
     

 

  

  

   

    

      

    

     

     

  

 

   

    

      

     

 

 

        

    

    

     

   

  

  

     

   

   

   

     

  

, DEPARTMENT OF 
LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

2023 legislative session summary 

All legislation is effective July 1, 2023, unless otherwise noted. 

Regular session laws 

Jobs/Labor Omnibus SF3035/Ch. 53 (Champion/Hassan) 

Operating increases for Labor Standards, Apprenticeship, Workers’ Compensation, General 
Support and Minnesota OSHA 

Labor Standards – The Labor Standards unit will receive additional funding of $147,000 in fiscal-year (FY) 2024 

and $246,000 each subsequent fiscal year from the General Fund, which will enable Labor Standards to continue 

education and outreach activities, plus respond to employee complaints and investigate allegations of violations 

at current service levels. 

Apprenticeship – The Apprenticeship unit will receive an additional $59,000 in FY 2024 and $121,000 each 

subsequent fiscal year from the Workforce Development Fund to maintain the current level of service provided. 

Workers’ Compensation – The Workers’ Compensation Division will receive an additional $356,000 in FY 2024 

and $725,000 each subsequent fiscal year from the Workers’ Compensation Fund, which will enable the division 

to continue ensuring injured workers promptly receive benefits and the workers’ compensation system operates 

efficiently and effectively at current service levels. 

General Support – The General Support Division will receive an additional $2.127 million in FY 2024 and $2.433 

million each subsequent fiscal year from the Workers’ Compensation Fund to maintain current service levels. 

Minnesota OSHA (MNOSHA) Compliance – The MNOSHA Compliance unit will receive an operating increase of 

$237,000 in FY 2024 and $483,000 each subsequent fiscal year from the Workers’ Compensation Fund that will 

enable MNOSHA Compliance to maintain its mission to protect workers at private and public worksites within 

Minnesota and prevent workplace injuries, illnesses and fatalities. 

Technology services reorganization 

The Workers’ Compensation Division will receive an additional $2.592 million in FY 2024 and $3.118 million each 

subsequent fiscal year from the Workers’ Compensation Fund to reorganize the way technology services are 

provided, funded and measured within the agency. This funding will cover the 8.5 existing full-time-equivalent 

(FTE) employees of Minnesota IT Services (MNIT) at the Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), as well as three 

new MNIT at DLI staff members. It also funds ongoing operational costs to keep the workers’ compensation 

system operational. 

443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 55155 • 651-284-5005 • dli.mn.gov 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=SF3035&version=4&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/53/
https://dli.mn.gov


       

     

  

   

  

      

 

 

  

  

       

    

    

 

    

      

     

   

   

  

    

    

       

 

  

        

  

   

      

   

The General Support Division will also receive an additional $599,000 in FY 2024 and $634,000 in each 

subsequent fiscal year from the Workers’ Compensation Fund. This will fund an additional five FTE employees to 

the Research and Statistics unit. New staff members will enhance program evaluation and analysis efforts, 

expand data and reports available to program staff members and use data to inform goals and measure 

outcomes. 

Interdepartmental Coordinating Council on Immigrant and Refugee Affairs 

The Interdepartmental Coordinating Council on Immigrant and Refugee Affairs is established to advise the newly 

created Office of New Americans at the Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED). The 

DLI commissioner or the commissioner’s designee will serve on the council. In addition, DLI must designate one 

staff member as an immigrant and refugee services liaison (Article 15, Section 2). 

Safe Workplaces for Meat and Poultry Processing Workers Act 

Labor Standards will receive an additional $225,000 in FY 2024 and $169,000 each subsequent fiscal year from 

the General Fund to fund activities under this act. This article requires DLI to appoint a worker rights coordinator 

and creates standards applying to meatpacking operations with 100 employees or more. DLI has enforcement 

authority. Effective Jan. 1, 2024. (Article 5 of SF3035; based on stand-alone bill HF23/SF207 

(Wolgamott/Putnam).) 

Nursing Home Workforce Standards Board 

DLI will receive an additional $661,000 in FY 2024, $357,000 in FY 2025, $404,000 in FY 2026, and $357,000 in FY 

2027 from the General Fund for leadership positions to perform work for the board and for rulemaking costs. 

The nine-member board will set minimum standards necessary for the health and welfare of nursing home 

workers. The governor must make appointments to the board by Aug. 1, 2023, and the DLI commissioner must 

convene the first meeting within 30 days after the governor completes appointments to the board. (Article 3 of 

SF3035; based on standalone bill HF908/SF1621 (Agbaje/Pappas).) 

Office of Combative Sports 

Combative sports health and safety 

The Office of Combative Sports (OCS) will receive an additional $243,000 in FY 2024 and $254,000 each 

subsequent fiscal year from the General Fund to better protect combatant health and safety. Policy updates will 

improve OCS oversight of combative sports contests and clarify grievance procedures. In addition, OCS 

regulatory authority is expanded to include Muay Thai and kickboxing. Licensing fees for trainers and seconds 

are reduced from $80 to $40, and fees for amateur combatants are reduced from $50 to $35. (Article 4.) 

Labor Standards 

Women’s Economic Security Act (WESA) outreach 

Labor Standards will receive an additional $134,000 each fiscal year from the General Fund for outreach and 

enforcement efforts related to the nursing mothers, lactating employees and pregnancy accommodations law. 



     

    

   

      

   

  

 

     

  

   

     

 

   

    

  

 

   

  

    

     

      

 

    

   

   

 

   

 

    

    

   

  

     

   

Labor Standards outreach and education coordinator 

Labor Standards will receive an additional $134,000 in FY 2024 and $142,000 each subsequent fiscal year from 

the General Fund for an outreach and education coordinator. 

Improving the safety and wellbeing of agricultural and food processing workers 

Labor Standards will receive an additional $184,000 in FY 2024 and $142,000 in each subsequent fiscal year from 

the General Fund for outreach, education and translation activities so workers are aware of their rights and 

employers understand their responsibilities under changes to the Migrant Labor Law, the Packinghouse Workers 

Bill of Rights and the Recruitment in Food Processing Employment statutes. (Article 2 of SF3035; based on 

standalone bill HF70/SF61 (Hansen/Kunesh).) 

Prevailing-wage education and enforcement 

Labor Standards will receive an additional $1.412 million in FY 2024 and $1.484 million each subsequent fiscal 

year from the Workforce Development Fund for prevailing-wage education and enforcement. 

WESA and retaliation updates 

WESA updates — removes language limiting the right to reasonable break times to express milk to the 12 

months following the birth of the child and removes the undue hardship exemption for providing such breaks. 

These updates also lower the employee threshold for providing pregnancy accommodations to employees from 

15 to one, effectively expanding the right to pregnancy accommodations to all employees. Employers must also 

provide a written notice to employees of their right to express milk and have pregnancy accommodations at the 

time of hire and publish these rights in the employee handbook (DLI must provide the text). Expands the right to 

unpaid parental leave so that it applies immediately upon hire regardless of employer size. 

Retaliation updates – updates retaliation protections across chapter 181 to be consistent and comprehensive. 

(Article 11, Sections 21, 23-24, 26-37 of SF3035; based on stand-alone bill HF1104/SF1018 (Koegel/Maye 

Quade).) 

Restrictive franchise agreements prohibited 

Prohibits restrictive franchise agreements and requires employers, no later than one year from the effective 

date, to amend existing franchise agreements to remove any violating language or sign a memorandum of 

understanding with franchisees providing that any contract provisions violating the requirement are void and 

unenforceable. DLI has enforcement authority. Effective May 25, 2023. (Article 11, Section 38 of SF3035; based 

on stand-alone bill HF1831/SF2216 (Greenman/Mann).) 

Earned sick and safe time 

Labor Standards will receive an additional $1.445 million in FY 2024 and $2.209 million each subsequent fiscal 

year from the General Fund for enforcement and other duties regarding earned sick and safe time. Other duties 

include the creation of a workplace poster, outreach and education. In addition, $300,000 is appropriated in 

each of FY 2024 and FY 2025 for grants to community organizations for the purpose of outreach and education 

for employees regarding their rights under the earned sick and safe time law. This law ensures workers can 



     

 

      

 

   

  

   

  

  

   

  

     

 

   

   

   

  

  

  

   

          

 

  

 

 

     

   

 

     

 

 

  

      

accrue up to 48 hours a year of earned sick and safe time for when they need to recover from an illness, go to a 

medical appointment, care for a child during a school closure, or get care and assistance due to domestic abuse, 

stalking or sexual assault. Effective Jan. 1, 2024. (Articles 12-14 of SF3035; based on stand-alone bill HF19/SF34 

(Olson, L./Pappas).) 

Prevailing-wage project definition expanded 

Expands the definition of “project” in Minnesota Statutes 177.42 to include language that requires prevailing 
wage be paid on the construction portion of a project when the acquisition of property, predesign, design or 

demolition portion is financed in whole or in part by state funds. Effective May 25, 2023. (Article 11, Section 9.) 

(Article 11, Section 9.) 

Workplace veterans poster 

Labor Standards will receive one-time funding of $27,000 from the General Fund for the creation and 

distribution of a workplace veterans poster. (Article 1, Section 12 of SF3035; based on stand-alone bill HF2633 

(Lislegard).) 

Non-compete covenants void and unenforceable 

Covenants not to compete are made void and unenforceable. DLI does not have enforcement authority. (Article 

6 of SF3035; based on HF295/SF405 (Elkins/Mann).) 

Certain employer-sponsored meetings 

Prohibits mandatory employer-sponsored meetings or communications that are designed to communicate the 

opinion of the employer about religious or political matters. DLI does not have enforcement authority. Effective 

Aug. 1, 2023. (Article 11, Section 25 of SF3035.) 

Agencies awarding assistance to collect certified payroll when prevailing wage is required 

Minnesota Statutes 116J.871, subdivision 2, is modified to clarify that recipients of financial assistance are 

subject to the prevailing-wage enforcement provisions in chapter 177. It also clarifies that state agencies 

awarding financial assistance are treated as contracting authorities and must collect certified payroll reports. 

(Article 1, Section 2 of SF3035; based on stand-alone bill HF1571/SF1566 (Berg/Oumou Verbeten).) 

Prevailing-wage exemption for affordable single-family homeownership 

Creates a new exemption from the definition of “economic development” under Minn. Stat. 116J.871. It 

excludes financial assistance for the construction of fully detached single-family affordable homeownership 

units for which the financial assistance covers no more than 10 such units. (Article 1, Section 1.) 

Construction Worker Wage Protection Act (CWWPA) 

The CWWPA states that a contractor entering a construction contract assumes liability for unpaid wages, fringe 

benefits and liquidated damages owed to a claimant by a subcontractor of any tier. This allows DLI to seek 

unpaid wages and liquidated damages owed to an employee from a contractor. DLI has enforcement authority. 

Effective Aug. 1, 2023. (Article 10 of SF3035; based on stand-alone bill HF1859/SF1988 (Feist/Seeberger).) 



   

    

    

      

     

    

   

   

  

   

     

 

  

  

     

   

  

   

   

     

     

   

 

   

 

  

      

 

   

     

  

Minnesota Climate Innovation Finance Authority (MCIFA) 

The MCIFA is established and must require prevailing wage for all projects with a budget of $100,000 or more. 

The DLI commissioner or the commissioner’s designee shall serve on the MCIFA board of directors. Effective 

May 25, 2023, and the first meeting of the board must be held by Nov. 17, 2023. (Article 21, Section 2.) 

Construction Codes and Licensing Division (CCLD) 

Commercial energy code improvements 

Adds additional targets to the adoption of new model commercial energy codes so the commercial energy code 

in effect in 2036 and thereafter achieves at least an 80% reduction in annual net energy consumption, using the 

ASHRAE 90.1-2004 as a baseline. This change also requires a report by Jan. 15 of the year following each new 

code adoption. (Article 1, Section 29 of SF3035; based on stand-alone bill HF772/SF1368 (Kraft/Port).) 

Electric vehicle (EV) charging infrastructure 

DLI is directed that the building code shall require a minimum number of EV-ready spaces, EV-capable spaces 

and EV-charging stations within or adjacent to new commercial and multifamily structures that provide on-site 

parking, excluding residential structures with fewer than four units. (Article 1, Sections 24-27, 31.) 

Safe housing for the elderly and vulnerable adults 

Adds assisted living facilities, including assisted living with dementia care facilities, to the list of state licensed 

facilities, giving DLI the authority to provide building and plumbing plan review and inspection services during 

the construction phase of these facilities. Effective Aug. 1, 2023. (Article 1, Section 28.) 

Window cleaning safety 

Removes existing statutory window cleaning safety requirements and replaces them with a requirement the DLI 

commissioner adopt rules that require window cleaning safety features that comply with a nationally recognized 

standard using expedited rulemaking. Effective May 25, 2023. (Article 1, Section 30.) 

CCLD fee reduction and reimbursement 

Reduces fees paid by individuals and businesses in the construction industry when they need to reinstate a 

license following a license revocation, suspension or voluntary termination. It also allows DLI to refund 

Contractor Recovery Fund fees when a residential building contractor or remodeler license is not approved. 

(Article 1, Sections 22 and 23.) 

Solar installers licensed as residential building contractors 

Requires solar installers be licensed residential building contractors, resulting in solar installers paying into the 

Contractor Recovery Fund and giving consumers who hire licensed solar installers the ability to make claims to 

the fund. (Article 1, Section 32 of SF3035; based on stand-alone bill HF2164/SF2735 (Kraft/McEwen).) 

Adult changing stations 



   

    

 

    

  

   

   

  

  

    

      

  

 

 

     

   

   

   

  

 

    

   

  

   

     

    

 

   

      

      

 

   

  

  

 

      

Requires the commissioner adopt rules that require adult-size changing facilities as part of the State Building 

Code using expedited rulemaking. Effective May 25, 2023. (Article 1, Sections 30 and 33 of SF3035; based on 

standalone bill HF981/SF999 (Hicks/Boldon).) 

CCLD policy and technical changes 

Includes requiring certain refrigerants not to be prohibited by code, establishing certain elevator licensing 

exemptions, allowing a licensed master electrician to be qualified as a technology systems contractor, updating 

the Board of Electricity and Board of High Pressure Piping composition, exempting load control receivers from 

inspection for a limited amount of time, clarifying residential building contractor licensing exemptions with 

respect to house flippers, updating boiler inspection parameters to ensure inspections can continue as normal 

and providing new provisions for the establishment of micro-unit dwellings at sacred communities. (Article 11, 

Section 44-57 of SF3035. Based on stand-alone bills HF2213/SF2440 (Nelson M/Mohamed), HF1551/SF116 

(Newton/Rarick) and HF2165/SF1939 (Kraft/Xiong).) 

MNOSHA 

Ergonomics 

MNOSHA will receive an additional $1.605 million in FYs 2024 and2025 and $2.683 million in FYs 2026 and2027 

from the Workers’ Compensation Fund to address workplace ergonomic injuries through training, education, 

outreach and enforcement. Ergonomics program requirements will apply to warehouse distribution center 

employers with 100 or more employees, meatpacking and poultry processing sites with 100 or more employees, 

and health care facilities. One-time funding of $2 million from the General Fund is also included for ergonomics 

safety grants to be awarded to qualifying employers for projects designed to reduce the risk of ergonomic injury 

to their employees. This program is estimated to result in $12.6 million in workers’ compensation cost savings to 

employers from reductions in workplace ergonomic injuries. Effective Jan. 1, 2024; the ergonomics safety grants 

are effective July 1, 2023. (Article 1, Section 21.) 

Additional MNOSHA Compliance safety investigators 

MNOSHA Compliance will receive an additional $745,000 in FY 2024 and $787,000 each subsequent fiscal year 

from the Workers’ Compensation Fund. This funding will support five additional MNOSHA Compliance safety 

investigators. 

Warehouse worker safety 

MNOSHA Compliance will receive an additional $115,000 in FY 2024 and $91,000 from in each subsequent fiscal 

year from the Workers’ Compensation Fund for costs related to warehouse worker safety. This law establishes 

workplace safety requirements that warehouse employers with 250 employees or more at one site (or at least 

1,000 employees across one or more warehouse distribution centers in the state) must comply with and gives 

MNOSHA Compliance authority. 

If a particular work site or employer is found to have an employee incidence rate at least 30% higher than that 

year’s average for the National American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes included in the bill, the 

DLI commissioner shall open an investigation of violations under this law. In addition, such employers must hold 



  

     

     

      

  

   

 

      

 

 

  

  

 

   

   

 

 

    

    

    

 

   

       

 

    

      

  

 

     

  

    

  

     

   

safety committee meetings monthly until the incidence rate is not 30% above the average for the relevant NAICS 

code. Effective Aug. 1, 2023. (Article 9 of SF3035; based on stand-alone bill HF36/SF58 (Greenman/Murphy).) 

Federal OSHA penalty conformity 

Penalties under Minn. Stat. 182.666 are increased to conform with federal OSHA penalty levels. Penalties for 

willful and repeat violations are increased to a maximum of $156,259 for each violation, while penalties for 

serious violations, nonserious violations, failure to correct violations and posting violations are increased to a 

maximum of $15,625 for each violation. Future increases are now tied to inflation, ensuring continued 

conformity to federal penalty levels and protecting the state-plan status of MNOSHA. (Article 1, Sections 15-20.) 

MNOSHA policy and technical changes 

Includes making MNOSHA Compliance citations public, clarifying employee interviews conducted by MNOSHA 

Compliance are private and free from influence by employer representatives, updating language to clarify when 

a small employer needs to have a safety committee, providing MNOSHA with an expedited hearing process 

through which employers could be required to abate serious workplace hazards even when a citation is 

contested, and clarifying former MNOSHA employees are not subject to subpoena. (Article 11, Sections 39-43 of 

SF3035; based on stand-alone bill HF1522/SF1384, the OSHA policy and technical bill (Nelson M/McEwen).) 

Apprenticeship Minnesota 

Separate Division of Apprenticeship 

The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship is separated into separate divisions: the Division of Labor 

Standards; and the Division of Apprenticeship. (Article 1, Sections 3, 5, 7-9, 13-14.) 

Clean economy apprenticeship grants 

Apprenticeship will receive an additional $3 million in one-time funding from the Workforce Development Fund 

to grow apprenticeship opportunities for clean economy occupations. Training grants would go to training 

programs for purchase of new equipment and to fund training to upskill apprentices and incumbent workers in 

clean technologies. 

Expanding equity in apprenticeship 

Apprenticeship will receive an additional $1.034 million in FY 2024 and $1.042 million each subsequent fiscal 

year from the Workforce Development Fund. Funds support an additional $900,000 for Labor Education 

Advancement Program (LEAP) grants. The rest of the funding will support a grants coordinator. Policy language 

is updated to include Minnesota Tribal governments and nonprofits as eligible applicants. (Article 1, Section 10.) 

Workforce development 

Youth skills training expansion 

Includes an increase of $759,000 in FY 2024 and $771,000 each subsequent fiscal year from the Workforce 

Development Fund to grow the Youth Skills Training Program. Of that, $500,000 each year is for additional grant 

funding, with the rest supporting resources and staff members needed to administer the program. 



     

      

   

     

    

  

    

 

    

  

       

   

    

  

      

    

     

      

    

   

   

 

       

   

     

     

   

    

    

    

   

   

 

 

  

  

       

     

    

Workers’ Compensation Advisory Council (WCAC) bill HF2988/Ch.51 

Article 1. Workers’ compensation self-insurance – amends Minn. Stat. chapter 79A to require a self-insurer to 

notify the commissioner of the Department of Commerce prior to or immediately upon filing a bankruptcy 

petition and/or when it has been declared to be bankrupt. The bill requires the commissioner of the Department 

of Commerce to call the self-insurer’s security deposit if that self-insurer has not paid its workers’ compensation 
benefits as required by Minn. Stat. chapter 176. If the self-insurer has failed to pay its workers’ compensation 
benefits, as verified in consultation with DLI, the commissioner of the Department of Commerce may call the 

security deposit if they determine workers’ compensation benefits would be delayed in any way. 

Article 2. System efficiencies – amends Minn. Stat. chapter 176 to generate greater efficiencies in the workers’ 

compensation system as follows. 

• Section 1: Amends Minn. Stat. 176.081, sub. 1, to outline the dispute certification process at DLI and 

clarify when attorney fees are payable. Effective Aug. 1, 2023. 

• Section 2: Amends Minn. Stat. 176.135, subd. 1, to clarify items customized to the injured worker are 

the property of the injured worker. Effective May 20, 2023. 

• Section 3: Amends Minn. Stat. 176.135, sub. 1a, by adding response and request timelines for second 

opinions related to nonemergency surgery. Effective Aug. 1, 2023. 

• Section 4: Amends Minn. Stat. 176.135, subd. 7, by creating a charge structure for copies of electronic 

medical records related to a workers’ compensation claim. Effective Aug. 1, 2023. 

• Section 5: Amends Minn. Stat. 176.155, subd. 1, to add a timeline by which a report produced by an 

employer’s physician must be served and to describe when an examination by an employer’s physician 
may be appropriate more than 120 days after an employee’s claim petition has been filed. Effective Aug. 

1, 2023. 

• Sections 6 and 7: Amends Minn. Stat. 176.239, subd. 6 and 7, to clarify what information and exhibits 

are considered during an administrative conference on benefit discontinuance. Effective Aug. 1, 2023. 

• Section 8: Amends Minn. Stat. 176.291, by clarifying the information required on a claim petition filing 

and the timing for when a party asks an employee to furnish a list of providers or an authorization to 

release information relevant to a claim for benefits. Effective Aug. 1, 2023. 

• Section 9: Amends Minn. Stat. 176.305, subd. 4, to allow a judge to dismiss a claim petition that has 

been stricken from the calendar for 180 days or more. Effective Aug. 1, 2023. 

• Section 10: Amends Minn. Stat. 176.331, to allow for a pretrial conference when an answer to a claim 

petition has not been timely filed. Effective Aug. 1, 2023. 

Article 3. Permanent partial disability schedule – amends the permanent partial disability (PPD) schedule in 

Minn. Stat. 176.101, subd. 2a, with a weighted increase to the listed PPD amounts. The amendment also 

requires WCAC to consider whether the PPD schedule represents adequate compensation for permanent 

impairment during the 2026 legislation session and every even year thereafter. Effective for injuries occurring on 

or after Oct. 1, 2023. 

Article 4. Hospital outpatient fee schedule – amends Minn. Stat. 176.1364, subd. 3, to provide for reductions 

over a period of three years, from 2023 through 2025, to the hospital outpatient fee schedule (HOFS) conversion 

factors used to determine payments under HOFS. Section 2 repeals subdivision 6 of Minn. Stat. 176.1364, which 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF2988&type=bill&version=1&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/51/


    

  

      

  

   

     

    

     

     

  

  

      

   

  

   

 

 

 

 

   

      

    

 

 

 

  

 

 

    

    

   

    

describes the criteria that must be met for the reductions in subd. 3 to occur. Effective for services on or after 

Oct. 1, 2023. 

Article 5. Post-traumatic stress disorder study -- requires the DLI commissioner to conduct a study to identify 

systemic or regulatory changes to improve the experience and outcomes of employees with work-related post-

traumatic stress disorder. Includes a $500,000 appropriation from the workers’ compensation fund for the 

commissioner to contract with a third party to complete part or all of the study and hire additional staff 

members to support the study. Effective May 20, 2023. 

Article 6. Housekeeping -- sections 1 and 2 amend Minn. Stat. 176.011 with technical updates to two 

definitions. Section 3 amends Minn. Stat. 176.102, subd. 3, to give the Rehabilitation Review Panel oversight of 

appeals regarding approval of qualified rehabilitation consultant firms. Sections 4 and 5 amend Minn. Stat. 

176.111, subd. 16, and add a new subd. 23, regarding required notice of cessation of dependency benefits. 

Section 6 amends Minn. Stat. 176.1362, subd. 1, to clarify payment of inpatient hospital charges. Section 7 

repeals Minn. Stat. 176.223, related to the prompt first action report from DLI. Sections 2, 3 and 6 are effective 

May 20, 2023; sections 4 and 5 are effective Aug. 1, 2023. 

Peace Officer Duty Disability bill HF1234/Ch.48 

This bill requires treatment of a psychological condition before a peace officer may apply for duty disability 

benefits from the Minnesota State Retirement System. It contains a measure to clarify the contents of the bill do 

not impact an employee’s workers’ compensation claim, except that psychological treatment received under 

this act is not compensable under chapter 176. 

Paid Family and Medical Leave bill HF2/Ch.59 

Labor Standards will receive an additional $601,000 in FY 2024and $374,000 in FY 2025 from the General Fund, 

and $366,000 in FY 2026 from the Family and Medical Benefit Insurance Account. This bill establishes a state 

administered paid employment leave benefit for Minnesota workers to access for family, pregnancy, bonding 

and serious medical conditions. The benefit is to be administered by the Department of Employment and 

Economic Development with enforcement of the employment protections identified in the bill conducted by the 

Department of Labor and Industry. Contributions to fund such a benefit will be assessed through payroll 

deductions collected by DEED and then disbursed to eligible applicants by DEED. DLI will investigate allegations 

of employer retaliation or interference with the exercise of rights established in the bill, including the right to 

continued insurance and reinstatement after leave. DLI will also ensure employer compliance with the 

limitations on how much of the annual premiums may be deducted from employee wages. Beginning Jan. 1, 

2026, DEED may enter into interagency agreements to transfer funds to DLI for enforcement. Beginning in FY 

2026, DEED may enter into interagency agreements to transfer funds to DLI for the purpose of outreach, 

education and technical assistance for employees and employers. Enforcement is effective Jan. 1, 2026. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/bill.php?b=house&f=hf1234&ssn=0&y=2023
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/48/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF2&type=bill&version=9&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/59/


    

 

    

   

 

      

      

       

  

   

   

  

  

    

  

    

 

   

  

    

         

  

   

  

   

 

   

  

Skilled and Trained Workforce at Oil Refineries bill SF10/Ch.30 

Requires an owner or operator of a petroleum refinery to use a skilled and trained workforce at the petroleum 

refinery when contracting with contractors for certain work at the petroleum refinery. Defines a skilled and 

trained workforce and requires that an owner’s contracted workforce meet that definition according to the 

following schedule: 

• 30% by Jan. 1, 2024; 

• 45% by Jan. 1, 2025; and 

• 60% by Jan. 1, 2026. 

Labor Standards will enforce the requirements under the bill, which goes into effect Jan. 1, 2024. 

Omnibus Higher Education bill HF2073/Ch.41 

Transportation and childcare added as dual-training pipeline industries 

DLI will receive $132,000 in FY 2024 and each subsequent fiscal year from the Dual Training Competency Grants 

Account as a transfer from the Office of Higher Education. This funding will support the development of dual-

training programs in the transportation and childcare industries. (Article 2, Section 28.) 

Cannabis Finance and Policy bill HF100/Ch.63 

DLI will receive $116,000 in FY 2024 and $123,000 each subsequent fiscal year from the General Fund for the 

development of new dual-training programs in the legal cannabis industry. The law amends the drug and alcohol 

testing in the workplace statutes under Minn. Stat. chapter 181, which DLI does not have enforcement authority 

over. (Article 6, Section 25.) 

Omnibus Tax bill HF1938/Ch. 64 

Prohibition of payment of sexual harassment settlement as severance or wages 

Payment of sexual harassment settlements as severance or wages is prohibited. No enforcement authority for 

DLI. Effective May 25, 2023. 

Omnibus Health and Human Services bill SF2995/Ch.70 

Great start compensation support 

Employers that receive a payment under this law must maintain records as required under Minn. Stat. section 

181.032, paragraphs (d) to (f), and other records required under Minn. Stat. section 177.30. Records must be 

retained at the site for six years after receipt of payment. (Article 13, Section 20.) 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/30/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF2073&type=bill&version=4&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/41/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF100&type=bill&version=12&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/63/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF1938&type=bill&version=4&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/64/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=SF2995&version=latest&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/70/


  

  

  

   

  

  

  

    

   

  

 

 

    

 

 

       

 

   

       

   

      

      

    

       

     

Early childhood registered apprenticeship grant program 

The commissioner of the Department of Human Services shall, in coordination with the DLI commissioner, 

establish a registered apprenticeship grant program to provide employment-based training and mentoring 

opportunities for early childhood workers participating in a registered apprenticeship program. (Article 13, 

Section 19.) 

Federally qualified health center apprenticeship grants program 

The Minnesota Department of Health will administer a registered apprenticeship grant program for registered 

apprenticeship programs operating in federally qualified health centers operating in Minnesota. The program 

does not require any formal partnership with DLI. (Article 5, Section 11.) 

Lead Drinking Water Service Line Replacement Grant Program bill HF24/Ch. 

39 

This law creates a grant program for replacing lead service lines. The program requires applicants for funding 

submit a workforce plan showing how they will maximize the use of registered apprentices. It also requires 

prevailing wages be paid to laborers and mechanics performing work on projects funded under a grant. 

Omnibus Environment, Natural Resources, Climate and Energy bill 

HF2310/Ch.60 

Prevailing wage required on projects from the Environment and Natural Resources Trust 

Fund 

Effective July 1, 2025. (Article 2, Section 11.) 

Prevailing wage required on projects funded by the Renewable Development Account 

Effective May 25, 2023. (Article 12, Section 5.) 

Prevailing wage required on air ventilation pilot program grant 

Prevailing wage is required, as is se of a skilled and trained workforce in which 80% of construction workers are 

either registered in or graduates of a registered apprenticeship program. (Article 12, Sections 7 and 8.) 

Prevailing wage required on community solar garden projects of at least one megawatt 

Effective May 25, 2023. (Article 12, Section 14.) 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF24&type=bill&version=5&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/39/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/39/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF2310&type=bill&version=4&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/60/


      

 

    

  

       

  

  

         

   

       

  

  

    

    

 

    

    

 

        

   

    

 

 

     

   

Certain solar energy generating systems only meet program requirements if prevailing wage 

is paid 

Prevailing wage is required. The employer constructing the project is required to have a registered 

apprenticeship program. Effective May 25, 2023. (Article 12, Section 16.) 

Applicants for grants from Electric School Bus Program must attest to willingness and ability 

to pay prevailing wage 

(Article 12, Section 35.) 

Prevailing wage required on projects funded by the Solar Grant Program for Public Buildings 

Effective May 25, 2023. (Article 12, Section 37.) 

Prevailing wage required on Residential Electrical Panel Upgrade Grant Program 

Prevailing wage and the use of licensed contractors is required. Effective May 25, 2023. (Article 12, Section 45.) 

Omnibus Transportation bill HF2887/Ch.68 

Prevailing wage required on electric vehicle infrastructure program 

Effective Aug. 1, 2023. (Article 4, Section 69.) 

Bonding bill HF670/Ch.71 

Prevailing wage required on all projects funded by this bonding bill 

Effective the day following final enactment. (Article 1, Section 1.) 

100% Clean Energy bill HF7/Ch.7 

Prevailing wage required as a condition of permit issuance for electric generation facilities 

subject to PUC permitting 

Effective Feb. 8, 2023. (Section 27.) 

Secure Choice Retirement Act HF782/Ch.46 

This act establishes the Minnesota Secure Choice Retirement Program and an associated board of directors. The 

board of directors is authorized to enter into interagency agreements with DLI or any other agency to provide 

outreach, technical assistance or compliance services. Effective May 20, 2023. 

https://wdoc.house.leg.state.mn.us/leg/LS93/HF2887.5.pdf
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/68/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF670&type=bill&version=4&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/71/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF7&type=bill&version=2&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/7/
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF782&type=bill&version=4&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/46/


 

   

   

  

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nurse and Patient Safety Act SF1384/Ch.75 

This act does not contain any policy impacting DLI. It contains a contingent appropriation to DLI of $72,000 in FY 

2025 from the General Fund in the event a bill is enacted containing provisions substantially similar to SF1561, 

article 2, sections 6 and 9. The bill referenced is the Keeping Nurses at the Bedside Act and the sections listed 

are the retaliation protections DLI would enforce. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=SF1384&version=latest&session=ls93&session_year=2023&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2023/0/Session+Law/Chapter/75/

