EMPLOYER FACT SHEET

MINIMUM WAGE RATES

NEW MINIMUM WAGE LAW AS OF AUG. 1, 2016

PROVISION NEW LAW
Large employer wage $9.50/hour on Aug. 1, 2016
Small employer wage $7.75/hour on Aug. 1, 2016

90-day training wage

(under 20 years of age) $7.75/hour on Aug. 1, 2016

Youth wage

(under 18 years of age) $7.75/hour on Aug. 1, 2016

Inflation increase Inflation increase starts Jan. 1, 2018

STATE AND FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE LAW

e There are both state and federal minimum wage laws.

¢ The state minimum wage is higher than the federal minimum wage, so
employees who are covered by both laws must be paid the higher state
minimum wage.

¢ Minimum wage rates apply to all hours worked, whether part time or
full time.

¢ Employees must be paid at least the current minimum wage rate, no matter
how they are paid.

e To determine whether you are a small or large employer, view the employer fact sheet "Business size and
minimum wage" at www.dli.mn.gov/MinWage.

CONTACT INFORMATION
Department of Labor and Industry Phone: (651) 284-5070  1-800-342-5354
Labor Standards dli.laborstandards@state.mn.us
443 Lafayette Road N. e St. Paul, MN 55155-4306 www.dli.mn.gov/LaborLaw.asp
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Notice: This flier is a brief summary of Minnesota law and is intended as a guide.
Itis not to be considered a substitute for Minnesota Statutes regarding minimum wage laws.

This document can be provided in different forms, such as audio, Braille or large print, by calling (651) 284-5005 or 1-800-342-5354.
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