YOUTH RULES ooy

Each year, thousands of Minnesota teens work in part-time or summer jobs. Early work experiences can be
rewarding for young workers — providing great opportunities to learn important job skills. The Minnesota
Department of Labor and Industry wants to help you have a safe and rewarding work experience. Below are
some rights and responsibilities teens need to know about in the workplace.

laborers.

YOUR SAFETY AND HEALTH ON THE JOB

You have a right to a safe and healthy workplace. Proper safety training
is a key component to help avoid injuries on the job. A recent U.S.
study reported that 26 percent of workers younger than 18 years of
age worked at least part of the day without an adult supervisor and as
many as one-third of them reported not having any health and safety
training. In Minnesota, the most common occupations for injured
teens each year are cooks, food prepration workers, nursing aides and

TIP: To avoid injury, ask for help when you need it or if you are unsure
about any job-related tasks. Most importantly, make sure you have
access and training about safety gear and first-aid equipment.

WHERE DO MOST MINNESOTA TEENS WORK?
Teens are typically employed in fast food, retail, parks and recreation, amusement parks, or federal or state youth

employment programs. In Minnesota, the majority of employed 14- to 18-year-olds work in lodging and food
services (36 percent), retail (26 percent), and health care and social assistance (8 percent).

WHAT HOURS CAN TEENS WORK?

If both federal and state laws apply to an employer,
the more protective or stricter standard must be
followed. The minimum age for most employment is
14, unless a federal and state law exemption allows
for a younger minimum age.

FACT: Teens working too late at night is the most
common complaint state investigators hear each year.

Minors ages 14 and 15 may not work:

e before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m. with the exception of a
newspaper carrier;

e more than eight hours a day, except in agriculture;

e more than 40 hours a week, except in agriculture;

* on school days during school hours, without an
employment certificate issued by the school district
superintendent.

’ MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF

LABOR & INDUSTRY

During the school year, large employers (sales of more
than $500,000 annually) are prohibited from letting
minors younger than 16 work later then 7 p.m., work
more than three hours a day and work more than 18
hours a week.

Small employers (sales
of less than $500,000
annually) may allow
minors younger than
16 to work until 9 p.m.

High school students
aged 16 and 17 may
not work after 11 p.m.
on an evening before a
school day or before
5 a.m. on a school day.
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PROHIBITED WORK

There are both federal and younger than 16 includes working S e
Minnesota child labor laws that with laundry, rug cleaning or QUESTIONS?

restrict minors from working dry cleaning equipment; being
in certain hazardous jobs or in contact with a carwash on a Many of the things parents hear —
conditions. mechanized conveyor line; or doing | ahd sometimes business owners

welding of any kind. hear —about labor laws are from
For example, teens younger than 18 relatives, friends or cher workers’
may not be employed in or about A homeowner can hire a 14-year- experiences, not the actual
construction or building projects. old to mow his or her lawn (which statutes and rules.

is considered a home chore), but ST AR ,
Other prohibited work for minors a company that hires individuals If you have questions about labor
younger than 18 includes driving to do similar jobs may not hire a laws, contact Labor Standards at
passenger-carrying vehicles; 14-year-old to mow a lawn. (651) 284-5070, 1-800-342-5354 or
operating, erecting or dismantling ,dIi.Iaborstandards@state.mn.us.
rides or machinery in an EXEMPTIONS: Although a minor $
amusement park; or working with younger than 14 may not be If YOU ‘have questlons about
explosives or fireworks. employed in most cases, there are | Workplace safety or health, contact

exemptions, such as a newspaper :Mlnnesota OSHA WOrkplace Safety
Minors younger than 16 may not carrier, actor, actress, model, Consultation at (551) 284 5060
work with machinery such as agricultural field worker or youth 1-800-657-3776 or
power-driven snowblowers and sports official. Such exemptions ¢ osha consultatlon@state mn us..
other lawn and garden equipment,  require a permit from the oINS N ¥
meat slicers or bakery equipment. Department of Labor and Industry’s
Other prohibited work for minors Labor Standards unit.

MINIMUM WAGE Employers cannot pay teens less than the minimum wage. Employees must be paid at
least the current minimum wage rate, regardless of the method of compensation, for all
hours worked, including training time.

NO TIP CREDIT: Minnesota does not allow for tips received by employees to be
credited toward the payment of minimum wages.
Large employer wage
$9.00/hour on Aug. 1,2015  Any enterprise with an annual gross dollar volume of sales made or business done of
$9.50/hour on Aug. 1,2016  $500,000 or more

Small employer wage
$7.25/hour on Aug. 1,2015  Any enterprise with an annual gross volume of sales made or business done of less
$7.75/hour on Aug. 1,2016  than $500,000

90-day training wage
$7.25/hour on Aug. 1, 2015 May be paid to employees younger than 20 years of age for the first 90 consecutive
$7.75/hour on Aug. 1, 2016 days of employment

Youth wage
$7.25/hour on Aug. 1, 2015

$7.75/hour on Aug. 1, 2016 Paid to employees younger than 18 years of age who are not covered by federal laws



