Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Orange bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Powered by google

Minnesota OSHA Compliance -- Report an accident, fatality or serious injury

Employers are required by law to report occupational accidents -- in which an employee is killed or three or more are hospitalized -- to OSHA within eight hours.

Contact Minnesota OSHA Compliance (osha.compliance@state.mn.us) during business hours -- 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

St. Paul
Phone:  (651) 284-5050
Toll-free:  1-877-470-6742

After business hours
Call the federal OSHA 24-hour toll-free number -- 1-800-321-6742



Note:  Recent injury reporting changes made by federal OSHA to be adopted by Minnesota OSHA
Changes to OSHA's injury reporting rule became effective at the federal level Jan. 1, 2015. Minnesota OSHA intends to adopt the new injury reporting requirements by March 18, 2015, with an effective date of Oct. 1, 2015.

Changes to OSHA's recordkeeping requirements (for low-hazard industries) will not be adopted by Minnesota OSHA, which is consistent with what is currently in effect in Minnesota



Mechanical power-press injuries

Form:  Report of injury to employee operating a mechanical power press (fill-in PDF)

This form can be filled in online, printed and faxed or mailed to the Department of Labor and Industry. Users with Adobe Acrobat (not Adobe Reader) will be able to save the completed form; it can then be emailed to the department using the email address provided on the form.

Workers' compensation reporting requirements

Fatalities and serious injuries:  Workplace fatalities and serious injuries must be reported to the Department of Labor and Industry within 48 hours via telephone at (651) 284-5041 or fax at (651) 284-5731, to be followed by the First Report of Injury form.

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer