Decorative bar
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry Powered by Google

Frequently Asked Questions

Satellite system installer and satellite system contractor licenses

bullet Download licensing forms here.

bullet Read about the SSI and SSC licenses in the CCLD Review newsletter.

What is the satellite system contractor license?
This is the new license created specifically for businesses that only install or offer to install antennas and satellite communication equipment in residential dwellings.

The term "residential dwelling" is defined in Minnesota Statute §326B.31 as a single dwelling unit that is contained in a one-family, two-family, or multifamily dwelling as defined in the National Electrical Code pursuant to section 326B.35. A residential dwelling includes a garage and accessory building that can only be used by the residents of the single dwelling unit.

A satellite system contractor (SSC) must employ a licensed satellite system installer as their responsible licensed individual. The fee for an SSC business license is $206.80. All SSC licenses expire August 1 of even-numbered years.

What is the satellite system installer license?
This is the new personal license created for individuals who only install antennas and satellite communication equipment in residential dwellings. A satellite system installer (SSI) must also be a licensed SSC or an employee of a licensed SSC. The fee for a SSI license is $54.80 and the license is valid for two years from the date of issue.

Are satellite systems considered technology systems?
Yes. Antennas are explicitly included in the statutory definition of technology circuits and systems. Prior to the implementation of the SSC and SSI licenses, antenna and satellite communication equipment could only be installed by employees of licensed electrical or technology system contractors.

Are the new licenses required?
All entities installing antennas and satellite communication equipment shall be licensed as electrical, technology systems or satellite system contractors, but only the responsible individual of a licensed SSC is required to hold the SSI license. All employees performing satellite system work shall be licensed as SSIs, PLTs or be registered with DLI as unlicensed.

Can only licensed or registered unlicensed employees of a licensed satellite system contractor install antennas in residential dwellings?
No. The new satellite system licenses are restricted to the installation of antennas and satellite communication equipment in residential dwellings, but that work may continue to be performed by licensed technology system and electrical contractors.

What’s the difference between a technology system contractor and a satellite system contractor?
The difference is the scope of work that is permitted under each contractor license. A technology system contractor may install all technology systems including home theatre, power-limited fire and burglar alarm, temperature control, communication, security, landscape lighting, data, audio and video systems and wiring for irrigation systems in all occupancies, and as well as antennas and satellite communication equipment in residential dwellings.

Is other technology system work allowed under the SSC license?
Licensed or registered unlicensed employees of a satellite system contractor may only install antennas and satellite communication equipment in residential dwellings, as defined. Other technology system work is prohibited.

What are the qualifications for the satellite system installer license?
Applicants for the SSI examination are required to have successfully completed the National Standards and Testing Program for satellite installers sponsored by the Satellite Broadcasting and Communications Association of America or other program approved by the Board of Electricity.

How does an individual apply for the SSI license examination?
Candidates must complete the application form and submit it with the $50 application and examination fee and verification of successfully completing the National Standards and Testing Program or other program approved by the board.

No additional training or installation experience is required. The electrical examination application form and further information is available on DLI's electrical licensing webpage.

What is the examination approval process?
If the application is accepted, qualified candidates are notified by mail and are directed to DLI's website to select and confirm their examination date and location. Applicants may reschedule an examination one time only. An entrant who fails to appear for a re-scheduled exam must submit a new application form and fee.

Is the exam given only at the offices of the Department of Labor and Industry in St. Paul?
License examinations are offered weekly in St. Paul and regularly in Duluth, Owatonna, Detroit Lakes, Saint Cloud and Granite Falls. A valid, government-issued identification with photograph and signature must be presented at the exam site.

What does the examination include?
The exam is open-book and consists of 25-multiple choice questions from the Minnesota Electrical Act and the 2011 National Electrical Code (NEC) requirements that apply to satellite system installations.

A comprehensive study guide identifying the examination criteria and specific knowledge areas for each type of electrical exam is available for download from DLI (PDF). Copies of both the Electrical Act and NEC are provided for the exam. Individuals must attain a minimum score of 70 percent to pass.

What is the fee for the SSI license?
The license fee is $74.80 for a two-year period, which includes the Board of Electricity, the continuing education and the e-License fees. The SSI license expires two years from the date of issue or last renewal.

What is required for SSI license renewal?
For license renewal, satellite system installers must complete four hours of approved continuing education in the two year period prior to their personal license expiration date. Continuing education courses must meet the provisions of Minnesota Statute §326B.0981 and Minnesota Rules 3800.3602 - 3800.3603 and must be approved by the commissioner in advance.

Download applications for course, instructor and sponsor approval here. Individuals who fail to renew a personal license within two years of expiration must reapply and retake the examination.

Are antenna and satellite communication equipment installations required to be inspected?
Inspection of antenna and satellite communication equipment installations is not mandatory, however all work must comply with NEC Article 810 and all other referenced sections.

However, should an inspector observe that an installation does not comply with accepted industry standards, the inspector may order the installer to pay the inspection fee, make the necessary repairs and arrange for inspection.

DLI home page | Directions and maps | News and media | Website disclaimer