternate options for an applicant to have obtained 


the practical plumbing experience as listed in items (a) through (c). The alternate options are 


substantively the same as the language that is deleted in subpart 2(F)(3). The language was 


removed from subitem (3) and moved to subitem (2) because combining subitems (2) and (3) 


into one subitem, and removing the timing requirements in subitem (3), clarifies the two avenues 


through which an applicant may obtain the practical plumbing experience. That is, the practical 


experience must be obtained as a registered unlicensed plumber or through one of the ways listed 


in (2)(a) through (c). There is minimal substantive change to subitems (2) and (3) as the intent is 


to clarify the different acceptable ways to obtain the practical plumbing experience.  


 


Subpart 2(G) 


The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference numbering to reflect the proposed 


amendments. For example, the reference to subitem (3) is replaced with subitem “(2), units (a) to 


(c)” because the proposed rule amendment moves the content in subitem (3) to subitem (2), units 


(a) to (c). The word “master” is added and “or plumbing contractor” is deleted because a 


plumbing contractor is a business entity and a human being must provide the certification. The 


reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “registered unlicensed plumber” is added to 


be consistent with the proposed amendments above.  


                


4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES 


 


Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration 


The proposed rule amendment provides consistency for all journeyworker licensees and master 


licensees and aligns the rules with Minnesota Statutes.18 The proposed rule amendment 


simplifies the renewal of journeyworker plumber and master plumber licenses. All 


journeyworker plumber licenses will expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years rather than 


on anniversary dates of license issuance. All master plumber licenses will expire on December 


31 of even-numbered years. The Department can provide more efficient administration and 


enforcement of the licensing rules, thereby keeping enforcement costs, and therefore license fees, 


down. Individual licensees and the Department benefit from the proposed change.  


 


The renewal window for restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers was changed 


from 12 months to within “two years of the license expiration” to grant restricted license holders 


                                                           
18 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.49, subd. 1(b) (2018). This statute was amended in 2016. See Minn. Laws, 2016 c 189 art 


8 sec 3.  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326B.49

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2016/0/189/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2016/0/189/
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additional time to renew their license before permanently forfeiting their restricted plumber 


license. Because failing to renew timely results in permanent forfeiture, it is reasonable to grant 


license holders more than 12 months to renew. The two-year time period to renew is consistent 


with the renewal period for licensed journeyworker and master plumbers. Restricted 


journeyworker and restricted master plumber licenses are relatively few in number and are a 


holdover from the transition from no licensure in cities with populations less than 5,000 to 


statewide plumber licensing in 2005.  Restricted plumber licenses were granted to individuals 


who were performing plumbing at the time of the transition and who performed plumbing work 


in municipalities with a population under 5,000.  A plumber holding a restricted license may not 


perform plumbing work in municipalities with a population over 5,000. No new restricted 


plumber licenses have been granted since the transition period. Once a restricted license is 


forfeited, it cannot be reinstated or renewed.  


 


Subpart 2. License renewals 


The proposed rule amendment clarifies that license renewal applications must be submitted by 


December 31 of the year in which the license expires to be a timely renewal.  


 


The proposed rule amends the timeframe in which a restricted journeyworker or restricted master 


plumber must pay the past due renewal fee to coordinate with the two year timeframe proposed 


in subpart 1 above.  


 


4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER’S APPRENTICE 


 


The proposed rule amends the title of this rule part to “REGISTRATION OF REGISTERED  


UNLICENSED PLUMBER.” The proposed rule amendment aligns the title with the title change 


to Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, which was changed from “Plumber’s Apprentices” to “Unlicensed 


Individuals” in 2010.19 This amendment is reasonable because chapter 4716 regulates registered 


unlicensed plumbers but not registered plumber’s apprentices who are part of a formal 


apprenticeship program. The formal distinction between a plumber’s apprentice and a registered 


unlicensed plumber is relatively new.20 Rule titles are not enforceable but the title change adds 


clarity to the rule part particularly since the rule specifically states that it does not apply to 


registered plumber’s apprentices.   


 


Subpart 1. Scope. 


The proposed rule amendment updates and corrects this subpart. The proposed rule amendment 


updates the word “shall (not)” with “does (not)” because “shall (not)” is not grammatically 


correct. Also, the change to “does (not)” modernizes the language and is plain language. The 


proposed rule amendment corrects the referenced statute cite. The current rule refers to 


“Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1)” however, there is no such clause 


(1). The correct cite format is Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 


Emphasis added. The proposed rule amendment changes the plural “plumber’s apprentices” to 


singular for consistency with the rest of the rule chapter.   


 


 


                                                           
19 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/  
20 Id.  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/
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Subp. 2. Registration requirements 


The proposed rule amendments change all “plumber’s apprentice” references to “registered 


unlicensed plumber.” Plumber’s apprentices are regulated under the formal, approved 


apprenticeship agreement subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 178 and related rule chapters. 


The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it uses terminology that is 


consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 and other proposed amendments in this rule chapter.  


 


4716.0091 DEFINITIONS 
 


Subpart 1. Scope. 


The proposed rule amendment adds “Subpart 1. Scope” because now that a second subpart is 


added, it is necessary and reasonable to number and title the subpart. When it was the only 


subpart in this section, it was not necessary to number and title it.  


 


 Subpart 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner 


The proposed rule amendment adds this subpart to establish and define the term, “Registered 


unlicensed water conditioner.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and 


assist in plumbing have been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, registered 


unlicensed water conditioners is a newly established category of regulated parties per the 2017 


legislature.21 It is necessary and reasonable to establish and define this terms that identifies the 


legislature’s newly regulated category of individuals.   


 


4716.0092 LICENSURE 


  


Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. 


The proposed rule amendment reduces redundant language and thereby provides clarity and 


consistency with the current Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subds. 1a and 2a.  The proposed rule 


amendment replaces all references to “water conditioning master or master plumber” with 


“responsible licensed master” because “responsible licensed master” is a term already defined in 


Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subd. 1a and the definition requires the individual to be a “water 


conditioning master or licensed master plumber.” All the language that the proposed rule 


amendment deletes is deleted because it is addressed by using the defined term “responsible 


licensed master.”  There is no substantive change to the rule part.  


 


Subpart 3. Water conditioning journeyworker.  


The proposed rule amendment adds that, in addition to the six months of practical experience and 


passing an exam, an applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker license must be a 


registered unlicensed water conditioner in Minnesota except as permitted in subpart 4, item A, 


subitem (4). The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable to ensure that the 


qualifying experience is obtained under proper qualified conditions and is consistent with Minn. 


Stat. § 326B.555.  


 


Subpart 4. Experience. 


Subpart 4 provides specific requirements for the experience needed in subparts 2 and 3. There 


are no proposed amendments to items A through C. Items D and E are new to provide the 


                                                           
21 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/.  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/
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specific experience requirements for registered unlicensed water conditioners and the employer 


of the registered unlicensed water conditioner and water conditioning journeyworker. The 


statutory authority to regulate registered unlicensed water conditioners is new. Therefore, this 


formalized category of regulated individuals is new, thus, the new items in this subpart. Items A 


through C detail the requirements for other required experiences listed in subparts 2 and 3.  


 


Subpart 4(D)(1) 


The proposed rule amendment is new to address the newly formalized category of registered 


unlicensed water conditioner and what is expected of those applicants. The proposed rule 


amendment clearly states the requirement (to be a registered unlicensed water conditioner while 


obtaining the practical water conditioning experience) and clarifies that the exception in Minn. 


Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, applies here.  This is necessary and reasonable because it should be 


clear what is expected of the regulated parties, what other permissions apply to the requirement 


and is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. The exception in Minn. Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, 


grants flexibility to applicants.   


 


Subpart 4(D)(2) 


The proposed rule amendment clarifies what is required of the licensed water conditioning 


master who is responsible for certifying the work performed by the registered unlicensed water 


conditioner. It is necessary and reasonable to clearly state the requirements. The requirements are 


reasonable and consistent with the requirements in Minn. R. part 4716.0020, subp. 2, and Minn. 


R. part 4716.0092, subp. 4(C), while tailored to the water conditioner licensing requirements. 


The proposed rule amendment is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555.  


 


Subpart 4(E)(1) and (2) 


The proposed rule amendment adds recordkeeping requirements for the employers of water 


conditioning journeyworkers and registered unlicensed water conditioners. The proposed rule 


amendment requires the employers to record the practical water conditioning experience worked 


by each employee and to maintain those records for at least six years. The registered unlicensed 


water conditioner needs this record of experience to qualify as an applicant for the 


journeyworker exam and the journeyworker needs the recorded experience to qualify for the 


master exam. It is necessary and reasonable to require the employer to make and maintain these 


records and such requirement is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. It is necessary and 


reasonable for the employer to maintain these records for six years after the employee’s last 


recorded experience because it gives applicants time to take the journeyworker exam after 


completing the training and for the journeyworker to take the master exam. There are a variety of 


reasons why an applicant might be delayed in taking an examination. For example, a medical 


incident or family emergency that delays the applicant from taking the examination. Six years 


balances flexibility for the applicant with minimal burden for the employer. Six years is 


consistent with the record retention requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers in part 


4716.0020, subp. 2(G)(2).  
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4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION 


 


Subpart 1. Registration requirements 


The proposed rule amendment is new to establish the requirements and qualifications to become 


a registered unlicensed water conditioner. For example, the proposed rule amendment requires a 


person to submit an application and fee to the Department annually to become a registered 


unlicensed water conditioner. Registrations are effective from July 1 through June 30 of the 


following year and late renewals require payment of a late fee. This date range is consistent with 


Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and the registered unlicensed plumber registration dates in Minn. R. part 


4716.0050, subp. 2. This is necessary and reasonable because having a set registration period 


makes administration of and compliance with the rule easier and more efficient for both the 


Department who enforces the rule and the registrants complying with the code. This efficiency 


keeps licensing fees down.      


 


The proposed rule amendment establishes reasonable qualifications in items A and B that are 


consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and other similar rules. Specifically, item A requires a 


registered unlicensed water conditioner to be at least 18 years of age or a high school graduate, 


though individuals as young as 16 may register and perform work if they are supervised by the 


individual’s parent. Item B requires applicants for an unlicensed water conditioner registration to 


provide to the Department certain personal information, including Social Security number as 


required by Minn. Stat. § 270C.72.22 These qualifications are consistent with the qualifications 


for registered unlicensed plumbers in Minn. R. part 4716.0050, subp. 2, and Minn. Stat. § 


326B.555. This information is necessary and reasonable for the Department to be able to verify 


individual identities and is consistent with Minnesota Statutes.    


 


4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS 


 


Subpart 1. Continuing education; content. 


Plumbing licensees are currently required to take 16 hours of approved continuing education 


each two-year license period. The proposed rule amendment does not change that total number of 


required hours.  


 


Subpart 1(A) 


The proposed rule amendment lowers the minimum number of continuing education hours that 


must pertain to the Plumbing Code from twelve to eight and allows the remainder of the required 


hours to pertain to the Plumbing Code or technical topics related plumbing installations and 


equipment, Minnesota Rules chapter 4716, the Minnesota State Building Code, or the Plumbing 


and Water Conditioning sections of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B. The proposed rule 


amendment changes only the minimum number of hours that must pertain to the Plumbing Code 


and allows a licensee to obtain all continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code. This is 


necessary and reasonable because eight hours of Plumbing Code instruction will be sufficient for 


some veteran licensed plumbers while newer licensed plumbers might benefit from more 


Plumbing Code instruction hours. The proposed rule amendment allows more flexibility while 


maintaining a high standard of qualifications. The proposed rule amendment is consistent with 


the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 that encourages agencies to develop rules that 


                                                           
22 See Minn. Stat. § 270C.72 (2018).  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/270C.72
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“emphasize superior achievement in meeting the agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum 


flexibility for the regulated party.”23 Because knowledge of the Plumbing Code is essential to 


safe plumbing practices, and the Plumbing Code changes, it is reasonable to require licensed 


individuals have a minimum number of continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code.  


 


The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 


326B.49 to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.59, emphasis added, because the range 


to 326B.49 does not include the water conditioning sections, which are sections 326B.50 through 


326B.59. This also provides additional flexibility in the topics in which licensed plumbers may 


get the required continuing education hours.  


 


The proposed rule amendment allows licensed individuals to tailor their continuing education 


hour topics to their needs while also maintaining high quality continuing education because all 


continuing education courses must be approved, pursuant to Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 


through 4716.0210.  


 


The proposed rule amendment eliminates the current four-hour limit on continuing education 


hours obtained by any electronic media. That is, online continuing education hours are currently 


limited to four of the sixteen. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because 


some licensed plumbers in outstate Minnesota have some challenges with accessing in-person 


continuing education courses that metro area plumbers do not have. For example, there are fewer 


in-person course offerings in outstate Minnesota. Allowing all sixteen continuing education 


hours to be obtained online modernizes the requirement and recognizes the changes and 


improvements in technology. Electronic media standards are established in Minnesota Statutes, 


sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. The online courses must also be approved pursuant to 


Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 through 4716.0210 like any other in-person course. The 


proposed rule amendment is consistent with the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 


that encourages agencies to develop rules that “emphasize superior achievement in meeting the 


agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum flexibility for the regulated party.”   


 


These changes are intended to make it easier and less costly for licensees to obtain the continuing 


education required to maintain licensure while maintaining quality education. Continuing 


education requirements for regulated parties are necessary and reasonable to ensure competency 


and recognizes industry changes in the interest of public health. 


 


Subpart 1(B) 


Licensed water conditioning journeyworkers and masters must obtain four hours of continuing 


education hours per two-year licensing period. The proposed rule amendment deletes 


unnecessary language and adds the requirement that two of the four required continuing 


education hours must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remaining two hours may pertain to 


the Plumbing Code or an existing list of other relevant topics. The proposed rule amendment 


maintains the same number of hours as the current rule and maintains flexibility while ensuring 


licensed water conditioners stay current with the Plumbing Code in addition to technical topics. 


It is necessary and reasonable to require licensed water conditioners to take two hours of 


continuing education on the Plumbing Code because their work is subject to and governed by the 


                                                           
23 See Minn. Stat. § 14.002 (2018).  



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/14.002
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Plumbing Code. Because the scope of their work is not as broad as licensed plumbers, it is 


reasonable that the total number of required continuing education hours is fewer than licensed 


plumbers. Correspondingly, the required minimum number of continuing education hours on the 


Plumbing Code is also fewer than what is required for licensed plumbers.  


 


The proposed rule amendment adds that the continuing education hours may be obtained online, 


subject to the requirements in Minn. Stat. §§ 326B.098 to 326B.099. This proposed amendment 


is consistent with the proposed amendment in subpart 1(A) above.   


 


Subpart 1(C) 


The proposed rule amendment creates a new requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers and 


water conditioners to take two hours of continuing education each year as a condition of 


renewing their registration. Registered unlicensed plumbers must take two hours of continuing 


education on the Plumbing Code because the range of work they may perform is broad and 


includes the entire scope of the Plumbing Code. Registered unlicensed water conditioners must 


take one hour of continuing education on the Plumbing Code and the other hour of continuing 


education may be on the Plumbing Code or a technical topic related to water conditioning 


installation. The scope of the work of a registered unlicensed water conditioner is limited to 


water conditioning so they do not work with the entire Plumbing Code.  


 


For many registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education 


requirement is absorbed into their training toward qualifying for the journeyworker exam in their 


respective field. For other registered unlicensed plumbers and registered unlicensed water 


conditioners who do not intend to take the journeyworker exam in their respective field, this 


requirement ensures they stay current with industry practices and the Plumbing Code.  


 


For both registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education hours 


may be taken online. This requirement will enhance registrants’ knowledge and understanding of 


the Plumbing Code and other information relevant to their work. While field work is important, 


there are tables, calculations and backflow protection of water supply system in the Plumbing 


Code that industry professionals must be aware of and learn about. A continuing education class 


is a setting conducive to learning about certain aspects of the Plumbing Code.   


 


Similarly, registered unlicensed electricians have been required to obtain two hours of continuing 


education every renewal period since 2009.24 It is necessary and reasonable to require a regulated 


party to obtain some continuing education to maintain their registration to ensure competence in 


the interest of public health.  


 


Subpart 1(D) and (E) 


The proposed rule amendment renumbers these paragraphs to reflect the new paragraphs added 


above. There are no substantive changes.  


 


                                                           
24 See Minn. R. 3800.3602 (2018). See also https://www.revisor.mn.gov/state_register/34/15/.   



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/3800.3602/

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/state_register/34/15/
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CONCLUSION 


Based on the foregoing, the proposed rules are both needed and reasonable. 


_______________________________ 


November 13, 2018 Richard Jacobs 


Plumbing Board Chair 


This Statement of Need and Reasonableness was made available for public review on November 


13, 2018. 







2-hour Continuing Education  Average Costs


Plumbology* $60.00
Metro Testing & Plumbing** $50.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace)*** - electrical $36.00


Total $146.00


Average $48.67


Continuing Education Average Cost-Per-Hour


# of hours Total cost Average cost per hour
Plumbology* 8 $130.00 $16.25
Plumbology 4 $85.00 $21.25
Plumbology 2 $60.00 $30.00
Metro Testing & Plumbing** 8 $150.00 $18.75
Metro Testing & Plumbing 6 $125.00 $20.83
Metro Testing & Plumbing 2 $50.00 $25.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace)*** 4 $80.00 $20.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace) 2 $36.00 $18.00
MyPlumbingTraining.com**** 8 $125 (incl. lunch) $15.63
MyPlumbingTraining.com - apprentices 8 $20.00 $2.50


Total $861.00 $18.82


*http://www.plumbologymn.com/register
**https://metrotesting.net/classes/
***https://www.tradesmance.com/minnesota-plumbing-continuing-education
****https://myplumbingtraining.com/onsite_courses
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1.1 Plumbing Board​


1.2 Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Plumbing Licensing​


1.3 4716.0010 DEFINITIONS.​


1.4 [For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.]​


1.5 Subp. 6. Registered unlicensed plumber. "Registered unlicensed plumber" means​


1.6 an individual who performs plumbing work for a contractor or employer, does not hold any​


1.7 class of plumber license, is not a plumber's apprentice as described in Minnesota Statutes,​


1.8 section 326B.42, subdivision 6, and is registered with the commissioner under part​


1.9 4716.0050.​


1.10 4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS.​


1.11 Subpart 1. Examinations. An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted​


1.12 journeyworker or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination​


1.13 given by the commissioner. Examinations for journeyworker and master plumber licenses​


1.14 shall be held in March and September of each year. Applications for the March examination​


1.15 must be filed not later than February 15 and for the September examination not later than​


1.16 August 15.​


1.17 A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:​


1.18 (1) a current Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and five years of​


1.19 practical plumbing experience at least one year of practical plumbing experience as a licensed​


1.20 journeyworker plumber as described in subpart 2;​


1.21 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​


1.22 B. An applicant for the journeyworker examination:​


1.23 (1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota as described​


1.24 in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.42, subdivision 6, or must be a registered unlicensed​


1​4716.0020​


REVISOR SS/EP RD4365​08/29/18  ​







2.1 plumber as described in part 4716.0010, subpart 6, and must have at least four years of​


2.2 recorded practical plumbing experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F;​


2.3 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​


2.4 Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience​


2.5 described in subpart 1.​


2.6 [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]​


2.7 E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyworker plumber or a licensed​


2.8 restricted master plumber, subitems (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​


2.9 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​


2.10 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​


2.11 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​


2.12 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​


2.13 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​


2.14 work and corresponding number of hours:​


2.15 (a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours;​


2.16 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and​


2.17 (c) fixture installation, 500 hours.​


2.18 [For text of subitem (2), see M.R.]​


2.19 (3) The applicant must have completed the entire two years of practical​


2.20 plumbing experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination.​


2.21 F. If the applicant is a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber, subitems​


2.22 (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​


2​4716.0020​
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3.1 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​


3.2 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​


3.3 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​


3.4 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​


3.5 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​


3.6 work and corresponding number of hours:​


3.7 (a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours;​


3.8 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and​


3.9 (c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours.​


3.10 (2) Except for experience qualifying under subitem (3), The applicant must​


3.11 have been a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber at all times while obtaining​


3.12 the practical plumbing experience. or the applicant must have obtained the practical plumbing​


3.13 experience in one of the following ways:​


3.14 (a) during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies​


3.15 the experience;​


3.16 (b) as part of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner,​


3.17 and an authorized representative of the plumbing educational institution certifies the​


3.18 experience; or​


3.19 (c) as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is​


3.20 verified by a state agency that regulates plumbing licensing in that state or by a federal​


3.21 agency.​


3.22 (3) Up to 24 months of practical plumbing experience gained before the​


3.23 effective date of the applicant's initial registration as a plumber's apprentice will be credited​


3.24 if the applicant gained some of the experience during the 12-month period immediately​


3.25 prior to the effective date of the applicant's initial registration and if:​


3​4716.0020​
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4.1 (a) the applicant gained the plumbing experience during military service,​


4.2 and the applicant's military officer certifies the experience;​


4.3 (b) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as part of a plumbing​


4.4 education class approved by the commissioner, and an authorized representative of the​


4.5 educational institution certifies the experience; or​


4.6 (c) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as a plumber's​


4.7 apprentice in another state where the experience is verified by a state agency in that state​


4.8 or by a federal agency.​


4.9 G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (3) (2), units (a) to (c), all practical​


4.10 plumbing experience must be certified by the licensed master plumber or plumbing contractor​


4.11 who is responsible for the work performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the​


4.12 restricted master plumber's own experience. The employer of a journeyworker plumber,​


4.13 restricted master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber, or plumber's apprentice​


4.14 registered unlicensed plumber is responsible for:​


4.15 [For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]​


4.16 4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES.​


4.17 Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration. Initial and renewal renewed journeyworker​


4.18 plumber's licenses and renewed restricted journeyworker plumber's licenses expire on​


4.19 December 31 of each odd-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Initial and renewed​


4.20 master plumber's licenses, and renewal restricted journeyworker and renewed restricted​


4.21 master plumber's licenses, shall be issued for the calendar year for which application is​


4.22 made and shall expire on December 31 of such year each even-numbered year after issuance​


4.23 or renewal. Any journeyworker plumber, master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber,​


4.24 or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal application after December 31 shall​


4.25 not work as a plumber until the person has submitted an application, fee, and penalty fee.​
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5.1 Any licensed journeyworker or master plumber who does not renew the license within two​


5.2 years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person must retake and pass the examination​


5.3 before a new license will be issued. Any licensed restricted journeyworker or restricted​


5.4 master plumber who does not renew the license within 12 months two years of the license​


5.5 expiration will permanently forfeit the restricted plumber license.​


5.6 Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be submitted to​


5.7 the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 of​


5.8 the year preceding the year for in which application is made the license expires. The​


5.9 application must be accompanied by the required fee. Journeyworker and master plumbers​


5.10 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within​


5.11 two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay all past due renewal​


5.12 fees plus the required late fee. Restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers​


5.13 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within 12​


5.14 months two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay the past due​


5.15 renewal fee plus the required late fee.​


5.16 4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE REGISTERED​
5.17 UNLICENSED PLUMBER.​


5.18 Subpart 1. Scope. Subpart 2 shall does not apply to a registered plumber's apprentices​


5.19 apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1) paragraph​


5.20 (a).​


5.21 Subp. 2. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a plumber's apprentice​


5.22 registered unlicensed plumber until that person has submitted an application and fee for​


5.23 registration to the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for​


5.24 the period from July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial​


5.25 and renewal registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each​


5.26 registration period on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by​
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6.1 the required fee. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber who submits a​


6.2 registration application after July 1 in any year must pay the past due renewal fee plus the​


6.3 required late fee.​


6.4 A. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber must be at least 18 years​


6.5 of age or be a high school graduate, except that an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber​


6.6 employed and supervised by the apprentice's registered unlicensed plumber's parent must​


6.7 be at least 16 years of age.​


6.8 B. At the time of registration, an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber must​


6.9 provide a name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and information about​


6.10 education and practical plumbing experience.​


6.11 4716.0091 DEFINITIONS.​


6.12 Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 4716.0090 to 4716.0092 have the meanings​


6.13 given them in this part, UPC sections 201.0 to 228.0 as incorporated by reference in part​


6.14 4714.0050, and Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50.​


6.15 Subp. 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner. "Registered unlicensed water​


6.16 conditioner" means an individual who performs water conditioning work for a contractor​


6.17 or employer, does not hold any class of water conditioning license, and is registered with​


6.18 the commissioner under part 4716.0093.​


6.19 4716.0092 LICENSURE.​


6.20 Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning​


6.21 contractor license must designate a water conditioning responsible licensed master or master​


6.22 plumber, licensed by the commissioner, as the individual responsible for the water​


6.23 conditioning contractor's compliance with this part, chapter 4714, Minnesota Statutes,​


6.24 sections 326B.50 to 326B.59, and all orders issued under Minnesota Statutes, section​


6.25 326B.082 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible water​
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7.1 conditioning licensed master or master plumber must give a minimum 15-day notice to the​


7.2 water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the responsible water​


7.3 conditioning licensed master or master plumber for the contractor. The contractor and​


7.4 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber must immediately notify​


7.5 the department upon the termination or separation of the contractor's responsible water​


7.6 conditioning licensed master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall​


7.7 have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous responsible water conditioning​


7.8 licensed master or master plumber to employ another responsible water conditioning licensed​


7.9 master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written notification​


7.10 to the department that it has designated a different water conditioning responsible licensed​


7.11 master or master plumber as the individual responsible for the contractor's compliance with​


7.12 this part, chapter 4714, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. If the water​


7.13 conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible water conditioning​


7.14 licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning contractor's license is invalid​


7.15 and the contractor shall cease and desist from performing any water conditioning work and​


7.16 return the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement​


7.17 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning​


7.18 contractor may request reinstatement of the terminated license under Minnesota Statutes,​


7.19 section 326B.096.​


7.20 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​


7.21 Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning​


7.22 journeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner.​


7.23 An applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker examination must have been a​


7.24 registered unlicensed water conditioner at all times while obtaining at least six months of​


7.25 practical experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitem (2), except as permitted in subpart​


7.26 4, item A, subitem (4). The applicant is responsible for verifying practical experience.​
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8.1 Subp. 4. Experience. For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2​


8.2 and 3, the following requirements apply.​


8.3 [For text of items A to C, see M.R.]​


8.4 D. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner:​


8.5 (1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner​


8.6 at all times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience, except as allowed​


8.7 under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, subdivision 2; and​


8.8 (2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed​


8.9 water conditioning master who is responsible for the work performed. Practical water​


8.10 conditioning experience includes installation, servicing, and training hours. The commissioner​


8.11 may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to​


8.12 evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy​


8.13 and acceptability of an applicant's experience.​


8.14 E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed​


8.15 water conditioner is responsible for:​


8.16 (1) recording the practical water conditioning experience worked by each​


8.17 employee; and​


8.18 (2) maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience for at​


8.19 least six years after the employee's last recorded experience.​


8.20 [For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]​


8.21 4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION.​


8.22 Subpart 1. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a registered unlicensed​


8.23 water conditioner until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to​


8.24 the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from​
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9.1 July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal​


9.2 registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period​


9.3 on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A​


9.4 registered unlicensed water conditioner who submits a registration application after July 1​


9.5 in any year must pay the renewal fee plus the required late fee.​


9.6 A. A registered unlicensed water conditioner must be at least 18 years of age or​


9.7 a high school graduate, except that a registered unlicensed water conditioner employed and​


9.8 supervised by the registered unlicensed water conditioner's parent must be at least 16 years​


9.9 of age.​


9.10 B. An applicant for registration under this part must provide a name, address, date​


9.11 of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and practical water​


9.12 conditioning experience on a form provided by the commissioner.​


9.13 4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS.​


9.14 Subpart 1. Continuing education; content.​


9.15 A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​


9.16 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain 16 hours of continuing​


9.17 education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​


9.18 (1) master plumber;​


9.19 (2) journeyworker plumber; and​


9.20 (3) restricted plumber.​


9.21 At least 12 eight hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, and at least four​


9.22 hours of instruction must pertain to the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​


9.23 technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, this chapter, the Minnesota​


9.24 State Building Code, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.49 326B.59.​
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10.1 Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must not exceed four hours​


10.2 during the renewal period comply with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​


10.3 B. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​


10.4 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain four hours of​


10.5 continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​


10.6 (1) water conditioning master; and​


10.7 (2) water conditioning journeyworker.​


10.8 At least two hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remainder must​


10.9 pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water conditioning installation and​


10.10 servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. Continuing​


10.11 education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply with Minnesota Statutes,​


10.12 sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​


10.13 C. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​


10.14 individuals who hold the following registration types are required to obtain continuing​


10.15 education instruction during the registration period before the registration can be renewed:​


10.16 (1) registered unlicensed plumbers; and​


10.17 (2) registered unlicensed water conditioners.​


10.18 The registered unlicensed plumber must obtain at least two hours of continuing education​


10.19 instruction that must pertain to the Plumbing Code.​


10.20 The registered unlicensed water conditioner must obtain at least two hours of continuing​


10.21 education instruction. At least one hour of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​


10.22 and the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water​


10.23 conditioning installation and servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50​
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11.1 to 326B.59. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply​


11.2 with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​


11.3 C D. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter​


11.4 326B, an applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain​


11.5 four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the​


11.6 certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical​


11.7 topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems, this chapter,​


11.8 NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438.​


11.9 D E. In addition to satisfying the requirements of part 4716.0097 and Minnesota​


11.10 Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following certifications are required to​


11.11 obtain the following continuing education during the certification period before the certificate​


11.12 may be renewed:​


11.13 (1) a backflow prevention rebuilder shall meet the minimum requirements​


11.14 to recertify in ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130; and​


11.15 (2) a backflow prevention tester shall meet the minimum requirements to​


11.16 recertify in ASSE Standard 5110.​


11.17 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​
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R-04365 Dual Notice 

Minnesota Plumbing Board 
 
DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or 
More Persons Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for 
Hearing Are Received; Revisor’s ID Number R04365 
 

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, 
Chapter 4716 
 

Introduction. The Minnesota Plumbing Board intends to adopt rules without a public 
hearing following the procedures in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, 
Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or more persons submit a written 
request for a hearing on the rules by 4:30 p.m. on December 28, 2018, the Board will hold a 
public hearing in Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road 
North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, starting at 9:30 a.m. on Friday, January 11, 2019. To find out 
whether the Board will adopt the rules without a hearing or if it will hold the hearing, you should 
contact the agency contact person after December 28, 2018, and before January 11, 2019. 
 

Agency Contact Person. Submit any comments or questions on the rules or written 
requests for a public hearing to the agency contact person. The agency contact person is: 
Suzanne Todnem at Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. 
Paul, MN 55155, (651) 284-5006 dli.rules@state.mn.us.  
 

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules are about the registration 
of unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed 
individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of both plumbers and water 
conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered 
unlicensed individuals.  

 
The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.435, 

326B.47, and 326B.555. A copy of the proposed rules is available on the Board’s website at 
https://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716. 
A free copy of the rules is available upon request from the agency contact person listed above. 
 

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 2018, to submit written 
comment in support of or in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. 
Your comment must be in writing and received by the agency contact person by the due date. 
Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the proposed rules 
addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. You are encouraged to 
propose any change that you desire. Any comments that you have about the legality of the 
proposed rules must also be made during this comment period. 
 

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that 
the Board hold a hearing on the rules. You must make your request for a public hearing in 
writing, which the agency contact person must receive by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, December 28, 
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2018. You must include your name and address in your written request. In addition, you must 
identify the portion of the proposed rules that you object to or state that you oppose the entire set 
of rules. Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not valid and the agency 
cannot count it when determining whether it must hold a public hearing. You are also 
encouraged to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made to the proposed 
rules. 
 

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a 
hearing, the Board will hold a public hearing unless a sufficient number of persons withdraw 
their requests in writing. If enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number 
below 25, the agency must give written notice of this to all persons who requested a hearing, 
explain the actions the agency took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on 
this action. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. 

 
Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this information can be made 

available in an alternative format, such as large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or 
if you need an accommodation to make this hearing accessible, please contact the agency contact 
person at the address or telephone number listed above. 
 

Modifications. The Board might modify the proposed rules, either as a result of public 
comment or as a result of the rule hearing process. It must support modifications by data and 
views submitted to the agency or presented at the hearing. The adopted rules may not be 
substantially different than these proposed rules unless the Board follows the procedure under 
Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, the Board 
encourages you to participate in the rulemaking process. 
 

Cancellation of Hearing. The Board will cancel the hearing scheduled for January 11, 
2019, if the agency does not receive requests for a hearing from 25 or more persons. If you 
requested a public hearing, the agency will notify you before the scheduled hearing whether the 
hearing will be held. You may also call the agency contact person at 651.284.5006 after 
December 28, 2018, to find out whether the hearing will be held. You may check for whether the 
hearing will be held by going on-line at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-4716.  
 

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit valid written requests for a public 
hearing on the rules, the Board will hold a hearing following the procedures in Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The Board will hold the hearing on the date and at the time 
and place listed above. The hearing will continue until all interested persons have been heard. 
Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman is assigned to conduct the hearing. Judge Lipman can 
be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert Street, P.O. Box 64620, 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, telephone (651) 361-7875, and fax (651) 539-0310. 
 

Hearing Procedure. If the Board holds a hearing, you and all interested or affected 
persons, including representatives of associations or other interested groups, will have an 
opportunity to participate. You may present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing 
at any time before the hearing record closes. All evidence presented should relate to the proposed 
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rules. You may also submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in 
the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends. At the hearing the 
Administrative Law Judge may order that this five-day comment period is extended for a longer 
period but not more than 20 calendar days. Following the comment period, there is a five-
working-day rebuttal period when the agency and any interested person may respond in writing 
to any new information submitted. No one may submit new evidence during the five-day rebuttal 
period. The Office of Administrative Hearings must receive all comments and responses 
submitted to the Administrative Law Judge via the Office of Administrative Hearings 
Rulemaking e-comments website at https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions no 
later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses received will be available for 
review at the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry or on the agency’s website at 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-minnesota-rules-
4716. This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 
to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. You may direct questions about 
the procedure to the Administrative Law Judge. 
 

The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the 
Administrative Law Judge before the hearing or during the comment or rebuttal period also 
submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact person at the address stated 
above. 
 

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. The statement of need and reasonableness 
summarizes the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be 
affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. It is 
now available from the agency contact person. You may review or obtain copies for the cost of 
reproduction by contacting the agency contact person. Or, you may access a free copy on the 
agency’s website at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-department/rulemaking/rulemaking-docket-
minnesota-rules-4716. 
 

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to 
register with the State Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Ask any questions about 
this requirement of the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board at: Suite #190, 
Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651) 539-1180 or 
1-800-657-3889. 
 

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the 
rules after the end of the comment period. The Board will submit the rules and supporting 
documents to the Office of Administrative Hearings for a legal review. You may ask to be 
notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office. If you want either to receive notice of 
this, to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or to register with the agency to receive notice of 
future rule proceedings, submit your request to the agency contact person listed above. 
 

Adoption Procedure after a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing 
record, the Administrative Law Judge will issue a report on the proposed rules. You may ask to 
be notified of the date that the Administrative Law Judge’s report will become available, and can 
make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law Judge. You may also ask 
to be notified of the date that the agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the 
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Secretary of State by requesting this at the hearing or by writing to the agency contact person 
stated above. 

 
 
Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed 

above. 
 
 

 
      ________________________________________ 
November 13, 2018    Richard Jacobs 

Chair, Minnesota Plumbing Board  
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Minnesota Plumbing Board 

STATEMENT OF NEED AND REASONABLENESS 

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, chapter 

4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365 

INTRODUCTION 

The Minnesota Plumbing Board (“Board”) intends to adopt rules regulating the registration of 

unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed 

individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of both plumbers and water 

conditioners, and continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered 

unlicensed individuals.    

In 2017, the Minnesota Legislature granted the Board rulemaking authority over a new category 

of registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation and authorized 

the Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.1  Additionally, the 

Minnesota Legislature newly granted the Board authority to regulate continuing education 

requirements for all registered unlicensed individuals.2   

There are two notable changes in the proposed rule amendments. First, the Board’s proposed 

amendments provide the requirements for the registration of unlicensed water conditioners 

(registration of unlicensed plumbers is already in rule). The Board anticipates that some 

registered unlicensed individuals will apply their work experience to pursue licensure while 

some registered unlicensed individuals will not.  The proposed rules facilitate the Department’s 

tracking of individuals’ work experience to determine when individuals have obtained sufficient 

experience to qualify them to take the appropriate licensing exam. Second, the proposed rules 

require minimal continuing education hours for registered unlicensed individuals to ensure they 

stay current with industry and Plumbing Code changes.   

The Board published a Request for Comments on October 30, 2017. In response to the Request 

for Comments, the Board received one comment that requested that the Board support legislation 

that would change the licensing requirements for backflow prevention assembly rebuilders in 

Minnesota. The Board received 61 comments about the continuing education requirements for 

registered unlicensed plumbers.3 The Board addressed those concerns at Board meetings and in 

the rule-by-rule analysis below.4  

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (“Department”) is required to provide support 

to the Board, including for rulemaking.5   

1 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 14. This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
2 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 8.  This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
3 All comments submitted in response to the Request for Comments are available here 

http://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/4716-comment.pdf.  
4 See Board meeting minutes for March 12, 2018; June 12, 2018, August 28, 2018 at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-

department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board  
5 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2(c) (2018). 
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ALTERNATIVE FORMAT 
 

Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 

print, braille, or audio. To make a request, contact Suzanne Todnem at the Department of Labor 

and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-4342, or by telephone 651-284-

5006, or email to:  dli.rules@state.mn.us.  

 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 
 

The Board’s statutory authority to adopt rules related to licensure, certification, or registration is 

stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(5), which authorizes the Board to: 

 

adopt rules that regulate the licensure, certification, or registration of plumbing 

contractors, journeyworkers, unlicensed individuals, master plumbers, restricted master 

plumbers, restricted journeyworkers, restricted plumbing contractors, backflow 

prevention rebuilders and testers, water conditioning contractors, and water conditioning 

installers, and other persons engaged in the design, installation, and alteration of 

plumbing systems or engaged in or working at the business of water conditioning 

installation or service, or engaged in or working at the business of medical gas system 

installation, maintenance, or repair, except for those individuals licensed under section 

326.02, subdivisions 2 and 3.  

 

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(6) was amended in 2017 to authorize the Board 

to adopt rules regulating continuing education for registered unlicensed individuals.  Specifically, 

the Board has the authority to “adopt rules that regulate continuing education for individuals 

licensed as master plumbers, journeyworker plumbers, restricted master plumbers, restricted 

journeyworker plumbers, registered unlicensed individuals, water conditioning masters, and 

water conditioning journeyworkers, and for individuals certified under sections 326B.437 and 

326B.438.”6 While the Board’s authority to regulate continuing education for licensed 

individuals is not new, the authority to regulate continuing education for registered unlicensed 

individuals is new.  

 

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subd. 3, authorizes the Board to prescribe rules for the 

registration of unlicensed individuals.7 The Board has been regulating registered unlicensed 

individuals who perform plumbing as a different classification than plumber’s apprentices since 

2010.8  

 

                                                           
6See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2 (2018). 

 
7See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 3 (2018). 

 
8 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/ and Minn. R. part 4716.0050. 
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Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, which was enacted in 2017, creates a new category of 

registered unlicensed individuals to perform water conditioning installation and authorizes the 

Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.9 

 

Because specific portions of the Board’s rulemaking authority was new in 2017, effective August 

1, 2017, those portions are subject to the 18-month time limit in Minnesota Statutes, section 

14.125. The Board will publish a notice of intent to adopt rules or a notice of hearing within 18 

months of the effective date.  

 

Under these statutes, the Board has the necessary statutory authority to adopt the proposed rules. 

 

REGULATORY ANALYSIS 
 

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, sets out eight factors for a regulatory analysis that must be 

included in the SONAR. Paragraphs (1) through (8) below quote these factors and then give the 

agency’s response. 

 

(1) a description of the classes of persons who probably will be affected by the proposed 

rule, including classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will 

benefit from the proposed rule 
 

The proposed amendments to the rules would likely affect individuals and contractors currently 

licensed, certified or registered in Minnesota under Chapter 4716; individuals and contractors 

who would like to be licensed, certified or registered under Chapter 4716; individuals who 

perform water conditioning installation but are not licensed, certified or registered; providers of 

continuing education courses; and the general public. 

 

(2) the probable costs to the agency and to any other agency of the implementation and 

enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues 
 

Although the Board has the authority to adopt plumbing licensing rules, it does not implement or 

enforce the licensing rules. The Department currently administers and enforces the licensing 

rules. Any additional costs the Department incurs to implement and enforce the proposed rules 

will be offset by additional registration fees collected from registered unlicensed individuals. The 

Department does not anticipate increased costs to administer the rule except for the newly 

regulated individuals. The costs to enforce registration of the newly regulated individuals will be 

offset by the registration fees.  

 

(3) a determination of whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for 

achieving the purpose of the proposed rule 
 

The Board has determined there is no less costly or less intrusive method for achieving the 

purposes of the proposed rules. The proposed rule utilizes existing infrastructure for licensing, 

                                                           
9See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/ . This 

law became effective August 1, 2017. 
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registration and enforcement. The proposed rules are anticipated to be less intrusive and reduce 

some costs of compliance compared to the current rule. For example, licensed plumbers may 

take all of the required continuing education using electronic media. Also, a one-day continuing 

education course on the Plumbing Code satisfies the minimum Code-related continuing 

education requirement instead of a two-day course on the Plumbing Code (or 1.5-day course) 

because the minimum requirement for Code-related continuing education has been changed from 

12 hours to 8 hours.  

 

(4) a description of any alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule 

that were seriously considered by the agency and the reasons why they were rejected in 

favor of the proposed rule 
 

No alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule were identified.  The 

Board determined that the existing requirements and procedures used have been successful and 

should be maintained. The same or similar procedures are used in other similar industries as well.  

 

(5) the probable costs of complying with the proposed rule, including the portion of the 

total costs that will be borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate 

classes of governmental units, businesses, or individuals 
 

The probable costs of complying with the proposed rule are anticipated to be minimal. 

Registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning work will be subject to the 

same $14 initial registration fee and $19 renewal registration fee that registered unlicensed 

plumbers and electricians are currently required to pay. Other regulated parties under this 

proposed rule are anticipated to see the same or lower costs to comply with the proposed rule.  

 

(6) the probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule, including those 

costs or consequences borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate 

classes of government units, businesses, or individuals 
 

The probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule are fewer avenues for 

unlicensed individuals to qualify for journeyworker licensing exams and fewer work options for 

individuals seeking employment in the water conditioning industry, which could limit the pool of 

qualified workers available to businesses that provide water conditioning services to the public. 

 

Another consequence of not adopting the proposed rule is that the Board would lose its statutory 

authority to regulate certain parties. The legislature would then need to pass new legislation, 

which may have costs associated with it. Without rules to address the newly regulated party in 

statute, there would be confusion for anyone interested in hiring or becoming a registered 

unlicensed water conditioner.  

 

(7) an assessment of any differences between the proposed rule and existing federal 

regulations and a specific analysis of the need for and reasonableness of each difference 
 

There are no federal regulations that apply. 
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(8) an assessment of the cumulative effect of the rule with other federal and state 

regulations related to the specific purpose of the rule. . . . ‘[C]umulative effect’ means the 

impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in addition to other rules, 

regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules. Cumulative effects 

can result from individually minor but collectively significant rules adopted over a period 

of time. 

The proposed rules cover areas that are not addressed by federal law or other Minnesota 

state laws. Therefore, this consideration is not applicable to this proposed rule. 
 

PERFORMANCE-BASED RULES 
 

The Board carefully considered the directives of the legislature requiring performance-based 

standards to the extent possible. Because this is a licensing rule and not a code, performance-

based and prescriptive are not applicable. However, to the extent possible, the Board considered 

and discussed performance and prescriptive elements. The proposed rules are prescriptive in that 

they establish a specific number of continuing education hour requirements for registered 

unlicensed individuals. The proposed rules are as performance-based as possible by allowing 

flexibility in the method and topics of continuing education while remaining clear and 

enforceable.  

 

ADDITIONAL NOTICE 
 

This Additional Notice Plan was reviewed by the Office of Administrative Hearings and 

approved in a November 1, 2018 Order on Review of Additional Notice Plan and Dual Notice by 

Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman. 

 

Our Notice Plan also includes giving notice required by statute. We will mail or e-mail the 

Notice of Intent to Adopt to everyone who has registered to be on the Department’s rulemaking 

mailing list under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.14, subdivision 1a. We will also give notice to 

the Legislature per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.116. We will also e-mail the rules and Notice 

of Intent to Adopt to the following organizations and trade groups: 

 

a. Associated Builders and Contractors  

b. Local chapter of the Association of Minnesota Building Officials (AMBO) 

c. Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association 

d. Association of General Contractors of Minnesota 

e. Builders Association of Minnesota (BAM) 

f. Builders Association of the Twin Cities 

g. Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association 

h. Minnesota Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors Association 

i. American Society of Plumbing Engineers – Minnesota Chapter 

j. American Society of Civil Engineers – Minnesota Section 

k. Association of Minnesota Counties 

l. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), Minneapolis 

m. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), St. Paul 

n. League of Minnesota Cities 
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o. American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota

p. Minnesota Pipe Trades Association

q. Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division

r. Minnesota Water Quality Association (MWQA)

s. Minnesota Society of Professional Engineers (MNSPE)

Our Notice Plan did not include notifying the Commissioner of Agriculture because the rules do 

not affect farming operations per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.111. 

CONSULTATION WITH MMB ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT IMPACT 

As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, the Board consulted with Minnesota 

Management and Budget (MMB). The Board did this by sending MMB copies of the documents 

that we sent to the Governor’s Office for review and approval on the same day we sent them to 

the Governor’s office. We did this before publishing the Notice of Intent to Adopt. The 

documents included: the Governor’s Office Proposed Rule and SONAR Form; the proposed 

rules; and the near-final SONAR. MMB Executive Budget Officer Marianne Conboy responded, 

in part, as follows in a letter dated October 31, 2018: “There appears to be no direct fiscal impact 

or fiscal benefit from this rule amendment to local units of government.” 

Because local governments are not actively engaged in the regulation of businesses and 

individuals in the plumbing and water conditioning industry, the financial impact to them is 

minimal.  To the extent that local governments inspect the installation of water conditioning 

systems, the proposed rules might improve the inspection process by enhancing the knowledge 

of individuals working in the industry.   

The Board will submit a copy of the cover correspondence and the response received from MMB 

to OAH at the hearing or with the documents it submits for Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) 

review.  

DETERMINATION ABOUT RULES REQUIRING LOCAL IMPLEMENTATION 

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.128 requires agencies to determine whether a local government 

will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply with a proposed 

agency rule and submit this determination for ALJ approval. An agency must make this 

determination before the close of the hearing record or before the agency submits the record 

to the administrative law judge if there is no hearing. The Board has determined that no 

local government will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply 

with the proposed rule. Plumber and water conditioner licensing and registration is enforced 

at the state level so no local government or municipality will be required to adopt or amend 

a local ordinance as a result of the proposed rule.  
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COST OF COMPLYING FOR SMALL BUSINESS OR CITY 
 

Agency Determination of Cost 
 

As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.127, the Board has considered whether the cost of 

complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will exceed $25,000 

for any small business or small city.10  The Board asked the public to submit comments 

specifically regarding whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after the rule 

takes effect will exceed $25,000 in the Request for Comments published on October 30, 2017. 

The Board did not receive any comments addressing this issue. The Board has determined that 

the cost of complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will not 

exceed $25,000 for any small business or small city.   

 

The proposed rule amendments are anticipated to keep the cost of complying with the rule the 

same or less with the exception of the continuing education requirements for registered 

unlicensed individuals (water conditioners and plumbers). 

 

Small cities are not anticipated to incur any costs. It is not anticipated that a small city would 

employ a registered unlicensed individual. Therefore, even if there are minimal increased costs 

for registered unlicensed individuals or employers of registered unlicensed individuals, small 

cities will not be affected. Furthermore, because plumber and water conditioner licensing is 

administered and enforced at the state level, it is not anticipated that any city, including a small 

city, would incur any costs to comply with the proposed rule from an administrative perspective.   

 

Small businesses already have to track the hours worked by their individual employees so there 

is no additional cost anticipated in the normal course of maintaining employment records.11 

 

The rule does not require employers to pay the registration costs or continuing education costs. 

However, if the employer chooses to pay the registration cost, assuming all possible employees 

are registered unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost for a small business would be 

$19 x 49 employees12 = $931, which is well below the $25,000 threshold.13  

 

The average cost for a two-hour continuing education course is $ 49.00.14 Again, the cost for two 

hours of continuing education may be paid by the registrant or the employer. If the employer 

chooses to pay this cost, again assuming the maximum number of employees are registered 

unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost, on average, would be $ 49.00 x 49 employees 

= $ 2,401.00. This total is again well below the $25,000 threshold. The combined total of annual 

                                                           
10 A small business is defined as “any one business that has less than 50 full-time employees” and a small city is 

defined as “any one statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees.” Minn. Stat. § 

14.127, subd. 1 (2018).  
11 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c) (2018).  
12 At least one employee would have to be a licensed journeyworker or master plumber. This example is for 

illustrative purposes only. A small business is unlikely to have 49 registered unlicensed individuals.  
13 The initial registration fee is currently set at $14 per registrant and the annual renewal fee is $19. For illustrative 

purposes, the estimate uses only the renewal fee, which is the higher of the two fees.  
14 See Attachment A.  
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registration fees and continuing education costs is approximately $ 3,332.00, which is well below 

the $25,000 threshold.  

 

LIST OF WITNESSES 
 

If these rules go to a public hearing, the Department anticipates having the following witnesses 

testify in support of the need for and reasonableness of the rules: 

1. Mr. Richard Jacobs, Plumbing Board Chair, will testify about the Board’s interest 

in amending the code. 

2. Mr. Charlie Durenberger, Assistant Director, CCLD, will testify about the 

technical aspects of the proposed amendments. 

3. Other Board members or Department of Labor and Industry staff, if necessary. 

 

RULE-BY-RULE ANALYSIS 
 

4716.0010 DEFINITIONS 

 

The proposed rule amendment adds a subpart 6 to codify the term, “Registered unlicensed 

plumber.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and assist in plumbing have 

been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, the proposed rule amendment formally 

names and clarifies this category of individuals.15   

 

4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS 

 

Subpart 1. Examinations.  
The proposed rule amendment deletes language that states two specific times of the year in 

which journeyworker and master plumber licensing exams will be held. The Department began 

offering journeyworker and master plumber licensing examinations on a weekly basis several 

years ago in an effort to increase the availability of exams to those seeking licensure.  As result, 

the current rule requirement that exams be given in March and September is outdated and no 

longer necessary. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it 

modernizes the rule part and deletes unnecessary language.  

 

Subpart 1(A)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment clarifies that an applicant for the master plumber examination 

must have worked as a licensed journeyworker plumber for at least one year before he or she can 

qualify to take the master plumber license examination. The current language that an applicant 

for the master plumber examination be a licensed Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and 

have “five years of practical plumbing experience” has the same meaning because four years of 

practical plumbing experience is required to qualify for the journeyworker plumber examination 

and the fifth year comes the year after an individual becomes a licensed journeyworker plumber. 

The proposed rule states that requirement more clearly.  

 

 

 

                                                           
15 See Minn. Laws, 2010  c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/  
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Subpart 1(B)(1)  

The proposed rule amendment clarifies the distinction between a plumber’s apprentice defined in 

Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, and the registered unlicensed plumber, which is a newly 

formalized term.16 See 4716.0010 analysis above. The requirement is substantively the same but 

clarifies the two categories of applicants and clarifies that the four years of practical plumbing 

experience must be recorded as required in Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c).  

 

Subp. 2. Experience 

 

Subpart 2(E) 

The proposed rule amendment corrects the subitems referenced here to correspond with the 

proposed rule below. 

 

Subpart 2(E)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 

qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 

(c).  

 

Subpart 2(E)(3)  

The current rule requires applicants who are licensed restricted journeyworker plumbers or 

licensed restricted master plumbers to have completed the entire two years of practical plumbing 

experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination. The proposed rule 

amendment deletes subitem 3 because removing this timeframe encourages licensed restricted 

journeyworker plumbers and licensed restricted master plumbers to take the regular licensed 

journeyworker plumber and licensed master plumber examinations. The proposed rule 

amendment broadens the pool of possible applicants. A shortage of skilled laborers is anticipated 

according to industry experts and economists.17 The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 

reasonable because the applicants are still subject to examination to ensure competent licensed 

plumbers.  

 

Subpart 2(F) 

The proposed rule amendment deletes reference to plumber’s apprentice and replaces it with 

registered unlicensed plumber because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation 

subject to subitems (1) and (2) that follow. Because a registered plumber’s apprentice, as defined 

in Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, is part of a formal, approved apprenticeship, subitems (1) and 

(2) are moot issues to them. The proposed rule amendment also corrects the subitems referenced 

here to correspond with the proposed rule below. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 

reasonable because the distinction between a registered plumber’s apprentice and registered 

unlicensed plumber should be clear.  

 

                                                           
16 Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6 (2018) provides a definition of “plumber’s apprentice and defines it as “any 

individual who is employed in the practical installation of plumbing under an apprenticeship agreement approved by 

the department under section 178.07.” 
17 See https://mn.gov/deed/data/data-tools/employment-outlook/; 

https://mn.gov/deed/newscenter/publications/review/june-2018/job-outlook-2026.jsp; 

https://www.bls.gov/ooh/construction-and-extraction/plumbers-pipefitters-and-steamfitters.htm; and 

http://www.startribune.com/worse-than-dating-twin-cities-builders-go-all-out-to-find-workers/432561123/.   
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Subpart 2(F)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 

qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 

(c).  

 

Subpart 2(F)(2) 

The proposed rule amendment deletes the reference to subitem (3) because subitem (3) is deleted 

in the proposed rule. Again, the reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “unlicensed 

plumber” is added because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation subject to 

subitems (1) and (2) that follow.  

 

The proposed rule amendment provides for alternate options for an applicant to have obtained 

the practical plumbing experience as listed in items (a) through (c). The alternate options are 

substantively the same as the language that is deleted in subpart 2(F)(3). The language was 

removed from subitem (3) and moved to subitem (2) because combining subitems (2) and (3) 

into one subitem, and removing the timing requirements in subitem (3), clarifies the two avenues 

through which an applicant may obtain the practical plumbing experience. That is, the practical 

experience must be obtained as a registered unlicensed plumber or through one of the ways listed 

in (2)(a) through (c). There is minimal substantive change to subitems (2) and (3) as the intent is 

to clarify the different acceptable ways to obtain the practical plumbing experience.  

 

Subpart 2(G) 

The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference numbering to reflect the proposed 

amendments. For example, the reference to subitem (3) is replaced with subitem “(2), units (a) to 

(c)” because the proposed rule amendment moves the content in subitem (3) to subitem (2), units 

(a) to (c). The word “master” is added and “or plumbing contractor” is deleted because a 

plumbing contractor is a business entity and a human being must provide the certification. The 

reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “registered unlicensed plumber” is added to 

be consistent with the proposed amendments above.  

                

4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES 

 

Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration 

The proposed rule amendment provides consistency for all journeyworker licensees and master 

licensees and aligns the rules with Minnesota Statutes.18 The proposed rule amendment 

simplifies the renewal of journeyworker plumber and master plumber licenses. All 

journeyworker plumber licenses will expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years rather than 

on anniversary dates of license issuance. All master plumber licenses will expire on December 

31 of even-numbered years. The Department can provide more efficient administration and 

enforcement of the licensing rules, thereby keeping enforcement costs, and therefore license fees, 

down. Individual licensees and the Department benefit from the proposed change.  

 

The renewal window for restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers was changed 

from 12 months to within “two years of the license expiration” to grant restricted license holders 

                                                           
18 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.49, subd. 1(b) (2018). This statute was amended in 2016. See Minn. Laws, 2016 c 189 art 

8 sec 3.  
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additional time to renew their license before permanently forfeiting their restricted plumber 

license. Because failing to renew timely results in permanent forfeiture, it is reasonable to grant 

license holders more than 12 months to renew. The two-year time period to renew is consistent 

with the renewal period for licensed journeyworker and master plumbers. Restricted 

journeyworker and restricted master plumber licenses are relatively few in number and are a 

holdover from the transition from no licensure in cities with populations less than 5,000 to 

statewide plumber licensing in 2005.  Restricted plumber licenses were granted to individuals 

who were performing plumbing at the time of the transition and who performed plumbing work 

in municipalities with a population under 5,000.  A plumber holding a restricted license may not 

perform plumbing work in municipalities with a population over 5,000. No new restricted 

plumber licenses have been granted since the transition period. Once a restricted license is 

forfeited, it cannot be reinstated or renewed.  

Subpart 2. License renewals 

The proposed rule amendment clarifies that license renewal applications must be submitted by 

December 31 of the year in which the license expires to be a timely renewal.  

The proposed rule amends the timeframe in which a restricted journeyworker or restricted master 

plumber must pay the past due renewal fee to coordinate with the two year timeframe proposed 

in subpart 1 above.  

4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER’S APPRENTICE 

The proposed rule amends the title of this rule part to “REGISTRATION OF REGISTERED  

UNLICENSED PLUMBER.” The proposed rule amendment aligns the title with the title change 

to Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, which was changed from “Plumber’s Apprentices” to “Unlicensed 

Individuals” in 2010.19 This amendment is reasonable because chapter 4716 regulates registered 

unlicensed plumbers but not registered plumber’s apprentices who are part of a formal 

apprenticeship program. The formal distinction between a plumber’s apprentice and a registered 

unlicensed plumber is relatively new.20 Rule titles are not enforceable but the title change adds 

clarity to the rule part particularly since the rule specifically states that it does not apply to 

registered plumber’s apprentices.   

Subpart 1. Scope. 

The proposed rule amendment updates and corrects this subpart. The proposed rule amendment 

updates the word “shall (not)” with “does (not)” because “shall (not)” is not grammatically 

correct. Also, the change to “does (not)” modernizes the language and is plain language. The 

proposed rule amendment corrects the referenced statute cite. The current rule refers to 

“Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1)” however, there is no such clause 

(1). The correct cite format is Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 

Emphasis added. The proposed rule amendment changes the plural “plumber’s apprentices” to 

singular for consistency with the rest of the rule chapter.   

19 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/ 
20 Id.  
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Subp. 2. Registration requirements 

The proposed rule amendments change all “plumber’s apprentice” references to “registered 

unlicensed plumber.” Plumber’s apprentices are regulated under the formal, approved 

apprenticeship agreement subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 178 and related rule chapters. 

The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it uses terminology that is 

consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 and other proposed amendments in this rule chapter.  

4716.0091 DEFINITIONS 

Subpart 1. Scope. 

The proposed rule amendment adds “Subpart 1. Scope” because now that a second subpart is 

added, it is necessary and reasonable to number and title the subpart. When it was the only 

subpart in this section, it was not necessary to number and title it.  

 Subpart 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner 

The proposed rule amendment adds this subpart to establish and define the term, “Registered 

unlicensed water conditioner.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and 

assist in plumbing have been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, registered 

unlicensed water conditioners is a newly established category of regulated parties per the 2017 

legislature.21 It is necessary and reasonable to establish and define this terms that identifies the 

legislature’s newly regulated category of individuals.   

4716.0092 LICENSURE 

Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. 

The proposed rule amendment reduces redundant language and thereby provides clarity and 

consistency with the current Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subds. 1a and 2a.  The proposed rule 

amendment replaces all references to “water conditioning master or master plumber” with 

“responsible licensed master” because “responsible licensed master” is a term already defined in 

Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subd. 1a and the definition requires the individual to be a “water 

conditioning master or licensed master plumber.” All the language that the proposed rule 

amendment deletes is deleted because it is addressed by using the defined term “responsible 

licensed master.”  There is no substantive change to the rule part.  

Subpart 3. Water conditioning journeyworker.  

The proposed rule amendment adds that, in addition to the six months of practical experience and 

passing an exam, an applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker license must be a 

registered unlicensed water conditioner in Minnesota except as permitted in subpart 4, item A, 

subitem (4). The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable to ensure that the 

qualifying experience is obtained under proper qualified conditions and is consistent with Minn. 

Stat. § 326B.555.  

Subpart 4. Experience. 

Subpart 4 provides specific requirements for the experience needed in subparts 2 and 3. There 

are no proposed amendments to items A through C. Items D and E are new to provide the 

21 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/. 
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specific experience requirements for registered unlicensed water conditioners and the employer 

of the registered unlicensed water conditioner and water conditioning journeyworker. The 

statutory authority to regulate registered unlicensed water conditioners is new. Therefore, this 

formalized category of regulated individuals is new, thus, the new items in this subpart. Items A 

through C detail the requirements for other required experiences listed in subparts 2 and 3.  

 

Subpart 4(D)(1) 

The proposed rule amendment is new to address the newly formalized category of registered 

unlicensed water conditioner and what is expected of those applicants. The proposed rule 

amendment clearly states the requirement (to be a registered unlicensed water conditioner while 

obtaining the practical water conditioning experience) and clarifies that the exception in Minn. 

Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, applies here.  This is necessary and reasonable because it should be 

clear what is expected of the regulated parties, what other permissions apply to the requirement 

and is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. The exception in Minn. Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, 

grants flexibility to applicants.   

 

Subpart 4(D)(2) 

The proposed rule amendment clarifies what is required of the licensed water conditioning 

master who is responsible for certifying the work performed by the registered unlicensed water 

conditioner. It is necessary and reasonable to clearly state the requirements. The requirements are 

reasonable and consistent with the requirements in Minn. R. part 4716.0020, subp. 2, and Minn. 

R. part 4716.0092, subp. 4(C), while tailored to the water conditioner licensing requirements. 

The proposed rule amendment is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555.  

 

Subpart 4(E)(1) and (2) 

The proposed rule amendment adds recordkeeping requirements for the employers of water 

conditioning journeyworkers and registered unlicensed water conditioners. The proposed rule 

amendment requires the employers to record the practical water conditioning experience worked 

by each employee and to maintain those records for at least six years. The registered unlicensed 

water conditioner needs this record of experience to qualify as an applicant for the 

journeyworker exam and the journeyworker needs the recorded experience to qualify for the 

master exam. It is necessary and reasonable to require the employer to make and maintain these 

records and such requirement is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. It is necessary and 

reasonable for the employer to maintain these records for six years after the employee’s last 

recorded experience because it gives applicants time to take the journeyworker exam after 

completing the training and for the journeyworker to take the master exam. There are a variety of 

reasons why an applicant might be delayed in taking an examination. For example, a medical 

incident or family emergency that delays the applicant from taking the examination. Six years 

balances flexibility for the applicant with minimal burden for the employer. Six years is 

consistent with the record retention requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers in part 

4716.0020, subp. 2(G)(2).  
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4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION 

 

Subpart 1. Registration requirements 

The proposed rule amendment is new to establish the requirements and qualifications to become 

a registered unlicensed water conditioner. For example, the proposed rule amendment requires a 

person to submit an application and fee to the Department annually to become a registered 

unlicensed water conditioner. Registrations are effective from July 1 through June 30 of the 

following year and late renewals require payment of a late fee. This date range is consistent with 

Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and the registered unlicensed plumber registration dates in Minn. R. part 

4716.0050, subp. 2. This is necessary and reasonable because having a set registration period 

makes administration of and compliance with the rule easier and more efficient for both the 

Department who enforces the rule and the registrants complying with the code. This efficiency 

keeps licensing fees down.      

 

The proposed rule amendment establishes reasonable qualifications in items A and B that are 

consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and other similar rules. Specifically, item A requires a 

registered unlicensed water conditioner to be at least 18 years of age or a high school graduate, 

though individuals as young as 16 may register and perform work if they are supervised by the 

individual’s parent. Item B requires applicants for an unlicensed water conditioner registration to 

provide to the Department certain personal information, including Social Security number as 

required by Minn. Stat. § 270C.72.22 These qualifications are consistent with the qualifications 

for registered unlicensed plumbers in Minn. R. part 4716.0050, subp. 2, and Minn. Stat. § 

326B.555. This information is necessary and reasonable for the Department to be able to verify 

individual identities and is consistent with Minnesota Statutes.    

 

4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS 

 

Subpart 1. Continuing education; content. 

Plumbing licensees are currently required to take 16 hours of approved continuing education 

each two-year license period. The proposed rule amendment does not change that total number of 

required hours.  

 

Subpart 1(A) 

The proposed rule amendment lowers the minimum number of continuing education hours that 

must pertain to the Plumbing Code from twelve to eight and allows the remainder of the required 

hours to pertain to the Plumbing Code or technical topics related plumbing installations and 

equipment, Minnesota Rules chapter 4716, the Minnesota State Building Code, or the Plumbing 

and Water Conditioning sections of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B. The proposed rule 

amendment changes only the minimum number of hours that must pertain to the Plumbing Code 

and allows a licensee to obtain all continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code. This is 

necessary and reasonable because eight hours of Plumbing Code instruction will be sufficient for 

some veteran licensed plumbers while newer licensed plumbers might benefit from more 

Plumbing Code instruction hours. The proposed rule amendment allows more flexibility while 

maintaining a high standard of qualifications. The proposed rule amendment is consistent with 

the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 that encourages agencies to develop rules that 

                                                           
22 See Minn. Stat. § 270C.72 (2018).  
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“emphasize superior achievement in meeting the agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum 

flexibility for the regulated party.”23 Because knowledge of the Plumbing Code is essential to 

safe plumbing practices, and the Plumbing Code changes, it is reasonable to require licensed 

individuals have a minimum number of continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code.  

 

The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 

326B.49 to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.59, emphasis added, because the range 

to 326B.49 does not include the water conditioning sections, which are sections 326B.50 through 

326B.59. This also provides additional flexibility in the topics in which licensed plumbers may 

get the required continuing education hours.  

 

The proposed rule amendment allows licensed individuals to tailor their continuing education 

hour topics to their needs while also maintaining high quality continuing education because all 

continuing education courses must be approved, pursuant to Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 

through 4716.0210.  

 

The proposed rule amendment eliminates the current four-hour limit on continuing education 

hours obtained by any electronic media. That is, online continuing education hours are currently 

limited to four of the sixteen. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because 

some licensed plumbers in outstate Minnesota have some challenges with accessing in-person 

continuing education courses that metro area plumbers do not have. For example, there are fewer 

in-person course offerings in outstate Minnesota. Allowing all sixteen continuing education 

hours to be obtained online modernizes the requirement and recognizes the changes and 

improvements in technology. Electronic media standards are established in Minnesota Statutes, 

sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. The online courses must also be approved pursuant to 

Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 through 4716.0210 like any other in-person course. The 

proposed rule amendment is consistent with the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 

that encourages agencies to develop rules that “emphasize superior achievement in meeting the 

agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum flexibility for the regulated party.”   

 

These changes are intended to make it easier and less costly for licensees to obtain the continuing 

education required to maintain licensure while maintaining quality education. Continuing 

education requirements for regulated parties are necessary and reasonable to ensure competency 

and recognizes industry changes in the interest of public health. 

 

Subpart 1(B) 

Licensed water conditioning journeyworkers and masters must obtain four hours of continuing 

education hours per two-year licensing period. The proposed rule amendment deletes 

unnecessary language and adds the requirement that two of the four required continuing 

education hours must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remaining two hours may pertain to 

the Plumbing Code or an existing list of other relevant topics. The proposed rule amendment 

maintains the same number of hours as the current rule and maintains flexibility while ensuring 

licensed water conditioners stay current with the Plumbing Code in addition to technical topics. 

It is necessary and reasonable to require licensed water conditioners to take two hours of 

continuing education on the Plumbing Code because their work is subject to and governed by the 

                                                           
23 See Minn. Stat. § 14.002 (2018).  
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Plumbing Code. Because the scope of their work is not as broad as licensed plumbers, it is 

reasonable that the total number of required continuing education hours is fewer than licensed 

plumbers. Correspondingly, the required minimum number of continuing education hours on the 

Plumbing Code is also fewer than what is required for licensed plumbers.  

 

The proposed rule amendment adds that the continuing education hours may be obtained online, 

subject to the requirements in Minn. Stat. §§ 326B.098 to 326B.099. This proposed amendment 

is consistent with the proposed amendment in subpart 1(A) above.   

 

Subpart 1(C) 

The proposed rule amendment creates a new requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers and 

water conditioners to take two hours of continuing education each year as a condition of 

renewing their registration. Registered unlicensed plumbers must take two hours of continuing 

education on the Plumbing Code because the range of work they may perform is broad and 

includes the entire scope of the Plumbing Code. Registered unlicensed water conditioners must 

take one hour of continuing education on the Plumbing Code and the other hour of continuing 

education may be on the Plumbing Code or a technical topic related to water conditioning 

installation. The scope of the work of a registered unlicensed water conditioner is limited to 

water conditioning so they do not work with the entire Plumbing Code.  

 

For many registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education 

requirement is absorbed into their training toward qualifying for the journeyworker exam in their 

respective field. For other registered unlicensed plumbers and registered unlicensed water 

conditioners who do not intend to take the journeyworker exam in their respective field, this 

requirement ensures they stay current with industry practices and the Plumbing Code.  

 

For both registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education hours 

may be taken online. This requirement will enhance registrants’ knowledge and understanding of 

the Plumbing Code and other information relevant to their work. While field work is important, 

there are tables, calculations and backflow protection of water supply system in the Plumbing 

Code that industry professionals must be aware of and learn about. A continuing education class 

is a setting conducive to learning about certain aspects of the Plumbing Code.   

 

Similarly, registered unlicensed electricians have been required to obtain two hours of continuing 

education every renewal period since 2009.24 It is necessary and reasonable to require a regulated 

party to obtain some continuing education to maintain their registration to ensure competence in 

the interest of public health.  

 

Subpart 1(D) and (E) 

The proposed rule amendment renumbers these paragraphs to reflect the new paragraphs added 

above. There are no substantive changes.  

 

                                                           
24 See Minn. R. 3800.3602 (2018). See also https://www.revisor.mn.gov/state_register/34/15/.   
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CONCLUSION 

Based on the foregoing, the proposed rules are both needed and reasonable. 

_______________________________ 

November 13, 2018 Richard Jacobs 

Plumbing Board Chair 

This Statement of Need and Reasonableness was made available for public review on November 

13, 2018. 
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2-hour Continuing Education  Average Costs

Plumbology* $60.00
Metro Testing & Plumbing** $50.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace)*** - electrical $36.00

Total $146.00

Average $48.67

Continuing Education Average Cost-Per-Hour

# of hours Total cost Average cost per hour
Plumbology* 8 $130.00 $16.25
Plumbology 4 $85.00 $21.25
Plumbology 2 $60.00 $30.00
Metro Testing & Plumbing** 8 $150.00 $18.75
Metro Testing & Plumbing 6 $125.00 $20.83
Metro Testing & Plumbing 2 $50.00 $25.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace)*** 4 $80.00 $20.00
TradesmanCE.com (At Your Pace) 2 $36.00 $18.00
MyPlumbingTraining.com**** 8 $125 (incl. lunch) $15.63
MyPlumbingTraining.com - apprentices 8 $20.00 $2.50

Total $861.00 $18.82

*http://www.plumbologymn.com/register
**https://metrotesting.net/classes/
***https://www.tradesmance.com/minnesota-plumbing-continuing-education
****https://myplumbingtraining.com/onsite_courses

Attachment A
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1.1 Plumbing Board​

1.2 Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Plumbing Licensing​

1.3 4716.0010 DEFINITIONS.​

1.4 [For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.]​

1.5 Subp. 6. Registered unlicensed plumber. "Registered unlicensed plumber" means​

1.6 an individual who performs plumbing work for a contractor or employer, does not hold any​

1.7 class of plumber license, is not a plumber's apprentice as described in Minnesota Statutes,​

1.8 section 326B.42, subdivision 6, and is registered with the commissioner under part​

1.9 4716.0050.​

1.10 4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS.​

1.11 Subpart 1. Examinations. An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted​

1.12 journeyworker or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination​

1.13 given by the commissioner. Examinations for journeyworker and master plumber licenses​

1.14 shall be held in March and September of each year. Applications for the March examination​

1.15 must be filed not later than February 15 and for the September examination not later than​

1.16 August 15.​

1.17 A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:​

1.18 (1) a current Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and five years of​

1.19 practical plumbing experience at least one year of practical plumbing experience as a licensed​

1.20 journeyworker plumber as described in subpart 2;​

1.21 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

1.22 B. An applicant for the journeyworker examination:​

1.23 (1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota as described​

1.24 in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.42, subdivision 6, or must be a registered unlicensed​

1​4716.0020​
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2.1 plumber as described in part 4716.0010, subpart 6, and must have at least four years of​

2.2 recorded practical plumbing experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F;​

2.3 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

2.4 Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience​

2.5 described in subpart 1.​

2.6 [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]​

2.7 E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyworker plumber or a licensed​

2.8 restricted master plumber, subitems (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2.9 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

2.10 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

2.11 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

2.12 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

2.13 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

2.14 work and corresponding number of hours:​

2.15 (a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours;​

2.16 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and​

2.17 (c) fixture installation, 500 hours.​

2.18 [For text of subitem (2), see M.R.]​

2.19 (3) The applicant must have completed the entire two years of practical​

2.20 plumbing experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination.​

2.21 F. If the applicant is a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber, subitems​

2.22 (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2​4716.0020​
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3.1 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

3.2 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

3.3 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

3.4 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

3.5 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

3.6 work and corresponding number of hours:​

3.7 (a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours;​

3.8 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and​

3.9 (c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours.​

3.10 (2) Except for experience qualifying under subitem (3), The applicant must​

3.11 have been a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber at all times while obtaining​

3.12 the practical plumbing experience. or the applicant must have obtained the practical plumbing​

3.13 experience in one of the following ways:​

3.14 (a) during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies​

3.15 the experience;​

3.16 (b) as part of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner,​

3.17 and an authorized representative of the plumbing educational institution certifies the​

3.18 experience; or​

3.19 (c) as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is​

3.20 verified by a state agency that regulates plumbing licensing in that state or by a federal​

3.21 agency.​

3.22 (3) Up to 24 months of practical plumbing experience gained before the​

3.23 effective date of the applicant's initial registration as a plumber's apprentice will be credited​

3.24 if the applicant gained some of the experience during the 12-month period immediately​

3.25 prior to the effective date of the applicant's initial registration and if:​

3​4716.0020​
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4.1 (a) the applicant gained the plumbing experience during military service,​

4.2 and the applicant's military officer certifies the experience;​

4.3 (b) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as part of a plumbing​

4.4 education class approved by the commissioner, and an authorized representative of the​

4.5 educational institution certifies the experience; or​

4.6 (c) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as a plumber's​

4.7 apprentice in another state where the experience is verified by a state agency in that state​

4.8 or by a federal agency.​

4.9 G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (3) (2), units (a) to (c), all practical​

4.10 plumbing experience must be certified by the licensed master plumber or plumbing contractor​

4.11 who is responsible for the work performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the​

4.12 restricted master plumber's own experience. The employer of a journeyworker plumber,​

4.13 restricted master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber, or plumber's apprentice​

4.14 registered unlicensed plumber is responsible for:​

4.15 [For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]​

4.16 4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES.​

4.17 Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration. Initial and renewal renewed journeyworker​

4.18 plumber's licenses and renewed restricted journeyworker plumber's licenses expire on​

4.19 December 31 of each odd-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Initial and renewed​

4.20 master plumber's licenses, and renewal restricted journeyworker and renewed restricted​

4.21 master plumber's licenses, shall be issued for the calendar year for which application is​

4.22 made and shall expire on December 31 of such year each even-numbered year after issuance​

4.23 or renewal. Any journeyworker plumber, master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber,​

4.24 or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal application after December 31 shall​

4.25 not work as a plumber until the person has submitted an application, fee, and penalty fee.​

4​4716.0040​
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5.1 Any licensed journeyworker or master plumber who does not renew the license within two​

5.2 years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person must retake and pass the examination​

5.3 before a new license will be issued. Any licensed restricted journeyworker or restricted​

5.4 master plumber who does not renew the license within 12 months two years of the license​

5.5 expiration will permanently forfeit the restricted plumber license.​

5.6 Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be submitted to​

5.7 the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 of​

5.8 the year preceding the year for in which application is made the license expires. The​

5.9 application must be accompanied by the required fee. Journeyworker and master plumbers​

5.10 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within​

5.11 two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay all past due renewal​

5.12 fees plus the required late fee. Restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers​

5.13 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within 12​

5.14 months two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay the past due​

5.15 renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

5.16 4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE REGISTERED​
5.17 UNLICENSED PLUMBER.​

5.18 Subpart 1. Scope. Subpart 2 shall does not apply to a registered plumber's apprentices​

5.19 apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1) paragraph​

5.20 (a).​

5.21 Subp. 2. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a plumber's apprentice​

5.22 registered unlicensed plumber until that person has submitted an application and fee for​

5.23 registration to the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for​

5.24 the period from July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial​

5.25 and renewal registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each​

5.26 registration period on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by​

5​4716.0050​
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6.1 the required fee. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber who submits a​

6.2 registration application after July 1 in any year must pay the past due renewal fee plus the​

6.3 required late fee.​

6.4 A. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber must be at least 18 years​

6.5 of age or be a high school graduate, except that an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber​

6.6 employed and supervised by the apprentice's registered unlicensed plumber's parent must​

6.7 be at least 16 years of age.​

6.8 B. At the time of registration, an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber must​

6.9 provide a name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and information about​

6.10 education and practical plumbing experience.​

6.11 4716.0091 DEFINITIONS.​

6.12 Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 4716.0090 to 4716.0092 have the meanings​

6.13 given them in this part, UPC sections 201.0 to 228.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

6.14 4714.0050, and Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50.​

6.15 Subp. 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner. "Registered unlicensed water​

6.16 conditioner" means an individual who performs water conditioning work for a contractor​

6.17 or employer, does not hold any class of water conditioning license, and is registered with​

6.18 the commissioner under part 4716.0093.​

6.19 4716.0092 LICENSURE.​

6.20 Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning​

6.21 contractor license must designate a water conditioning responsible licensed master or master​

6.22 plumber, licensed by the commissioner, as the individual responsible for the water​

6.23 conditioning contractor's compliance with this part, chapter 4714, Minnesota Statutes,​

6.24 sections 326B.50 to 326B.59, and all orders issued under Minnesota Statutes, section​

6.25 326B.082 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible water​

6​4716.0092​
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7.1 conditioning licensed master or master plumber must give a minimum 15-day notice to the​

7.2 water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the responsible water​

7.3 conditioning licensed master or master plumber for the contractor. The contractor and​

7.4 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber must immediately notify​

7.5 the department upon the termination or separation of the contractor's responsible water​

7.6 conditioning licensed master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall​

7.7 have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous responsible water conditioning​

7.8 licensed master or master plumber to employ another responsible water conditioning licensed​

7.9 master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written notification​

7.10 to the department that it has designated a different water conditioning responsible licensed​

7.11 master or master plumber as the individual responsible for the contractor's compliance with​

7.12 this part, chapter 4714, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. If the water​

7.13 conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible water conditioning​

7.14 licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning contractor's license is invalid​

7.15 and the contractor shall cease and desist from performing any water conditioning work and​

7.16 return the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement​

7.17 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning​

7.18 contractor may request reinstatement of the terminated license under Minnesota Statutes,​

7.19 section 326B.096.​

7.20 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​

7.21 Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning​

7.22 journeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner.​

7.23 An applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker examination must have been a​

7.24 registered unlicensed water conditioner at all times while obtaining at least six months of​

7.25 practical experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitem (2), except as permitted in subpart​

7.26 4, item A, subitem (4). The applicant is responsible for verifying practical experience.​
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8.1 Subp. 4. Experience. For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2​

8.2 and 3, the following requirements apply.​

8.3 [For text of items A to C, see M.R.]​

8.4 D. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner:​

8.5 (1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner​

8.6 at all times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience, except as allowed​

8.7 under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, subdivision 2; and​

8.8 (2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed​

8.9 water conditioning master who is responsible for the work performed. Practical water​

8.10 conditioning experience includes installation, servicing, and training hours. The commissioner​

8.11 may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to​

8.12 evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy​

8.13 and acceptability of an applicant's experience.​

8.14 E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed​

8.15 water conditioner is responsible for:​

8.16 (1) recording the practical water conditioning experience worked by each​

8.17 employee; and​

8.18 (2) maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience for at​

8.19 least six years after the employee's last recorded experience.​

8.20 [For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]​

8.21 4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION.​

8.22 Subpart 1. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a registered unlicensed​

8.23 water conditioner until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to​

8.24 the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from​
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9.1 July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal​

9.2 registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period​

9.3 on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A​

9.4 registered unlicensed water conditioner who submits a registration application after July 1​

9.5 in any year must pay the renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

9.6 A. A registered unlicensed water conditioner must be at least 18 years of age or​

9.7 a high school graduate, except that a registered unlicensed water conditioner employed and​

9.8 supervised by the registered unlicensed water conditioner's parent must be at least 16 years​

9.9 of age.​

9.10 B. An applicant for registration under this part must provide a name, address, date​

9.11 of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and practical water​

9.12 conditioning experience on a form provided by the commissioner.​

9.13 4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS.​

9.14 Subpart 1. Continuing education; content.​

9.15 A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

9.16 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain 16 hours of continuing​

9.17 education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

9.18 (1) master plumber;​

9.19 (2) journeyworker plumber; and​

9.20 (3) restricted plumber.​

9.21 At least 12 eight hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, and at least four​

9.22 hours of instruction must pertain to the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

9.23 technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, this chapter, the Minnesota​

9.24 State Building Code, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.49 326B.59.​

9​4716.0205​
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10.1 Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must not exceed four hours​

10.2 during the renewal period comply with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.3 B. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.4 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain four hours of​

10.5 continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

10.6 (1) water conditioning master; and​

10.7 (2) water conditioning journeyworker.​

10.8 At least two hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remainder must​

10.9 pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water conditioning installation and​

10.10 servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. Continuing​

10.11 education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply with Minnesota Statutes,​

10.12 sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.13 C. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.14 individuals who hold the following registration types are required to obtain continuing​

10.15 education instruction during the registration period before the registration can be renewed:​

10.16 (1) registered unlicensed plumbers; and​

10.17 (2) registered unlicensed water conditioners.​

10.18 The registered unlicensed plumber must obtain at least two hours of continuing education​

10.19 instruction that must pertain to the Plumbing Code.​

10.20 The registered unlicensed water conditioner must obtain at least two hours of continuing​

10.21 education instruction. At least one hour of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

10.22 and the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water​

10.23 conditioning installation and servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50​

10​4716.0205​
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11.1 to 326B.59. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply​

11.2 with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

11.3 C D. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

11.4 326B, an applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain​

11.5 four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the​

11.6 certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical​

11.7 topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems, this chapter,​

11.8 NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438.​

11.9 D E. In addition to satisfying the requirements of part 4716.0097 and Minnesota​

11.10 Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following certifications are required to​

11.11 obtain the following continuing education during the certification period before the certificate​

11.12 may be renewed:​

11.13 (1) a backflow prevention rebuilder shall meet the minimum requirements​

11.14 to recertify in ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130; and​

11.15 (2) a backflow prevention tester shall meet the minimum requirements to​

11.16 recertify in ASSE Standard 5110.​

11.17 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​
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Todnem, Suzanne (DLI)

From: RULES, DLI (DLI)
Sent: Monday, January 07, 2019 2:01 PM
To: Megan Henkemeyer
Cc: Rick Jacobs (rick.jacobs@ci.stpaul.mn.us)
Subject: RE: Request for Public Hearing R-04365
Attachments: Notice_to_Requestors_1.7.19_Signed.pdf

Ms. Henkemeyer, 

The attached document is being mailed via USPS today to all persons who requested a hearing. Feel free to share via 
email to the requestors as I do not have email addresses.  

Regards, 
Suzanne Todnem 

Suzanne Todnem  
General Counsel| Office of General Counsel  

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry  
443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155  
Phone: (651) 284‐5851 | Web: www.dli.mn.gov  

From: Megan Henkemeyer [mailto:MHenkemeyer@j‐berd.com]  
Sent: Thursday, December 20, 2018 9:07 AM 
To: RULES, DLI (DLI) <dli.rules@state.mn.us> 
Cc: Megan Henkemeyer <MHenkemeyer@j‐berd.com> 
Subject: Request for Public Hearing R‐04365 

Ms. Todnem; 

Attached are written requests for a public hearing in regards to Proposed Permanent Rules to Amend Minn. Rules, 
Chapters 4716, R‐04365. 

Please advise if hard copies need to be mailed to you as well. 

Sincerely, 

Megan Henkemeyer 
J‐Berd Mechanical/Security Fire Sprinkler/Berd Electric 
P.O. BOX 7308 | St. Cloud, MN 56302‐7308 
3308 Southway Drive | St. Cloud, MN 56301 
Office: 320.656.0847 | Fax: 320.656.0312 
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Confidentiality Notice:  This E‐mail (including attachments) is covered by the Electronic Communications Privacy Act, 18 U.S.C. 2510‐2521, is confidential and may be 
legally privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any retention, dissemination, distribution, or copying of this communication is 
strictly prohibited. Please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message. 
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Minnesota Plumbing Board  

NOTICE OF HEARING TO THOSE WHO REQUESTED A HEARING 

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 
4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365, OAH docket number 8-9001-35569 

To persons who requested a hearing. In accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 14.25, 
subdivision 1, the Plumbing Board is sending this Notice to all persons who requested a hearing. 

There will be a hearing. In the November 26, 2018, State Register, on pages 585 to 587, the 
Minnesota Plumbing Board published a Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules relating to plumber 
licensing and registration. The Notice stated that the Board would hold a hearing on the proposed 
rules if 25 or more persons submitted written requests. We have received a sufficient number of 
requests for a hearing. The hearing will be conducted as stated in the State Register in the 
Minnesota Room of the Department of Labor and Industry located at 443 Lafayette Road North 
in St. Paul, MN starting at 9:30 a.m. on Friday, January 11, 2019, continuing until the hearing is 
completed. 

Administrative Law Judge. Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman will conduct the 
hearing. The judge can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert 
Street, P.O. Box 64620, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, by telephone by calling OAH 
Legal Assistant Denise Collins at (651) 361-7875, or by email to denise.collins@state.mn.us,  
and FAX (651) 539-0310. You should direct questions concerning the rule hearing procedure to 
the administrative law judge. 

Agency Contact Person. The agency contact person is: Suzanne Todnem at Department of 
Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, MN 55155, (651) 284 - 5006, 
dli.rules@state.mn.us. You should direct questions or comments about the rules to the agency
contact person. A copy of the Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules, as published in the State Register
on November 26, 2018, is available upon request from the agency contact person.

January 7, 2019 _______________________________________________ 
Date  Richard Jacobs 

Minnesota Plumbing Board, Chair  

R-04365    404

mailto:denise.collins@state.mn.us
mailto:dli.rules@state.mn.us


R-04365    405
Exhibit K-6



2018 Administrative Rule 
Proposed Rule and SONAR Form 

Revisor’s ID Number:  R-04365 

Submitting Agency: Minnesota Plumbing Board Date: 9/13/2018 

Rule Contact: Suzanne Todnem, General Counsel, DLI 

Email Address: Suzanne.todnem@state.mn.us  Phone #: 651.284.5851

Title: 
(Short descriptive title) 

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing 

Chapter number(s): 4716 
Comments received during 
Request for Comments: 

One comment that requested that the Board support legislation that would 
change the licensing requirements for backflow prevention assembly 
rebuilders in Minnesota.  
61 comments about the continuing education requirements for registered 
unlicensed plumbers.1 The Board addressed those concerns at Board 
meetings and in the rule-by-rule analysis of the SONAR. 

Statement of Need and 
Reasonableness (SONAR) 
Executive Summary: 

The Minnesota Plumbing Board (“Board”) intends to adopt rules 
regulating the registration of unlicensed individuals who perform water 
conditioning installation, registration of unlicensed individuals who 
perform plumbing, examination and licensing of plumbers, and continuing 
education requirements for licensed individuals and registered unlicensed 
individuals.    

In 2017, the Minnesota Legislature granted the Board rulemaking 
authority over a new category of registered unlicensed individuals who 
perform water conditioning installation and authorized the Board to adopt 
rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.2  Additionally, the 
Minnesota Legislature newly granted the Board authority to regulate 
continuing education requirements for all registered unlicensed 
individuals.3   

There are two notable changes in the proposed rule amendments. 
First, the Board’s proposed amendments provide the requirements for the 
registration of unlicensed water conditioners (registration of unlicensed 
plumbers is already in rule). The Board anticipates that some registered 
unlicensed individuals will apply their work experience to pursue licensure 
while some registered unlicensed individuals will not.  The proposed rules 
facilitate the Department’s tracking of individuals’ work experience to 
determine when individuals have obtained sufficient experience to qualify 

1 All comments submitted in response to the Request for Comments are available here 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/4716-comment.pdf.  
2 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 14. This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
3 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 8.  This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
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them to take the appropriate licensing exam. Second, the proposed rules 
require minimal continuing education hours for registered unlicensed 
individuals to ensure they stay current with industry and Plumbing Code 
changes.   
 

Supporters, opponents, and 
possible controversies: 

Some employers of registered unlicensed individuals (plumbers and water 
conditioners) have expressed disagreement with the Board’s proposed rule 
that requires registered unlicensed individuals to get 2 continuing 
education (CE) requirements per registration cycle, which is one year.  
 
Most industry professionals have expressed agreement with the proposed 
rule, even the CE requirement for registered unlicensed individuals. For 
example, Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association expressed 
agreement with the CE requirement as proposed. s 

List significant changes 
from preliminary proposal: 

None.  

Other:  
 
Fiscal 
Impact:  Yes  X No *If the Fiscal Impact determination has changed, please 

explain above.* 

AGENCY:  Attach draft rules and SONAR.   
 
 
9/13/2018 

Plumbing Board Chair's Signature  Date 

 
***THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE GOVERNOR'S OFFICE*** 

 
I have reviewed the above information and have approved this administrative rule.  The respective 
Agency may formally publish a Notice of Intent to Adopt Proposed Rules. 
 
____________________________________________     __________________________ 
Governor's Policy Advisor                                                     Date  
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1.1 Plumbing Board​

1.2 Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Plumbing Licensing​

1.3 4716.0010 DEFINITIONS.​

1.4 [For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.]​

1.5 Subp. 6. Registered unlicensed plumber. "Registered unlicensed plumber" means​

1.6 an individual who performs plumbing work for a contractor or employer, does not hold any​

1.7 class of plumber license, is not a plumber's apprentice as described in Minnesota Statutes,​

1.8 section 326B.42, subdivision 6, and is registered with the commissioner under part​

1.9 4716.0050.​

1.10 4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS.​

1.11 Subpart 1. Examinations. An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted​

1.12 journeyworker or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination​

1.13 given by the commissioner. Examinations for journeyworker and master plumber licenses​

1.14 shall be held in March and September of each year. Applications for the March examination​

1.15 must be filed not later than February 15 and for the September examination not later than​

1.16 August 15.​

1.17 A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:​

1.18 (1) a current Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and five years of​

1.19 practical plumbing experience at least one year of practical plumbing experience as a licensed​

1.20 journeyworker plumber as described in subpart 2;​

1.21 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

1.22 B. An applicant for the journeyworker examination:​

1.23 (1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota as described​

1.24 in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.42, subdivision 6, or must be a registered unlicensed​

1​4716.0020​
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2.1 plumber as described in part 4716.0010, subpart 6, and must have at least four years of​

2.2 recorded practical plumbing experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F;​

2.3 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.]​

2.4 Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience​

2.5 described in subpart 1.​

2.6 [For text of items A to D, see M.R.]​

2.7 E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyworker plumber or a licensed​

2.8 restricted master plumber, subitems (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2.9 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

2.10 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

2.11 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

2.12 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

2.13 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

2.14 work and corresponding number of hours:​

2.15 (a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours;​

2.16 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and​

2.17 (c) fixture installation, 500 hours.​

2.18 [For text of subitem (2), see M.R.]​

2.19 (3) The applicant must have completed the entire two years of practical​

2.20 plumbing experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination.​

2.21 F. If the applicant is a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber, subitems​

2.22 (1) to (3) and (2) apply.​

2​4716.0020​
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3.1 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following​

3.2 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required​

3.3 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included​

3.4 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

3.5 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing​

3.6 work and corresponding number of hours:​

3.7 (a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours;​

3.8 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and​

3.9 (c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours.​

3.10 (2) Except for experience qualifying under subitem (3), The applicant must​

3.11 have been a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber at all times while obtaining​

3.12 the practical plumbing experience. or the applicant must have obtained the practical plumbing​

3.13 experience in one of the following ways:​

3.14 (a) during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies​

3.15 the experience;​

3.16 (b) as part of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner,​

3.17 and an authorized representative of the plumbing educational institution certifies the​

3.18 experience; or​

3.19 (c) as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is​

3.20 verified by a state agency that regulates plumbing licensing in that state or by a federal​

3.21 agency.​

3.22 (3) Up to 24 months of practical plumbing experience gained before the​

3.23 effective date of the applicant's initial registration as a plumber's apprentice will be credited​

3.24 if the applicant gained some of the experience during the 12-month period immediately​

3.25 prior to the effective date of the applicant's initial registration and if:​

3​4716.0020​
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4.1 (a) the applicant gained the plumbing experience during military service,​

4.2 and the applicant's military officer certifies the experience;​

4.3 (b) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as part of a plumbing​

4.4 education class approved by the commissioner, and an authorized representative of the​

4.5 educational institution certifies the experience; or​

4.6 (c) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as a plumber's​

4.7 apprentice in another state where the experience is verified by a state agency in that state​

4.8 or by a federal agency.​

4.9 G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (3) (2), units (a) to (c), all practical​

4.10 plumbing experience must be certified by the licensed master plumber or plumbing contractor​

4.11 who is responsible for the work performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the​

4.12 restricted master plumber's own experience. The employer of a journeyworker plumber,​

4.13 restricted master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber, or plumber's apprentice​

4.14 registered unlicensed plumber is responsible for:​

4.15 [For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]​

4.16 4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES.​

4.17 Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration. Initial and renewal renewed journeyworker​

4.18 plumber's licenses and renewed restricted journeyworker plumber's licenses expire on​

4.19 December 31 of each odd-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Initial and renewed​

4.20 master plumber's licenses, and renewal restricted journeyworker and renewed restricted​

4.21 master plumber's licenses, shall be issued for the calendar year for which application is​

4.22 made and shall expire on December 31 of such year each even-numbered year after issuance​

4.23 or renewal. Any journeyworker plumber, master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber,​

4.24 or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal application after December 31 shall​

4.25 not work as a plumber until the person has submitted an application, fee, and penalty fee.​

4​4716.0040​
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5.1 Any licensed journeyworker or master plumber who does not renew the license within two​

5.2 years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person must retake and pass the examination​

5.3 before a new license will be issued. Any licensed restricted journeyworker or restricted​

5.4 master plumber who does not renew the license within 12 months two years of the license​

5.5 expiration will permanently forfeit the restricted plumber license.​

5.6 Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be submitted to​

5.7 the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 of​

5.8 the year preceding the year for in which application is made the license expires. The​

5.9 application must be accompanied by the required fee. Journeyworker and master plumbers​

5.10 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within​

5.11 two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay all past due renewal​

5.12 fees plus the required late fee. Restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers​

5.13 who submit their license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within 12​

5.14 months two years after expiration of the previously issued license must pay the past due​

5.15 renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

5.16 4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE REGISTERED​
5.17 UNLICENSED PLUMBER.​

5.18 Subpart 1. Scope. Subpart 2 shall does not apply to a registered plumber's apprentices​

5.19 apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1) paragraph​

5.20 (a).​

5.21 Subp. 2. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a plumber's apprentice​

5.22 registered unlicensed plumber until that person has submitted an application and fee for​

5.23 registration to the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for​

5.24 the period from July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial​

5.25 and renewal registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each​

5.26 registration period on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by​

5​4716.0050​
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6.1 the required fee. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber who submits a​

6.2 registration application after July 1 in any year must pay the past due renewal fee plus the​

6.3 required late fee.​

6.4 A. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber must be at least 18 years​

6.5 of age or be a high school graduate, except that an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber​

6.6 employed and supervised by the apprentice's registered unlicensed plumber's parent must​

6.7 be at least 16 years of age.​

6.8 B. At the time of registration, an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber must​

6.9 provide a name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and information about​

6.10 education and practical plumbing experience.​

6.11 4716.0091 DEFINITIONS.​

6.12 Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 4716.0090 to 4716.0092 have the meanings​

6.13 given them in this part, UPC sections 201.0 to 228.0 as incorporated by reference in part​

6.14 4714.0050, and Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50.​

6.15 Subp. 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner. "Registered unlicensed water​

6.16 conditioner" means an individual who performs water conditioning work for a contractor​

6.17 or employer, does not hold any class of water conditioning license, and is registered with​

6.18 the commissioner under part 4716.0093.​

6.19 4716.0092 LICENSURE.​

6.20 Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning​

6.21 contractor license must designate a water conditioning responsible licensed master or master​

6.22 plumber, licensed by the commissioner, as the individual responsible for the water​

6.23 conditioning contractor's compliance with this part, chapter 4714, Minnesota Statutes,​

6.24 sections 326B.50 to 326B.59, and all orders issued under Minnesota Statutes, section​

6.25 326B.082 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible water​

6​4716.0092​
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7.1 conditioning licensed master or master plumber must give a minimum 15-day notice to the​

7.2 water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the responsible water​

7.3 conditioning licensed master or master plumber for the contractor. The contractor and​

7.4 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber must immediately notify​

7.5 the department upon the termination or separation of the contractor's responsible water​

7.6 conditioning licensed master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall​

7.7 have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous responsible water conditioning​

7.8 licensed master or master plumber to employ another responsible water conditioning licensed​

7.9 master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written notification​

7.10 to the department that it has designated a different water conditioning responsible licensed​

7.11 master or master plumber as the individual responsible for the contractor's compliance with​

7.12 this part, chapter 4714, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. If the water​

7.13 conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible water conditioning​

7.14 licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning contractor's license is invalid​

7.15 and the contractor shall cease and desist from performing any water conditioning work and​

7.16 return the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement​

7.17 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning​

7.18 contractor may request reinstatement of the terminated license under Minnesota Statutes,​

7.19 section 326B.096.​

7.20 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​

7.21 Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning​

7.22 journeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner.​

7.23 An applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker examination must have been a​

7.24 registered unlicensed water conditioner at all times while obtaining at least six months of​

7.25 practical experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitem (2), except as permitted in subpart​

7.26 4, item A, subitem (4). The applicant is responsible for verifying practical experience.​

7​4716.0092​
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8.1 Subp. 4. Experience. For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2​

8.2 and 3, the following requirements apply.​

8.3 [For text of items A to C, see M.R.]​

8.4 D. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner:​

8.5 (1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner​

8.6 at all times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience, except as allowed​

8.7 under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, subdivision 2; and​

8.8 (2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed​

8.9 water conditioning master who is responsible for the work performed. Practical water​

8.10 conditioning experience includes installation, servicing, and training hours. The commissioner​

8.11 may require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to​

8.12 evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the final determination about the adequacy​

8.13 and acceptability of an applicant's experience.​

8.14 E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed​

8.15 water conditioner is responsible for:​

8.16 (1) recording the practical water conditioning experience worked by each​

8.17 employee; and​

8.18 (2) maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience for at​

8.19 least six years after the employee's last recorded experience.​

8.20 [For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]​

8.21 4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION.​

8.22 Subpart 1. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a registered unlicensed​

8.23 water conditioner until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to​

8.24 the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from​

8​4716.0093​
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9.1 July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal​

9.2 registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period​

9.3 on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A​

9.4 registered unlicensed water conditioner who submits a registration application after July 1​

9.5 in any year must pay the renewal fee plus the required late fee.​

9.6 A. A registered unlicensed water conditioner must be at least 18 years of age or​

9.7 a high school graduate, except that a registered unlicensed water conditioner employed and​

9.8 supervised by the registered unlicensed water conditioner's parent must be at least 16 years​

9.9 of age.​

9.10 B. An applicant for registration under this part must provide a name, address, date​

9.11 of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and practical water​

9.12 conditioning experience on a form provided by the commissioner.​

9.13 4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS.​

9.14 Subpart 1. Continuing education; content.​

9.15 A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

9.16 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain 16 hours of continuing​

9.17 education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

9.18 (1) master plumber;​

9.19 (2) journeyworker plumber; and​

9.20 (3) restricted plumber.​

9.21 At least 12 eight hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, and at least four​

9.22 hours of instruction must pertain to the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

9.23 technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, this chapter, the Minnesota​

9.24 State Building Code, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.49 326B.59.​

9​4716.0205​
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10.1 Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must not exceed four hours​

10.2 during the renewal period comply with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.3 B. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.4 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain four hours of​

10.5 continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed:​

10.6 (1) water conditioning master; and​

10.7 (2) water conditioning journeyworker.​

10.8 At least two hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remainder must​

10.9 pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water conditioning installation and​

10.10 servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. Continuing​

10.11 education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply with Minnesota Statutes,​

10.12 sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

10.13 C. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,​

10.14 individuals who hold the following registration types are required to obtain continuing​

10.15 education instruction during the registration period before the registration can be renewed:​

10.16 (1) registered unlicensed plumbers; and​

10.17 (2) registered unlicensed water conditioners.​

10.18 The registered unlicensed plumber must obtain at least two hours of continuing education​

10.19 instruction that must pertain to the Plumbing Code.​

10.20 The registered unlicensed water conditioner must obtain at least two hours of continuing​

10.21 education instruction. At least one hour of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code,​

10.22 and the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water​

10.23 conditioning installation and servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50​

10​4716.0205​
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11.1 to 326B.59. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply​

11.2 with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099.​

11.3 C D. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter​

11.4 326B, an applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain​

11.5 four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the​

11.6 certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical​

11.7 topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems, this chapter,​

11.8 NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438.​

11.9 D E. In addition to satisfying the requirements of part 4716.0097 and Minnesota​

11.10 Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following certifications are required to​

11.11 obtain the following continuing education during the certification period before the certificate​

11.12 may be renewed:​

11.13 (1) a backflow prevention rebuilder shall meet the minimum requirements​

11.14 to recertify in ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130; and​

11.15 (2) a backflow prevention tester shall meet the minimum requirements to​

11.16 recertify in ASSE Standard 5110.​

11.17 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.]​
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1 
Chapter 4716 SONAR, R04365_9.10.2018 

Minnesota Plumbing Board 
 
STATEMENT OF NEED AND REASONABLENESS 
 
Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, chapter 
4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365 
 
INTRODUCTION 
 

The Minnesota Plumbing Board (“Board”) intends to adopt rules regulating the 
registration of unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of 
unlicensed individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of plumbers, and 
continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered unlicensed individuals.    

 
In 2017, the Minnesota Legislature granted the Board rulemaking authority over a new 

category of registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation and 
authorized the Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.1  
Additionally, the Minnesota Legislature newly granted the Board authority to regulate continuing 
education requirements for all registered unlicensed individuals.2   

 
There are two notable changes in the proposed rule amendments. First, the Board’s 

proposed amendments provide the requirements for the registration of unlicensed water 
conditioners (registration of unlicensed plumbers is already in rule). The Board anticipates that 
some registered unlicensed individuals will apply their work experience to pursue licensure 
while some registered unlicensed individuals will not.  The proposed rules facilitate the 
Department’s tracking of individuals’ work experience to determine when individuals have 
obtained sufficient experience to qualify them to take the appropriate licensing exam. Second, 
the proposed rules require minimal continuing education hours for registered unlicensed 
individuals to ensure they stay current with industry and Plumbing Code changes.   

 
The Board published a Request for Comments on October 30, 2017. In response to the 

Request for Comments, the Board received one comment that requested that the Board support 
legislation that would change the licensing requirements for backflow prevention assembly 
rebuilders in Minnesota. The Board received 61 comments about the continuing education 
requirements for registered unlicensed plumbers.3 The Board addressed those concerns at Board 
meetings and in the rule-by-rule analysis below.4  

 
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (“Department”) is required to provide 

support to the Board, including for rulemaking.5   
 
                                                           
1 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 14. This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
2 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 8.  This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
3 All comments submitted in response to the Request for Comments are available here 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/4716-comment.pdf.  
4 See Board meeting minutes for March 12, 2018; June 12, 2018, August 28, 2018 at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board  
5 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2(c) (2018). 
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ALTERNATIVE FORMAT 
 

Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as 
large print, braille, or audio. To make a request, contact Suzanne Todnem at the Department of 
Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-4342, or by telephone 
651-284-5006, or email to:  dli.rules@state.mn.us.  

 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 
 

The Board’s statutory authority to adopt rules related to licensure, certification, or 
registration is stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(5), which authorizes the 
Board to: 

 
adopt rules that regulate the licensure, certification, or registration of plumbing 
contractors, journeyworkers, unlicensed individuals, master plumbers, restricted master 
plumbers, restricted journeyworkers, restricted plumbing contractors, backflow 
prevention rebuilders and testers, water conditioning contractors, and water conditioning 
installers, and other persons engaged in the design, installation, and alteration of 
plumbing systems or engaged in or working at the business of water conditioning 
installation or service, or engaged in or working at the business of medical gas system 
installation, maintenance, or repair, except for those individuals licensed under section 
326.02, subdivisions 2 and 3.  

 
Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(6) was amended in 2017 to authorize 

the Board to adopt rules regulating continuing education for registered unlicensed individuals.  
Specifically, the Board has the authority to “adopt rules that regulate continuing education for 
individuals licensed as master plumbers, journeyworker plumbers, restricted master plumbers, 
restricted journeyworker plumbers, registered unlicensed individuals, water conditioning 
masters, and water conditioning journeyworkers, and for individuals certified under sections 
326B.437 and 326B.438.”6 While the Board’s authority to regulate continuing education for 
licensed individuals is not new, the authority to regulate continuing education for registered 
unlicensed individuals is new.  

 
Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subd. 3, authorizes the Board to prescribe rules for 

the registration of unlicensed individuals.7 The Board has been regulating registered unlicensed 
individuals who perform plumbing as a different classification than plumber’s apprentices since 
2010.8  
 

                                                           
6See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2 (2018). 
 
7See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 3 (2018). 
 
8 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/ and Minn. R. part 4716.0050. 

R-04365    420

mailto:dli.rules@state.mn.us
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.435
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=326B.47
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/4716.0050/


3 
Chapter 4716 SONAR, R04365_9.10.2018 

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, which was enacted in 2017, creates a new 
category of registered unlicensed individuals to perform water conditioning installation and 
authorizes the Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.9 

Because specific portions of the Board’s rulemaking authority was new in 2017, effective 
August 1, 2017, those portions are subject to the 18-month time limit in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 14.125. The Board will publish a notice of intent to adopt rules or a notice of hearing 
within 18 months of the effective date.  

Under these statutes, the Board has the necessary statutory authority to adopt the 
proposed rules. 

REGULATORY ANALYSIS 

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, sets out eight factors for a regulatory analysis that 
must be included in the SONAR. Paragraphs (1) through (8) below quote these factors and then 
give the agency’s response. 

(1) a description of the classes of persons who probably will be affected by the proposed
rule, including classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will
benefit from the proposed rule

The proposed amendments to the rules would likely affect individuals and contractors currently 
licensed, certified or registered in Minnesota under Chapter 4716; individuals and contractors 
who would like to be licensed, certified or registered under Chapter 4716; individuals who 
perform water conditioning installation but are not licensed, certified or registered; providers of 
continuing education courses; and the general public. 

(2) the probable costs to the agency and to any other agency of the implementation and
enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues

Although the Board has the authority to adopt plumbing licensing rules, it does not implement or 
enforce the licensing rules. The Department currently administers and enforces the licensing 
rules. Any additional costs the Department incurs to implement and enforce the proposed rules 
will be offset by additional registration fees collected from registered unlicensed individuals. The 
Department does not anticipate increased costs to administer the rule except for the newly 
regulated individuals. The costs to enforce registration of the newly regulated individuals will be 
offset by the registration fees.  

(3) a determination of whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for
achieving the purpose of the proposed rule

9See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 14. This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
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The Board has determined there is no less costly or less intrusive method for achieving the 
purposes of the proposed rules. The proposed rules are anticipated to reduce some costs of 
compliance compared to the current rule.  

(4) a description of any alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule
that were seriously considered by the agency and the reasons why they were rejected in
favor of the proposed rule

No alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule were identified.  The 
Board determined that the existing requirements and procedures used have been successful and 
should be maintained. The same or similar procedures are used in other similar industries as well.  

(5) the probable costs of complying with the proposed rule, including the portion of the
total costs that will be borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate
classes of governmental units, businesses, or individuals

The probable costs of complying with the proposed rule are anticipated to be minimal. 
Registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning work will be subject to the 
same $14 registration fee that registered unlicensed plumbers and electricians are currently 
required to pay. Other regulated parties under this proposed rule are anticipated to see the same 
or lower costs to comply with the proposed rule.  

(6) the probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule, including those
costs or consequences borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate
classes of government units, businesses, or individuals

The probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule are fewer avenues for 
unlicensed individuals to qualify for journeyworker licensing exams and fewer work options for 
individuals seeking employment in the water conditioning industry, which could limit the pool of 
qualified workers available to businesses that provide water conditioning services to the public. 

Another consequence of not adopting the proposed rule is that the Board would lose its statutory 
authority to regulate certain parties. The legislature would then need to pass new legislation, 
which may have costs associated with it. Without rules to address the newly regulated party in 
statute, there would be confusion for anyone interested in hiring or becoming a registered 
unlicensed water conditioner.  

(7) an assessment of any differences between the proposed rule and existing federal
regulations and a specific analysis of the need for and reasonableness of each difference

There are no federal regulations that apply. 

(8) an assessment of the cumulative effect of the rule with other federal and state
regulations related to the specific purpose of the rule. . . . ‘[C]umulative effect’ means the
impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in addition to other rules,
regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules. Cumulative effects
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can result from individually minor but collectively significant rules adopted over a period 
of time. 
The proposed rules cover areas that are not addressed by federal law or other Minnesota 
state laws. Therefore, this consideration is not applicable to this proposed rule.

PERFORMANCE-BASED RULES 

The Board carefully considered the directives of the legislature requiring performance-based 
standards to the extent possible. The Board sought input from interested parties at multiple 
scheduled committee and Board meetings. The proposed rules are prescriptive in that they 
establish a specific number of continuing education hour requirements for registered unlicensed 
individuals. The proposed rules are as performance-based as possible by allowing flexibility in 
the method and topics of continuing education while remaining clear and enforceable.  

ADDITIONAL NOTICE 

This Additional Notice Plan was reviewed by the Office of Administrative Hearings and 
approved in a [date] letter by Administrative Law Judge [name]. 

Our Notice Plan also includes giving notice required by statute. We will mail or e-mail 
the [rules and] Notice of Intent to Adopt to everyone who has registered to be on the 
Department’s rulemaking mailing list under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.14, subdivision 1a. 
We will also give notice to the Legislature per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.116. We will also 
e-mail the rules and Notice of Intent to Adopt to the following organizations and trade groups:

a. Associated Builders and Contractors
a. Local chapter of the Association of Minnesota Building Officials (AMBO)
b. Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association
c. Association of General Contractors of Minnesota
d. Builders Association of Minnesota (BAM)
e. Builders Association of the Twin Cities
f. Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association
g. Minnesota Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors Association
h. American Society of Plumbing Engineers – Minnesota Chapter
i. American Society of Civil Engineers – Minnesota Section
j. Association of Minnesota Counties
k. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), Minneapolis
l. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), St. Paul
m. League of Minnesota Cities
n. American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota
o. Minnesota Pipe Trades Association
p. Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
q. Minnesota Society of Professional Engineers (MNSPE)

Our Notice Plan did not include notifying the Commissioner of Agriculture because the 
rules do not affect farming operations per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.111. 
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CONSULTATION WITH MMB ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT IMPACT 
 

As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, the Board consulted with Minnesota 
Management and Budget (MMB). The Board did this by sending MMB copies of the documents 
that we sent to the Governor’s Office for review and approval on the same day we sent them to 
the Governor’s office. We did this before publishing the Notice of Intent to Adopt. The 
documents included: the Governor’s Office Proposed Rule and SONAR Form; the proposed 
rules; and the SONAR. A copy of the cover correspondence and the response received from 
Minnesota Management and Budget, dated [date], is attached as Attachment A. 
 

Because local governments are not actively engaged in the regulation of businesses and 
individuals in the plumbing and water conditioning industry, the financial impact to them is 
minimal.  To the extent that local governments inspect the installation of water conditioning 
systems, the proposed rules may benefit the inspection process by enhancing the knowledge of 
individuals working in the industry.   
 
DETERMINATION ABOUT RULES REQUIRING LOCAL IMPLEMENTATION 
 
Minnesota Statutes, section 14.128 requires agencies to determine whether a local government 
will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply with a proposed 
agency rule and submit this determination for ALJ approval. An agency must make this 
determination before the close of the hearing record or before the agency submits the record 
to the administrative law judge if there is no hearing. The Board has determined that no 
local government will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply 
with the proposed rule. Plumber and water conditioner licensing and registration is enforced 
at the state level so no local government or municipality will be required to adopt or amend 
a local ordinance as a result of the proposed rule.  
 
COST OF COMPLYING FOR SMALL BUSINESS OR CITY 

 
Agency Determination of Cost 

 
As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.127, the Board has considered whether the cost of 
complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will exceed $25,000 
for any small business or small city.10  The Board has determined that the cost of complying with 
the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will not exceed $25,000 for any 
small business or small city.   
 
The proposed rule amendments are anticipated to keep the cost of complying with the rule the 
same or less with the exception of the continuing education requirements for registered 
unlicensed individuals (water conditioners and plumbers). 
 

                                                           
10 A small business is defined as “any one business that has less than 50 full-time employees” and a small city is 
defined as “any one statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees.” Minn. Stat. § 
14.127, subd. 1 (2018).  
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Small cities are not anticipated to incur any costs. It is not anticipated that a small city would 
employ a registered unlicensed individual. Therefore, even if there are minimal increased costs 
for registered unlicensed individuals or employers of registered unlicensed individuals, small 
cities will not be affected. Furthermore, because plumber and water conditioner licensing is 
administered and enforced at the state level, it is not anticipated that any city, including a small 
city, would incur any costs to comply with the proposed rule from an administrative perspective.   
 
Small businesses already have to track the hours worked by their individual employees so there 
is no additional cost anticipated in the normal course of maintaining employment records.11 
 
If the employer chooses to pay the registration cost, assuming all possible employees are 
registered unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost for a small business would be $19 x 
49 employees12 = $931, which is well below the $25,000 threshold.  
 
The average cost for a two-hour continuing education course is $ 49.00.13 Again, the cost for two 
hours of continuing education may be paid by the registrant or the employer. If the employer 
chooses to pay this cost, again assuming the maximum number of employees are registered 
unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost, on average, would be $ 49.00 x 49 employees 
= $ 2,401.00. This total is again well below the $25,000 threshold. The combined total of annual 
registration fees and continuing education costs is approximately $ 3,332.00, which is well below 
the $25,000 threshold.  
 
 
 
LIST OF WITNESSES 
 
 

If these rules go to a public hearing, the Department anticipates having the following 
witnesses testify in support of the need for and reasonableness of the rules: 

1. Mr. Richard Jacobs, Plumbing Board Chair, will testify about the Board’s interest 
in amending the code. 

2. Mr. Charlie Durenberger, Assistant Director, CCLD, will testify about the 
technical aspects of the proposed amendments. 

3. Other Board members or Department of Labor and Industry staff, if necessary. 
 
RULE-BY-RULE ANALYSIS 
 
4716.0010 DEFINITIONS 
 
The proposed rule amendment adds a subpart 6 to codify the term, “Registered unlicensed 
plumber.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and assist in plumbing have 

                                                           
11 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c) (2018).  
12 At least one employee would have to be a licensed journeyworker or master plumber. This example is for 
illustrative purposes only. A small business is unlikely to have 49 registered unlicensed individuals.  
13 See Attachment A.  
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been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, the proposed rule amendment formally 
names and clarifies this category of individuals.14   
 
4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS 
 
Subpart 1. Examinations.  
The proposed rule amendment deletes language that states two specific times of the year in 
which journeyworker and master plumber licensing exams will be held. The Department began 
offering journeyworker and master plumber licensing examinations on a weekly basis several 
years ago in an effort to increase the availability of exams to those seeking licensure.  As result, 
the current rule requirement that exams be given in March and September is outdated and no 
longer necessary. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it 
modernizes the rule part and deletes unnecessary language.  
 
Subpart 1(A)(1) 
The proposed rule amendment clarifies that an applicant for the master plumber examination 
must have worked as a licensed journeyworker plumber for at least one year before he or she can 
qualify to take the master plumber license examination. The current language that an applicant 
for the master plumber examination be a licensed Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and 
have “five years of practical plumbing experience” has the same meaning because four years of 
practical plumbing experience is required to qualify for the journeyworker plumber examination 
and the fifth year comes the year after an individual becomes a licensed journeyworker plumber. 
The proposed rule states that requirement more clearly.  
 
Subpart 1(B)(1)  
The proposed rule amendment clarifies the distinction between a plumber’s apprentice defined in 
Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, and the registered unlicensed plumber, which is a newly 
formalized term.15 See 4716.0010 analysis above. The requirement is substantively the same but 
clarifies the two categories of applicants and clarifies that the four years of practical plumbing 
experience must be recorded as required in Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c).  
 
Subp. 2. Experience 
 
Subpart 2(E) 
The proposed rule amendment corrects the subitems referenced here to correspond with the 
proposed rule below. 
 
Subpart 2(E)(1) 
The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 
qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 
(c).  
 

                                                           
14 See Minn. Laws, 2010  c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/  
15 Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6 (2018) provides a definition of “plumber’s apprentice and defines it as “any 
individual who is employed in the practical installation of plumbing under an apprenticeship agreement approved by 
the department under section 178.07.” 
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Subpart 2(E)(3)  
The current rule requires applicants who are licensed restricted journeyworker plumbers or 
licensed restricted master plumbers to have completed the entire two years of practical plumbing 
experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination. The proposed rule 
amendment deletes subitem 3 because removing this timeframe encourages licensed restricted 
journeyworker plumbers and licensed restricted master plumbers to take the regular licensed 
journeyworker plumber and licensed master plumber examinations. The proposed rule 
amendment broadens the pool of possible applicants. A shortage of skilled laborers is anticipated 
according to industry experts and [source].16 The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 
reasonable because the applicants are still subject to examination to ensure competent licensed 
plumbers.  

Subpart 2(F) 
The proposed rule amendment deletes reference to plumber’s apprentice and replaces it with 
registered unlicensed plumber because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation 
subject to subitems (1) and (2) that follow. Because a registered plumber’s apprentice, as defined 
in Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, is part of a formal, approved apprenticeship, subitems (1) and 
(2) are moot issues to them. The proposed rule amendment also corrects the subitems referenced
here to correspond with the proposed rule below. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and
reasonable because the distinction between a registered plumber’s apprentice and registered
unlicensed plumber should be clear.

Subpart 2(F)(1) 
The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 
qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 
(c).  

Subpart 2(F)(2) 
The proposed rule amendment deletes the reference to subitem (3) because subitem (3) is deleted 
in the proposed rule. Again, the reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “unlicensed 
plumber” is added because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation subject to 
subitems (1) and (2) that follow.  

The proposed rule amendment provides for alternate options for an applicant to have obtained 
the practical plumbing experience as listed in items (a) through (c). The alternate options are 
substantively the same as the language that is deleted in subpart 2(F)(3). The language was 
removed from subitem (3) and moved to subitem (2) because combining subitems (2) and (3) 
into one subitem, and removing the timing requirements in subitem (3), clarifies the two avenues 
through which an applicant may obtain the practical plumbing experience. That is, the practical 
experience must be obtained as a registered unlicensed plumber or through one of the ways listed 
in (2)(a) through (c). There is minimal substantive change to subitems (2) and (3) as the intent is 
to clarify the different acceptable ways to obtain the practical plumbing experience.  

Subpart 2(G) 

16 [ADD SOURCE HERE] 

R-04365    427



 

10 
Chapter 4716 SONAR, R04365_9.10.2018 

The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference numbering to reflect the proposed 
amendments. For example, the reference to subitem (3) is replaced with subitem “(2), units (a) to 
(c)” because the proposed rule amendment moves the content in subitem (3) to subitem (2), units 
(a) to (c). The word “master” is added and “or plumbing contractor” is deleted because a 
plumbing contractor is a business entity and a human being must provide the certification. The 
reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “registered unlicensed plumber” is added to 
be consistent with the proposed amendments above.  
 
                
4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES 
 
Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration 
The proposed rule amendment provides consistency for all journeyworker licensees and master 
licensees and aligns the rules with Minnesota Statutes.17 The proposed rule amendment 
simplifies the renewal of journeyworker plumber and master plumber licenses. All 
journeyworker plumber licenses will expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years rather than 
on anniversary dates of license issuance. All master plumber licenses will expire on December 
31 of even-numbered years. The Department can provide more efficient administration and 
enforcement of the licensing rules, thereby keeping enforcement costs, and therefore license fees, 
down. Individual licensees and the Department benefit from the proposed change.  
 
The renewal window for restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers was changed 
from 12 months to within “two years of the license expiration” to grant restricted license holders 
additional time to renew their license before permanently forfeiting their restricted plumber 
license. Because failing to renew timely results in permanent forfeiture, it is reasonable to grant 
license holders more than 12 months to renew. The two-year time period to renew is consistent 
with the renewal period for licensed journeyworker and master plumbers. Restricted 
journeyworker and restricted master plumber licenses are relatively few in number and are a 
holdover from the transition from no licensure in cities with populations less than 5,000 to 
statewide plumber licensing in 2005.  Restricted plumber licenses were granted to individuals 
who were performing plumbing at the time of the transition and who performed plumbing work 
in municipalities with a population under 5,000.  A plumber holding a restricted license may not 
perform plumbing work in municipalities with a population over 5,000. No new restricted 
plumber licenses have been granted since the transition period. Once a restricted license is 
forfeited, it cannot be reinstated or renewed.  
 
Subpart 2. License renewals 
The proposed rule amendment clarifies that license renewal applications must be submitted by 
December 31 of the year in which the license expires to be a timely renewal.  
 
The proposed rule amends the timeframe in which a restricted journeyworker or restricted master 
plumber must pay the past due renewal fee to coordinate with the two year timeframe proposed 
in subpart 1 above.  
 
                                                           
17 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.49, subd. 1(b) (2018). This statute was amended in 2016. See Minn. Laws, 2016 c. 189 art. 
8 sec. 3.  
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4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER’S APPRENTICE 
 
The proposed rule amends the title of this rule part to “REGISTRATION OF REGISTERED  
UNLICENSED PLUMBER.” The proposed rule amendment aligns the title with the title change 
to Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, which was changed from “Plumber’s Apprentices” to “Unlicensed 
Individuals” in 2010.18 This amendment is reasonable because chapter 4716 regulates registered 
unlicensed plumbers but not registered plumber’s apprentices who are part of a formal 
apprenticeship program. The formal distinction between a plumber’s apprentice and a registered 
unlicensed plumber is relatively new.19 Rule titles are not enforceable but the title change adds 
clarity to the rule part particularly since the rule specifically states that it does not apply to 
registered plumber’s apprentices.   
 
Subpart 1. Scope. 
The proposed rule amendment updates and corrects this subpart. The proposed rule amendment 
updates the word “shall (not)” with “does (not)” because “shall (not)” is not grammatically 
correct. Also, the change to “does (not)” modernizes the language and is plain language. The 
proposed rule amendment corrects the referenced statute cite. The current rule refers to 
“Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1)” however, there is no such clause 
(1). The correct cite format is Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 
Emphasis added. The proposed rule amendment changes the plural “plumber’s apprentices” to 
singular for consistency with the rest of the rule chapter.   
 
Subp. 2. Registration requirements 
The proposed rule amendments change all “plumber’s apprentice” references to “registered 
unlicensed plumber.” Plumber’s apprentices are regulated under the formal, approved 
apprenticeship agreement subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 178 and related rule chapters. 
The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it uses terminology that is 
consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 and other proposed amendments in this rule chapter.  
 
4716.0091 DEFINITIONS 
 
Subpart 1. Scope. 
The proposed rule amendment adds “Subpart 1. Scope” because now that a second subpart is 
added, it is necessary and reasonable to number and title the subpart. When it was the only 
subpart in this section, it was not necessary to number and title it.  
 
 Subpart 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner 
The proposed rule amendment adds this subpart to establish and define the term, “Registered 
unlicensed water conditioner.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and 
assist in plumbing have been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, registered 
unlicensed water conditioners is a newly established category of regulated parties per the 2017 
legislature.20 It is necessary and reasonable to establish and define this terms that identifies the 
legislature’s newly regulated category of individuals.   

                                                           
18 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/  
19 Id.  
20 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/.  
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4716.0092 LICENSURE 
  
Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. 
The proposed rule amendment reduces redundant language and thereby provides clarity and 
consistency with the current Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subds. 1a and 2a.  The proposed rule 
amendment replaces all references to “water conditioning master or master plumber” with 
“responsible licensed master” because “responsible licensed master” is a term already defined in 
Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subd. 1a and the definition requires the individual to be a “water 
conditioning master or licensed master plumber.” All the language that the proposed rule 
amendment deletes is deleted because it is addressed by using the defined term “responsible 
licensed master.”  There is no substantive change to the rule part.  
 
Subpart 3. Water conditioning journeyworker.  
The proposed rule amendment adds that, in addition to the six months of practical experience and 
passing an exam, an applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker license must be a 
registered unlicensed water conditioner in Minnesota except as permitted in subpart 4, item A, 
subitem (4). The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable to ensure that the 
qualifying experience is obtained under proper qualified conditions and is consistent with Minn. 
Stat. § 326B.555.  
 
Subpart 4. Experience. 
Subpart 4 provides specific requirements for the experience needed in subparts 2 and 3. There 
are no proposed amendments to items A through C. Items D and E are new to provide the 
specific experience requirements for registered unlicensed water conditioners and the employer 
of the registered unlicensed water conditioner and water conditioning journeyworker. The 
statutory authority to regulate registered unlicensed water conditioners is new. Therefore, this 
formalized category of regulated individuals is new, thus, the new items in this subpart. Items A 
through C detail the requirements for other required experiences listed in subparts 2 and 3.  
 
Subpart 4(D)(1) 
The proposed rule amendment is new to address the newly formalized category of registered 
unlicensed water conditioner and what is expected of those applicants. The proposed rule 
amendment clearly states the requirement (to be a registered unlicensed water conditioner while 
obtaining the practical water conditioning experience) and clarifies that the exception in Minn. 
Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, applies here.  This is necessary and reasonable because it should be 
clear what is expected of the regulated parties, what other permissions apply to the requirement 
and is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. The exception in Minn. Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, 
grants flexibility to applicants.   
 
Subpart 4(D)(2) 
The proposed rule amendment clarifies what is required of the licensed water conditioning 
master who is responsible for certifying the work performed by the registered unlicensed water 
conditioner. It is necessary and reasonable to clearly state the requirements. The requirements are 
reasonable and consistent with the requirements in Minn. R. part 4716.0020, subp. 2, and Minn. 
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R. part 4716.0092, subp. 4(C), while tailored to the water conditioner licensing requirements.
The proposed rule amendment is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555.

Subpart 4(E)(1) and (2) 
The proposed rule amendment adds recordkeeping requirements for the employers of water 
conditioning journeyworkers and registered unlicensed water conditioners. The proposed rule 
amendment requires the employers to record the practical water conditioning experience worked 
by each employee and to maintain those records for at least six years. The registered unlicensed 
water conditioner needs this record of experience to qualify as an applicant for the 
journeyworker exam and the journeyworker needs the recorded experience to qualify for the 
master exam. It is necessary and reasonable to require the employer to make and maintain these 
records and such requirement is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. It is necessary and 
reasonable for the employer to maintain these records for six years after the employee’s last 
recorded experience because it gives applicants time to take the journeyworker exam after 
completing the training and for the journeyworker to take the master exam. There are a variety of 
reasons why an applicant might be delayed in taking an examination. For example, a medical 
incident or family emergency that delays the applicant from taking the examination. Six years 
balances flexibility for the applicant with minimal burden for the employer. Six years is 
consistent with the record retention requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers in part 
4716.0020, subp. 2(G)(2).  

4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION 

Subpart 1. Registration requirements 
The proposed rule amendment establishes the requirements and qualifications to become a 
registered unlicensed water conditioner. For example, the proposed rule amendment requires a 
person to submit an application and fee to the Department annually to become a registered 
unlicensed water conditioner. Registrations are effective from July 1 through June 30 of the 
following year and late renewals require payment of a late fee. This date range is consistent with 
Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and the registered unlicensed plumber registration dates in Minn. R. part 
4716.0050, subp. 2. This is necessary and reasonable because having a set registration period 
makes administration of and compliance with the rule easier and more efficient for both the 
Department who enforces the rule and the registrants complying with the code. This efficiency 
keeps licensing fees down.      

The proposed rule amendment establishes reasonable qualifications in items A and B that are 
consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and other similar rules. Specifically, item A requires a 
registered unlicensed water conditioner to be at least 18 years of age or a high school graduate, 
though individuals as young as 16 may register and perform work if they are supervised by the 
individual’s parent. Item B requires applicants for an unlicensed water conditioner registration to 
provide to the Department certain personal information, including Social Security number as 
required by Minn. Stat. § 270C.72.21 These qualifications are consistent with the qualifications 
for registered unlicensed plumbers in Minn. R. part 4716.0050, subp. 2, and Minn. Stat. § 
326B.555. This information is necessary and reasonable for the Department to be able to verify 
individual identities and is consistent with Minnesota Statutes.    

21 See Minn. Stat. § 270C.72 (2018). 
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4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS 

Subpart 1. Continuing education; content. 
Plumbing licensees are currently required to take 16 hours of approved continuing education 
each two-year license period. The proposed rule amendment does not change that total number of 
required hours.  

Subpart 1(A) 
The proposed rule amendment lowers the minimum number of continuing education hours that 
must pertain to the Plumbing Code from twelve to eight and allows the remainder of the required 
hours to pertain to the Plumbing Code or technical topics related plumbing installations and 
equipment, Minnesota Rules chapter 4716, the Minnesota State Building Code, or the Plumbing 
and Water Conditioning sections of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B. The proposed rule 
amendment changes only the minimum number of hours that must pertain to the Plumbing Code 
and allows a licensee to obtain all continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code. This is 
necessary and reasonable because eight hours of Plumbing Code instruction will be sufficient for 
some veteran licensed plumbers while newer licensed plumbers might benefit from more 
Plumbing Code instruction hours. The proposed rule amendment allows more flexibility while 
maintaining a high standard of qualifications. The proposed rule amendment is consistent with 
the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 that encourages agencies to develop rules that 
“emphasize superior achievement in meeting the agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum 
flexibility for the regulated party.”22 Because knowledge of the Plumbing Code is essential to 
safe plumbing practices, and the Plumbing Code changes, it is reasonable to require licensed 
individuals have a minimum number of continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code.  

The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 
326B.49 to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.59, emphasis added, because the range 
to 326B.49 does not include the water conditioning sections, which are sections 326B.50 through 
326B.59. This also provides additional flexibility in the topics in which licensed plumbers may 
get the required continuing education hours.  

The proposed rule amendment allows licensed individuals to tailor their continuing education 
hour topics to their needs while also maintaining high quality continuing education because all 
continuing education courses must be approved, pursuant to Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 
through 4716.0210.  

The proposed rule amendment eliminates the current four-hour limit on continuing education 
hours obtained by any electronic media. That is, online continuing education hours are currently 
limited to four of the sixteen. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because 
some licensed plumbers in outstate Minnesota have some challenges with accessing in-person 
continuing education courses that metro area plumbers do not have. For example, there are fewer 
in-person course offerings in outstate Minnesota. Allowing all sixteen continuing education 
hours to be obtained online modernizes the requirement and recognizes the changes and 
improvements in technology. Electronic media standards are established in Minnesota Statutes, 

22 See Minn. Stat. § 14.002 (2018). 
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sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. The online courses must also be approved pursuant to 
Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 through 4716.0210 like any other in-person course. The 
proposed rule amendment is consistent with the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 
that encourages agencies to develop rules that “emphasize superior achievement in meeting the 
agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum flexibility for the regulated party.”   
 
These changes are intended to make it easier and less costly for licensees to obtain the continuing 
education required to maintain licensure while maintaining quality education. Continuing 
education requirements for regulated parties are necessary and reasonable to ensure competency 
and recognizes industry changes in the interest of public health. 
 
Subpart 1(B) 
Licensed water conditioning journeyworkers and masters must obtain four hours of continuing 
education hours per two-year licensing period. The proposed rule amendment deletes 
unnecessary language and adds the requirement that two of the four required continuing 
education hours must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remaining two hours may pertain to 
the Plumbing Code or an existing list of other relevant topics. The proposed rule amendment 
maintains the same number of hours as the current rule and maintains flexibility while ensuring 
licensed water conditioners stay current with the Plumbing Code in addition to technical topics. 
It is necessary and reasonable to require licensed water conditioners to take two hours of 
continuing education on the Plumbing Code because their work is controlled by the Plumbing 
Code. Because the scope of their work is not as broad as licensed plumbers, it is reasonable that 
the total number of required continuing education hours is fewer than licensed plumbers. 
Correspondingly, the required minimum number of continuing education hours on the Plumbing 
Code is also fewer than what is required for licensed plumbers.  
 
The proposed rule amendment adds that the continuing education hours may be obtained online, 
subject to the requirements in Minn. Stat. §§ 326B.098 to 326B.099. This proposed amendment 
is consistent with the proposed amendment in subpart 1(A) above.   
 
Subpart 1(C) 
The proposed rule amendment creates a new requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers and 
water conditioners to take two hours of continuing education each year as a condition of 
renewing their registration. Registered unlicensed plumbers must take two hours of continuing 
education on the Plumbing Code because the range of work they may perform is broad and 
includes the entire scope of the Plumbing Code. Registered unlicensed water conditioners must 
take one hour of continuing education on the Plumbing Code and the other hour of continuing 
education may be on the Plumbing Code or a technical topic related to water conditioning 
installation. The scope of the work of a registered unlicensed water conditioner is limited to 
water conditioning so they do not work with the entire Plumbing Code.  
 
For many registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education 
requirement is absorbed into their training toward qualifying for the journeyworker exam in their 
respective field. For other registered unlicensed plumbers and registered unlicensed water 
conditioners who do not intend to take the journeyworker exam in their respective field, this 
requirement ensures they stay current with industry practices and the Plumbing Code.  
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For both registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education hours 
may be taken online. This requirement will enhance registrants’ knowledge and understanding of 
the Plumbing Code and other information relevant to their work. While field work is important, 
there are tables and calculations in the Plumbing Code that industry professionals must be aware 
of and learn about. A continuing education class is a setting conducive to learning about certain 
aspects of the Plumbing Code.   
 
Similarly, registered unlicensed electricians have been required to obtain two hours of continuing 
education every renewal period since 2009.23 It is necessary and reasonable to require a regulated 
party to obtain some continuing education to maintain their registration to ensure competence in 
the interest of public health.  
 
Subpart 1(D) and (E) 
The proposed rule amendment renumbers these paragraphs to reflect the new paragraphs added 
above. There are no substantive changes.  
 
LIST OF EXHIBITS (Optional) 
 

In support of the need for and reasonableness of the proposed rules, the Department 
anticipates that it will enter the following exhibits into the hearing record: [List the exhibits.] 
 
CONCLUSION 
 

Based on the foregoing, the proposed rules are both needed and reasonable. 
 
___________________________ ________________________________ 
[Date]     Richard Jacobs 

Plumbing Board Chair 
 

 
This Statement of Need and Reasonableness was made available for public review on 
__________, 2018. 

 [References to Published Materials. Published materials should not be attachments or 
exhibits to the SONAR. The following published materials may just be referenced in the 
SONAR: Minnesota Statutes, Minnesota Rules, United States Statutes at Large, United States 
Code, Laws of Minnesota, Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register. If you rely on 
or refer to other published materials in the SONAR, it would be a good idea to attach a 
bibliography to the SONAR and include a statement on where the material is available or the url 
links to find the material online.] 
 

[References to Nonpublished Materials. Nonpublished materials such as letters from 
expert witnesses should either be exhibits attached to the SONAR or the content of the letter 
should be directly quoted in the SONAR. Note: All exhibits that are not attached to the SONAR 
must be available for review.] 
                                                           
23 See Minn. R. 3800.3602 (2018). See also https://www.revisor.mn.gov/state_register/34/15/.   
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400 Centennial Building   658 Cedar Street   St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 

Voice: (651) 201-8000    Fax: (651) 296-8685    TTY: 1-800-627-3529 
An Equal Opportunity Employer 

October 31, 2018

To: Suzanne Todnem, General Counsel 

Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry

443 Lafayette Road N. 

St. Paul, MN   55155-4341  

From: Marianne Conboy, Executive Budget Officer 

Minnesota Management & Budget 

RE: In the Matter of the Proposed Rules of the Minnesota Plumbing Board, Minnesota Rules, chapter 4716; 

Revisor’s ID Number R-04365 

Background 

The Minnesota Plumbing Board (“the Board”) adopts and amends the plumbing code and rules that regulate the 

licensing and registration of various plumbing-related professions, issues final interpretations, and has licensing 

authority over other persons engaged in the design, installation, and alteration of plumbing systems or engaged 

in or working at the business of water conditioning installation or service (except for individuals licensed as 

architects or professional engineers).  The Board also regulates the continuing education for these groups.  The 

Board receives support from the Department of Labor and Industry per MS 326B.435, subd. 2(c).  The Minnesota 

Legislature, in the 2017 Session, granted the Board rulemaking authority over a new category of registered 

unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation and authorized the Board to adopt rules for 

the registration of these unlicensed individuals. 

The Board’s proposed amendments to the rules governing plumber and water conditioning registration and 

licensing in Minnesota Rules, chapter 4716, at Revisor’s ID Number R-04365 update terminology and provide 

clarity throughout the rule.  Key changes in this rule amendment: 

(1) Restates current statute, effective since July 2017, which requires the registration of unlicensed water

conditioners and corresponding registration fees ($14 the first year, and $19 each year thereafter).

(2) Provide the requirements for the registration process for unlicensed water conditioners.

(3) Require two hours per year of continuing education hours for registered unlicensed water conditioners.

(4) Require two hours per year of continuing education hours for registered unlicensed plumbers.

(5) Adjust the number of hours of continuing education that licensed plumbers can attain online from up to

four hours to any number of hours to fulfill the existing sixteen hour requirement.

(6) Decrease the number of hours of continuing education that licensed plumbers must obtain on code

from 12 hours minimum to eight hours minimum.
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Evaluation 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 14.131, on behalf of the commissioner of Minnesota Management & Budget, I 

have reviewed the proposed rules and Statement of Need and Reasonableness (SONAR) for the fiscal impact and 

fiscal benefits on local units of government.  There is not anticipated to be any significant fiscal impact on local 

units of government with this rule amendment.  These rules impact water conditioners and plumbers.  There is 

no requirement in this rule that the statutory registration fee for unlicensed water conditioners, or the 

continuing education requirements for unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, must be paid by employers. 

Thus, if an unlicensed water conditioner or plumber is an employee of a local unit of government, the local unit 

of government may choose to or not to cover that fee or continuing education cost.  In addition, the licensing 

and registration for licensed and unlicensed water conditioners and plumbers is administered at the state level, 

not at the local level of government.  DLI maintains a free database online with this status for each individual.  

There appears to be no direct fiscal impact or fiscal benefit from this rule amendment to local units of 

government.   

Sincerely, 

Marianne Conboy 

Executive Budget Officer 

cc: Ahna Minge, Minnesota Management & Budget 
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Minnesota Plumbing Board 
 
STATEMENT OF NEED AND REASONABLENESS 
 
Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Plumber Licensing, Minnesota Rules, chapter 
4716; Revisor’s ID Number R-04365 
 
INTRODUCTION 
 

The Minnesota Plumbing Board (“Board”) intends to adopt rules regulating the 
registration of unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation, registration of 
unlicensed individuals who perform plumbing, examination and licensing of plumbers, and 
continuing education requirements for licensed individuals and registered unlicensed individuals.    

 
In 2017, the Minnesota Legislature granted the Board rulemaking authority over a new 

category of registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning installation and 
authorized the Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.1  
Additionally, the Minnesota Legislature newly granted the Board authority to regulate continuing 
education requirements for all registered unlicensed individuals.2   

 
There are two notable changes in the proposed rule amendments. First, the Board’s 

proposed amendments provide the requirements for the registration of unlicensed water 
conditioners (registration of unlicensed plumbers is already in rule). The Board anticipates that 
some registered unlicensed individuals will apply their work experience to pursue licensure 
while some registered unlicensed individuals will not.  The proposed rules facilitate the 
Department’s tracking of individuals’ work experience to determine when individuals have 
obtained sufficient experience to qualify them to take the appropriate licensing exam. Second, 
the proposed rules require minimal continuing education hours for registered unlicensed 
individuals to ensure they stay current with industry and Plumbing Code changes.   

 
The Board published a Request for Comments on October 30, 2017. In response to the 

Request for Comments, the Board received one comment that requested that the Board support 
legislation that would change the licensing requirements for backflow prevention assembly 
rebuilders in Minnesota. The Board received 61 comments about the continuing education 
requirements for registered unlicensed plumbers.3 The Board addressed those concerns at Board 
meetings and in the rule-by-rule analysis below.4  

 
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (“Department”) is required to provide 

support to the Board, including for rulemaking.5   
 
                                                           
1 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 14. This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
2 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 8.  This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
3 All comments submitted in response to the Request for Comments are available here 
http://www.dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/4716-comment.pdf.  
4 See Board meeting minutes for March 12, 2018; June 12, 2018, August 28, 2018 at http://www.dli.mn.gov/about-
department/boards-and-councils/plumbing-board  
5 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2(c) (2018). 
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ALTERNATIVE FORMAT 

Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as 
large print, braille, or audio. To make a request, contact Suzanne Todnem at the Department of 
Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, Saint Paul, MN 55155-4342, or by telephone 
651-284-5006, or email to:  dli.rules@state.mn.us.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The Board’s statutory authority to adopt rules related to licensure, certification, or 
registration is stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(5), which authorizes the 
Board to: 

adopt rules that regulate the licensure, certification, or registration of plumbing 
contractors, journeyworkers, unlicensed individuals, master plumbers, restricted master 
plumbers, restricted journeyworkers, restricted plumbing contractors, backflow 
prevention rebuilders and testers, water conditioning contractors, and water conditioning 
installers, and other persons engaged in the design, installation, and alteration of 
plumbing systems or engaged in or working at the business of water conditioning 
installation or service, or engaged in or working at the business of medical gas system 
installation, maintenance, or repair, except for those individuals licensed under section 
326.02, subdivisions 2 and 3.  

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.435, subd. 2(a)(6) was amended in 2017 to authorize 
the Board to adopt rules regulating continuing education for registered unlicensed individuals.  
Specifically, the Board has the authority to “adopt rules that regulate continuing education for 
individuals licensed as master plumbers, journeyworker plumbers, restricted master plumbers, 
restricted journeyworker plumbers, registered unlicensed individuals, water conditioning 
masters, and water conditioning journeyworkers, and for individuals certified under sections 
326B.437 and 326B.438.”6 While the Board’s authority to regulate continuing education for 
licensed individuals is not new, the authority to regulate continuing education for registered 
unlicensed individuals is new.  

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subd. 3, authorizes the Board to prescribe rules for 
the registration of unlicensed individuals.7 The Board has been regulating registered unlicensed 
individuals who perform plumbing as a different classification than plumber’s apprentices since 
2010.8  

6See Minn. Stat. § 326B.435, subd. 2 (2018). 

7See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 3 (2018). 

8 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/ and Minn. R. part 4716.0050. 
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Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, which was enacted in 2017, creates a new 
category of registered unlicensed individuals to perform water conditioning installation and 
authorizes the Board to adopt rules for the registration of these unlicensed individuals.9 
 

Because specific portions of the Board’s rulemaking authority was new in 2017, effective 
August 1, 2017, those portions are subject to the 18-month time limit in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 14.125. The Board will publish a notice of intent to adopt rules or a notice of hearing 
within 18 months of the effective date.  

 
Under these statutes, the Board has the necessary statutory authority to adopt the 

proposed rules. 
 
REGULATORY ANALYSIS 
 

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, sets out eight factors for a regulatory analysis that 
must be included in the SONAR. Paragraphs (1) through (8) below quote these factors and then 
give the agency’s response. 
 
(1) a description of the classes of persons who probably will be affected by the proposed 
rule, including classes that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will 
benefit from the proposed rule 
 
The proposed amendments to the rules would likely affect individuals and contractors currently 
licensed, certified or registered in Minnesota under Chapter 4716; individuals and contractors 
who would like to be licensed, certified or registered under Chapter 4716; individuals who 
perform water conditioning installation but are not licensed, certified or registered; providers of 
continuing education courses; and the general public. 
 
(2) the probable costs to the agency and to any other agency of the implementation and 
enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues 
 
Although the Board has the authority to adopt plumbing licensing rules, it does not implement or 
enforce the licensing rules. The Department currently administers and enforces the licensing 
rules. Any additional costs the Department incurs to implement and enforce the proposed rules 
will be offset by additional registration fees collected from registered unlicensed individuals. The 
Department does not anticipate increased costs to administer the rule except for the newly 
regulated individuals. The costs to enforce registration of the newly regulated individuals will be 
offset by the registration fees.  
 
(3) a determination of whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for 
achieving the purpose of the proposed rule 
 

                                                           
9See Minn. Laws, 2017 c. 94 art 2 s 14. This law became effective August 1, 2017. 
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The Board has determined there is no less costly or less intrusive method for achieving the 
purposes of the proposed rules. The proposed rules are anticipated to reduce some costs of 
compliance compared to the current rule.  
 
(4) a description of any alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule 
that were seriously considered by the agency and the reasons why they were rejected in 
favor of the proposed rule 
 
No alternative methods for achieving the purpose of the proposed rule were identified.  The 
Board determined that the existing requirements and procedures used have been successful and 
should be maintained. The same or similar procedures are used in other similar industries as well.  
 
(5) the probable costs of complying with the proposed rule, including the portion of the 
total costs that will be borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate 
classes of governmental units, businesses, or individuals 
 
The probable costs of complying with the proposed rule are anticipated to be minimal. 
Registered unlicensed individuals who perform water conditioning work will be subject to the 
same $14 registration fee that registered unlicensed plumbers and electricians are currently 
required to pay. Other regulated parties under this proposed rule are anticipated to see the same 
or lower costs to comply with the proposed rule.  
 
(6) the probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule, including those 
costs or consequences borne by identifiable categories of affected parties, such as separate 
classes of government units, businesses, or individuals 
 
The probable costs or consequences of not adopting the proposed rule are fewer avenues for 
unlicensed individuals to qualify for journeyworker licensing exams and fewer work options for 
individuals seeking employment in the water conditioning industry, which could limit the pool of 
qualified workers available to businesses that provide water conditioning services to the public. 
 
Another consequence of not adopting the proposed rule is that the Board would lose its statutory 
authority to regulate certain parties. The legislature would then need to pass new legislation, 
which may have costs associated with it. Without rules to address the newly regulated party in 
statute, there would be confusion for anyone interested in hiring or becoming a registered 
unlicensed water conditioner.  
 
(7) an assessment of any differences between the proposed rule and existing federal 
regulations and a specific analysis of the need for and reasonableness of each difference 
 
There are no federal regulations that apply. 
 
(8) an assessment of the cumulative effect of the rule with other federal and state 
regulations related to the specific purpose of the rule. . . . ‘[C]umulative effect’ means the 
impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in addition to other rules, 
regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules. Cumulative effects 
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can result from individually minor but collectively significant rules adopted over a period 
of time. 
The proposed rules cover areas that are not addressed by federal law or other Minnesota 
state laws. Therefore, this consideration is not applicable to this proposed rule. 
 
PERFORMANCE-BASED RULES 
 
The Board carefully considered the directives of the legislature requiring performance-based 
standards to the extent possible. The Board sought input from interested parties at multiple 
scheduled committee and Board meetings. The proposed rules are prescriptive in that they 
establish a specific number of continuing education hour requirements for registered unlicensed 
individuals. The proposed rules are as performance-based as possible by allowing flexibility in 
the method and topics of continuing education while remaining clear and enforceable.  
 
ADDITIONAL NOTICE 
 

This Additional Notice Plan was reviewed by the Office of Administrative Hearings and 
approved in a [date] letter by Administrative Law Judge [name]. 
 

Our Notice Plan also includes giving notice required by statute. We will mail or e-mail 
the [rules and] Notice of Intent to Adopt to everyone who has registered to be on the 
Department’s rulemaking mailing list under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.14, subdivision 1a. 
We will also give notice to the Legislature per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.116. We will also 
e-mail the rules and Notice of Intent to Adopt to the following organizations and trade groups: 

 
a. Associated Builders and Contractors 
a. Local chapter of the Association of Minnesota Building Officials (AMBO) 
b. Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association 
c. Association of General Contractors of Minnesota 
d. Builders Association of Minnesota (BAM) 
e. Builders Association of the Twin Cities 
f. Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association 
g. Minnesota Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors Association 
h. American Society of Plumbing Engineers – Minnesota Chapter 
i. American Society of Civil Engineers – Minnesota Section 
j. Association of Minnesota Counties 
k. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), Minneapolis 
l. Building Owners and Managers (BOMA), St. Paul 
m. League of Minnesota Cities 
n. American Council of Engineering Companies of Minnesota 
o. Minnesota Pipe Trades Association 
p. Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division 
q. Minnesota Society of Professional Engineers (MNSPE) 

 
Our Notice Plan did not include notifying the Commissioner of Agriculture because the 

rules do not affect farming operations per Minnesota Statutes, section 14.111. 
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CONSULTATION WITH MMB ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT IMPACT 

As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.131, the Board consulted with Minnesota 
Management and Budget (MMB). The Board did this by sending MMB copies of the documents 
that we sent to the Governor’s Office for review and approval on the same day we sent them to 
the Governor’s office. We did this before publishing the Notice of Intent to Adopt. The 
documents included: the Governor’s Office Proposed Rule and SONAR Form; the proposed 
rules; and the SONAR. A copy of the cover correspondence and the response received from 
Minnesota Management and Budget, dated [date], is attached as Attachment A. 

Because local governments are not actively engaged in the regulation of businesses and 
individuals in the plumbing and water conditioning industry, the financial impact to them is 
minimal.  To the extent that local governments inspect the installation of water conditioning 
systems, the proposed rules may benefit the inspection process by enhancing the knowledge of 
individuals working in the industry.   

DETERMINATION ABOUT RULES REQUIRING LOCAL IMPLEMENTATION 

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.128 requires agencies to determine whether a local government 
will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply with a proposed 
agency rule and submit this determination for ALJ approval. An agency must make this 
determination before the close of the hearing record or before the agency submits the record 
to the administrative law judge if there is no hearing. The Board has determined that no 
local government will have to adopt or amend an ordinance or other regulation to comply 
with the proposed rule. Plumber and water conditioner licensing and registration is enforced 
at the state level so no local government or municipality will be required to adopt or amend 
a local ordinance as a result of the proposed rule.  

COST OF COMPLYING FOR SMALL BUSINESS OR CITY 

Agency Determination of Cost 

As required by Minnesota Statutes, section 14.127, the Board has considered whether the cost of 
complying with the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will exceed $25,000 
for any small business or small city.10  The Board has determined that the cost of complying with 
the proposed rules in the first year after the rules take effect will not exceed $25,000 for any 
small business or small city.   

The proposed rule amendments are anticipated to keep the cost of complying with the rule the 
same or less with the exception of the continuing education requirements for registered 
unlicensed individuals (water conditioners and plumbers). 

10 A small business is defined as “any one business that has less than 50 full-time employees” and a small city is 
defined as “any one statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees.” Minn. Stat. § 
14.127, subd. 1 (2018).  
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Small cities are not anticipated to incur any costs. It is not anticipated that a small city would 
employ a registered unlicensed individual. Therefore, even if there are minimal increased costs 
for registered unlicensed individuals or employers of registered unlicensed individuals, small 
cities will not be affected. Furthermore, because plumber and water conditioner licensing is 
administered and enforced at the state level, it is not anticipated that any city, including a small 
city, would incur any costs to comply with the proposed rule from an administrative perspective.  

Small businesses already have to track the hours worked by their individual employees so there 
is no additional cost anticipated in the normal course of maintaining employment records.11 

If the employer chooses to pay the registration cost, assuming all possible employees are 
registered unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost for a small business would be $19 x 
49 employees12 = $931, which is well below the $25,000 threshold.  

The average cost for a two-hour continuing education course is $ 49.00.13 Again, the cost for two 
hours of continuing education may be paid by the registrant or the employer. If the employer 
chooses to pay this cost, again assuming the maximum number of employees are registered 
unlicensed individuals, the maximum annual cost, on average, would be $ 49.00 x 49 employees 
= $ 2,401.00. This total is again well below the $25,000 threshold. The combined total of annual 
registration fees and continuing education costs is approximately $ 3,332.00, which is well below 
the $25,000 threshold.  

LIST OF WITNESSES 

If these rules go to a public hearing, the Department anticipates having the following 
witnesses testify in support of the need for and reasonableness of the rules: 

1. Mr. Richard Jacobs, Plumbing Board Chair, will testify about the Board’s interest
in amending the code.

2. Mr. Charlie Durenberger, Assistant Director, CCLD, will testify about the
technical aspects of the proposed amendments.

3. Other Board members or Department of Labor and Industry staff, if necessary.

RULE-BY-RULE ANALYSIS 

4716.0010 DEFINITIONS 

The proposed rule amendment adds a subpart 6 to codify the term, “Registered unlicensed 
plumber.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and assist in plumbing have 

11 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c) (2018).  
12 At least one employee would have to be a licensed journeyworker or master plumber. This example is for 
illustrative purposes only. A small business is unlikely to have 49 registered unlicensed individuals.  
13 See Attachment A.  
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been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, the proposed rule amendment formally 
names and clarifies this category of individuals.14   
 
4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS 
 
Subpart 1. Examinations.  
The proposed rule amendment deletes language that states two specific times of the year in 
which journeyworker and master plumber licensing exams will be held. The Department began 
offering journeyworker and master plumber licensing examinations on a weekly basis several 
years ago in an effort to increase the availability of exams to those seeking licensure.  As result, 
the current rule requirement that exams be given in March and September is outdated and no 
longer necessary. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it 
modernizes the rule part and deletes unnecessary language.  
 
Subpart 1(A)(1) 
The proposed rule amendment clarifies that an applicant for the master plumber examination 
must have worked as a licensed journeyworker plumber for at least one year before he or she can 
qualify to take the master plumber license examination. The current language that an applicant 
for the master plumber examination be a licensed Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and 
have “five years of practical plumbing experience” has the same meaning because four years of 
practical plumbing experience is required to qualify for the journeyworker plumber examination 
and the fifth year comes the year after an individual becomes a licensed journeyworker plumber. 
The proposed rule states that requirement more clearly.  
 
Subpart 1(B)(1)  
The proposed rule amendment clarifies the distinction between a plumber’s apprentice defined in 
Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, and the registered unlicensed plumber, which is a newly 
formalized term.15 See 4716.0010 analysis above. The requirement is substantively the same but 
clarifies the two categories of applicants and clarifies that the four years of practical plumbing 
experience must be recorded as required in Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, subd. 1(c).  
 
Subp. 2. Experience 
 
Subpart 2(E) 
The proposed rule amendment corrects the subitems referenced here to correspond with the 
proposed rule below. 
 
Subpart 2(E)(1) 
The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 
qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 
(c).  
 

                                                           
14 See Minn. Laws, 2010  c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/  
15 Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6 (2018) provides a definition of “plumber’s apprentice and defines it as “any 
individual who is employed in the practical installation of plumbing under an apprenticeship agreement approved by 
the department under section 178.07.” 
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Subpart 2(E)(3)  
The current rule requires applicants who are licensed restricted journeyworker plumbers or 
licensed restricted master plumbers to have completed the entire two years of practical plumbing 
experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination. The proposed rule 
amendment deletes subitem 3 because removing this timeframe encourages licensed restricted 
journeyworker plumbers and licensed restricted master plumbers to take the regular licensed 
journeyworker plumber and licensed master plumber examinations. The proposed rule 
amendment broadens the pool of possible applicants. A shortage of skilled laborers is anticipated 
according to industry experts and [source].16 The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 
reasonable because the applicants are still subject to examination to ensure competent licensed 
plumbers.  
 
Subpart 2(F) 
The proposed rule amendment deletes reference to plumber’s apprentice and replaces it with 
registered unlicensed plumber because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation 
subject to subitems (1) and (2) that follow. Because a registered plumber’s apprentice, as defined 
in Minn. Stat. § 326B.42, subd. 6, is part of a formal, approved apprenticeship, subitems (1) and 
(2) are moot issues to them. The proposed rule amendment also corrects the subitems referenced 
here to correspond with the proposed rule below. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and 
reasonable because the distinction between a registered plumber’s apprentice and registered 
unlicensed plumber should be clear.  
 
Subpart 2(F)(1) 
The proposed rule amendment adds the word “plumbing” before “work” to clarify that the 
qualifying hours must be obtained performing plumbing work, as described in the list (a) through 
(c).  
 
Subpart 2(F)(2) 
The proposed rule amendment deletes the reference to subitem (3) because subitem (3) is deleted 
in the proposed rule. Again, the reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “unlicensed 
plumber” is added because only registered unlicensed plumbers will have a situation subject to 
subitems (1) and (2) that follow.  
 
The proposed rule amendment provides for alternate options for an applicant to have obtained 
the practical plumbing experience as listed in items (a) through (c). The alternate options are 
substantively the same as the language that is deleted in subpart 2(F)(3). The language was 
removed from subitem (3) and moved to subitem (2) because combining subitems (2) and (3) 
into one subitem, and removing the timing requirements in subitem (3), clarifies the two avenues 
through which an applicant may obtain the practical plumbing experience. That is, the practical 
experience must be obtained as a registered unlicensed plumber or through one of the ways listed 
in (2)(a) through (c). There is minimal substantive change to subitems (2) and (3) as the intent is 
to clarify the different acceptable ways to obtain the practical plumbing experience.  
 
 
Subpart 2(G) 
                                                           
16 [ADD SOURCE HERE] 
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The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference numbering to reflect the proposed 
amendments. For example, the reference to subitem (3) is replaced with subitem “(2), units (a) to 
(c)” because the proposed rule amendment moves the content in subitem (3) to subitem (2), units 
(a) to (c). The word “master” is added and “or plumbing contractor” is deleted because a 
plumbing contractor is a business entity and a human being must provide the certification. The 
reference to “plumber’s apprentice” is deleted and “registered unlicensed plumber” is added to 
be consistent with the proposed amendments above.  
 
                
4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES 
 
Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration 
The proposed rule amendment provides consistency for all journeyworker licensees and master 
licensees and aligns the rules with Minnesota Statutes.17 The proposed rule amendment 
simplifies the renewal of journeyworker plumber and master plumber licenses. All 
journeyworker plumber licenses will expire on December 31 of odd-numbered years rather than 
on anniversary dates of license issuance. All master plumber licenses will expire on December 
31 of even-numbered years. The Department can provide more efficient administration and 
enforcement of the licensing rules, thereby keeping enforcement costs, and therefore license fees, 
down. Individual licensees and the Department benefit from the proposed change.  
 
The renewal window for restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers was changed 
from 12 months to within “two years of the license expiration” to grant restricted license holders 
additional time to renew their license before permanently forfeiting their restricted plumber 
license. Because failing to renew timely results in permanent forfeiture, it is reasonable to grant 
license holders more than 12 months to renew. The two-year time period to renew is consistent 
with the renewal period for licensed journeyworker and master plumbers. Restricted 
journeyworker and restricted master plumber licenses are relatively few in number and are a 
holdover from the transition from no licensure in cities with populations less than 5,000 to 
statewide plumber licensing in 2005.  Restricted plumber licenses were granted to individuals 
who were performing plumbing at the time of the transition and who performed plumbing work 
in municipalities with a population under 5,000.  A plumber holding a restricted license may not 
perform plumbing work in municipalities with a population over 5,000. No new restricted 
plumber licenses have been granted since the transition period. Once a restricted license is 
forfeited, it cannot be reinstated or renewed.  
 
Subpart 2. License renewals 
The proposed rule amendment clarifies that license renewal applications must be submitted by 
December 31 of the year in which the license expires to be a timely renewal.  
 
The proposed rule amends the timeframe in which a restricted journeyworker or restricted master 
plumber must pay the past due renewal fee to coordinate with the two year timeframe proposed 
in subpart 1 above.  
 
                                                           
17 See Minn. Stat. § 326B.49, subd. 1(b) (2018). This statute was amended in 2016. See Minn. Laws, 2016 c. 189 art. 
8 sec. 3.  
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4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER’S APPRENTICE 

The proposed rule amends the title of this rule part to “REGISTRATION OF REGISTERED  
UNLICENSED PLUMBER.” The proposed rule amendment aligns the title with the title change 
to Minn. Stat. § 326B.47, which was changed from “Plumber’s Apprentices” to “Unlicensed 
Individuals” in 2010.18 This amendment is reasonable because chapter 4716 regulates registered 
unlicensed plumbers but not registered plumber’s apprentices who are part of a formal 
apprenticeship program. The formal distinction between a plumber’s apprentice and a registered 
unlicensed plumber is relatively new.19 Rule titles are not enforceable but the title change adds 
clarity to the rule part particularly since the rule specifically states that it does not apply to 
registered plumber’s apprentices.   

Subpart 1. Scope. 
The proposed rule amendment updates and corrects this subpart. The proposed rule amendment 
updates the word “shall (not)” with “does (not)” because “shall (not)” is not grammatically 
correct. Also, the change to “does (not)” modernizes the language and is plain language. The 
proposed rule amendment corrects the referenced statute cite. The current rule refers to 
“Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1)” however, there is no such clause 
(1). The correct cite format is Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 
Emphasis added. The proposed rule amendment changes the plural “plumber’s apprentices” to 
singular for consistency with the rest of the rule chapter.   

Subp. 2. Registration requirements 
The proposed rule amendments change all “plumber’s apprentice” references to “registered 
unlicensed plumber.” Plumber’s apprentices are regulated under the formal, approved 
apprenticeship agreement subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 178 and related rule chapters. 
The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because it uses terminology that is 
consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 and other proposed amendments in this rule chapter.  

4716.0091 DEFINITIONS 

Subpart 1. Scope. 
The proposed rule amendment adds “Subpart 1. Scope” because now that a second subpart is 
added, it is necessary and reasonable to number and title the subpart. When it was the only 
subpart in this section, it was not necessary to number and title it.  

 Subpart 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner 
The proposed rule amendment adds this subpart to establish and define the term, “Registered 
unlicensed water conditioner.” Although registered unlicensed individuals who perform and 
assist in plumbing have been regulated under Minn. Stat. § 326B.47 since 2010, registered 
unlicensed water conditioners is a newly established category of regulated parties per the 2017 
legislature.20 It is necessary and reasonable to establish and define this terms that identifies the 
legislature’s newly regulated category of individuals.   

18 See Minn. Laws, 2010 c 280 s 27 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2010/0/280/  
19 Id.  
20 See Minn. Laws, 2017 c 94 art 2 s 14 at https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2017/0/Session+Law/Chapter/94/. 
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4716.0092 LICENSURE 
  
Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. 
The proposed rule amendment reduces redundant language and thereby provides clarity and 
consistency with the current Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subds. 1a and 2a.  The proposed rule 
amendment replaces all references to “water conditioning master or master plumber” with 
“responsible licensed master” because “responsible licensed master” is a term already defined in 
Minnesota Statutes 326B.50, subd. 1a and the definition requires the individual to be a “water 
conditioning master or licensed master plumber.” All the language that the proposed rule 
amendment deletes is deleted because it is addressed by using the defined term “responsible 
licensed master.”  There is no substantive change to the rule part.  
 
Subpart 3. Water conditioning journeyworker.  
The proposed rule amendment adds that, in addition to the six months of practical experience and 
passing an exam, an applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker license must be a 
registered unlicensed water conditioner in Minnesota except as permitted in subpart 4, item A, 
subitem (4). The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable to ensure that the 
qualifying experience is obtained under proper qualified conditions and is consistent with Minn. 
Stat. § 326B.555.  
 
Subpart 4. Experience. 
Subpart 4 provides specific requirements for the experience needed in subparts 2 and 3. There 
are no proposed amendments to items A through C. Items D and E are new to provide the 
specific experience requirements for registered unlicensed water conditioners and the employer 
of the registered unlicensed water conditioner and water conditioning journeyworker. The 
statutory authority to regulate registered unlicensed water conditioners is new. Therefore, this 
formalized category of regulated individuals is new, thus, the new items in this subpart. Items A 
through C detail the requirements for other required experiences listed in subparts 2 and 3.  
 
Subpart 4(D)(1) 
The proposed rule amendment is new to address the newly formalized category of registered 
unlicensed water conditioner and what is expected of those applicants. The proposed rule 
amendment clearly states the requirement (to be a registered unlicensed water conditioner while 
obtaining the practical water conditioning experience) and clarifies that the exception in Minn. 
Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, applies here.  This is necessary and reasonable because it should be 
clear what is expected of the regulated parties, what other permissions apply to the requirement 
and is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. The exception in Minn. Stat. § 326B.555, subd. 2, 
grants flexibility to applicants.   
 
Subpart 4(D)(2) 
The proposed rule amendment clarifies what is required of the licensed water conditioning 
master who is responsible for certifying the work performed by the registered unlicensed water 
conditioner. It is necessary and reasonable to clearly state the requirements. The requirements are 
reasonable and consistent with the requirements in Minn. R. part 4716.0020, subp. 2, and Minn. 
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R. part 4716.0092, subp. 4(C), while tailored to the water conditioner licensing requirements. 
The proposed rule amendment is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555.  
 
Subpart 4(E)(1) and (2) 
The proposed rule amendment adds recordkeeping requirements for the employers of water 
conditioning journeyworkers and registered unlicensed water conditioners. The proposed rule 
amendment requires the employers to record the practical water conditioning experience worked 
by each employee and to maintain those records for at least six years. The registered unlicensed 
water conditioner needs this record of experience to qualify as an applicant for the 
journeyworker exam and the journeyworker needs the recorded experience to qualify for the 
master exam. It is necessary and reasonable to require the employer to make and maintain these 
records and such requirement is consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555. It is necessary and 
reasonable for the employer to maintain these records for six years after the employee’s last 
recorded experience because it gives applicants time to take the journeyworker exam after 
completing the training and for the journeyworker to take the master exam. There are a variety of 
reasons why an applicant might be delayed in taking an examination. For example, a medical 
incident or family emergency that delays the applicant from taking the examination. Six years 
balances flexibility for the applicant with minimal burden for the employer. Six years is 
consistent with the record retention requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers in part 
4716.0020, subp. 2(G)(2).  
 
4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION 
 
Subpart 1. Registration requirements 
The proposed rule amendment establishes the requirements and qualifications to become a 
registered unlicensed water conditioner. For example, the proposed rule amendment requires a 
person to submit an application and fee to the Department annually to become a registered 
unlicensed water conditioner. Registrations are effective from July 1 through June 30 of the 
following year and late renewals require payment of a late fee. This date range is consistent with 
Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and the registered unlicensed plumber registration dates in Minn. R. part 
4716.0050, subp. 2. This is necessary and reasonable because having a set registration period 
makes administration of and compliance with the rule easier and more efficient for both the 
Department who enforces the rule and the registrants complying with the code. This efficiency 
keeps licensing fees down.      
 
The proposed rule amendment establishes reasonable qualifications in items A and B that are 
consistent with Minn. Stat. § 326B.555 and other similar rules. Specifically, item A requires a 
registered unlicensed water conditioner to be at least 18 years of age or a high school graduate, 
though individuals as young as 16 may register and perform work if they are supervised by the 
individual’s parent. Item B requires applicants for an unlicensed water conditioner registration to 
provide to the Department certain personal information, including Social Security number as 
required by Minn. Stat. § 270C.72.21 These qualifications are consistent with the qualifications 
for registered unlicensed plumbers in Minn. R. part 4716.0050, subp. 2, and Minn. Stat. § 
326B.555. This information is necessary and reasonable for the Department to be able to verify 
individual identities and is consistent with Minnesota Statutes.    
                                                           
21 See Minn. Stat. § 270C.72 (2018).  
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4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS 
 
Subpart 1. Continuing education; content. 
Plumbing licensees are currently required to take 16 hours of approved continuing education 
each two-year license period. The proposed rule amendment does not change that total number of 
required hours.  
 
Subpart 1(A) 
The proposed rule amendment lowers the minimum number of continuing education hours that 
must pertain to the Plumbing Code from twelve to eight and allows the remainder of the required 
hours to pertain to the Plumbing Code or technical topics related plumbing installations and 
equipment, Minnesota Rules chapter 4716, the Minnesota State Building Code, or the Plumbing 
and Water Conditioning sections of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B. The proposed rule 
amendment changes only the minimum number of hours that must pertain to the Plumbing Code 
and allows a licensee to obtain all continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code. This is 
necessary and reasonable because eight hours of Plumbing Code instruction will be sufficient for 
some veteran licensed plumbers while newer licensed plumbers might benefit from more 
Plumbing Code instruction hours. The proposed rule amendment allows more flexibility while 
maintaining a high standard of qualifications. The proposed rule amendment is consistent with 
the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 that encourages agencies to develop rules that 
“emphasize superior achievement in meeting the agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum 
flexibility for the regulated party.”22 Because knowledge of the Plumbing Code is essential to 
safe plumbing practices, and the Plumbing Code changes, it is reasonable to require licensed 
individuals have a minimum number of continuing education hours on the Plumbing Code.  
 
The proposed rule amendment corrects the reference to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 
326B.49 to Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.59, emphasis added, because the range 
to 326B.49 does not include the water conditioning sections, which are sections 326B.50 through 
326B.59. This also provides additional flexibility in the topics in which licensed plumbers may 
get the required continuing education hours.  
 
The proposed rule amendment allows licensed individuals to tailor their continuing education 
hour topics to their needs while also maintaining high quality continuing education because all 
continuing education courses must be approved, pursuant to Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 
through 4716.0210.  
 
The proposed rule amendment eliminates the current four-hour limit on continuing education 
hours obtained by any electronic media. That is, online continuing education hours are currently 
limited to four of the sixteen. The proposed rule amendment is necessary and reasonable because 
some licensed plumbers in outstate Minnesota have some challenges with accessing in-person 
continuing education courses that metro area plumbers do not have. For example, there are fewer 
in-person course offerings in outstate Minnesota. Allowing all sixteen continuing education 
hours to be obtained online modernizes the requirement and recognizes the changes and 
improvements in technology. Electronic media standards are established in Minnesota Statutes, 
                                                           
22 See Minn. Stat. § 14.002 (2018).  
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sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. The online courses must also be approved pursuant to 
Minnesota Rules, parts 4716.0200 through 4716.0210 like any other in-person course. The 
proposed rule amendment is consistent with the state regulatory policy in Minn. Stat. § 14.002 
that encourages agencies to develop rules that “emphasize superior achievement in meeting the 
agency’s regulatory objectives and maximum flexibility for the regulated party.”   

These changes are intended to make it easier and less costly for licensees to obtain the continuing 
education required to maintain licensure while maintaining quality education. Continuing 
education requirements for regulated parties are necessary and reasonable to ensure competency 
and recognizes industry changes in the interest of public health. 

Subpart 1(B) 
Licensed water conditioning journeyworkers and masters must obtain four hours of continuing 
education hours per two-year licensing period. The proposed rule amendment deletes 
unnecessary language and adds the requirement that two of the four required continuing 
education hours must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remaining two hours may pertain to 
the Plumbing Code or an existing list of other relevant topics. The proposed rule amendment 
maintains the same number of hours as the current rule and maintains flexibility while ensuring 
licensed water conditioners stay current with the Plumbing Code in addition to technical topics. 
It is necessary and reasonable to require licensed water conditioners to take two hours of 
continuing education on the Plumbing Code because their work is controlled by the Plumbing 
Code. Because the scope of their work is not as broad as licensed plumbers, it is reasonable that 
the total number of required continuing education hours is fewer than licensed plumbers. 
Correspondingly, the required minimum number of continuing education hours on the Plumbing 
Code is also fewer than what is required for licensed plumbers.  

The proposed rule amendment adds that the continuing education hours may be obtained online, 
subject to the requirements in Minn. Stat. §§ 326B.098 to 326B.099. This proposed amendment 
is consistent with the proposed amendment in subpart 1(A) above.   

Subpart 1(C) 
The proposed rule amendment creates a new requirement for registered unlicensed plumbers and 
water conditioners to take two hours of continuing education each year as a condition of 
renewing their registration. Registered unlicensed plumbers must take two hours of continuing 
education on the Plumbing Code because the range of work they may perform is broad and 
includes the entire scope of the Plumbing Code. Registered unlicensed water conditioners must 
take one hour of continuing education on the Plumbing Code and the other hour of continuing 
education may be on the Plumbing Code or a technical topic related to water conditioning 
installation. The scope of the work of a registered unlicensed water conditioner is limited to 
water conditioning so they do not work with the entire Plumbing Code.  

For many registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education 
requirement is absorbed into their training toward qualifying for the journeyworker exam in their 
respective field. For other registered unlicensed plumbers and registered unlicensed water 
conditioners who do not intend to take the journeyworker exam in their respective field, this 
requirement ensures they stay current with industry practices and the Plumbing Code.  
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For both registered unlicensed plumbers and water conditioners, the continuing education hours 
may be taken online. This requirement will enhance registrants’ knowledge and understanding of 
the Plumbing Code and other information relevant to their work. While field work is important, 
there are tables and calculations in the Plumbing Code that industry professionals must be aware 
of and learn about. A continuing education class is a setting conducive to learning about certain 
aspects of the Plumbing Code.   
 
Similarly, registered unlicensed electricians have been required to obtain two hours of continuing 
education every renewal period since 2009.23 It is necessary and reasonable to require a regulated 
party to obtain some continuing education to maintain their registration to ensure competence in 
the interest of public health.  
 
Subpart 1(D) and (E) 
The proposed rule amendment renumbers these paragraphs to reflect the new paragraphs added 
above. There are no substantive changes.  
 
LIST OF EXHIBITS (Optional) 
 

In support of the need for and reasonableness of the proposed rules, the Department 
anticipates that it will enter the following exhibits into the hearing record: [List the exhibits.] 
 
CONCLUSION 
 

Based on the foregoing, the proposed rules are both needed and reasonable. 
 
___________________________ ________________________________ 
[Date]     Richard Jacobs 

Plumbing Board Chair 
 

 
This Statement of Need and Reasonableness was made available for public review on 
__________, 2018. 

 [References to Published Materials. Published materials should not be attachments or 
exhibits to the SONAR. The following published materials may just be referenced in the 
SONAR: Minnesota Statutes, Minnesota Rules, United States Statutes at Large, United States 
Code, Laws of Minnesota, Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register. If you rely on 
or refer to other published materials in the SONAR, it would be a good idea to attach a 
bibliography to the SONAR and include a statement on where the material is available or the url 
links to find the material online.] 
 

[References to Nonpublished Materials. Nonpublished materials such as letters from 
expert witnesses should either be exhibits attached to the SONAR or the content of the letter 
should be directly quoted in the SONAR. Note: All exhibits that are not attached to the SONAR 
must be available for review.] 
                                                           
23 See Minn. R. 3800.3602 (2018). See also https://www.revisor.mn.gov/state_register/34/15/.   
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November 1, 2018 

VIA EMAIL ONLY 
Suzanne Todnem 
Department of Labor and Industry 
443 Lafayette Rd N 
Saint Paul, MN 55155 
Suzanne.Todnem@state.mn.us 

Re: Request for Notice Hearing for Proposed Amendments to 
Rules Governing Plumbing Licensing 
OAH 8-9001-35569; Revisor R-4365 

Dear Ms. Todnem: 

Enclosed herewith and served upon you please find the ORDER ON REVIEW 
OF ADDITIONAL NOTICE PLAN AND DUAL NOTICE in the above-entitled matter.

Prior to publishing the notice in the State Register, please notify the Office of 
Administrative Hearings (OAH) at katie.lin@state.mn.us in order to activate the 
agency’s eComments page on OAH’s website. Please note that if you do not notify 
us of the publication, the eComments site will not be available to receive public 
comments.

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact Katie Lin at 
(651) 361-7911, katie.lin@state.mn.us or facsimile at (651) 539-0310.

Sincerely, 

Sheena Denny 

Legal Assistant 

Enclosure 
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[121034\1] 

OAH 8-9001-35569 
Revisor R-4365 

STATE OF MINNESOTA 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

In the Matter of the Rules Governing the 
Minnesota Plumbing Code 

ORDER ON REVIEW OF ADDITIONAL 
NOTICE PLAN AND DUAL NOTICE 

This matter came before Administrative Law Judge Eric L. Lipman upon the 
application of the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (Department) for a legal 
review under Minn. R. 1400.2060, subp. 3 and 1400.2080, subp. 5 (2017). 

October 25, 2018, the Department filed documents with the Office of 
Administrative Hearings seeking review and approval of its additional notice plan and 
dual notice. 

Based upon a review of the written submissions by the Department, including its 
plan to notify a variety of professional associations of plumbers, building contractors, 
engineers and fire safety officials, 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT: 

1. The Additional Notice Plan is APPROVED.

2. The Dual Notice is APPROVED contingent upon the following additions to

the text of the Notice: The appointment of the undersigned Administrative Law Judge, 
Eric L. Lipman is noted in the paragraph entitled: “Notice of Hearing.” 

Dated:  November 1, 2018 

__________________________ 
ERIC L. LIPMAN 
Administrative Law Judge 
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Plumbing Board 
Meeting Minutes 

July 21, 2015 at 9:30 a.m. 
Minnesota Room – Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, MN  55155 

DLI Staff & Visitors Members 
Wendy Legge (Chief Gen. Counsel, DLI) John Parizek (Chair) 
Suzanne Todnem (DLI) Joe Beckel 
Jim Peterson (DLI) Jeff Brown 
Lyndy Lutz (DLI) Scott Eggen 
Charlie Durenberger (DLI) John Flagg 
Chuck Olson (DLI) Mike Herman 
Gary Thaden (MMCA) Larry Justin 
Matt Marciniak (IAPMO) Jim Kittelson 
Doug Seaton (ICC) Jim Lungstrom 
Richard Hauffe (ICC) Pete Moulton 
Mike McGowan (MWQA) Phillip Sterner 
Jeff Hill (Robert B. Hill Co/MNQA) 
Mike Carter (MWQA) Members Absent 
M. Johnson (MWQA)Grant Edwards 
Scott Thompson (MN Plumbing Training)Ron Thompson 
Tim Power (MNLA)
Phil Raines (ABC)
Luke Westman (PHCC)
Brian Soderholm (Soderholm/Water Control)
Ryan Ries (Ramsey County Parks)
Scott Yonke (Ramsey County)
Shawn McMillan (FSI)
Rebecca Ames (City of Bloomington)
Jim Gander (Superior Mechanical)
Paul Diegnau (Keller Golf Course)
Bernie Mays (WaterMaze) via teleconference

I. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order by Chair Parizek at 9:40 a.m. Introductions and housekeeping
announcements were made.  Attendance was taken; a quorum was met.

II. Approval of Meeting agenda
A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Eggen, to approve the agenda with items added to
VI Special Business as shown below. The vote was unanimous; the motion carried.

A) Officer Elections
a. Board Chairman
b. Vice Chairman
c. Secretary

Plumbing Board Meeting Minutes 
July 21, 2015 1 | P a g e  
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B) Data Practices
C) Petition for Variance – Manitou Ridge Golf Course
D) Reciprocity
E) Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716

a. Continuing Education
b. Registered Unlicensed – Water Conditioning
c. Effects of Plumbing Code Rules

F) Committee Appointments
a. Recommendation for Board member to CCAC
b. Ad-hoc Committee for proposed amendments to UPC
c. Ad-hoc Committee to address inspection uniformity on a state-wide basis

G) Approval of 2015/2016 meeting schedule

III. Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes
A. Plumbing Board Minutes – April 27, 2015

A motion was made by Flagg, seconded by Beckel, to approve the Minutes as presented.
The majority vote ruled with three abstentions; the motion carried.

IV. Regular Business
Approval of Expense Reports –Parizek approved the expenses as presented.

V. Committee Reports
A) Department Updates

Charlie Durenberger, Licensing and Enforcement/Assistant Director, CCLD gave an
update on issues regarding continuing education (CE) for master plumbers.  One of the
biggest issues for master plumbers that renewed their licenses this last summer and
journeyman workers that will renew this winter is the inability to complete CE courses
online. In current rule there is a 4 hour limitation for the number of online hours that
can be taken.  In addition, plumbers do not realize they need 4 hours of technical topic
areas.  The Board should consider changing CE requirements.

Currently Rulemaking – Todnem gave an update.  The last step is to publish the Notice
of Adoption, hopefully by July 27, 2015.  There is new legislation that will become
effective August 1, 2015 – see Attachment A.

Legislative Changes – Legge referred to Attachment A noting that Section 6 of 326B.106
does not affect the Board, only building code rules adopted by the Commissioner but
326B.106, Section 7 does affect the Board and changes the language as follows: “A rule
to adopt or amend the State Building Code is effective 180 270 days after publication of
the rule’s notice of adoption in the State Register.” This amendment took away the
Board’s authority and the department plans to seek legislation to reinsert “or board”
where shown: “The rule may provide for an earlier effective date if the commissioner or
board proposing the rule finds that an earlier effective date is necessary to protect public
health and safety considering, among other things, the need for time for training of
individuals to comply with and enforce the rule.”
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B)	 Executive Committee 
a.	 Report of Chair 

i.	 Code Book Update – visit http://www.dli.mn.gov/ccld/codes15.asp 
ii.	 Outstanding RFA’s – with the code going into effect these will be taken 

care of. 

C)	 Construction Codes Advisory Council 
John McConnell did not attend the meeting. No update. 

VI.	 Special Business 
A) Officer Elections – Lungstrom asked for nominations. 

a.	 Board Chairman – Sterner nominated Parizek. No other nominations were 
given.  The vote was unanimous, nomination passed. John Parizek was re-
elected as Chair. 

b.	 Vice Chairman – Flagg nominated Edwards. No other nominations were given.  
The vote was unanimous, nomination passed.  Edwards was re-elected as Vice-
Chair. 

c.	 Secretary – Kittelson nominated Sterner.  No other nominations were given. The 
vote was unanimous; nomination passed. Phil Sterner was re-elected as 
Secretary. 

The meeting was turned back over to Chair Parizek. 

B)	 Data Practices 
Legge referred to Attachment B, a data practices request from Seaton, Peters & 
Revnew, and said all Board members should have received an email from her reminding 
them not to destroy any emails or correspondence that might be responsive.  Under the 
Data Practices Act, when someone makes a request for public data, the department can 
charge for the time spent gathering the data and making copies and she would provide 
an estimate of these charges to the requestor. Legge referred to the Board’s By-Laws 
(shown below) and said the Board needs to consider whether to specifically authorize 
the Board members as directed by counsel to respond to the data practices request and 
also needs to consider if members should be compensated at the rate of $55 per Diem 
for this work. 

Article VIII. Internal standards related to “day spent on Board business” 

When authorized by the Board, members may be compensated at the rate of $55 
per diem for each day spent on Board activities in addition to being reimbursed 
for expenses as authorized by the commissioner’s plan adopted under Minnesota 
Statutes section 43A.18, subdivision 2. The Board defines a day spent on Board 
activities as any day members attend a regular or special Board meeting, or 
when specifically authorized by the Board to attend committee meetings or other 
meetings or activities or perform other duties on any day other than the day of a 
regular or special Board meeting. 
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A motion was made by Eggen, seconded by Flagg, for the Board to 
specifically authorize Board members to perform duties as directed by 
Board counsel in order to respond to Mr. Seaton’s July 9, 2015, data 
practices request and the Board authorizes Board members to be 
compensated at the rate of $55 per Diem for each day spent performing 
these duties.  The vote was unanimous; the motion carried. 

C)	 Petition for Variance – Manitou Ridge Golf Course 
•	 Ryan Ries, Project Manager, Ramsey County Parks and Recreation 
•	 Shawn McMillan, Fluid Solutions representing WaterMaze 
•	 Bernie Mays, WaterMaze via teleconference 
•	 Paul Diegnau, Keller Golf Course superintendent. 

Environment stewardship is very important to Ramsey County and they feel very 
strongly about their obligation to preserve natural resources. See Attachment C 
regarding their Petition for a Variance. 

A motion was made by Eggen, seconded by Kittelson, based on all 
information provided; the Board has determined that no variance is 
required from Minnesota Rule 4715.1200. The majority vote ruled with 
10 for / 1 against; the motion carried. 

D)	 Reciprocity 
The Chair stated that Board does not have the authority to enter into a reciprocity 
agreement with other states but the Board does have the authority to approve a 
reciprocity agreement entered into by the commissioner. A recommendation needs to 
be made by the Board to resolve this issue. The last agreement was signed in 1989.  A 
Reciprocal Agreement was approved back in 2009 and is supposed to be renewed 
regularly if not annually. 

Legge referred to Minnesota Statute 326B.48, as shown below: 
“326B.48 RECIPROCITY WITH OTHER STATES. 
(a) The commissioner may enter into reciprocity agreements for personal licenses 
with another state if approved by the board. Once approved by the board, the 
commissioner may issue a plumber's license without requiring the applicant to pass 
an examination provided the applicant…” 

CE requirements were discussed and Legge added that a rule change would be needed 
to amend hours.  Durenberger provided handouts – see Attachment D, E, and F. The 
Board should look at amending the 4 hour CE requirement – it is very difficult to find 
courses online because companies do not want to invest in providing only 4 hours. 
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A Motion was made by Kittelson, seconded by Beckel, to recommend that 
a new reciprocity agreement be drafted for the commissioner of the 
Department of Labor and Industry to sign between Minnesota and North 
& South Dakota for initial licenses. The vote was unanimous; the motion 
carried. 

The meeting broke for lunch until 1:15 p.m. 

E) Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716 
a. Continuing Education 

A rulemaking process would need to be opened to make any changes with a 
request for comments period this could take 1 to 2 years to adopt any proposed 
changes. 

b. Registered Unlicensed – Water Conditioning 
Legge noted that in order to change provisions a change in statute would be 
required. Jeff Hill, Minnesota Water Quality Association, said he should present 
a full scope of their legislation at the next Board meeting. 

c. Effects of Plumbing Code Rules 
Parizek said that with the publication of the adoption of the proposed plumbing 
code in the State Register the Board needs to review changes to licensing and 
certifications.  He noted that rain water catchment system language needs to be 
reviewed. Parizek said draft language could be brought back to the board with a 
request for comments so that rulemaking could be opened up to address 
reciprocity and CE requirements. 

Justin asked the Board if they wanted to start the process so that an agreement 
on CE could be reached. Input from the public could occur before the next 
meeting. 

A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Sterner, to authorize 
the Board Chair to publish a Request for Comments on 
amendments to all of Chapter 4716 including amendments on the 
following topics: Amending Continuing Education (CE) rules, 
consideration of registered unlicensed water conditioning 
individuals, and amendments for consistency with the new 
plumbing code. The vote was unanimous; the motion carried. 

F) Committee Appointments 
a. Recommendation for Board member to CCAC 

By unanimous decision, the Board voted Jim Kittelson to continue as the Board’s 
member to the Construction Codes Advisory Council with Larry Justin as his 
alternate.  
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b. Ad-hoc Committee for proposed amendments to UPC
The Committee will review UPC edition (2015) with possible amendments to
2018 plumbing code. Members:
1. John Parizek
2. John Flagg
3. Scott Eggen – Chair
4. Phil Sterner
5. Larry Justin
6. Jim Lungstrom
7. Joe Beckel
8. (possibly Edwards and Moulton)

c. Ad-hoc Committee to address inspection uniformity on a state-wide basis
Members:
1. Phil Sterner – Chair
2. Scott Eggen
3. Jim Kittelson
4. Jim Lungstrom
5. John Parizek
6. (possibly Edwards and Moulton)

G) Approval of 2016 meeting schedule as follows:
A motion was made by Sterner, seconded by Justin, to approve the proposed Board
meeting dates for 2016 as shown below. Vote was unanimous; the motion passed.
• January 19, 2016
• April 19, 2016
• July 19, 2016
• October 18, 2016

VII. Complaints
No complaints

VIII. Open Forum
Douglas Seaton and Richard Hauffe, both from ICC, addressed the Board, stating they will be
filing an appeal of Judge LaFave’s decision approving the issuance of the amendments to the
plumbing code statute and rules.  This will be filed as soon as possible.  The basic idea of the
appeal is to have the Board reconsider the codes and consider the alternate code to the UPC.
They believe the Board should have adopted the IPC all along and would like to see the Board
adopt this code instead. In light of this there is one approach, the statutory standard that they
would be applying and seeking to convince the appeals court that there is simply no need for
this particular rule adoption and it is not reasonable to have adopted the code that was
adopted as opposed to the alternative code.  They believe there are procedural issues in
regards to the manner in which the code was adopted.  The procedural issue relates back to
what board counsel commented on in terms of the adoption process because they understood
from earlier comments of board counsel this morning that the Board would be proceeding to
publish the amendments prior to the August 1 deadline of the statutory provision providing for
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a 270 day delay before the effective date.  What they would ask the Board to do is not to do 
this but instead to proceed to publish the rule after August 1st so that the new statute would be 
in effect and there would be a 270 day interval. They claim waiting would be to everyone’s 
advantage. 

Chair Parizek announced that the Board was entering a closed session due to attorney client 
communication with respect to the threatened litigation by Douglas Seaton and Richard Hauffe, 
ICC. 

The meeting closed and was not recorded due to attorney client communication; the meeting 
re-opened and recording resumed. 

A motion was made by Eggen, seconded by Justin, to continue moving forward 
with the publication of the Notice of Adoption as soon as possible as originally 
planned.   The vote was unanimous; the motion carried. 

IX. Board Discussion
No discussion

X. Announcements
Next regularly scheduled meetings – all meetings with be held at 9:30 a.m. in the Minnesota
Room.  Executive Committee meetings occur at 8:00 a.m. prior to each regular meeting.
a) January 19, 2016
b) April 19, 2016
c) July 19, 2016
d) October 18, 2016

XI. Adjournment
A motion was made by Sterner, seconded by Beckel, to adjourn the meeting at 2:41 p.m. The
vote was unanimous; the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, 

Phil Sterner 
Phil Sterner 
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Attachment A
 

Legislative Update For July 21, 2015, Plumbing Board Meeting 

From 2015 Minnesota Laws, chapter 54, Article 1 

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 
Subdivision 1. 

Adoption of code. 
new text begin(a) new text endSubject tonew text begin paragraphs (c) and (d) and new tex t endsections 326B.101 to 326B.194, the 

commissioner shall by rule and in consultation with the Construction Codes Advisory 
Council establish a code of standards for the construction, reconstruction, alteration, and 
repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials, design and construction, fire 
protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and construction standards 
regarding heat loss control, illumination, and climate control. The code must also include 
duties and responsibilities for code administration, including procedures for administrative 
action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certification. The code must conform 
insofar as practicable to model building codes generally accepted and in use throughout the 
United States, including a code for building conservation. In the preparation of the code, 
consideration must be given to the existing statewide specialty codes presently in use in the 
state. Model codes with necessary modifications and statewide specialty codes may be 
adopted by reference. The code must be based on the application of scientific principles, 
approved tests, and professional judgment. To the extent possible, the code must be adopted 
in terms of desired results instead of the means of achieving those results, avoiding wherever 
possible the incorporation of specifications of particular methods or materials. To that end 
the code must encourage the use of new methods and new materials. Except as otherwise 
provided in sections 326B.101 to 326B.194, the commissioner shall administer and enforce 
the provisions of those sections. 

new text begin(b) new text endThe commissioner shall develop rules addressing the plan review fee assessed to 
similar buildings without significant modifications including provisions for use of building 
systems as specified in the industrial/modular program specified in section 326B.194. 
Additional plan review fees associated with similar plans must be based on costs 
commensurate with the direct and indirect costs of the service. 

new text begin (c) Beginning with the 2018 edition of the model building codes and every six years 
thereafter, the commissioner shall review the new model building codes and adopt the model 
codes as amended for use in Minnesota, within two years of the published edition date. The 
commissioner may adopt amendments to the building codes prior to the adoption of the new 
building codes to advance construction methods, technology, or materials, or, where 
necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the efficiency 
or the use of a building. new text end 

new text begin (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), the commissioner shall act on each new model 
residential energy code and the new model commercial energy code in accordance with 
federal law for which the United States Department of Energy has issued an affirmative 

1
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Attachment A
 

determination in compliance with United States Code, title 42, section 6833. The 
commissioner may adopt amendments prior to adoption of the new energy codes, as 
amended for use in Minnesota, to advance construction methods, technology, or materials, 
or, where necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the 
efficiency or use of a building. new text end 

new text begin EFFECTIVE DATE. new text end 

new text begin This section is effective August 1, 2015, and applies to all model code adoptions 
beginning with the 2018 model building code. new text end 

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 326B.13, subdivision 8, is amended to read: 
Subd. 8. 

Effective date of rules. 
A rule to adopt or amend the State Building Code is effective de le te d te xt be gin 180deleted text en dnew text begi n 270new text end days after 

publication of the rule's notice of adoption in the State Register. The rule may provide for a 
later effective date. The rule may provide for an earlier effective date if the commissioner de le te d te x t 

beginor boarddeleted text end proposing the rule finds that an earlier effective date is necessary to protect public 
health and safety after considering, among other things, the need for time for training of 
individuals to comply with and enforce the rule.ne w te x t be gin The commissioner must publish an 
electronic version of the entire adopted rule chapter on the department's Web site within ten 
days of receipt from the revisor of statutes. The commissioner shall clearly indicate the 
effective date of the rule on the department's Web site.new text end 

Note from Wendy Legge: This section is effective August 1, 2015. 
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Seaton I Peters I Revnew 

VIA EMAIL 

July9,2015 

Jessica Looman 
Deputy Commissioner 
443 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, MN 55155 
jessica.looman@state.mn.us 

Re: Minnesota Government Data Practices Act Request 

Dear Ms. Looman: 

Douglas P. Seaton 
Attorney at Law 

Tel 952.921.4604 
dscaton@scatonlaw.com 

This letter is directed to you as the assigned data practices compliance official for the Minnesota 
Depaiiment of Labor and Industry. Please consider this a fonnal request from a member of the 
public under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (Minn. Stat. § 13.01 et seq.) 
regarding the following documents and other information in the possession of the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and Industry ("MnDOLI") and any of its subdivisions regarding: 

1. All c01Tespondence and email messages, including emails from personal email 
accounts, sent to or received from any members of the Minnesota State Plumbing 
Board and/or its subcommittees that mention the Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC), 
the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO), the 
International Plumbing Code (IPC), or the Minnesota Plumbing Code, smce 
January of2010. · 

2. All correspondence and email messages, including emails to and from personal 
email accounts, sent to or received from any employee, contractor, or 
commissioner of MnDOLI, including attorneys and legal liaisons, that mention 
the Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC), the International Association of Plumbing 
and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO), the International Plumbing Code (IPC), or 
the Minnesota Plumbing Code, since January of2010. 

3. All email messages, including emails to and from personal email accounts, sent to 
or received from any email address containing "iapmo." 

7300 Metro Boulevard, Suite 500 I Minneapolis, MN 554391 Tel 952.896.1700 I Fax 952.896.17041 www.seatonlaw.com 

worklaw<inetworkl 
----·~----.-------·-· 
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­
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Jessica Looman 
July9,2015 
Page 2 

4. 	 All correspondence and email messages, including emails to and from personal 
email accounts, sent between any members of the Minnesota State Plumbing 
Board and/or its subcommittees and the following individuals: 

a. Neil Bogatz, general counsel of IAPMO 
b. Russ Chaney, CEO ofIAPMO 
c. Matt Marciniak 
d. Minnesota State Representative Tim Mahoney 
e. Allen Inlow, Senior Vice President Business & Product 

Development for IAPMO 
f. Bruce Pfeiffer, President of IAPMO Board of Directors 
g. DJ Nunez, Vice President ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
h. 	 David Straub, Secretary/Treasurer of IAPMO Board of Directors 
I. 	 Gary Hile, Immediate Past President of IAPMO Board of 

Directors 
J. 	 Laura Biggie, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
k. 	 Thomas Bigley, Member of IAPMO Board of Directors 
l. 	 Ken Borski, Member of IAPMO Board of Directors 
m. 	Rick Coffman, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
n. 	 Maiiy Cooper, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
o. 	 Mike Durfee, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
p. 	 David Gans, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
q. 	 Jim Humphrey, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
r. 	 Jim Imprescia, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
s. 	 Hugh Kelleher, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
t. 	 Steven Nastruz, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
u. 	 Steven Panelli, Member ofIAPMO Board ofDirectors 
v. 	 Don Summers, Jr., Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
w. 	 Dave Viola, IAPMO Chief Operating Officer & Sr. VP Business 

Strategy 
x. 	 Peter DeMarco, IAPMO Senior Vice President of Advocacy and 

Research 
y. 	 Dwight Perkins, IAPMO Senior Vice President of Field Services 
z. 	 Gary Thaden, Government Affairs Director for Minnesota 

Mechanical Contractors Association 

5. 	 All correspondence and email messages, including emails to and from personal 
email accounts, sent between any employee, contractor, or commissioner of 
MnDOLI or any of its subdivisions, including attorneys and legal liaisons, and the 
following individuals: 

a. 	 Neil Bogatz, general counsel ofIAPMO 
b. 	 Russ Chaney, CEO ofIAPMO 
c. 	 Matt Marciniak 
d. 	 Minnesota State Representative Tim Mahoney 
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e. 	 Allen Inlow, Senior Vice President Business & Product 
Development for IAPMO 

f. 	 Bruce Pfeiffer, President of IAPMO Board of Directors 
g. 	 DJ Nunez, Vice President of IAPMO Board of Directors 
h. 	 David Straub, Secretary/Treasurer of IAPMO Board of Directors 
1. 	 Gary Hile, Immediate Past President of IAPMO Board of 

Directors 
J. 	 Laura Biggie, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
k. 	 Thomas Bigley, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
I. 	 Ken Borski, Member of IAPMO Board of Directors 
m. 	 Rick Coffman, Member of IAPMO Board of Directors 
n. 	 Marty Cooper, Member of IAPMO Board of Directors 
o. 	 Mike Durfee, Member of IAPMO Board of Directors 
p. 	 David Gans, Member ofIAPMO Board ofDirectors 
q. 	 Jim Humphrey, Member oflAPMO Board of Directors 
r. 	 Jim Imprescia, Member of IAPMO Board of Directors 
s. 	 Hugh Kelleher, Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
t. 	 Steven Nastruz, Member of IAPMO Board of Directors 
u. 	 Steven Panelli, Member oflAPMO Board of Directors 
v. 	 Don Summers, Jr., Member ofIAPMO Board of Directors 
w. 	 Dave Viola, IAPMO Chief Operating Officer & Sr. VP Business 

Strategy 
x. 	 Peter DeMarco, IAPMO Senior Vice President of Advocacy and 

Research 
y. 	 Dwight Perkins, IAPMO Senior Vice President of Field Services 
z. 	 Gary Thaden, Government Affairs Director for Minnesota 

Mechanical Contractors Association 

6. 	 All correspondence and email messages, including emails to and from personal 
email accounts, regarding the selection of the Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC) as 
the replacement plumbing code in Minnesota. 

7. 	 All correspondence and email messages, including emails to and from personal 
email accounts, sent to or received from all members of the Minnesota State 
Plumbing Board and/or its subcommittees regarding replacing the current 
Minnesota Plumbing Code with a model plumbing code. 

8. 	 All correspondence and email messages, including emails to and from personal 
email accounts, sent to or received from all members of the Minnesota State 
Plumbing Board and/or its subcommittees, that mention the United Association of 
Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry of the 
United States and Canada (UA) or its Twin Cities affiliate, Local 15. 

9. 	 All correspondence and email messages, including emails to and from personal 
email accounts, sent to or received from any employee, contractor, or 
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commissioner of MnDOLI, including attorneys and legal liaisons, that mention 
the United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe 
Fitting Industry of the United States and Canada (UA), or its Twin Cities affiliate, 
Local 15. 

Please provide me with photocopies of the requested information above preferably in electronic 
format, or if the information is not available in electronic format, by U.S. Mail at the address 
listed above. I am aware that this request may incur search, processing and photocopying costs 
and would ask that MnDOLI invoice my firm when it produces the requested information. You 
may also contact me when an amount is determined and I will send you payment. However, if 
the fee for this request exceeds $150.00, please contact me before proceeding with making any 
copies. 

If MnDOLI denies this request in whole or in part based on a claim that the information 
requested is not public, please provide a list of information withheld, cite the specific statutory or 
regulatory authority upon which MnDOLI's denial is based for each piece of information 
withheld, and explain any statutory rights to appeal the determination. 

If the intent of this request is not understood, or you are not the responsible authority designated 
to handle Minnesota Government Data Practices Act requests, please contact me immediately. 

Thank you for your attention to this matter. 

cc: John Parizek, Chair of the Minnesota State Plumbing Board, via U.S. Mail 
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Attachment C
­

July 9, 2015 

Plumbing Board 

c/o Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road North 

St Paul MN 55155-4344 

Re: Petition for a Variance 

Manitou Ridge Golf Course – White Bear Lake, MN 

DOLI Plan No. PLB1306-00125 

Response to April 30, 2015 Letter, 

To Whom It May Concern, 

Please find below our formal response to your letter dated April 30, 2015 regarding the above-

listed variance petition. 

1. Please submit to the Plumbing Board the information that was submitted to the

Department of Health in order to obtain permission for the Keller Golf Course installation.

Attached are the architectural and plumbing plans from the 2002 Keller Golf Course 

Maintenance Facility project. As previously stated, we do not have access to information for 

Minikahda Golf Club. However, attached is a 2001 document discussing the WaterMaze system 

installed there. 

2. Please explain why you believe that a variance is justified either as a mandatory variance

or a discretionary variance under Minn. Stat. 14.055.

Response: This variance is justified as a discretionary variance for the following reasons: 

1.	­ (A)pplication of the rule to the petitioner would result in hardship or injustice.

Application of this rule would force Ramsey County to use hundreds of thousands of

gallons of unnecessary water instead of being able to recycle water for cart washing.

This would cause hardship to White Bear Lake, which is fed from the same aquifer.

Additionally, Ramsey County Parks and Recreation is committed to environmental

stewardship as part of our mission. We take great pride in managing natural resources

and utilizing creative technologies to lessen our footprint on the environment.
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Application of this rule would force us into a business practice that is counter to our 

mission. 

2.	­ (V)ariance from the rule would be consistent with the public interest. Variance from

this rule is consistent with the public interest. In fact, it appears the current rule is in

conflict with the public interest when it comes to environmental concerns. Water

conservation and recycling is directly applicable to Minn. Stat. 116D.02 Subd. 2,

paragraph (13) which states that the State is responsible to:

(C)onserve natural resources and minimize environmental impact by encouraging extension of

product lifetime, by reducing the number of unnecessary and wasteful materials practices, and

by recycling materials to conserve both materials and energy.

Variance from the rule would result in a reduction of a wasteful material practice (using 

large quantities of water to wash carts) by recycling (and conserving) water. 

3.	­ (V)ariance from this rule would not prejudice the substantial legal or economic rights

of any person or entity. This variance would not negatively impact the legal or

economic rights of any person or entity. Water conservation, and by extension natural

resource (White Bear Lake) preservation, is a best practice that enhances quality of life

in our communities.

3. Please provide information on the discharge water quality in connection with the proposed

system. If approved for reuse, to what water quality standard will the discharge water

conform to, such as ANSI/NSF Standard 350? Please provide your intended requirements.

Response: The discharge water is treated with high-output ultraviolet ozone, which disinfects 

the water so it is suitable for re-use. 

4. Which type of system are you proposing to use? There are various models of the Water

Maze system contained in the paperwork submitted. It is unclear which of the models listed

is the intended model for installation.

Response: The proposed system is the Recycle System, CLB-603A. 

5. Please clarify if the grey water would be re-used in any way. It is not clear if the variance

request is to treat waste water for discharge into the sanitary system or to treat waste water

for reuse. Is it the intent to have the Plumbing Board make that decision?

Response: The variance request is to treat waste water for closed-loop reuse in cart-washing 

applications. 

Please contact me if you have any questions. 
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Sincerely,
­

Scott Yonke 

Director of Planning & Development 

Ramsey County Parks & Recreation 

2015 N. Van Dyke St. 

Maplewood, MN 55109 
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2014 Minnesota Statutes 

326B.0981 CONTINUING EDUCATION; NONDEPARIMENT SEMINARS. 

Subd. 4.Internet continuing education. 

(a) The design and delivery of an Internet continuing education course must be approved 
by the International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) or the International 
Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET) before the course is submitted 
for the commissioner's approval. The approval must accompany the course submitted. 

(b) An Internet continuing education course must: 

(1) specify the minimum computer system requirements; 

(2) provide encryption that ensures that all personal information, including the student's 
name, address, and credit card number, cannot be read as it passes across the Internet; 

(3) include technology to guarantee seat time; 

( 4) include a high level of interactivity; 

( 5) include graphics that reinforce the content; 

(6) include the ability for the student to contact an instructor or course sponsor within a 
reasonable amount of time; 

(7) include the ability for the student to get technical support within a reasonable 
amount of time; 

(8) include a statement that the student's information will not be sold or distributed to 
any third party without prior written consent of the student. Taking the course does not 
constitute consent; 

(9) be available 24 hours a day, seven· days a week, excluding minimal downtime for 
updating and administration, except that this provision does not apply to live courses taught 
by an actual instructor and delivered over the Internet; 

(10) provide viewing access to the online course at all times to the commissioner, 
excluding minimal downtime for updating and administration; 

(11) include a process to authenticate the student's identity; 

(12) inform the student and the commissioner how long after its purchase a course will 
be accessible; 

(13) inform the student that license education credit will not be awarded for taking the 
course after it loses its status as an approved course; 

(14) provide clear instructions on how to navigate through the course; 

(15) provide automatic bookmarking at any point in the course; 

Attachment D
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(16) provide questions after each unit or chapter that must be answered before the 
. student can proceed to the next unit or chapter; 

(17) include a reinforcement response when a quiz question is answered correctly; 

(18) include a response when a quiz question is answered incorrectly; 

(19) include a final examination in which the student must correctly answer 70 percent 
of the questions; 

(20) allow the student to go back and review any unit at any time, except during the 
final examination; 

(21) provide a course evaluation at the end of the course. At a minimum, the evaluation 
must ask the student to report any difficulties caused by the online education delivery 
method; 

(22) provide a completion certificate when the course and exam have been completed 
and the provider has verified the completion. Electronic certificates are sufficient and shall 
include the name of the provider, date and location of the course, educational program 
identification that was provided by the department, hours of instruction or continuing 
education hours, and licensee's or attendee's name and license, certification, or registration 
number or the last four digits of the licensee's or attendee's Social Security number; and 

(23) allow the commissioner the ability to electronically review the class to determine if 
credit can be approved. 

( c) The final examination must be either an encrypted online examination or a paper 
examination that is monitored by a proctor who certifies that the student took the 
examination. 
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cb_legal_name zc_city I zc_state I 
NATIONAL CODE SEMINARS PELHAM AL 

NORTEK SECURITY AND CONTROL CARLSBAD CA 

LOGIX INSULATED CONCETE FORMS HEADINGLEY MB CN 

AMERICAN TRAINCO INC ENGLEWOOD co 
NATIONAL TECHNOLOGY TRANSFER INC ENGLEWOOD co 
BRIDGEPORT FITTINGS INC STRATFORD CT 
CBT DEVELOPMENT CORP ZEPHYRHILLS FL 

MIKE HOLT ENTERPRISES LEESBURG FL 

TECH KNOWLEDGE MIAMI FL 

THE MEDIA FACTORY INC TAMPA FL 
NATIONAL ASSCICATION OF ELEVATOR CONTRACTORS CONYERS GA 

COOPER ELECTRIC DECORAH IA 

INTERSTATES CONSTRUCTION SERVICES SIOUX CENTER IA 

THE CEU AUTHORITY LLC DES MOINES IA 

VGM GROUP INC - AHIA WATERLOO IA 
WLN ENTERPRISES SHELDON IA 

GLENTRONICS INC PRAIRIE VIEW IL 

HARGER LIGHTNING & GROUNDING GRAYSLAKE IL 

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF PLUMBING AND MECHAf\ MOKENA IL 
HOME DEPOT SHAWNEE MISSIOI KS 

IDEAL WERNER ELECTRIC SHAWNEE MISSIOI KS 
VIEGA LLC WICHITA KS 
HONEYWELL LOUISVILLE KY 

ALLIANCE FOR ENVIRONMENTAL SUSTAINABILITY- GREENHtGRAND RAPIDS Ml 
BUILDERS LICENSE TRAINING WILLIAMSBURG Ml 
CONTRACTORS TRAINING INSTITUTE LLC WHITE LAKE Ml 
10000 LAKES CHAPTER INTERNATIONAL CODE COUNCIL ST PAUL MN 
A MASTERS WORK CE LTD ST FRANCIS MN 
Al MEDICAL GAS INC EAGAN MN 
ADAM WOLFE ROSEMOUNT MN 
ALLINA HEALTH MERCY HOSPITAL COON RAPIDS MN 
AMERICAN TRADES TRAINING INSTITUTE INC ANOKA MN 
ANASTASIS INC GLYNDON MN 
APEX SOLAR ST CLOUD MN 
ARROWHEAD BUILDERS ASSOCIATION DULUTH MN 
ARROWHEAD CHAPTER IC OF BO DULUTH MN 
ASSN REALTORS/RANGE BRITT MN 
ASSOCIATION OF MN ~UILDING OFFICIAL BROOKLYN PARK MN 
BAYER BUILT WOODWORKS, INC. BELGRADE MN 
BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU OF MN & ND BURNSVILLE MN 
BLANDIN PAPER CO GRAND RAPIDS MN 
BUILDERS ASSOCIATION OF THE TWIN CITIES ROSEVILLE MN 
BUILDING KNOWLEDGE INC BURNSVILLE MN 
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C BLOCK INSPECTIONS LE CENTER MN 

CARI HELBERG WEST ST PAUL MN 

CCARSA MENQOTA MN 

CENTER POINT ENERGY RESOURCES CORP MINNEAPOLIS MN 

CENTRACARE HEAL TH ST CLOUD MN 

CENTRAL IRRIGATION SUPPLY EAGAN MN 

CENTRAL LAKES COLLEGE BRAINERD MN 

CENTRAL MN BUILDERS ASSN ST CLOUD MN 

CENTURY COLLEGE WHITE BEAR LAKE MN 

CHRIS FROEMMING WABASHA MN 

CITY OF ALBERT LEA ALBERT LEA MN 

CITY OF ALEXANDRIA- BLDG DEPARTMENT ALEXANDRIA MN 

CITY OF AUSTIN AUSTIN MN 

CITY OF LA CRESCENT LA CRESCE.NT MN 

CITY OF NORTHFIELD NORTHFIELD MN 

CITY OF RAMSEY ANOKA MN 

CITY OF WINONA WINONA MN 

CODE PLUS ELECTRIC INC DETROIT LAKES MN 

COMCAST ST PAUL MN 

CONSOLIDATED LUMBER COMPANY STILLWATER MN 

CONSTRUCTION EDUCATION FOUNDATION OF MN EDEN PRAIRIE MN 

COOK COUNTY LOCAL ENERGY PROJECT GRAND MARAIS MN 

COUNTRY LUMBER INC BECKER MN 

CS MEDIA INC BLAINE MN 

DAKOTA COUNTY TECHNICAL COLLEGE ROSEMOUNT MN 

DALEE WHITE PRO BID LLC MANAGING PARTNER MINNEAPOLIS MN 

DALEY ELECTRIC LLC ST PAUL MN 

DAVE KICHLER INSPECTIONS INC STACY MN 

DOYLE TRANKEL MINNEAPOLIS MN 

DRN ENTERPRISES - ARROW LIFT DULUTH MN 

DUNWOODY COLLEGE OF TECHNOLOGY MINNEAPOLIS MN 

ED LETHERT ASSOCIATES INC GOLDEN VALLEY MN 
. EDUCATION SPECIALTIES EDEN PRAIRIE MN 

ELECTROTECHINCORPORATED GOLDEN VALLEY MN 

ELEVATOR SPECIALTY SERVICES FERTILE MN 

ELLINGSON PLUMBING HEATING & AC ALEXANDRIA MN 

ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL BLDG ASSN EDEN PRAIRIE MN 

FARRISH JOHNSON LAW OFFICE CHTD MANKATO MN 

FEDERAL MEDICAL CENTER FARIBAULT MN 

FERCHE MILLWORK INC RICE MN 

FERGUSON ENTERPRISES ROSEVILLE MN 

FIRST SUPPLY LLC ROCHESTER MN 

FOLEY & MANSFIELD PLLP MINNEAPOLIS MN 

FOUR MATION SALES ROGERS MN 
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GAF MINNEAPOLIS MN 

GAS TEACHERS HOPKINS MN 

GREEN CODE KNOWLEDGE LLC BLAINE MN 

HEADWATERS BUILDERS ASSOCIATION BEMIDJI MN 

HELLMUTH &JOHNSON PLLC MINNEAPOLIS MN 

HENNEPIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE EDEN PRAIRIE MN 

HIBBING COMMUNITY COLLEGE HIBBING MN 

HILMERSON SAFETY SERVICES INC SAVAGE MN 

IBEW NECA TWIN PORTS ARROWHEAD ELECTRICALJATC DULUTH MN 

INDEPENDENT ELECTRICAL CONSULTING LLC ROSEVILLE MN 

INDUSTRIAL INSITE LLC MAPLE GROVE MN 

J BERO MECHANICAL CONTRACTORS INC ST CLOUD MN 

JB OMEARA CO BURNSVILLE MN 

JOHN NOZZARELLA ANOKA MN 

KAPLAN PROFESSl.ONAL SCHOOLS ST PAUL MN 

LAKE REGION BUILDERS ASSOCIATION DETROIT LAKES MN 

LAKES AREA PLUMBING CODE INSTRUCTION HEWITT MN 
MARVIN LUMBER AND CEDAR COMPANY WARROAD MN 

METRO SHEETMETAL JATC WHITE BEAR LAKE MN 

METRO TESTING METRO MECHANICAL CONSULTANTS LLC HINCKLEY MN 

MICHEL SALES AGENCY INC ST PAUL MN-

MIDWAY VOTECH ST PAUL MN 

MIDWEST ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTING LLC MORA MN 

MIDWESTERN ELECTRICAL SEMINARS NEW LONDON MN 
MINNEAPOLIS ELECTRICAL JATC ST MiCHAEL MN 
MINNEAPOLIS PUBLIC SCHOOL MINNEAPOLIS MN 

MINNESOTA ASSN OF HOUSING COD£ OFFICIALS ST PAUL MN 
MINNESOTA ASSOCIATION OF PLUMBING AND MECHANICA BLOOMINGTON MN 
MINNESOTA ASSOCIATION OF PLUMBING HEATING COOLIN1 MINNEAPOLIS MN 

MINNESOTA BUILDING PERMIT TECHNICIANS ASSN ANOKA MN 
MINNESOTA CHAPTER IAEI ROSEVILLE MN 
MINNESOTA DEPT OF CORRECTIONS LINO LAKES CIRCLE PINES MN 
MINNESOTA DEPT OF HEALTH ST PAUL MN 

MINNESOTA DEPT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY ST PAUL MN 
MINNESOTA DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION ELECTRICAL SERVIC ST PAUL MN 
MINNESOTA ELECTRICAL ASSN INC MINNEAPOLIS MN 
MINNESOTA ELECTRICAL EDUCATION AND TRAINING SEMIN AITKIN MN 

MINNESOTA ELECTRICAL TRAINING CENTER MINNEAPOLIS MN 

MINNESOTA PIPE TRADES MINNEAPOLIS MN 
MINNESOTA POWER DULUTH MN 
MINNESOTA RIVER BUILDERS ASSN MANKATO MN 
MINNESOTA SAFETY COUNCIL INC ST PAUL MN 
MINNESOTA STATE COMMUNITY & TECH COLLEGE WADENtWADENA MN 
MINNESOTA STATEWIDE LIMITED ENERGY JATC FRIDLEY MN 
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MINNESOTA WATER QUALITY ASSOCIATION COON RAPIDS MN 

MLK SEMINARS LLC PRIOR LAKE MN 

MN NURSERY & LANDSCAPE ASSOCIATION ROSEVILLE MN 

MNSPECT LLC WACONIA MN 

MONDALE & ASSOCIATES INC EDEN PRAIRIE MN 

MULCAHY COMPANY EAGAN MN 

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF THE REMODELING INDUSTRY I\ MINNEAPOLIS MN 

NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRICAL LEAGUE BLOOMINGTON MN 

NORTH COUNTRY AQUACARE INC BRAINERD MN 

NORTHERN Mll\INESOTA BUILDERS ASSOCIATION GRAND RAPIDS MN 

NORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANY - XCEL ENERGY MINNEAPOLIS MN 

NORTHLAND ELECTRICAL CODE SEMINARS LLC MENAHGA MN 

NORTHSTAR ASSOCIATES INC BLAINE MN 

NORTHSTAR TECH ALEXANDRIA MN 

NORTHWEST CHAPTER OF MN DETROIT LAKES MN 

OPTIVATION BEMIDJI STATE UNIVERSITY BEMIDJI MN 

OSHA ENVIRONMENTAL COMPLIANCE SYSTEMS INC ROBBINSDALE MN 

PAUL KRMPOTICH MELROSE MN 

PLUMBERS SERVICES MN RUSHFORD MN 

PLUMBOLOGY LLC MARSHALL MN 

POWER CONSULTING & TRAINING INC ROSEVILLE MN 

POWER LIMITED TRAINING SERVICES WYOMING MN 

PREWIRE SPECIALISTS ROSEVILLE MN 

PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION RESOURCES LLC RED WING MN 

RESIDENTIAL SCIENCE RESOURCES EAGAN MN 

RG HIGGINS AND ASSOCIATES INC FRIDLEY MN 

RIDGEWATER COLLEGE WILLMAR MN 

RIVERLAND COMMUNITY COLLEGE AUSTIN MN 

RL BURK & ASSOCIATES MENDOTA HEIGHl MN 

ROCHESTER AREA BUILDERS INC ROCHESTER MN 

ROEDER SMITH JADIN LLC BLOOMINGTON MN 

RON BELDO LLC EVELETH MN 

RONALD M STROM SPICER MN 

RUSSELL THORNBURG OWATONNA MN 

RYAN ELECTRIC INC EAGAN MN 

SCHROEDER SALES COMPANY MAPLE GROVE MN 

SILENT KNIGHT MINNEAPOLIS MN 

SIMPSON STRONG TIE EAGAN MN 

SIWEK LUMBER & MILLWORK INC JORDAN MN. 

SODERHOLM & ASSOCIATES ANOKA MN 

SOUTH CENTRAL COLLEGE NORTH MANKATO NORTH MANKATO MN 

SOUTH CENTRAL MN JATC ROCHESTER MN 

ST CLOUD TECHNICAL & COMMUNITY COLLEGE ST CLOUD MN 

ST PAUL ELECTRICALJATC STPAUL MN 
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ST PAUL PIPEFITTERS JOINT APPRENTICE TRAINING Co'MMll ROSEVILLE MN 

STANDARD HEATING AND AIR CONDITIONING MINNEAPOLIS MN 

SUNDE SCHOOL AUSTIN MN 

SUNDE SEMINARS INC BLOOMING PRAIRI MN 

TERRA LOGIC BUILDING PRODUCTS PELICAN RAPIDS MN 

TERRADEK LIGHTING INC PLYMOUTH MN 

THE BUILDERS GROUP EAGAN MN 

THOMAS KOPPERUD RUSHFORD MN 

THREE RIVERS PARK DISTRICT PLYMOUTH MN 

UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA ST PAUL MN 

UPONOR INC APPLE VALLEY MN 

WALLIS ACADEMY INC ROBBINSDA.LE MN 

WATER HEATERS ONLY LLC GOLDEN VALLEY MN 

WATERGROUP INC FRIDLEY MN 

WEST CENTRAL BUILDERS ASSOCIATION NEW LONDON MN 

WESTERN LAKE SUPERIOR PLBG CONTRATORS DULUTH MN 

WESTWOOD PROFESSIONAL SERVICES INC EDEN PRAIRIE MN 

WILLMAR ELECTRIC SERVICE CORP WILLMAR MN· 
ZOTA SAFETY SERVICES LLC ANDOVER MN 

HCI INC 0 FALLON MO 

JADE LEARNING RALEIGH NC 

TEKTONE SOUND & SIGNAL MFG INC FRANKLIN NC 

BERGSTROM ELECTRIC ICS INC GRAND FORKS ND 
DAKOTAS ELECTRICAL JATC FARGO ND 

ENVIRONMENTAL TRAINING INSTITUTE GRAND FORKS ND 
FORX BUILDERS ASSN GRAND FORKS ND 
HOME BLDRS ASSN OF FARGO-MOORHEAD FARGO ND 
LUNSETH PLUMBING AND HEATING CO GRAND FORKS ND 
MINNKOTA POWER COOPERATIVE INC GRAND FORKS ND 
NORTH DAKOTA CHAPTER IAEI BISMARCK ND 
NORTH DAKOTA STATE COLLEGE OF SCIENCE WAHPETON ND 
.NORTH DAKOTA STATE ELECTRICAL BOARD BISMARCK ND 

TJP ELECTRICAL TRAINING COLFAX ND 
ADVANCE ELECTRIC SOLUTIONS OMAHA NE 
FUR SYSTEMS INFRARED TRAINING CENTER NASHUA NH 
ELECTRICAL DIAGNOSTIC SURVEYS FRANKLIN OH 
HONDROS PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION WESTERVILLE OH 
MINNESOTA WATER WELL ASSOCIATION WESTERVILLE OH 
PLY GEM CORPORATION SIDNEY OH 
AT YOUR PACE ONLINE LLC GRANTS PASS OR 
LUTRON ELECTRONICS COOPERSBURG PA 
ARNE ELECTRO TECH SEMINARS RAPID CITY SD 
BUILDING PRODUCTS INC SIOUX FALLS SD 
IEC DAKOTAS INC PIERRE SD 
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MIDWESTERN MECHANICAL INC SIOUX FALLS SD 

MIKE MILLER INSTRUCTIONAL SERVICES WATERTOWN SD 

MUTH ELECTRIC INC MITCHELL SD 

AD\(ANTAGE LIEN PROTECTION LLC HALES CORNERS WI 

CAPITAL WATER SOFTENER INC MADISON WI 

ENTERPRISE SAFETY LLC DURAND WI 

FOXBLOCKS BALSAM LAKE WI 
GTO MARKETING LLC REESEVILLE WI 

LAKE STATES ENVIRONMENTAL LTD RICE LAKE WI 

MIDWEST RENEWABLE ENERGY ASSOCIATION CUSTER WI 

PDH ACADEMY LLC PEWAUKEE WI 

SARRAK LLC RIVER FALLS WI 

SEVENTHWAVE MADISON WI 

SHOCK ELECTRIC INC HUDSON WI 

SPEARS MANUFACTURING JANESVILLE WI 
LORMAN EDUCATION SERVICES 
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MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF 

LABOR & INDUSTRY 

Approved continuing education courses 
To limit the search change 'All' to a specific license discipline. Columns can be sorted by dicking the column header (e.g. Course name, Location, etc.), clicking the same column header 
again will reverse the order. For Information dick the 'Details' link. 

I Plumbing vi. I Search I courses per page 1100 vi 

Details 

~ 

~ 

~ 

Details 

~ 

Details 

Q2k 

7/22/2015 

7/22/2015 

7/24/2015 

7/25/2015 

7/29/2015 

7/31/2015 

7/31/2015 

7 /31/2015 

8/1/2015 

8/3/2015 

8/3/2015 

8/4/2015 

Course name 

ADVANCED PLUMBING CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE PART 2 

IN!TIAL EPA LEAD SAFETY FOR RENOVATION, REPAIR, AND PAINTING 

PLUMBING CONTINUING ED 2 

PLUMBING CONTINUING EDUCATION 

TANKLESS WATER HEATER TROUBLESHOOTING 

MN ADOPTION OF THE 2012 !RC 

PLUMBING CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REFRESHER EPA RENOVATE, REPAIR, AND PAINT & MN ADOPTION OF THE 2012 
!RC 

PLUMBING CONTINUING ED 2 

2014 NFPA 13D RESIDENTIAL FIRE SPRINKLER TRAINING 

LEAD RENOVATION, REPAIR & PAINTING REFRESHER TRAINING 

MN ADOPTION OF THE 2012 !RC 

REFRESHER EPA RENOVATE, REPAIR, AND PAINT & MN ADOPTION OF THE 2012 
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Plumbing Board 
Meeting Minutes 

April 18, 2017 @ 9:30 a.m. 
Minnesota Room – Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, MN  55155 

Members DLI Staff & Visitors 
Tom Andresen Suzanne Todnem (Gen. Counsel, DLI) 
Jeff Brown Jim Peterson (DLI) 
Michael Dryke Cathy Tran (DLI) 
Grant Edwards (Vice Chair) Lyndy Logan (DLI) 
John Flagg Charles Olson (DLI) 
Mike Herman Brad Jensen (DLI) 
Rick Jacobs Charlie Durenberger (DLI) 
Larry Justin Brian Noma (MDH) 
Jim Lungstrom (Comm. Designee) Matt Marciniak (IAPMO) 
John Parizek (Chair) David Ybarra (MN Pipe Trades Assoc.) 
Phillip Sterner (Secretary) Tim Power (Minnesota Nursery & Landscape) 
David Wagner Alicia Munson (Minnesota Nursery & Landscape) 

Russ Jundt (Minnesota Nursery & Landscape) 
Members Absent Adam Hanson (ABC) 
None Ray VinZant (Midway Votech) 

Luke Westman (PHCC) 
Gary Thaden (MMCA) 
Sophie Thaden (MMCA) 
Gary Schick (City of Rochester) 
Scott Eggen (City of Minneapolis) 
Jim Kittelson (Former Board member) 

I. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order by Chair Parizek at 9:41 a.m. Roll call was taken by Secretary
Sterner and a quorum was declared with 12 of 12 voting members present in person.
Introductions and housekeeping announcements were made and new members – Jacobs,
Wagner, Dryke, and Andresen – introduced themselves.

II. Approval of meeting agenda
A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Herman, to approve the agenda with the addition of
item F) CCAC – Appoint representative. The vote was unanimous with 12 votes in favor; the
motion carried.
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III. Approval of previous meeting minutes
A. A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Flagg, to approve the January 17, 2017,

regular meeting minutes with a correction to page 4, item 4, as shown below.  The vote
was 7 votes in favor with five abstentions; the motion carried.

“Unless prohibited by structural conditions, each vent shall rise vertically to a 
point not less than 6 inches (152 mm) above the flood-level rim of the fixture 
served before offsetting horizontally, and where two or more vent pipes 
converge, each such vent pipe shall rise to a point not less than 6 inches (152 
mm) in height above the flood-level rim of the plumbing fixture it serves before
being connected to any other vent.  Vents les (should read “less”) than that 6” 
(152 mm) above flood level rim of the fixture served shall be installed with 
approved drainage fittings, material, and grade to drain.” 

B. A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Herman, to approve the March 6, 2017,
special meeting minutes as presented.  The vote was 7 votes in favor with one opposed
and four abstentions; the motion carried.

IV. Regular Business
Approval of expense reports – Parizek approved the expenses as presented.

V. Committee Reports
A. Department Updates

Nothing to report

B. Executive Committee
Will report during board discussion

C. Construction Codes Advisory Council
The CCAC Bylaws were revised and approved at the March 16, 2017 meeting.

VI. Special Business
A. Legislative Update – Alexis Russell, Assistant to the Commissioner

Russell discussed the status of the following legislative items:
• Water Conditioning Bill, HF805 was laid over for possible inclusion in the Omnibus

Bill.  The Senate File version, SF369, was passed onto the floor and is awaiting a vote.
The Senate and House file were combined in the Omnibus Bill and is now SF1937.

• $1,000 Residential Contractor Bill, HF1001, is awaiting a floor vote.  The Senate
version, SF745, is in Senate finance currently and if passed it will go to the Senate
floor for the solo track.

B. Request for Action (see Attachment A) – Tim Power, Minnesota Nursery and
Landscape Association. Power presented a PowerPoint titled “ASSE’s Cross Connection
Control Certification Program” – See Attachment B. Power asked the Board to
consider allowing non plumbers to attend an approved school or be allowed to use their
backflow assembly certification.  This is important because a certain number of systems
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need to be rebuilt each year and requires a plumber to do this and all of the skills to be 
an effective rebuilder are contained in the ASSE course.  This is a self-contained enough 
process that an individual shouldn’t be required to be a licensed plumber.  He asked the 
board to consider moving forward with rulemaking as requested in his RFA (Attachment 
A).  Power discussed three MN Statutes: 1) Definitions, 2) Licensing, Bond and 
Insurance, and 3) RPZ Rebuilders and Testing. Parizek said you are asking for an 
exception for someone that isn’t licensed and Minnesota has very distinct laws as to 
what is and is not plumbing. Todnem cautioned the Board that changing the definition 
of “plumbing” or “plumbing appliance” would likely have unintended consequences? 

Parizek said that the landscaping industry should band together with the plumbing 
industry to review licensing requirements and then a proposal could be brought back to 
the Board. 

Parizek said there isn’t anything the Board can do because of the statutes – these 
statutes would need to be changed first; therefore, the Board cannot move forward 
with the RFA.  There could be a resolution down the road if the two industries work 
together.  Parizek said he would get in touch with Power and they could begin the 
process. 

C. Online Continuing Education requirement, Tim Bell – Attachment C
Tim Bell, At Your Pace Online, addressed the Board via teleconference. He wants to
open online education for all licensees that want or need a different option.  Had great
success with their pilot course and only 8 individuals gave negative feedback (too much
reading, irrelevant content or the course was too long.) Many people were grateful
they didn’t have to travel.

Bell said every student has to answer every question correctly or they will not move
forward. Webcam’s are in place to ensure compliance. Parizek said a Request for
Comments on rulemaking addressing continuing education (CE) for 4716 will most likely
be posted in late May or early June; therefore, he advised Power to submit his RFA after
this posting.

Charlie Durenberger, Director of Licensing and Enforcement, CCLD, added that plumbers
would like to see CE offered online – it is very difficult for some people to find courses
due to location. He has had very good experience with At Your Pace Online and added
that there aren’t any online education limitations for electricians and residential
building contractors. Durenberger said there aren’t any webcam requirements for
electrical and building contractors. He added that Sean O’Neil is the department’s
primary plumbing investigator for the Enforcement unit.
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D.	 Welcome new Board members, Suzanne Todnem 
We are subject to open meeting law – which is about public transparency.  Anytime a 
quorum is present the open meeting law applies, for example, a group email discussing 
a particular item would be in violation of the open meeting law. Please reserve your 
discussions for board meetings only. If there is a special meeting, a notice stating what 
the nature of the meeting with the date, time and location must be posted at DLI at 
least 3 days prior to the meeting.  The Board is required to provide at least one handout 
at each meeting.  The only reason a meeting is closed is due to attorney client privilege 
discussions, otherwise meetings will generally remain open.  There is no violation to use 
social media although the Board does not currently use this type of avenue. 

General data practices – The Board is a public entity; therefore, Board members should 
assume that everything is public – an exception would be attorney-client privilege. 

E.	 Request for Action – Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) 
Tran referred to Attachment D and said the department would like to propose some 
amendments to Chapter 10.  The goal of the department is to provide safer and more 
consistent design and more effective administration among jurisdictions. 

Parizek asked Justin to reconvene the Ad-Hoc Rulemaking Committee in order to review 
the department’s RFA and bring the Committee’s recommendation to the Board.  Justin 
agreed to meet with the Ad-Hoc Committee members and send out notification of a 
meeting to all interested parties.  Justin was appointed as Chair and the following board 
members were appointed to the Committee: Mike Herman, John Parizek, Grant 
Edwards, Tom Andresen, and Rick Jacobs. 

F.	 CCAC appointment: The Board needed a new Construction Codes Advisory Council 
(CCAC) appointment. 

A motion was made to recommend Commissioner Peterson appoint Grant 
Edwards as the Plumbing Board representative with John Flagg as his alternate. 
The vote was unanimous with 12 votes in favor; the motion carried. 

VII.	 Complaints 
Nothing to report. 

VIII.	 Open Forum 
Ray VinZant, Midway Votech, addressed the Board regarding backflow testing programs. There 
are a number of cities that have said they are not going to enforce.  If you build a new building 
and you put a fire suppression system in then it has to have a backflow preventer if it is on a 
public water supply.  VinZant discussed his concerns and Parizek said this is not under the 
jurisdiction of the Plumbing board, it is under the jurisdiction of the department. 

Sterner asked if there were additional members that wanted to join the Inspection Uniformity 
Committee (Sub-committee of the Plumbing Board) to provide more consistency throughout 
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the state. The following Board members were appointed:  Sterner (Chair), Lungstrom, Parizek, 
Andresen, and Jacobs.  Justin recommended that Eggen and Kittelson be included in any emails 
sent and Parizek said it will be an open meeting and all interested parties would be notified. 

IX. Correspondence 
Parizek is still reviewing information he received from the Fresh Water Society 

X. Board Discussion 
A. Parizek noted that authority needs to be given to the Chair to post a request for 

comments for chapter 4716.  Parizek asked the board for re-approval in order to publish 
a Request for Comments for chapter 4716. 

A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Edwards, to allow the Chair to 
update and publish the Request for Comments. The vote was unanimous with 
12 of 12 votes in favor; the motion carried. 

B. IAPMO committee meeting in May – reviewing proposals of possible code amendments 
to the 2018 plumbing code. 

A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Jacobs, to authorize the Chair to 
speak for the Board at the IAPMO meeting on May 1 through May 4, 2017. The 
vote was unanimous with 12 votes in favor; the motion carried. 

C. Parizek said the 2018 UPC should be finalized at the end of September 2017 and he 
recommended forming a committee to review possible amendments.  The following 
members were appointed to the Code Review Committee: Parizek (Chair), Flagg, Justin, 
Lungstrom, and Jacobs. 

XI. Announcements 
Next regularly scheduled meetings in 2017 – all meetings will be held at 9:30 a.m. in the 
Minnesota Room.  The Executive Committee meetings occur at 8:00 a.m. prior to each regular 
meeting in the Minnesota Room. 
A) July 18, 2017 (annual meeting) 
B) October 17, 2017 

XII. Adjournment 
A motion was made by Sterner, seconded by Edwards, to adjourn the meeting at 12:30 p.m. 
The vote was unanimous with 12 votes in favor of the motion; the motion passed. 

Respectfully submitted, 

Phil Sterner 
Phil Sterner, Board Secretary 
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Attachment A

February 2, 2017 

From: Timothy H. Power, Minnesota Nursery & Landscape Association 

To:  Minnesota State Plumbing Board 

Subj:  Request for Action dated February 2, 2017 

Please consider the following to be MNLA’s proposed language change for consideration in my 

attached Request for Action dated February 2, 2017.  I was unable to format the online RFA 

form to include either underlining or my signature.  Thanks. 

The Minnesota Nursery & Landscaping Association (MNLA) proposes the following 

addition to Minnesota Rules Chapter 4716.0096: 

4716.0096 LICENSURE; CERTIFICATION. 

Subpart 1. Backflow prevention rebuilder. 

An applicant for backflow prevention rebuilder certification must be a licensed master 

plumber, journeyman plumber, or restricted master or restricted journeyman plumber and 

possess current American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) Standard 5110 

Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester and ASSE Standard 5130 Backflow Prevention 

Assembly Repairer certifications. 

Subpart 1a. Non-RPZ backflow prevention rebuilder. 

An applicant for non-RPZ backflow prevention rebuilder certification must possess 

current American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) Standard 5110 Backflow 

Prevention Assembly Tester and ASSE Standard 5130 Backflow Prevention Assembly 

Repairer certifications. 
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Attachment A
Plumbing Board 
c/o Department of Labor and Industry 
443 Lafayette Road North Plumbing Board 
St. Paul, MN  55155-4344 
www.dli.mn.gov	 Request for Action 
PRINT IN INK or TYPE 

NAME OF SUBMITTER PURPOSE OF REQUEST (check all that apply): New Code 

Timothy H. Power, MN Nursery & Landscaping Assn. Code Amendment Repeal of an existing Rule 

The Minnesota Plumbing Code (MN Rules, Chapter 4714) is available at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingCode.asp 

Specify the purpose of the proposal: If recommendation for code change for appurtenance or method (check all that
apply) 

Appurtenance (e.g., water conditioning equipment) Test Method 

Amend MN Rules 4716.0096 to allow qualified non-plumbers to rebuild 

Other (describe) non-RPZ backflow prevention assemblies 

Does your submission contain a Trade Secret? Yes No 

If Yes, mark “TRADE SECRET” prominently on each page of your submission that you believe contains trade secret 
information. Minnesota Statutes, section 13.37, subdivision 1(b), defines “trade secret” as follows: 

“Trade secret information” means government data, including a formula, pattern, compilation, program, device, 
method, technique or process (1) that was supplied by the affected individual or organization, (2) that is the 
subject of efforts by the individual or organization that are reasonable under the circumstances to maintain its 
secrecy, and (3) that derives independent economic value, actual or potential, from not being generally known 
to, and not being readily ascertainable by proper means by, other persons who can obtain economic value from 
its disclosure or use. 

Note that, although “trade secret” information is generally not public, the Board and its committees may disclose “trade 
secret” information at a public meeting of the Board or committee if reasonably necessary for the Board or committee to 
conduct the business or agenda item before it (such as your request.) The record of the meeting will be public. 

Describe the proposed change. The Minnesota Plumbing Code (Minnesota Rules Chapter 4714) is available via the
World Wide Web at http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/arule/4714/ 

NOTE: 
• Please review the Minnesota Plumbing Code and include all parts of the Code that require revision to accomplish

your purpose.
• The proposed change, including suggested rule language, should be specific. If modifying existing rule language,

underline new words and strike through deleted words. Please list all areas of the Minnesota Plumbing Code that
would be affected. 

See proposed language change in attached "Draft Rebuilder Rule 020217", over my signature. 

Office Use Only 
RFA File No. Date Received by DLI Dated Received by Committee Date of Forwarded to Board 

Title of RFA By: 

Committee Recommendation to the Board:  Accept Reject Abstain 

Board approved as submitted:  Yes No Board approved as modified:  Yes No 
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Attachment A

This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, Braille or on a tape. To request, call 1-800-342-5354 (DIAL-DLI). 

***Please remember to attach all necessary explanations and supporting documentation***Page 2 of 6
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Need and Reasons For the Change. Thoroughly explain the need and why you believe it is reasonable to make this 
change. During a rulemaking process, the need and reasonableness of all proposed rule changes must be justified; 
therefore, a detailed explanation is necessary to ensure the Board thoroughly considers all aspects of the proposal. 

Attachment A

The 2015 MN Plumbing Code added several types of backflow prevention assemblies as "testable devices", in 

addition to the RPZ's that were previously regulated in MN.  The new MN plumbing code regulates for the 

first time the testing and rebuilding of the vast majority of backflow prevention assemblies used to protect 

public potable water supplies connected to landscape irrigation systems.  

Non-plumbers who have five years of plumbing-related experience (including landscape irrigation) are 

currently eligible to train, test and certify as ASSE Standard 5110 Backflow Prevention Assembly Testers and 

to use that certification to become MN DLI Backflow Prevention Testers.  ASSE's only national prerequisite to 

train, test and certify as ASSE Standard 5130 Backflow Prevention Assembly Repairers is that applicants hold 

a current ASSE 5110 tester certification.  However, since MN has a statutory requirement that MN rebuilders 

must be licensed plumbers, ASSE has signed an agreement with MN DLI requiring that only 5110-holders who 

are also licensed plumbers can train, test and certify for ASSE Standard 5130. 

MNLA believes that non-plumbers who hold a current ASSE 5110 should be eligible to train, test and 

certify as ASSE 5130 repairers and to use that certification to rebuild non-RPZ backflow prevention 

assemblies.  There are 100,000+ landscape irrigation systems currently installed in Minnesota.  They all need to 

be tested and possibly rebuilt during a highly-compressed annual spring startup period.  Increasing the pool of 

trained and certified rebuilders in Minnesota to include non-plumbers would ease the huge backlog of 

rebuilding work that will ensue each spring and allow irrigation contractors to complete their spring startups in 

timely fashion.   

If your product/method standard(s) is not currently listed in both national codes, your Request For Action will not be 
considered by the Board or its committees, however, you are welcome to present at any Board meeting during the Open 
Forum section of the Agenda. 

The proposal must be accompanied by copies of any published standards, the results of testing, and copies of any 
product listings, as documentation of the health, sanitation and safety performance of any materials, methods, fixtures, 
and/or appurtenances. If none are available, please explain: 

ASSE International lists requirements and prerequisites for ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130 as part of their 

Cross-Connection Control Certification program here: http://www.asse-plumbing.org/backflow/proctor/CCC-

Guidelines.pdf. 

Please attach electronic scanned copies of any literature, standards and product approvals or listings. Printed or 
copyrighted materials, along with written permission from the publisher to distribute the materials at meetings, 
should be sent to the Plumbing Board, c/o Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 
55155-4344. 

***Please remember to attach all necessary explanations and supporting documentation***Page 3 of 6 R-04365    511
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Attachment A
Primary reason for change: (check only one) 

Protect public, health, safety, welfare, or security Mandated by legislature 

Lower construction costs Provide uniform application 

Encourage new methods and materials Clarify provisions 

Change made at national level Situation unique to Minnesota 

As-needed rebuilding of backflow prevention assemblies connected to landscape irrigation 

systems will strain and likely exceed the capacity of currently-certified MN rebuilders 

Other (describe) during the hectic annual spring start-up period. 

Anticipated benefits: (check all that apply) 

Save lives/reduce injuries Provide more affordable construction
 
Improve uniform application
 Provide building property
 
Improve health of indoor environment
 Drinking water quality protection
 
Provide more construction alternatives
 Decrease cost of enforcement 

Landscape irrigation companies would be better able to service 

Other (describe) their clients' needs, while increasing the pool of certified rebuilders. Reduce regulation 

Economic impact: (explain all answers marked “yes”) 
1. Does the proposed change increase or decrease the cost of enforcement? Yes No If yes, explain 

2. Does the proposed change increase or decrease the cost of compliance? Yes No If yes, explain 

Include the estimated cost increase or decrease, and who will bear the cost increase or experience the cost decrease: 

Allowing irrigation contractors to have certified non-plumber backflow rebuilders on staff should allow more 

streamlined and less expensive spring start-ups for their customers, though the contractors and/or their employees 

would incur the costs associated with certification. 
3. Are there less costly or intrusive methods to achieve the proposed change? Yes No If yes, explain 

4. Were alternative methods considered? Yes No If no, why not? If yes, explain what alternative 

methods were considered and why they were rejected. 

5. If there is a fiscal impact, try to explain any benefit that will offset the cost of the change. If there is no impact, mark 

“N/A.” The only anticipated fiscal impact for MN would be an increase in MN certification/recertification fees 

that would accompany the increase in certified repairers. 
6. Provide a description of the classes of persons affected by a proposed change, who will bear the cost, and who will 

benefit. If adopted, this change would require non-plumbers who want to rebuild in addition to their current 

certification in testing would incur the costs of training, testing, certifying and remaining certified. 

7. Does the proposed rule affect farming operations? (Agricultural buildings are exempt from the Minnesota Building Code 

under Minnesota Statutes, Section 326B.121.) Yes No If yes, explain 

MNLA is unclear whether or not farming operations will be affected by the proposed change.  However, should 

the proposed change be allowed, MNLA speculates that increased availability of qualified individuals to perform 

necessary service to backflow prevention assemblies located in farming operations will result in faster service 

and increased protection of the public health, safety and welfare 

Are there any existing Federal Standards? Yes No If yes, list:
 
ASSE's 5000-series cross-connection control certification programs constitute a national standard for backflow
 
certification. 


Are there any differences between the proposed change and existing federal regulations? Yes No 

Not applicable Unknown If yes, describe each difference & explain why each difference is needed & reasonable. 

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.127, requires the Board to determine if the cost of complying with proposed rule changes 
in the first year after the changes take effect will exceed $25,000 for any small business or small city. A small business is 
defined as a business (either for profit or nonprofit) with less than 50 full-time employees and a small city is defined as a 
city with less than ten full-time employees. 

***Please remember to attach all necessary explanations and supporting documentation***Page 4 of 6 R-04365    512



       
 

        

          

      

  

During the first year after the proposed changes go into effect, will it cost more than $25,000 for any small business or 

small city of comply with the change? 
Attachment A

Yes No If yes, identify by name the small business(es or small city(ies). 

***Please remember to attach all necessary explanations and supporting documentation***Page 5 of 6
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Will this proposed plumbing code amendment require any local government to adopt or amend an ordinance or other 

regulation in order to comply with the proposed plumbing code amendment? Yes No, If yes, identify by name the 

government(s) and ordinances(s) that will need to be amended in order to comply with the proposed plumbing code 
amendment. 

Attachment A

Additional supporting documentation may also be attached to this form. Are there any additional comments you feel the 
Committee/Board may need to consider? If so, please state them here: 

No 

Information regarding submitting this form: 
• Submissions are received and heard by the Committee on an “as received” basis. Any missing documentation will

delay the process, and your proposal will be listed as the date it was received “Complete.”
• Submit any supporting documentation to be considered, such as manufacturer’s literature, approvals by other

states, and engineering data electronically to DLI.CCLDBOARDS@state.mn.us. Once your Request For Action form
has been received, it will be assigned a file number.  Please reference this file number on any correspondence and
supplemental submissions.

• For copyrighted materials that must be purchased from publishers, such as published standards, product
approvals or testing data, listings by agencies (IAPMO, ASSE, ASTM, etc.,) you may send just 2 copies, along
with written permission from the publisher to distribute the materials at meetings, via U.S. Mail to:
Plumbing Board, c/o Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 55155-4344.

• For materials that must be submitted by U.S. Mail, please include a copy of your “Request For Action” form
originally submitted and reference your assigned RFA file number.

Information for presentation to the Committee and/or Board: 
• Limit presentations to 5 minutes or less.
• Be prepared to answer questions regarding the proposal and any documentation.

Information regarding Committee and/or Board function: 
• The Plumbing Board or designated Committee.

I understand that any action is a recommendation to the Plumbing Board and is not to be considered final action. 
NAME AND E-MAIL ADDRESS FIRM NAME 

Timothy H. Power, tim@mnla.biz Minnesota Nursery & Landscape Association 
NAME, PHONE NUMBER AND E-MAIL ADDRESS OF PRESENTER TO THE COMMITTEE (if different): 

Same 
ADDRESS 

5199 Neal Ave. S. 

CITY 

Afton 

STAT 
E 

MN 

ZIP CODE 

55001 
PHONE 

651-295-5910

SIGNATURE (original or electronic) 

Timothy H. Power 

DATE 

February 2, 2017 

For Assistance or questions on completing this form, contact Cathy Tran, Department of Labor and Industry at 651-284-5898. 

For Office/Committee Use Only Proposal received completed? Yes No 

Date Proposer notified of gaps: Mode of notification (e.g., e-mail) Date returned to Proposer: Date materials re-received: 

***Please remember to attach all necessary explanations and supporting documentation***Page 6 of 6 R-04365    514
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Attachment B

MNLA’s RFA on Backflow 
Rebuilder Certification 

Tim Power, MNLA Government Affairs Consultant
 
April 18, 2017
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Attachment B

ASSE’s Cross Connection Control
 
Certification Program (excerpt)
 

B.  Certification to Standard 5110 for Backflow Prevention Assembly 
Testers is available only to individuals who have a minimum of five (5) 
years experience in the installation or service of plumbing, mechanical, 
fire sprinkler, lawn irrigation or a related industry field using potable 
water.  Certification shall consist of a minimum of forty (40) hours of 
instruction and exams. 
D.  Certification to Standard 5130 for Backflow Prevention Assembly 
Repairers is available only to individuals who hold a current backflow 
prevention assembly tester certification in accordance with ASSE 5110. 
Certification shall consist of a minimum of twenty (20) hours of 
instruction and exams. 
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Attachment B

MN Rules 4716.0096 LICENSURE; CERTIFICATION.
 
• Subpart 1.  Backflow prevention rebuilder. 
• An applicant for backflow prevention rebuilder certification must be a 

licensed master plumber, journeyman plumber, or restricted master 
or restricted journeyman plumber and possess current American 
Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) Standard 5110 Backflow 
Prevention Assembly Tester and ASSE Standard 5130 Backflow 
Prevention Assembly Repairer certifications. 

• Subp. 2.  Backflow prevention tester. 
• An applicant for backflow prevention tester certification shall possess 

a current ASSE Standard 5110 Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester 
certification. 
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Attachment B

MNLA’s RFA 
• 4716.0096 LICENSURE; CERTIFICATION. (DRAFT PROPOSAL) 
• Subpart 1. Backflow prevention rebuilder. 
• An applicant for backflow prevention rebuilder certification must be a 

licensed master plumber, journeyman plumber, or restricted master or
restricted journeyman plumber and possess current American Society of
Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) Standard 5110 Backflow Prevention Assembly
Tester and ASSE Standard 5130 Backflow Prevention Assembly Repairer
certifications. 

• Subpart 1a. Non-RPZ backflow prevention rebuilder. 
• An applicant for non-RPZ backflow prevention rebuilder certification must

possess current American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) Standard 
5110 Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester and ASSE Standard 5130 
Backflow Prevention Assembly Repairer certifications. 
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Attachment BMN Statutes CHAPTER 326B. 
CONSTRUCTION CODES AND LICENSING 
• PLUMBING (excerpt) 
• 326B.41 PURPOSE. 
• 326B.42 DEFINITIONS. 
• 326B.435 PLUMBING BOARD. 
• 326B.437 REDUCED PRESSURE BACKFLOW PREVENTION 

REBUILDERS AND TESTERS. 
• 326B.44 LOCAL REGULATIONS. 
• 326B.46 LICENSING, BOND AND INSURANCE. 
• 326B.48 RECIPROCITY WITH OTHER STATES. 
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Attachment B

MN Statutes 326B.42 DEFINITIONS.
 
Subdivision 1.Words, terms, and phrases. 
For purposes of sections 326B.41 to 326B.49, the terms defined in this section have the meanings 
given to them. 
Subd. 1a.Contractor. 
"Contractor" means a person who performs or offers to perform any plumbing work, with or 
without compensation, who is licensed as a contractor by the commissioner. Contractor includes 
plumbing contractors and restricted plumbing contractors. 
Subd. 1b.Backflow prevention rebuilder. 
A "backflow prevention rebuilder" is an individual who is qualified by training prescribed by the 
Plumbing Board and possesses a master or journeyman plumber's license to engage in the testing, 
maintenance, and rebuilding of reduced pressure zone type backflow prevention assemblies as 
regulated by the Plumbing Code. 
Subd. 1c.Backflow prevention tester. 
A "backflow prevention tester" is an individual who is qualified by training prescribed by the 
Plumbing Board to engage in the testing of reduced pressure zone type backflow prevention 
assemblies as regulated by the Plumbing Code. 
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Attachment BMN Statutes 326B.46 LICENSING, BOND 
AND INSURANCE. 
• Subdivision 1.License required. 
• (a) No individual shall engage in or work at the business of a master 

plumber, restricted master plumber, journeyman plumber, and restricted 
journeyman plumber unless licensed to do so by the commissioner…… 

• (c) Except as provided in subdivision 1a, no person shall perform or offer to 
perform plumbing work with or without compensation unless the person 
obtains a contractor's license. A contractor's license does not of itself 
qualify its holder to perform the plumbing work authorized by holding a 
master, journeyman, restricted master, or restricted journeyman license. 

• Subd. 2.Bond; insurance. 
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Attachment B

• (a) No person shall perform or offer to perform the installation,
maintenance, repair, replacement, or rebuilding of reduced pressure zone
backflow prevention assemblies unless the person obtains a plumbing
contractor's license. An individual shall not engage in the testing,

MN Statutes 326B.437 REDUCED PRESSURE 
BACKFLOW PREVENTION REBUILDERS AND TESTERS. 

maintenance, repair, or rebuilding of reduced pressure zone backflow
prevention assemblies, as regulated by the Plumbing Code, unless the
individual is certified by the commissioner as a backflow prevention
rebuilder.

• (b) An individual shall not engage in testing of a reduced pressure zone
backflow prevention assembly, as regulated by the Plumbing Code, unless
the individual possesses a backflow prevention rebuilder certificate or is
certified by the commissioner as a backflow prevention tester.
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Attachment B

Fact Sheet: Backflow Devices, from DLI website 
•	 REQUIREMENTS Devices that need to be tested The 2015 Minnesota Plumbing Code 

requires that all testable backflow devices be tested upon installation and at least
annually thereafter by a certified backflow assembly tester. Testable devices include: ••
Reduced pressure principal backflow prevention assemblies, •• Reduced pressure 
detector fire protection backflow prevention assemblies, •• Double check backflow
prevention assemblies, •• Pressure vacuum breaker backflow prevention assemblies, •• 
Double check detector fire protection backflow prevention assemblies, and •• Spill 
resistant pressure vacuum breakers. Installing the device •• A licensed plumber must
perform the installation of a backflow prevention device. •• The public water supplier
must be notified within 30 days following installation of the device on a community
public water system. •• A plumbing permit must be obtained from the administrative 
authority prior to installation. Testing and maintenance •• The backflow device must be 
tested upon initial installation and at least annually thereafter. •• Test results must be
submitted to the administrative authority and to the community public water supplier
within 30 days of testing. Applicability •• Reduced pressure (RPZ) devices have had
testing requirements for many years. New and existing RPZ installations must be tested
annually. •• The testing requirements for testable non-RPZ devices became effective for
installations made on or after Jan. 23, 2016. 
prevention devices requires certification to ASSE Standard 5110. 

Testing of backflow Tester qualifications 
Testing of reduced

pressure principal devices (RPZs) requires an additional certification by the commissioner
of the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. 
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Attachment B

ASSE’s Letter 10/15/2013 to DLI 
……Any individual not holding a current MN Rebuilder or ASSE 
5130 Repairer certification shall meet all of the following 
requirements to obtain an ASSE 5130 Professional Qualifications 
Standard for Backflow Prevention Assembly Repairers certification: 

• 1) Prior to enrolling in an ASSE approved Repairer course at 
an ASSE approved school, the applicant shall possess a current 
ASSE 5110 Professional Qualifications Standard for Backflow 
Prevention Assembly Testers certification and a MN Plumbing 
License per MN Statutes 326B.437 and 326B.46…………. 
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Attachment C

At Your Pace Online. LLC 
Request for Limitation on Online CE Hours to be Removed 

I. Introduction

II. Need for the Change
A. Previous Requests made to the Board

1. Gary Ford of Metro Testing
2. Charlie Durenberger
3. John Parizek

B. Licensees
1. Success with Pilot Course
2. Requests Made

III. Objective
A. Provide Accessible Industry Leading Content to Licensees

1. Instructor - Chris D’Amato
2. Primary Writer - Peter Quince

B. Ensure student/licensee accountability
1. IDECC
2. Custom Security Features

a) Security Question Modules
b) Webcam Module

IV. Why AYPO?
A. Proven working model
B. Tested methods & advanced security features
C. Ability to quickly adapt to future needs
D. Highly Trained Support Team
E. Commitment to Excellence

V. Questions?

531 NE F Street, Grants Pass, OR 97526 ● (541)371-2882 ● (866) 333-9840 ● programs@atyourpaceonline.com 
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PB0089
Attachment D

Plumbing Board 
c/o Department of Labor and Industry 
443 Lafayette Road North Plumbing Board 
St. Paul, MN  55155-4344 
www.dli.mn.gov	 Request for Action 
PRINT IN INK or TYPE 

NAME OF SUBMITTER PURPOSE OF REQUEST (check all that apply): New Code 

Cathy Tran, DLI Code Amendment Repeal of an existing Rule 

The Minnesota Plumbing Code (MN Rules, Chapter 4714) is available at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingCode.asp 

Specify the purpose of the proposal: If recommendation for code change for appurtenance or method (check all that
apply) 

Appurtenance (e.g., water conditioning equipment) Test Method
 

Other (describe)
 

Does your submission contain a Trade Secret? Yes No 

If Yes, mark “TRADE SECRET” prominently on each page of your submission that you believe contains trade secret
information. Minnesota Statutes, section 13.37, subdivision 1(b), defines “trade secret” as follows: 

“Trade secret information” means government data, including a formula, pattern, compilation, program, device, 
method, technique or process (1) that was supplied by the affected individual or organization, (2) that is the 
subject of efforts by the individual or organization that are reasonable under the circumstances to maintain its 
secrecy, and (3) that derives independent economic value, actual or potential, from not being generally known 
to, and not being readily ascertainable by proper means by, other persons who can obtain economic value from 
its disclosure or use. 

Note that, although “trade secret” information is generally not public, the Board and its committees may disclose “trade 
secret” information at a public meeting of the Board or committee if reasonably necessary for the Board or committee to 
conduct the business or agenda item before it (such as your request.) The record of the meeting will be public. 

Describe the proposed change. The Minnesota Plumbing Code (Minnesota Rules Chapter 4714) is available via the
World Wide Web at http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/arule/4714/ 

NOTE: 
• Please review the Minnesota Plumbing Code and include all parts of the Code that require revision to accomplish

your purpose.
• The proposed change, including suggested rule language, should be specific. If modifying existing rule language,

underline new words and strike through deleted words.  Please list all areas of the Minnesota Plumbing Code that
would be affected. 

see attached 

Office Use Only 
RFA File No. 

PB0089 
Date Received by DLI 

4/12/2017 
Dated Received by Committee Date of Forwarded to Board 

Title of RFA By: 

Committee Recommendation to the Board: Accept Reject Abstain 

Board approved as submitted: Yes No Board approved as modified: Yes No 
This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, Braille or on a tape. To request, call 1-800-342-5354 (DIAL-DLI). 
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Attachment D

Need and Reasons For the Change. Thoroughly explain the need and why you believe it is reasonable to make this
change. During a rulemaking process, the need and reasonableness of all proposed rule changes must be justified; 
therefore, a detailed explanation is necessary to ensure the Board thoroughly considers all aspects of the proposal. 

PB0089

see attached 

If your product/method standard(s) is not currently listed in both national codes, your Request For Action will not be 
considered by the Board or its committees, however, you are welcome to present at any Board meeting during the Open 
Forum section of the Agenda. 

The proposal must be accompanied by copies of any published standards, the results of testing, and copies of any 
product listings, as documentation of the health, sanitation and safety performance of any materials, methods, fixtures, 
and/or appurtenances.  If none are available, please explain: 

Please attach electronic scanned copies of any literature, standards and product approvals or listings. Printed or 
copyrighted materials, along with written permission from the publisher to distribute the materials at meetings,
should be sent to the Plumbing Board, c/o Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 
55155-4344. 

***Please remember to attach all necessary explanations and supporting documentation***Page 2 of 4 R-04365    527



   

   

       

    

     

    

    

  

    

      

    

    

    

  

     

     
  

        

        

   

   
 

   
 

 

      

       

          

        

  
 

  
  

   

         

Attachment D
Primary reason for change: (check only one) PB0089

Protect public, health, safety, welfare, or security Mandated by legislature 

Lower construction costs Provide uniform application 

Encourage new methods and materials Clarify provisions 

Change made at national level Situation unique to Minnesota 

Other (describe) 

Anticipated benefits: (check all that apply)

Save lives/reduce injuries 

Improve uniform application 

Improve health of indoor environment 

Provide more construction alternatives 

Reduce regulation Other (describe) 

Provide more affordable construction 

Provide building property 

Drinking water quality protection 

Decrease cost of enforcement 

Economic impact: (explain all answers marked “yes”)

1. Does the proposed change increase or decrease the cost of enforcement? Yes No If yes, explain 

2. Does the proposed change increase or decrease the cost of compliance? Yes No If yes, explain
Include the estimated cost increase or decrease, and who will bear the cost increase or experience the cost decrease:

3. Are there less costly or intrusive methods to achieve the proposed change? Yes No If yes, explain 

4. Were alternative methods considered? Yes No If no, why not? If yes, explain what alternative 

methods were considered and why they were rejected.

5. If there is a fiscal impact, try to explain any benefit that will offset the cost of the change. If there is no impact, mark
“N/A.”

6. Provide a description of the classes of persons affected by a proposed change, who will bear the cost, and who will
benefit.

7. Does the proposed rule affect farming operations? (Agricultural buildings are exempt from the Minnesota Building 

Code under Minnesota Statutes, Section 326B.121.) Yes No If yes, explain

Are there any existing Federal Standards? Yes No If yes, list: 

Are there any differences between the proposed change and existing federal regulations? Yes No 

Not applicable Unknown If yes, describe each difference & explain why each difference is needed & reasonable. 

Minnesota Statutes, section 14.127, requires the Board to determine if the cost of complying with proposed rule changes 
in the first year after the changes take effect will exceed $25,000 for any small business or small city. A small business is 
defined as a business (either for profit or nonprofit) with less than 50 full-time employees and a small city is defined as a 
city with less than ten full-time employees. 

During the first year after the proposed changes go into effect, will it cost more than $25,000 for any small business or 

small city of comply with the change? Yes No If yes, identify by name the small business(es or small city(ies). 

***Please remember to attach all necessary explanations and supporting documentation***Page 3 of 4 R-04365    528



   

 

       
 

 

  

 
 

    
  

    
  

   
  

     
    

     
   

   

 

 

 
  

      
    

  

    

  
 

 

     

  

    

         

     

PB0089Attachment D

Will this proposed plumbing code amendment require any local government to adopt or amend an ordinance or other 

regulation in order to comply with the proposed plumbing code amendment? Yes No, If yes, identify by name the 
government(s) and ordinances(s) that will need to be amended in order to comply with the proposed plumbing code 
amendment. 

Additional supporting documentation may also be attached to this form. Are there any additional comments you feel the 
Committee/Board may need to consider?  If so, please state them here: 

Information regarding submitting this form: 
• Submissions are received and heard by the Committee on an “as received” basis. Any missing documentation will

delay the process, and your proposal will be listed as the date it was received “Complete.”
• Submit any supporting documentation to be considered, such as manufacturer’s literature, approvals by other

states, and engineering data electronically to DLI.CCLDBOARDS@state.mn.us. Once your Request For Action form
has been received, it will be assigned a file number.  Please reference this file number on any correspondence and
supplemental submissions.

• For copyrighted materials that must be purchased from publishers, such as published standards, product
approvals or testing data, listings by agencies (IAPMO, ASSE, ASTM, etc.,) you may send just 2 copies, along
with written permission from the publisher to distribute the materials at meetings, via U.S. Mail to:
Plumbing Board, c/o Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 55155-4344.

• For materials that must be submitted by U.S. Mail, please include a copy of your “Request For Action” form
originally submitted and reference your assigned RFA file number.

Information for presentation to the Committee and/or Board: 
• Limit presentations to 5 minutes or less.
• Be prepared to answer questions regarding the proposal and any documentation.

Information regarding Committee and/or Board function: 
• The Plumbing Board or designated Committee.

I understand that any action is a recommendation to the Plumbing Board and is not to be considered final action. 
NAME AND E-MAIL ADDRESS FIRM NAME 

Cathy Tran DLI 
NAME, PHONE NUMBER AND E-MAIL ADDRESS OF PRESENTER TO THE COMMITTEE (if different): 

ADDRESS CITY STAT 
E 

ZIP CODE 

PHONE 

651/284-5898 
SIGNATURE (original or electronic) DATE 

April 11, 2017 

For Assistance or questions on completing this form, contact Cathy Tran, Department of Labor and Industry at 651-284-5898. 

For Office/Committee Use Only Proposal received completed? Yes No 

Date Proposer notified of gaps: Mode of notification (e.g., e-mail) Date returned to Proposer: Date materials re-received: 

***Please remember to attach all necessary explanations and supporting documentation***Page 4 of 4 R-04365    529
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Attachment D

PB0089
DLI proposed 4-2017 

1002.0 Traps Protected by Vent Pipes. 
1002.1 Vent Pipes. Each plumbing fixture trap, except as otherwise provided in this code, shall be protected against 
siphonage, backpressure, and air circulation shall be assured throughout the drainage system by means of a vent pipe 
installed in accordance with the requirements of this code. 
1002.2 Fixture Traps. Each fixture trap shall have a protecting vent so located that the developed length of the trap 
arm from the trap weir to the inner edge of the vent shall be within the distance given in Table 1002.2, but in no case 
less than two times the diameter of the trap arm. 

Exception: Emergency floor drains and floor-set fixtures not used as waste receptors installed within 25 feet of a 
vented branch or main.. 

SONAR: exception to not require individual vent on emergency floor drains and floor drains not receiving indirect 
waste piping. This is reasonable and needed as emergency floor drains and drains not receiving indirect waste 
discharges are unlikely to siphon the trap seals and do not need to be individually vented. 

1006.0 Floor Drain Traps.
 
1006.1 General. Floor drains shall connect into a trap so constructed that it can be readily cleaned and of a size to
 
serve efficiently the purpose for which it is intended. The drain inlet shall be so located that it is in full view. Where
 
subject to reverse flow of sewage or liquid waste, such drains shall be equipped with an approved backwater valve.
 

Exception: Floor drains or trench drains which connect to sand interceptors or oily and flammable liquid interceptors
 
need not be trapped.
 

SONAR: Without this language, the requirement is that all fixtures including floor drains/floor set fixtures or laundry 
tubs in service garages must be trapped. This creates unsafe installation where oily/flammable wastes are retained in 
traps as well defeating the purpose of designing a sand interceptor for separation and as sand/dirt/solids filling trap 
before entering the sand interceptor for separation. Furthermore, if trapped then each fixture requires a vent located 
near a wall which is difficult in an open space such as a garage. 

1014.2 Hydromechanical Grease Interceptors. Hydromechanical grease interceptors must comply with 
ASME Standard A112.14.3-2000. Plumbing fixtures or equipment connected to a Type A and B hydromechanical 
grease interceptor shall discharge through an approved type of vented flow control installed in a readily accessible 
and visible location. Flow control devices shall be designed and installed so that the total flow through such device or 
devices shall at no time be greater than the rated flow of the connected grease interceptor. No flow control device 
having adjustable or removable parts shall be approved. The vented flow control device shall be located such that no 
system vent shall be between the flow control and the grease interceptor inlet. The vent or air inlet of the flow control 
device shall connect with the sanitary drainage vent system, as elsewhere required by this code, or shall terminate 
through the roof of the building, and shall not terminate to the free atmosphere inside the building. 

1016.1 Discharge. Where the discharge of a fixture or drain contain solids or semi-solids heavier than water that 
would be harmful to a drainage system or cause a stoppage within the system, the discharge shall be through a sand 
interceptor. Multiple floor drains shall be permitted to discharge into one sand interceptor. 
1016.2 Authority Having Jurisdiction. Sand interceptors are required where the Authority Having Jurisdiction 
deems it advisable to have an sand interceptor to protect the drainage system. 
1016.3 Construction and Size. Sand interceptors shall be built of brick or concrete, prefabricated coated steel, or 
other watertight material. The interceptor shall have an interior baffle for full separation of the interceptor into two 
sections. The outlet pipe shall be the same size as the inlet pipe of the sand interceptor, the minimum being 3 inches 
(80 mm), and the baffle shall have two openings of the same diameter as the outlet pipe and at the same invert as the 
outlet pipe. These openings shall be staggered so that there cannot be a straight line flow between the inlet pipe and 
the outlet pipe. The invert of the inlet pipe shall be no lower than the invert of the outlet pipe. 

The sand interceptor shall have a minimum dimension of 2 square feet (0.2 m2) for the net free opening of the 
inlet section and a minimum depth under the invert of the outlet pipe of 2 feet (610 mm). 

For each 5 gpm (0.3 L/s) flow or fraction thereof over 20 gpm (1.26 L/s), the area of the sand interceptor inlet 
section is to be increased by 1 square foot (0.09 m2). The outlet section shall at all times have a minimum area of 50 
percent of the inlet section. 

R-04365    530



 

  
   

 
   

     
    

  
 

  
         

       
   

   
   

    
  

     
  

   
   

         
   

 
   

   
     

   
     

   
   

   
    
    

    
   

      
    

                  
  

 
      

   
 

    
 

  
 

Attachment D

PB0089
DLI proposed 4-2017 

The outlet section shall be covered by a solid removable cover, set flush with the finished floor, and the inlet 
section shall have an open grating, set flush with the finished floor and suitable for the traffic in the area in which it is 
located. 
1016.4 Separate Use. Sand and similar interceptors for every solid shall be so designed and located as to be readily 
accessible for cleaning, shall have a water seal of not less than 6 inches (152 mm), and shall be vented. 

Exception: Sand interceptors connecting to oily and flammable liquid interceptors meeting the requirements 
of Section 1017.0 do not require a water seal. 

1017.0 Oil and Flammable Liquid Interceptors. 
1017.1 Interceptors Required. Repair garages and gasoline stations with grease racks or grease pits, parking 
garages over 1000 square feet, vehicle wash facilities, and factories that have oily, flammable, or both types of wastes 
as a result of manufacturing, storage, maintenance, repair, or testing processes, shall be provided with an oil or 
flammable liquid interceptor that shall be connected to necessary floor drains. The separation or vapor compartment 
shall be independently vented to the outer air. Where two or more separation or vapor compartments are used, each 
shall be vented to the outer air or shall be permitted to connect to a header that is installed at a minimum of 6 inches 
(152 mm) above the spill line of the lowest floor drain and vented independently to the outer air. The minimum size 
of a flammable vapor vent shall be not less than 2 inches (51 mm), and, where vented through a sidewall, the vent 
shall be not less than 10 feet (3048 mm) above the adjacent level at an approved location. The interceptor shall be 
vented on the sewer side and shall not connect to a flammable vapor vent. Oil and flammable interceptors shall be 
provided with gastight cleanout covers that shall be readily accessible. Drains discharging into interceptors must not 
be designed to retain liquid wastes. The waste line shall be not less than 3 inches (80 mm) in diameter with a full-size 
cleanout to grade. Where an interceptor is provided with an overflow, it shall be provided with an overflow line [not 
less than 2 inches (50 mm) in diameter] to an approved waste oil tank having a minimum capacity of 550 gallons 
(2082 L) and meeting the requirements of the Authority Having Jurisdiction. The waste oil from the separator shall 
flow by gravity or shall be pumped to a higher elevation by an automatic pump. Pumps shall be adequately sized and 
accessible. Waste oil tanks shall have a 2 inch (50 mm) minimum pump-out connection at grade and a 11⁄2 inch (38 
mm) minimum vent to atmosphere at an approved location not less than 10 feet (3048 mm) above grade.
1017.2 Design of Interceptors. Each manufactured interceptor that is rated shall be stamped or labeled by the
manufacturer with an indication of its full discharge rate in gpm (L/s). The full discharge rate to such an interceptor
shall be determined at full flow. Each interceptor shall be rated equal to or greater than the incoming flow and shall
be provided with an overflow line to an underground tank.

Interceptors not rated by the manufacturer shall have a depth of not less than 2 feet (610 mm) below the invert of 
the discharge drain. The outlet opening shall have not less than an 18 inch (457 mm) water seal and shall have a 
minimum capacity as follows: Where not more than three motor vehicles are serviced, stored, or both, interceptors 
shall have a minimum capacity of 6 cubic feet (0.2 m3), and 1 cubic foot (0.03 m3) of capacity shall be added for each 
vehicle up to 10 vehicles. Above 10 vehicles, the Authority Having Jurisdiction shall determine the size of the 
interceptor required. Where vehicles are serviced and not stored, interceptor capacity shall be based on a net capacity 
of 1 cubic foot (0.03 m3) for each 100 square feet (9.29 m2) of surface to be drained into the interceptor, with a 
minimum of 6 cubic feet (0.2 m3). 

SONAR: This proposed language coordinates with section 1009.1 and 418.7 of the code. Currently, a 
flammable/oily waste interceptor must be provided where required by the AHJ under sections 1009.1 and 418.7 
require an oil and flammable liquid interceptor shall be provided for parking garage if required by this section 
(1017) to protect the sewer systems. Furthermore, the proposed language also provides a minimum size garage that 
must be provided with a flammable waste interceptor when required by the AHJ.  Without the proposed language, 
these sections are not consistently administered among jurisdictions and is subject to approval project by project 
basis. 
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Plumbing Board 
Meeting Minutes 

July 18, 2017 @ 9:30 a.m. 
Minnesota Room – Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, MN  55155 

Members DLI Staff & Visitors 
Tom Andresen Wendy Legge (Chief Gen. Counsel, DLI) 
Jeff Brown Suzanne Todnem (Attorney to the Board, Gen. 
Michael Dryke Counsel, DLI) 
Grant Edwards (Vice Chair) Jim Peterson (DLI) 
John Flagg Jim Lungstrom (DLI) 
Mike Herman (via teleconference) Lyndy Logan (DLI) 
Rick Jacobs Brad Jensen (DLI) 
John Parizek Charles Olson (DLI) 
Phillip Sterner (Secretary) Gary Thaden (MMCA) 
Cathy Tran (Comm. Designee) Sophie Thaden (MMCA) 
David Weum Dennis Schilling (City of West St. Paul) 

Adam Hanson (ABC) 
Members Absent Jim Kittelson (Former BOP member) 
Larry Justin Scott Thompson (My Plumbing Training) 
David Wagner Nick Erickson (Housing First MN) 

Dean Berckes (Military Affairs) 
Brian Soderholm (Soderholm/Water Control) 
Anita Anderson (MDH) 
Gary Schick (City of Rochester) 
Robert Aagaard (Viega) 
Tom Miller (Local 36) 
Jami Sehm (City of Blaine) 
Gary Simmons (Pipe Masters Inc.) 
Matt Marciniak (IAPMO) 
David Ybarra (MN Pipe Trades Assoc.) 
Doug Morin (A.G. O’Brien Plumbing – via phone) 
Justin Opperman (Mayo Clinic – via phone) 

I. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order by Chair Parizek at 9:34 a.m. Roll call was taken by Secretary
Sterner and a quorum was declared with 10 of 12 voting members present in person or via
teleconference and one non-voting member present. Introductions and housekeeping
announcements were made. Parizek announced that Cathy Tran is now the Commissioner’s
designee for the Department of Labor, replacing Jim Lungstrom, and David Weum is the
Commissioner’s designee for the Department of Health.

Plumbing Board Meeting Minutes P  a  g e  | 1 
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II. Approval of meeting agenda
A motion was made by Sterner, seconded by Jacobs, to approve the agenda as presented but it
was noted that a responsible authority for data requests would be appointed during VI. Special
Business, Item B) Data Practices, Records Retention and the Open Meeting Law:  An
Introduction for the Plumbing Board. The roll call vote was unanimous with 10 votes in favor;
the motion carried.

III. Approval of previous meeting minutes
A motion was made by Edwards, seconded by Sterner, to approve the April 18, 2017, regular
meeting minutes with the deletion of David Ybarra because his name was listed twice under DLI
Staff & Visitors. The roll call vote was unanimous with 10 votes in favor; the motion carried.

IV. Regular Business
Approval of expense reports – Parizek approved the expenses as presented.

V. Committee Reports
A. Department Updates

Nothing to report

B. Executive Committee
The Committee moved their start time to 8:30 a.m. from 8:00 a.m.

C. Construction Codes Advisory Council
Edwards noted he received his appointment to the CCAC and the next meeting is
scheduled for July 20, 2017.

VI. Special Business
A. Request for Interpretation (RFI) – Doug Morin, A.G. O’Brien Plumbing & Heating (see

Attachment A)
Doug Morin attended the meeting via teleconference. Morin noted that the code
section referenced on the RFI to be interpreted, 4715.2110N, should read
“4714.603.5.12” and Parizek read the definition aloud as follows: 4714.603.5.12
Beverage Dispensers. Potable water supply to beverage dispensers, carbonated
beverage dispensers, or coffee machines shall be protected by an air gap or a vented
backflow preventer in accordance with ASSE 1022. For carbonated beverage dispensers,
piping material installed downstream of the backflow preventer shall not be made of
copper and not be affected by carbon dioxide gas. Morin said a combi-oven was
approved as an acceptable device in Final Interpretation #PB00781 but he was not sure
if 603.5.12 was the correct section.

Morin noted that he worked with Jim Peterson to draft the RFI. Peterson said he did an
inspection for A.G. O’Brien Plumbing & Heating at the Sandstone Hospital and they had
a combi-oven with an ASSE 1022 device for backflow protection. The ASSE 1022 device
is listed only for beverage dispensers and although beverages are not being dispensed in

1 Final Interpretation PB0078 was issued on September 16, 2013, under the previous Plumbing Code. 
Plumbing Board Meeting Minutes P  a  g e  | 2 
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a combi-oven, it is a similar type device.  The ASSE 1022 has non-copper bearing 
components and might be adequate for this installation. 

Lengthy discussion followed regarding ASSE 1022 and ASSE 1012. 

Parizek read aloud section 603.2.3 Backflow Prevention as follows: No plumbing fixture, 
device, or construction shall be installed or maintained, or shall be connected to a 
domestic water supply, where such installation or connection provides a possibility of 
polluting such water supply or cross-connection between a distributing system of water 
for drinking and domestic purposes and water that becomes contaminated by such 
plumbing fixture, device, or construction unless there is provided a backflow prevention 
device approved for the potential hazard. 

Parizek read aloud section 603.2 Approval of Devices or Assemblies as follows: Before a 
device or an assembly is installed for the prevention of backflow, it shall have first been 
approved. Devices or assemblies shall be tested in accordance with recognized standards 
or other approved standards. Backflow prevention devices and assemblies shall comply 
with Table 603.2, except for specific applications and provisions as stated in Sections 
603.5.1 through 603.5.23. 

Parizek said ASSE 1012 is not listed in 603.2.3 or 603.2. Looking at the PB0078 Final 
Interpretation, Parizek asked each board member to answer the same three questions 
that are in PB0078 as follows: 

Question 1: Is a combi-oven a low hazard application? 
Answer: Yes 

Question 2: Is the combi-oven subject to back pressure? 
Answer: Yes 

Question 3: Is a double-check valve with intermediate atmosphere vent adequate 
protection for a combi-oven? 

Answer: Yes, one board member answered no 

Commentary
 
Question 1: All parties were heard and had fair opportunity to present facts,
 
thoughts, opinions, and challenges pertaining to Question one. Parizek asked if anyone
 
had any further comments and there were none. There was nothing further added.
 

Question 2: All parties were heard and had fair opportunity to present facts,
 
thoughts, opinions, and challenges pertaining to Question two. Parizek asked if anyone
 
had any further comments and there were none. There was nothing further added.
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Question 3: All parties were heard and had fair opportunity to present facts, 
thoughts, opinions, and challenges pertaining to Question three. The Board also read 
dual check and double-check documentation for clarification. Parizek asked if anyone 
had any further comments and there were none. Parizek said it should be noted that 
the installation of the device or assembly must be within the application and the scope 
of the standard. 

The Board took a 10 minute break and reconvened at 11:23 a.m. 

Parizek said it does not appear that the ASSE 1022 is a good choice for combi-ovens.  
The Board needs to interpret a specific code section or ask Morin to withdraw his 
Request for Interpretation and bring it back to the Board after it has been modified. 
Parizek then asked Morin if there was a specific section of the code he wanted 
interpreted.  Morin replied 603.2.  Parizek asked if Morin wanted to know if the ASSE 
1022 was suitable for a combi-oven under 603.2; Morin said yes. 

A motion was made by Parizek, seconded by Edwards, that NO, an ASSE 
1022 cannot be installed in a combi-oven per section 603.2. The roll call 
vote passed with 9 of 10 votes in favor (1 opposed); the motion carried. 

A motion was made by Parizek, seconded by Edwards, asking the 
question, would an ASSE 1012 be a suitable device for the installation of a 
combi-oven under section 603.2 when approved by the Authority Having 
Jurisdiction. The answer is YES. The roll call vote was unanimous with 10 
votes in favor; the motion carried. Parizek noted that there are a number of 
applications that are in gray areas where installations are not specified exactly. 

B. Data Practices, Records Retention and the Open Meeting Law:  An Introduction for the
Plumbing Board – See Attachment B. Legge gave a brief overview of the presentation
and Todnem noted that Board members should use an email address only they have
access to.

The board broke for lunch at 12:20 p.m. and resumed at 1:25 p.m. 

Parizek said the Board needed to appoint a responsible authority for data requests. 

A motion was made by Sterner, seconded by Flagg, to appoint Lyndy 
Logan as the Board’s responsible authority for the Data Practices Act.  The 
roll call vote was unanimous with 10 votes in favor; the motion carried. 
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C. Board rulemaking discussion
Parizek recommended that the Board consider postponing rulemaking for chapter 4714
until the review of the 2018 UPC. The previous goal was every three years but now a 6-
year cycle is more realistic.

Parizek said the Chair should publish a Request for Comments for chapter 4716,
licensing chapter, as quickly as possible.

D. Officer Elections – the meeting was turned over to Cathy Tran, Commissioner’s
Designee, for election of officers.
a. Chair – Parizek nominated Rick Jacobs. No other nominations were given.  The

roll call vote was unanimous with 9 votes in favor (Mike Herman no longer
present via teleconference); the nomination passed. Jacobs was elected as
Chair.

b. Vice-Chair – Sterner nominated Grant Edwards.  No other nominations were
given.  The roll call vote was unanimous with 9 votes in favor; the nomination
passed.  Edwards was re-elected as Vice-Chair.

c. Secretary – Parizek nominated Phil Sterner.  No other nominations were given.
The roll call vote was unanimous with 9 votes in favor; the nomination passed.
Sterner was re-elected as Secretary.

The meeting was turned over to the newly-elected Chair, Rick Jacobs. 

E. Committee appointments – Parizek recommended combining the Ad-Hoc Rulemaking
Committee and the Code Review Committee and he said he would continue as Chair of
the Committee and Jacobs agreed to co-Chair. The newly combined Committee is now
called “Ad-Hoc Code Review and Rulemaking Committee” with volunteer members as
follows:  Parizek (Chair), Jacobs (Co-Chair), Flagg, Herman, Justin and Tran.

The Inspection Uniformity Committee was reestablished with Phil Sterner as Chair.
Members include Sterner (Chair), Edwards, Andresen, and Jacobs.

The Board recommended and the Commissioner of Labor and Industry appointed Grant
Edwards to the Construction Codes Advisory Council with John Flagg serving as his
alternate.

Todnem noted that she would do her best to attend all Sub-Committee meetings.

VII. Complaints
Nothing to report.
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VIII. Open Forum
Nothing brought forth.

IX. Correspondence
None

X. Board Discussion
Parizek said it would be helpful to include an appendix in the back of the Plumbing Code book.

XI. Announcements
A motion was made by Sterner, seconded by Parizek, to approve the following 2018
meeting dates for the Plumbing Board and Executive Committee:  January 16, 2018,
April 17, 2018, July 17, 2018, and October 16, 2018. The vote was unanimous with 9
votes in favor; the motion passed.

Next regularly scheduled meetings in 2017 – all meetings will be held at 9:30 a.m. in the
Minnesota Room.  The Executive Committee meetings occur at 8:30 a.m. prior to each regular
meeting.
A) October 17, 2017

XII. Adjournment
A motion was made by Edwards, seconded by Sterner, to adjourn the meeting at 2:07 p.m. The
vote was unanimous with 9 votes in favor of the motion; the motion passed.

Respectfully submitted, 

Phil Sterner 
Phil Sterner, Board Secretary 
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Meeting Minutes: Plumbing Board 
Date: October 17, 2017 @ 9:30 a.m. 
Minutes prepared by: Lyndy Logan 
Location: Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 55117-4344 

Members DLI Staff & Visitors 
Tom Andresen Suzanne Todnem (Gen. Counsel, DLI) 
Jeff Brown Jim Peterson (DLI) 
Michael Dryke Lyndy Logan (DLI) 
John Flagg Charles Olson (DLI) 
Mike Herman (via teleconference) Brad Jensen (DLI) 
Rick Jacobs (Chair) John Roehl (DLI) 
Larry Justin Scott Thompson (MN Plumbing Training) 
John Parizek  Andy Thielen (Crane Engineering) 
Phillip Sterner (Secretary) Matt Torein (J-Berd Mechanical) 
Cathy Tran (Commissioner’s Designee) Josh Matinson (J-Berd Mechanical) 
David Wagner Ray VinZant (Midway Votech) 
David Weum Jim Gander (PHCC) 

Gary Schick (City of Rochester) 
Members Absent Adam Hanson (ABC) 
Grant Edwards (Vice Chair) Dean Berckes (Military Affairs) 

Tom McCarthy (Local 34) 
Sophie Thaden (MMCA) 
Scott Eggen (City of Minneapolis) 
Matt Marciniak (IAPMO) 
Richard Hauffe (ICC) 

I. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order by Chair Jacobs at 9:30 a.m.  Roll call was taken by Secretary
Sterner and a quorum was declared with 11 of 12 voting members present in person or via
teleconference and one non-voting member.  Introductions and housekeeping announcements
were made.

II. Approval of Meeting agenda
A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Parizek, to approve the agenda with a change to
Announcements, item D, to read “October 16, 2018.” The roll call vote was unanimous with 11
votes in favor; the motion carried.

III. Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes
A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Parizek, to approve the July 18, 2017, regular
meeting minutes as presented.  The roll call vote was 9 votes in favor with 2 abstentions; the
motion carried.
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IV. Regular Business
Approval of expense reports – Jacobs approved the expenses as presented.

V. Committee Reports
A. Department Updates

Nothing to report
B. Executive Committee

Met this morning at 8:30 a.m.
C. Construction Codes Advisory Council

September CCAC meeting was canceled so nothing to report at this time. The next
meeting is in November.

VI. Special Business
A. Inspection Uniformity Committee update

Sterner said the Committee meeting was well attended and involved audience
participation.  Parizek thought it was a good first meeting and his recommendation
would be to take a look at what direction the Committee should go. Uniformity across
the state, from one suburb to the next, was discussed at the meeting – with a
performance-based code, it is more open to interpretation to the authority having
jurisdiction.  Jacobs said most of the discussion that took place was specific to the
authority having jurisdiction – items that fell within alternative means and methods.
Many items discussed pertained to the authority having jurisdiction. Jacobs
recommended dissolving the Committee unless the Board gave the Committee clear
direction on its goals.  He said most of the comments weren’t regarding uniformity
across the state for inspectors.  Justin agreed with Jacobs and said the Committee’s goal
needs to be clear, that the Board already has the Request for Interpretation process,
and once the Committee understands completely how inspection uniformity works in
Minnesota they could bring this information back to the Board.  Peterson said he
believed attendees attended the meeting to air their grievances and this isn’t the point
of the Committee.  Peterson agreed the Committee needed to define their purpose if
there was to be another meeting.

Parizek said plumbing inspections are not the role of the Board for enforcement but
perhaps the Committee could work with the department.  Peterson said the industry is
getting the level of code enforcement that they want and the industry should do the
lobbying for statewide inspections if that is what they desire.  Jacobs asked if the Board
had the authority to add more inspections in outstate Minnesota and Peterson said the
Department has the authority but there would need to be a program in place to pay for
inspections.  Tran said any recommendation should come from the Commissioner’s
office.  Peterson added that it would take legislative action to setup a program to pay
for this.
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Sterner stated he believes the Committee has a purpose but focus is needed.   Jacobs 
asked how the Board felt about the Committee and what type of direction should be 
given.  Justin asked Todnem what authority the Board has on inspections and Todnem 
said the Board can make a recommendation to the department but the Board has no 
authority.  Justin asked Tran if the department should put some effort into an outstate 
inspections program and Tran said any type of recommendation on this topic would 
need to come from the Commissioner’s office.  Justin reiterated Jacobs thoughts that if 
the Committee is to continue, the Board would need to provide clear direction. 

Jacobs asked if the Committee should develop recommendations on uniformity for 
providing inspections versus uniformity in the code specifically.   Would this be the 
guidance given to the committee?  Andresen said he thought the Committee was to 
look at requiring plumbers to do plumbing inspections; he agreed that clear direction 
needed to be given to the Committee. 

Jacobs asked if the purpose of the Committee would be to draft proposed legislation on 
statewide uniformity for plumbing inspections. Peterson said if the Committee wants to 
focus on setting inspections in non-code enforced areas and non-plan reviewed projects 
then this may eliminate people venting their grievances at a Committee meeting. 
Peterson added that unless there is support from the industry, he wouldn’t chase this 
and said the department will remain neutral on this issue.  Justin said input should also 
come from the populous (cities and counties, etc.) not just the industry.  Parizek agreed 
that input should be sought from the industry (contractor associations, building officials, 
and the League of Minnesota Cities). 

Sterner said he suggested that at the next meeting the industry provide their input. 

Justin said it sounds as if there are two steps – 1) inspectors should be versed in 
plumbing in code enforced areas – either a master plumber or whatever licensure is 
required and 2) non-code enforced areas – how are these areas affected.  One could 
dramatically affect the other. 

Jacobs said that if the changes the Committee is going to be discussing require 
legislative action then he doesn’t believe this is something the Board needs to get into. 
There is no evidence that there is an industry push for statewide inspections.  Peterson 
said an invitation could be extended to the industry asking for comments/input for a 
statewide inspection program.  If no comments are received by the next meeting, then 
the Committee could be dissolved.  Jacobs said that he will afford the opportunity for 
the Committee to meet again after comments are received by the industry.  Peterson 
agreed and said if no comments are received then this would sum up what the industry 
wants.  Todnem asked Jacobs if the Board would send out an email to interested parties 
and Jacobs said yes – the Board would send an invitation for comments on a statewide 
basis and once comments were received the Board would meet to determine if the 
Committee should continue or be dissolved. 
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Jim Gander said he doesn’t think there is an outcry from the industry in outstate 
Minnesota. From an industry standpoint, the biggest issue is how inspectors interpret 
the code.  He said there are differing interpretations of the code by inspectors and 
contractors want the code enforced uniformly throughout each jurisdiction.  More 
uniformity among the code-enforced areas is needed, not more inspections. 

Scott Thompson stated he believes the Committee was set up to discuss code 
enforcement throughout the state in non-code enforced areas and this is a hot item. 
Competency of inspections is a separate issue.  He believes the Committee was 
designed to move these issues forward with legislation and if this doesn’t happen then 
there won’t be inspections throughout greater Minnesota. 

Jacobs summarized that from the audience, one person said he thought the Committee 
was to discuss uniformity in code areas and the second person said their interpretation 
of the Committee was to address the competency of the inspectors.  This is his point – a 
clear direction of what the Committee is hoping to accomplish is necessary.  He urged 
the Plumbing Board to provide the Committee with a clear direction/goal or dissolve it.    

A motion was made by Parizek, seconded by Justin, to table the discussion with the 
Committee until the January meeting and a representative of the Board contact the 
industry for their input and then revisit the purpose of the committee for direction or to 
dissolve the Committee.  The motion was amended as shown below. 

A motion made by Parizek, seconded by Justin, to table the discussion of 
the Inspection Uniformity Committee until the January meeting.  The roll 
call vote was 10 votes in favor with 1 opposed; the motion carried. 

VII. Complaints
Nothing to report

VIII. Open Forum
Scott Thompson – Licensed plumbers must get Continuing Education (“CE”) credits to renew
their license, including 4 hours of mandatory technical credits. The 4 hours of mandatory
technical is a hardship on plumbers and should not be mandatory – some plumbers satisfy their
16 hours of CE but are missing 2 hours of technical, which means they have not satisfied the CE
requirements for license renewal. The code should say 16 hours of CE with a technical option.

Parizek said this could be addressed when 4716 is opened up for rulemaking.  Jacobs asked
Todnem if a Request for Comments would be sent out and would this be an opportunity for
Thompson to make these comments and Todnem said yes.  Todnem said that in the next two to
four weeks a Request for Comments should be published regarding this rulemaking.
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Todnem said the request for comments is the first step to open up rulemaking and at two 
different times the Board will accept comments on the rule chapter.  She recommended 
comments be submitted in writing and said that proposed amendments would be discussed at 
a regularly scheduled Board meeting. 

IX. Correspondence
None

X. Board Discussion
Parizek said would set a meeting with the Ad-Hoc Code Review & Rulemaking Committee to
review possible revisions to the 2018 UPC.

Todnem briefly described the rulemaking timeline/process.

Todnem asked for clarification from the Board regarding gathering of industry input and Parizek
suggested the Board send out an email to the Interested Parties list and all key players such as
PHCC, mechanical contractors, the AVC, AMBO, League of Minnesota Cities, the Association of
Minnesota Counties, Township Associations, and the Department to collaborate the direction, if
any, of the Inspection Uniformity Committee.  This industry group could inform the Board on
whether the industry wants any changes made to inspections in non-code enforced areas and
inspector certification.

XI. Announcements
Next regularly scheduled meetings in 2018 – all meetings will be held at 9:30 a.m. in the
Minnesota Room. The Executive Committee meetings occur at 8:30 a.m. prior to each regular
meeting in the Minnesota Room.
A. January 16, 2018
B. April 17, 2018
C. July 17, 2018
D. October 16, 2018

XII. Adjournment
A motion was made by Parizek, seconded by Sterner, to adjourn the meeting at 10:33 a.m.  The
vote was unanimous with 11 votes in favor of the motion; the motion passed.

Respectfully submitted, 

Phil Sterner 
Phil Sterner, Board Secretary 
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Meeting Minutes: Ad-Hoc Code Review & Rulemaking 
Committee of the Plumbing Board 

Date:  
Time: 

November 21, 2017 
9:30 a.m. 

Location: Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry 
443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, MN 55155 

Committee Members Present Visitors 
John Parizek (Chair) Scott Thompson (My Plumbing Training) 
Larry Justin Matthew Marciniak (IAPMO) 
John Flagg Adam Hansen (ABC) 
Rick Jacobs Chris Rosival (Lakeville) 
Tom Andresen David Fisher (Edina) 
Cathy Tran Andy Thielen (Crane Eng.) 

David Skallet (St. Louis Park) 
Committee Members Absent Steve Kartak (Edina) 
Mike Herman Stephanie Menning (MUCA) 

Gary Thaden (MMCA) 
DLI Staff Sophie Thaden (MMCA) 
Jim Peterson (DLI) David Ybarra (MPTA) 
Brad Jensen (DLI) Tom McCarthy (Local 34) 
Suzanne Todnem (DLI) Tim Power (MNLA) 

Noah Rouen (Standard) 
Timothy Bell (AYPO) – via telephone 

Call to Order 
The meeting was called to order by Chair Parizek at 9:35 a.m.  Introductions and housekeeping announcements 
were made. 

Approval of Meeting Agenda 
A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Flagg, to approve the Agenda. The vote was unanimous and the 
motion carried. 

Charge of Committee 
Parizek commented on the charge of the committee from the Board.  Committee members are to review 
Minnesota Rules, chapter 4714 and 4716 for possible amendments and review comments for recommendation to 
the Board 

Special Business 
The Committee discussed the publication of the 2018 Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC) and that a comparison 
between the 2015 Minnesota Plumbing Code and the 2018 UPC can begin.  The Request for Action (“RFA”) form 
was reviewed to determine if there are any necessary modifications and to determine if the form could be used by 
the public to submit suggested rule amendments during the rulemaking comment period.  There is currently an 
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open Request for Comments (“RFC”) for amendments to the current code. The committee discussed if the RFC 
should be modified or closed and a new Request for Comments opened. 

A motion was made by Justin, second by Flagg, to recommend to the Board to use the current RFA requesting that 
it must be properly and completely filled out.  The vote was unanimous and the motion carried. 

A motion was made by Justin, second by Flagg, to recommend to the Board to close the current Request for 
Comments and publish a new Request when ready to update the current code. The vote was unanimous and the 
motion carried. 

The review process for comparing the two versions of the codes were discussed.  Matt Marciniak will check if a 
2012 UPC to 2015 UPC to 2018 UPC comparison is available.  The Committee and Department will begin the review 
process of the Minnesota code and the 2018 UPC.  Parizek reminded the Committee of the interpretations 
pertaining to the 2015 Minnesota Code that would also require a review for amendment into the next code cycle. 

Parizek called for a break.  The meeting resumed and the Committee began discussion of Minnesota Rules, chapter 
4716.  Timothy Bell (At Your Pace Online) joined the meeting by phone.  Rulemaking for chapter 4716 was opened 
on October 30th, 2017, with the publication of a Request for Comments in the State Register.  Action by the 
Legislature during the previous session affected laws that govern the Board’s authority over licensing and 
continuing education, justifying a review of chapter 4716.  Parizek read through the relevant changes to statutes. 
The Committee began discussion of possible amendments to present to the full Board.  Language for Registered 
Unlicensed Plumber and Registered Unlicensed Water Conditioning will need to be drafted and included in 4716. 
The Board was also given rulemaking authority for continuing education requirements of the registered unlicensed 
individuals.  The Committee discussed the amount of required CE hours and breakdown of the hours. The 
Committee will make the following recommendations to the full Board at the next scheduled Board meeting: 
1) That there should be no restriction on the number of online CE hours whereas currently there is a limit of four

hours for online CE credits per reporting period;
2) Of the 16 required CE hours per reporting period, only 8 (instead of the 12) hours must be on the Plumbing

Code; the other 8 hours should be plumbing-related of approved CE instruction; and
3) Two hours of CE per reporting period for registered unlicensed individuals, or whatever the registered

unlicensed electrical requirement is as the Committee wishes to offer consistency amount the different trades.

Parizek volunteered to craft language for 4716 and present it to the Board at the January 16, 2018, meeting. 

Future Meetings 
January 16, 2018, 9:00 am, prior to the Plumbing Board meeting. 

Adjournment 
With no further business a motion for adjournment was made by Justin, second by Flagg. Motion passed 
unanimously 

Respectfully submitted, 

John A. Parizek, 
Committee Chair 
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Meeting Minutes: Plumbing Board 
Date: January 16, 2018 
Time: 9:30 a.m. 
Minutes by: Lyndy Logan 
Location: Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 55117-4344 

Members 
Tom Andresen 
Michael Dryke (via teleconference) 
Grant Edwards (Vice Chair) 
John Flagg 
Mike Herman 
Rick Jacobs (Chair) 
Larry Justin 
John Parizek 
Phillip Sterner (Secretary) 
Cathy Tran (Commissioner’s Designee) 
David Wagner 
David Weum (via teleconference) 

Members Absent 
Jeff Brown 

DLI Staff & Visitors 
Suzanne Todnem (Gen. Counsel, DLI) 
Jim Peterson (DLI) 
Lyndy Logan (DLI) 
Charles Olson (DLI) 
Brad Jensen (DLI) 
Gary Thaden (MMCA) 
Mike Johnson (J-Berd) 
Tim Power (MNLA) 
Richard Hauffe (ICC) 
David Skallet (City of St. Louis Park) 
Gary Schick (City of Rochester) 
Matt Marciniak (IAPMO) 
Dave Wagner (AWWD) 
Mark Hines (MUCA) 
Timothy Bell (AYPO) – via teleconference 

1. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order by Chair Jacobs at 9:33 a.m. Roll call was taken by Secretary
Sterner and a quorum was declared with 11 of 12 voting members present in person or via
teleconference and one non-voting member. Introductions and housekeeping announcements
were made.

2. Approval of meeting agenda
A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Flagg, to approve the agenda with modifications as
shown below in italics. The roll call vote was unanimous with 11 votes in favor; the motion
carried.

6. Special Business
A. Plumbing Board survey results
B. Ad-Hoc Code Review and Rulemaking Committee update
C. Rulemaking update
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3. Approval of previous meeting minutes
A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Parizek, to approve the October 17, 2017, regular
meeting minutes as presented. The roll call vote was 10 votes in favor with 1 abstention; the
motion carried.

4. Regular Business
Approval of expense reports – Jacobs approved the expenses as presented.

5. Committee Reports
A. Department Updates

• Tran said that Jessica Looman, DLI’s former Deputy Commissioner, has taken a
position as the Commissioner at the Department of Commerce.  Scott McLellan,
CCLD’s Director and State Building Official, has taken on additional responsibilities
and is now also the Assistant Commissioner overseeing CCLD and Labor Standards.
Heather McGannon is also an Assistant Commissioner and Chris Leifeld is the Deputy
Commissioner.

• The department is undergoing a renovation on all of its floors.
• The department’s website is being redesigned to make it user friendly and

documents are being made accessible.

B. Executive Committee
The Committee met this morning and approved the Plumbing Board agenda with the
changes noted above.

C. Construction Codes Advisory Council
• The Council met on November 30, 2017.  Todnem said the CCAC reviewed and

approved Technical Advisory Group (TAG) members for reviewing building code
chapters to determine if there should be any amendment recommendations for the
upcoming code cycle.  The TAG kick-off meeting was held on Friday, Jan. 12, 2018.

• Edwards noted that the September CCAC meeting discussed old barns being used for
weddings and other gatherings.

6. Special Business
A. Plumbing Board survey results - see Attachment A

Jacobs said the survey had 218 participants and ended Jan. 5, 2018. Jacobs summarized
the results and said the survey was conducted to determine whether the Inspection
Uniformity Committee (Committee) should move forward. [The survey was sent to the
following groups:  Plumbing Board Interested Parties, PHCC, Mechanical Contractors
Association, ABC, AMBO, DLI, League of Cities, Association of Minnesota Counties and
Township Associations].

Edwards said consistency is the biggest complaint he hears and Justin said this is also
what he hears at the plan review stage. Justin said the Board does not have the
authority to direct inspections in non-code enforced areas. Peterson said the industry
could propose a plan to the legislature and use the electrical program as a base, how it
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would be funded, staffed, etc. Parizek said the Board can only encourage the industry 
to work on a plan similar to the electrical program.  Weum said the Committee needs to 
be more detailed in what “inspection uniformity” means and what would be proposed 
to draft for the legislature. 

Thaden, Minnesota Mechanical Contractors Association, said that part of what the 
Board is missing are the political dynamics. He thinks there would be a lot of people in 
Greater Minnesota who would not be in favor of increased inspections and he sees the 
legislature not being in favor of expanding inspections to Greater Minnesota. 

Dave Skallots, City of St. Louis Park, said that [inspecting in] outstate will be very hard to 
enforce. It is hard to get licensed plumbers to inspect work even in the Metro. 
Inspectors who are not licensed plumbers miss things because their expertise is not in 
the plumbing field. Peterson said his recommendation would be to tighten certification 
requirements for the construction code inspector. The Board can make 
recommendations to the legislature but that is as far as the Board can go. 

Jacobs suggested that the inspection uniformity discussion be tabled until the next 
meeting.  He recommended the Committee meet again, before the next Board meeting, 
and bring ideas to the Board for moving forward. Edwards said that the survey could be 
sent out to more people and Jacobs said the Committee can request this. Parizek asked 
if the Committee could find out what the building official certification requirements are 
in order to inspect plumbing. Jacobs said the Committee should let the Board know 
how and where they want to move forward, what kind of training would be considered, 
and what types of certifications there are currently for building officials.  Jacobs said the 
Board has given direction to the Committee by asking the Committee to bring 
something to the Board to review. 

The Board took a 15 minute break and resumed at 11:04 a.m. 

B. Ad-Hoc Rule and Rulemaking Committee update
Parizek said the Ad-Hoc Rule and Rulemaking Committee met on Nov. 21, 2017, and
proposed amendments to Chapter 4716 were sent to the Revisor for the Board’s
consideration.  Todnem noted these are proposed amendments and the Board would
need to review, approve, and continue through the rulemaking process before officially
complete.

C. Rulemaking update
Todnem said the Committee discussed making a recommendation to the Board to
withdraw Chapter 4714 rulemaking and begin with a new rulemaking with a new
Revisor number and a new Request for Comments.

A motion was made by Parizek, seconded by Justin, to withdraw current
rulemaking of Chapter 4714.  The roll call vote was 11 votes in favor; the
motion carried.
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7. Complaints
Nothing to report

8. Open Forum
Nothing brought forward

9. Correspondence
None

10. Board Discussion
Sterner said he would find a date for the Inspection Uniformity Committee to meet.

11. Announcements
Next regularly scheduled meetings in 2018 – all meetings will be held at 9:30 a.m. in the
Minnesota Room.  The Executive Committee meetings occur at 8:30 a.m. prior to each regular
meeting in the Minnesota Room.
A) April 17, 2018
B) July 17, 2018
C) October 16, 2018

12. Adjournment
A motion was made by Edwards, seconded by Sterner, to adjourn the meeting at 11:53 a.m.
The vote was unanimous with 11 votes in favor of the motion; the motion passed.

Respectfully submitted, 

Phil Sterner 
Phil Sterner, Board Secretary 
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Plumbing Board Inspection Uniformity Survey 

Q1 Should residential plumbing be inspected in non-code-enforced areas 
of Minnesota? 
Answered: 218 Skipped: 0 

Attachment A

Yes 

No 

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100% 

ANSWER CHOICES

Yes 

No 

TOTAL 

RESPONSES

94.95% 

5.05% 

207 

11 

218 
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    Plumbing Board Inspection Uniformity Survey Attachment A

Q2 Are the current certification and competency requirements for 
individuals who inspect plumbing, including building officials 

and construction code inspectors, sufficient? 
Answered: 218 Skipped: 0 

Yes 

No 

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100% 

ANSWER CHOICES

Yes 

No 

TOTAL 

RESPONSES

12.84% 

87.16% 

28 

190 

218 
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    Plumbing Board Inspection Uniformity Survey Attachment A

Q3 What segment of the plumbing industry do you represent? 
Answered: 218 Skipped: 0 

Licensed 
Plumber 

Licensed 
Plumbing... 

Supplier/Manufa 
cturer of... 

Municipal 
Building... 

Municipal 
Plumbing... 

Legislator, 
City Council... 

Educator 

Other 

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100% 

ANSWER CHOICES RESPONSES

Licensed Plumber 61.93% 135 

Licensed Plumbing Contractor 11.01% 24 

Supplier/Manufacturer of plumbing products 2.29% 5 

Municipal Building Official 3.21% 7 

Municipal Plumbing Inspector 6.88% 15 

Legislator, City Council or County Board member 0.00% 0 

Educator 3.21% 7 

Other 11.47% 25 

TOTAL 218 
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    Plumbing Board Inspection Uniformity Survey 

Q4 Please enter your contact information. 
Answered: 218 Skipped: 0 

ANSWER CHOICES RESPONSES

Name 100.00% 218 

Company 100.00% 218 

Address 0.00% 0 

Address 2 0.00% 0 

City/Town 0.00% 0 

State/Province 0.00% 0 

ZIP/Postal Code 0.00% 0 

Country 0.00% 0 

Email Address 100.00% 218 

Phone Number 100.00% 218 

Attachment A
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SPECIAL Meeting Minutes: Ad-Hoc Code Review & Rulemaking Committee 

Date: March 15, 2018 
Time: 12:30 p.m. 
Location: Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 55117-4344 

Committee Members Present DLI Staff & Visitors 
John Parizek (Co-chair) Suzanne Todnem (DLI) 
Mike Herman Jim Peterson (DLI) 
Rick Jacobs (Co-chair) Ruth Thompson (My Plumbing Training) 
Cathy Tran Mark Heines 

Committee Members Absent 
John Flagg 
Larry Justin 

1. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order by Co-chair Parizek at 12:38 p.m. Introductions and housekeeping
announcements were made. Attendance was taken; a quorum was met.

2. Approval of meeting agenda
A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Parizek, to approve the agenda.  The vote was unanimous
with 4 votes in favor; the motion carried.

3. Approval of previous meeting minutes
A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Parizek, to approve minutes from the January 16, 2018,
Special Meeting. The vote was unanimous with 4 votes in favor; the motion carried.

4. Regular Business
Approval of Expense Reports – Jacobs approved the expenses as presented.

5. Special Business
The Committee reviewed the draft of possible amendments to Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716 – Plumber
Licensing and Apprentice Registration.  The following changes were recommended:

Line 2.1: Replace “4716.0091, subpart 2,” with “4716.0010, subpart 6,”

Line 4.18: will read, in part, “…plumber’s licenses, and renewed restricted journeyworker plumber’s
licenses….” 

Line 4.19: STET: “licenses,” 

Line 4.20: will read, in part, “…and renewed restricted master plumber’s…..” 
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Line 5.4: will read, in part, “…within two years of the license expiration will permanently…..” 

Line 8.8: remove added language “water conditioning” 

Line 8.23: add “1” between “July” and “in” 

Line 9.19: replace “326B.49” with “326B.59” 

Line 10.3: delete “on” and add “must pertain to the Plumbing Code” at the end of the line. 

The Committee will review the revisions prior to the April 17, 2018 Plumbing Board meeting. 

A letter from the Minnesota Nursery & Landscape Association was discussed and the Committee 
determined that the scope of the letter would require changes to Statute which is outside of the Board’s 
authority. 

6. Adjournment
With no further business a motion was made by Herman, seconded by Parizek to adjourn the meeting.
The vote was unanimous and the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, 

John A. Parizek, 
Committee Co-chair 
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Meeting Minutes: Ad-Hoc Code Review & Rulemaking Committee 

Date: April 17, 2018 
Time: 9:00 a.m. 
Location: Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 55117-4344 

Committee Members Present DLI Staff & Visitors 
John Flagg 
Larry Justin 
Mike Herman 
Rick Jacobs (Co-chair) 
Cathy Tran 

Committee Members Absent 
John Parizek (Co-chair) 

Suzanne Todnem, General Counsel (DLI) 
Jim Peterson (DLI) 
Lyndy Logan (DLI) 
John Roehl (DLI) 
Chuck Olson (DLI) 
Brad Jensen (DLI) 
Tom Andresen (Board member) 
Phil Sterner (Board member) 
Mike Johnson (J. Berd) 
Gary Schick (City of Rochester) 
Brian Soderholm (Soderholm & Assoc.) 
Gary Thaden (MMCA) 
Gary Simmons (contractor) 
Matthew Marciniak (IAPMO) 
Scott Thompson (My Plumbing Training) 
Gary Ford (Metro Testing) 
Timothy Bell (AYPO) – via teleconference 

1. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order by Co-chair Jacobs at 9:06 a.m. Introductions and housekeeping
announcements were made. Attendance was taken; a quorum was met with 5 of 6 members
present.

2. Approval of meeting agenda
A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Herman, to approve the agenda.  The vote was
unanimous with 5 votes in favor; the motion carried.

3. Approval of previous meeting minutes
A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Tran, to approve minutes from the March 15, 2018,
Special Meeting. The vote was unanimous with 3 votes in favor with two abstentions; the motion
carried.

4. Regular Business
Approval of Expense Reports – Jacobs approved the expenses as presented.
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@.10] j(2) Except for experience qualifying under subitem (3), The applicant mustj 

f.uJ [have been a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber at all times while obtaining j 

[i .1zj [the practical plumbing experience. The applicant must have obtained the practical plumbing 

@.13] Jexperience in one of the following ways:j 

5. Special Business
The draft of proposed amendments to Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716 – Plumber Licensing and
Apprentice Registration dated 3/19/2018 (see Attachment A) was reviewed. Possible modifications
were discussed; Jacobs tabled further discussion and said a Committee meeting would be scheduled
to discuss modifications then brought forward to the Board at the July annual meeting.

Gary Ford asked a question about lines 3.10 to 3.13, page 3, of Attachment A and the Board
discussed the need to clarify this language.  After lengthy discussion Jacobs said discussion should
be tabled until the Ad-Hoc Code Review and Rulemaking Committee could meet and bring revisions
back to the Board.

A motion was made by Jacobs, seconded by Herman, that the Ad-Hoc Code Review and
Rulemaking Committee meet to review lines 3.10 to 3.13 [shown below] and bring any revisions
forward to the full Board.  The majority vote ruled; the motion carried.

6. Adjournment
With no further business a motion was made by Justin, seconded by Flagg, to adjourn the meeting.
The vote was unanimous and the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, 

Rick Jacobs 
Committee Co-chair 
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Attachment A

03/19/18 REVISOR SS/HR RD4365 

1.1 Plumbing Board 

1.2 Proposed Permanent Rules Governing Plumbing Licensing 

1.3 4716.0010 DEFINITIONS. 

1.4 [For text of subps 1 to 5, see M.R.] 

1.5 Subp. 6. Registered unlicensed plumber. "Registered unlicensed plumber" means 

1.6 an individual who performs plumbing work for a contractor or employer, does not hold any 

1.7 class of plumber license, is not a plumber's apprentice as described in Minnesota Statutes, 

1.8 section 326B.42, subdivision 6, and is registered with the commissioner under part 

1.9 4716.0050. 

1.10 4716.0020 EXAMINATION AND LICENSING OF PLUMBERS. 

1.11 Subpart 1. Examinations. An applicant for a plumber's license, other than a restricted 

1.12 journeyworker or restricted master plumber license, must satisfactorily pass an examination 

1.13 given by the commissioner. Examinations for journeyworker and master plumber licenses 

1.14 shall be held in March and September of each year. Applications for the March examination 

1.15 must be filed not later than February 15 and for the September examination not later than 

1.16 August 15. 

1.17 A. An applicant for the master plumber examination must have:

1.18 (1) a current Minnesota journeyworker plumber license and five years of

1.19 practical plumbing experience at least one year of practical plumbing experience as a licensed 

1.20 journeyworker plumber as described in subpart 2; 

1.21 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.] 

1.22 B. An applicant for the journeyworker examination:

1.23 (1) must be registered as a plumber's apprentice in Minnesota as described

1.24 in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.42, subdivision 6, or must be a registered unlicensed 

4716.0020 1 
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2.1 plumber as described in part 4716.0010, subpart 6, and must have at least four years of 

2.2 recorded practical plumbing experience, as specified in subpart 2, item F; 

2.3 [For text of subitems (2) and (3), see M.R.] 

2.4 Subp. 2. Experience. This subpart applies to all practical plumbing experience 

2.5 described in subpart 1. 

2.6 [For text of items A to D, see M.R.] 

2.7 E. If the applicant is a licensed restricted journeyworker plumber or a licensed

2.8 restricted master plumber, subitems (1) to (3) and (2) apply. 

2.9 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following

2.10 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required 

2.11 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included 

2.12 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part 

2.13 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing 

2.14 work and corresponding number of hours: 

2.15 (a) water distribution system installation, 1,000 hours;

2.16 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 1,000 hours; and

2.17 (c) fixture installation, 500 hours.

2.18 [For text of subitem (2), see M.R.] 

2.19 (3) The applicant must have completed the entire two years of practical

2.20 plumbing experience within the four years before the applicant takes the examination. 

2.21 F. If the applicant is a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber, subitems

2.22 (1) to (3) and (2) apply.

4716.0020 2 
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3.1 (1) The practical plumbing experience must include at least the following

3.2 number of hours in the plumbing aspects specified in units (a) to (c). The remaining required 

3.3 hours of practical plumbing experience may be in any aspect of plumbing work included 

3.4 in the definition of plumbing in UPC section 218.0 as incorporated by reference in part 

3.5 4714.0050; however, the applicant must include in the application the type of plumbing 

3.6 work and corresponding number of hours: 

3.7 (a) water distribution system installation, 2,000 hours;

3.8 (b) drain, waste, and vent system installation, 2,000 hours; and

3.9 (c) fixture installation, 1,000 hours.

3.10 (2) Except for experience qualifying under subitem (3), The applicant must

3.11 have been a registered plumber's apprentice unlicensed plumber at all times while obtaining 

3.12 the practical plumbing experience. The applicant must have obtained the practical plumbing 

3.13 experience in one of the following ways: 

3.14 (a) during military service, and the applicant's military officer certifies

3.15 the experience; 

3.16 (b) as part of a plumbing education class approved by the commissioner,

3.17 and an authorized representative of the plumbing educational institution certifies the 

3.18 experience; or 

3.19 (c) as a plumber's apprentice in another state where the experience is

3.20 verified by a state agency that regulates plumbing licensing in that state or by a federal 

3.21 agency. 

3.22 (3) Up to 24 months of practical plumbing experience gained before the

3.23 effective date of the applicant's initial registration as a plumber's apprentice will be credited 

3.24 if the applicant gained some of the experience during the 12-month period immediately 

3.25 prior to the effective date of the applicant's initial registration and if: 

4716.0020 3 
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4.1 (a) the applicant gained the plumbing experience during military service,

4.2 and the applicant's military officer certifies the experience; 

4.3 (b) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as part of a plumbing

4.4 education class approved by the commissioner, and an authorized representative of the 

4.5 educational institution certifies the experience; or 

4.6 (c) the applicant gained the plumbing experience as a plumber's

4.7 apprentice in another state where the experience is verified by a state agency in that state 

4.8 or by a federal agency. 

4.9 G. Except as provided in item F, subitem (3) (2), all practical plumbing experience

4.10 must be certified by the licensed master plumber or plumbing contractor who is responsible 

4.11 for the work performed. A restricted master plumber cannot certify the restricted master 

4.12 plumber's own experience. The employer of a journeyworker plumber, restricted master 

4.13 plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber, or plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed 

4.14 plumber is responsible for: 

4.15 [For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.] 

4.16 4716.0040 EXPIRATION OF LICENSES. 

4.17 Subpart 1. Issuance and expiration. Initial and renewal renewed journeyworker 

4.18 plumber's licenses and renewed restricted journeyworker plumber's licenses expire on 

4.19 December 31 of each odd-numbered year after issuance or renewal. Initial and renewed 

4.20 master plumber's licenses, and renewal restricted journeyworker and renewed restricted 

4.21 master plumber's licenses, shall be issued for the calendar year for which application is 

4.22 made and shall expire on December 31 of such year each even-numbered year after issuance 

4.23 or renewal. Any journeyworker plumber, master plumber, restricted journeyworker plumber,​

4.24 or restricted master plumber who submits a renewal application after December 31 shall 

4.25 not work as a plumber until the person has submitted an application, fee, and penalty fee. 

4716.0040 4 
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5.1 Any licensed journeyworker or master plumber who does not renew the license within two 

5.2 years is no longer eligible for renewal. The person must retake and pass the examination 

5.3 before a new license will be issued. Any licensed restricted journeyworker or restricted 

5.4 master plumber who does not renew the license within 12 months two years of the license 

5.5 expiration will permanently forfeit the restricted plumber license. 

5.6 Subp. 2. License renewals. Applications for license renewal must be submitted to 

5.7 the commissioner on forms prepared by the commissioner no later than December 31 of 

5.8 the year preceding after the year for in which the application is made. The application must 

5.9 be accompanied by the required fee. Journeyworker and master plumbers who submit their 

5.10 license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within two years after 

5.11 expiration of the previously issued license must pay all past due renewal fees plus the 

5.12 required late fee. Restricted journeyworker and restricted master plumbers who submit their 

5.13 license renewal applications after expiration of their license but within 12 months two years 

5.14 after expiration of the previously issued license must pay the past due renewal fee plus the 

5.15 required late fee. 

5.16 4716.0050 REGISTRATION OF PLUMBER'S APPRENTICE REGISTERED 
5.17 UNLICENSED PLUMBER. 

5.18 Subpart 1. Scope. Subpart 2 shall does not apply to a registered plumber's apprentices 

5.19 apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.47, subdivision 1, clause (1) paragraph 

5.20 (a). 

5.21 Subp. 2. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a plumber's apprentice 

5.22 registered unlicensed plumber until that person has submitted an application and fee for 

5.23 registration to the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for 

5.24 the period from July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial 

5.25 and renewal registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each 

5.26 registration period on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by 

4716.0050 5 
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6.1 the required fee. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber who submits a 

6.2 registration application after July 1 in any year must pay the past due renewal fee plus the 

6.3 required late fee. 

6.4 A. A plumber's apprentice registered unlicensed plumber must be at least 18 years

6.5 of age or be a high school graduate, except that an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber 

6.6 employed and supervised by the apprentice's registered unlicensed plumber's parent must 

6.7 be at least 16 years of age. 

6.8 B. At the time of registration, an apprentice a registered unlicensed plumber must

6.9 provide a name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and information about 

6.10 education and practical plumbing experience. 

6.11 4716.0091 DEFINITIONS. 

6.12 Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in parts 4716.0090 to 4716.0092 have the meanings 

6.13 given them in this part, UPC sections 201.0 to 228.0 as incorporated by reference in part 

6.14 4714.0050, and Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. 

6.15 Subp. 2. Registered unlicensed water conditioner. "Registered unlicensed water 

6.16 conditioner" means an individual who performs water conditioning work for a contractor 

6.17 or employer, does not hold any class of water conditioning license, and is registered with 

6.18 the commissioner under part 4716.0093. 

6.19 4716.0092 LICENSURE. 

6.20 Subpart 1. Water conditioning contractor. An applicant for a water conditioning 

6.21 contractor license must designate a water conditioning responsible licensed master or master 

6.22 plumber, licensed by the commissioner, as the individual responsible for the water 

6.23 conditioning contractor's compliance with this part, chapter 4714, Minnesota Statutes, 

6.24 sections 326B.50 to 326B.59, and all orders issued under Minnesota Statutes, section 

6.25 326B.082 as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.50. The responsible water 

4716.0092 6 
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7.1 conditioning licensed master or master plumber must give a minimum 15-day notice to the 

7.2 water conditioning contractor and the department before resigning as the responsible water 

7.3 conditioning licensed master or master plumber for the contractor. The contractor and 

7.4 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber must immediately notify 

7.5 the department upon the termination or separation of the contractor's responsible water 

7.6 conditioning licensed master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall 

7.7 have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous responsible water conditioning 

7.8 licensed master or master plumber to employ another responsible water conditioning licensed 

7.9 master or master plumber. The water conditioning contractor shall submit written notification 

7.10 to the department that it has designated a different water conditioning responsible licensed 

7.11 master or master plumber as the individual responsible for the contractor's compliance with 

7.12 this part, chapter 4714, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. If the water 

7.13 conditioning contractor is unable to acquire a replacement responsible water conditioning 

7.14 licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning contractor's license is invalid 

7.15 and the contractor shall cease and desist from performing any water conditioning work and 

7.16 return the contractor's license for voluntary termination. Upon acquiring a replacement 

7.17 responsible water conditioning licensed master or master plumber, the water conditioning 

7.18 contractor may request reinstatement of the terminated license under Minnesota Statutes, 

7.19 section 326B.096. 

7.20 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

7.21 Subp. 3. Water conditioning journeyworker. An applicant for a water conditioning 

7.22 journeyworker license must satisfactorily pass an examination given by the commissioner. 

7.23 An applicant for the water conditioning journeyworker examination must be a registered 

7.24 unlicensed water conditioner in Minnesota and must have at least six months of practical 

7.25 experience as listed in subpart 4, item C, subitem (2). The applicant is responsible for 

7.26 verifying practical experience. 

4716.0092 7 
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8.1 Subp. 4. Experience. For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2 

8.2 and 3, the following requirements apply. 

8.3 [For text of items A to C, see M.R.] 

8.4 D. If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner: 

8.5 (1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner 

8.6 at all times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience; and 

8.7 (2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed 

8.8 master who is responsible for the work performed. 

8.9 E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed 

8.10 water conditioner is responsible for: 

8.11 (1) recording the practical water conditioning experience worked by each 

8.12 employee; and 

8.13 (2) maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience for at 

8.14 least six years after the employee's last recorded experience. 

8.15 [For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.] 

8.16 4716.0093 UNLICENSED WATER CONDITIONER REGISTRATION. 

8.17 Subpart 1. Registration requirements. No person shall work as a registered unlicensed 

8.18 water conditioner until that person has submitted an application and fee for registration to 

8.19 the commissioner. Registration must be renewed annually and shall be for the period from 

8.20 July 1 of each year to June 30 of the following year. Applications for initial and renewal 

8.21 registration must be submitted to the commissioner before July 1 of each registration period 

8.22 on forms provided by the commissioner, and must be accompanied by the required fee. A 

8.23 registered unlicensed water conditioner who submits a registration application after July 1 

8.24 in any year must pay the renewal fee plus the required late fee. 

4716.0093 8 
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9.1 A. A registered unlicensed water conditioner must be at least 18 years of age or

9.2 a high school graduate, except that a registered unlicensed water conditioner employed and 

9.3 supervised by the registered unlicensed water conditioner's parent must be at least 16 years 

9.4 of age. 

9.5 B. An applicant for registration under this part must provide a name, address, date

9.6 of birth, Social Security number, and information about education and practical water 

9.7 conditioning experience on a form provided by the commissioner. 

9.8 4716.0205 REQUIREMENTS. 

9.9 Subpart 1. Continuing education; content. 

9.10 A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,

9.11 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain 16 hours of continuing 

9.12 education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed: 

9.13 (1) master plumber;

9.14 (2) journeyworker plumber; and

9.15 (3) restricted plumber.

9.16 At least 12 eight hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, and at least four 

9.17 hours of instruction must pertain to the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, 

9.18 technical topics related to plumbing installations and equipment, this chapter, the Minnesota 

9.19 State Building Code, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.41 to 326B.49 326B.59. 

9.20 Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must not exceed four hours 

9.21 during the renewal period comply with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. 

9.22 B. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B,

9.23 individuals who hold the following license types are required to obtain four hours of 

9.24 continuing education instruction during the license period before the license may be renewed: 

4716.0205 9 
R-04365    569



   ​

  ​

               ​

            ​

          ​

           ​

   ​

          ​

           ​

           ​

   ​

   ​

          ​

       ​

          ​

             ​

             ​

        ​

           ​

      ​

          ​

              ​

           ​

           ​

​​

​  ​

Attachment A

03/19/18 REVISOR SS/HR RD4365 

10.1 (1) water conditioning master; and 

10.2 (2) water conditioning journeyworker. 

10.3 At least two hours of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code and the remainder must 

10.4 pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water conditioning installation and 

10.5 servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 to 326B.59. Continuing 

10.6 education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply with Minnesota Statutes, 

10.7 sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. 

10.8 C. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 326B, 

10.9 individuals who hold the following registration types are required to obtain continuing 

10.10 education instruction during the registration period before the registration can be renewed: 

10.11 (1) registered unlicensed plumbers; and 

10.12 (2) registered unlicensed water conditioners. 

10.13 The registered unlicensed plumber must obtain at least two hours of continuing education 

10.14 instruction that must pertain to the Plumbing Code. 

10.15 The registered unlicensed water conditioner must obtain at least two hours of continuing 

10.16 education instruction. At least one hour of instruction must pertain to the Plumbing Code, 

10.17 and the remainder must pertain to the Plumbing Code, technical topics related to water 

10.18 conditioning installation and servicing, this chapter, or Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.50 

10.19 to 326B.59. Continuing education hours obtained by any electronic media must comply 

10.20 with Minnesota Statutes, sections 326B.098 to 326B.099. 

10.21 C D. In addition to satisfying the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 

10.22 326B, an applicant for renewal of a medical gas installer certification is required to obtain 

10.23 four hours of continuing education instruction during the certification period before the 

10.24 certification may be renewed. The required hours of instruction must pertain to the technical 

4716.0205 10 
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11.1 topics related to the installation, repair, or maintenance of medical gas systems, this chapter, 

11.2 NFPA 99, or Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.438. 

11.3 D E. In addition to satisfying the requirements of part 4716.0097 and Minnesota 

11.4 Statutes, chapter 326B, individuals who hold the following certifications are required to 

11.5 obtain the following continuing education during the certification period before the certificate 

11.6 may be renewed: 

11.7 (1) a backflow prevention rebuilder shall meet the minimum requirements

11.8 to recertify in ASSE Standards 5110 and 5130; and 

11.9 (2) a backflow prevention tester shall meet the minimum requirements to

11.10 recertify in ASSE Standard 5110. 

11.11 [For text of subp 2, see M.R.] 

4716.0205 11 
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Attachment A

Subp. 4. Experience. For the purposes of the experience required under subparts 2 and 

3, the following requirements apply. 

[For text ofitems A to C, see MR. 7 

If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner: 

ill the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner at all 

times while obtaining the practical water conditioning experience other than obtaining up to 

100 hours of practical experience allowable under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555. 

subdivision 2 prior to becoming a registered unlicensed individual.1 

ill all practical water conditioning eKperience installation. servicing and 

training hours must be certified by the licensed water conditioning master who is responsible 

for the work performed.2 

g} the commissioner may require work records. time cards. pay records. or 

other documentation necessary to evaluate experience. The commissioner shall make the 

final determination about the adequacy and acceptability of an applicant's experience.3 

1 The newly added language makes the requirement consistent with Minnesota Statutes 326B.555, subdivision 2, 
which provides: 

"A registered unlicensed individual who has completed 875 hours of practical water conditioning 
installation, servicing, and training is eligible to take the water conditioningjourneyworker 
examination. Up to 100 hours ofpractical water conditioning installation and servicing experience 
prior to becoming a registered unlicensed individual may be applied to the practical experience 
requirement." 

2 The revised language makes the requirement consistent with the need to track the completion of 875 hours of 
practical water conditioning installation, servicing and training as provided for in Minnesota Statutes 326B.555, 
subdivision 2 (see footnote 1 above). 
3 The newly added language applicable to the practical water conditioning work ofregistered unlicensed water 
conditioners is the same language as in Minn. Rules section 4716.0092 subp. 4(C) applicable to water conditioning 
masters and joumeyworkers. 
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E. The employer of a water conditioning journeyworker or registered unlicensed water 

conditioner is responsible for: 

ill recording the hours of practical water conditioning experience worked by 

each employee;4 and 

ill maintaining the records of practical water conditioning experience worked for 

at least six years after the employee's last recorded experience. 

GP:4840-1071-2417 vl 

4 The newly added language clarifies that the employer is responsible for recording the hours ofpractical water 
conditioning experience and maintaining the records of that experience. 
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Meeting Minutes:  Ad-Hoc Code Review & Rulemaking Committee 

Date: May 30, 2018 
Time: 1:30 pm 
Location Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN  55117-4344 

Committee Members Present DLI Staff & Visitors 
Rick Jacobs (Co-chair)  Suzanne Todnem, General Counsel (DLI) 
John Parizek (Co-chair) Adam Hanson (ABC) 
Larry Justin  Mike Johnson (J-Berd) 
Mike Herman  Brad Smith (J-Berd) 
John Flagg Megan Henkemeyer (J-Berd) 
Cathy Tran  David Radziej 

1. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order by Co-chair Jacobs at 1:34 p.m.  Introductions and housekeeping
announcements were made.  Attendance was taken; a quorum was met with 6 of 6 members
present.

2. Approval of meeting agenda
A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Herman, to approve the agenda.  The vote was
unanimous with 6 votes in favor; the motion carried.

3. Approval of previous meeting minutes
A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Flagg, to approve the minutes from the April 17,
2018, Ad-Hoc Code Review & Rulemaking Committee.  The vote was unanimous with 6 votes in
favor; the motion carried.

4. Regular Business
Approval of Expense Reports – Jacobs approved the expenses as presented.

5. Special Business
The draft of proposed amendments to the Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4716 – Plumber Licensing and
Apprentice Registration dated 3/19/2018 was reviewed.  Proposed modifications were presented
and discussed as shown below.

A motion was made by Flagg, seconded by Herman, to make the below amendments(s) to Lines
3.12 and 4.9 of the draft to read as shown below.  The vote was unanimous with 6 votes in favor;
the motion carried.
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Ad-Hoc Code Review & Rulemaking Committee  Page 2 of 2 
Minutes 5.30.2018 
 
 

 
3.12   the practical plumbing experience or the applicant must have obtained the practical 

plumbing 
4.9   G.  Except as provided in item F, subitems 2(a) – 2(c), all practical plumbing experience 

 
A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Flagg to make the below amendment(s) to Lines 8.4 – 
8.8 of the draft to read as shown below.  The vote was unanimous with 6 votes in favor; the 
motion carried. 
 

D.  If the applicant is a registered unlicensed water conditioner: 
 
(1) the applicant must have been a registered unlicensed water conditioner at all times while 

obtaining the practical water conditioning experience except up to 100 hours of practical 
experience allowable under Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.555, subdivision 2; and 
 

(2) all practical water conditioning experience must be certified by the licensed water 
conditioning master who is responsible for the work performed.  Practical water 
conditioning experience includes installation, servicing and training.  The commissioner may 
require work records, time cards, pay records, or other documentation necessary to 
evaluate experience.  The commissioner shall make the final determination about the 
adequacy and acceptability of an applicant’s experience. 

 
A motion was made by Justin, seconded by Flagg, to have the above amendments to Minnesota 
Rules, Chapter 4716, subject to Revisor edits, be presented to the full Plumbing Board for 
approval.  The vote was unanimous with 6 votes in favor; the motion carried. 

 
6. Other Discussion 

It was decided that a special Plumbing Board meeting would take place June 12, 2018.  Time TBD. 
 

7. Adjournment 
With no further business a motion was made by Justin, seconded by Flagg, to adjourn the meeting.  
The vote was unanimous with 6 votes in favor; the motion carried.  
 

 Respectfully submitted, 
 

  
 Rick Jacobs 

Committee Co-chair 
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Meeting Minutes: Plumbing Board 
Date: July 17, 2018 
Time: 9:30 a.m. 
Minutes by: Lyndy Logan 
Location: Minnesota Room, Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road No., St. Paul, MN 55117-4344 

Members DLI Staff & Visitors continued 
Tom Andresen Adam Hanson (ABC) 
Richard Becker Larry Johnson (MNLA) 
Jeff Brown Gary Schick (City of Rochester) 
Michael Dryke – via teleconference Matt Marciniak (IAPMO) 
Grant Edwards (Vice Chair) Jim Gander (PHCC) 
John Flagg Jim Kittelson (former Board member) 
Mike Herman John Parizek (Mpls Plumbers JAC) 
Rick Jacobs (Chair) Gary Thaden (MMCA) 
Phillip Sterner (Secretary) Sophie Thaden (MMCA) 
Cathy Tran (DLI Commissioner’s Designee) Scott Thompson (My Plumbing Training) 
David Wagner Ruth Thompson (My Plumbing Training) 
David Weum (DOH Commissioner’s Designee) Tim Power (MNLA) 

Tom McCarthy (Local Union 34) 
Members Absent Trevor Ogilvie (City of Minneapolis) 
Justin Parizek Ryan Imel (AYPO) – via teleconference 

Stephanie Menning (MUCA) – via teleconference 
DLI Staff & Visitors Dean Berckes (Dept. of Military Affairs, Camp 
Jeff Lebowski (Gen. Counsel, DLI) Ripley) – via teleconference 
Lyndy Logan (DLI) Scott Crossman (Attorney for MN Laborers Fringe 
Jim Peterson (DLI) Benefit Fund) – via teleconference 
Brad Jensen (DLI Tony Bowers (At Your Pace Online) – via 
Larry Justin (KFI Engineers) teleconference 
Megan Henkemeyer (J-Berd) 
Mike Johnson (J-Berd) 

1. Call to Order
The meeting was called to order by Chair Jacobs at 9:33 a.m. Roll call was taken by Secretary
Sterner and a quorum was declared with 11 of 12 voting members present in person or via
teleconference and one non-voting member. Introductions and housekeeping announcements
were made and Richard Becker, new Board member, introduced himself.

2. Approval of meeting agenda
A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Flagg, to approve the agenda as presented. The
roll call vote was unanimous with 11 votes in favor; the motion carried.
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3. Approval of previous meeting minutes
A. A motion was made by Herman, seconded by Flagg, to approve the April 17, 2018,

regular meeting minutes with a revised start time of 9:30 a.m. The roll call vote was 10
votes in favor with 1 abstention; the motion carried.

B. A motion was made by Flagg, seconded by Herman, to approve the June 12, 2018,
special meeting minutes as presented.  The roll call vote was 8 votes in favor with 3
abstentions; the motion carried.

4. Regular Business
Approval of expense reports – Jacobs approved the expenses as presented.

5. Committee Reports
A. Department Updates

Nothing to report

B. Executive Committee
The Committee met this morning and approved the Plumbing Board agenda as
presented.

C. Construction Codes Advisory Council
Edwards gave an update from the last meeting on June 21, 2018.  Technical Advisory
Groups (TAGs) met and a report will be sent to the Commissioner of DLI for his approval.
There is not another meeting scheduled at this time.

D. Inspection Uniformity Committee
Edwards said they met on May 30, 2018 and he was tasked with making a presentation
to the Board on increasing inspection consistency.

6. Special Business
A. Request for Interpretation – PB0096 – see Attachment A

RFI received from Peter Daniels, PE, regarding MN Plumbing Code Sections 710.3-710.12
& 906.4. Jacobs summarized the RFI; Peter Daniels was not present.

Initial Dispute: Requirement #5 in the DLI plan review letter dated June 1, 2018 (PLB
1805-00156) requires a 10-ft tall vent pipe to be added to a proposed grinder pump lift
station located outside a building, in green space.  Installing a vent pipe in this manner is
not feasible, and not necessary, given the design and location of the grinder pump
station.

Discussion followed regarding MPCA regulations, plumbing code requirements for
grinder pumps, and the diagrams submitted.

Peterson said the question from the submitter should be more specific before the Board
provide an answer.  Is this a municipal system, what is the discharge rate, is the tank air
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tight or water tight and what does the manufacturer offer in these installations?  If after 
the septic tank then this would not be a question for the Plumbing Board. 

The Chair said he would ask the submitter for additional information on the RFI. 

A motion was made by Becker, seconded by Flagg, to authorize the Chair to ask 
the submitter of the RFI for additional information on design specifics, such as: 
water tightness, additional venting options as indicated by the manufacturer, 
how close it is to the building, and if the grinder pump is on the discharge of the 
septic tank then it would not fall under the jurisdiction of the Plumbing Code; it 
would be bound by the MPCA requirements.  The roll call vote was unanimous 
with 11 votes in favor; the motion passed. 

B. Discuss proposed amendments to Minnesota Rules, Chapter 4714 – Plumber Licensing
and Apprentice Registration – and comments received.
No discussion.

C. Officer Elections – the meeting was turned over to Cathy Tran, Commissioner’s
Designee, for election of officers.
a. Chair – Edwards made a motion, seconded by Flagg, to nominate Rick Jacobs.

No other nominations were given.  The roll call vote was unanimous with 11
votes in favor; the nomination passed.  Jacobs was re-elected as Chair.

b. Vice-Chair – Flagg made a motion, seconded by Herman, to nominate Grant
Edwards. No other nominations were given.  The roll call vote was unanimous
with 11 votes in favor; the nomination passed.  Edwards was re-elected as Vice-
Chair.

c. Secretary – Flagg made a motion, seconded by Edwards, to nominate Phil
Sterner as Secretary.  No other nominations were given. The roll call vote was
unanimous with 11 votes in favor; the nomination passed.  Sterner was re-
elected as Secretary.

The meeting was turned over to re-elected Chair, Rick Jacobs. 

D. Committees and Committee appointments
No discussion

7. Complaints
Nothing to report

8. Open Forum
A. Tony Bowers, At Your Pace Online.com, addressed the Board via teleconference to voice

their support of the proposed revisions to Chapter 4716 regarding the licensing and
apprentice registration. They support the code change and give their support.
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B. Larry Justin, representing KFI Engineers and the Minnesota Chapter of the American
Society of Plumbing Engineers.  Justin addressed the Board regarding Chapter 4714,
Section 421.2 Limitation of Hot Water Temperature for Public Lavatories and DLI’s
interpretation regarding CSA B125.3 being superseded by CSA B125.70.  KFI Engineers
has a project where they are installing a valve in a boiler room that meets CSA B125.3.
The intent of the design is to distribute 110 degrees throughout the building and public
lavatories meeting code Section 421.2.  The inspector, Jim Peterson, said it was rejected
based on an interpretation from the department that the CSAB125.3 was superseded by
CSA B125.70.  DLI made an interpretation that because of this change they will no longer
accept the CSA B125.3.  Justin said he doesn’t see in the code where CSA B125.3 isn’t
allowed. Tran said that a CCLD newsletter communication was sent out that provided
clarification and Grant Brekke was contacted.

9. Correspondence
• RFA from Joel Hoistad/NW Chapter of Building Officials – will be addressed when

Chapter 4714 rulemaking opens.
• Farr Plumbing & Heating letter – will be addressed when Chapter 4714 rulemaking

opens.

10. Board Discussion
None

11. Announcements
Next regularly scheduled meetings in 2018/2019 – all meetings will be held at 9:30 a.m. in the
Minnesota Room.  The Executive Committee meetings occur at 8:30 a.m. prior to each regular
meeting in the Minnesota Room.
A. October 16, 2018
B. January 15, 2019
C. April 16, 2019
D. July 16, 2019
E. October 15, 2019

12. Adjournment
A motion was made by Flagg, seconded by Edwards, to adjourn the meeting at 11:37 a.m. The
vote was unanimous with 11 votes in favor of the motion; the motion passed.

Respectfully submitted, 

Phil Sterner 
Phil Sterner, Board Secretary 

Plumbing Board Meeting Minutes P  a  g e  | 4 
July 17, 2018 R-04365    579



Plumbing Board 
c/o Department of Labor and Industry 
443 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, MN 55155-4344 
www.dli.mn.gov 

PRINT IN INK or TYPE 

Plumbing Board 
Request for Interpretation 

Attachment A

Peter Daniels, PE
MN Plumbing Code Sections
710.3-710.12 & 906.4

NAME OF SUBMITTER Rule{s) to be interpreted (e.g., 4714 0330) 

The Minnesota Plumbing Code (MN Rules. Chapter 4714) is available at www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/PlumbingCode.asp 
Has a request for interpretation been submitted to Department 

XD Yes 
of Labor and Industry (DU) staff, either as a verbal request or a 

written request? D No 
If "No," contact DLI staff at 651-284-5187. The DLI is responsible for administration and interpretation of the Minnesota 
Plumbing Code, and all requests must be processed and provided a DLI interpretation before being referred to the Plumbing 
Board. This form is intended to be used to request an interpretation from the Plumbing Board only as a resolution of dispute 
with DU interpretation. 

MN Plumbing Code Sections
710.3-710.12 & 906.4 Corey Frain Plans submitted May 10, 2018

CODE/RULE to be interpreted: NAME OF DU employee gave interpretation: DATE interpretation originally requested: 

Provide a co 

Is there a local dispute with an Inspector of other official? If Yes, state the name or type of official 

Yes 

State the circumstances 

X No 

of the initial dispute: 

Requirement #5 in the DOLI plan review letter dated June 1, 2018 (PLB1805-00156) requires a 10-ft tall vent pipe to be
added to a proposed grinder pump lift station located outside a building, in green space. Installing a vent pipe in this
manner is not feasible, and not necessary, given the design and location of the grinder pump station.

Explain why you disagree with the interpretation given to you by DU staff: 
There are thousands of grinder pump stations installed in Minnesota at commercial, residential, industrial, and institutional facilities. We are
not aware of any of these grinder pump stations that are equipped with 10-ft tall vent pipes. These grinder pump stations are often located in
yards or green space outside of homes and buildings. The grinder stations themselves are designed with several venting options. Adding an
additional 10-ft tall vent is not needed. There is also not a practical way to install a 10-ft tall vent pipe on a buried grinder pump station
located in a property's backyard. We are also concerned that a 10-ft tall exterior vent could freeze with condensation in the winter.

What is your interpretation of the language: 

Venting of exterior grinder pump stations should be allowed through the grinder pump station's standard design options, as
has been done for thousands of grinder pump stations in the past. An additional 10-ft tall vent pipe should not be required.

List any other information you would like the Board to consider: 

See attached for a photo of a typical grinder pump station design. We have also talked to multiple grinder pump
manufacturers about this issue, and they are also not aware of any issues that have developed in the past due to the lack
of a 10-ft tall vent.

See attached for photos of typical grinder pump station installation. Also attached is a letter from a vendor that sells
packaged grinder pump stations.

Information regarding submitting this form: 
Submit any supporting documentation to be considered electronically to DLI.CCLDBOARDS@state.mn.us. Once your 
Request For Interpretation form has been received, it will be assigned a file number. Please reference this file number on 
any correspondence and supplemental submissions. 

Information for presentation to the Board. 
You will be notified with the date of the Board Meeting in which your Request For Interpretation will be heard. 
Limit presentations to 5 minutes or less. 
Be prepared to answer questions regarding the Code, the circumstances that led to the dispute and please bring copies of 
any documentation. 

What you can do if you disagree with the Board's determination: 
You may appeal the Board's determination pursuant to Minn. Stat. Chapter 14. 
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RFI File No. Date Received by DLI Dated Received by Board Date of Board Meeting 

Title of RFI By: 

This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, Braille or on a tape. To request, call 1-800-342-5354 (DIAL-DU) Voice or 
TDD (651) 297-4198. 

Submitted bv: 
NAME FIRM NAME 

ADDRESS CITY STATE 

PHONE SIGNATURE (orioinal or electronic) 

,£0~ 
DATE 

For assistance or questions on completing this form, please call 651-284-5898 or 651-284-5889. 

Mailing address: Plumbing Board 
c/o Department of Labor and Industry 

443 Lafayette Road North 
St. Paul, MN 55155-4344 

**" Please remember to attach all necessary explanations and supporting documentation,...• Page 2 of 2 

ZIP CODE 

PB0096 June 15, 2018 July 17, 2018 July 17, 2018 

Attachment A

Peter Daniels Wenck Associates, Inc.

7500 Olson Memorial Highway Suite 300 Golden Valley, MN 55427

763-252-6838 June 13, 2018
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Attachment A

800-831-7914
5250 WEST 74TH STREET 7674 COLLEGE ROAD, SUITE 105 

MINNEAPOLIS, MN 55439-2226 BAXTER, MN 56425 
952-831-4340/FAX: 952-831-2357 218-829-6890/FAX: 218-829-6972

June 13, 2018 

WENCK ASSOCIATES, INC. 
7500 Olson Memorial Highway, Suite 300  
Golden Valley, MN 55427 

Attention Peter Daniels, PE 

Dear Peter, 

Per our conversation please find my correspondence regarding the question of using vent stack pipes 
according to MN Plumbing Code Sections 710.3-710.12 & 906.4.on a lift station outside of a building. 

I have been selling submersible sewage grinder stations for 23 years. We have provided literally 
thousands of residential, commercial and municipal simplex and duplex grinder stations over this time 
and we’ve never seen a requirement for vent stack on the lift station cover for sumps that have been 
installed outdoors. 

I have downloaded the 2015 MN Plumbing Code 11 Chapter 7 and have read 710.3 through 710.12 and 
have reviewed it.  I feel there is confusion on the review as to the location of this grinder station with 
specific regard to 710.10 

710.10 reads in part  [ “Sumps and receiving tanks shall be provided with substantial covers having a 
bolt-and-gasket- type manhole or equivalent opening to permit access for inspection, repairs, and 
cleaning. The top shall be provided with a vent pipe that shall extend separately through the roof or, 
where permitted, be combined with other vent pipes. Such vent shall be large enough to maintain 
atmospheric pressure within the sump under normal operating conditions and, in no case, shall be 
less in size than that required by Table 703.2 for the number and type of fixtures discharging into the 
sump”] Table 703.2 is for vent sizing for the number and type of fixtures discharging into the sump and is 
referencing gasketed sump covers inside a building.  

After reading 710.10 the reason we’ve have not been required to install vents in sump covers installed 
outdoors over the past 23 years is because vents are not required. [Per 703.2 [“such vent shall be large 
enough to maintain atmospheric pressure within the sump under normal operating conditions”].  Also, 
sump covers installed outside of a building are typically not airtight. This would include a typical septic 
tank system. The sump is open to atmosphere and also uses the gravity invert piping and the vent stacks 
inside the building to vent the sump to atmosphere which is 100% applicable to 710.10.  

With these observations it is my opinion that the code does read correctly for sump covers inside a 
building.  However, it is ambiguous and implies all sumps and covers are installed inside a building. 
710.10 does not specifically address sump covers or lift station covers installed outside of building which 
is applicable to the type of installation you are specifying and should be revised.  

Thank you, 

Steven P Green 
Sales Engineer 
W.W. Goetsch Associates, Inc. 
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