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Workers' compensation costs continue to trend downward
By David Berry, Research and Statistics

The cost of workers' 
compensation benefits has been 
declining relative to payroll since 
the early 2000s. In the voluntary 
market (insured employers not in 
the Assigned Risk Plan), 
indemnity benefits declined from 
$.49 to $.30 per $100 of payroll 
between injury years 2000 and 
2015, while medical benefits 
declined from $.56 to $.38 per 
$100 (Figure 1).

These decreases occurred because 
falling claim rates more than 
offset increases in claim costs. 
From 2000 to 2014 (the most 
recent year available), after 
adjusting for average wage 
growth, indemnity benefits per 
paid claim (including claims with 
and without indemnity benefits) increased 16 percent, medical benefits per claim increased 44 percent and 
total benefits per claim increased 31 percent. However, total paid claims per 100 full-time-equivalent 
employees fell 46 percent from 2000 to 2014, more than offsetting the combined increase in indemnity and 
medical benefits per claim.

Because of decreasing costs of benefits per $100 of payroll, the long-term trend in system cost relative to 
payroll has been downward (Figure 2). This is true even though system cost (primarily a premium-based 
figure) follows a nationwide insurance pricing cycle. The low-point of $1.21 per $100 of payroll reached in 
2010 was significantly below the relative low of $1.31 for 2000. Five years after the 2010 low-point, the 
2015 figure was $1.27; five years after the 2000 low-point, the 2005 figure was $1.70.

One precursor of likely system cost changes in the next few years is the 2017 pure premium rate decrease 
of 12.1 percent filed by the Minnesota Workers' Compensation Insurers Association (MWCIA) with the 
Minnesota Department of Commerce. (The MWCIA is Minnesota's workers' compensation rating bureau 
and data service organization. Insurers use the pure premium rates as the starting point in setting their 
own workers' compensation insurance rates.)

Accident Indemnity Medical Total
year benefits [2] benefits benefits
1997 $.46 $.52   $.98
2000 .49 .56 1.05
2001 .50 .54 1.05
2011 .36 .47 .83
2012 .33 .45 .79
2013 .34 .46 .80
2014 .33 .41 .74
2015 .30 .38 .68

1. Developed statistics from data from the Minnesota Workers'
Compensation Insurers Association. Excludes self-insured
employers, the Assigned Risk Plan and those benefits paid
through DLI programs (including supplementary and
second-injury benefits).

2. Includes vocational rehabilitation benefits.
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Figure 1. Benefits per $100 of payroll in the 
voluntary market, accident years 1997-2015 [1]

Cost
per $100
of payroll

1997 $1.61
2000 1.31
2004 1.72
2005 1.70
2010 1.21
2011 [2] 1.24
2012 [2] 1.28
2013 [2] 1.25
2014 [2] 1.25
2015 [2] 1.27

1. Data from several sources. Includes insured and
self-insured employers.

2. Subject to revision.
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Figure 2. System cost per $100 of payroll, 
1997-2015 [1]
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Pricing inpatient hospital bills for dates of service Oct. 1 through Dec. 31, 2016

Reminder:  2015 Special Compensation Fund assessment 'true-up'

Minnesota Statutes § 176.129, subd. 2a, now provides for an adjustment 
– or "true-up" – of the assessment paid by insurers for deposit into the 
Special Compensation Fund (SCF).

The Department of Labor and Industry commissioner estimates each 
insurer's share of the assessment using the insurer's earned standard 
premium from the previous calendar year. The commissioner must later make a final determination of the 
amount owed based on the insurer's actual earned standard workers' compensation premium for the current 
year, after those figures become available.

As a result of this "true-up," insurers will likely owe additional monies to SCF or be refunded monies that were 
overpaid.

Invoices for additional funds will be mailed to insurers by Nov. 15, with payment due Dec. 15. Refunds will be 
processed by Dec. 1.

To be issued a refund, insurance companies that are not currently registered as vendors with the state of 
Minnesota will be required to file a W-9 Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification form.

Contact John Kufus at (651) 284-5179 or john.kufus@state.mn.us for more information.

+$/-$

In 2015, the workers' compensation law was amended 
to provide that the maximum payment for most 
workers' compensation inpatient hospital services is 200 
percent of the amount calculated under the Medicare 
diagnosis-related group (DRG) system. (See Minnesota 
Statutes § 176.1362 for complete information.)

For hospital discharges from Jan. 1 through Dec. 31, 
2016, the law directs payers to use Medicare's "PC-
Pricer" program in effect Jan. 1, 2016, to calculate the 
Medicare amount payable. However, because 
Medicare's payment year is from Oct. 1 through Sept. 
30, the PC-Pricer in effect Jan. 1, 2016, will not price 
discharges on or after Oct. 1, 2016.

The solution for discharges occurring from Oct. 1 
through Dec. 31, 2016, is to enter the discharge year of 
"2015" (instead of 2016) into the PC-Pricer with the 
month and day portions of the dates of service. The 
PC-Pricer will then calculate the amount that would be 
paid by Medicare using the Jan. 1, 2016, pricer as 
directed by the law.

mailto:john.kufus%40state.mn.us?subject=
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DLI will be conducting a survey of 
health care providers about the costs 
associated with copying workers' 
compensation medical records in an 
effort to gather more information 
about this topic. If you are a health 
care provider who is interested in 
taking part in this survey, contact Ethan 
Landy, Office of General Counsel, at  
dli.rules@state.mn.us.

Request for comments:
Possible amendments to rules regulating reasonable medical 
record cost reimbursement; Minnesota Rules, part 5219.0300

Subject of rules
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry requests comments on its possible amendment to rules governing the 
reasonable reimbursement allowance to a health care provider for copies of existing medical records related to a claim 
for workers' compensation under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 176. The department is considering amendments that will 
update the allowed reasonable charges specified in Minnesota Rules 5219.0300 for copies of medical records, including 
rules that would specify maximum charges for records maintained in an electronic format. Comments related to a health 
care provider's costs of providing medical records for workers' compensation claims are sought. Comments from persons 
or entities that request medical records for workers' compensation claims are also sought.

Persons affected
The amendments to the rules would likely affect health care providers who treat injured workers, workers' compensation 
employers and insurers, and any other person or entity that requests or obtains medical records related to a workers' 
compensation claim.

Statutory authority
Minnesota Statutes § 176.135, subd. 7 (a), requires the commissioner to adopt a 
schedule of reasonable charges for copies of existing records or reports that 
directly relate to items for which payment is sought under workers' compensation 
law. Minnesota Statutes § 176.83, subd. 1, authorizes the commissioner to adopt, 
amend or repeal rules to implement the provisions of chapter 176.

Public comment
Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these 
possible rules in writing until further notice is published in the State Register that 
the department intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. The department will not 
publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date of this request for comments.

Rules drafts
The department has not yet drafted the possible rules amendments, but anticipates that when a draft becomes available 
it will be posted on the department's workers' compensation rule docket web page at 
www.dli.mn.gov/RulemakingWC.asp.

Agency contact person
Written or oral comments, questions, requests to receive a draft of the rules when it has been prepared, and requests for 
more information on these possible rules should be directed to:  Ethan Landy, Office of General Counsel, 443 Lafayette 
Road N., St. Paul, MN  55155; (651) 284-5006; or dli.rules@state.mn.us.

Alternative format
Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as audio, Braille or large print. To 
make such a request, contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Note:  Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking record 
submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required to 
submit to the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you 
submitted comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the administrative law judge 
reviews the comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Signed by Department of Labor and Industry Commissioner Ken B. Peterson on Aug. 3, 2016.

mailto:dli.rules%40state.mn.us?subject=
http://www.dli.mn.gov/RulemakingWC.asp
mailto:dli.rules%40state.mn.us?subject=
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A farm operation must provide workers' compensation insurance for its employees, unless it paid or was 
obligated to pay cash wages to farm laborers during the previous calendar-year less than a certain dollar 
amount. That threshold dollar amount depends on whether the farm operation maintains specified 
liability insurance.

If the farm operation has a farm liability insurance 
policy with $300,000 total liability coverage and 
$5,000 medical payment coverage for farm laborers, 
then the farm operation is not required to maintain 
workers' compensation insurance if the total wages to 
farm laborers during the previous calendar year were 
less than the statewide average annual wage.1 If the 
farm operation does not maintain the specified 
liability insurance, then the farm operation must 
maintain workers' compensation insurance unless the 
total wages to farm laborers during the previous 
calendar-year were less than $8,000.2

The chart below may be used to determine if the farm operation's wages to farm laborers (roughly 
payroll) during the previous calendar-year are less than the statewide average annual wage for the year in 
which the farm liability policy is written.

By Brian Zaidman, Research and Statistics

Family farm coverage
Minnesota Statutes § 176.011, subd. 11a (a)(2)

Average annual wage under 
M.S. § 176.011, subd. 20

Services rendered 
(roughly payroll) year

Policy written
year

$45,618

$45,095

$46,572

$47,616

$49,134

$49,924

$51,420

$53,349

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2009

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2010

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2011

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2012

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2013

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2014

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2015

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2016

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2010

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2011

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2012

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2013

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2014

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2015

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2016

Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2017

Workers' compensation coverage for farms

1The statewide average annual wage is received from the Department of Employment and Economic Development and is the number from which the statewide 
average weekly wage is derived.
2Farm laborer does not include machine hire and other persons specified in Minnesota Statutes § 176.011, subds. 11a and 12. Other farm employees excluded from 
workers' compensation coverage in certain circumstances are described in Minnesota Statutes § 176.041, subd. 1.

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.011
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=176.041
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Request for comments:
Possible amendments to rules governing workers' compensation 

vocational rehabilitation; Minnesota Rules, Chapter 5220
Subject of rules
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) requests comments on its possible amendments to rules 
governing workers' compensation vocational rehabilitation. DLI is considering amendments to all the rehabilitation rules 
in Minnesota Rules 5220.0100 to 5220.1900 and is also considering amendments to the rules of practice in Minnesota 
Rules 5220.2510 to 5220.2870 regarding penalties for failure to timely provide or pay for rehabilitation services.

Persons affected
The amendments to the rules would likely affect rehabilitation providers, workers' compensation payers (employers, 
self-insured employers and insurers), agents of payers and injured workers.

Statutory authority
Minnesota Statutes § 176.102, subd. 2(a), requires the commissioner to, by rule, establish a fee schedule or otherwise 
limit fees charged by qualified rehabilitation consultants and vendors. Minnesota Statutes § 176.83, subd. 2, authorizes 
the commissioner to adopt rules necessary to implement and administer M.S. § 176.102, including the establishment of 
qualifications necessary to be a qualified rehabilitation consultant and an approved registered vendor of rehabilitation 
services; rules for penalties to be imposed by the commissioner against insurers or self-insured employers that fail to 
provide rehabilitation consultation to employees pursuant to M.S. § 176.102; and rules to establish criteria for 
determining "reasonable moving expenses" under M.S. § 176.102. Minnesota Statutes § 176.83, subd. 1, authorizes the 
commissioner to adopt, amend or repeal rules to implement the provisions of M.S. chapter 176. Minnesota Statutes  
§§ 176.221 and 176.225 authorize the commissioner to assess a penalty when an employer or insurer does not timely 
make a payment or frivolously denies a claim for a payment.

Public comment
Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information about these possible rules in writing until further 
notice is published in the State Register that DLI intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. DLI will not publish a notice of 
intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date of this request for comments.

Rules drafts
The Department of Labor and Industry has not yet drafted the possible rule amendments, but when a draft becomes 
available it will be posted on DLI's workers' compensation rulemaking docket web page at www.dli.mn.gov/
RulemakingWC.asp.

Agency contact person
Written or oral comments, questions, requests to receive a draft of the rules when it has been prepared and requests for 
more information about these possible rules should be directed to Matt Jobe, Office of General Counsel, 443 Lafayette 
Road N., St. Paul, MN  55155; phone (651) 284-5006; or dli.rules@state.mn.us.

Alternative format
Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as audio, Braille or large print. To 
make such a request, contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Note:  Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking record 
submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. DLI is required to submit to 
the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you submit 
comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure the administrative law judge reviews the 
comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Signed by Department of Labor and Industry Commissioner Ken B. Peterson on Sept. 21, 2016.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/RulemakingWC.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/RulemakingWC.asp
mailto:dli.rules%40state.mn.us?subject=
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Statistics shine spotlight on worker safety indicators

To create greater awareness of occupational hazards, the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and Industry (DLI), Minnesota Department of 
Health (MDH) and Minnesota Safety Council have created a workplace 
safety "dashboard" spotlighting a number of key indicators related to 
worker safety and health. 
 

"In the past decade, Minnesota has seen the number of work-related 
injuries and illnesses fall from 124,900 in 2004 to 96,300 in 2014; a 23 
percent decrease," said Ken Peterson, DLI commissioner. "To continue 
this positive trend, we need to build safer worksites so more workers go 
home healthy each night." 
 

Dashboard highlights
•	 More than one in three fatal workplace injuries involve driving or 

operating a vehicle (2011 through 2014).
•	 Agriculture remains one of the most dangerous industries in 

Minnesota:  30 percent of fatal work injuries from 2011 through 
2014 were among people working in the agriculture, forestry, fishing 
and hunting sector, particularly in crop production. On average, 
seven farm workers are injured seriously enough each day to require 
medical attention.

•	 On average, five new cases of workers with elevated lead blood 
levels are reported every week.

•	 The total cost of Minnesota's workers' compensation system in 2014 
was an estimated $1.66 billion.

"Our health is not only greatly influenced by where we live but also by 
where we work," said Dr. Ed Ehlinger, MDH commissioner. "While the 
implementation of labor laws and occupational health standards have 
greatly improved the well-being of our workforce, continued efforts are 
necessary to monitor the health and safety of our workers and ensure all 
workers have a safe and healthy workplace." 
 

The dashboard, "Minnesota Workplace Safety, 2016," is online at  
www.minnesotasafetycouncil.org/WorkplaceSafetyDashboard.pdf.

Rehabilitation Review Panel 
seeks new member

The Rehabilitation Review Panel 
was created in 1981 by Minnesota 
Statutes § 176.102 to offer vocational 
rehabilitation rule advice and to make 
determinations, including sanctions, 
related to contested cases about 
rehabilitation provider registration 
and professional conduct.

The panel currently has an opening 
for an alternate-member labor 
representative. To apply for the 
position, complete and submit the 
application found on the Secretary 
of State's website at www.sos.
mn.gov/index.aspx?page=5.

The panel meets quarterly at the 
Department of Labor and Industry 
(DLI). The Rehabilitation Review 
Panel advises the DLI commissioner 
about rehabilitation issues and 
makes determinations in contested 
registration and professional 
conduct cases. (The panel may 
meet more often if needed.) The 
meeting schedule, agendas and 
minutes are available online at 
www.dli.mn.gov/Rrp.asp.

The panel is composed of two 
members each representing 
employers, insurers, rehabilitation 
and medicine (for a total of 
eight), one member representing 
chiropractors and four members 
representing labor.

http://www.minnesotasafetycouncil.org/WorkplaceSafetyDashboard.pdf
http://www.sos.mn.gov/index.aspx?page=5
http://www.sos.mn.gov/index.aspx?page=5
http://www.dli.mn.gov/Rrp.asp
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Sudden cardiac arrest can happen anywhere, at any 
time, to anyone and it's almost always fatal. 
Cardiovascular events, including cardiac arrest, are 
the second-leading cause of death in Minnesota, 
responsible for almost 20 percent of deaths.

Research has shown early bystander help, such as CPR 
and the use of an automated external defibrillator 
(AED), can double or triple the chance of survival. By 
worksites earning the "Heart Safe" designation, 
employers are preparing their employees to better 
respond to these emergencies.

Businesses, educational institutions, nonprofit 
agencies, government agencies, faith-based 
organizations, communities and others can apply for 
the Heart Safe designation. The application process, 

Worksites, other organizations can apply for Heart Safe designation

The Office of Workers' Compensation Ombudsman informs, assists and 
empowers injured workers and small businesses having difficulty navigating 
the workers' compensation system. It is a separate entity within the Minnesota 
Department of Labor and Industry.

The ombudsman assists injured workers by:
	 •	 providing information to help them protect their rights and to pursue a claim;
	 •	 contacting claims adjusters and other parties to resolve a dispute;
	 •	 assisting in preparing for settlement negotiations or mediations; and
	 •	 making appropriate referrals to other agencies or entities if needed.

The ombudsman assists small businesses by:
	 •	 providing information about what to do when an employee is injured;
	 •	 directing them to appropriate resources for assistance in obtaining and resolving issues regarding workers' compensation  
		  insurance; and
	 •	 responding to questions pertaining to employers' responsibilities under Minnesota's workers' compensation law.

For assistance, contact the Office of Workers' Compensation Ombudsman at (651) 284-5013, 1-800-342-5354 or dli.ombudsman@state.mn.us.

Turn to Office of Workers' Compensation Ombudsman for help with claims

developed by the Minnesota 
Department of Health, American 
Heart Association, Minnesota 
Resuscitation Consortium and 
other statewide partners, is 
simple. The application follows a 
"chain of survival" and awards 
points for activities, including:  
creating awareness of cardiac 
emergencies and how to activate the emergency 
response system; knowing how to perform CPR and use 
an AED; what to expect from emergency services; and 
what the community has in place in its hospital system.

Learn more, apply for Heart Safe designation
To learn more, search "heart safe designation" online 
at www.health.state.mn.us.

Receive DLI notices, documents via secure email, rather than U.S. mail

The Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) can now send more of its workers' compensation notices and 
documents via secure email, instead of via postal mail. While all parties will continue to receive some 
correspondence via U.S. mail, DLI is working to provide improved and timely services.

This expansion of secure email service is one-way only, for documents sent by DLI. With the expansion, 
insurers can receive twice the correspondence previously available via secure email rather than U.S. mail. 
It also allows qualified rehabilitation consultants to receive important plan-filing notices.

For more information or to register for secure email receipt, email DLI's Lisa Smith at lisa.smith@state.mn.us.

mailto:dli.ombudsman%40state.mn.us?subject=
http://www.health.state.mn.us
mailto:lisa.smith%40state.mn.us?subject=
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Estimated injury, illness incidence rates for 2015 now available
The estimated injury and illness incidence rates and case counts for industries were released Oct. 27. The 
estimates are prepared from the Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses, conducted in Minnesota 
jointly by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI). 
The 2015 estimates are posted on DLI's "Occupational safety and health statistics" web page at  
www.dli.mn.gov/RS/StatWSH.asp.

The release of the industry-level data will be followed by the release of the case and demographic 
estimates (expected Nov. 10). These estimates address the worker and injury characteristics for injury and 
illness cases where the worker is unable to work for one or more days after the date of injury.

Information about the number and characteristics of fatal work-related injuries in 2015 is expected to be 
released Dec. 16. This will be the final release of the data from the 2015 Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries. 

Report compares Minnesota medical payments, utilization with 17 other states
By Brian Zaidman, Research and Statistics

The Workers' Compensation Research 
Institute's (WCRI's) most recent 
report for Minnesota, CompScope 
Medical Benchmarks for 

Minnesota, 17th Edition, was released 
in October. This report uses insurer 
claim files to compare Minnesota's 

medical payments and service 
utilization with those of 17 other 

states, including Iowa and Wisconsin. The report is 
available for purchase from WCRI at www.wcrinet.org.

The report focuses on results for workers injured in 
2014 and on trends from 2009 to 2014, for claims 
with more than seven days of lost time, measured at 
an average of one year following the injury. Below are 
some of the major findings.

•	 Minnesota's average adjusted medical payment per 
2014 claim was 6 percent lower than the median of 
the 18 study states. Payments per claim for 
nonhospital providers were 15 percent lower, while 
hospital outpatient payments were 8 percent 
higher and payments per hospital inpatient episode 
were 11 percent higher than the median. 

•	 From 2009 through 2014, the average annual 
growth in medical payments in Minnesota was  
0.7 percent, slower than the 2.9 percent median 
increase among the study states.

•	 Sixty-seven percent of the 2014 claims had 
payment to a hospital (typical of the study states) 
and hospitals accounted for 51 percent of the 
medical payments (higher than the median). 

•	 Average hospital outpatient payments for 2014 
claims were typical – $5,800 Minnesota and 
$5,300 median value. 

•	 Average hospital inpatient payments per episode 
for 2013 claims were higher than the median 
study state – $32,300 versus $29,400. 

•	 Among 2013 claims, 31 percent had surgery 
(either inpatient or outpatient), which was typical 
compared to the median of 34 percent. 

•	 Fewer injured workers in Minnesota had hospital 
inpatient care, the same as the median value; the 
percentage of claims with inpatient care 
decreased from 9.2 percent in 2009 to 5.5 percent 
in 2014. This was the largest decrease among the 
study states. This decrease was mainly due to a 
decrease in inpatient surgery. 

•	 Among claims at one year maturity, hospital 
inpatient care decreased from between 20 
percent and 23 percent of the total medical 
payments for claims from 2009 through 2013, to 
18 percent of total payments for 2014 claims.

http://www.dli.mn.gov/RS/StatWSH.asp
http://www.wcrinet.org


9  •  COMPACT  •  November 2016 	 www.dli.mn.gov/WorkComp.asp

CompFact:

By Brian Zaidman, Research and Statistics

Analysis of workers' compensation indemnity claims shows that the median age of injured workers 
increased from 42.4 years in 2004 to 45.5 years in 2013 and has decreased the past two years, reaching 44.7 
years for workers injured in 2015.

Figure 1 shows the age-group trends in 
the percentages of workers by year of 
injury. The largest increase has been 
among workers 55 to 64 years old, 
increasing from 12.5 percent of the 
workers in 2004 to 21.0 percent in 2015. 
Workers 65 years old and older 
increased from 2.3 percent of the 
injured workers in 2004 to 4.0 percent 
in 2015. The percentage of injured 
workers between 55 and 64 years old 
decreased slightly from 2014 to 2015, 
the first percentage decrease in this 
group during the period studied.

The increasing spread in the age 
distribution of injured workers can be 
seen by the increase, from two groups to four, in the number of age groups with at least 20 percent of the 
injured workers during this time period.

The age distribution of workers with indemnity claims is similar to the age distribution of employed workers. 

As shown in Figure 2, the percentages 
of injured workers are slightly below 
the percentages for all workers for 
the three youngest groups, slightly 
above the percentages for all workers 
for workers 45 to 54 years old and 
workers 55 to 64 years old, and below 
the all worker percentage for workers 
age 65 and older.

This suggests workers between 45 
and 64 years old might have a higher 
injury rate than younger workers or 
might qualify for indemnity benefits 
at a higher rate because they need 
more days to recover.
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Figure 1. Distribution of age of workers with indemnity claims, 2004 to 2015
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Figure 2. Age distribution of all workers and workers with indemnity claims, 2015

  Age increase may have passed its peak
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Workers' compensation events calendar

December

	 Dec. 7	 Workers' Compensation Advisory Council meeting
		  www.dli.mn.gov/Wcac.asp

January

	 Jan. 5	 Rehabilitation Review Panel
		  www.dli.mn.gov/Rrp.asp	

	 Jan. 19	 Medical Services Review Board meeting
		  www.dli.mn.gov/Msrb.asp

February

	 Feb. 8	 Workers' Compensation Advisory Council meeting
		  www.dli.mn.gov/Wcac.asp

	 Feb. 10	 Orientation training session
		  www.dli.mn.gov/WC/TrainingRp.asp

March

	 March 22	 Workers' Compensation Insurers' Task Force meeting
		  www.dli.mn.gov/Wcitf.asp

April

	 April 6	 Rehabilitation Review Panel
		  www.dli.mn.gov/Rrp.asp
	
	 April 12	 Workers' Compensation Advisory Council
		  www.dli.mn.gov/Wcac.asp

	 April 20	 Medical Services Review Board
		  www.dli.mn.gov/Msrb.asp

http://www.dli.mn.gov/Wcac.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/Rrp.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/Wcitf.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/Rrp.asp
http://www.dli.mn.gov/Wcac.asp
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Newsletters – The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) offers three quarterly publications in 
addition to COMPACT:  Apprenticeship Works, CCLD Review and Safety Lines.

	 •	Apprenticeship Works is the newsletter from DLI's  
		  Apprenticeship unit. Its purpose is to inform the public 
		  of the goals, plans and progress of the Apprenticeship  
		  unit. Learn more or subscribe online at 
		  www.dli.mn.gov/Appr/Works.asp.

	 •	CCLD Review is the newsletter from DLI's Construction  
		  Codes and Licensing Division. Its purpose is to promote  
		  safe, healthy work and living environments in Minnesota  
		  and to inform construction and code professionals about  
		  the purpose, plans and progress of the division. Learn  
		  more or subscribe online at 
		  www.dli.mn.gov/CCLD/Review.asp.

	 •	Safety Lines, from Minnesota OSHA, promotes  
		  occupational safety and health, and informs readers of  
		  the purpose, plans and progress of Minnesota OSHA. 	 
		  Learn more or subscribe online at  
		  www.dli.mn.gov/OSHA/SafetyLines.asp.

Monthly update – Stay up-to-date with the Department of Labor and Industry by signing up for its monthly 
email update at www.dli.mn.gov/Email.asp about DLI activities.

Specialty and rulemaking news – DLI also maintains five specialty email lists and 11 rulemaking lists to which 
interested parties may subscribe. The specialty email lists are:  prevailing-wage information; workers' 
compensation adjuster information; workers' compensation EDI trading partners; workers' compensation 
medical providers information; and workers' compensation rehabilitation information. Learn more about DLI's 
specialty email lists, subscribe or review previously sent messages online at www.dli.mn.gov/EmailLists.asp.

The rulemaking lists are required to be maintained for people who have registered with the agency to receive 
notices of agency rule proceedings via email or U.S. mail. The rulemaking lists topic areas are:  apprenticeship; 
boats/boats-for-hire; electrical; fire code; high-pressure piping; independent contractor; labor standards/
prevailing wage; Minnesota OSHA; plumbing; state building code; and workers' compensation. Learn more or 
subscribe at www.dli.mn.gov/Rulemaking.asp.

Subscribing to COMPACT – Interested parties may subscribe or unsubscribe from the COMPACT email list at 
https://webmail.mnet.state.mn.us/mailman/listinfo/wc-compact. Subscribers receive emailed notices about 
editions of the quarterly workers' compensation newsletter and other periodic updates from DLI.

More resources from DLI:
newsletters, specialty email lists, rulemaking lists

http://www.dli.mn.gov/Appr/Works.asp
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those prepared by the WCCA Decisions

Summaries of

Toni L. Goble v. Leisure Hills of Hibbing, July 11, 2016

Practice and Procedure – Intervention Notice

Common law governing the effect of notice between a principal and agent does not supplant the notice 
requirement under Minnesota Statutes § 176.361, subd. 2(a). A request to extinguish an intervention under 
Minnesota Statutes § 176.361, subd. 2(a), must comply with the statutory notice requirement to be granted.

Affirmed.

Madieu Williams v. Minnesota Vikings Football Club, July 12, 2016

Causation

Substantial evidence in the form of a well-founded medical opinion, the employee’s testimony and the 
employee’s medical records supports the compensation judge’s determination that the employee’s injuries 
while employed by the employer were substantial contributing causes of the employee’s disability.

Affirmed.

Asher Allen v. Minnesota Vikings Football Club, July 14, 2016

Temporary Partial Disability Benefits – Substantial Evidence

Where expert medical opinion indicated that a full battery of psychometric testing was necessary to diagnose a 
traumatic brain injury and the employee had not completed such testing, substantial evidence supports the 
compensation judge’s finding that the employee had not proven that he had sustained a traumatic brain injury 
as a result of concussion injuries, the judge’s determination that the employee had not established a causal 
relationship between the work injuries and the employee’s reduced wages, and the judge’s denial of the 
employee’s claim for temporary partial disability benefits.

Affirmed.
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John McGrath v. Kemps, LLC, July 22, 2016

Causation – Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence, including adequately founded expert medical opinion, supports the compensation judge’s 
finding that the employee did not sustain a Gillette injury to his right hip while working for the employer.

Affirmed.

Raymond B. Hendricks v. AVR, Inc., July 25, 2016

Evidence – Credibility

Assessment of a witness’s credibility is the unique function of the trier of fact. The record, including the 
employee’s chiropractic and medical treatment post-injury, adequately supports the compensation judge’s 
acceptance of the employee’s testimony that he was never pain-free following the admitted April 4, 2014, 
work injury until Oct. 28, 2015.

Causation – Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence, including the employee’s post-injury chiropractic and medical treatment records, 
supports the compensation judge’s finding that the April 4, 2014, work injury is a substantial contributing 
factor to the employee’s ongoing cervical spine condition.

Practice and Procedure – Matters at Issue

The question of whether the employee’s epidural steroid injection was reasonable and necessary was clearly at 
issue at the hearing, and the compensation judge did not err in awarding payment for the procedure.

Affirmed.

Mary Jo Newgard-Gray v. The Travelers Companies, July 28, 2016

Causation, Evidence – Expert Medical Opinion

Substantial evidence in the form of well-founded medical opinion supports the compensation judge’s decision 
as to the extent of the employee’s admitted cervical injury and her denial of the employee’s claim of a bilateral 
carpal tunnel Gillette injury.

Affirmed.

Victoria C. Giles v. Montu Staffing Solutions, July 29, 2016

Wages – Calculation

Where an employee is not working for the second employer at the time of the work injury and substantial evidence 
supports a finding that the employee would not be scheduled to work concurrently at the second employer with the 
date of injury employer, calculating the average weekly wage figure sequentially is appropriate.

Affirmed, in part, and vacated, in part.
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Michael J. Cobb v. Continental Hydraulics, Aug. 4, 2016

Appeals – Notice of Appeal

Substantial evidence supports the compensation judge’s finding that the employee failed to prove that his 
notice of appeal was timely filed under the requirements of Minnesota Statutes §§ 176.421 and 176.275.

Affirmed.

Tammy L. Myers v. Super 8, Aug. 11, 2016

Rules Construed – Minnesota Rules 5221.6600, Application

Where an employee does not exhibit impairment of regular activities of daily life including regular vocational 
activities, there is no basis for considering Minnesota Rules 5221.6600 in an application for medical treatment.

Rehabilitation – Discontinuance

Where a compensation judge adopts an independent medical examination (IME) opinion that the employee 
has suffered a temporary aggravation that resolved without residual impairment of regular vocational activities 
or regular activities of daily life, discontinuance of rehabilitation services is appropriate.

Temporary Total Disability – Discontinuance

Where a compensation judge adopts an IME opinion that the employee has no impairment of regular 
vocational activities or regular activities of daily life, discontinuance of temporary total disability is appropriate.

Affirmed.

Loretta J. (Gansen) Bach v. Upper Mississippi Mental Health Center, Aug. 22, 2016

Wages – Multiple Employments

Where the employee did not have evidence to support her claim of payment for work for regular employment 
with a second employer, the compensation judge did not err by finding that the employee did not regularly 
work for multiple employers on the date of injury and, therefore, no claimed additional earnings from the 
second employer would be included in determining the employee’s weekly wage.

Wages – Calculation

Where the employee’s proposed weekly wage calculation erroneously included incorrect amounts for weeks 
where the employee did not work for the employer or had worked only part time, the compensation judge did 
not err by declining to adopt the proposed calculation.

Affirmed.
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Luis Yupa v. Prime Home Constr., LLC, Aug. 22, 2016

Permanent Partial Disability – Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence supports the compensation judge’s finding that the employee’s claim for an additional 10 
percent permanent partial disability for vertigo, pursuant to Minnesota Rules 5223.0360, subp. 5A, was 
premature “at this time.”

Permanent Total Disability – Threshold

Where the compensation judge denied the employee’s claim for an additional 10 percent permanency, the 
judge’s determination that the employee failed to prove he is permanently and totally incapacitated from 
gainful employment is vacated as the employee did not meet the 17 percent permanent partial disability 
required for permanent total disability eligibility under Minnesota Statutes § 176.101, subd. 5(2)(i).

Affirmed in part and vacated in part.

Barbara M. Crushshon v. New American Hospitality, Inc., Aug. 24, 2016

Arising Out Of and In the Course Of

Where the employee was injured in a fall when her foot stuck on an irregular concrete surface while she was 
entering the employer’s premises, substantial evidence supported the compensation judge’s finding that the 
injury was caused by the condition of the walkway, which constituted an increased risk. Based upon Dykhoff v. 
Xcel Energy, 840 N.W.2d 821, 73 W.C.D. 865 (Minn. 2013) and related case law, an employee’s trip and fall on 
an irregular concrete surface on the employer’s premises arose out of her employment.

Affirmed.

Galen T. Block v. Exterior Remodeling, Inc., Aug. 26, 2016

Vacation of Award – Substantial Change in Condition

The employee adequately demonstrated all of the factors outlined in Fodness v. Standard Cafe, 41 W.C.D. 1054 
(W.C.C.A. 1989) to show that he has experienced a substantial change in his medical condition constituting 
good cause to grant the employee’s petition to vacate his 1992 award on stipulation.

Vacation of Award – Mutual Mistake

The employee’s subjective belief that he was “cured” by surgery only to later require multiple level fusion does 
not constitute a basis for vacating an award due to a mutual mistake of fact where there was no medical 
evidence available at the time of settlement to indicate that a later fusion would be required. See Monson v. 
White Bear Mitsubishi, 663 N.W.2d 534; 63 W.C.D. 337 (Minn. 2003).

Petition to vacate granted.
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Mee L. Thao v. Synovis Life Technologies, Inc., Sept. 2, 2016

Causation – Substantial Evidence

Where the treating physician’s opinion has proper foundation and the employee’s medical record lacks an 
contradictory indications, the compensation judge cannot disregard the treating physician’s opinion regarding 
causation in the absence of a well-founded medical opinion to the contrary, following Ruether v. State, Mankato 
State Univ., 455 N.W.2d 475, 42 W.C.D. 1118, 1122 (Minn. 1990); Olson v. Midwest Printing Co., 347 N.W.2d 43, 
46, 36 W.C.D. 623, 627 (Minn. 1984); Flansburg v. Giza, 284 Minn. 199, 169 N.W.2d 744, 25 W.C.D. 3 (1969).

Evidence – Unopposed Medical Opinion

Argument of counsel regarding the nature of a medical condition and reference to a claims adjuster’s opinion 
that the employee’s medical condition was not caused by the work injury does not constitute evidence in 
opposition to a well-founded medical opinion regarding causation.

Reversed.

Delwin C. Grace, deceased employee, by Merilee Grage, appellant, v. Acme Elec. Motor, Inc., Sept. 2, 2016

Rehabilitation – Surviving Spouse
Statutes Construed – Minnesota Statutes § 176.102, subd. 1a

A 54-year-old surviving spouse, whose dependency benefits will cease within six years, in need of additional 
training to obtain full licensure to secure and maintain employment, has demonstrated a need for 
rehabilitation services to become self-supporting and is a qualified dependent surviving spouse entitled to 
rehabilitation assistance as contemplated by Minnesota Statutes § 176.102, subd. 1a.

Dependency Benefits – Burial Expenses

A granite bench placed on the petitioner’s husband’s grave in the customary position of a headstone 
constitutes compensable “expense of burial” pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 176.111, subd. 18.

Affirmed in part and reversed in part.

Saul Sanchez Marcial v. Atlas Staffing, Inc., Sept. 7, 2016

Penalties

Substantial evidence supports the determination that the employer and insurer had at least a colorable 
defense to the employee’s claims and the compensation judge did not err in denying the claim for penalties.

Temporary Benefits – Fully Recovered
Permanent Partial Disability

Where there is no basis for the compensation judge’s finding that the claim for permanent partial disability 
was reserved for later determination, and where the judge’s determination that the employee’s injury had 
“resolved” is, accordingly, unclear, the matter is remanded for further proceedings.



D6  •  COMPACT  •  November 2016 	 www.dli.mn.gov/WorkComp.asp

Medical Treatment and Expense – Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence, including the records of the employee’s treating physician, support the compensation 
judge’s award of medical expenses through June 22, 2015.

Affirmed in part, modified in part and remanded in part.

Javier Sotelo Cantu v. C.R. Fischer & Sons, Inc., Sept. 7, 2016

Vacation of Award – Fraud

Where the employee failed to establish the elements of fraud and did not allege any of the other definitions of 
cause set out in Minnesota Statutes § 176.461, the employee’s request to vacate the award on settlement is 
denied.

Denied.

Bertha Perez-Rivera v. MPLSP Hotel Corp., Sept. 20, 2016

Settlements – Approval and Disapproval

In reviewing a compensation judge’s determination to approve or disapprove a stipulation for settlement, this court 
will not reverse absent an abuse of discretion. On the fact of this case, we conclude the judge did not abuse his 
discretion and could reasonably conclude that closing out all future medical benefits and costs may be opposed to 
the best interests of the employee given her injury and the medical opinions submitted by the parties.

Appeals – Interlocutory Order

This court lacks jurisdiction to consider or determine an appeal from an order denying a motion to disqualify a 
judge as the order is interlocutory and does not affect the merits of the case nor does it prevent a later 
determination on the merits.

Order disapproving stipulation affirmed; order denying motion to disqualify judge dismissed.

Daniel Driggins v. Midwest Specialty Maintenance, Sept. 21, 2016

Causation – Temporary Aggravation

Substantial evidence in the record supports the compensation judge’s conclusion that the work injury 
represented a temporary aggravation of a pre-existing condition and the need for restrictions and resulting 
wage-loss were not causally related to the work injury.

Affirmed.

Janet Barrick v. Custom Products of Litchfield, Inc., Sept. 23, 2016

Permanent Partial Disability – Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence, including the opinions of a neutral physician, supports the compensation judge’s award 
of permanent partial disability.
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Medical Treatment and Expense – Reasonable and Necessary

Where the neutral physician opines that injection treatment was initially reasonable, but that ongoing 
injections were not reasonable, and did not indicate how long the injections remained reasonable treatment, 
substantial evidence supports the compensation judge’s award of injection treatment through the date of the 
neutral physician’s examination.

Temporary Total Disability – Substantial Evidence

Where the neutral physician had indicated the employee could work with restrictions and the employee had 
not conducted a job search, substantial evidence supports the compensation judge’s finding that the employee 
was not entitled to temporary total disability benefits.

Attorney Fees – Subd. 7 Fees
Penalties

Attorney fees awards under Minnesota Statutes § 176.081, subd. 7, are reduced by $250 one time per injury. 
Penalty awards are not reduced by the deduction under Minnesota Statutes § 176.081, subd. 7.

Practice and Procedure – Matters at Issue

Where the employee had not requested approval for a medical referral, the issue was not before the 
compensation judge and the denial of the referral is vacated.

Affirmed in part, modified in part, reversed in part and vacated in part.

Mark R. Puffer v. Precision Tune, Sept. 23, 2016

Medical Treatment and Expense – Surgery

Substantial evidence in the form of a well-founded medical opinion supports the compensation judge’s 
determination that the surgery proposed by the employee’s treating doctor is reasonable and necessary to 
cure and relieve from the effects of the employee’s Oct. 1, 1998, work injury.

Affirmed.

Bradley Yde v. Viking Coca-Cola Bottling Co., Sept. 27, 2016

Causation – Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence, including adequately founded expert medical opinion, supports the compensation 
judge’s finding that the employee’s work injury was a substantial contributing cause of his biceps avulsion 
injury and need for surgery.

Affirmed.
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Mia A. Forrestal (a.k.a. Jennie M. Forrestal) v. Miller Dwan Medical Center/Essentia Health, Sept. 30, 2016

Medical Treatment and Expense

Bills incurred by several different providers with whom the employee sought opioid medication immediately 
after she violated an opioid contract are not reasonable and necessary medical expenses pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes § 176.135 where each of the providers declined the employee’s request for opioids as 
contraindicated.

Evidence – Exclusion

Where a compensation judge states in the memorandum that he relied on evidence that was excluded from 
the record, the findings associated with the application of the excluded evidence do not comply with 
Minnesota Statutes § 176.411, subd. 1, and the findings based on the excluded evidence are reversed.

Affirmed in part and reversed in part.

Mary L. Clark v. Metro Transit, Sept. 29, 2016

Causation – Substantial Evidence

Substantial evidence in the record supports the compensation judge’s determination that the employee’s right 
knee condition and need for surgery are causally related to the work injury.

Affirmed.
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Virgenia M. Ryan v. Potlatch Corporation, A15-1404 – July 13, 2016

A workers' compensation settlement agreement may close out not only the benefits claim for the compensable 
injury, but also claims for conditions and complications arising out of that injury that were reasonably 
anticipated by the parties at the time of the settlement agreement. Reversed and remanded.


